Vote Now  

Precision Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 57 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"all in all a good service"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Two flights with Precision Air from Dar es Salaam to Arusha and Kilimanjaro to Zanzibar. Both flights left on time and landed early. Check in was straightforward with no queues at both Dar and Kilimanjaro. The planes were old and the seating a little worn, but felt perfectly safe. Luggage also arrived, so all in all a good service for a cheap flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDar es Salaam to Arusha
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"lack of customer service"

(Kenya)

Verified Review | A very bad experience. Arrived in Zanzibar on a direct flight from Nairobi JKIA. My bag did not arrive, which I would consider impossible on a short 90 minute direct flight where the bag was checked in shortly before the flight. Upon arrival I was told it would most likely be on the next flight arriving at midnight and delivered to my hotel in the morning. I phoned several times from 9 a.m. the next morning and no reply. Finally at 10:30 a.m the ZAT lost luggage number replied and said the bag was on it's way to the hotel, which is 30 minutes from the airport. A couple of hours later I asked the hotel to phone them again, and they were told that it was still on it's way still. By 6 p.m. still no delivered bag and was told the driver could not find the hotel and had returned with the bag to the airport and was now refusing to deliver it. I phoned Precision customer care, and explained the problem. The customer care agent said she would check and phone me back in 5 minutes. No phone call back. I called the baggage agent again and he said I would have to pick it up myself. Next morning took a taxi to the airport and the bag was waiting in the office. Very disappointed in the total lack of customer service and the attitude of the baggage people in Zanzibar. Shame that a few people put Zanzibar in a bad image and leaving people to not recommend Precision Air due to bad experiences.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNBO to ZNZ
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"truly spoiled our honeymoon"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | I flew with my wife for our honeymoon from Johannesburg to Nairobi and then finally to Zanzibar. The flight with Precision Air was delayed by almost 2 hours due to them not having a plane ready. Upon arrival in Zanzibar, my bag was there, but not that of wife. After 3 days of constant badgering and calling the Zanzibar airport and Precision Air, they still cannot find the bag or even provide an indication to where it might be. This is inexcusable in this day and age with technology. They can't scan the bags or even make use of a cargo list. This has truly spoiled our honeymoon. The best is that they don't even make an effort to provide assistance. It seems that it happens so much that they aren't even phased by it. Can't believe I wasted so much time and money on them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to ZNZ via NBO
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Precision Air just lie"

(United Kingdom)

On the 11:10 flight from Mwanza to Dar es Salaam we boarded, then they took the bags off - supposedly due to weight balance suspect due to additional cargo. We were told bags would be put on a later fastjet flight that would arrive in Dar es Salaam at the same time. Arrive at Dar es Salaam, no bags. Told they would arrive 7 pm and filled in paperwork for delivery at Dar es Salaam hotel. At 10pm no bags, ring Precision Air, the bag is at airport but no driver. 8am on the 16th no bags and no fresh clothes for business meetings. Precision Air just lie.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMWZ to DAR
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"very pleasant experiences "

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I took 3 Precision Air flights in Sept (Nairobi to Kilimanjaro, Kilimanjaro to Zanzibar, and Zanzibar to Nairobi). My first flight left on time and landed 10 mins early. My second flight left early and landed 20 mins early. My final flight was 20 mins late. I had no lost bags. The flights were professional and aircraft clean. Electronic boarding passes given for all flights. The check-in crew at ZNZ were the most militant about checking luggage weight, so as mentioned in previous posts, stay below 23kgs or pay up. Overall very pleasant experiences - don't get put off by some reviews.
AircraftATR 72
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNBO to ZNZ via JRO
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"all alone and have to pay double"

(Germany)

This airline does not work in a customer friendly way at all. Our flight was cancelled before arriving in Dar el salaam and we were not offered anything. Staff was not interested in taking care of us and promised us a service we are still waiting for. We had to book a new flight and paid for it and she promised us we would receive the money back as soon as we have send her manager all receips and billets of the new flight. I started to discuss everything with the manager but he said we were informed wrong at the airport and they can`t take any responsability and we will not get the refund back. We did not even get the money back for the flight who was cancelled from them at the airport. They will promise you the world but in the end you are all alone and have to pay double.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDAR to ZNZ
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"inflight service was fine"

(Canada)

Johannesburg to Dar es Salaam via Zanzibar. My husband and I booked two flights with Precision Air during our honeymoon in Tanzania. I have to say, the experience was not as awful as we had read in other reviews, though things were not so smooth (and we did observe other passengers having major issues resulting from delays, baggage, etc). I think it's important to keep in mind that operations in these airports are not what you expect from a North American or European airport- the facilities just do not exist. Regarding scheduling, we were booked on a 10am flight from Kilimanjaro (JRO) to Zanzibar (ZNZ). We arrived with loads of time to spare, checked-in, paid luggage fees (note: we paid the equivalent of ~ 15USD for a combined 3 kilos of excess weight- if you're more than one person travelling, they weigh your bags together and charge for the total weight, not for each individual piece. allowance is 23 kg per luggage). We went to the "departure area" at JRO to wait. As 10am approached, I was curious as to why our flight had not been called for boarding. I double-checked my reservation and the boarding passes. In fact, the boarding pass now said we were on an 11am flight (though it was the same flight number). Truthfully, an hour delay was not so terrible (especially given the horror stories we had read), it just would have been nice if the agents who checked us in would have advised us. The second flight from ZNZ to DAR was also delayed. We were supposed to leave ZNZ at 3pm and were re-booked on a 5:30pm flight. We anticipated these delays so booked an earlier flight to make sure we would make it to DAR in time for our return flights home. I had checked the flight status online before leaving the resort (thinking that if there was a delay, we would just stay longer at the resort). The flight was marked "on time" and even the boards at the ZNZ airport said the flight was "on time". Actually, the status of the flight never changed and not removed despite the flight we were supposed to be on being cancelled. Again, this was not such an issue for us because we made sure to book an early flight in case of cancellation. However, other passengers had to buy new tickets on a different airline to make sure they got to DAR in time for their flights home, unfortunately. Not sure if or how the airline handled this situation. Luckily our baggage arrived with us (a little worse for wear than usual, but this is travelling!). The inflight service was fine. Not much to expect for very short flights. They provided refreshments and nuts which was just fine for us! Recommendations to Precision Air would include above all improved communication/transparency with clients, add online check-in option, and ensure flight details are up-to-date by the minute both online and in airports.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJRO to DAR via ZNZ
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"avoid Precision Air"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | During our holiday in Tanzania we've flown with Precision Air 3 times. The planes and flight staff were just fine, and they almost kept schedule, but information and ground staff was very poor quality: On the first trip, check-in took a long time due to all IT systems being down. We were issued handwritten boarding tickets. When we boarded the plane, we were stopped by staff that claimed that our tickets had been cancelled. We insisted that our tickets were fine. After some discussions we were allowed to board the plane. We since checked with our travel agent, that called their Precision Air contacts, and they confirmed that everything was in fact OK. On the next flight, our hotel called Precision Air in advance to check departure time. We were told that departure was planned to be at 11 am instead of 10 am. We met up in the airport early anyway, which turned out to be our luck, because the plane did in fact leave at 10 am. However, more travellers had been told that departure was at 11 am and they came late because of that, so the plane was 30 minutes delayed. On our last trip, our travel agent was told by Precision Air that there was a depature tax of 50 USD per person in Zanzibar. We were recommended to bring the cash, so we had to make an extra trip to Stone Town to get the cash. However, it turned out that there was no tax to be paid. The staff in Zanzibar only checked us in for the first leg of the trip. We almost (by 1 minute) missed the next flight from Nairobi due to that. Also, the staff in Zanzibar did attempt to check in our luggage in for the entire trip, but they did it wrongly, so Emirates had to redo it in Nairobi. Additionally, Precision Air ground staff in Nairobi failed to bring the luggage out for the connecting flight in Nairobi. They just left it at their facilities. Emirates had to go and collect it themselves. Again only thanks to Emirates was the luggage brought on. All in all, my recommendation is to avoid Precision Air.
AircraftATR-72
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAM to JRO via DXB, DAR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"staff were polite and courteous"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | I was wary of booking a flight with Precision Air given the past poor reviews I had read. This flight was a pleasant surprise. My bag was checked in at Kilimanjaro, and it made it all the way to Bangkok. The check-in experience was pleasant. Staff were polite and courteous. The seats on the ATR 72 were standard and comfortable enough for this short flight which took 40 minutes. Was able to take photos of Mt Kilimanjaro covered in snow. The plane left on time, and arrived 15 minutes early. Seats were comfortable enough and the plane was clean. The snack was a dry croissant, not so appealing. Inflight service again was courteous and efficient. Would fly them again into/out of Tanzania but bring own refreshments.
AircraftATR 72
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJRO to NBO
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"warned to give them a miss"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We had booked a flight to Zanzibar from Arusha on 01 March, 2016. We booked through a 3rd party website, AirTicket (Zahn Air) similar to dozens of other flights we have taken in the past year. We have been travelling in Tanzania and Kenya these past two months. Upon arrival at the airport in Arusha we were informed that our ticket was worthless and we would need to purchase new ones. Digging further, Precision Air said that they hadn't been paid by these external operators and so would not honor their tickets. I explained that we had two good tickets, from Precision Air, confirmed seating and valid boarding passes printed the night before. I said that if there was an issue, it would have been quite helpful to have been advised earlier. Precision Air does not take credit cards at the Arusha Airport so they lamely offered to drive us to an ATM and then take us to Kilimanjaro Airport as there was no way we were going to make our planned flight. They also initially suggested they would allow us to board and then pay with a credit card once in Zanzibar (we had a driver picking us up in Zanzibar so we needed to make this flight). This was offered by an assistant manager but quickly squashed by the manager as undoable. Zero flexibility at all. There were seven other folks in a similar position. We scrambled about and found a mixture of dollars and euros to pay for 2 new tickets and boarded the flight. The plane was fine, the flight smooth but having paid cash for a second set of tickets was not the best way to end our visit to Tanzania. I appreciate developing countries and I work in a few so this is not so new but being extorted just to make our flight was awful. We have started the process with the online websites and visa to recover our lost ticket value. As for Precision Air, we were warned by a business colleague in Nairobi to give them a miss but we obviously didn't heed this helpful advice. As a note I also posted virtually the same review in TripAdvisor titled 'Borderline Corrupt'. As of 26 March we are still in the process of recovering our lost ticket value... we are not alone! We have used Kenyan and Fly540 using the same booking method without issue. I wouldn't recommend Precision and expect they will be out of business if they keep this up. The actual plane, flight, and onboard staff were fine. Good luck, you have good alternate choices.
AircraftATR 42/72 - 500
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteARK to ZNZ
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 57 Reviews