top100_2016  

Qantas Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 814 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"regional business class wasn't bad"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | It was our first experience flying Qantas in Business Class from Sydney to Christchurch, on a Boeing 737 for this 3 hour flight. The check in was quite friendly. Only eight passengers in business class, but the other two were the family members of the other passengers who initially sat in economy class. They were allowed to sit in business class by the FA but only after the dinner service. The seats in the B737 are not as comfortable as those in Silk Air. The pitch also is not generous enough with limited recline. Despite only one FA served in J class and she was quite friendly and competent while serving six of us. Qantas regional business class wasn't bad at all.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSYD to CHC
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"once great airline so ordinary"

(United States)

Verified Review | Travelled in premium economy from Dallas to Sydney with Qantas. This is a 16 hour 30 min flight. The onboard service has changed dramatically from when I took this flight a few years ago. Even though I was traveling in premium economy, we got one drink service. One. In almost 17 hours. The other times I needed a drink, I had to ask for it. No big deal, but really? In desperation, I wandered back to economy in search of food. The 'buffet' that had been previously available in regular economy was no longer. There wasn't one in premium either. I had ordered a veggie meal and it was literally some vegetables and boiled rice, a small salad and some dried fruit that looked disgusting. I had a baby who cried for 16 hours seated in front of me. Not the airlines fault, but it just added to the bad experience. On the plus side, the seat was bigger than economy. The flight attendant who worked our cabin was very nice. The flight was on time and relatively uneventful, but for $3200 round trip, this trip was definitely not worth the extra money for premium. It's sad to see a once great airline become so ordinary, even 'low cost'. I have flown other airlines in premium and even BA offers a better product.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteDFW to SYD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"where the good service ended"

(Australia)

Verified Review | The Singapore to Melbourne flight was slightly delayed due to a family being late, not the airline's fault and the captain kept us regularly updated. Unfortunately this is where the good service ended. Although this was an overnight flight, one would still expect a degree of service throughout the flight. The supper was small, took forever to serve and there was only one drink service offered. After supper it was near impossible to get the attention of a staff member. They seemed more interested in getting sleeping positions at the back of the plane. At times on Qantas the attendant's attitude can be tiresome and you felt after the meal service you were really putting them out by asking for a coffee or coke. Breakfast was actually ok considering that scrambled eggs can always be hit and miss on a plane. Once again there was a limited drink service and the last straw for me was when I asked for a water and it never came. Qantas is not a cheap airline and is trying to compete against Asian and Middle Eastern carriers. Good luck, you're going to need it! I've already booked my next flight and it wasn't on Qantas.
AircraftA332
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to MEL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service was superb"

(Kenya)

What an excellent flight from Bangkok to Sydney with Qantas. I had a great seat that had a huge arm rest next to the aisle, so I was all cocooned. On board welcome was very warm and genuine and this set the mood for the rest of the flight. Amenity kit and duvet/pillow were already at the seat, as was a bottle of water. Pre-departure beverage was offered, and my champagne was topped up once more. Before take off, pyjama's were offered, and the mattress was attached to the seat. This would allow one to go to sleep quickly. Service was superb. I was addressed by several staff always by name (and they did not refer to the manifest). There was a drinks service with nuts. My glass was topped up 3 times, without having to ask, let alone think about it. Dinner service was over 2 hours into the flight, and food was excellent, but service even better. I had a great 6.5 hours sleep, having asked not to be woken for breakfast. When I did wake up, I was promptly asked what I wanted, and just settled for a coffee. I went to change, and my bedding had all been cleared. I cannot stress how impressed I was with the service, and also the hard product. Well done Qantas.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to SYD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"like flying no-frills"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Hong Kong in Economy with Qantas. It turns out Economy with Qantas is just slightly better than being put in the hold with the baggage. For an airline that charges hefty prices this was like flying no-frills, or maybe worse because their tickets are super expensive. The economy seats were the narrowest seats I have ever seen in a plane certainly for a 10 hour flight. The seats were much narrower than the seats on any of the other airlines that we took on our trip to Europe. It was extremely uncomfortable. Qantas seems to keep to the minimum number of staff possible. As a result, the service was as minimal as the seats. It took them ages to provide drinks and meals. The staff were nice enough but Economy passengers barely saw much of them. Given the high cost of our economy tickets, it was insulting to be treated like some sort of after thought. The worst food ever in so many different ways. Usually on an airline we get a tray of food containing a hot meal, a salad, perhaps some cheese and crackers, maybe another snack and a dessert. On Qantas they gave us a hot meal and a dessert. There was no tray and there was no other food. Just a small sized hot meal and a dessert. That was it. As it happened the hot meal was just awful so we only had the dessert. Even the kids received a hot meal and an apple. In contrast, when our kids flew with Cathay they received a tray of food including a hot meal, juice, fruit, cupcake, snack, cheese. Our kids didn't like the hot meal and when we asked if they had something else, after ages waiting, a staff member brought some dry biscuits and another apple. There were a lot of apples on this Qantas flight but much not of anything else. We got off our Qantas flight absolutely starving hungry. I don't mind flying no-frills but if Qantas wants to provide a no frills flight on Economy then the price should be no frills as well. Except it isn't. Qantas is usually more expensive than other airlines flying to and from Australia. Very disappointing
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to HKG
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"food was good, staff friendly"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Brisbane to Ho Chi Minh via Singapore - I still call Australia home, and I still call Qantas my airline. A smooth flight despite a little turbulence, soft landings, great service, excellent in-flight duty free, and great satisfaction and comfort. Even the Jetstar flight from Singapore to Vietnam was great, and the customer service excellent. The food was good, the staff friendly and I would happily fly them again.
AircraftA330-200 / A320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to SGN via SIN
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"space could be better distributed"

(Brazil)

Flew Perth to Brisbane with Qantas. Seat looks like a cocoon. They do not look nice, and it seems the space could be better distributed. If you are tall, I'd rather say they can be claustrophobic. Considering you are flying business in Australia, I'd say they could serve much better wines. Only one toilet for more than 20 pax in business does not sound reasonable. I was expecting more courtesy interacting w/ flight attendants. Small details that made the difference aboard: blanket - nice size and comfortable Meal on board - good options, good flavour Safety video - amazing way to call out for pax attention. A must-see video.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePER to BNE
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"crew seemed disinterested"

(Australia)

Verified Review | A quick and friendly checkin at Perth's domestic airport and through security the flight departed on time however arrived a little later than expected (by about 20 mins due to poor weather conditions). Qantas never usually provide outstanding service in economy and this service was no different. Very average. Crew seemed disinterested and a senior cabin member seemed like she hadn't a care in the world. The food served was tasty but again average. Considering you are paying more than the low cost services the food and service isn't much different. Inflight entertainment is good.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePER to MEL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"left to our own devices"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | All airlines experience problems from time to time. Ours was a delay in departure due to 'technical' problems. Ok - I accept this happens. However - customer relations becomes vital at this time. Information about transfers - new arrival times so you can re-book accommodation car hire etc.. it all becomes important. None of this happened. We were basically left to our own devices with a £10 voucher at Heathrow and then a cheap hotel in Dubai whilst awaiting a re-booked flight via Sydney - which we had no choice in or discussion about. When boarding the re-routed flight we were treated as if it was our fault - sat separately and I wont bore you with the details about the service. On our return I wrote to Qantas and simply asked for acknowledgement of my letter addressing my concerns. This was not forthcoming. Eventually - 4 months latter I get a very limp email. Poor. So - I have since found an interesting piece of EU legislation C(2016) 3502. Basically any flight leaving from an EU airport is covered by this. I advise any Qantas passenger to be aware of their rights for compensation. Especially those caught up in the delay in February this year.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to ADL via DXB
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no longer a premium airline"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Qantas has deteriorated significantly in recent times, it is no longer a premium airline. Qantas now has an ageing fleet, fewer crafts, and serious staffing issues. This essentially means more cancellations, technical issues, delays, and a deteriorating service. We booked our tickets to Rome with Qantas as the flights selected had a convenient midday departure with a two-hour stopover in Sydney, and three hours in Dubai. However, problems started before we left home. 1) Qantas cancelled our first flight and rescheduled a departure time three hours earlier. The new 9.00am departure created a five-hour first stopover in Sydney 2) Qantas then delayed the Sydney departure due to 'engineering requirements' by four hours. They kept extending the delay every 30 minutes, making it impossible to modify onward journey arrangements. The stopover had extended to nine hours from two. 3) This resulted in missing our connecting flight in Dubai. We were rebooked into a flight scheduled to depart more than five hours later. 4) My wife and I were assigned separated seats, as the flight was full. Further to this, the Qantas flight service was extremely tardy. They kept forgetting to bring my wife’s meal, which she received two hours after others had finished eating. The cabin was a constant mess as the cabin staff was extremely slow in removing trays, etc. 5) We arrived eight hours late in Rome and missed our connecting Alitalia flight. The result, Alitalia forfeited our return tickets that cost $1540 to replace. If you elect or need to travel Qantas, be prepared by lowering past expectations and factor in more delays.
AircraftBoeing 737 and A380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteADL to FCO via DXB
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no