Qatar Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1702 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 6th July 2015

I recently flew to Bangkok from Brussels via Doha with Qatar in Business class. The main reason was price as they had a genuine buy one get one free companion sale and it was only £925 each when it was over £1800 from London. Check in was good but they share the British Airways Lounge, I've seen a lot of 1 out of 10's for British Airways on this site so enough said. The first leg was on the Qatar Airways 787 Dreamliner, the seat arrangement is 1-2-1 with only 5 rows so quite exclusive. The seats are cocoon, lie-flat bed style, fully remote controlled, with a big TV, desk, pull-out table, pillow etc and a nice welcome pack of eye cover, ear plugs, lip balm and some nice Armani products. The staff are excellent as to be expected from Qatar Airways but the menu and drinks options were not too impressive. However my wife enjoyed the pink champagne and I enjoyed their signature lime and mint juice pre-flight drinks. The inflight drinks options were limited unless you like wine, lots of wine choice. They don't carry enough of each meal so my wife and I did not get our first choice as we were sat in the back row of 5 they'd ran out! The second leg was on their brand new A380 with business class on the top deck. The seats and arrangement is the same as the 787 just more rows. The icing on the cake and by far the best selling point is the bar. The hostess on bar duty was lovely and made everyone welcome. There was a good choice of drinks and bar snacks, especially the individual carrot cakes. You get a fast pass before landing to avoid the hour long queue at passport control but no free chauffeur service, come on Qatar. Your bags get priority so they're on the carousel before you get there. Overall a good first impression although I was on their newest aircraft, can't wait to fly the new A350.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBrussels to Bangkok via Doha
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (South Africa) 5th July 2015

Effective check-in and transferring. Cabin crew attentive and friendly. Very limited legroom, making the flight really uncomfortable when the flight is full as was the case on the BCN-DOH leg. I am a regular flyer and have found the legroom on all four flights to be exceptionally limited compared to other airlines. Serving of meals on the first two legs seemed disorganized. I was served my meal only two hours after the meal service started. On the second leg I received my meal relatively quickly, but the passengers sitting five rows ahead of me were only served about an hour later. I could not figure out the logic. Serving of meals on the return flights were well organized though.
AircraftBoeing 787, Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteJNB to BCN via DOH
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (Qatar) 1st July 2015

Flew from Doha to London on QR 003, June 24th. Very impressive check in area. Al Mourjan Lounge offered an a la carte options as well as buffet. However, all the menus were based on egg options during the breakfast. It was below what I expected. Qatar should have provided extensive options to their premium passengers based on the fact that these are passengers who are transitting through Doha and have travelled from all over the world within a 24hrs time zone. On baord service was excellent. You can choose your own time to be served. Compliments to the crew and purser who addressed every single customer by name. The seats lacked privacy and were not comfortable for sleeping. It was very narrow and my knees kept hitting the tray table everytime I tried to move to a different position. The same type of seats are also offered on their B787 and A350 aircarft. It was fine for a day flight, and also for lounging and working, but I would avoid this type of seats for a night flight. I had the best sleeping experience on their B777 aircarft. IFE system was ok. Menu options were limited and the quantity are so small. Onboard lounge served Krug Champagne even for JC passengers. However, things which are lacking on Qatar Airways for their FC and JC passengers are, the free limousine, free wifi on A380, and the extensive menu options both at their Al Mourjan Lounge and on board the aircarft compare to their comppetitor, Emirates. However, I would still choose to fly on Qatar Airways since they are a member of One World Alliance and based on their on board service experienced.
AircraftAirbus 380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDoha to London
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st July 2015

I have to say that Qatar airways lounge at LHR is out of this world, the food is 5 star. The food and drinks on the flights were excellent, the crew could not do enough for me. I only had a very brief visit to their lounge in Doha, but what I saw was very good, my only gripe was that they used buses to and from the planes on both flights in Doha. Qatar Airways London assured that airbridges would be used, especially as they now had a brand new airport, so it looks as if they haven't been informed about them still using buses or they don't want to tell you. As I am 82 years old I find it difficult walking up and down those stairs carrying two cases. Hopefully on my return flight in September, they will use airbridges , I'll have to wait and see. Except for that minor thing, I would have given them 10/10, but I can only give them a 8/10
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to Manila via Doha
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (South Africa) 1st July 2015

Was curious to try Qatar, having flown Emirates numerous times between S Africa and Europe. Qatar's pricing is a major draw-card, they were significantly cheaper than Emirates. The trip out of JNB to DOH was great, the plane was not full and a lot of passengers had spare seats around them. Not sure that it would have been as pleasant with a full plane. Having heard so much about the Boeing 787, I was expecting it to be state-of-the-art flying, but I can't say that was the case. The seats are as hard and very cramped - these seats rate very poorly against the Boeing 777, and the only way I could grab any sleep was by sleeping against the window. The food was really good, and I love the containers they use - much better than any other airline I have flown with recently. Entertainment is great - the range is not quite as extensive as Emirates or BA, but streets ahead of Turkish Airlines. One gripe is that the crew would only serve one drink with dinner, I couldn't have a pre-dinner drink and a glass of wine. Thought that was rather mean. The flight between Doha and Istanbul was also good, despite it being a full flight on a narrow body aircraft. Return flight was great too, my only gripe is that every leg of the journey entailed a bus to get to the terminal building, and another back out. That would be okay if you weren't left in the 38 degree heat. Other than that, I can't fault Qatar.
AircraftBoeing 787 / A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteJohannesburg to Istanbul (SAW) via Doha
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 29th June 2015

Flew from Amsterdam to Bangkok via Doha. I took advantage of a great introduction fare as this is a new route for QR. From and to AMS is with the Dreamliner. The flight to and from BKK with the Boeing 777-300ER. Qatar Airways provides a good service in economy, all flights were on time and the transit at the new Doha airport was painless. They have to work on their inflight entertainment system though, as it is a rather clumsy and unresponsive design. That was really the only issue, for the rest inflight service was good. Some reviewers complain about the limited legroom and uncomfortable seats on the dreamliner but I found both to be adequate. As long as Qatar Airways offer competitive fares they will be on my shortlist for trips to Asia.
AircraftBoeing 787 / 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAMS to BKK via DOH
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (United Arab Emirates) 29th June 2015

Overall flights punctual, staff super friendly. Flights good, Boeing 787 a great aircraft, food ok, lamb which I don't like. Why when transiting do you have to back through security again? Lounge very flashy and impressive but service slow to non existent. I not change the reservation online, called Johannesburg call centre again can't change, tried calling Doha told to do it at the airport. Ticketing at airport again no chance. J class ticket ? Overall I like the crew in the air, but will think again if the food and ground ops are ongoing.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDubai DWC to Johanesburg via Doha
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

Arrived for check in slightly late - large queue so Business desk was opened for me - very friendly check in staff at LHR. Enjoyable flight on Qatar Airways, friendly staff and good service. A drink not long after departure, drink with the meal and a post dinner drink (including good quality Armagnac) plus drinks on request. Champagne was offered in economy - not the most common offering and a welcome change from other airlines who often only offer red/white wine and beer for economy passengers. Comfortable seats with a good range of English, International, Arabic programmes meant the flight was more than tolerable. Food a little highly salted - offerings were chicken/beef with rice/potatoes, nothing ground breaking but nothing to complain about either. Only negative was that like most Gulf airlines it's lacks character - something I enjoy when flying with flag carriers.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon to Doha
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

After a wonderful flight on a B777-300ER this was a bit of a downgrade I must admit, smaller seats and awful quality VOD. However food and drink service was solid. Cabin crew a little less friendly than the previous flight and facilities more dated, but more than tolerable. Good selection of drinks - spirits and champagne in economy again. Far from the worst but not the best.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDoha to Jakarta
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (Uganda) 27th June 2015

The plane was boarded well in time however the computers had to be rebooted and the flight left 10 minutes late but time was made up anyway. Keeping in mind that Qatar Airways has been voted #1 in the world it is hard to find fault with anything. My only comment would be that over 5 hours is a long way to fly in a narrow body jet. Transiting Doha is now much better with the new terminal. And even better if you have a silver card as you get access to a lounge in Entebbe and Doha. And for most sectors out of Entebbe (Uganda) Qatar offer the best price, which makes them unbeatable really unless you want a direct flight to Western Europe.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteEntebbe to Sofia via Doha
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes