Top 100 Airlines  

Qantas Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 841 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"could not alter the seating"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Dubai to Wellington via Sydney. My elderly parents - my father is 88 years old with visual impairment and deaf, his wife is 75 with limited mobility due to arthritis and a recent hip replacement. They tried for an upgrade but this was unavailable. They next tried to pre select the seats but that was also unsuccessful. Instead they were given pre allocated seats that were 8 rows apart. There was no way we could alter this online so headed to the airport early. Sadly because this was a codeshare with Emirates (flying from Glasgow to Dubai with EK) we were told there add nothing we could do in Glasgow but I could phone Qantas ourselves. This we did and after a 20 minutes on the phone to a very helpful woman we were informed that the Qantas staff were in a break but when they were available she would sorry out the seating and get back to me. 45 minutes later and less than an hours before the parents had to go through security I called Qantas again. The person answering the phone could find no record of my previous call and more annoyingly could not alter the seating allocation for the parents but did say some one would get back to me in 48hours. So I left my elderly vulnerable parents at Glasgow worrying about how they will manage on the long leg of their journey with Qantas flying from Dubai to Sydney where they will not even have each other for support. Well done Qantas - how to make vulnerable people feel even more vulnerable.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDXB to WLG via SYD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"quality of service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Tokyo to Brisbane. Qantas demonstrated poor quality of service straight from check in. Compulsory check in via kiosk and lack of check-in counters created a huge queue. Flights were also delayed once for 2 hours and another time for 40 minutes. Food and service is a step up from JetStar, which in turn offer no food and little service. Drinks are limited to whisky, wine and beer. Food is a junk food range. Attention for customers flying overseas! If you will have a problem you won't be able to contact Qantas customer service as Qantas has no 24/7 support and no phone number for contact from overseas. You will be dealing with local staff who is not employed by Qantas and cannot make any decisions, provide accommodation, food or even an advice. Movies are 20 years old. Service is minimal and I had to repeat 4 times what drink I want and when I got it it was not what I asked for.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNRT to BNE
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"called by my name, attentive service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Short flight to Sydney in seat 3A (last row of 3) at lunchtime Sunday. My baggage receipt did not print out at Bag Drop. Had to go looking for someone to help to see if this was an issue or not. Qantas ground staff suggested that I needed the receipt "especially as I was using QTag". That was a bit disconcerting. Anyway, I used QFF points but wouldn't pay money for business class on such a short flight. Leather seat had crumbs and the footrest was extended and no matter how much I pressed the button and pushed it with my legs, it would not budge. Flight attendant managed to get it stowed away for landing. Water or juice offered. Called by my name, attentive service. Plenty of room compared to economy but definitely not A380 Business Class. I opted for the ham and cheese open toasted sandwich. A bit oily, but tasty nonetheless. I didn't use the wifi or entertainment system. Priority boarding and disembarkation, bag first out on the baggage carousel. The flight left a few minutes late but arrived slightly early. Smooth flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBNE to SYD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"avoid Qantas in the future"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Singapore to Sydney. Having seen the quality and quantity of food take a steep nose dive and a reduction in service in Qantas economy class over the last few years, we were hopeful of a better experience in business class from Singapore to Sydney. Unfortunately we were disappointed. The flat bed is great, very comfortable. But with only two flight attendants the service was just basic, they had no time for niceties. The food was disgraceful for a flight departing at 2000 hrs local time. A 'supper plate' was a small plate of uninteresting and bland food, served with one slice of bread. Not even any salt and pepper. That was it, one small plate. We were both still hungry so asked for the cheese platter, which consisted of two small pieces of cheese, two dried apricots and two crackers. Breakfast was equally skimpy. Instead of making rubbish such as cookies, ice creams and chocolate available during the flight (not that we saw them), the airline should concentrate on giving passengers proper meals. We had just flown Air France business class from Paris to Singapore with double the number of flight attendants, warm, attentive service and superb food, so the low standards on Qantas were very noticeable. We will avoid Qantas in any class in the future, there is no value for money.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSIN to SYD
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"seats were really uncomfortable"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Singapore outbound on A330-300, refurbished with touchscreen IFE. Great seats and service. Sunday flight so a relaxed cabin. The return was on an A330-200, although refurbished was an earlier version. Have been on this plane on its Sydney to Perth service. For some reason the seats were really uncomfortable. Plane load of kids, nobody settling down and a restless night. The quality of the food was not so good. I am a biased Qantas frequent flyer so always happy with the airline.
AircraftA330 -300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to SIN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"the crew was attentive"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta to Melbourne via Sydney. I am surprised to see their new seat cover from dull and dark purple with black strips to maroon color although it still looks rather dark but the color gives me better mood. The screen looks bigger although some sectors still use portable ipad (I dislike it especially when it was dead on Melbourne Sydney sector) but the crew was attentive and replace it with the new one. The screen is good and wide. The check in counter made me a little bit uneasy when I was checking in from Sydney to Jakarta. I asked whether I need to produce my mother's hard copy OZ visa when passing through the immigration. She said no need in the beginning but later she added to take it with me just after luggages were being loaded to be weight and said "if you are worried since it does not worry me". Other than that she was fine. She even tried to help me in finding wheelchair for my mom. In terms of menu, they are mostly are great but I would suggest that Qantas better remove "fresh fruit and hot chocolate drink" as we did not get them.
AircraftA330-200 / 330-300 / Boeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCGK to MEL via SYD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Good service and nice food"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Shanghai, returning Hong Kong to Brisbane. The new international A330 set up is really good for economy. I am 186cm (6ft1) tall and always have legroom problems - usually jamming my shins into the hinge of the seat in front of me. The new seats are terrific - somehow the new design means I can stretch my legs out under the seat in front of me and even go to sleep! Good service and nice food for lunch and a second service for dinner. I pre-ordered using the on-Q service - excellent - and they were always generous with the wine. Friendly staff and great entertainment system.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to PVG
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"crew going through the motions"

(Australia)

Honolulu to Sydney. The flight started off well. Champagne was served prior to take-off and the flight left five minutes early. In the air however it soon became apparent, with one exception, that the senior flight crew were only going through the motions. And they did. I'm usually a fan of Neil Perry's food but the main courses chosen for lunch by my partner and myself were bland and tasteless. And the dinner (Moussaka) served before arriving was almost inedible (as well as being served lukewarm). On top of that, we were told by the disinterested crew, Qantas only load a couple of bottles of each type of white wine. Consequently the Chardonnay ran out first, then the Sauvignon Blanc and then the Riesling. And that was during lunch. We were on the same sector last October and they ran of Business Class white altogether. But the crew did offer to get some white wine from "down the back".
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHNL to SYD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"flight got away on time"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Took the direct service from Canberra to Adelaide tonight with Qantas. Flight got away on time and boarding was fast which is always a good start to a flight when you have been away. Dinner was served with free wine and beer in the Economy Cabin. Downside to the flight was the entertainment system freezing several times in my seat (13A). Also the bags took a long time to come out - more than 15 minutes after arriving at the carousel.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCBR to ADL
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a good flight"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Travelled from Adelaide to Canberra on business on the evening service direct to Canberra with Qantas. I was seated in 19H which was comfortable. Dinner was served on the flight and I opted for the Beef and Mushroom pie which was OK. The flight left on time and got imto Canberra early which was great. All in all, a good flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteADL to CBR
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes