Vote Now  

Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 141 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"service was very good"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I flew from Billy Bishop (YTZ) to Ottawa (YOW) and back. Service was very good both ways. Although flight delayed on outbound flight. Service was very good with premium snacks and a beverage served on a glass, nice touch. Landings at both YOW and YTZ were harsh. The newish foot tunnel leading into YTZ eliminates the use of the ferry. However please note that with the five minute+ tunnel walk and waiting for Porter's free shuttle can add considerable time to your journey once you've deplaned. It's a real time saver if you live and/or work in downtown Toronto. As a resident of the Toronto burbs it's almost better off flying via Toronto's main airport - Pearson (YYZ). Or believe it or not using VIA Rail to Ottawa. As time saving isn't that significant. In my case 3.75 hours door to door on Porter as opposed to 5 on VIA.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYTZ to YOW
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"maybe they owe me consideration"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I liked the Porter idea but its gone rather downhill. My principal beef is with flight flexibility. Porter has no problem rescheduling you when they cancel their flights or they are late and we miss connections. Flights must be safe, aircraft fitness and weather rules must be followed, I get that. I think about half of my multi leg Porter flights work out as planned. Recent flight was delayed an hour and a half due to inbound problem at Toronto, arrived in Toronto late, the flight was on the ground, but closed. They would not hold it, schedules to keep you know, spot on next flight. Another time, meeting finished early, can I take an earlier flight? No, wait for my flight, it arrives late, as a result I miss my connection to Ottawa, instead of home an hour and a half early, its 2 hours late. It goes like that. In my view it costs them nothing to fly you in a vacant seat, earlier flight. And after the many times they've slipped my connections, maybe they owe me consideration. Prices are not great compared to Cape Air or Allegiant. Porter points are pathetic.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Boston via Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"my new favorite airline

(Canada)

Verified Review | Halifax to St. John's. First time flying Porter Airlines and I was very pleasantly surprised, my new favorite airline for short distance travelling. The staff and pilot were amazingly friendly, was a different atmosphere than the other airlines. Everyone was talking and laughing and having a great time. Smooth take off and landing, and lots of updates from the pilot. Departed on time. Free snacks drinks and wine. I was really impressed with Porter Airlines, I've avoided flying with them for so long thinking you get what you pay for, but I was wrong!!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to YHT
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I will no longer utilize"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Porter Airlines, like all other airlines, has a policy that if they are late due to poor weather, snow storm etc, then too bad. I was in Halifax in early December and left for the airport over 2.5 hours before the flight was to leave. Unfortunately the highway I was on was brought to a halt for 1.5 hrs due to snow and an accident - as a result I was stuck unable to move. I called the airline to see if I could get on the later flight given the travel problem. They simply informed me that I would have to pay $170 (more than what I had originally paid for the one way fare). I have used Porter for years but I will no longer utilize their service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYHZ to YOW
Date FlownDecember 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"highly recommend flying Porter"

(Canada)

Verified Review | While I've been flying Air Canada for my work commute between Toronto and Montreal, due to price I started using Porter. I have to say, for a more competitive fare and very good schedules and superior service standards, I much prefer Porter Airlines. The staff are very friendly and happy to welcome you onboard and serve you. The in-flight food and drinks are superb for such a short flight - you actually get a glass for your drinks, and there are a variety of teas (flavours) to choose from. Plus, Porter provides much more generous carryon allowance, which is perfect for a short trip. The only down side, from flying around 30 times this year, was that a flight was cancelled due to weather, which meant I was stuck and had to find overnight accommodation. That was very frustrating, as it was all very last minute. I really would highly recommend flying Porter.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYTZ to YUL
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"progressively gone downhill"

(Canada)

Toronto to Ottawa. Porter Airlines started off very well, it was convenient on price and flying into downtown Toronto. However they have progressively gone downhill. Six out of ten flights (I used to fly fairly frequently with them) with significant delays of two hours or more - in good weather. Poor customer service in explaining the reasons for delays. If you look at their flight panels you are hard pressed to find flights that actually are on time or within 15 minutes of schedule. I would strongly recommend going with WestJet, while it will fly to Pearson it has similar prices.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYTZ to YOW
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"abandoning their passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Toronto to Washington. We arrived in Washington and immigration took over an hour, as it tends too in US airports. We got to the carousel and there was no sign of our checked luggage. Eventually a cleaner told us he'd seen someone from Porter go off with two cases. We searched around but could find no Porter desk or even a representative. A helpful lady from United suggested we go through customs and then contact the Porter office, after she had asked by tannoy for a Porter representative to go to the carousel to no avail. Eventually we found the Porter desk, which was unmanned. A contact number was displayed and we spoke to someone in Toronto, who clearly didn't care. They were aware that two bags had been collected, but the agents had gone home!!! Both our cases had a mobile number on the label, but no effort was made to contact us and so it was off to our hotel with no luggage. This is a small airline with no back up provision and no sense of customer service. They have no help desk in arrivals and you're left wandering around the airport looking for help. The following day we rang their customer services in Toronto and were promised a call back - none ever came. They then admitted that they were unable to ring international numbers (they're an airline!) and so couldn't ring our UK mobile. Our hotel receptionist was incredibly helpful and eventually got confirmation that our cases would be sent by courier to our hotel. She told us lost cases were quite common, but the airlines normally delivered them in the early hours of the morning. She'd not heard of an airline closing up, going home for the night and abandoning their passengers. Our cases never arrived by the promised time and it was after several more expensive calls to Toronto that we were finally re-united with our bags.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to IAD
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"don't be fooled by Porter's low prices"

(Canada)

Windsor to New York via Toronto. Don't be fooled by Porter's low prices, their baggage policy increases the actual price by 25%. I've never had to check a carry on bag with any other airline, their policy cost me an additional $40 on a $160 ticket. Also the baggage fee seemed discriminatory, some passengers were able to leave their carry on bags on a cart on the tarmac for no fee as they boarded the plane, the bags were returned to the cart on arrival. This is what I'm used to when flying regionally with Air Canada in the past. Also Porter was over 30 minutes late on the second flight. Overall I had a very poor first and likely last experience with Porter Airlines. They fly small regional jets so overhead room is limited.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYQJ to EWR via YTZ
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"waiting in the airport"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Montreal to Halifax on Sunday 6th November. Heard about problems with flights delayed but for the price figured I would give them a try. Confused gate employees, planes not available, and a 3hr delay. I'm still sitting here waiting in the airport. I will wait a few years to see if the reviews start changing.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYUL to YHZ
Date FlownNovember 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the most courteous service"

(United States)

Newark to Montreal via Toronto. I was thoroughly impressed with the most courteous service I have ever experienced on any airline. In particular, one stewardess went out of her way to assist me, since I am an older traveler and somewhat physically challenged. Another point worth mentioning: the rest areas, particularly in Toronto at Billy Bishop Airport, set a new standard for the industry. Kudos to you all!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEWR to YUL via YTZ
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes