Best Economy Class Seats  

Malaysia Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 644 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"seat not so good in function"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Kuala Lumpur with Malaysia Airlines. Flight depart very on schedule, leather seat quite old and doesn't look good enough. Seat is not so good in function. Some of cabin crew may be in rush so seemed to be not enough service to passenger. There is no personal entertainment screen.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to KUL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seat was comfortable"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Flew Malaysia Airlines domestic economy on Jun 16 from Kuala Lumpur to Alor Setar. A short 50 minute fight. Full service and they served peanuts and juice for those who were not fasting (since it was Ramadhan). One or two friendly FAs and the rest were just getting on with their job, no more than that. Ground service was OK and efficient maybe because is was not a peak season. Seat was comfortable for such as short flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to AOR
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst check-in service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The worst check-in service from Malaysia Airlines. Despite having boarding cards we faced a 2 hour wait in a chaotic queue just for bag drop despite having been checked in online. Travelling as a couple they we unable to assign adjoining seats. Then took the correct boarding cards and reissued to my wife with wrong name so we were turned back by passport security.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to KUL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"bumped off to another later flight"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | My family of 5 were booked to travel at 10.40am MH 717 from Kuala Lumpur to Jakarta this morning, tickets and seats booked, only to be bumped off to another later flight at 13.50pm. At 8.45am while checkin in, without an apology, the lady at check in said they should've made online check-in to secure their seats! Insane excuse! In my life of traveling, this is the first I've heard that an online check-in is a requirement! What kind of system are you running here? MAS - you screwed up and over booked with not even an apology, instead blaming us, who up until this point, have been loyal customers. The on-duty manager can use some customer service skills as well. Only responding in defensive attitude and finally offering free access to the lounge. This should not have happened to begin with. We have traveled budget airlines and have never been bumped to another flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to CGK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed by the gate staff"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Singapore with Malaysia Airlines. Lousy service with lousy update information and lousy performance of staff check in. Was flying MH607 flight scheduled at 725pm. Passengers started to queue up at check in gate as screen as reflected gate will be open at 625pm. Gate staff was not helpful in updating customers and a whole group of gate staff was sitting at the by the window chatting away and laughing away. Even after the flight was delayed it took them until 650pm to help passengers with their respective queries. Totally unexpected that Malaysia Airlines staff will have such a performance attitude. Disappointed by everything especially the gate staff.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to SIN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointing service throughout flight"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Malaysia Airlines has reached a new low. Although the airline had to made a lot of budget cuts over the years, I did not expect such disappointing service throughout my flight from Jakarta to Hanoi via Kuala Lumpur. The plane was filthy and not properly cleaned prior to flight. Windows are dusty, dried food / drink splatters on foldable table, leather seats are dirty with spots, and to top it off flight attendants were unpleasant, no smile and unwelcoming. Overall budget cuts are understandable but for a National carrier charging premium prices, basic cleanliness and service should not be compromised. I have experienced much better flights flying with budget airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCGK to HAN via KUL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"very attractive biz fare"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Despite the terrible year of 2014 for them, I decided to try them again since they have re-grouped and renamed as MAB. Small aircrafts are now in use instead of the 330 or 380. It is understandable as they have difficulty filling up the plane, plus stiff competition from Air Asia and Malindo. I could have flown direct, but the very attractive biz fare just cannot be refused. I am happy to report that the standard of service and food have not dropped at all. The famous satay is still being served as first course. Food is of reasonable portion and quality. AVOD is fine with touch screen (no games though). 737 large recliner seat is quite comfortable, really ok for a 3 hour flight like this one.The crew are very hard working and sincere. I arrived an hour late (due to HK airport heavy traffic control, not MH fault). Ground staff were waiting at the gate to assist me, new boarding pass issued and put on next flight. My emerald status with ONE WORLD afforded me entry to MH first class lounge. Fabulous food, service and everything, turned the delay into delight. MH had regained my confidence in them in every area, and I hope to see them keep improving, and earn back some stars which Skytrax had removed since 2014. I feel this struggling airlines deserve some support to help them get back on track to its former glory.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHKG to SIN via KUL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"food decent, staff friendly"

(Canada)

Kuala Lumpur to Osaka with Malaysia Airlines. I quite enjoyed flying with them. No issues, flights on on time, food was decent, staff were friendly and prompt to respond to any requests, and the inflight movie selection was pretty good.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to KIX
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"return flight was much better"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta to Kuala Lumpur. Boarding was smooth, the cabin crew showed no hospitality, no smile, service was noticeably stiff and cold. Food - I can see the budget cut here, plastic utensils and no salt nor pepper. I asked for a special meal (No Lactose), they gave me 2 super salty slices of chicken, soggy hash brown and a hunk of omelette. The window were surprisingly dirty for the first flight of the day. The return flight was much better. No hassle from boarding - take off - cruising altitude. FAs are much more friendlier, presentable and professional than the departing flight. Again, ordered the non-lactose meal for my dinner. They gave me grilled fish (either snapper or sea bass) with potato wedges and steamed vegetables; a little bland, so I had to ask the FAs to get salt and pepper. We were given chocolate covered ice cream, which is nice, if you're not lactose intolerant. Turns out the dessert part was left out from the special meal request. Not a deal breaker, but still. The IFE was decent. Touch screen tend to go a little unresponsive at times, and the cable of the remote was too short so I had to hold it awkwardly.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCGK to KUL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"generous leg room, would fly again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Penang via Kuala Lumpur with Malaysia Airlines. I thought I would take a chance due to the low ticket price on offer and wasn't too disappointed. It took a while to leave Heathrow due to technical faults and they didn't make up the lost time en route. I expected delays and sure enough I missed my connecting flight in KL but they were quite organised when I arrived. Replacement boarding passes were printed and ready and I was directed to the boarding gate. Food on board was much better than that previously served on board the Singapore Airlines flights a few months prior. Generous leg room too. Would fly them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to PEN via KUL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes