Top 100 Airlines  

Meridiana

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 99 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"do not book with Meridiana"

(United States)

New York to Palermo, Italy. From the moment we confirmed this flight by paying last April, had the sinking feeling it was a mistake. It is almost impossible to reach airline representatives by phone and if you do it may be returned voice mail 24 hours after you call. Seat assignment process was difficult and reviews of performance not good. Yesterday the hammer dropped. Interminable wait to board our flight in New York JFK, then an announcement it had been cancelled. A sort of Keystone Cop melee to get passengers into nearby hotel. Must say this place is good. We are waiting this next morning to see if they fly us out today. Meanwhile we missed a prearranged day tour of Palermo scheduled for tomorrow AM. So, unless you really have to save money and don't mind uncertainty and a sort of 'make it up as we go' philosophy and a tiny airline that has no planes on back up, fly Meridiana. Otherwise, do not book with Meridiana!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to PMO
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Meridiana does not care"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | We flew with Meridiana from Gatwick to Olbia, both our checked luggages have got lost. Its more than 48 hours and we still have not got any update despite calling all possible numbers from Olbia airport to Meridiana Customer Care to Gatwick airport. In fact nobody is looking for our luggage. Meridiana told us it is responsibility of the airport in Olbia for the first 5 days. But the airport is just passively waiting if someone sends it to Olbia - nothing else. Meridiana does not care. Our vacation ends in 4 day. We are left hopeless, Meridiana customer service is very bad. They are just pushing responsibilty on others and not doing anything, not even calling Gatwick to ask them about our luggages. It seems the bar code on the luggages is useless since it it not in any sytem visible so that they cannot track the luggage. We were not the only people with the lost luggage on the flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to OLB
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"you get what you pay for"

(United States)

Naples to New York with Meridiana. Worst airline I have ever flown with. There is a saying "you get what you pay for". The reviews were horrendous before I booked it but they were significantly cheaper - so we booked it anyway. Our flight out from JFK was 5 hrs late which meant we spent 9 hours sitting around at airport. Lost a whole day in Naples. Again on way back to NY they were late running over an hour delay with buses to take you 20 feet and waiting in the pouring rain to drop hundreds of passengers off. They boarded pasengers from both ends without screening seats so on board people were trapped staring at each other and couldnt pass. I'm sorry but the level of incompetence at simple boarding procedures ensures that I will never fly again with this airline. There is a difference between economy and incompetence.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNAP to JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no idea what was going on"

(United States)

Verified Review | Our flight from New York JFK to Naples was delayed a total of 7 hours for no reason. Flight status was not available on Google and other tracking sites. Luckily my boyfriend called Meridiana before we left for the airport, so we knew we would be delayed, but we did not feel confident in the new times. The flight kept getting pushed back by an hour or so. In a series of calls on our way to the airport, we were informed the flight was delayed until 7:30pm, then 8pm, then finally 7pm - 4 hours after our original departure time. No severe weather, no technical issues, no explanation. When we arrived at our assigned gate, no Meridiana representative was available to answer any questions, and the gate did not display the correct flight information. The crowd grew more and more frustrated as we were delayed another hour and a half at the gate. Airline employees had no idea what was going on. One helpfully said, "All I know is that there's a plane leaving tonight." The nightmare didn't end once we boarded. The seats were impossibly narrow and lacked individual TV screens. One of the seats in our row was duct taped together. We were delayed on the Tarmac for another hour and a half in a cramped, poorly ventilated plane from 1986 because of traffic. The food was the least of our problems. We dreaded our flight back at the end of our vacation. We only departed from Naples 30 minutes late, but halfway through the flight, the seat in front of my boyfriend's broke - reclined all the way back at a bizarre angle. The seat aisle-side arm was also off - a crew member popped it back into place, apologized and and informed us that they were waiting for new seats because the old ones break often. They operate this flight to get people looking to fly directly to Naples on a low budget. Pay the extra $ for a flight where you receive clear communication from the airline and the plane isn't falling apart. The money (and time, if it requires a stopover) will be worth the peace of mind.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to NAP
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"flight attendant service good"

(United States)

Verified Review | Only non-stop to Naples from United States. Great price. Got boarding ticket and seat assignment online a few days before the flight. Check in service fast and uneventful. Gate easy to find. Boarded on time and departed 15 minutes after scheduled departure time. Flight was fine. Food okay for airline. Flight attendant service good. I don't need much attention. Arrived in Naples 1 hour early. Would fly Meridiana again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to NAP
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"recommend using this airline"

(United States)

