Peruvian Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 32 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"delay and lack of service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Cuzco to Lima. "Puntualidad y Servicio" meaning punctuality and service? I had neither. My flight was delayed over 1.5 hours and there were no announcements made in the Cuzco airport. Nothing on the screen displays. No online status update, not even the option to check flight status on the Peruvian Airlines website. I spoke to a Peruvian airlines rep in the airport multiple times, in English and Spanish, and she could not tell me what was going on or when the flight was expected to land. I told her I had an international transfer in Lima along with checked luggage. All she could do was give me the "yikes" look and there was nothing else to do. While boarding the flight, the flight attendants took down all of my information and tried very hard to get something worked out ("perhaps Peruvian airlines can reimburse you for your missed flight" etc). The same unhelpful airport rep as previously mentioned came aboard and told me that she sent an email to Peruvian Airlines staff in Lima and that once I landed, they would help me. Upon landing, I went to the Peruvian Airlines desk, and they had no idea who I was and were completely unhelpful stating "I don't know how they do it in the Cuzco, there's nothing we can do." I ended up having to spend $300+ changing my connecting flight, taking a taxi, and paying for hotel accommodations due to this delay and lack of service. I will never fly with Peruvian Airlines again and would not recommend anyone else do so.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCuzco to Lima
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst experience ever"

(France)

Trip Verified | La Paz to Lima. Worst experience ever. They were late by 3 hours due to 'weather issues', which, we learned later, were just light rain and to really poor organisation. They said we would be fine for our connexion and that they would do the necessary arrangements for us at Lima. But they didn't. First lie. Then they said we would be reimbursed our missed flight. Second lie, we never were! They let us down at Lima with no flight options, no help whatsoever, they just didn't care at all. We had to buy new ticket to get out of there for a high price. I can't believe this happened but we weren't alone, many people were in the same situation as us. This seems like a very well organised fraud. Never ever fly with them if you have other options.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLa Paz to Lima
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"horribly disappointing experience"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | La Paz to Lima via Cusco. I chose Peruvian Airlines as it was the only flight that suited my schedule. When we arrived at the La Paz International Airport, we queued in line for 1.5 hours even though there was only about 20 people in front of us. Once we reached the front, we were informed that there would be a delay of 2 hours. Having flown Peruvian a few times, this was not unexpected. However, after waiting in the gate area for about 3 hours, a staff member came to inform us that the flight was cancelled and we were to proceed back to the check in counter to claim our luggage. Many passengers, me included, had connections in Lima and needed to reach Lima ASAP. However the earliest flight that they were able to schedule was the next day and many of us were forced to miss our connections as the incompetence of the airline meant that they were not even able to put us on Avianca or Latam flights. Communication was poor throughout this process and the staff even had the nerve to ask me to take a 12 hour bus ride and a flight the subsequent morning from Cusco - even though this did not gurantee any of us being able to make the onward connections from Lima. Overall a horribly disappointing experience and if you have any option other than Peruvian Airlines, I highly recommend that you choose to exercise that option.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLa Paz to Lima via Cusco
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"is a bit of a joke"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Lima to Arequipa. I have to agree with most of the reviews on this website in saying that Peruvian Airlines is a bit of a joke. I booked with them because they were about 20$ less than their competitors but regretted it when I arrived at the airport and confusingly was put on standby (I bought the ticket the week before). The seat was obviously given to another passenger. Lesson learnt. Words of advice: guys just pay the extra 20$ to arrive at your destination as planned. The new flight they gave me was the next day. Luckily I was somewhat flexible but sadly their staff for whatever reason were absolutely unapologetic and basically said it was my own fault-but how? When I informed my Peruvian friends I was traveling Peruvian Air Line they pre-warned me (using language I cannot write here) that the company was very badly organized. Naturally I assumed it would be fine but I would like to warn fellow travelers about my experience and I will also add that the airline is frequently late, the online checkin does not work-even if you download their app, calling to check in before which I also tried is impossible and finally at the airport (which is usually very busy) their staff have zero presence other than at the check in desk. All of the other airlines had a representative on hand. Usually I'm a bit more forgiving but my experience on this occasion was in my opinion completely unacceptable. I have travelled with Peruvian before but do not intend to book with them in the future. Very poor job Peruvian Airways.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLima to Arequipa
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"you get what you pay for"

(Bolivia)

Unverified | La Paz to Lima via Cuzco. It's ironic that their slogan is "punctuality is our thing" while the only thing they can never get right is being on time. So if you have a connection flight that same day avoid this airline. In my case the flight was delayed "only" 1 hour so my connection with Copa scheduled 6 hours after the scheduled arrival went without problems, but as a regular user of La Paz airport I have seen flights delayed up to 6 hours(wich makes me a lucky man). The planes are quite old and doesn't look much taken care of, and the leg room is the smallest I have ever seen (and that includes regional jets!), their staff are ok, as long as you speak spanish(wich can cause problems in the stop in Cuzco and their crazy costums and inmigration proceedings) and the onboard service is ok taking count the trips are just an hour long each leg. Maybe is a case of you get what you pay for as their fares are most of the time much cheaper than LATAM or Avianca
AircraftBoeing 737-500
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLa Paz to Lima via Cuzco
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"staff seemed very disinterested"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Peruvian Airlines from Arequipa to Lima. Departure was only slightly delayed (10 minutes). Plane was old, with uncomfortable seats. This was a short flight and OK overall, however staff seemed very disinterested and even rude (i.e. attendant sneered at me when I asked for milk in my coffee and generally smirked the whole way). The price was also quite high I find for a short trip. For these reasons I would choose another airline.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteArequipa to Lima
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Peruvian Airlines are appalling"

(United States)

Verified Review | Cuzco to Lima. Peruvian Airlines are appalling. First, my flight from Cuzco to Lima was delayed, causing me to miss my connecting Copa/United flight in Lima to New York City. I was aware this was going to happen, so enquired in Cuzco itself about being put on another flight, but that didn't happen. The Peruvian staff put me on the delayed flight anyway, saying that there were 20 other people with the same connecting flight as me, and that "Copa might wait" (Copa did no such thing). When I get to Lima at 1pm, it takes me over an hour at the counter to wait for a staffer to replace the Lima-NYC flight I missed. Copa/United didn't have flights before 2am the next day, so I figured Peruvian would do better at replacing my ticket on another airline, than I would replacing it myself through United. Instead, the woman handling my case comes back after an hour and sends me off to a hotel to wait for a call at 9pm to confirm my flying out with Copa at 2am on the same flight I had enquired with United about. Come 9pm, nothing happens. I call the number she gave me and received someone on the other line telling me to "wait for their call". I call back again at 11pm, and they said that I will likely only fly out the next day in the afternoon and would confirm at 9am. Call them at 9am, they said they were still waiting for a confirmation from United and would get one by 2pm. By 11am I had had enough and contacted United myself and begged them to let me replace my missed flight with no charge. I got a flight out for 10:30pm that night. Peruvian still hadn't contacted me by 8pm when I checked out of the hotel. This was yesterday, for me and I am pretty sure Peruvian would have happily let me fester in that hotel room for a week while they do god knows what with their time. Bottom line is, this is an airline to be avoided at all costs. They are so incompetent that you are very likely to encounter a delay or lost luggage. I would have happily paid double just to avoid this mess.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCuzco to Lima
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delays were dreadful"

(Argentina)

Verified Review | Peruvian Airlines has a total lack of respect for the passengers travelling from Cusco to Lima, flight 0213. First of all, in Cusco Airport, the flight changed gates from 4 to 1 but every passenger was unaware until some of us saw the flight number in gate 1. The staff didn't even bother telling us about the change. Then, the boarding was delayed for half an hour. The flight was supposed to leave at 6:50 but the screens indicated we should board at 7:22. Once we got on the plane, another half an hour (or more) waiting inside with no explanation at all. When I descended from the plane, I asked the staff to introduce me to the pilot so I could ask what happened. They said he was "busy" and said they had problems with the air traffic control in Cusco, but they didn't say anything when I asked them why they hadn't explained it to the passengers: we were all looking at each other wondering what was going on and no one of the staff was around. The top of the cherry: once we got to Lima, the luggage was supposed to arrive at 9:22 to the baggage belts (we arrived at the airport around 9:05). The luggage didn't arrive at 9:22, obviously, but the biggest problem was that there was only one person from the airline that couldn't handle the situation at all. He didn't know what to say, didn't offer an apology and never explained clearly what had happened to our luggage. We left the airport of Lima at 10:05 with our bags that came with another flight's bags, on another baggage belt (not the one that was indicated) and at more than 45 minutes after we arrived. Not only the delays were dreadful, but also the staff didn't offer explanations and never apologised for all the inconveniences.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCusco to Lima
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"most unreliable airline encountered "

(Australia)

Verified Review | This airline is unreliable and has ruined two days of our holiday with significant delays. Our flight from Lima to La Paz left 6 hours after the scheduled departure time. The last hour of this was spent on the plane sitting at the gate. They boarded us and did not leave for another hour. Then the return leg from La Paz to Cusco was also 4 hours late and we still do not have a departure time. 2 days ruined sitting in airports. There are no staff to provide updates and calls to the Peruvian call centre do not enlighten the situation. Basically they have no idea themselves when their planes will leave. This is an appalling airline to be avoided if at all possible. They do not care about the inconvenience caused and the impact it has on their customers. Unfortunately we have one more flight with this airline but have already started to investigate alternatives. Without exception the most unreliable airline I have encountered anywhere in the world.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLa Paz to Cusco
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"communication was terrible"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Firstly the flight time was changed without notification and then the incoming aircraft was late. Then despite other aircraft's taking off, the captain was refusing to fly because of the weather. Then they said we could fly but only if there were 30 volunteers to take tomorrow's flight because the load was too heavy to fly. None of this was communicated by an official announcement. Communication was terrible. Eventually the plane departed 5 hours late. Because my connecting international flight was on 'final call' when we arrived the ground staff promised to send my luggage on to my next airline. I caught my flight just before the doors closed after running through the airport. Now my luggage is missing and I have heard nothing from Peruvian and they do not respond to my communications. Shockingly bad.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCusco to Lima
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 32 Reviews