Philippine Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 437 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"could not move my knees"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | This was by far the most uncomfortable flight we have ever been on. Initially our seat was changed from row 54 to row 34. After boarding I checked where row 54 would have been but the rows stopped before that, so that means that the plane was changed to accomodate a smaller customer count. This would be fine but he seats that we were assigned to did not recline as it would have blocked the emergency exit. Again, this is understandable. However what isn’t understandable is that the legroom for this seat was significantly smaller than I have ever seen, I am not extremely tall and I could not move my knees in this seat. I have taken images of this. Especially for such a long flight- 6+ hours to Cairns and then another 6 hours to Auckland. There should be a minimum limit on legroom for such long flights. I will never fly with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Auckland via Cairns
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Both aircraft were comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Manila return in Economy. Efficient, hassle free check in, in both Bangkok and Manila, with a generous free baggage allowance. Both flights were bang on time, with B777 and A330 aircraft used on the route. Both aircraft were comfortable and were equipped with decent IFE, better headphones than some airlines supply in business class and a good range of movies. Crew were polite, efficient and professional. A simple and tasty rice meal was served and the wine was fine. I needed to change my flight booking on the return flight and went to the Philippine Airlines Office in Manila near Harrison Plaza. Service was great and I was able to change my ticket, in a few minutes for a very fair change fee. Philippine Airlines are working hard in recent years to improve their product in terms of quality, reliability and price, and I have to say they're succeeding at least on the routes I fly. Right now the weakest part of their service is having to use NAIA Terminal 2.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"personnel are very accommodating and hospitable"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Flew Manila to Iloilo. From ticketing to check in up to the plane during the flight I must say that Philippine Airlines personnel are very accommodating and hospitable. The lounge was well stocked, crowded at times but is a great place to wait and relax before the flight. Though lounge personnel must always see to it that there are utensils for the guests at all times. Check in was fast with dedicated check in counters for business passengers. Airplane was clean. The food onboard also tasted good. I must say that the airline has gone the extra mile offering full course meal on a domestic flight just one hour long. No IFE onboard. Thought the airplane is equipped with wifi, I haven’t tried using it since the I wasn’t informed that the plane is equipped with wifi. Baggage claim was quick as well. Overall it was a good flight.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManila to Iloilo
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew helpful and welcoming"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | We travelled with our family to the Philippines with PAL. Really enjoyed our trip. Though th seats were not comfortable but the service of PAL stands out. There in-flight hospitality, food was better than Saudi airlines we travelled previously. The cabin crew was very helpful and welcoming. Next time for my travel to Philippines for sure will choose PAL. The fare pricing is very good.
Aircrafta330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJeddah to General Santos via Manila
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"We missed our flight"

(United States)

Verified Review | We missed our flight from Manila to Caticlan because the airport was so poorly marked. When we asked the staff to help us they sent us on a wild goose chase with someone who asked us for tips. We then were forced to take a taxi who was a friend of this employee who charged us 15x the regular rate. The airline was unwilling to help or show empathy in any way. Because of the cancelation policies we were forced to pay for this flight and they asked us to pay another $250 USD to take the next flight. Needless to say we booked a different flight through a new airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Caticlan
Date FlownOctober 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Seat okay, not very comfortable"

(Australia)

Verified Review | London to Melbourne via Manila. First time flying business class with Philippine Airlines. Seat okay, not very comfortable and not a flat bed. Service was poor despite being delivered with a smile. The remote control didn't work, had many options on menu and was told to choose anything except anything I chose the answer was 'sorry ma'am we have run out of that option'. Dessert time, the ice cream had melted, so that wasn't available either. One steward would take my order and another steward would bring me the wrong food each time. Coffee instead of tea, chicken instead of soup. The cabin space was not well designed with lady next to me havin to climb over me and kicking me each time. Said they had wifi but I couldn't connect to anything. Their lounge had great food, but hot water didn't work on the shower. Not enough seats, had to look around for ages.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Manila
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I had no follow on ticket "

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to Manila. Things were off to a bad start from check in. The counter staff member on examining my passport asked for my Visa and i had to explain to her that I didn't need one, that I get an automatic visa on entry to which she replied "oh yeah". Next issue was that I had no follow on ticket from Manila. I told her that I didn't know the exact date I was leaving and so had not bought a follow on ticket. I also told her that on a previous visit to the Philippines and on my recent trips to the US and Canada, I had no follow on ticket and never had a problem with customs. As I understood it, follow on ticket is an issue for customs not the airline. I checked my luggage, received my boarding pass and headed to the boarding gate. Not long before we were due to board, there was an announcement over the PA system asking me to come to the counter. Same girl is there saying she's talked with her supervisor and that I can't board the flight without a follow on ticket. I'm trying to reason with her and asking why not and she's telling me it's to protect the airline! She offers to sell me a follow on ticket there and then from Manila to Hong Kong for $450, almost the same price as LA to Manila! No Wifi there at the boarding gate so i'm not able to buy a cheap ticket using my smartphone. They ordered by bags off the plane. I walked away quickly trying to find an area with Wifi and managed to buy a cheap ticket before going back and boarding the plane. The flight itself was ok but I'll never fly with them again because of that.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Manila
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"flight and crew are perfect"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Riyadh to Manila return. Flight was full due to the holiday. Outbound Riyadh flight was smooth, served 2 full meals and snack and food was good. Departure Riyadh and arrival in Manila was on time. For entertainment, iPads were given to each passenger. FA's were attentive enough to cater to the passengers request. Inbound Riyadh, departure was late for 40 minutes, but arrived Riyadh on time. Service was excellent. Premium Economy section was moved back a bit to give way to the new Business Class section in the front, introduced in the Riyadh route last August. Except for one downside, the economy passengers on the next cabin are using the Premium Economy lavatory which is very inconvenient for our section. Economy passengers has 4 lavatories in their section and too lazy to go there. If only the airline can close the side of the galley so that economy passengers are discouraged to use the Premium Economy lavatory - it will be much more quieter and not withstanding the queue at the back of row 24 E/F/G. Otherwise, the service, flight and crew are perfect.
AircraftA330-343
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteRiyadh to Manila
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"fell short of expectations"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Manila. Chose Business on PAL as only non stop and 13-14 hour flight to Manila from London. Both flights were delayed, though outward flight arrived on time, with no explanation to passengers waiting in the departure lounge. Cabin fell short of expectations on both flights: looked old, cramped and seats were not comfortable. Aisle seats became impassable once they were fully reclined! Had to watch film from a tablet, with very limited choice of films (old: 2016 release being the most recent), TV shows were also uninteresting. Service was exceptional on both flights, crew very helpful, friendly and professional. They could be even better if had more knowledge of food and beverages served, as well as skill in serving them. Refreshments outside of service were on demand, and staff accommodated any request, incl rice porridge!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Manila
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"friendly staff, decent food"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Very happy first time flying with Phillipines Airlines from Sydney to Manila, they did very well in all regards - friendly staff, decent food and entertainment. Not once did I feel unsafe (and I hate flying). As the Phillipines number some 7000+ islands, I feel their staff are experienced pilots and that works in their favour.
AircraftA330-343
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Manila
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes