Vote Now  

Philippine Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 380 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"seats are old"

(United States)

Verified Review | Manila to Bacolod with Philippine Airlines. Late all the time, they need to refurbished the aircraft interior - especially the seats. In fairness the sandwich they served is very good. The safety video was fantastic. But my concern is that they need to change the interior.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Bacolod
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"quite a nice flight"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Manila to Hong Kong. Quite a nice flight. Small aircraft with a large cabin that still had a new feeling. Plush leather seats. Meals were very tasty and generous. Cabin crew were very friendly. PAL inflight is usually amongst the best. I liked the fact that PAL has a dedicated souvenir desk in the PAL terminal. However it would be nice if their online ticket portal was more functional as it is only accessible 24 hours in advance. I was not able to login to the wifi but getting a free local sim card with a reliable network was delightful.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"really improving now"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Manila to Toronto via Vancouver. Got the chance to ride Philippine Airlines new Boeing 777-300ER going to Toronto. The new cabin is beautiful and the legroom in economy is very spacious. The inflight entertainment system were also nice offering the latest movies. The screen size is bigger also. Can't complain about the food. It was delicious and drinks were offered throughout the flight. The flight attendants were immaculate. Very attentive, friendly, courteous. Even we received updates from the flight deck which was very impressive. Philippine Airlines is stepping up now, being competitive and really improving now and I do encourage you guys to try them.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to YYZ via YVR
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"food is substandard"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Manila. Having used most of the major airlines and a lot of the budget ones also I cannot place Philippine Airlines any higher than the likes of Ryanair. The service on the plane is lacking in quantity of staff, the seats are crammed in, the entertainment is pretty non-existent (even if you do have your own device) the food is substandard and the Terminal 2 facilities are possibly the worst I have ever experienced anywhere in the world. Considering I am supposed to be with the countries flagship carrier in the countries flagship airport I hate to think what offering is made elsewhere. Philippine Airlines need to take a look at Singapore to see how flagship is done properly. I would not use again, I only did because of the direct flight option but I would choose a two legged flight over this carrier every step of the way.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to MNL
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worse service than budget airlines"

(Brunei)

Verified Review | Auckland to Manila via Cairns. This was an unplanned flight as I had to return unexpectedly from Cambodia to New Zealand for a funeral and then travel on from Auckland to the Philippines. I paid almost NZD1200 for the flight. (This compares with $300 for the Scoot flight from Singapore to Sydney!). Philippine Airlines is a supposedly full-service airline but they offer a much worse service than budget airlines. The A320 is not suitable for longhaul flights. I asked politely for an aisle seat, and then I got a window seat which meant disturbing the two people next to me each time I had to use the toilet. The economy cabin is cramped and no individual entertainment screen. Indigestible breakfast offered on the Cairns to Manila leg. Only 3 cabin staff working in economy on what was a very full plane. Short-staffing meant that the drink with the meal came 20 minutes after the meal. I am not criticising the cabin crew; they tried, but there were just the three of them. A very disappointing flight compared to the other flights I had made in preceding days. I will rate the flight as a '1' as they did actually get me to Manila.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to MNL via CNS
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"both departure times were late"

(United States)

Verified Review | Puerto Princesa to Manila. I chose Philippine Airline thinking it's the most reliable airline. But, I was wrong. I discovered it is the most unreliable aircraft when it comes to punctualuty. Twice I have taken this aircraft, and both times the departure times were late for two to three hours. The worst thing no one bother to tell us the reason for the delay. If you have an important commmitment, don't take this airline. It will just stress you out. Very poor service and not following the schedule flights.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePPS to MNL
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"book on a hillbilly mob"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Traveled from Brisbane to Hong Kong via Darwin and Manila and return. The leg to Darwin and the flight to Manila was pleasant, but upon landing at Manila in a remote area we sat on the tarmac for 20 minutes while a generator was found so as to shut down the aircraft then a 500m walk to the terminal to transfers. No toilet in the departure lounges (no wonder the passengers use the onboard toilets prior to take off and line up after the seat belt sign is switched off). On landing in Hong Kong another remote location in pouring rain so a plastic poncho was supplied that was "very handy "in the wind and rain as it just blew over the heads and blinded the ones that were stupid enough to attempt to wear them, then on a bus to look out and see our luggage being unloaded onto open trailers in a downpour. My luggage was soaked and no staff to report it to as the flight was a midnight arrival. The return trip was disgusting and the incompetent ground staff in Manila makes me wonder whatever possesed me to book on a hillbilly mob that should not possess an international accredation, never again PAL!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to BNE via MNL
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"seating and amenities - excellent"

(United States)

Verified Review | I've been flying the San Francisco to Manila and return route in business class, and before 2008 first class, since 2007 three times a year. I'll make this simple: Seating and amenities - excellent. Food - excellent. Service - excellent. I've flown business class on other airlines, US domestic and international, none matches Philippines Airiness for the price you will pay for your business class seat. No stop overs - a non-stop direct flight to Manila and back to San Francisco. In addition, I've taken numerous domestic Philippine Airlines flights to various points in the Philippines, the quality of food and service, makes US domestic carriers look oppressive.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSFO to MNL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cabin staff were lovely"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Cebu to Kalibo, my favourite airline, despite being one of the only Asian Airlines that I've ever experienced a delay with. The cabin staff were lovely and I got a sense of them not being able to do enough for me, good legroom, clean aircraft. Would love to use this airline again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCEB to KLO
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"A330 legroom worse than A321"

(Philippines)

Osaka to Manila. Philippine Airlines (PR407) Schedule: 10:00; Actual Departure from KIX 10:10, Actual Arrival in NAIA 2 gate: 13:12. Basic services: seat selection (49 or 51H changed to 68H), legroom, meal, generous baggage allowance Pros: Timing (departure from KIX and arrival at MNL) Cons: Hard product in the economy class. The most cringe-worthy flight I ever had. For the seating arrangement, I was partly to blame. During check-in, opened seats were few that 49 or 51H was one of the remaining aisle seats. At the airport, there were many seats opened. The check-in attendant arranged to move me further which I couldn't care less either so I agreed to his offer of 68H aisle seat. The problem was despite of bigger aircraft, legroom was worse than A321 I had from Manila to Nagoya and that 68H's recline is not working! It felt as if seating in LCC and and this was what I got for the money I pay for. Now I also understand why the many low scores here regarding inflight entertainment. I experienced myPAL player myself. The aircraft will only let me use myPAL player few minutes before logging in or punching in my email. When I entered my email it never worked! I was given 15MB of free data but then I paused it only to find out after 30 minutes it already gone while being unused! When the food was served, Japanese passengers were only offered bento box while Filipinos or any other nationalities were fitted to chicken and pork steaks. I am not sure why but it was a culture-shock for me. I knew that PR is culture-sensitive but bento wasn't even offered to Filipinos like me. When it comes to the staff, they have always been helpful. The classic smooth runway landing has always been in PAL's spirit so no problem with that. The problem with this airline is the sad state of Manila airport. I would recommend flying with them if you care about generous baggage allowance. Else, fly with better airline if you have money and connection time to spare.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKIX to MNL
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes