Top 100 Airlines  

Mango Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 37 reviews
7/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"aircraft was clean"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Two flights on one day with Mango Airlines: Johannesburg - Durban and Durban - Lanseria. Easy booking and on-line check in. Timely and smooth boarding. Aircraft was clean. The crew offered an effective and professional on board service. Legroom was decent and we landed ahead of schedule in both instances.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to DUR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"certainly recommend them "

(United Kingdom)

Johannesburg to Cape Town, and outstanding service from an airline previously unknown to me. The Mango Airlines cabin and ground crew were friendly and accommodating, whilst the leg room was incredible! I mean seriously impressive - if only all airlines offered this sort of space I'd be a much happier traveller. The whole experience puts European budget airlines to shame. I'd certainly recommend them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to CPT
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"conspicuously chewed gum"

(Australia)

I was unimpressed with the unprofessional service that I received from the ground staff when booking in for my trip from Cape Town to Johannesburg with Mango Airlines. The ground staff conspicuously chewed gum while checking-in my baggage and curtly informing me that I should have paid for my oversized bicycle bag before checking in further added to my dissatisfaction. After paying at another counter, I returned to complete my check-in and to be directed to the oversize baggage location. She told me where it was only to be informed that this was not the correct location but that it was on the floor below. Now having limited time, I had to rush around madly to find someone as it was not sign-posted. Surely one of the airport staff members at the initial oversize baggage location could have directed or walked with me but they did not seem to be to interested which further added to the my negative experience!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to JNB
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"never fly with this airline"

(South Africa)

I booked a flight from Lanseria to Durban with Mango Airlines for my 75 year old mother for 18.30. When she arrives at the airport 2 hours before as stated on the ticket she was told the flight is delayed until 20.45 that evening, and that an email was sent to all passengers advising them of this. She was given a R60 meal voucher for the inconvenience. Firstly I did not receive the email as I don't work on Sundays, secondly why not send an sms as well, thirdly she couldn't leave the airport in case the plane arrived which was apparently on its way from Cape Town, and lastly giving meal vouchers like it will make everything ok. I'm so disappointed and will surely never fly with this airline. What a shame.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHLA to DUR
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"excellent customer service"

(South Africa)

On 27th December we flew Mango Airlines to Durban from Cape Town - our suitcase with all our kids Christmas presents did not appear on the baggage carousel. We were convinced that it was gone forever. We reported the lost suitcase to baggage desk and left the airport with very sad faces. When we got home I realized that I had also left an iPad on the plane which we too thought would be gone forever. At 9 that evening the gentleman from the baggage help desk called to say our suitcase had been found and the next morning we were notified that they had our iPad. Our case was delivered at 8am and we collected the iPad later that day. At all times the Mango staff were friendly and courteous even in the face of our grumpiness. Thank you Mango for their excellent customer service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to DUR
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"disappointed and irritated"

(South Africa)

I booked a flight for three people with Mango Airlines from Durban to Cape Town. We were all excited until we got onto the plane were we had to sit, without air-conditioning, for over an hour due to there being a problem with the air-conditioning. Thereafter all the passengers were informed that we had to move to another gate to board another plane. When we got to the next gate, it was closed so we all had to queue up once again but this time wait until all the luggage was transferred etc. Then we got to board the plane. The plane was full whilst we waited and there were not much air circulation except for the doors being open. From arriving at the airport excited, we ended up disappointed and irritated and this hampered our spirits for a while. I must admit that the service on the plane was not bad at all.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteDurban to Cape Town
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"good choice for domestic travel"

(United States)

Departed in the morning, returned on the evening flight that same day. Check-in at Durban King Shaka was quick and easy and we received all our boarding passes at one time. Both flights left and arrived on time. Mango is a good choice for domestic travel within South Africa if all you want is to get from point A to point B with no frills, no food, no drinks and no service which was fine with us because the flight was only about 45 minutes. One thing Mango does that helps speed boarding is they open the rear door on their 737s. Really speeds things up to have both doors open! The entire flight was boarded in 15 minutes and we were able to depart ahead of schedule. We had no interaction with the cabin crew. However, the flight deck crew were very chatty and very nice; much more helpful than on parent SAA. I'd definitely ride with Mango again! Mango was also the second cheapest of all the airlines that serve Durban to Johannesburg. Before booking on Mango's website, travel down to your local Checkers or wherever Mango tickets are sold and get the fare from there. In our case, we booked at Checkers and the price was 15% less than what we were quoted for the same flights on Mango's website.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Johannesburg
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"flight was further delayed"

(South Africa)

The departure time was 10h00 on 11 October 2015. At 1245 we received a text message that the flight has been delayed to 13h00. The flight was moved to another departure gate without advising us. The flight was further delayed due to certain passenger that did not fly on this flight and his bags had to be removed which is totally understandable. The flight only arrive in Lanseria at 16 h35. Total additional expenses due to parking R110 . Refreshments additional expenses R259.50 Total waste of time 4 hours 35 minutes. No proper explanation was given.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Lanseria
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Mango Airlines customer review

(United Arab Emirates)

Good budget airline with typical no thrills policy. Check in took forever however due to extra weight payment which is in another office (long queue and slow) - we were 3 pax and had 3kg check-in luggage overweight but don't expect them to waive this. Kind of normal for budget though. Flight on time, pitch is very reasonable and clean plane. Recommended.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to CPT
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

Mango Airlines customer review

(New Zealand)

I flew to Lanseria from Cape Town to see my sister who lives nearby and onward to New Zealand out of JNB the next day. I'd previously done the flight with Kulula, the only other airline flying this route and thought I would give Mango a try. Unfortunately Mango have overlooked the fact that some passengers on their budget flights inside South Africa use their flights as connecting flights to international flights and their draconian limits on both checked-in and carryon luggage make this a very bad fit. Kulula are also a budget airline but I have always been treated with some empathy from them when I mention my 23kg suitcase and 2 items of carryon (overnight bag and separate laptop) are associated with a longhaul flight. The Mango groundstaff in Cape Town were rude and unsympathetic. Luckily I was at the airport early and takeoff was delayed 1 hr as I was made to repack and redistribute items between bags on the floor in front of the sultry check-in lady 5 times all the while with she laughed and chatted away to colleagues. Eventually she let me go without a smile, thank you or good wish. A pity really- as has been reported on this blog the pilots are jovial, polite and informative pointing out geographical features on the route and our pilot and the cabin crew were great. What could have been the first of many flights on Mango was negated by a member of groundstaff whose bad attitude ruined the experience.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to HLA
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 37 Reviews