Top 100 Airlines  

Qantas Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 772 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"very good and consistent"

(Australia)

Return flight to Singapore from Melbourne with Qantas. Check in at both airports very good, lounge in Melbourne is looking tired, but the staff, food and drinks excellent. Singapore lounge very busy - our only problem was we did not want a meal and there was really no other option, say a sandwich or some nibbles. Both flights very good with pleasant crew, spotless cabin, inflight entertainment very good. Main meals excellent for economy class and we pre ordered at the time of booking. Overall we find Qantas very good and consistent these days, certainly cabin crews are much more customer focused.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to SIN
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"overuse of the word mate "

(Australia)

Verified Review | Travelled with my husband and three children from Oslo to Melbourne on Emirates tickets, with the Dubai to Melbourne leg operated by Qantas. Stark contrast in quality of service, food and cabin fitout between Emirates and Qantas. Qantas staff seemed preoccupied with getting passengers to sleep as quickly as possible above all else, including requests for a bottle to get my tollder settled (grumpy, exhausted 3 year olds aren't conducive to getting a cabin full of people to sleep!). Kids weren't allowed to change seats before take off despite ample unoccupied seats after boarding was complete. Staff did however allow an adult male to change to an empty row of 4 seats before take off. On previous Emirates flights the kids seemed to be given at least a fair chance of occupying spare seats therefore increasing the possibility that they would sleep (which benefits the entire cabin). Kids meal on Qantas was a bread-like tube filled with veges and tomato sauce and a packet of Smarties. Contrast this with Emirates: hot bowl of macaroni cheese, rolls, a dessert, a drink, and a box full of snacks like small chocolate bars, crackers, crisps, and a small toothbrush kit. Entertainment system on Qantas was measly compared to Emirates with very few family movies and a smaller screen. Noticeably less leg room (my husband is 6 foot 4). In terms of service quality - only one staff member in our section seemed happy to be on the flight and conversed with our kids beyond 'Hi mate'. Qantas should be aware that (over)use of the word 'mate' doesn't make up for a lack of genuine care in making a kid's 13 hours in a confined space surrounded by snoring adults as comfortable as possible. On Emirates I felt totally comfortable asking for extra drinks, crisps etc for the kids (to reduce their loud 'I'm hungry' complaints). On Qantas I soon realised that these requests were treated as big extra workloads by the staff. On the plus side, my husband enjoyed the snack bar at the back of the plane.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDXB to MEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"gone downhill big time"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Just got off a Singapore to Perth flight with Qantas and am very disappointed. Years ago was great but now gone downhill big time. I asked the hostess if my bag will fit in the overhead locked as there are fragile items in it and her reply was very snappy - yes it will fit and its not our fault if something is broken. I understand it isn't their problem if something breaks is there a need to be nasty. The food was horrible, they ran out of the choices and was told I could either have curry or nothing. The seats were so uncomfortable with no leg room. I am 5"11 and was cramped the entire time! Not impressed with the flight and service at all. Only good thing was the in flight entertainment.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to PER
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"seats were comfy"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Adelaide to Hong Kong via Melbourne. Qantas Club at Adelaide airport at 5am was not crowded. The lounge did not offer any hot western breakfast, but some light snacks and toast. I was onboard a reconfigured Boeing 737 to Melbourne. Qantas removed personal TVs but they added WiFi onboard. However, the WiFi can only be used for the Qantas entertainment app for movies and flight status. Moreover, it worker slow. It was not a big deal as the flight was just 50 minute. Breakfast was yoghurt. At Melbourne, I headed to T2 for QF29 to Hong Kong. I did not manage to enter the lounge as I was running out of time! The queue at gate 11 in T2 was disaster. Passengers were required to take to escalator down for boarding and boarding pass scanning. Business class and Oneworld Emerald / Sapphire passengers were offered priority queue there! Onboard, a fresh new cabin, seats were comfy, all seats have a footrest and a shelf under the TV (except for front rows). The screen was responsive. Fortunately, the flight was only 70% full and no one sat next to me. There were four options for lunch with one only eligible for pre-booking online. I chose that, chicken with roast potato and vegetables which delicious. Prior landing, hot dog was offered and it was good. Overall, the journey was smooth and comfortable. However, the WiFi should have access to the internet and Qantas must improve the queue at gate 11 in Melbourne. The journey (return flights) cost AUD700 / HKD3780. Very reasonable and attractive. I highly recommend Qantas and their new A330s.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 / A330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteADL to HKG via MEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"food was pathetic"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Manila to Melbourne via Sydney with Qantas. Check in was swift and polite request to change was done with any issue at all. Lounge in MNL was basic but good. Boarding a bit late but priorities respected. The first flight was an A330-300. Crew on this flight were like chalk and cheese. Some were extra charming and professional but others were extremely rude. Flight departed 30 minutes late. Had issues with IFE that took nearly an hour to fix. Food on Qantas was pathetic and stingy. So called supper served on a 8pm flight assuming passengers do not need to be fed. Dessert had a cheese plate which actually had one piece of cheese. During dinner service one of the male crew was so rude to a kid that his father had to speak to the purser. It was disappointing to witness this. Seats on the newly refurbished A330-300 are comfy and fantastic for a good night rest. Short flight time meant arrived in Sydney before time. Being one of the first flights of the day immigration and baggage claim was very fast. Second leg to MEL was a Domestic Configured A330-200. Usual run of the mill flight. No complaints. Good flights but behaviour of some cabin crew is not acceptable.
AircraftA330-300 / A330-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMNL to MEL via SYD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"was a cramped flight"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Perth to Singapore on a Qantas Boeing 737-800 was a cramped flight. I'm only 5'10", in a small plane with only 6 seats across and there was no room to recline so cannot sleep. I will return to using Scoot in their Boeing 787 or Singapore Air. Sadly the food was not very good either compared to my next flight with Royal Brunei.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePER to SIN
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"managed 6 hours sleep"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to New York JFK via Los Angeles. Good flight packed aircraft on QF11, I quite liked it, was comfortable and managed to get 6 hours sleep which wasn't bad for a approximately 15 hour flight, 9 hours of watching movies. Took off at 10:05 am and arrived in Los Angeles at around 6:00 am the next morning, 3 hours in Los Angeles airport and then on the 747-400 (Qantas) to New York.
AircraftA380-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to JFK via LAX
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"removed comment on facebook"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Booked QF118 (direct flight from Hong Kong to Sydney departing at 9:45pm on 11/03/2016) for 6 passengers. On 10 March tried to do online check-in but their website did not have the button for checking in. It only showed check-in was complete at the airport. I changed the website to English version and it allowed me to check-in as normal. First attempt their website said I took too long entering details. It is reasonable to take 15 mins entering six people's details! Second attempt their website showed an error: We are unable to process your check-in request at this time. Try again later or check-in at the airport. [ER100]. I have no idea what was going on so all I could do is do wait till the other day. 11 March In the morning, I received an email "We're sorry, your flight details for travel starting on 11 March 2016 have changed." This is totally unacceptable. Was it that difficult for them to give me a call or sms? What if I didn't check my email? The notice was given in less than 24 hours. Then I called as per instructions and they didn't have enough staffs speaking Cantonese. My calls were simply hung up twice. Then I tried the English one and my call was finally picked up. What if I don't speak English? The call centre officer advised the flight was cancelled due to mechanical issues. They could only offer me earlier indirect flights via Brisbane (7:15pm!) to Sydney. Firstly, indirect flights are much cheaper than direct flights. Secondly, it was very inconvenient for us to transfer at Brisbane. All of us had to take half day annual leave because they could only provide earlier flights. I lodged a formal complaint. 10 April 2016 and no response. I sent another email requesting a response. 12 April 2016 I posted on their facebook. 14 April 2016 I received a response stating their disclaimers etc. In conclusion, they feel that they are justified not compensating anything as little as a voucher or miles. If the flight was delayed I am okay, but that was not the case particularly it was due to mechanical issues. 19 April 2016 I realized they removed my comment on facebook as well.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to SYD
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"kept informed at all times"

(Australia)

Verified Review | QF9 Melbourne to London. Departed on time, all good. After dinner, settled down for sleep (14 hour flight). Landed Sydney (one hour's flying time north of Melbourne) eight hours later. Diversion to Sydney because Qantas/Rolls Royce unhappy with possible vibration in one engine, and took the view that safety comes first. Arrived LHR over 11 hours late. We are delighted with the way Qantas handled this situation. We were kept informed at all times, and kept receiving apologies from pilots and cabin crew (not that any were needed - better safe than sorry). All passengers were given letter explaining what was happening, and expected arrival times. Letter also served as proof of situation for travel insurance claims if necessary. Many Qantas staff on hand at LHR to escort passengers who had missed connections to awaiting buses for overnight hotel accommodation. For those with out-of-pocket expenses, re-imbursment promised. We already have confirmation email that our taxi fare will be in bank within days. 10/10 for the calm and professional manner in which Qantas as an organisation handled this, and the same rating to all Qantas staff concerned.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to LHR via SYD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew were good and friendly"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Manila via Sydney in business Class. Check in fast, lounge at Melbourne basic but good. Departure out of MEL on time on a Boeing 737-800 with sky interior with a friendly and efficient crew. Quick transfer in SYD, and the lounge at SYD has a good selection of food and drink. Priority boarding worked well and flight to Manila on a refurbished A333, with a great, private seat. IFE with an extensive choice. Crew were good and friendly. Food is the only negative and I am puzzled how the business class food is Neil Perry endorsed. I find Qantas economy class food much better. Had good 3 hours of sleep. Bags out fast in Manila.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 / A330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to MNL via SYD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes