Top 100 Airlines  

Monarch Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 420 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"a very relaxed experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My wife and I flew with Monarch Airlines from Gatwick to Las Palmas. Due to being a wheelchair user I managed to book extra legroom seats. The whole process from check in to leaving the aircraft went smoothly. What I really liked was that the staff listened to what I needed and went with it. The cabin crew were absolutely fantastic and could not have been more helpful. Everything was done with kindness and a genuine smile. I have taken many flights to various destinations around the world using different airlines and this team were amongst the very best. The seats were not too bad for width and legroom considering I am 6'3" tall and over 280kg. I used my own wheelchair gel cushion and back support so this may have made a positive difference. The aircraft was half empty so we ended up having a seat between us for our bits and bobs. It made for a very relaxed experience. We left on time and arrived ahead of schedule. I cannot say enough positive words about this flight and the cabin crew.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to LPA
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"flights have been excellent"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Preveza. I have flown with Monarch twice recently and both flights have been excellent. We chose seats with extra legroom in row 10 where there are just 2 seats together rather than 3 so ideal for a couple traveling together. It was worth the 15GBP each way for the seats. Both flights on time even arriving early and the first plane had been refurbished with really comfy modern seats. Great staff on board and on the ground, Monarch seem to be that bit better than other budget airlines and more professional.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to PVK
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"went to Air France"

(Monaco)

Birmingham to Nice with Monarch Airlines. Arrived at the airport with a second luggage to put in hold. Learnt at the check-in desk that it was impossible to buy a second baggage allowance and therefore that every kg represented by this luggage will be charged 10£ as well as 36£ penalty fees. Finally for a ticket bought 40£+20£ (first baggage allowance) they were asking me 256£ supplement for one additional hold bag. Obviously refused to take the flight and went to Air France and got a much cheaper rate. To make the thing worse, the employees at the desk were unprofessional and not sure about the baggage allowance policy. After 10mn of debate, I was sent to the manager on duty. In addition to be patronizing towards me, she was arrogant, made my experience even worst.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBHX to NCE
Date FlownMay 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"pilot reluctantly apologised"

(Spain)

Verified Review | Flew Monarch from Gatwick to Malaga. It was pouring with rain at 6.45am, we were queuing up outside. I asked why there was no tunnel and was told that the other plane used it. After entering the plane wet, I waited for the apology over the tannoy. It never came. I then asked an attendant when would we get the 'sorry.' He had a word with his cabin manager and the pilot reluctantly apologised but you could here he despised saying it. As we left the plane not one of the attendants said goodbye to its passengers. The culture is different, middle England, sort of a bloated fat and happy kind of attitude. Its a shame they do not survey every passenger every time so they can grab the social media unhappy posters. I doubt they even take noe of what is written on here.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to AGP
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"extra legroom seats 32 euros each"

(United Kingdom)

Gatwick to Faro return. Having flown Monarch many times and not had a problem, we were surprised to be delayed firstly when boarding and then again whilst waiting for our slot. Not only that but upon arrival at Faro, an ambulance arrived to take a disabled person off the back. Instead of opening the front and letting us all go out that way, we had to sit yet again - why? Coming back from Faro we were shocked to be told that extra legroom seats were 32 euros each! We declined but were happy to find that our return flight was on a new plane with the slimmer seats, this means there is extra legroom anyway. I would be interested to know why they don't restock with sandwiches for the return leg? We had our own food, but there were a lot of unhappy golfers on board because there were no sandwiches to be had at all.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to FAO
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"experience is stressful "

(United Kingdom)

Alicante to London Gatwick. From start to finish the Monarch experience is a stressful one. For weeks before you actually fly, you'll be bombarded with 'countdown ' emails inviting you to upgrade your seat, purchase insurance, etc. Once on board, the pitch of seats on the more elderly ex-GB Airways 321s is so ridiculous that the tray table cannot fully extend and you can't even reach down to pick up anything you might drop on the floor. Monarch do have seats with more generous legroom but these are sold off at £20 a pop once you're on the aircraft, so far that reason, even if your flight isn't entirely full, you're forbidden from changing seat. There is a constant push to shift alcohol, even on early morning flights, which results in a pretty rowdy cabin by landing- airlines which adopt this practice of encouraging drinking at altitude only have themselves to blame for cabin trouble, diversions, arrests, etc- but it makes for a pretty unpleasant atmosphere for other passengers. Monarch continued to send me emails throughout my holiday and after arriving back home but I've made up my mind guys; it'll be the first and last time I use Monarch unless you stop treating your flights like (extremely cramped) flying bars.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteALC to LGW
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"very aware of weight allowances"

