Airline of the Year  

Oman Air

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 253 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not travel this airline again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Paris to Kuala Lumpur via Muscat. The checkin at Paris was good, Oman uses Cathay's lounge which is a decent lounge. The flight got delayed by 4.5 hours with little information from ground crew. Once we landed in Muscat having missed our connections, none of the staff knew how to deal with passengers with missed connections. People were told to go and queue at one counter only to be told to go to another counter and queue up again. It took nearly three hours to arrange a hotel and an alternative flight for me. I was very disappointed with the lack of coordination of the ground staff. I would not travel with this airline again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteParis to Kuala Lumpur via Muscat
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"service and food quality is just average"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Flew Business Class recently with Oman Air from Jakarta to Frankfurt via Muscat. Seats are ok, but service and food quality is just average. Etihad has better food offering and much better service. Business Class Lounge in Muscat is also disappointing. There are only seats that are not very comfortable when you have 2 or more hours of layover. Food is also very limited. Turkish Airlines Lounge in Istanbul is much better. Etihad lounge in Abu Dhabi also has better food. Muscat airport is also very small, nothing much to do, you have to get off the plane on staircase and take a shuttle bus to the airport. No cell phone coverage here in Muscat if you have Google Fiber. Overall I would not recommend flying Oman Air unless you get a much lower price than Etihad, Emirates or Turkish.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJakarta to Frankfurt via Muscat
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"complaints ignored every time"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | We have recently made 1 trip with Oman Air from Abu Dhabi via Kuala Lumpur to Melbourne and 3 trips with Oman Air from Abu Dhabi to Manchester via Muscat. Every time there has been an issue. We have contacted Oman Air and followed their complaints procedure and have been ignored every time. We are very disappointed with the poor customer service and incompetence shown by Oman Air. Their staff are rude and unhelpful. Abu Dhabi to Melbourne via Muscat and Kuala Lumpur. Flight WY632 between Muscat and Kuala Lumpur. Our bags went missing. We filed a report at Kuala Lumpur and were assured that Oman Air would contact us within 24 hours. That never happened. We spent 5 days of a 9 day holiday without our clothes. The bags eventually turned up on the 5th day which involved a 4hr round trip to collect them. We made numerous phone calls to Oman Air during this time and staff were very unhelpful. We raised a complaint with Oman Air and received a very unhelpful reply from Customer Relations. They ignored all of our replies to this email. We raised another complaint for which they acknowledged receipt - and then ignored. Abu Dhabi to Manchester via Muscat on 13th May 2017. Inbound flight WY634 and WY105 from Muscat to Abu Dhabi was delayed so the connecting flight from Muscat to Manchester was missed. No representatives present at the airport to help us apart from on female member of staff in a distant office dealing with all irate customers and missed connections. It took so long for her to organise that the first Etihad direct flight to Manchester was missed and the next flight was several hours later. This flight was going to London. There was a shuttle provided by BA to Manchester. When we arrived in Manchester, our bags were not there. We arrived in Manchester at 1am, Oman Air promised our bag would be delivered the following morning; they arrived at 8pm – nearly 24hr late. I also had my 7yr old son with me. Manchester to Abu Dhabi via Muscat - Flight WY633 on 18th May 2017. The flight was delayed so the connecting flight was missed. The aircraft did not make up the time during the journey and this was despite promises from Oman Air staff that the connecting flight to Abu Dhabi would wait. This incurred a 5hr wait in Muscat Airport for me and my 7yr old son. We were put on an Etihad flight. Manchester to Abu Dhabi via Muscat. Flight WY0106 on 4th June 2017. The flight was delayed so the connecting flight was missed. The aircraft did not make up the time during the journey and this was despite promises from Oman Air staff that the connecting flight to Abu Dhabi would wait. This incurred a 5hr wait in Muscat Airport. No food or water was offered to me or my 7yr old son. We were put on an Etihad flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Abu Dhabi via Muscat
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"worst I've experienced for long haul"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Goa via Muscat. I've flown with many many different airlines and Oman Air are the worst I've experienced for long haul. On my flight out from Heathrow, my seat sliding mechanism was broken which meant that when I stretched out the seat would slide out and backrest would fall back. I complained and nothing was done about it on the flight. On return flight, my entertainment unit didn't work. I complained, and again they didn't do anything or pretend to care. So an 8 hour flight without any form of entertainment was hell. I was suffering from a stomach bug on my way back to London and needed water because I was getting dehydrated. I got up and walk to the galley and asked nicely if I could have some water because I'm not well. I got a rude response of "Yeah I will bring it to you", what she really wanted to say is "go away". I just stood there looking at the staff until she gave me water. I've never experienced such rude service in my life on an airplane. My experience of the connecting Oman Air flights between Muscat and Goa was a complete different story. They were great, exactly what I expect from an airline. The short flights would get 5*s.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHeathrow to Goa via Muscat
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"quite pleasant and on time"

(Oman)

Verified Review | Muscat to Salalah return on Oman Air. Both 80 min flights full, still quite pleasant and spot on time. Check-in in Muscat ok, in Salalah (new airport) excellent. Food on Oman Air short distance flights is inedible. I would much prefer just water and a (good) coffee or tea. New Oman Air lounge in Salalah is quiet, very good.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 / EMB175
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMuscat to Salalah
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"very positive experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew London Heathrow to Kuala Lumpur via Muscat return with Oman Air. Fantastic experience, now I want to only travel with them. Seats in economy cabin are comfortable 2x4x2, attention of the crew was good all time . We were very lucky and got upgraded to premium seats on our way back so was even more comfortable. Generally very positive experience and I would highly recommend the airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Kuala Lumpur via Muscat
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"showing our train ticket to Singapore"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | On checkin they said we couldn't board unless we showed proof of an exit flight from Malaysia. Despite showing our train ticket to Singapore, they insisted that this is not proof. We were forced to buy a ticket at the airport at somewhat inflated prices. I wasn't aware the front seats in each section were premium, only discovering this when reaching the cabin. Even though they were empty and I offered onboard the aircraft to pay the difference, we were denied this seating by staff. Therefore my 9 month old baby had no cot for the journey. The front seats were empty. Finally they lost one of my bags, just to stick the knife in I suppose.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMuscat to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"really good service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Delhi return via Muscat. Surprisingly excellent, and consistently so across four flights. Plenty of leg room, good food, really good service, flights were on time and the price was the lowest available. We're actually considering visiting Oman as a result - not a country we'd ever considered visiting before, but I suppose part of the objective of becoming a 'hub' is to attract more tourism. I'd also highlight the Francophone hostess on the flight from Muscat to Delhi who went out of her way to be welcoming on what was a busy flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Delhi via Muscat
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"an excellent all round experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manila to London Heathrow via Muscat. I was slightly apprehensive about my return trip, due to how impressed I was with the outward bound flights. To my delight, the same high standards were met - professional staff from start to finish, clean and very comfortable aircraft and excellent food served with a smile. At 6ft tall it was a joy to get adequate leg room, sadly not available on other airlines. The short stopover went without any problems at all with only a very short delay. The only small complaint was the cleanliness of the toilets onboard, but this was just just poor passenger hygiene. For the price, this was an excellent all round experience.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to London via Muscat
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew was brilliant"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Oman Air from Frankfurt to Colombo via Muscat. Aircraft from Frankfurt to Muscat (A330-200) 7 years old, Muscat to Colombo (A330-200) 2 years old. On the way back A330-300 registration number A40-BY (2 years old) and B737-900 1 year old. In all A330 in economy class a lot of space between the rows. We were positively surprised. I have never flew in an aircraft with this amount of space. In my opinion, the Oman Air A330 with the configuration 2-4-2 is one of the top economy class - I would risk to say that it was better than Emirates A380 economy class. The crew was brilliant we can't complain. The food very good. The only thing that I would improve it is the inflight entertainment system - always some kind of problem even in 2 years old planes. Despite great choice of films and games for kids always touch screen problems, we had to change headphones 2 times, the connectors between headphones and the system. The crew was trying to help but the screens were simply broken. Good thing the flights were not full so we could change the seats. Muscat Airport is a very small and basic (new one has been built and it is a matter of months when they move in to the new premises - it looks very impressive from outside). What we did not like is the very long annoying music during take off and landing in all planes and the ground Oman Air crew at the Muscat airport. There is no priority for passengers with kids to board the plane (Emirates are better in that matter).
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Colombo via Muscat
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes