Norwegian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 542 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United States)

We arrived at the Ft Lauderdale airport an hour before the flight and were told we could only get on the plane if we left our luggage behind. We were a family of four. My daughter used a wheelchair and we had her racing wheelchair. We were stunned. There was plenty of time to make it through security. We always gate check both wheelchairs. There wasn't a line at security. I asked if our luggage could be put on the next plane and they said "We don't do that." The people at the ticket counter were extremely defensive and rude from the time we arrived. We called Norwegian right away and were told that for over $400.00 we could get on the next flight three days later. We didn't feel we should be charged at all as the plane was still at the gate and they weren't letting us on. When the supervisor finally met with us she told us that we were five minutes late, and they couldn't "load things like that." She pointed at the wheelchair. We called Norwegian again only to find out that since the plane had left the gate we'd be charged $3,400 for the next flight. Never was it explained to us that if we didn't pay the $400.00 the price would go up after the plane left the gate. It was an awful beginning to our family vacation.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteFt Lauderdale to Copenhagen
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (Netherlands)

It was a very cheap flight, and my expectations were accordingly. However the whole 11.5 hour experience (or actually 23 hour, since it was a return ticket) wat pretty good. The snack bar integrated in the IFE works well, the flight attendants were very quick to deliver the orders. Prices for food are not cheap, but that comes with the type of carrier. At first i wasn't too impressed by the dreamliner. Seats are quite narrow, they feel much narrower than in A380, leg room is fine (I'm 1.76m). I appreciated the nice and responsive IFE system, and most importantly, both on the night flight to BKK as the day flight back to Stockholm I felt much better and more fit than on a typical B777, B747 or A330/A340 flight. If schedule and budget allows it, in the future I will definitely try to catch flights on Dreamliner (or A380) in favor of the older jets. The only reason I wouldn't pick Norwegian next time, would be to avoid Stockholm Arlanda Airport for long layovers. It's just too expensive to have a decent lunch there.
AircraftBoeing 787 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteStockholm to Bangkok
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Extremely narrow economy seats of the type that are very thin. Padding in the back of the seats is almost non existant so it feels like your leaning back against a hard flat plastic board. They do recline which is a small blessing, however the seat pitch seemed unbearably small, with the tray table folded down it was difficult to do anything that involved moving your elbows without seriously intruding into the personal space of people sat on either side of me. Try to get the aisle seat if you're a little claustrophobic. The window seat is the next best option. If you're seated in the middle of the row, don't bother going, or be prepared to defend your rights to rest your arms on the armrests regardless of what your travelling companions think who are sitting on either side of you. The WiFi on board is excellent. Transit handling in Oslo very inefficient.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMálaga to Manchester via Oslo
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Gatwick-Arlanda (Stockholm) return. Can't believe Norwegian is a low-cost carrier. Although speed a bit lame, but free wi-fi on board. Shame on full-service airlines which charge passengers tens of dollars of internet access on-board. Cabin crew members are polite. Brand new boeing aircraft (B737-800 NG) with mood lighting. The only drawback is delayed departure from ARN back to LGW due to full loads of passengers. They should've anticipated this earlier. But all in all, two thumbs up for Norwegian
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLGW to ARN
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

See the review by A Yeates. Well done for leaving early. I was stranded at Dubrovnik on the same flight. Other airlines were flying in and out as normal. We eventually arrived at Gatwick 32 hours and 10 minutes after we should have. Norwegian then took over 4 weeks to provide a certificate of delay. They have now rejected the claim for passenger compensation on the grounds of "exceptional circumstances" ie the thunderstorm. The cabin crew were fine if a little embarassed and the captain apologised profusely for the service we received. A good number of the party we were in were aged 70s and 80s. Oh, and when we arrived at Gatwick, we had to stay on the plane for about 10 minutes as they weren't ready for disembarkation. This is no way to run a service. Disgraceful.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDubrovnik to London Gatwick
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

We had to get to the airport really early to travel on the 6.30 flight from Madrid to London. We had the app on our phones with boarding passes. When we tried to use these they failed to work. We were told to get in the queue and ask for boarding passes to be printed off. Nobody appeared at the check in until 5.45am. The flight was due to leave at 6.30am. Only 2 members of staff were present to check in when they did arrive. The queue was huge and everyone was fed up of having to be there so early and wait for so long. No apologies from staff. By the time we got through security it was now 6.15am. We ran to passport control, to get at the gate and find another queue. Staff seemed to know that the flight was delayed and not informed the customers. Another customer got to the boarding gate and her app no longer worked on her phone, she was told to go back out and get a ticket printed out and missed her flight. All this technology and it doesn't work, staff very slow and never an apology. Very poor service.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMadrid to London
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

LGW-SXF. Having had a good experience using them on the seasonal flight from Edinburgh to Stockholm, I decided to use them again for this trip to Berlin now they have a significant base at London Gatwick, my preferred London airport. There were a few downsides - I have so far mainly flown out of the North Terminal which is a far superior facility with much better environment so the dingy South Terminal wasn't the most pleasurable place to spend time in - I would dread having a delay here. Outbound flight was delayed and the line was slow even to get into the waiting area as they only had one person to check everyones boarding passes despite a full flight. The app while useful is a bit slow and buggy and the QR code is too small for a lot of Airport scanners. These small niggles aside, once onboard it was clear why I had chosen to fly Norwegian again, clean new planes with a reserved seat at a fantastic price. The crew were also very noticeably very warm and friendly - unlike previously where they were efficient and but a bit brusque and cold. The free WiFi that actually works in the air is also a really nice touch. Overall a good trip and definitely use again - one of the best low cost carriers in Europe.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLGW to SXF
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United States)

Nice crew, the Boeing 787 is very comfortable and the windows are terrific. The experience was spoiled by the insane procedure Norwegian have for serving food an beverages. You have to book a meal 48hrs before the flight. If you do not (I only bought my flight 36 hours ahead) or you do not want their bad and very expensive food, then you are in for a nasty surprise. They cater for all advance food orders first. Anyone who does not have an advance order cannot get more than a glass of water for 2 hours into the flight. They go up and down the aisle, dispensing food and wine and soft drinks, but refuse to serve you if you did not book an advance meal. It is ridiculous and makes one feel like some sort of third class passenger. I paid the same price for my ticket, but am penalized because I didn't opt to buy one of their poor meals. After 2 hours they open the electronic "snack bar" and you are finally allowed to get a drink. This is one of the most dreadful ideas of customer service.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLGW to JFK
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

The first sign of trouble was a text message I received the morning of the flight that told me there would be a 5 hour delay to my flight. Instead of leaving at 18.30 it was scheduled to leave a 23.40. Even though there was a 5 hour delay I was told that I had to check in by 17.30. This left me with hours of waiting in the airport, at 22.30 when the flight was supposed to board nothing came up on the screens. I had heard that we were boarding from gate 15 so I headed that way only to be told by a fellow passenger that we had been asked to go to the information desk. Once there we were told by a representative that Gatwick had strict noise reduction policies that meant the flight was not allowed to land. Flight was postponed until the next day, they did not provide hotels for anyone and instead left all passengers to fend for themselves. I used my 90 minutes of free wifi to find myself a place - this was difficult as most places were booked up and by this point it was past midnight. We also had to recollect our checked in luggage and as there were no staff around to guide us this was chaos. The next day I returned and tried to check in using the computers as there was an hour long line to check in with staff. I was told that I could not check in using the computers as I had already checked in so I joined the line - at no point did I see any representatives of the airline, nobody knew what to do or where to go. Once I checked in I was given a £10 food voucher, from talking to the other passengers I found out that it should have been £20 so after going through security I had to go to the information desk to get the remaining £10 voucher. The flight was supposed to board at 17.55. The time came and went and nothing came up on the screen. Eventually we got a departure gate. We didn't board until past 20.00. Onboard at my seat the reading light didn't work, the television didn't work and when I brought this to the attention of the crew members they just shrugged. I understand that mistakes happen but the way that the airline dealt with it (or didn't deal with it to be more precise) was shocking. I still have my return flight to deal with but after that I will never ever book with Norwegian again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon Gatwick to New York JFK
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Norwegian customer review

Review by (United States)

Stockholm Arlanda - LAX, flight DY7087, 30 July 2015: Our flight home to LAX, was chartered out to EuroAtlantic Airways. We were supposed to fly home on a Boeing 787, but instead were flown on a very old Boeing 777. This was by far my worst experience with a long-haul flight, and I travel internationally about once every 1-2 years. I will not fly Norwegian for a long-haul flight again in the future. I guess you get what you pay for. Problems during pre-flight check-in process: My seat was reassigned from 13D to 53A. I had paid extra in order to choose my seat when I booked, and so this reassignment to the back of the plane was not something I was happy about. At least my husband and I were reassigned to seats next to each other, which was not the case for some passengers. The pre-boarding process was chaos. All passengers were required to stay in a small holding area for more than 1.5 hours while waiting for announcements from staff. Boarding took about 45 minutes to begin. There was then no further boarding announcements, just a sudden chaotic surge of people toward the gate. No order of boarding by rows or early boarding was done. So the boarding process itself took at least another hour. By this time our flight takeoff was delayed 2.5 hours. Features of this aircraft which were very disappointing: Aircraft was dirty and smelt. Dust and food particles on seats, trash stuck in various places, including in the ashtrays in the armrests. The entertainment system was basically non-functional. After messing around with it we discovered it had about 4 analog stations showing 3 TV comedy programs in a continuous loop. Often there was so much static they were impossible to watch. The audio outlets appeared to be for the old 3-prong type earphones from the 1980s. Using my own headset only allowed sound in one ear. The gluten free menu I had ordered was delivered promptly. The flight attendants would not collect my trash for about 2.5 hours after it was served, even when I requested it to be collected. No climate control (air vents) for passengers. It was all centrally controlled, so either was too hot or too cold the whole flight. With my window seat, the window shades (closed) were very hot as we flew over Greenland and Canada. This made the flight even more uncomfortable. Very limited beverage choices, and provided infrequently. We had to go to the galley at the rear of the plane twice to request water. Positives about this flight: The seats had footrests, which helped a bit with my lower back pain. Relatively smooth flight once we finally took off.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHelsinki to Los Angeles via Stockholm
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no