Top 100 Airports  

Philippine Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 356 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"cramped, worn out and uncomfortable"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Philippine Airlines flight from Manila to Denpasar was simply okay, comfortable despite some moderate turbulence. Flight crew were efficient and friendly. Bad side is that PAL seem to use an a very old aircraft which seem fit for domestic flights. Seats are cramped, worn out and uncomfortable. Inflight entertainment does not function well. Toilets are unmaintained. Budget airline service with a high ticket price.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to DPS
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"had a fantastic experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I had a fantastic experience from London Heathrow to Manila. My first time flying with Philippine Airlines and I was upgraded to business class. The cabin crew where very professional and welcoming. I will certainly be using again and look forward to my return flight.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to MNL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"reasonably comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Brisbane to Manila with Philippine Airlines. Flight was in 2 legs because of stop in Darwin to refuel. Good to be able to stretch your legs in the Darwin departure area but no business lounge access. A320 which did not have space for top-standard long-haul seats but was, nevertheless, reasonably comfortable. Lunch served on the first leg and dinner on the second - good standard. Service was very friendly.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBNE to MNL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service very friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Flight was part of a good-value deal from Brisbane to London. Flat-bed seats with what seemed a huge seat pitch - first-class feel about it. Food and drink were good and the service very friendly. Although a 14-hour flight from Manila to London, time passed quite comfortably. IFE not as extensive as many other carriers. Delayed on taxiway on departure but arrived early and then had to wait for gate. Overall a very positive experience with Philippine Airlines.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMNL to LHR
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"unrealistic departure times"

(United States)

Verified Review | Took a flight from JFK to Vancouver that was scheduled for midnight. Ended up spending 5 hours at the JFK airport and departing at 5am - with no notice or explanations whatsoever. On the way back from Vancouver to JFK, our flight ended up getting delayed for more than 2 hours - again with no notice or explanations. PAL knew the flight would be delayed but did not inform customers until they were at the airport. We did not find out that our flight was going to be delayed until we arrived at the airport. There was no email or notification. We were using the same plane as a flight from Vancouver to JFK. This Vancouver flight was delayed for 3 hours, with that in mind, there was no way that our flight could take off in time if the previous flight was delayed. The worst part was that PAL knew about this delay 10 hours ahead of time and did not notify customers. They also did not update flight status. When we got to the airport, all the PAL employees seemed to know about the delay because there was no one working at the counters. PAL told us that the flight would be delayed for 2 hrs so instead of a midnight departure, we would be having a 2am departure. By the time 2am rolled by, we still did not see the plane and there was no explanation from PAL as to when we were supposed to depart and why we were being delayed. From 2am - 5am, we were requested to switch gates and were told 2x that they were experiencing delays. On the way back from Vancouver, we were told the plane was being delayed for 1 hour; however, we ended being delayed for more than 2 hours -- with no explanation. Philippine Airlines seems to not care about it's passengers at all. After some research, we saw that this JFK to Vancouver flight had been on time for about 40% of the time for the past few months or so. With that statistic, redo your schedule or tell your customers about it. PAL would rather post unrealistic departure times than to change their schedules.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to YVR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"seats are too small"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Manila with Philippine Airlines. Friendly staff inside the aircraft but they make you pay a high price for a low service. No screen, the wifi does not work. A 8h flight without an air show is long. Seats are too small, no space for legs at all. Food was not extraordinary. Not sure I will travel again with PAL.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to MNL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"cheap and cheerful"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Return from Sydney to London via Manila with Philippine Airlines. Really excellent food (other than portions of banana-cake, in packets that were literally unopenable). Abysmal inflight entertainment. Their old A340s just have a few ancient TV screens (4x3 aspect ratio CRTs) hanging down from the cabin ceiling. Be warned, tuck a packet of paper hankies in your pocket before you go to the toilet. Cabin crew don’t seem interested in replenishing the consumables. Maybe this explains the long queues for the lavs in Manila airport. Better than third-rate, but not that much better. Cheap and cheerful.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to LHR via MNL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"flight was great"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | I have flown PAL for many years now. Flew from Iloilo to Manila. No personal in-flight screen on this flight since it is roughly a 1 hour flight within the Philippines but they do have overhead screens that plays comedy shows. Meals provided to every passenger. Flight from Manila-Iloilo-Manila was great, the MNL-ILO leg was a sunrise flight so the plane was not that full, the return flight was a red eye flight. Upon arrival in Manila, sadly we were deprived of using the Passenger Bridge, instead we were boarded on to a bus to direct us to Terminal 2. Overall, the flight was great from check-in to landing up to getting the bags. I will continue fly Philippine Airlines.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteILO to MNL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"an ancient A340 from Iberia"

(United States)

Cebu to Los Angeles with Philippine Airlines on an ancient A340 handed from Iberia. It's ridiculous that all of its competitors like CX, BR, SQ and OZ have state-of-the-art, brand new and comfortable planes flying across the Pacific but PAL flies this aging fleet. Stepping on board, you immediately feel like you're back in the 90s. No proper IFE, outdated lighting, sound system, cheap seat fabric and minimal legroom. The funniest part is that these birds are a new addition to PAL, they could have at least bought a second-hand aircraft from this decade (i.e. ex-Emirates planes). The only saving grace are the friendly crew who are visibly embarrassed by this product. Food was delicious and drinks were plenty. The fact that this is a nonstop flight isn't even an advantage. You're better off connecting through Manila to catch the 77W or better yet fly through HKG, TPE, ICN or NRT to be on a better airline at the same or even cheaper price.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCEB to LAX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"main concern is the inflight entertainment"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | As much as possible I tried to avoid flying with PAL becasue of my past experiences of delayed flights and poor services. Due to a lack of available seat on other airlines I was forced to take PAL instead. As the usual the flight was delayed, although it was only delayed less than an hour. My main concern is the inflight entertainment, I rated it as very poor for the following reason, first there is no individual entertainment in seat and if you want to watch a film or listen a music, you have to download the app on your phone. We all know that watching thru an iphone will consume the battery in less than an hour and there is no electrical outlet provided near the seat. 2 hours entertainment for an almost 10 hour flight. Secondly, the seat distances are too narrow. No room to sleep and when the person seated next to you needs to go to WC, you have to get out of your seat so that they can move out.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to DMM
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no