Philippine Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 418 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"no IFE on a 14 hour flight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manila to London. The food was the worst I have had on a flight and there was no inflight entertainment on a 14 hour flight. This was preceded by a 7 hour stopover in Manila after flight from Denpasar which was expected - however this turned into a 9.5hr stopover due to the delayed boarding time of the London flight. Neither planes had tvs and the cabin crew gave out ipads, half of which were out of battery already and they also didn't have enough for the plane. Luckily I had a couple film on my phone to watch. I would recommend paying extra on another airline if possible.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to London
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"food is very delicious"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Fukuoka to Manila. During my flight you have to bring your own device to view the Inflight entertainment. You can download the "myPAL player" from the App store or Google Play store before your flight. The app cannot be used during take offs and landing and can be used once the airplane is on the top of the clouds. There are a few movie selection, a few TV shows, audio, and electronic magazines, there is also a map where you can see the current position of the aircraft. There was an inflight magazine where you can see something interesting. The food is very delicious and very presentable. My meal was assorted and healthy Japanese food.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFukuoka to Manila
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"flights delayed both ways"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Philippine Airlines flights delayed both ways. From Manila to Bangkok flight was delayed for 4 hours, and 2 hours on return. The key consolation was they used the newly reconfigured A330 on the flight to Bangkok. However, the A321 was used on the delayed flight to Manila, which is quite cramp, with very dull interior and an inflight entertainment that totally did not work.
AircraftA330 / A321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Bangkok
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seats good for 5 hour flight"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Vancouver to New York in business class on their 777-300ER. After taking both flights I would not hesitate to fly with the airline again on the same route. Ground service was good and check in was smooth. At YVR, PAL uses the plaza premium lounge and at JFK the Alitalia lounge. Both provided ample space, food, and amenities. As for the flights, each departed slightly behind schedule (30 minutes), however, the time was made up in the air and both arrived ahead of schedule. The captains kept the passengers well informed of delays and the flight status. The cabin crew were exceptional and attentive, addressing us by last name and checking on us. The meals served on both flights was very good (for both I chose the Filipino option). I would say the service and food is on par with CX, and much better than AC. On the flight to JFK, I got a newly configured Boeing 777 with lie flat seats, and on the return flight an old configuration 777 with angle flat seats (both in a 2-3-2 configuration). These seats were good for the 5 hour flight, however, they are not as good as the pods offered by CX and AC. PAL offered WIFI on the routes which was relatively fast for aircraft WIFI and worked with my device. Overall, my flights with PAL were of a good quality. Their soft product for the two flights was on par with CX and better than AC's on the route. Meanwhile, the hard product was not the best of the three, however, compared to United and Delta which operate the route in the summer season it is much better. Given the price point round trip which is considerably less than the competition, and that on a 5 hour flight hard product is not the most essential aspect, for me they are the best option for flying from YVR-JFK based on these two flights.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVancouver to New York
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"welcoming and approachable"

(United States)

Verified Review | Manila to Legaspi. First time flying Philippine Airlines I didn't know what to expect though I've heard that the airline is currently going through a massive overhaul to become a 5-star airline by 2020. Check-in was fast and easy ground crew was very good. The boarding process was easy and the flight attendants were very welcoming and approachable. The seats were leather and decently comfortable though I found the seat a little too firm. Waited on the tarmac for 45 minutes just to take off though I don't blame airline rather on the aging and congested Manila airport. They served chicken buns and a simple drink service after takeoff. No WiFi or any other form of entertainment other than magazines which is fine given a 55-minute island hop. The cabin crew was very attentive, gave eye contact and smiled.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Legaspi
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"they were ok"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Caticlan to Cebu. Didn't start off great. The flight was delayed for 3 hours. The baggage allowance was only 15kg per person. So we had to pay extra due to it being a bombardier aircraft they limit everybody to that weight. However later it transpired that the aircraft had been changed for an A320, so that was annoying. But they were ok. Good ground level service. On flight was ok. It was only a short internal flight so couldn't really comment on there long haul potential.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCaticlan to Cebu
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"best option for domestic travel"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Manila to Bacolod return. The PAL website has weird policies regarding who can use the online seat selection check-in feature. The ticket was purchased by the company via a travel agent in Y but upgraded to business at their main office. Still, I was not able to check in online nor change my seat. Upon reaching the terminal pretty early in the morning, I was pleased to find no queues in the business class check in lane and got my seat and boarding pass quickly. Boarding was quick and friendly on both legs and both flights were on time. Flight crew do not address business passengers by name on such a short flight but they were friendly and courteous. Seats were old, but comfortable. Toilets were clean enough. Food was surprisingly good and adequate for a short 50 minute flight. Despite their weird website policies, PR still is the best option for domestic travel in the Philippines
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMNL to BCD
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"like a new upgrade/new flight"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Manila. First time fly with Philippine Airlines. I love this flight, its like a new upgrade/new flight, everything is good and comfort. Food also delicious. They also give free philippines sim card so need to buy anymore. I hope they will put more facilities like screen Tab and usb power.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Manila
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"lack of inflight entertainment"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Cebu to Tokyo Narita. Check in was pretty good, and efficient. Boarding was chaotic. Seats were 29" and tight. The biggest gripe I have with this airline is the lack of inflight entertainment. My other problem was the service, the FAs had an aura of being rude. Asked for a glass of water, which never came, and this was during meal service. At the price they are charging, and with the service you are getting it is better to fly with another airline!
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCebu to Tokyo Narita
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the flight was delayed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manila to London. I am a regular traveller on this airline and no surprise that the flight was delayed by one hour with no explanation. The meals were OK on this flight and the flight attendants professional and attentive, which seemed an improvement on my last flight. I believe this airline does not run to schedule. I am still seeking my claim against them for a delay in December 2016, which they made an offer for, but are yet to pay. From my dealing with them they are very slow to reply to complaints if they do. I cannot recommend them and their customers deserve better, its time they started to listen to them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to London
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no