Philippine Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 422 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"service is excellent"

(United States)

Verified Review | I was pleased with the service from Bacolod to Manila, the A321 aircraft is big and comfortable. The snacks is great and the FA was very pleasant. The only complaint I got they need to put in each seat a TV for entertainment. Otherwise the service is excellent.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBacolod to Manila
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Friendly and polite cabin crew"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Manila return, and is a big improvement for Philippine Airlines, with onboard cabin service, free 30 min.On Air Wifi. Inflight meal are now available of your choice in the menu, more movies, tv shows and music now than my previous flight 3 years ago. Good legroom in the economy seat for a 5ft 9ins tall guy like me. Friendly and polite cabin crew.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Manila
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"one of the worst airlines"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Darwin to London via Manila. This was one of the worst airlines I have been on. The first leg of my journey was 4 hours (Darwin to Manila) and I was upgraded to business class (a very pleasant surprise). There were seats and inflight entertainment on this leg, though the food was still very average. I asked for a glass of wine at dinner and it never came, but otherwise a very acceptable journey. The second leg Manila to London was much much worse. It was a 14 hour journey, made even longer by the 2 hours we sat on the tarmac in Manila not moving. I received one meal during the flight, a dinner, which was almost entirely inedible. There was supposed to be another meal but I did not get it (not sure why, I saw that trolley go past but perhaps they had run out of food). I was seated in the last row of the plane, the light was on behind me the entire journey. When we got to Heathrow we taxied and parked and then we lost power to the plane. There was no in-flight entertainment. There was an app that you could download before boarding the aircraft which was not advertised at all - the first I knew about it was when I got to the seat (and it was obviously too late to download). They handed out some ipads throughout the journey. Without the app or ipad, there was not a screen showing the progress of the plane or the time. I also flew back from Heathrow to Manila, then Manila to Darwin. On the Heathrow to Manila flight there was again no in-flight entertainment, but I had downloaded the app and it worked tolerably well (stuck in a few places due to the wifi speed). I was fed two meals on this flight but for both meals the meat portion was intolerable. They had also run out of the most popular choice of chicken (I was seated half way down in economy), so there was no choice of meal. The real kicker was the 4 hour delay in Manila between the hours of 11.30pm and 3.30am. They were an hour later than the re-scheduled flight. They provided us at around 1am with some deep fried chicken from Jolli Bees. To top it off, it was not actually a cheap flight - the price was around a number of other airlines, but I went with them because the flight times were the best.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDarwin to London via Manila
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"every flight has been delayed"

(United States)

Verified Review | Manila to San Francisco. I've flown on 5 flights this summer with Philippine Airlines and every flight has been delayed by at least an hour. I'm currently sitting in Manila airport (which is terrible old and dirty) because my flight to San Francisco is 4 hours delayed so far. We were supposed to have boarded 20 mins ago to meet our new departure time but since we haven't I'm guessing we'll be 5-6 hours delayed if we're lucky. If you have the option, go with a different airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to San Francisco
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no IFE on a 14 hour flight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manila to London. The food was the worst I have had on a flight and there was no inflight entertainment on a 14 hour flight. This was preceded by a 7 hour stopover in Manila after flight from Denpasar which was expected - however this turned into a 9.5hr stopover due to the delayed boarding time of the London flight. Neither planes had tvs and the cabin crew gave out ipads, half of which were out of battery already and they also didn't have enough for the plane. Luckily I had a couple film on my phone to watch. I would recommend paying extra on another airline if possible.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to London
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"food is very delicious"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Fukuoka to Manila. During my flight you have to bring your own device to view the Inflight entertainment. You can download the "myPAL player" from the App store or Google Play store before your flight. The app cannot be used during take offs and landing and can be used once the airplane is on the top of the clouds. There are a few movie selection, a few TV shows, audio, and electronic magazines, there is also a map where you can see the current position of the aircraft. There was an inflight magazine where you can see something interesting. The food is very delicious and very presentable. My meal was assorted and healthy Japanese food.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFukuoka to Manila
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"flights delayed both ways"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Philippine Airlines flights delayed both ways. From Manila to Bangkok flight was delayed for 4 hours, and 2 hours on return. The key consolation was they used the newly reconfigured A330 on the flight to Bangkok. However, the A321 was used on the delayed flight to Manila, which is quite cramp, with very dull interior and an inflight entertainment that totally did not work.
AircraftA330 / A321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Bangkok
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seats good for 5 hour flight"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Vancouver to New York in business class on their 777-300ER. After taking both flights I would not hesitate to fly with the airline again on the same route. Ground service was good and check in was smooth. At YVR, PAL uses the plaza premium lounge and at JFK the Alitalia lounge. Both provided ample space, food, and amenities. As for the flights, each departed slightly behind schedule (30 minutes), however, the time was made up in the air and both arrived ahead of schedule. The captains kept the passengers well informed of delays and the flight status. The cabin crew were exceptional and attentive, addressing us by last name and checking on us. The meals served on both flights was very good (for both I chose the Filipino option). I would say the service and food is on par with CX, and much better than AC. On the flight to JFK, I got a newly configured Boeing 777 with lie flat seats, and on the return flight an old configuration 777 with angle flat seats (both in a 2-3-2 configuration). These seats were good for the 5 hour flight, however, they are not as good as the pods offered by CX and AC. PAL offered WIFI on the routes which was relatively fast for aircraft WIFI and worked with my device. Overall, my flights with PAL were of a good quality. Their soft product for the two flights was on par with CX and better than AC's on the route. Meanwhile, the hard product was not the best of the three, however, compared to United and Delta which operate the route in the summer season it is much better. Given the price point round trip which is considerably less than the competition, and that on a 5 hour flight hard product is not the most essential aspect, for me they are the best option for flying from YVR-JFK based on these two flights.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVancouver to New York
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"welcoming and approachable"

(United States)

Verified Review | Manila to Legaspi. First time flying Philippine Airlines I didn't know what to expect though I've heard that the airline is currently going through a massive overhaul to become a 5-star airline by 2020. Check-in was fast and easy ground crew was very good. The boarding process was easy and the flight attendants were very welcoming and approachable. The seats were leather and decently comfortable though I found the seat a little too firm. Waited on the tarmac for 45 minutes just to take off though I don't blame airline rather on the aging and congested Manila airport. They served chicken buns and a simple drink service after takeoff. No WiFi or any other form of entertainment other than magazines which is fine given a 55-minute island hop. The cabin crew was very attentive, gave eye contact and smiled.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Legaspi
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"they were ok"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Caticlan to Cebu. Didn't start off great. The flight was delayed for 3 hours. The baggage allowance was only 15kg per person. So we had to pay extra due to it being a bombardier aircraft they limit everybody to that weight. However later it transpired that the aircraft had been changed for an A320, so that was annoying. But they were ok. Good ground level service. On flight was ok. It was only a short internal flight so couldn't really comment on there long haul potential.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCaticlan to Cebu
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes