Top 100 Airports  

Oman Air

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 225 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"cabin crew were extremely rude"

(Oman)

Verified Review | Flew Oman Air from Muscat to Salalah. Nice Aircraft and comfortable seats. However there were no air vents to cool passengers. The plane was hot. The cabin crew were extremely rude. Just one muffin served for 1hr 45 minutes. No coffee or tea on the meal service despite being in the morning flight. The crew never smiled or made passengers feel welcome - poor service.
AircraftBoeing 787 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMCT to SLL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"staff very friendly2

(India)

Muscat to Chennai with Oman Air. Nice journey. Food was good and as usual all staff were very friendly. Toilets were clean and good inflight entertainment. Very comfy seats for this 3 hour journey. The lounge was also very good and flights on time. Would recommend.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMCT to MAA
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"there was no entertainment"

(Saudi Arabia)

The flight was delayed a bit in Dammam and also in Muscat which was fortunate because I had a very short connecting time. The aircraft used on the Dammam to Muscat sector vas very old and there was no entertainment at all. A small sandwich was served which was enough for an hour and half flight. The aircraft used on the Muscat to Bangalore sector seemed to be a bit newer and the seats were comfortable but there was no entertainment as it did not have IFE. The cabin crew were really very friendly. I felt restless and felt bored because some entertainment is needed for a 4 hr flight
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDMM to BLR via MCT
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"food was pretty grim and sporadic"

(Singapore)

This was the return flight. Flying Oman Air saved us money, but I'd also read very decent reviews and the timings weren't too bad so it was an obvious choice. Overall, from a cost perspective, it was worth it. Oman Air is perfectly decent, although there were some IFE and food issues. On the way out from Singapore to London Heathrow we chose the 13 hour stop in Muscat so we could get a rest in a hotel (we were traveling with a three year old). This was easy enough, but as our son didn't cooperate it just added more time onto an exhausting journey. On the way back we had the simple one-hour change in Muscat, which was simple and quick enough. On both flights the Kuala Lumpur stop of around an hour was simple enough, and on the way back the flight crew let my son see the cockpit - something I've not experienced since (I think) 1980. There were IFE problems on both legs - usually frozen touch screens, or language options that resisted being set to anything but German. This was a major problem, although the ability to use the IFE even when on the ground was useful. The other big issue was the food on the flight back, in the middle of Ramadan. There wasn't much of a service from LHR (I'd have expected a meal on take off at 2050), but the real problem was Muscat - KL/SG. I can only imagine that Ramadan meant that the kitchens in Muscat were barely working, as the food was pretty grim and sporadic (most passengers were Muslim and busy fasting until the end of the flight). The cabin crew were good. Two stand out. One helped me secure a spare couple of seats at the very back, giving my wife and son a bit more space in the centre seats. When I asked for a wine she answered with, "One? Two? Three? Just two? Then just ask if you want more." That is excellent and grown up. The other was very friendly and helped out a lot, especially when my son vomited during the extremely bumpy 6 or so hours almost from take off in Muscat to the coast of Malaysia (monsoon season in the Indian Ocean), and got my son onto the flight deck. As an airline, then, it's not a top offering, but with plenty to recommend it if you want to save cash. I also hear that Oman is excellent for exploring if you have time.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to SIN via MCT
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"cabin crews were polite and efficient"

(France)

Verified Review | Flight WY132, 23/05/2016 from Paris CDG to Muscat and WY817, 24/05/2016 from Muscat to Bangkok were operated by the same aircraft, A40SA. Both flights left on time and arrived at destination ahead of schedule. Meal service was a bit rushed as is often the case on night flights but food was decent and cabin crews were polite and efficient. Only criticism was the cabin temperature, too hot for my personal taste. I also regret the seat width and pitch of the A330 previously used on these sectors.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteCDG to BKK via MCT
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"pleasant flights on both sectors"

(France)

Pleasant flights on both sectors with Oman Air. WY818, Bangkok to Muscat on 21/06/2016 was nearly full but boarding was reasonably smooth considering that several passengers needed wheelchair assistance and many others were not frequent travellers. WY818 landed almost one hour ahead of schedule due to strong rear winds thus giving me time to use the lounge before continuing to CDG on WY 131. On both flights food was good. It seems to me that Oman Air is back to the quality of meals they offered in 2013/2014. Cabin crew was above average, beeing pleasant, efficient and attentive. Cabin temperature was again too high. Is it a general problem with this type of aircraft? Improved selection of audio entertainment.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to CDG via MCT
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"food acceptable but not fantastic"

(United Arab Emirates)

Flew from Dubai to Bangkok via Muscat for a long weekend. All flights out and back very punctual, with return leg from BKK to MCT arriving well before schedule. Pleasant cabin crew but food acceptable but not fantastic. IFE choices not so great and not a patch on the variety that you get on Emirates for example but the screens on the 787 are perfectly fine. Older 737 used on DXB to MCT leg which is fine for a short hop. 787 used on the MCT to BKK leg was very pleasant and not too busy with no one sat next to me in both directions. Used Airmiles for this particular trip but checked pricing on the Oman air website and was pleasantly surprised to see that the flight I booked would have cost 895 AED inclusive of taxes. Despite the shortcomings with the food and IFE choice, would use again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDXB to BKK via MCT
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"staff disengaged from customers"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Salalah to Muscat for a relatively short Oman Air domestic flight. Seating comfortable with good leg room and entertainment not available. Staff went through the motions with service offering a snack and drink. No interaction from staff otherwise and they seemed quite disengaged from customers. All other aspects acceptable for a 90 minute flight.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSLL to MCT
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"boutique airline has great potential"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Business Class seat very comfortable. Cabin and toilets kept spotlessly clean. Limited choice of entertainment programmes. Crew were well presented. The flight was empty in both Business and Economy class on both outward and return sectors. London Heathrow - Muscat and return with Oman Air. On LHR-MCT sector, the crew were pleasant and helpful. Problem on arrival at MCT - booked chauffeur service did not show. Ground staff at Sales desk were not very helpful. Had to book a rental car to get to hotel. When I phoned customer services to point this out, the response was not sympathetic and appeared to distance airline from ground services offering. Seems that staff are not empowered to resolve complaints. This was verified at check in for the return sector, when I was asked to email Customer Services. That is never the answer. Anyway, I did email them, and am still awaiting an acknowledgement. On MCT - LHR sector the loads were again light. Crew did not engage with passengers much, despite the opportunity to do so given the small number of passengers. Crew seemed inexperienced and immature. Such a shame - because the "hard" product is quite good. Food is well presented in Business Class, but wine choice is limited and food portion size is small. This boutique airline has great potential, but currently is not up there with the best in terms of interest in passengers.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to MCT
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"cabin crew good, airport staff not so "

(United Kingdom)

Heathrow to Bangkok via Muscat with Oman Air. 1 hour late leaving London and meant to leave Muscat 8.45pm but flight delayed. Very little information and people getting very angry. We finally left around 1.30am and got into Bangkok 11am local time. Missed connection and had to buy another ticket. Flight and cabin crew good, airport staff not so good. Didn't seem to know what to do - very cheap flight but will not fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to BKK via MCT
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no