Meridiana

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 106 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"flight was delayed by 15 hours"

(United States)

Verified Review | Naples to New York JFK. Customer service does not exist. My flight was delayed by 15 hours. Meridiana did not have a representative on sight at the airport to give information. This was left to the airport staff. There was only one announcement made during the entire time. That was only to say they would give us information when they had it. All other information was passed around the room by word of mouth or by overhearing information. Meal vouchers were given for one bar in the airport. This is fine if the delay is only a couple of hours, however multiple meal vouchers were needed to a place which only offered very limited options. When we finally made it home I called Meridiana's New York office to ask what I needed to do and was interrupted and spoken very rudely to. She said send an email. I did this but also heard (from another passenger) of a claim form that needs to be filled out. Why is this information not given by personnel? On the flight bring your own water. The call button doesn't work or they ignore it. When I got up and asked a flight attendant for water I was told to push the call button. That was unsuccessful. Finally I was given a tiny cup of water. This was not just me, by the way. Multiple passengers around me were having a similar issue. Download your own movies. This is not a huge issue but having flown overseas many times in the past I was used to being provided at least one movie. You only get entertainment if you fly Business Class on Meridiana.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNaples to New York JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid this airline at all costs"

(United States)

Verified Review | Showed up at the airport for a 8.50am flight from Naples to New York JFK only to see that it had been delayed 12 hours. They say this is due to the previous flight out of Naples having mechanical issues and leaving late. You would assume any responsible company would plan ahead at least 24 hours and route another plane or find connections for their customers. They didn't help at all or give notice when they knew the flight would be delayed. They offer no compensation for missed connections or inconvenience. They did give us a horrible meal voucher good for next to nothing. Avoid this airline at all costs.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNaples to New York JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Never consider flying Meridiana"

(United States)

Verified Review | Naples to New York JFK. They have one plane that flies to JFK and back. So it was broken and they kept us at the airport for 10+ hours not "recommending" to leave because they didn't know when the airplane would be repaired. They gave us meal vouchers to the worst fast food place at the airport, so i just couldn't eat it and had to spend my own money to get reasonable food. The airline representatives were disreapectful to tired people and didn't provide any reasonable waiting space. People slept in a cold tile floor! They made 1 announcement on what was going on during the whole day and it was done without any microphone and the woman who made it was speaking with a really soft voice so nobody knew what she said. Never consider flying Meridiana.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNaples to New York JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(United States)

Verified Review | Naples to New York JFK. I flew this airline with caution after the reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. One way with Meridiana for $340 was the cheapest flight offered by any airline. We got a free checked bag which was nice especially after my experiences with other cheap airlines. The flight itself was also nice. We flew economy and I felt like I had sufficient room and comfortable seats that retracted. It was a ten hour flight and they fed us twice, both appetizing meals. I would definitely recommend this flight especially for the price.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNaples to New York JFK
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"staff were pleasant and efficient"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Roma to Olbia. I hesitated about flying to Olbia, the ferry being another option, given the poor reviews for Meridiana (the only company that operates a direct flight from Rome to Olbia). In the end I decided to take the plunge on the basis that perhaps people with good experiences rarely bother to give feedback. And I am glad I did. The on-line booking was straightforward, as was the web-checkin, bag-drop etc. Ground staff and cabin staff were pleasant and efficient, the plane boarded and left on time and we arrived on-time, maybe even a few minutes earlier.
AircraftMD80
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRoma to Olbia
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"not an airline I can recommend"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | I have flown with Meridiana (operated by Air Italy) from Milan to Mauritius and back. Before the flight I tried several times to contact their Call Center to make a seat reservation - their own Call Center told me several times that the flight is made by Air Italy and that they cannot reserve a seat in such case - this is a lie! They are the same company (Air Italy is a subsidiary of Meridiana) and after several months of calling there I was able to make a seat reservation. Second impression I had was at my seat in the plane. I couldnt believe that the right armrest of the seat is broken and taped up. Service during the flight was : at beginning and before landing 0,15 dcl of water (juice etc) - for a 11 hours flight a great deal! They served also something what they call dinner. I tried it, taste was terrible. Service has been all the time very reserved without a indication of a smile or interest of passenger. Other thing is how they are dealing with the seat reservations shortly before the flight and onboard. They have tried to change my paid seat to another (but they didnt have any aisle seat available so I disagreed). Later on board I could see a big chaos because more than 20 people have had the same seats assigned - this was probably caused by the fact that 80% have got the seat on Madagaskar and the rest on Mauritius (plane was going through Madagaskar to Mauritius and in 2 hours back). Also thanks to this chaos we arrived back in Milan with more than 1 hour delay. Overall not an airline I can recommend.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMXP to MRU
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service onboard was good"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Naples with Meridiana. I was very apprehensive about flying Meridiana after reading some reviews, but I'm glad to say everything from the use of the Air France lounge at JFK to the courtesy and service onboard was as good as any airline I have ever flown. And it was equally true on our return flight from Naples to JFK. The only area that found on my 2 flights that need help is in the condition of the cabin and seats. The business class seats are well worn and ready for replacement as well as the carpets etc. Our flights were generally on time and the ground people were organized and efficient. The gods of aviation smiled on us.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJFK to NAP
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"do not book with Meridiana"

(United States)

New York to Palermo, Italy. From the moment we confirmed this flight by paying last April, had the sinking feeling it was a mistake. It is almost impossible to reach airline representatives by phone and if you do it may be returned voice mail 24 hours after you call. Seat assignment process was difficult and reviews of performance not good. Yesterday the hammer dropped. Interminable wait to board our flight in New York JFK, then an announcement it had been cancelled. A sort of Keystone Cop melee to get passengers into nearby hotel. Must say this place is good. We are waiting this next morning to see if they fly us out today. Meanwhile we missed a prearranged day tour of Palermo scheduled for tomorrow AM. So, unless you really have to save money and don't mind uncertainty and a sort of 'make it up as we go' philosophy and a tiny airline that has no planes on back up, fly Meridiana. Otherwise, do not book with Meridiana!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to PMO
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Meridiana does not care"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | We flew with Meridiana from Gatwick to Olbia, both our checked luggages have got lost. Its more than 48 hours and we still have not got any update despite calling all possible numbers from Olbia airport to Meridiana Customer Care to Gatwick airport. In fact nobody is looking for our luggage. Meridiana told us it is responsibility of the airport in Olbia for the first 5 days. But the airport is just passively waiting if someone sends it to Olbia - nothing else. Meridiana does not care. Our vacation ends in 4 day. We are left hopeless, Meridiana customer service is very bad. They are just pushing responsibilty on others and not doing anything, not even calling Gatwick to ask them about our luggages. It seems the bar code on the luggages is useless since it it not in any sytem visible so that they cannot track the luggage. We were not the only people with the lost luggage on the flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to OLB
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"you get what you pay for"

(United States)

Naples to New York with Meridiana. Worst airline I have ever flown with. There is a saying "you get what you pay for". The reviews were horrendous before I booked it but they were significantly cheaper - so we booked it anyway. Our flight out from JFK was 5 hrs late which meant we spent 9 hours sitting around at airport. Lost a whole day in Naples. Again on way back to NY they were late running over an hour delay with buses to take you 20 feet and waiting in the pouring rain to drop hundreds of passengers off. They boarded pasengers from both ends without screening seats so on board people were trapped staring at each other and couldnt pass. I'm sorry but the level of incompetence at simple boarding procedures ensures that I will never fly again with this airline. There is a difference between economy and incompetence.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNAP to JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no