(Spain)

Verified Review | I travel each month from my home in Spain regularly using Monarch, and I am au fait with Internet bookings. On this occasion I found myself forced to stay in England for an extended period, due to the illness of my elderly parents, and made an unusually large amount of purchases, so whilst booking I booked an extra case to accommodate them and allow me a worry-free passage through the airport. As a regular traveller, I am generally knowledgeable about some of the pitfalls of airline rules and regulations. By booking an extra bag, I believed I had plenty of space and even included my hand luggage into the 2 suitcases. Whilst packing for my flight on Saturday evening, I tried to call Monarch customer service number to clarify the exact packing amount, (I admit there was some doubt in my mind). However, the office was closed. I find it extraordinary, as it is a 7 day a week industry. I should have been able to ask that question, and have got a simple answer at 8pm on an evening prior to departure. I was very relieved when I printed my Boarding Pass to see clearly printed 2/20kg bags, which I took to mean 2 x 20kg bags. I did not expect it to be 1 x 20kg bag and 1 x empty bag (which of course has weight) or 2 x 10kg bags. I regard myself to be of fairly average intelligence and, in the absence of clarification, took the Boarding Pass to indicate I had successfully booked 2 x 20kg bags. After some research I believe this may be a perceived misconception by other travellers and although the ground-crew were very well versed in explaining that some people prefer 2 lighter weight bags, it would seem that this is a pit fallen into by other customers. I have just paid a £200 excess baggage charge for 20kg of luggage and just £165 for me (via my internet booking) and 20kg of luggage (plus of course an empty bag). I realise now that the weight of that bag was not allowed for! I contacted customer services and sent copies to the CEO and have been offered no reasonable response. Therefore I would warn all travellers - Be very aware of weight allowances and invest in your own weighing machine - not expensive but very useful! The staff all did their best, but "rules are rules". Needless to say, Monarch have lost a customer.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to AGP
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"leg room was appalling"

(United Kingdom)

The leg room on this Monarch Airlines flight from Birmingham to Malaga was appalling. I am only 156cm tall and my knees were touching the seat in front. The passenger in front of me had to sit at an angle and push his seat back which gave me no room at all with absolutely no chance of using my tray! Luckily for my husband and I the seat by the window was free, so we used the tray in the middle because he couldn't use his tray either. Why should we have to pay extra for more leg room. I'm glad it was only a flight to Spain.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBHX to AGP
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"time to fit new seats"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Tenerife return. On the outward flight the crew had to deal with a passenger falling ill after we had pushed back and were about to take off. The crew appeared to deal with this efficiently with good communication on what was happening. Eventually the passenger had to be taken off the plane and we continued the journey. The return journey was problem free. On both legs the cabin crew were excellent and all aspects of the flights were good apart from seats. When we have flown Monarch in the past we have booked extra legroom seats but on this occasion we were unable to do so because all those seats were taken when we made the booking. We were very surprised at how little legroom we had in the normal seats. To make matters worse the seat cushions were very worn out, we might as well have been sitting on the springs. So come on Monarch, time to fit new seats. We will be looking at the alternatives next time we fly.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to TFS
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"you pay for what you get"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Fuertaventura with Monarch Airlines. We opted to buy extra legroom seats and were pleased that we did. On the outbound leg we were about 40 minutes late taking off which they blamed on need to de-ice the plane but in truth we did not start boarding until 10 minutes after departure time and this was slowed by a demand for some passengers to put their hand luggage in the hold. Due I think to items for the return flight being stored in the overhead lockers by the staff. Flight was good and arrived only just behind schedule. The return flight was smooth and arrived ahead of time. Monarch is very like a lot of other low cost airlines and you pay for what you get. A seat on the plane, anything else is extra and at £4 for a small can of lager, £1.80 for a can of pepsi max and £4.50 for a bacon panini plus hold luggage charges and so on can work out very expensive. The panini by the way was very hot, very dried out and tasteless. Staff were pleasant and professional throughout. A good airline compared to some low cost options.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to FUE
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes