Qatar Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1701 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (South Africa) 1st July 2015

Was curious to try Qatar, having flown Emirates numerous times between S Africa and Europe. Qatar's pricing is a major draw-card, they were significantly cheaper than Emirates. The trip out of JNB to DOH was great, the plane was not full and a lot of passengers had spare seats around them. Not sure that it would have been as pleasant with a full plane. Having heard so much about the Boeing 787, I was expecting it to be state-of-the-art flying, but I can't say that was the case. The seats are as hard and very cramped - these seats rate very poorly against the Boeing 777, and the only way I could grab any sleep was by sleeping against the window. The food was really good, and I love the containers they use - much better than any other airline I have flown with recently. Entertainment is great - the range is not quite as extensive as Emirates or BA, but streets ahead of Turkish Airlines. One gripe is that the crew would only serve one drink with dinner, I couldn't have a pre-dinner drink and a glass of wine. Thought that was rather mean. The flight between Doha and Istanbul was also good, despite it being a full flight on a narrow body aircraft. Return flight was great too, my only gripe is that every leg of the journey entailed a bus to get to the terminal building, and another back out. That would be okay if you weren't left in the 38 degree heat. Other than that, I can't fault Qatar.
AircraftBoeing 787 / A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteJohannesburg to Istanbul (SAW) via Doha
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 29th June 2015

Flew from Amsterdam to Bangkok via Doha. I took advantage of a great introduction fare as this is a new route for QR. From and to AMS is with the Dreamliner. The flight to and from BKK with the Boeing 777-300ER. Qatar Airways provides a good service in economy, all flights were on time and the transit at the new Doha airport was painless. They have to work on their inflight entertainment system though, as it is a rather clumsy and unresponsive design. That was really the only issue, for the rest inflight service was good. Some reviewers complain about the limited legroom and uncomfortable seats on the dreamliner but I found both to be adequate. As long as Qatar Airways offer competitive fares they will be on my shortlist for trips to Asia.
AircraftBoeing 787 / 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAMS to BKK via DOH
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (United Arab Emirates) 29th June 2015

Overall flights punctual, staff super friendly. Flights good, Boeing 787 a great aircraft, food ok, lamb which I don't like. Why when transiting do you have to back through security again? Lounge very flashy and impressive but service slow to non existent. I not change the reservation online, called Johannesburg call centre again can't change, tried calling Doha told to do it at the airport. Ticketing at airport again no chance. J class ticket ? Overall I like the crew in the air, but will think again if the food and ground ops are ongoing.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDubai DWC to Johanesburg via Doha
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

Arrived for check in slightly late - large queue so Business desk was opened for me - very friendly check in staff at LHR. Enjoyable flight on Qatar Airways, friendly staff and good service. A drink not long after departure, drink with the meal and a post dinner drink (including good quality Armagnac) plus drinks on request. Champagne was offered in economy - not the most common offering and a welcome change from other airlines who often only offer red/white wine and beer for economy passengers. Comfortable seats with a good range of English, International, Arabic programmes meant the flight was more than tolerable. Food a little highly salted - offerings were chicken/beef with rice/potatoes, nothing ground breaking but nothing to complain about either. Only negative was that like most Gulf airlines it's lacks character - something I enjoy when flying with flag carriers.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon to Doha
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

After a wonderful flight on a B777-300ER this was a bit of a downgrade I must admit, smaller seats and awful quality VOD. However food and drink service was solid. Cabin crew a little less friendly than the previous flight and facilities more dated, but more than tolerable. Good selection of drinks - spirits and champagne in economy again. Far from the worst but not the best.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDoha to Jakarta
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (Uganda) 27th June 2015

The plane was boarded well in time however the computers had to be rebooted and the flight left 10 minutes late but time was made up anyway. Keeping in mind that Qatar Airways has been voted #1 in the world it is hard to find fault with anything. My only comment would be that over 5 hours is a long way to fly in a narrow body jet. Transiting Doha is now much better with the new terminal. And even better if you have a silver card as you get access to a lounge in Entebbe and Doha. And for most sectors out of Entebbe (Uganda) Qatar offer the best price, which makes them unbeatable really unless you want a direct flight to Western Europe.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteEntebbe to Sofia via Doha
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 26th June 2015

Flew the A380. Boarding was very efficiƫnt and shortly after take off drinks and meals were served. So there was enough time to sleep for the remaining flight time. I decided to get a last drink in the lounge. There I had a wonderful reception by the crew, who were nice to chat and pamper for the rest of the remaining flight. I did not sleep a wink, but had my best flight experience ever! Qatar Airways serves an outstanding business class product with incredible good seats and the lounge on the A380 as an absolute extra, but at the end of the day it are the people who are working for Qatar, who make it a 6 star rating.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDoha to Bangkok
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (Singapore) 26th June 2015

Dallas to Doha economy class, and passengers were mostly not beef eaters, but one of the main dishes offered was beef. Maybe the airline should look at other food choice options. Overall very satisfied with the service provided by crew and the inflight entertainment. Qatar deserves to be the world best airline. Meal options are not the fault of crew, but just a suggestion.
AircraftB777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDallas to Singapore via DOH
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 24th June 2015

My second trip with Qatar Airways, last time had the older A330 aircraft. What a difference this time! The B787 seats are not as good as A380, but okay for the shorter flight to Doha. The window shades in this 787 aircraft are rubbish, and they do not block out the sun as was promised when Boeing were advertising the benefits of the plane. The A380 was so much better, nice and spacious and seats very comfortable. IFE is not very different to Emirates or Singapore Airlines that I flew last time, don't understand why everyone raves about Emirates because they just have a huge library of ancient, 2nd rate films. Food was good, not the best but certainly good for Economy cabin trip. Cabin staff were great on both flights, better for DOH-BKK where they were chatty and friendly. Return in 10 days flying out of Singapore and looking forward to getting on their A350 I have read so much about. Definitely recommend Qatar Airways with these new planes, and service seems to have improved from before.
AircraftBoeing 787 / A380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLHR-DOH-BKK
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Qatar Airways customer review

Review by (United States) 24th June 2015

Singapore to Miami. The Boeing 787 seats appear good for children and small females but an adult male will be uncomfortable. The first thing to do is relocate the Media box away from the under seat area. Having my one foot out in the isle was not only a safety hazard but not fun to be kicked and bumped into because I could not move my feet if placed under the seat. I was sitting next to a larger man who encroached into my seat space. I believe the seat is about 17" across. Seat pitch minimal but no different to other airlines. Service was very friendly, top notch. Noticeably better than US airlines. Food was disappointing. While the airline does offer superb service, I recommend against flying them in coach due to seat restrictions.
AircraftBoeing 787 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSIN to MIA via DOH
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no