Airline of the Year  

Philippine Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 413 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"they were ok"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Caticlan to Cebu. Didn't start off great. The flight was delayed for 3 hours. The baggage allowance was only 15kg per person. So we had to pay extra due to it being a bombardier aircraft they limit everybody to that weight. However later it transpired that the aircraft had been changed for an A320, so that was annoying. But they were ok. Good ground level service. On flight was ok. It was only a short internal flight so couldn't really comment on there long haul potential.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCaticlan to Cebu
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"best option for domestic travel"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Manila to Bacolod return. The PAL website has weird policies regarding who can use the online seat selection check-in feature. The ticket was purchased by the company via a travel agent in Y but upgraded to business at their main office. Still, I was not able to check in online nor change my seat. Upon reaching the terminal pretty early in the morning, I was pleased to find no queues in the business class check in lane and got my seat and boarding pass quickly. Boarding was quick and friendly on both legs and both flights were on time. Flight crew do not address business passengers by name on such a short flight but they were friendly and courteous. Seats were old, but comfortable. Toilets were clean enough. Food was surprisingly good and adequate for a short 50 minute flight. Despite their weird website policies, PR still is the best option for domestic travel in the Philippines
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMNL to BCD
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"like a new upgrade/new flight"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Manila. First time fly with Philippine Airlines. I love this flight, its like a new upgrade/new flight, everything is good and comfort. Food also delicious. They also give free philippines sim card so need to buy anymore. I hope they will put more facilities like screen Tab and usb power.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Manila
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"lack of inflight entertainment"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Cebu to Tokyo Narita. Check in was pretty good, and efficient. Boarding was chaotic. Seats were 29" and tight. The biggest gripe I have with this airline is the lack of inflight entertainment. My other problem was the service, the FAs had an aura of being rude. Asked for a glass of water, which never came, and this was during meal service. At the price they are charging, and with the service you are getting it is better to fly with another airline!
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCebu to Tokyo Narita
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the flight was delayed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manila to London. I am a regular traveller on this airline and no surprise that the flight was delayed by one hour with no explanation. The meals were OK on this flight and the flight attendants professional and attentive, which seemed an improvement on my last flight. I believe this airline does not run to schedule. I am still seeking my claim against them for a delay in December 2016, which they made an offer for, but are yet to pay. From my dealing with them they are very slow to reply to complaints if they do. I cannot recommend them and their customers deserve better, its time they started to listen to them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to London
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"somehow missed return flight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Denpasar to London via Manila. Disgraceful service and would never use again. We missed our flight and tried to contact this company through their office in Bali which is where we were, and to make things worse the only office was in our hotel Kuta Paradiso which was never open. Eventually after hours of attempting to call we finally got a response. The price initially for the return business class flights was £3000 that we paid, we somehow missed the return flight and after contacting them at a cost of at least £100 extra as it's a premium number they use, they said we will charge you a cancellation fee and ask you to pay the difference for a return flight which they stated would be after deduction $7000. We then asked what it would be to fly economy and that was $6000. We have now booked return business flights by Cathay Pacific and British Airways at a cost of €1347 each. Philippine Airways should be ashamed.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDenpasar to London via Manila
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"crew is this airline's saving grace"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Philippine Airlines is relatively expensive so I expect a service comparable to 5-star airlines. Flew from Manila to Bangkok. Flight crew rather efficient and treat passengers well. However, they need to make their meal service faster. The crew definitely is this airline's saving grace. In-flight services are quite bland. Their A330 has the on-line streaming of in-flight entertainment. During this flight it worked but in some other flights I took they did not work. Seats on their A330 are horribly narrow and tight that is so difficult to endure even on a 3 hour flight. Their airport hub in Manila is huge disappointment as well.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"much better than United"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | Guam to Manila. Check in is very slow and it took about 1 hour. Embarkation is proceeded by groups (depends on your row) The flight was quite smooth. There's no any entertainment system on board. Seat was of average comfort but it is OK for such a mid-haul flight, The staff was also OK. They distributed enough blankets for everyone who wanted. So, it's not a fantastic flight but it was much better than United on the same route.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuam to Manila
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"was a huge disappointment "

(Canada)

Verified Review | Manila to Vancouver. Considering that Philippine Airlines is the country's flagship carrier, you would expect this airline to be better than most others. I have booked a roundtrip flight from YVR-MNL so flying from North America, I expected a slightly higher level of service. The flight to Manila was delayed for 2 hours without explanation, causing me to miss my connecting flight and set back my schedule for that day when I arrived. During the flight, it was close to impossible to sleep when seated at the aisle as the flight attendants slam through your arm as they pass by, without apology. The food was alright, the usual airline slop. Overall, flying with this airline was a huge disappointment considering on what they want people to think they are.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Vancouver
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"could not be less disappointed"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Bangkok via Manila. Canceled flight with less than 24 hours without explanation, then sent multiple emails rescheduling. Ultimately setting me up with a flight schedule that left me overnight in the Manila airport. Customer service would not issue a prompt refund when requested, though eventually they did after getting the run around. I could not be less disappointed with my experience with PAL. Never again, and I will let everyone know about my unsatisfactory interaction with their customer service.
Aircraft777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Bangkok via Manila
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no