Philippine Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 510 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"Legroom is rather limited"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Manila to Ho Chi Minh City. I was left disappointed mainly with the food offering on this short regional flight (2.5 hours). The meal looked more akin to budget airline food. There was no salad, no bread, just chicken patty with some vegetables and potatoes (or rice, I don't recall). Service was great, however, in fairness to the flight attendants serving on this flight. They greeted passengers warmly with a big smile on their faces. That is probably the thing that was 4-star on this flight. The IFE using their PAL in-air flight app worked well. Good that I was able to download the app prior to flight departure. They should announce this well ahead of time (perhaps at check-in) otherwise, passengers wouldn't be able to access the app during the flight. Legroom on this A321 is rather limited on the 3x3 configuration). I noticed that there is a Premium Economy also with a 3x3 configuration. I wonder what makes it Premium Economy compared to regular economy. The difference is unnoticeable.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"They forgot my luggage"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | London to Melbourne via Manila. I don’t complain about their onboard service however legspace is very narrow. They are very slow at check in. If they miss your luggage which they did mine you have no chance to talk to any call center worker. They forgot my luggage and I waited almost an hour around carousel and I went to luggage service dept and they told me the airline forgot my luggage in London. They don’t have any customer service here in Australia and you need to call to Philippines. I called them 20 times without any information regarding whereabouts my luggage. So I had very bad experience with them. I
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Melbourne via Manila
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"flight was smooth"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | PR301, Hong Kong to Manila, Seat 52C, using the same aircraft model inbound Hong Kong. There is IFE on this flight (less than 2 hours). There is a USB charger at the bottom of the IFE screen, and I used my own earphones (stereo) rather than the supplied earphone in the front seat pocket. Overall, flight was smooth. take-off and landing. Again, I hope Philippine Airlines use these aircrafts for the longer Middle East flights.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Manila
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seat was good"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Manila to Hong Kong, Seat 63H, last section of the plane. Flight was delayed for 2 hours due to heavy rains. Good there was IFE in the flight and all the passengers did not get bored. I hope PAL will use the same planes for the Middle East flights. Anyway, the flight was a little turbulent due to heavy clouds, seat was good and near the rear lavatory. Food was ok for a short flight.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Hong Kong
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Food was excellent"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | Riyadh to Manila Premium Economy, Seat 24D. Flight was smooth, with some turbulence. Ipads were on loan to the passengers for free. Food was excellent, and cabin temperature was cold but manageable. if only the Premium Economy lavatory is exclusive to Premium Economy passengers, thus the long queue of even the economy passengers on the next section. Otherwise it could have been perfect or better yet, add another lavatory in this section.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteRiyadh to Manila
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Service was superb"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Manila to Riyadh. Flight was full all the way from Business to Economy. I-pads were loaned to the Premium Economy passengers, and used my personal stereo headphone. Cabin temperature was cold enough. Service was superb - kudos to FA's in the Premium Economy. Flight arrived an hour early, once cleared immigration, bags were already lined up beside the carousel. The only hitch for this flight is the economy class passengers are using Premium Economy lavatory, which causes long queues and sometimes loud conversation disrupting sleep in the last row. Economy passengers are too lazy to use the mid section lavatory in their area.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteManila to Riyadh
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"seats nothing short of horrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Manila. Do not fly this airline. I frequently fly for business and pleasure. I use United domestically in the US and Cathay Pacific for trips to Asia. I recently scheduled a trip with Philippine Airlines direct to Manila from San Francisco and have never experienced a poor level of customer service. I repeatedly advising the sales representative at purchase that I would arrive in San Francisco airport 12 hours in advance of the flight to Manila. As such, access to the lounge for business class travelers would be essential for me. I was repeatedly assured that the business class lounge would in fact be available. Upon arrival in San Francisco airport, I was advised that the lounge was not open and that the personnel of the airline would not arrive until three hours before departure. Upon calling customer service, I was put on hold for approximately 2 hours waiting for assistance only to be told that my earlier call to purchase the tickets was reviewed and that the representative confirmed access to the lounge as I requested. Nothing further could be done. I complained to the business manager upon check-in and received no response. I was, however, told that a complaint would be forwarded to customer care which in fact was never done. Upon departure from Manila back to San Francisco in business class many of the seats simply did not work to adjust position. Passengers in business class were left to scramble to find seats that actually adjusted. Those who did not find a workable seat were left to request the staff to manually adjust the seats in business class. I have attached photos of the attendants manually adjusting seats that otherwise did not work at all. One of the attendants agreed with me that the seats were nothing short of horrible.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSan Francisco to Manila
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"caused by their boarding procedure"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Manila to Cagayan de Oro. They only use 1 boarding gate for 3 or 4 different flights with the same time. If one flight gets delayed, all flights that are using the same gate will get delayed as well. Even though their flight is already delayed, they don’t try their best to speed up the boarding procedure. This happens a lot of times. They keep use NAIA’s air traffic as an excuse for their delay but in my opinion the delay is caused by their boarding procedure.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Cagayan de Oro
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Crew very helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Denpasar via Manila. Crew very helpful, but not particularly friendly. Seats comfortable, lots of films to choose during flight. On the flight back the plug for headphones in my seat was broken, so I was offered an instant transfer to a different seat. During almost 14-hour flight we were offered 3 meals: dinner, snack and breakfast, all of them good quality and filling, so I went out of the aircraft full. There were two options for meals: western and Philippine/Indonesian.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Denpasar via Manila
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Delay of six hours"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Manila to Jakarta, awful customer service. Information from airline was inaccurate and changed throughout the day. Delay of six hours because half of the passengers were made to wait for the other half who had visa issues that should have been checked before they boarded their connecting flight. Customer service appalling. Information in the departure terminal nearly non existent.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Jakarta
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no