Qantas Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1081 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"a pretty good flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | London to Sydney via Dubai. The return from London visiting family for Christmas. the flight was fine and the FA's were courteous. The issue was the dinner service, the risotto was inedible. Terrible. On time departure and arrival and when the only thing to complain about was one dish then its a pretty good flight.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Sydney via Dubai
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"another satisfying flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to London via Dubai. The crews on the A380 were professional and friendly. All meal services were fine as was provision of snacks. A stop at Dubai which was busy as always. It helps to have lounge access so a freshen up and onward to London. All in all another satisfying flight.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to London via Dubai
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"everything was very smooth"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Brisbane. From Check-In to Lounge access and boarding, everything was very smooth. The flight was uneventful with minimal disturbance. Since it was an early morning flight, I normally would eat breakfast but decided to take a nap. The Flight Attendants were very present during the flight, it's great to see Qantas showcasing great Customer service during such a short flight. The plane touchdown on time and accessing the Brisbane Terminal was at ease.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Brisbane
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

" dismissive and unapologetic"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Orlando via Sydney / Dallas. My wife and I booked flights from Melbourne to Orlando in December 2017. During our travel to and from the final destination with Qantas and its partner airlines we were met with a disheartening and unacceptable number of delays, errors, cancellations, and general lack of respect and care from the service members we reached out to for help. Lack of time provided by Qantas for connecting flight in Dallas resulting in a high probability of missing the connecting flight. Flight from Sydney to Dallas left more than an hour late, causing us to miss our connecting flight from Dallas to Orlando. New flights were issued which which added an additional hours and an additional flight and wait times to finally arrive in Orlando. We called and spoke to Qantas and the staff on the phone were extremely unhelpful and misinformed us and advised that there were no other options. Instead we spoke to the staff in the airport who were able to find a more convenient flight for us. Our flight from Sydney to Melbourne was changed by Qantas in error from December 2017, to March 2018. This was discovered by us, and not Qantas. We then has to contact Qantas to have this corrected. Flights home from Orlando to Los Angeles was delayed, and ground staff advised that this would not impact our flight from Los Angeles to Sydney. When we arrived in Los Angeles we found that this did in-fact impact our flight. The ground staff checked our names and rushed us to another gate as the next flight was about to leave, only to find we had not been placed on this flight. We were then sent to another gate where they advised the flight was delayed by 5 hours, leaving at 3am. After waiting, the flight was delayed further to 4am As a result of these constant delays, we missed our flight from Sydney to Melbourne, and were instead placed on a flight much later - leaving us stuck in Sydney airport for 3 more hours. In Sydney we attempted to seek support from the Qantas service desk but they were dismissive and unapologetic. Note that during this entire experience we had to contact Qantas, as no one contacted us to advise of any of the unexpected changes, delays and cancellations. While I understand that there are factors outside of your control, and occasional delays are inevitability, the errors made by Qantas and the general lack of communication, support, and disrespect from staff members is unacceptable.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Orlando via Sydney / Dallas
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"staff very friendly and helpful"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I enjoyed my evening trip with Qantas from Melbourne to Sydney. The plane left and arrived on time and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They served a small but tasty meal and nice complementary drinks. The chocolates after dinner were a nice touch. The IFE had no personal screens, but that didn't matter for such a short trip .
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"efficient, helpful and cheerful"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Melbourne. An early morning Christmas day departure. Fortunately the plane was punctual. The staff were very efficient, helpful and cheerful. A small but tasty breakfast was served, which was fine for such a short flight. The IFE was fine. No seat back screens, but OK for such a short flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"mediocre at best"

(Bahamas)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Hong in business class on an ageing Boeing 747. I do believe the whole package is mediocre at best especially compared to competitors on same route. The crew while courteous were overly casual and seems to ignore certain passengers while chatting away with others. Service requests were promised but never delivered . Food while tasty is minimal in portion and choices perhaps due to cost cutting for premium passengers? They also forgot the salad twice, same as my previous flight. Would still be ok for an upgrade but not worth it for a paid ticket.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Hong
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"seat had very little legroom"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I flew QF38 from Singapore to Melbourne in Economy only because Emirates (which code-shares with Qantas) was full. The evening meal was so below par - a "Calzone" (more like a stuffed bun, about 3" long) was served in a cardboard box! I would have done better to have purchased a sandwich from the airport to eat onboard - and this is a Full-service airline of some repute! Compared to Emirates or Singapore Airlines, this meal was a real shocker! Even the meals offered by China Southern Airlines were so much better than Qantas' offering. Breakfast was at least the usual rubber omelette with bacon and sausage. It appears the wines accompanying the evening meal were very average, but at least they were Australian. But the coffee (Grinders) and tea (Dilmah) offered were quite good. On the plus side, it was a nice touch that every Economy seat had a small bottle of water (about 250ml) in the seat pocket. Actually, that saves the crew some legwork from having to repeatedly answer passenger requests for water as longer flights like these can make one quite dehydrated, The seat had very little legroom, and it was virtually impossible to find a comfortable position to sleep, especially when the passenger in front had their chair in the fully reclined position virtually all the way. Cabin service, while courteous, was almost non-existent. Unlike many of its major competitors, no refresher towels pre-takeoff and landing, no drinks offered after takeoff, only with the meal service. Despite being an overnight flight, no "goodie" bag containing eyeshades, toothbrush and socks were given, unlike SQ or EK. Entertainment was adequate but the screens were quite small, and not very responsive to the touch. I was quite disappointed with Qantas. Usually, I book Qantas but would always select Emirates planes (if available), which offers much more legroom, especially on their A380s. The Singapore Airlines A380 is also a bit more spacious but not as spacious as that of Emirates.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Melbourne
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"The service was professional"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Perth to Singapore on 4 January and as my ticket was purchased at the last moment and at this peak time, the fare was quite expensive (it was the same for all airlines and in all classes). I was a little worried that business class on this 737-800 aircraft which is used mainly for domestic and regional flights would be up to scratch on this international flight but the service was impeccable. Addressed by name, I was offered a pre-departure champagne and an amenities kit. Soon after take-off drinks were served, a menu provided and my order taken. The meal was excellent, the choices were good with an excellent variety of wines. The service was professional, courteous and continuous. The only complaint was that the person in front of me reclined their seat back about 1 minute after take-off and kept it in that position for the entire flight. The flight attendant, however, did ask if I wanted the passenger to put their seat upright during the meal service (this is a problem on this type of aircraft with these non-capsule seats). Another small concern is that there is no division or curtain between business and economy other than a small screen above the rear seats in business class. In fact, these rear business seats recline into the economy cabin as there is no bulkhead (but there is plenty of room to recline). Overall, this was a magnificent flight, excellent service and I wouldn't hesitate to fly this route again and on this type of aircraft. Of course my personal preference would be to bring back the A330's for this international service.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePerth to Singapore
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Qantas feels like United in its decline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Flew Canberra to Auckland via Sydney. Alan Joyce has been so busy swanning around changing Australian society that he seems to have forgotten he is meant to be running a first class airline. Checking in was stressful with no real help at kiosks and then passenger chaos at Sydney Airport at Gates 26 A to G with no one helping to organise massive queues. I have been in TSA chaos at LAX but Qantas and Sydney Airport made the TSA look efficient. The crew on the actual flight were terrific. They are ill served by a complacent management hierarchy. I certainly won’t buy Qantas shares. They must be losing custom in droves. So sad for those doing the work on the planes. Qantas feels like United in its decline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCanberra to Auckland via Sydney
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no