Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 212 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"certainly fly Porter again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Wife and I wanted to go to Toronto and Porter was the least expensive, but we read many of the reviews and were worried, they weren't that good. Well our trip to Toronto and back were excellent! No troubles at check-in, non at the airport, none on boarding. Flight was smooth. Would certainly fly Porter again. No doubts
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Toronto
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"efficient and reliable"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Ottawa to Halifax and return. Before booking our flights to Halifax for a weekend getaway, we had also looked at other airlines. Our choice then fell on Porter Airlines because it offered better prices and better travel times compared to the competition. Both flights departed on time, and the seats were comfortable and had decent legroom. Porter only uses Bombardier Q400 turboprops, which are efficient and reliable airplanes. Snacks and drinks were offered, and were good enough on both flights. Overall, both plane rides went very smoothly, and I remained positively impressed by Porter. Highly recommended.
AircraftBombardier Q400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Halifax
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"staff consistently polite"

(United States)

Not Verified | Since I was travelling to Montreal, I had to stop in Toronto to change planes coming and going. On each leg of the trip the plane was delayed, minimum of 30 minutes. The snacks and drink options were more than acceptable and the staff consistently polite. No explanation for delays, other than the convenient weather excuse.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Montreal
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"regularly significantly delayed"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Toronto to Boston. Frequent flyer with this airline here. When it's good it's fantastic, when it's bad it's a disaster. The Good: The higher tiers of VIP status are very useful. Free front seats, free luggage, free flight changes, priority re-accommodation, line bypass at security (although this has not been consistent lately). Free change to earlier flights on certain routes. The city center airport is great for anyone living downtown or traveling to business meetings downtown. The wait at customs is never long. Security usually not bad. Luggage to carousel time at city center airport is crazy fast. Free snacks in the lounge and free drinks/snacks/alcohol in flight. Flight attendants are usually pretty nice. Even before I had VIP status, they would occasionally accommodate a change or request where any other airline definitely would not have. The noise doesn't bother me as I am used to it at this point, but if you are used to jet planes then you will find these planes noisy. The BAD: Flights are fairly regularly significantly delayed, mostly during the winter months. Flights get cancelled more often than other airlines as the planes are tiny, so is the airport/runway, and the weather by the water is not always cooperative (fog!). 2. Communication to customers regarding delays is almost non-existent. You can track your incoming plane on a variety of apps and know the outgoing flight will be delayed by a ton, but Porter rarely reports the delay until 15-30 minutes before the original scheduled departure - at which point most people are already in the lounge waiting. City center airport's US departures and arrivals side is mixed with the Thunder Bay/Sudbury routes for some strange reason. The result is long waits at the gate once the plane arrives, just sitting around doing nothing and stuck on the plane because a Canadian flight is offloading/boarding and the US arrivals can't mix with the domestic. I have waited up to an hour to get off the plane in the past because of this problem. One of the absolute most frustrating thing about Porter. 4. Unpredictable line bypass - this has been worst in the last 6 months. Those of us with VIP rely on our security line bypass, often arriving 30 mins before a flight with carry on only. It seems to be unreliable lately on the US side with the line often closed.
AircraftBombardier Q400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Boston
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"delayed for 45 minutes"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Newark delayed departure of 45 minutes on 28th May. Absolutely terrible airline. They literally cannot take their planes off on time. Once your flight is canceled be prepared to wait 4+ hours to talk to a customer service agent in order to have to privilege of getting your money back. I booked a Porter pass with 10 flights, 6 of my flights were canceled and 4 went off late.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Newark
Date FlownMay 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"pleased with the service"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Toronto. First time with Porter and I was pleased with the service. The check-in desk had a small issue with my passport details but this was sorted out with no complaints. Boarding was very quick as my flight has only 20 passengers. Departure from Montreal was on time. The seats were really comfortable and crew were friendly. Inflight service was a beer and a bag of chips, which was generous for a really short flight. Arrival into Toronto was on time and as I did not have any checked luggage I was at the terminal exit in just under one minute. It's great they have a free shuttle bus service to Union Station - that saves passengers a bit of money. Will be happy to fly with Porter again in future.
AircraftBombardier Dash 8 Q400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Toronto
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"my flights were delayed"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Boston to Toronto. It was my first time flying with Porter, and will be the last. Both ways, my flights were delayed by hours at a moment’s notice (was told at the gate). I should’ve paid a little more and flown with a more reputable airline; Porter was a waste of money, and more importantly, my time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBoston to Toronto
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed with Porter"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Halifax to Windsor. Extremely disappointed with Porter. They delayed my flight five hours to supposedly get a part for the plane. How this was not known until after we should have boarded is beyond me. They handled it poorly, basically you're out of luck and have to wait. All other flights are booked as well so I have no options, and will be missing a day of work now.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Windsor
Date FlownMay 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"constantly cancel flights"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Newark. Worst airline I have flown with. They constantly cancel flights at a moments notice due to various issues such as ‘crew staffing problems’ at a moments notice. They then don’t answer the phone and I have been on hold for 3 hours before hanging up. Very slow to refund cancelled flights. Very expensive to rebook with a different airline at a moments notice.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Newark
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"2 return flights cancelled"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Sudbury. 3 round trip flights with Porter over a one month period. 2 return flights cancelled, Porter can't fulfill it's part of the agreement. I recommend avoiding Porter unless you have lots of time to be wasted on hold and stuck at airports waiting for Porter to delay your "rescheduled" flight. I will no longer be subject to Porters terrible customer service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Sudbury
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no