Top 100 Airlines  

Philippine Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 342 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"overall it was fair "

(Philippines)

I flew Philippine Airlines A340 to Sydney from Manila. During check in at Manila the check in was fast because they have many counters that are open and it's general. The flight was on time and the cabin crew was friendly. The food onboard was good. But there were no seat back IFE but a tv that goes out from the ceiling but they also provide an app which calls "mypalplayer" and with that app you can use your devices to watch movies etc but very uncomfortable because you're holding something instead of relaxing. The seat wasn't really comfortable and one more thing about the cabin is that you can see that the cabin is old and during inflight there were minimal lights, unlike other airlines they have blue lights and stuffs above the overhead bins. Overall it was fair and hoping Philippine Airlines will improve its service .
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to SYD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"staff were inexperienced"

(United States)

Verified Review | Manila to Kalibo with Philippine Airlines. PAL is one of the worst airlines I've ever taken. The flight going to and from my destination was delayed for hours. The staff were inexperienced and unprofessional. The crew did nothing to compensate for the flight's delays nor did they provide friendly service. I will never take PAL again as long as I can help it.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to KLO
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"both flights on time"

(United Kingdom)

Bangkok to Manila return with Philippine Airlines. Efficient check-in at both BKK and MNL. Decent (30kg) baggage allowance. Both flights on time. Simple but tasty meal service, with reasonable wine. Better flight times and prices than Cebu Pacific but more costly to change flights. Good value so I'll continue to use Philippine Airlines.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to MNL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I would be bumped"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Caticlan via Manila with Philippine Airlines. Arrived 1.5 hrs before flight, still plenty of time to fly. Only to be told they downgraded the size of the aircraft so my friend would get a seat but I would be bumped to a further destination airport. They offered free round trip domestic which is useless to me since I don't live here and don't have plans on coming back in the near future. Made to wait 5 hours for my flight to Kalibo instead of Caticlan so now I have to spend travel time from Kalibo to Caticlan by bus another 90 mins if I'm lucky. Running on being awake 24 hours now. Upset, angry and not feeling like coming back to the Philippines for a long time.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to MPH via MNL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"half what I'd expect to pay"

(Australia)

SYD-MNL-LHR return. I paid A$780 (US$600/GBP 420) for a return flight from Sydney to London, so it would be churlish to complain about anything: at that price I was surprised they didn't make me work as an FA. It was around half what I'd expect to pay on most airlines, and 30-40% less than the cheapest alternative. Service on the LHR-MNL leg on April 21 was outstanding and food was better than expected. There were no seat-back inflight entertainment on any of the flights, it was possible to stream films from a central server to your phone or tablet using the MyPAL Player app, which had to be downloaded in advance. This worked very well, and contained maps as well as entertainment. However, it did not contain anything like the range of films shown on the Philippine Airlines website : there were no movies less than a year old, and there were only about 20-30 movies in total. iPads with more films were available on request on the MNL-LHR vv legs, but not on the Sydney legs, and they'd run out of iPads on the MNL-LHR leg. Transfers at Manila quick and easy. NAIA Terminal 2 isn't pretty, but security screening and processing were fast and efficient. Check-in at all three airports was fast and efficient. The A330 (SYD-MNL) was pretty new. Seating was 3-3-3. The A340s were all ex-Iberia, and were very old. Seating was 2-4-2, and was generous. On the A340s the drop down TV screens were all broken, one way or another. On the MNL-SYD, the screen towards the front of economy had completely lost vertical hold, so there was a spinning black-and-white-ish screen flashing for most of the flight. On all A340 flights, the music played on landing appeared to be from a tape player. While I am sure that some people enjoy piano covers of Nu-Metal hits from the early 2000s (a low-budget Richard Clayderman clone playing Linkin Park), the music was played on an old, stretched, twisted tape, and sounded so bad that people were openly laughing at it. Playing music on a broken cassette player and showing films on a broken TV don't inspire confidence in the plane.
AircraftA330 / A340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to LHR via MNL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"become a discount airline"

(Thailand)

Bangkok to Cebu City via Manila. I have mixed feelings about this flight based on the fact that it seems that Philippine Airlines is trying to become a discount airline at the same time that they want to appear to be a full service airline. Online booking is confusing at times because you cannot choose your special meal in anyway so forget it if you are a vegetarian (even when I telephoned the airline requesting this in Bangkok they told me I could not do it so had to bring my own sandwich on the flight). You cannot pay the extra fee online to get a premium economy seat or one of the forward seats but you can pay for them on the flight and upgrade which is very strange. It would make so much more sense to do this online. Check-in in Bangkok was done by contact employees with PAL staff observing. I was told that I did not need to pick up my bags in Manila but having done this route before I knew I needed to clear customs with the bags so it is a good thing I remembered. That needs to be corrected or some people will not get there luggage. The flight was delayed 45 minutes which was unfortunate and every time I have flown this flight it is delayed. The crew on the flight are very polite and highly trained. They do everything they can to try and make passengers comfortable including getting everyone to close the window screens after takeoff to cut down on the glare. This would make sense if they had in-seat TV but they do not. On any over 3 hour flight it is almost criminal to not have in-seat TV. I did talk to a staff on the flight who said she was from management and promised to check into some things and email me back for after 11 days I have not received anything. The wifi is as slow as it is in the Philippines and the My PAL player app barely works so forget downloading it. waste of time. Wifi in Terminal 2 is terrible - the PAL wifi is non-existent. you can connect but you are connected to nothing. Amazing that in 2016 they cannot provide decent wifi that works. The flight to Cebu City was delayed by 1.15 hrs. The flight was fine but they refused to give me a blanket and said it was policy not to give blankets in economy but the plane was freezing. Another example of them becoming a discount airline. I sent a comment to Philippine Airlines about the no blanket policy and after 10 days have not received a reply.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to CEB via MNL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"seats were comfortable enough"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Domestic flight from Manila to Puerto Princesa with Philippine Airlines. Check in from Manila and Puerto Princesa was quick and efficient. Baggage delivery was also quick. Flight was delayed while going back to Manila due to air traffic. The cabin crew from Manila were not that efficient but the cabin crew coming back to Manila were friendly and efficient enough and apologetic.The seats were comfortable enough. They gave simple snacks which were fine since it was a short trip. Overall, it was a great flight experience.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to PPS
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a warm welcome onboard"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Manila-Puerto Princesa. Cabin crew are friendly and attentive and gave a warm welcome on board. They also served good food. One thing that I observed is that the airline need to be upgraded because they lack in terms of in flight entertainment system.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to PPS
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"greeted us with a pleasant smile"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | The flight from Manila to Puerto Princesa was good and comfortable. The cabin crews was very courteous and greet us with a smile. The flight going back to Manila was delayed for one hour because of the air traffic. When we boarded inside the plane, the cabin crew again greeted us with a pleasant smile. The plane is clean and the seats are very comfortable. It also has a complimentary snacks and drinks. Overall, the flight going to and back was very good.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to PPS
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"plane was clean"

(Philippines)

Boarded our Philippine Airlines flight from Manila to Puerto Princesa on time but we waited on the aircraft for takeoff clearance. The flight was good as the seats are comfortable, the plane was clean, and the complimentary snacks and drinks were also good. The service is also pleasant as the cabin crew is seen to be eager to help but their smiles are very limited. Landed at our destination on time.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to PPS
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes