Vote Airport  

Monarch Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 411 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"you pay for what you get"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Fuertaventura with Monarch Airlines. We opted to buy extra legroom seats and were pleased that we did. On the outbound leg we were about 40 minutes late taking off which they blamed on need to de-ice the plane but in truth we did not start boarding until 10 minutes after departure time and this was slowed by a demand for some passengers to put their hand luggage in the hold. Due I think to items for the return flight being stored in the overhead lockers by the staff. Flight was good and arrived only just behind schedule. The return flight was smooth and arrived ahead of time. Monarch is very like a lot of other low cost airlines and you pay for what you get. A seat on the plane, anything else is extra and at £4 for a small can of lager, £1.80 for a can of pepsi max and £4.50 for a bacon panini plus hold luggage charges and so on can work out very expensive. The panini by the way was very hot, very dried out and tasteless. Staff were pleasant and professional throughout. A good airline compared to some low cost options.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to FUE
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I was quite impressed"

(United Kingdom)

Tenerife South to Birmingham, and had not flown with Monarch Airlines for some time, and I was quite impressed with the flight and the service. The flight was slightly delayed departing (technical problems), but expectations managed well by good communication on revised times and explanation from captain. Online check-in a few days before the flight and had baggage only, so we went straight to departures. TFS airport is a bit of a rip-off for refreshments (and certainly don't think of purchasing anything in the airport tax-free shops as they are far too expensive). We had paid for extra legroom seats at the front of the cabin, and there were just the two of us in our half of the row, so we were able to spread ourselves out with a free seat between us - rather like the old British Airways Club Europe. Well worth paying the extra for these seats and very pleased that Monarch continue to offer them. Nice friendly cabin crew, professional and welcoming. Good selection of refreshments, at usual airline prices. Comfortable, slimline seats. Good price paid for trip too. Will fly again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTSF to BHX
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"efficient, polite and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Rome to Luton return with Monarch Airlines. Outward and inward flights on time and arrived ahead of schedule. Despite a fairly full aircraft the cabin crew were efficient, polite and friendly. I ordered extra leg room seats and an inflight meal, which was of a good quality. I was most impressed by the way one stewardess managed a particularly difficult passenger who was quite rude and aggressive, and that efforts were made to juggle seating to allow a last minute couple to sit together. Monarch Airlines is every bit as good as it's larger contemporaries, just a bit friendlier!
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRome to Luton
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"absolutely no communication"

(United Kingdom)

Due to high winds in Manchester the plane diverted to East Midlands. We were to be bussed to Manchester. That seems to be as much as Monarch were going to be responsible for. No announcements were made once we got into the very depressing East Midlands airport. We stood around outside in dreadful weather waiting for buses. Absolutely no communication. OK the weather, no one to blame. But absolutely no excuse for the abysmal lack of communication. First flight with Monarch, don't anticipate a second. East Midlands airport was inundated with diverted planes because of the weather. They had an unenviable job.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAlicante to Manchester
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"give them the highest praise"

(United Kingdom)

Sharm El Sheikh to Birmingham. Myself and my partner were caught up in the security situation in Egypt following the bombing of the Russian Aircraft. Monarch had my mobile number but, unfortunately my mobile decided that it would stop working in Egypt. My daughter (in the UK) had to contact them and give them an alternative number so that they could contact me regarding our flight home. I received a call on Saturday 14th November informing me that our flight home would be leaving the following day and that it would be to Birmingham and not Manchester. We were met at Sharm airport by a number of, polite and helpful Monarch Airways staff and were airborne almost on time. The Captain and crew were marvellous and the complimentary meal we were given on board was greatly appreciated. On arrival at Birmingham we were met, once again by a number of very understanding Monarch Airways staff who surprised us all by giving us a free bag containing a loaf, milk and a packet of biscuits. Whoever thought of this little gift should be complimented as, at almost midnight on a Sunday night, this was a very welcome gift. I can only give them the highest praise for the way that they looked after us.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSSH to BHX
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"not impressed at all"

(United Kingdom)

Gatwick to Sharm el Sheikh with Monarch Airlines. Cabin crew worked hard, but dirty plane - dirty all round the seat and chewing gum in the seat pockets. When I told the cabin crew member she offered me baby wipes - what about moving me to a clean seat, or wasn't there a clean seat available? Not impressed at all. I paid more for this ticket than I did in May to travel to Dubai with Emirates who were outstanding even in economy.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to SSH
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"staff pleasant and hard working"

(United Kingdom)

Return flights from Birmingham to Dalaman. Aircraft clean, staff pleasant and hard working, service good, and as has been said extra legroom seats well worth it. Return flight equally as good, I only wish the baggage service at Birmingham was as efficient. Well done Monarch Airlines.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Dalaman
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew were pleasant and apologetic"

(United Kingdom)

Fly Monarch Airlines frequently as not basic and extra leg room seats very comfortable. Delayed 1hr due to problem with aircraft - fortunately replacement aircraft available at Gatwick so ready to go pretty quickly. Ground staff not very informative or organised. Flight crew visible and spoke to passengers, a nice touch explaining and apologising for delay. The cabin crew were pleasant and apologetic, service efficient with a smile. An enjoyable flight.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Venice
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"extra leg room worth the money"

(United Kingdom)

Gatwick to Alicante return. Both flights almost full and on time. We booked extra leg room seats, well worth the money. Crew very good. Did not purchase any refreshments.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Alicante
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service very good"

(United Kingdom)

I found the Monarch Airlines service very good. The crew were very attentive and eager to assist. The aircraft was clean. The check in was quick and we landed early on the outward journey, coming back the weather was very windy and we were advised that we may have to divert, but the captain made a text book landing and we were 5 mins early. I would certainly travel with Monarch Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLeeds Bradford to Barcelona
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes