Top 100 Airlines  

Openskies

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 55 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"things seem to be falling apart"

(United States)

Verified Review | Paris Orly to Newark. I used to be a fan, but things seem to be falling apart. On April 2, 2016, we were called to board the plane, and at that moment, we were given the news the flight was cancelled due to mechanical issues. The information we received was chaotic. The female gate agent did not use the PA system and the message was in only one language. People could not hear details which raised the anxiety level within the group. We were led throughout the airport to clear customs, and pick up our checked luggage. We were finally sent to another counter on the other side of the terminal to deal with hotel and voucher procedures. Many followed blindly. We were told countless times to check our email to receive rebooking information from BA. It never arrived. I finally was able to get the gate agent to listen to me when I told her I called BA and they claimed the flight wasn't cancelled, thus the reason why none of us received a rebooking email. The gate agent was unaware that BA was oblivious. The BA agent on the phone told me that our flight was not cancelled. When I explained I cleared customs and currently have my checked in luggage returned and in my hands, she told me she couldn't help me because their screens did not show a cancellation. This was told to me after almost an hour had passed after we heard about the cancellation. Surreal. We were lucky. We were 2 out of 7 allowed to make the 13:40 flight out the next day. All of those folks booked for the same time the day following - cancelled again. I can't even imagine suffering a cancellation two times in a row. Unfortunately, this seems to be happening more than it should. There doesn't seem to be much support going out to this airline and it's unfortunate. In addition to this event, the seats in biz bed and premium economy are very worn and in some cases, the seats are not properly maintained and do not work. It's sad because this airline has such potential. I felt bad for the gate agents who attempted to handle the situation as best as they could. The gentleman (gate agent) was calm, cool and helpful, but it was clear they were all winging it with no support. We can no longer fly Openskies. We can't afford to gamble on when we might reach our destinations. I should also note they cancelled our original flight details on the return and moved us to the later flight about 2 months after booking. This has happened to us before. Had we been allowed to keep our original arrangement, we would have made it home instead of dealing with this.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteORY to EWR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"the seat is terrible"

(Singapore)

I was so looking forward to this Openskies flight from Paris Orly to New York, it sounded sexy on paper. Sorry to say, I was disappointed. The seat is terrible! It has absolutely no storage space so you don’t know where to put your items. Your glass of wine, your water bottle are put on this flimsy little stand which I kept knocking. I had my laptop on the ground, for there was no where else to put it, and I was always scared I was going to knock my wine and spill it all over the laptop. Plus this BA forward - backward seating, personally, I find very annoying. The person by the window has to step over your foot rest in order to get to the aisle. Very odd. The seats are old, narrow and rundown. And the Boeing 757-200 is even older! When is the last time you saw the console for lights, air and flight attendants on the ceiling above you? Instead of a built-in IFE you get an iPad, which is not necessarily a bad idea, however, there were maybe only 20 movies to watch. The one redeeming factor was the food and wine. The wine was superb and the food was very good as well. Unfortunately, will not be choosing Openskies anytime soon. It is an outdated and very unsexy product,
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteORY to JFK
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Horrible experience"

(United States)

Paris Orly to New York JFK with Openskies. Requested seat 4J after waiting for the 24 hours check in period. I was trying to avoid being seated next to the toilet. Upon getting to the airport everything look good and received my boarding ticket with the proper seat. Then at the gate they decided to change my flight to the only other seat available next to the toilet as they explained that my seat was given to a crew member. As you can imagine, I was not happy and everything from there was downhill. Airplane is dated so the seat was uncomfortable and did not recline to a bed as expected. Food was barely edible and the service was nonexistent. Horrible experience on an airline that I was looking forward to flying with as this was my first flight with them. Never again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteORY to JFK
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"declining quality of service"

(United States)

Openskies used to be a great option from New York JFK to Paris Orly. But aging planes, crummy and continuously declining quality of service and food doesn't make it a worthwhile option anymore. You used to be treated like a human, but now it's just a bigger seat. There are better options out there. I guess this was an expected outcome once the big British Airways took over.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteParis to New York
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

Openskies customer review

(United States)

What a disappointment! When we first flew OpenSkies in 2010 from Newark to Paris it was wonderful the lounge was beautiful and exclusive the seating on the flight was spacious and comfortable they offered us champagne etc. All this in the cheapest seats on the plane. This time the cheapest seats on the plane felt like the cheapest seats on any plane. This flight was from JFK to Orly. First we were unceremoniously dismissed at the entry to the lounge the employee told us we were "allowed" to wait at the gate with everybody else - in a very snarky tone. Fine. Then the seats on the plane were the same as seats on any flight 3 across uncomfortable recline position one of our seats kept flopping backwards. Food was standard airline fare. The plane didn't even have the overhead air circulation controls it was stifling for the entire flight! No individual seat-back entertainment available but they hand you an ipad. What nonsense - I have never seen a skimpier selection of inflight entertainment. Literally just a few TV shows a few movies very little audio a couple of games. With the return flight we didn't even bother accepting the ipad (neither did many other passengers I noticed). I know this may come across as whiny but when you look at the website and what the airline promises believe me they fall FAR short of their promises. The good news? The flight was empty both ways (no surprise there) and we arrived on time. Flight staff was no better or worse than any flight staff. Totally a disappointing experience given what they promise. Adjust your expectations downward.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort N/A
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
no
7/10

Openskies customer review

(United States)

Flew September 17 2014 JFK to Orly. We left 10 minutes early and arrived almost an hour early. We flew premium economy and it was great. The flight crew were kind and attentive. Our return flight was cancelled several days prior to departure and that's when it went from great to not so. We were provided alternate flights but it was terrible having to connect in Heathrow and only have 40 minutes to get through customs and security it was a sprint to make our flight to JFK. In the end I would say we had a positive experience and would recommend Open Skies.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort N/A
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
yes
2/10

Openskies customer review

(United States)

BA flight 8005 from Orly to JFK. 9/15/2014. Planes are old and shabby and not enough restrooms. Seat was broken and did not recline at all - cabin crew unapologetic and said it happens all the time (unacceptable). Disorganized at Orly check-in and security. British Airways needs to get their act together with this product. I do not recommend.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort N/A
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
no
9/10

Openskies customer review

(United Kingdom)

Worth the effort to go to NYC via Paris. The Orly lounge was comfortable but the one in Newark on the return flight was excellent. The staff and good quality were what did it for me. Attentive from check-in all the way through and really open and friendly in their approach. The food though spectacular. Fruit was fresh and just the right temperature. Seats were comfortable and complimentary iPads were a nice touch. The content too was up to date so I managed to get in a couple of films I didn't get to see in the cinema. It's a quick and comfortable journey and I didn't feel as rushed or herded like I have on other larger airlines.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort N/A
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
yes
10/10

Openskies customer review

(Ireland)

I recently flew Paris to New York return in their biz bed cabin. I was impressed. The fully lie flat bed was comfortable and the food served was possibly the best airline food I've been served crossing the Atlantic. I really liked their small touches like la duree macaroons and iPad based entertainment systems. I would say OpenSkies are my new favourite transatlantic airline. I also bagged a great deal on my flight so it was a win win scenario for me. I was also impressed with the efficiency of ORY airport.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort N/A
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
yes
na

Openskies customer review

(United States)

I had booked flights last year for a late June to early July 2013 New York to Paris trip. On the outbound to Paris the flight was delayed 2 hours mechanical problems poor communication by Open Skies staff to customers. The return flight to New York was a disaster. The flight was canceled their Paris staff were clearly overwhelmed and seemed not to know what to do and their communication skills in English were lacking. Finally after insisting they gave me a hotel and meal voucher for an Airport Hotel at Orly and put me on a flight the next day on an Air France plane back to NYC from CDG. Please note my hotel was at Orly! A considerable distance from Orly to CDG. To make a long story short I did not manage to get on an Air France flight until 4pm later that day. I had arrived at Orly the pervious day at 2pm. Would I ever fly this airline again. No. British Airways has their work cut out for them.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort N/A
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
no
1 to 10 of 55 Reviews