Norwegian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1000 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"had no representatives available"

(United States)

Trip Verified | First experience has been terrible so far! I live 2 hours from JFK and drove here, checked in and was waiting for takeoff only to receive a text message saying the flight was canceled and to proceed back to my home if possible. The airline said there was no problem with the plane, they just didn’t have a crew. Seriously? They had no representatives available to answer questions. Customers were left stranded and after waiting 36 minutes to speak with a customer service representative on the phone (bc no one was in person) they told me I would need to submit a claim on their website, but they were not sure the airline would refund any sort of credit for the inconvenience. Never flying them again! The flight is now rebooked for 13 hours later which will land us in London after midnight, at an airport 90 minutis a outside the city, with no public transportation running at that hour. They also said if the airline did issue any refund it wouldn’t process for 4-6 weeks. Shameful! Norwegian needs to be held accountable for their service!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to London Gatwick
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"frustrating and disappointing"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Paris Orly return. Afternoon of departure received text msg notice that flight was canceled. No further info on line, other than instruction to rebook. However, nothing was available for more than a week. Called both US and Norway customer service lines but gave up after 2 hours on hold. Booked round trip on another airline, obviously at greatly increased fare. Also missed connection, which was non-refundable. Norwegian's opening bid was to compensate us only for the segment they canceled, on the theory that we couldn't predict that the return leg would be canceled, too. Eventually, they agreed to compensate us for both legs on their airline, but none of the significant excess cost we incurred as a result of the cancellation. I have flown Norwegian before without incident, but the failure of customer service puts this airline firmly in the not worth the savings category. Exceptionally frustrating and disappointing.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Paris Orly
Date FlownJune 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"definitely fly them again"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Copenhagen to Orlando. Amazing flight! Everything was fine. Flight departed with a small delay but arrived on time. Aircraft was new and very modern. Would definitely fly with them again!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Orlando
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"downgraded to economy"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York JFK to Paris. I booked our flight 9 months prior to departure seats selected and confirmed for 1A/1C Printed my itinerary, checkin in online and printed our travel documents still showing premium with seats 1A/1C on the day before and morning of departure Walk up the premium checkin line hand our bags to agent. Agent asks for our passports, scans them and states you have been downgraded to economy. I was devastated, asking how can this happen i have printed documents from 9 months upon booking and from check in showing our seat assignments? His reply was they overbooked and take the seats from the lowest priced paid for premium, and that we would be refunded 75% of the ticketed price. I chose business class with Norwegian knowing it was economy, traveling overnite, we didn’t want nor need food or drinks, we only wanted to be able to sleep fairly comfortably. My question to Norwegian - you have our emails / tel# when was it decided that you overbooked ? Why wouldn’t they contact us and give us the option of rebooking with a better airline in the fashion we choose and paid to travel We will never fly Norwegian again!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew York JFK to Paris
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"it's hard to beat"

(Czech Republic)

Not Verified | Amsterdam to New York JFK. Opted for this airline on trip from Prague due to best connection times in AMS and late departure from JFK inbound. Booked 3 weeks in advance for Low Price, then used an uprage bid for only 165 Euro outbound. DY departs from Terminal 5 so its most remote gates G and you are bussed to the plane. Load about 90% outbound and even more inbound. Premium cabin on the par with i.e. B777 ER Premium on Aeroflot, but no amenities. Drinks service fine, free cocktails and spirits, once in flight, tasty meal (however plastic with cutlery only) served; no midsized water bottles distributed - you may have either full sized one or as many refills as required. IFE system worked flawlessly, content a bit aged and no music selection, so BYO. Great legroom. Free earphones in Premium, regular jack. Orders per touchscreen and served in few minutes anytime. Inbound I missed the short upgrade bid frame, upon request at check-in and boarding the offered rate 400 USD wasn´t a deal. A meal order for 35 Euro isn´t worth as you may have full dinner with many choices around JFK for 35-40 USD. The legroom in Economy barely bearable for anyone over 6ft, very limited recline. Plane clean and quiet. USB chargers in both cabins, but no wi-fi like on their European routes. Return flight on time, but messed up by ground handling (Menzies) adding 25 mins for stairs and only two busses shifting. All in all, for 400 Eur return (Low Cost Economy/possibly 700 Eur in Premium on bids) it's hard to beat and no objection to board them again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteAmsterdam to New York JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Seriously delayed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | New York JFK to Gatwick. Norwegian flight operated by Wamos. Seriously delayed. Poor service. No communication. Lack of food and no entertainment. Scheduled departure was 11:25 am, but actual departure was 10:55pm. An initial delay of 1 hour only became apparent when boarding of the plane should have commenced but didn't. We were told that the reason for the first delay was due to the late arrival of the flight crew. Other than this there was very limited information given to passengers by staff at the airport regarding updates of the new flight schedule. It was gradually set back several times, but each time there was never any communication to passengers at the airport, except when staff were pressured to do so by disgruntled passengers. An update on the airline website advised that meal vouchers would be provided. However, this was another thing that gate staff failed to announce. As a result, a significant number of passengers were not aware of their availability and missed out. During our additional 9 hour wait we were provided with a single meal voucher. There was no consideration given to the fact that we were travelling with a 4-month-old baby and that a meal voucher would not be suitable for her. We did not have sufficient formula feed to cover the added time, but when we queried this with the supervisor at the gate, she said there was nothing she could do about it and suggested we leave the airport to purchase some. We explained that we already had extra in our main suitcase, but she said it would be too difficult to try and locate the case as it was already loaded on to the plane. It was only when we argued that she had a duty of care for passenger welfare that she asked for our luggage to be located and brought to us, which indeed happened. After we eventually boarded the plane at 19:30, our experience continued to be less than satisfactory. Despite travelling with a small child and paying extra for a meal and seat reservation, we were allocated separate seats. It was only after another passenger agreed to swap, that we were able to sit together. We sat at the stand for 2 hours until the plane finally started taxiing. However, it was a further 90 minutes before we actually took off. During this time only a small cup of water was offered on a single occasion. While taxiing, it also became apparent that the crew were unable to properly manage the passengers. Despite being a direct flight between two English speaking countries, the Spanish crew spoke limited English, so struggled to understand a number of simple questions passengers asked them. The lengthy time spent taxiing also caused one passenger to need to use the toilet which one of the crew allowed them to do. This resulted in several other passengers asking to do the same but they were denied by another crew member, causing tensions to rise further. Also whilst the plane was moving several passengers remained standing despite the seatbelt light being illuminated, but at no time did any member of the crew instruct them to sit down. During the flight only water was offered, and there was no mention of food being provided. It was only when someone asked that they were told they could go to the back of the plane and get a sandwich, but they would not be bringing the trolley down the aisle. Once again no announcement was made about the availability of food, and it was only after word spread and more people went to the back of the plane that the crew decided to bring out the trolleys.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Gatwick
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Very pleasantly surprised"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Paris to New York. Very pleasantly surprised by the experience I had with Norwegian. After reading reviews online I was hesitant to fly with them but it went without a hitch. Seat was comfortable and I had great legroom (though I had the wall in front of me). First meal was delicious and I got a glass of wine too (2nd meal was ok). Inflight entertainment was pretty good (watched 4 movies) and the operating system was clean and worked well. The plane was also clean and very modern. Only drawback was that the toilet was only on one side so as a result people used the space between my seat and the wall to go to the bathroom which was a bit uncomfortable for me. Would definitely fly with them again though!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to New York
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Asked to upgrade our seats"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Rome to Newark. Website does not work to be able to check in bags or select seats. The staff on the phone refuses to help out. On the flight (operated by Privilege Style) staff do not as much as ask if we would like water since we did not buy any meal plan. Asked to upgrade our seats to business for a fee and the staff person never got back to us until halfway through the long flight stating the “seats were broken in business class”.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRome to Newark
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Poor communication"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Helsinki. Horribly late, bad service at Norwegian desk (no availability to give phone calls, food or drinks but only 4 hours after original departing time). When flight finally left from Gatwick, the plane was very dirty, there was trash at both cabin and toilets. Captain was addressing his complaint for passengers because of "technical issues". Poor communication. Wifi did not work even it was advertised before.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Helsinki
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"all compensation was denied"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Flight was late because of technical error (as told my sms), no help for food, drink or phone call was offered when I asked it from Airport desk. Aftterwards all compensation was denied. When airplane finally arrived, it was filthy and dirty. I understand, that I have to fly by Norwegian because I have not the funds for a proper company, but still it's sad that their service is so much below any line. I rate it "2", because I finally came home alive, of course 6 hours late. It wasn't first time, that's the whole point: they do it again and again.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Helsinki
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no