Norwegian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 520 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United States) 4th July 2015

I had the best transatlantic flight experience. This is due largely to Boeing 787 aircraft. Their Premium Economy surpasses any other Premium Economy class that I have flown on other airlines. Most charge almost double for the same service. I hope Norwegian eventually figures out that if they added lie-down flat business class seats they would be even more competitive. I used Norwegian on a return flight from JFK-LGW and and back.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLGW to JFK
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United States) 4th July 2015

Just returned from a 2 week graduation trip to Europe with 33 of my fellow students and 5 teachers. Outbound we were scheduled to take off around 8:00 PM on a flight from Oakland to Stockholm, but the plane, a Boeing 787, encountered a bird strike as it arrived into Oakland that left the right wing damaged. Crews at Oakland originally believed the damage was easily fixable and we would depart later that night however, the damage ended up being worse than expected, and the plane was deemed unable to fly. Norwegian specially arranged another aircraft operated by HiFly to fly us to Sweden two days later. As it was 3 AM, and knowing that we lived over 2 hours away, Norwegian paid for a hotel for all 39 of us, as well as the transportation to get there and the bus home the following day. Not only that, but the airline paid for a charter bus to get us back to the airport on Friday, and is going to refund each traveler 600 euros. As far as the flights go, the crews on both the flight to Stockholm and the return flight were great. The ride back to America on the B787 was the most comfortable I've experienced - plenty of room, and the in-flight entertainment was top notch. Overall, excellent customer service to go along with affordable prices.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteOakland to Stockholm
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United States) 4th July 2015

Outbound flight 18 December 2014 from JFK to London Gatwick. Return Flight 5 March 2015, LGW to JFK. Overall this was my best transatlantic flight. Due part to the new Boing 787 and also to the services Norwegian offers. I was a bit apprehensive because of some of the negative reviews on this site. Flights were on time, staff was very good. Flight attendants were American and very good. Pilots were British and that is always reassuring. A few minor negatives such as: Lounge at JFK not good (Korean Air) and some of the ground staff at London Gatwick not good. Overall a superb experience and very good value for money. Also the fact that flights can be rescheduled in Premium Economy is another plus. Hopefully this airline figures out that adding lie flat seats would make them even more competitive.
AircraftBoing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteJFK to LGW
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United States) 2nd July 2015

We were scheduled to fly from JFK to Oslo on June 2. We received a notification that due to "technical" reasons our flight was delayed. Eventually our flight was cancelled. I tried to reschedule on Icelandair but Norwegian would not pay the difference. We were rebooked on a Portuguese airline for the next day. The time of that flight was changed 4 times. Lines at JFK were horrible - 200 people and not nearly the staff to handle the crowd. We were issued a $15 meal voucher and told to submit our other expenses online. Most places at the airport would not take the voucher because. We lost our seat assignments. There was no liquor on the flight - they forgot to restock - no wifi, and no in-flight entertainment. So, we get to Oslo a day late. Our return flight was scheduled for June 11th. We got to the airport 3 hours early and were advised at 6.30, our departure time, that our flight was delayed. Eventually it was cancelled and we were placed on the same Portuguese aircraft that departed Oslo around 4 am. We spent over 12 hours in the airport and were never advised that we were entitled to a hotel room. Again, we were given meal vouchers, but it was so late that every restaurant had closed. Norwegian failed to update their website and our limo went to JFK to pick us up, not knowing that we were still in Oslo.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteJFK to Oslo
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 2nd July 2015

After reading some of the reviews, I was not expecting to enjoy the flight, however I was pleasantly surprised. Although we were a little late leaving, we arrived on time. Staff were friendly and polite and the atmosphere was relaxed. I had a very cheap flight (approximately £75 return) and to keep the price low, I did not purchase extras such as reserved seats, but my partner and I managed to sit together anyway. I also only took carry on luggage. As well as one bag, you are allowed another small bag to stow under the seat. easyJet are very strict on the one bag policy, Norwegian were more relaxed. As it was a short flight I did not purchase food and drink but took my own. I would definitely fly with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon Gatwick to Stockholm
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United States) 1st July 2015

You get what you pay for. Which in the case of Norwegian, as with most other budget airlines, is a cramped seat - nothing more. Don't look for the flight attendants to offer you anything, at all. Presumably they are on board to open the doors in case of emergency and nothing more. They were not hostile or rude and there was in fact something likeable about them, especially during the brief moment they became animated while plying the duty free. Don't look for the personnel on the ground to do much more than point you to where you yourself check your bag. Norwegian was the first budget airline I've flown other than Southwest Airlines in the U.S., which is famous or notorious depending on your point of view, for their happy go lucky employees on the ground and in the air. Norwegian like other budget airlines, makes its money by grinding personnel and other costs to dust. My last minute, high season fare from Oslo to Oakland wasn't particularly bargain basement since I didn't plan in advance. Perhaps if you can snag one of the ridiculously low fares offered in the dead of winter when purchased well in advance, the lowness of the fare may outweigh the pain of the cramped seat, the absence of food or drink and the second rate inflight entertainment selection.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteOslo to Oakland
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (Norway) 21st June 2015

Flew TOS-OSL-LGW. Return trip was on SAS. Both flights left on time. I didn't buy anything, because it was expensive. I'm 180, and had plenty of legroom. I could reserve seat on the airport. Nice and helpful staff. Free Wi-Fi always good. On the return trip, we flew SAS. Much worse. Definitely choose Norwegian over SAS.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon to Bardufoss via Oslo
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 18th June 2015

I will be first of many to rage about the service from this airline, but I am one of the few who decided to cut my losses and pay to fly back with Easyjet as the rest of the passengers of the 10.25am flight yesterday are still waiting to take off, it is due to leave at 6.30pm Fri. The flight to Barcelona at 10am was also cancelled due to "technical fault", they were taken to a hotel as were not leaving until next day. A thunderstorm that morning stopped planes from landing. Our plane went to Split instead. There was no announcement from airport, as airline didn't contact them- instead they emailed and texted passengers that morning and most had no wifi and phones were off. In the next few hours all the other airlines landed and took their passengers but not Norwegian. Instead of vouchers for food and drink were had one meal at 1pm (pasta and bottle of water) that was all, and we left at 8.30pm. We were told the plane would be leaving at 12.40am Thurs, I have since heard that it was delayed again to 6pm Thursday and passengers went to a hotel. All attempts at contacting customer service was futile. Clearly they run it on a shoestring and when things go wrong there is no capacity to fix it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDubrovnik to Gatwick
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United States) 17th June 2015

We were scheduled to fly from Oakland, California to Budapest via Oslo on Norwegian on May 30. We received an SMS message that or flight was going to be delayed. A short while later, we received another message saying that our flight would leave on time as scheduled, however it would be serviced by another carrier (that I have never heard of). We then found out from other passengers that the flight was cancelled and that all passengers were rebooked on a flight leaving 2 days later (on Monday night, June 1). We then discovered that the rescheduled flight was delayed until Tuesday morning, June 2. I called Norwegian's customer service number and after waiting on hold for 1 hour and 55 minutes, spoke to a rude service representative who said my only options were to cancel, or to go on my trip 3 days later than the orginal departure date. I asked to be rescheduled on an alternate carrier, a 3 day delay being utterly ridiculous. The representative told me that would not be possible. She said that Norwegian would put us up in a hotel at Oakland Airport and would issue a $20 per person meal allowance. She refused to let me speak to a supervisor and would not disclose the reason why. She then proceeded to hang up on me. In my 40 years of air travel, I have yet to encounter anything like this. The policies and conduct of this airline can only be described as outrageous. The Norwegian passengers on the flight said this is a common occurrence.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteOakland to Budapest via Oslo
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United States) 16th June 2015

19 Nov 2014, Rome-Fiumicino - New York. Never again, I took the flight from Rome via Copenhagen to NY. They not only have a 20 kg allowance which I had to pay a lot of money because I had the regular 23kg packed, but they also are not exactly generous and made me pay over 100 euro for those 3 kg. I would not recommend flying this airline. Their concept is to make money off every single incident and have built in some rules that enables them to make that extra money. It's not as cheap as it seems if you add those costs.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteRome-Fiumicino-New York
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no