Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 230 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"charged for a carry on bag"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Halifax to St John's. I have flown twice with Porter but today was just something else. I have never seen an airline that charged me for a carry on bag at the airport. I didnt have any money coz i wasn't prepared for this charge. It was the most embarrassing moment of my life. I just think this is something the airline have to direct immediately. If you want to charge then include it in your online price not surprise me as I check in.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to St John's
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"driver's license is expired"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | St Johns to Montreal. I had a very negative experience I had with my Porter flight. I showed up at approximately 2pm for my flight - I showed my drivers licence ID to the customer service representative, and she said to come back in 1 hour to check in. I came back in 1 hour and was informed. “Oh, your driver's license is expired, we can’t accept it.” I was denied boarding. I argued that it was still a valid form of ID- and said ‘Only valid as photo ID’ on a sticker affixed by the licensing authorities in Ontario, but the customer care rep. Didn’t budge. I asked for a supervisor to be called but was denied. I was advised to call Porter Airlines to rebook / get a refund. After waiting on hold for 45 minutes I was informed “you have to call the travel agent that you booked it through”. Upon calling the travel agency, I was informed “porter airlines won’t let us refund or rebook the flight.” Part 2 By this time all the Porter Reps had left the wicket at the airport, so I had no further redress. Leaving me stranded, inconvenienced, and having to pay out an awful lot.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSt Johns to Montreal
Date FlownAugust 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"miserable job Porter did"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Quebec to Toronto. Cancelled/rebooked both flights on my way to and from Quebec. Weather conditions preventing flights is understandable but not the miserable job Porter did of rebooking flights with connections, and accommodating with hotels. They rebooked the 1st leg of a connection flight to a date after the 2nd leg.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteQuebec to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"highly inconvenient"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Timmins to Toronto. Always disappointed with the having to wait in the airplane on the tarmac when landing for other aircraft boarding. This made me miss my plans for pick up. In addition, this flight was half an hour late and never posted as being delayed. Highly inconvenient and intend to use Air Canada leaving from Pearson on my next trip
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTimmins to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"had canceled all flights"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We went on a last minute trip to Montreal for the summer. Flight there was fine and had no problems. On our way home to Washington D.C. we had a connecting flight to Toronto (on a Friday). Midway from Montreal to Toronto we were flown back to Montreal, because Toronto had partially flooded due to weather issues. We waited on the plane in Montreal and they took us back to Billy Bishop Airport in Toronto. Once we had arrived at the airport, they told us they had canceled all flights to Washington D.C. until the next Wednesday (the day my siblings and I started school). Many other people were stuck at the airport (a couple from Chicago and a lady from somewhere in the U.S. and many others). We were told we would have to pay for new plane tickets for 6 people after we had already paid for the canceled flight. We were told we would get a small refund about a month later. We took a train to the Pearson airport and got a rental van that we drove 10 hours in back to our home.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never recommend them"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Newark. Porter is the west airline. My flight was delayed 45 minutes and then cancelled. I was then booked onto a flight 9 hours later. There was no communication. In fact, only if a person is standing at the screen at the airport, there is no indication of what is happening. Sure, there are updates on you’re phone but no announcements. Beyond poor communication, the attendants are obviously poorly trained. I went to the counter to check on my delay. As the attendant is checking my flight status her phone rings. She picks up and walks away without explanation. I stood there for 10 minutes before her colleagues decided she should help me. My return flight was equally dissatisfying. Without any explanation, I was delayed an hour and just made my connection. I cannot understand how this airline believes a few free cookies and water will be compensation for all the turmoil they cause passengers. I would never recommend them. Even if I paid double, I would prefer to fly their competitors which seem to have better on time performance.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Newark
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the customer suffers"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Newark to Toronto. Porter cannot manage even minor weather delays without spiralling out of control. Delays from minor interruptions get exacerbated with each successive flight. A brief ground stop due to lightning (let's say one hour for example) throws them so far off their game that cascading delays occur and translate into 3 and 4 hours delays of later flights and ultimately result in complete cancellations, without compensation. Either their scheduling is too tight to deal with relatively minor hiccups or they have such low priority at US airports that they lose landing/takeoff spots with no ability to recover. Either way, the customer suffers, communication is terrible and recourse is nonexistent. I do not understand how they get away with labelling delays and cancellations as "weather" (ie. you are out of luck for compensation) only because the fiasco began with a minor weather event but was actually caused by Porter's own overloaded and badly managed business model. In July, only 34 percent of porter flights from Newark to Toronto departed on time. This is outrageous. Over 30 percent of these flights were excessively delayed. Fully 10 percent were cancelled entirely.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delayed and then canceled"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Ottawa to Halifax. The flight was first delayed and then canceled. I tried to talk to the customer service and they said as the problem is from the weather, it's not their fault and all they can do is refund my tickets. They didn't help me with any compensation; taxi or hotel, even though it was late at night and I was visiting Ottawa at that point. They kept saying, it's not our fault, its the weather. In conclusion, avoid it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Halifax
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"frustration after frustration"

(Canada)

Boston to Toronto. My original flight for Friday was cancelled, and they rebooked me in on Saturday afternoon for 4:55pm. No attempt was made to cover the extra night of accommodation that I had to pay for. The new flight that I was on was delayed several times until 6:20pm, then the flight was delayed while we were on the runway before takeoff, then delayed again when we arrived in Toronto before we disembarked. It was constant frustration after frustration with Porter - they sent a voucher for $50.00 that expired the day of, and I didn't see it until the next day anyway! Called to speak about remediation for the multiple delays and cancellation, was put on hold for a full hour, and then the response was slightly less than helpful - they told me to email them and wait for a response that could take up to 15 business days. I will never fly Porter again, not even if they paid me to do it!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"was a significant delay"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I booked a flight from Toronto to Chicago round trip. In both routes, there was a significant delay. Porter airport in downtown Toronto felt like a WWI shelter. I received an email that the flight is rescheduled after the actual time of departure was passed. And this scenario was repeated 4 times, a result of a 4-hour delay--although it was a beautiful summer day. The way back from Chicago to Toronto, the flight was also delayed, this time with no email notification. Not a reliable airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Chicago
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no