Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 186 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"choose another airline in the future"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Super delayed flight from Sault Ste. Marie to Toronto. Captain couldn’t speak clearly with blurred English. I feel very unsure about why I chose Porter Airlines. So many others on this flight missed connections to other flights due to waiting times. I would definitely choose another airline in the future.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSault Ste. Marie to Toronto
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"book with a more reliable airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | I will never fly Porter again. I thought I would try their airline because they fly into Bishop in Toronto rather than Pearson, which is closer to downtown. Their fares were also a little cheaper than Westjet and Air Canada. However, it turned out to not be worth it whatsoever. My original flight was delayed for hours, then finally after continuous delays, they cancelled it altogether because Billy Bishop does not allow planes to land late in the night. They rebooked me for a flight the next day, which I couldn’t take because I would have missed the event I was flying for in the first place. I requested a full refund, and they said they would process it, and over 14 weeks later I have not gotten any money from Porter. I have called them multiple times, and each time the wait is over 30 minutes on hold to be told that my refund is processing. The next time I had to fly to Toronto, I took Westjet. Even though one of my Westjet flights was cancelled, they gave me a place to stay for the night and provided transit to the hotel. Porter absolutely refuses to reimburse you for any travel costs, even though I went back and forth from Newark with no flight. Do yourself a favor and book with a more reliable airline, especially if you have something important to do.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Return flight from Washington Dulles - Toronto City Airport. I was a bit worried about flying on Porter after reading all the negative reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. Almost everything worked well, flights left on time, inflight service was good and seating was good considering I am a large guy. The only drawback was that on the return leg, the waiting lounge in Toronto City Airport was busy making seating a bit of a problem. Also, the ground service for wheelchairs on arrival into YTZ was a bit haphazard and poorly organised with staff palming off their responsibilities to each other. There was free coffee and snacks in their lounge and on the aircraft. In fact, they were serving wine and beer for a one hour flight. Based on my experience, it was a quick and painless experience.
AircraftBombardier Q400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington Dulles to Toronto City Airport
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"still posting on time departure"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Montreal. Any flight can be late but Porter still posting on time departure 45 minutes before flight leaving more than 75 minutes late. "Wait in lounge" long after late posted departure time. Little information from staff - "waiting for crew but guessing when they might arrive". Dirty and old plane.
AircraftBombardier Q400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Montreal
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"apologized on her behalf"

(United States)

Verified Review | Toronto to Chicago. The fact we didn't board on time didnt bother me. I'm a bit overweight mostly in the belly area but never had a problem on a plane. I'm not obese and the FA made a huge scene asking loudly if my seatbelt was on. It did fit, it was obvious since it was buckled on, felt she did it unnecessarily. Even the man in front of me apologized on her behalf.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Chicago
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"ridiculously frustrating"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Four flights in total and all of them delayed. Disorganized staff, rude, and inattentive. Just ridiculous to always be delayed. I never write reviews but this is ridiculously frustrating. Two hours delayed from Toronto to Ottawa, and we're still sitting on the Tarmac. I'll never recommend or fly with Porter again.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Ottawa via Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight being cancelled"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Ottawa to Moncton. Between my flight being cancelled, lack of communication, long holds on the phone, being unable to assist in helping me due to what problens they caused. I am beside myself with the terrible service they provide.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Moncton
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Porter is by far the worst"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I will never fly with Porter Airlines again, first and last flight from Fredericton to Ottawa. The adviser was very rude, in addition, they charged an extra $43 for a checked-in bag over 9 kg. We were also late boarding, I fly all over North America and am generally critical of other airlines too, but Porter is by far the worst. I scored both Air Canada and Westjet a 2 and 3 respectively, Porter scores a 1.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFredericton to Ottawa
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Didn't hear back from them"

(United States)

Verified Review | Will never fly Porter Airlines again. Leaving out of Washington DC my flight was delayed 3.5 hours, causing me to miss the connecting flight in Toronto. The only other flight to Quebec already being full I had to catch a flight out the next day. Porter did give me a hotel voucher for the night. The hotel being 30 minutes away I was told that the cab fares and meals would be reimbursed once I mailed in a form along with receipts. That never happened. Didn't hear back from them. After trying a second time and again being ignored I'm willing to take the loss on the cab fares but will never fly with this airline again. Our return flight was also delayed. Luckily we didn't have to go through customs in Toronto or we would also have missed our connecting flight to DC.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington DC to Quebec City via Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"poor basic airline service"

(United States)

Verified Review | I used to be their biggest fan and recommend them to everyone I knew from friends to clients. I live and work in New York and am from Toronto so I go back several times a year to visit family. Usually I can only come for a weekend or so, which makes these constant and awful delays a complete nightmare. What's the point of even going for a weekend if I lose 50% of my time to Porter's delays. Yes, I love the outfits, cabin crew service, the cute Owl, the free coffee and snacks but none of the above matters when the flights are constantly delayed. As I write this I am stuck on the tarmac at Newark trying to deplane after a seriously delayed flight from Toronto. My Sunday is completely ruined and I have so many weekends similar to this spent wasted with Porter. I'd be better off driving the 10 hours at this rate! Don't be bothered with them. Great when they first started but pretty terrible today. Basically like a lot of superficial stuff layered on top of poor basic airline service aka - getting to your destination on time. Thanks for nothing Porter!
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteToronto to Newark
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no