Qantas Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1220 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"an absolute nightmare"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Honolulu to Melbourne via Sydney. My recent trip back from Honolulu was and still is an absolute nightmare. Coming from someone who's travelled some of the lowest rated airlines in the world whilst backpacking around Asia my expectation of customer service is very low and I guess I had an expectation that if anything was to go wrong with Qantas we would be looked after, how was I wrong. We were notified that one of our bags was held up (despite providing both bags to Qantas at the same time at the domestic transfer lounge) and that the second bag would be delivered to us the following day and we would receive a phone call advising a 3 hour window our bag would be delivered. Not ideal as we had been away for a while but we sucked it up and figured it could be worse. The following day we received a call saying our bag had arrived and we would receive it between 3 and 6 pm. At 8pm we had not heard anything further and our bag still had not arrived, after calling Qantas baggage services and being on hold for 45 minutes (something that we are quite used to now) we were told the courier had arrived at 1pm but couldn't find our bag and they had no idea where it was. They suspected the wrong courier may have taken our bag and it would come back eventually and they would call us the following day. After not receiving a call the next day we called back and nothing had been received. The 3 staff were laughing at how ridiculous the situation was, something we took great offence to. 3 days later we called back for an update and asked kindly for some form of allowance for everyday items and advice around whether we could start replacing a few items. A member of staff thought this was quite reasonable and couldn't believe we weren't offered anything prior but after speaking to her manager she offered 2 x lounge passes. Absolutely useless, we have no plans to fly Qantas and there's no way they will help us in this situation. We of course declined this offer. Forward 21 days until our baggage would be considered lost we submitted a lost baggage claim for $3.9k - We were offered $2k as a final claim and asked to sign a confidentiality agreement and a form which relieves Qantas of any responsibility. I've been asked to do this despite 2 members of staff admitting it was 100% Qantas' fault. They couldn't believe couriers could just take whatever bags they wished and there was no need to sign in or out bags. We are told we are free to claim the additional through travel insurance something we have no intention to do. Qantas need to take responsibility for what they've done and simply reimburse the full replacement cost of our items.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Melbourne via Sydney
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"prices are competitive"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | London to Melbourne via Singapore. The seats are nice by economy standards, the IFE has a lot to offer and drinks are served complimentary. I sense that meals became less tasty recently and they might want to consider getting back to previous quality. But it's still my best bet from Europe to Australia, partly because stop-overs in Singapore (or Dubai in the past) are timed well, enough to get a decent stretch and visit the butterfly garden and short enough to not waste time. I will choose Qantas given their prices are competitive (which they often are).
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Melbourne via Singapore
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"let down by operations"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | We experienced 2-hour delays on QF23 Sydney to Bangkok and on the return sector QF38 Singapore to Melbourne. Flight tracking shows this is quite normal especially on the SYD-BKK sector. We arrived at BKK with 30 minutes to get through immigration and re-screening for connecting flight to Phuket. Incorrect information given to our travelling companion by Qantas check-in staff regarding uplifting of luggage in BKK and rechecking in for Phuket saw items purchased in SYD confiscated at re-screening. The checked-in luggage was in fact checked through to Phuket. On arrival to Phuket I found my luggage did not make it. On departure day, we received notification that QF38 was going to be delayed leaving SIN which meant missing our onward connection to NZ. As I was in Business Class, I was rescheduled with additional flight from MLB to SYD and then to NZ. My travelling companions fared worse. They were rescheduled to fly on a different airline the following day. This meant having to stay an extra night and extensive layover in MLB for their flight to NZ. On arrival, their luggage did not turn up. I feel very sorry for the crew having to explain and apologise for the delays and the inconvenience not of their doing. They were the saving grace in terms of their professionalism, friendliness and attentiveness on-board. The new business class seating on the A330 is a fantastic product however the food overall is slightly below par to that of other airlines. Overall, inflight service fantastic only to be let down by operations.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Bangkok
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Inflight service was efficient"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Brisbane return. Both flights were very smooth from beginning to end. As it was a return trip, online Check In made it very seamless as I only had carry on baggage. All my trips started off with a visit to the Business Lounge, with the Brisbane Business Lounge far superior than the Sydney location. Qantas really needs to update the space as it's getting very dated. Both flights departed on time, Inflight service was efficient with decent food and beverages and IFE was great with new content added. Keep it up Qantas.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Brisbane
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"kids meal nobody else wanted"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The flight on Qantas from Brisbane to LA (two times) and even my flight to Tokyo the food ran out of beef and chicken and I am always offered the left over kiddies meal. This is the 4th time with my good hard earned airfare I have been offered a kids meal nobody else wanted. This is terrible customer service and after speaking to a staff member from Qantas she doesn't seem to know what to do or care about it either. She said 'what do you expect me to do". If I went to a restaurant and paid for a nice meal and they offered me a left over kids meal, or a meal someone else has already touched, would this staff member be happy.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"inflight service quick and efficient"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney To Gold Coast. A fairly smooth flight, with Check In and Security quick and painless. Then it was a visit to the Business Lounge for some much needed breakfast. Priority Boarding was enforced, amazing to see great Customer service. The flight itself was very smooth, with inflight service quick and efficient and great content from IFE. Departure and Arrival was on schedule.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteSydney to Gold Coast
