Mango Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 46 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Customer service very bad"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | George to Johannesburg. Not impressed. Should have departed today at 14h40. Sat at airport an no info was given. Only that flight was delayed. Eventually departed at 18h 45. I am 71 years old and was very upset. My daughter had to phone George airport for info. Customer service very bad.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGeorge to Johannesburg
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"greeted with so much flair "

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Durban. The flight back on 7 July 2017 was delayed, and, it was not a good introduction to Mango. But I flew down on Mango today to Durban again. On time, the airplane was so comfortable and neat! It was a pleasure to be greeted with so much flair by the cabin crew.The photo I took was an added bonus.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Durban
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"knew that our plane was delayed"

(Netherlands)

Unverified | Durban to Johannesburg. I checked in at 17.30 (departing time 19.15), on thát moment Mango already knew that our plane was delayed. Nobody give us that info! At 19.00: 1 hour later departing time. We told the crew that we had a international flight at 23.59. 'No worries, we will phone your company'. At 20.00 one hour extra. 'No worries', we arrived 23.45 in JNB, to late for our plane! Searching for a hotel, a taxi, costs for the new ticket, eating + drinking in the 24 hours we had to wait for our next flight? Mango didn't help one single moment. We get a voucher 300 Rand/23€ for our next Mango flight, now - never again!!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Johannesburg
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"dissatisfied with this service"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Lanseria to Cape Town. When making the booking for a flight, the connection was lost. I called them, and they checked if the booking got through. They said it did not and said that I should make the booking again, so I did. I got one booking confirmation and was satisfied until I saw my credit card was charged twice. In my contact with Mango I asked for a refund. They did not answer my e-mails. Only 4 days before the flight, they sent the booking details of the second booking, the one that I don't need. I am dissatisfied with this service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLanseria to Cape Town
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"have the most unfriendly staff"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Yesterday returning from Port Elizabeth back to Johannesburg after a long day of meetings I again realised why I never fly Mango Airlines (SAA). You must have the most unfriendly staff of any airline. Out of my more than 100 local South African flights this year, I have been on Mango 4 times. You must be doing very well to not care about retaining clients. I will only from now on fly with Mango if nothing else is available.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to PLZ
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"every time they are 10-15 minutes late"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Cape Town. I have flown with Mango quite a few times in the year, and almost every single time they are 10-15 minutes late. This is considering that they are apparently the most on time domestic flight in South Africa for the past seven years. Clearly not always on time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to CPT
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I expected more from Mango Airlines"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | Me and my wife went to South Africa for my honeymoon, and bought a flight ticket with Mango to go from Johannesburg OR Tambo to Port Elizabeth. I've bought it back in February. The flight was scheduled to July 16 at 5 PM. We arrived at the airport at 2 PM, and came to check-in. There we were told that the flight was changed to 1:15 PM, so it was already gone! Talking to their supervisor, she said that they sent me and my wife an email telling that, but neither of us got it. I've told them to forward me that email, so I could see it with the time it was sent, but they didn't do that. They said they could sent us on next day's flight, but we would need to pay most part of the value anyways + hotel + food. As we planned our whole trip in advance, we already had a car rented in Port Elizabeth, and also a hotel booked there. After all that, we ended up getting a car in Johannesburg, drive until Bloemfontein, get a new hotel there, and then drive on next day right to Plattenberg Bay, as it was our next booked hotel after Port Elizabeth. A big cost due to this Mango problem. Honestly I believe that errors happens. What got me mad there was the situation where they didn't want to assume their mistake, and made me pay for all that - after all, I needed to pay for the car fuel (thanks Hertz for allowing us to get the car we rented for Port Elizabeth in Johannesburg), the already booked hotel, the new hotel. And also the flight tickets that we already paid previously! I expected more from Mango Airlines with good reviews all over the Internet.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to PLZ
Date FlownJuly 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"flights have frequently been delayed"

(South Africa)

We fly Mango Airlines from Cape Town to Johannesburg weekly. The online booking and check in are very user friendly and the inflight attendants are very friendly. But in the past couple of weeks Mango flights have frequently been delayed. We were delayed by 3 hours on Monday and were offered a R250 voucher? I can understand that flights are sometimes delayed but if delayed by hours, surely they should send out emails or sms's instead of allowing passengers to check in and then announce the delay with the result that you are stuck at the airport and obliged to wait on the other side of security control. The other problem Mango have is that they don't communicate with their passengers. They call for boarding and then make you stand in line for 40 minutes without a word of explanation. When you ask you get a rude lie from the floor attendant like they are waiting for buses etc., or there has been a plane change when in fact there is not even a plane yet.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to JNB
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"customer service completely hopeless"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Cape Town to Johannesburg. The ground handling and customer service on Mango Airlines are completely hopeless. Not only did they manage to forget to load my bicycle, which meant it didn't arrive in time for my connecting flight to London, but they also consistently gave me the brush-off when I complained. When I (not the airline) managed to trace my bicycle 4 days later, I had to lobby hard to get it on a flight to the UK, and was then charged a fee to have it delivered. The wrote a letter of complaint and requested an explanation and compensation; the reply from Mango suggested I was to blame. Further letters and emails have gone unanswered by the airline. They are an inexpensive airline, that is true; however, if you value your luggage, I would steer well clear and fly with an airline with a more credible and helpful customer service policy.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to JNB
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"aircraft was clean"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Two flights on one day with Mango Airlines: Johannesburg - Durban and Durban - Lanseria. Easy booking and on-line check in. Timely and smooth boarding. Aircraft was clean. The crew offered an effective and professional on board service. Legroom was decent and we landed ahead of schedule in both instances.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to DUR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 46 Reviews