This is a basic, no frills airline. We flew from Naples to NYC, in early Sept. 2016, economy. The flight was delayed by about 2 hours, partly due to weather the previous day and partly due to a very poor boarding procedure at the Naples airport (likely not Meridiana's fault). The plane was pretty old, with no charging stations or any entertainment system. The service was very good, the staff spoke English and were professional and mostly nice. The food was average. The seats were of average comfort, legroom and cleanliness. Blankets and pillows were provided free of charge. The flight was uneventful. It cost around $300 one way and I think that's a very good bang for the buck. If you don't care about bells and whistles, like entertainment system, I'd recommend using this airline to fly into and/or out of Italy.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNAP to JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"wonderful customer care"

(Italy)

London Gatwick to Naples. I have used Meridiana for this flight route a few times, have never encountered problems and found the flight attendants very accomodating and in particular one ground attendant. I travelled with identity card and passport, when I boarded the plane I realised I had lost my passport in one of the shops in the waiting area quite a distance away from the gate but it was too late for me to go back to where I thought I had lost the passport and so asked the attendant what I should do, of course the only option was the lost property office but I would have to wait 24 hours for it to be handed in and as I was leaving the country it would be complicated. I was very upset with myself. I boarded the plane and before the door was closed for the flight to get ready for take off, there the attendant appeared with my passport in hand. I cannot tell you how grateful I am to her caring enough. I don't know how she managed to find it, but I would like to say thank you to Meridiana and their staff. Wonderful customer care.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to NAP
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"they do what they say"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew from New York JFK to Palermo. I read some of the complaints posted, and this is a budget airline that offers decent service at the lowest prices. If you want a business class service, book a flight on a larger commercial airline. We have travelled with Meridiana a few times in the past few years, last time June 2016, there were 8 of us, and they do what they say, got us safely from JFK to Palermo, non-stop. All of our flights there and back have left on time and have arrived early. It's a no frills airline, you are not paying for frills, you are paying a very discounted price. If you don't like the food, and really who does, plan ahead, bring the food you like on board with you. I bring my own entertainment system on board, i.e., my laptop with movies on CDs, my iPad with books and games downloaded. I am thankful this low cost airline is available so we can stretch the travel budget to take 2 or 3 trips a year to Italy. We will continue flying Meridiana.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to PMO
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"flight attendants were very accommodating"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Meridiana from London to Olbia. Flight departed on time, arrived a bit earlier than scheduled, the flight was uneventful, got a snack and a smile. The trip back was even better, MD-82 - spacious, quiet airplane, I wish they did them like this now. Pilots made good announcements, flight attendants were very accommodating. Aircraft was old but very clean.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to OLB
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never use this airline again"

(United States)

Verified Review | JFK New York to Naples, Italy return, operated by Air Italy. Let's start with our departure from JFK. No online check in available. I sent an email, no response. I called in, and a woman said I had to check in at the airport. At JFK, Meridiana had one little line and no signs to help travelers. We paid for the extra comfort seating and the guy told us we didn't have to pay for the extra bag we brought. That was nice, as we hadn't anticipated that. He told us it was because we paid for the extra comfort seat. Now here's the sketchy part, we go to find our gate. Yellow paper signs were hung up with our flight info on it, but other than that nothing. We didn't actually HAVE a gate. None of the attendants in the airport knew anything about where we're supposed to go. OUR flight was scheduled to depart at 7pm, and we were supposed to board at 6:45. We didn't board until 9:45. No one told us anything. We weren't given any reason, despite the fact that the plane was sitting outside in our view. The plane was a was a rickety old thing from the 90s. No televisions (they had the large general ones and they were cloudy so you couldn't see them), seats were small. Staff was reasonably accommodating, but they rarely brought something to drink, they were catering mostly to those in business. We had one disgusting meal. That flight left 3.5 hours late and landed in Naples. For our return, I wanted to try to upgrade to business. I sent an email asking - no response. I sent an email in Italian (luckily I'm fluent), and interestingly enough I got a response. No availability. So coming back, we had so much fun! Turns out we did have to pay for that extra bag, 90 euros, despite the extra comfort seats, and they wouldn't let us take our carry on bags, we had to check those as well. This wasn't even because they were overweight - the woman in Naples insisted they be checked. Once again, sketchy Meridiana had paper signs hanging up for their "special" line for security in the Naples airport. The gate changed three times. We had B10 written on our tickets, I walked a few feet looked up and it changed to B12, got to B12 and there was another passport control. I told the woman it kept changing and she said "no it didn't," and I told her the flight and she said, "oh yes it did." I understand that that's not the airline's fault, but one thing after another. Coming back to JFK, we left about a half hour late, which is not bad. Again, the flight was very uncomfortable. Staff wasn't that great. Bottom line - you get what you pay for. If you want to fly direct from JFK to Naples, it may be worth it. I will personally never use this airline again.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to NAP
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 99 Reviews