Vote Now  

Qantas Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 914 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"barely better than economy"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Johannesburg. In the past seven years I have flown business class with Emirates, Etihad and Qatar. Qatar Airways is far and away the best, and I would love to try Singapore Airlines again. Unfortunately I was flying to South Africa and so had little choice - Qantas or Qantas. Not only did I have to pay a ridiculous $5,000 one way for each of my wife and I, the aircraft was an old Boeing 747-400 and the cabin service was barely better than economy on other airlines. There was no 'experience' to this flight, and certainly no feeling of being 'treated' as a premium customer. It was slap-dash, here-you-go service. The food was very ordinary. There was not even a pre-dinner drink with canapes, and no after meal offer of cheese, chocolate or liquer. No, it was whip the tray away, lights out and crew disappeared. The second leg down to Cape Town from Johannesburg was a codeshare domestic business class operated by South African Airways and what a contrast it was - premium service from beginning to end, and SAA was absolutely professional, and enjoyable. I recommend checking the operator if you are flying Sydney to Johannesburg and picking the day when South African Airways are taking you - that way you might get value for money.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Johannesburg
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"the FA's were excellent"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Dallas and on to NYC and then returning from Los Angeles to Sydney. Being a QFF I am biased. The flight to Dallas was fine and had a full row to myself. The return flight back from LAX was fine albeit the aircraft was packed. Food and beverages typical of most airlines these days - edible but that's all. The FA's on both legs were excellent. Stepping onto a Qantas aircraft is a bit like stepping home for me.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to New York via Dallas
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"we were most pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Sydney to Hong Kong. As this was our return trip from Sydney we were most pleasantly surprised at the standard of service and comfort compared to the other flights we had with British Airways for the rest of our trip. The staff were courteous and polite from check in to disembarking and the service on board was infinitely better. The food and beverages were excellent and our comfort was great. The entertainment system was again superior to British Airways with more choice available. I would not hesitate to recommend Qantas premium economy.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSydney to Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"service is unfriendly and rude"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I have been a loyal Qantas customer for a long time but I am done with flying long haul economy flights with Qantas. This leg (Dubai to Melbourne) I have done 3 times in the last year with an infant and it is terrible. Emirates and BA are 1000 times better. They actually make an effort to welcome you, chat with you, make sure your children are settled before you take off. Firstly, they have cost cut to the point of it being ridiculous. No basic amenities such as a toothbrush and a few pencils for my daughter to play with (unless asked). Service is unfriendly and rude. The amount of packaging for their food is huge - rubbish everywhere. They don't use a tray to serve you so you need to juggle individual bits of food on your little table. The food quality is poor - my salad was gritty and the greens were slimy. No walking through the cabin offering water in the middle of the night - you have to track it down. We have been fortunate to have bulkhead seats on 2/3 trips however the seat room is shocking - you would need to be under 160cm to fit. It should be a given that airlines offer wifi - even if you pay - these days.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Melbourne
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"good service ... enjoyable flights"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Brisbane to Sydney, same day return. Boarded and departed on time. Arriving early on both legs. Both flights about 90% full. Small jam slice provided to Sydney and Carrots, crackers and dip provided to Brisbane. Not the best offering, but it was something and not bad. Beverages offered. Flight attendants cheerful and helpful. They appeared to be happy to be there. 737 to Sydney ws older type with no IFE. 737 to Brisbane had seat back entertainment. Aircraft clean. Good service and enjoyable flights.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"not international business class"

(Australia)

Unverified | Sydney to Auckland. The same old story for Qantas on this route, 37 inches of space in an old fashioned reclining seat on a narrow body aircraft is not international business class. Unless your schedule demands it I strongly recommend airlines that fly fully flat beds on wide bodied aircraft on this route. That said the service and food offering were impeccable and the flight departed and arrived on time.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Auckland
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"friendly, smiling cabin crew"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Adelaide in economy class. Great service, friendly, smiling cabin crew. Great inflight entertainment. My only negative comment is that this was the dinner flight and it was a disappointment. Food served in a box, no tray and no extra condiments such as bread roll, butter, cheese, crackers etc. It felt as if I had just been given a quick takeaway. Come on Qantas if you are paying premium economy fares I expect a premium quality meal. Upon saying this, Qantas is still my preferred carrier for domestic or international.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelourne to Adelaide
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Qantas fell woefully short"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Christchurch to Sydney. What started promisingly turned into a nightmare. Left hotel at 4.30am for 7am flight to Sydney from Christchurch on 2 February. Check in fine though check in girl didn't smile and seemed unhappy to be there. Boarded plane on time and pushed back early.Then nothing - after what seemed an age the captain said that one of the engines seemed to be leaking fuel. They were going to run one of the engines and see if it stopped. After 1.5 hours on the plane we were told we would have to deplane We were given a 20 dollar voucher but only one cafe to spend it in, so the queue was enormous. The business lounge was reopened but very little food was available until lunchtime. No information was forthcoming, eventually our brother in law in Sydney told us that it was showing on the computer that the flight was leaving at 1540 but we had not been told this. Eventually it got round that it would now be 1640 but still nothing official to business class passengers - if announcements were made outside they were not conveyed to us. Eventually a woman told us at 3.00 pm that the flight was cancelled - no empathy, no real apology just that we had to reclaim our baggage and recheck in. No announcement was made where our baggage would be and no sign appeared on the belt, and eventually it appeared on a domestic carousel. Eventually we were called out of the queue and told we would be put on Emirates flight. For the first time the attitude was more appropriate. When we went back to the lounge as Emirates passengers, the same woman who had told us an hour previously our flight was cancelled appeared to have no recollection of that event. An airline needs to be judged how they manage things when they go wrong, and Qantas fell woefully short.
AircraftBoeing 737 800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteChristchurch to Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"fantastic flight with Qantas"

(Australia)

Unverified | Adelaide to Melbourne and a fantastic flight with Qantas. Smooth flight, friendly crew and great service. The only negative comment is that this was a breakfast flight and it is lacking in the amount of food. Gone are the days when you got served on a tray with all the trimmings, it was a choice of yogurt or a toasted egg and bacon sandwich. All served in a box. One could think they were on a budget carrier. Come on Qantas lift your game.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Melbourne
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"poor, really poor"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Paid a lot of money to travel business class from Joburg to Sydney 2 Feb 2017. Looked forward to relaxing into comfy chairs and enjoying some great food, drinks and amenities in the business class lounge for a few hours while we waited for our connecting flight back home to Sydney. What a shock. 2 refrigerated rows of old pre-packed sandwiches, a Bain Marie of over-salted rissoles (inedible), 2 really overcooked, mashed pasta dishes and 1 other meaty looking mess we weren't game to try and some over-cooked rice. Opted for a bag of crisps and parked ourselves in a couple of hugely high-backed, hard and uncomfortable chairs. Disgusted. We have patronised business class lounges for Emirates, British Airways and other Qantas lounges and never experienced the likes of this. Not sure whether QANTAS or OR Tambo Airport are responsible but definitely the Shongololo Lounge is the absolute worst. I actually asked the lady at the front desk for clarification that we were actually in the business class lounge and was advised that the only other one was even smaller. Poor, really poor.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJohannesburg to Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no