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"Such a terrible service"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | I was flying with Qantas from Auckland to Singapore via Melbourne and then to Colombo with Emirates. When I arrived in Colombo found out my luggage wasn't there. After complaining Airport staff found out it was still in Melbourne and never transferred to my flight to Singapore QF35 and Emirates did not receive it from Qantas in Singapore. To make things worse they kept postponed sending my luggage day by day and finally, I received it after 5 days. By then I had to cancel my trip to Kandy, buy new clothes for me as all my clothes in the luggage, and also hire a vehicle go back again to Colombo airport to pick my luggage and go through all the trouble as Colombo airport service was terrible. I spent two more weeks in Sri Lanka and kind of expecting some sort of compensation or at least a letter of apology from Qantas. I have experienced a similar trouble with Kuwait Airways and they were very fast in service recovery. But nothing from Qantas. When I came back to Auckland I sent my complaint to Qantas and to my surprise they keep passing the responsibility to Emirates which I flew from Singapore to Colombo. How could Emirates pick up my luggage in Melbourne which was under Qantas? I flew into Melbourne with Qantas and flew out of Melbourne with Qantas and It was Qantas who is responsible for transfering my luggage from QF158 to QF35. Unfortunately, Qantas customer services do not admit it's their fault. They not only ruined my holidays but also not giving reasons why my luggage was not transferred and why it was delayed 5days. Such a terrible service I will never fly with horrible Qantas again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 / A380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Singapore via Melbourne
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"behaviour was inappropriate"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Santiago to Sydney. The behaviour of the in-flight crew on both flights was inappropriate, for different reasons. On the flight to Santiago, I at one stage went back to the service area to request more water for us both, saying words to the effect of "Could I get more water for my partner and I?". The female attendant then queried, "Your mother?". "No, my wife" I replied, at which she then said words along the lines of "We were wondering if you two were a couple, my colleague asked me what my gaydar told me about you". I found this statement to be inappropriately familiar and quite unprofessional. When I returned to my seat with the water, upon relating the exchange to my wife, the crew member suddenly appeared in front of us, saying "Are you talking about me?". Again, I found this behaviour odd and not a little bit creepy. Needless to say neither of us felt relaxed for the remainder of that flight. On the return flight, the female cabin member appeared put out by being asked for the slightest thing. We are not demanding passengers by any estimation, and are well aware that crew members have numerous duties to attend to. However, when the cabin member was walking past me, I attracted her attention and requested a drink for each of us. The reply was a deep and very audible sigh, followed by words to the effect of "I'm very busy at the moment you know, I have the pilots' dinner to organise". I stated that I understood, just when she got a chance. However, this "you're so putting me out" behaviour was repeated every time we asked for something or had a concern, such as when the lettuce was frozen solid, or when the pork was so tough I could not even cut it, let alone eat it (please see attached photos). On the subject of food, there is some expectation of edibility in all classes, let alone Business Class surely? I'm sure Neil Perry would not be pleased that his "signature menu" was so poorly executed. No one in that cabin had edible salad, all were frozen in one lump, and my "replacement" meal for the tough pork was beef that was not much better. I was left hungry as I could not eat either meal. When we requested some snacks due to being hungry, the male crew member said "Oh you want to keep the chocolate? Well, you are a growing girl". Again, to address a woman of 50 in such a way is not "cute" or "friendly", just odd. I would suggest that your staff need further training in not over-stepping the line between "friendly" and "creepy". In contrast, I have to say that your partner airline, Latam, which we flew for the remainder of our journey both ways, although not as "fancy" in terms of the seat/bed arrangement, were unfailingly friendly, helpful, and not once did we get the impression that we were an imposition to them, which was the impression we received from the crew member on the QANTAS flight. We have flown Business Class with Singapore, Lufthansa, and Emirates, and have been impressed and delighted every time with the helpfulness of the crew and the standard of the service and food. To be so disappointed, on two out of two occasions (congratulations, you have a perfect score), with our national carrier, was an unpleasant surprise, and has led us to the conclusion that, given any other choice, we will not fly QANTAS Business Class again.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSantiago to Sydney
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"definitely fly with Qantas again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Los Angeles. We hadn't flown with Qantas for many years, but booked with them in Business Class for recent flights to and from Los Angeles. We were very happy with the aircraft, the crew, the food, and everything else connected with the flight, except (tongue in cheek because it's not really that important) - the female crew uniforms. There is nothing attractive about black, pink and orange! We will definitely fly with Qantas again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBrisbane to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"simply do not appear to care"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Perth. Loyalty means nothing. After spending a considerable amount of time searching and planning for a 'suitable and available' flight where frequent flyer points could be used, (which I might add is no easy assignment) I booked the ticket, only to be emailed 3 weeks later advising the flight times from Singapore to Perth have been changed, with a new arrival time of 00:50. As we are based in Adelaide, this change now means we will be sitting in the airport overnight until the first flight out at 06:45. (I am empathetic to flight time changes and it is what it is), however my real gripe is that Qantas Customer Service (which is somewhat of an oxymoron) just simply do not appear to care about their loyal customers. I asked if I had any alternative options and suggested I would be happy to change our return flight to Melbourne, however this was promptly rejected without hesitation. To top it off, when I sent an email to Qantas voicing my disappointment and suggesting maybe a long standing loyal Frequent Flyer member may be provided with alternative options, I received a generic email response simply stating: "Thank you for contacting Qantas Customer Care. For all pre-travel related queries, please contact our reservations team on 13 13 13. The team are available to assist 24 hours a day, 7 days a week". It would appear Loyalty and real Customer service is a thing of the past when it comes to Qantas.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Perth
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no