Top 100 Airlines  

Malaysia Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 617 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"service was good"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Flew on their lie angled flat business class from Kuala Lumpur to Tokyo Narita. The seat is comfortable although it's angled flat. The seat is good for this 7 hour flight. The crew were friendly. Service was good. The meal is pre ordered online with their "Chef on Call" service and it was delicious. Their signature satay also delicious. Amenity kits also provided with the Porsche design brand pouch. Overall, a comfortable flight.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKUL to NRT
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"overall bad experience"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Denpasar to Phuket via Kuala Lumpur. After many years, I booked Malaysian Airlines again. Disappointing, and the flight out of Denpasar, ran out of meal selection, not even half full, served penne with Chicken which was totally disgusting, still water served from a metal Jug that tasted awful. Connecting flight to Phuket delayed at Kuala Lumpur Airport. Chicken Curry served on the next flight was just a few diced vegetables, no Chicken! No Immigration Arrival Cards onboard for Thailand, which created havoc at Phuket Airport for all passengers and delayed many. Overall bad experience.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDPS to HKT via KUL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"cabin was insanely hot"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew Malaysia Airlines MH604 from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur. It was operated by the Boeing 737-800with super old cabin. Cabin was insanely hot until reaching cruising altitute. Legroom was tight and the leather seat was not unfortable at all. Flew back on MH605 on the same day and faced the same problem.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to KUL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"everything was fine"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Singapore to Kuala Lumpur with Malaysia Airlines. I go to the airport roughly 6 hours before my flight. I asked the check-in agent on the possibility to put me on the earlier flight. She said I'll be flying on the next available flight which means I have 1.5 hours to kill. After she gave me lounge invitation, I headed to a very decent SATS lounge. Finished my lunch, I go to the boarding gate only to be found my flight was delayed. The station manager said, the inbound aircraft couldn't land in SIN due to adverse weather and landed in nearby JHB. Passengers were given food voucher and only to come at the gate after 2 hours. I headed back to SATS lounge. After 2 hours, the aircraft still cannot be seen and station manager assured the flight will be landing in another one hour. He keep on updating us and told me the paperwork complexity when the flight rerouted. Aircraft arrived 1.5 hours later. The captain and cabin crew apologise the delayed incident. I was offered small pack of nuts and juice. I found that Malaysia Airlines has removed hot beverages on this route. Overall, everything was fine, check-in agent fantastic and communication by the manager was great.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to KUL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"could not ask for more"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Kuala Lumpur with Malaysia Airlines. It is such a pity that the combination of two accidents and financial difficulties hit this airline hard but their staff give hope they will rebuild again. From seamless check in, excellent Heathrow lounge to the welcome on board you could not ask for more. You can pre-order in first and business class your meals from a long list of western and Malay dishes, including their signature Satay starter. Flight on time, and use of their lounge at KUL on arrival made for an enjoyable flight.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
Routelhr to kul
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"food is an insult to Malaysia"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Kota Kinabalu return with Malaysia Airlines. Check in at KLIA was pleasant, flight on time and the aircraft (newer B737-800) was comfortable. Cabin Crew attentive and friendly. Food served for a 9am light was pathetic - a tasteless fried rice. Good selection of IFE movies but the headphones are of poor quality and thus ruins the experience. Flight Kota Kinabalu to Kuala Lumpur at 5pm was a different story. Ground staff were very good - managed my request for a stand-by for an earlier flight well - and so were the cabin crew. The aircraft was a leased B737-800 - tired, no IFE etc. Then they served something that was an insult to Malaysia - something called a Fish Noodle (only choice by the time it got to the back row of the aircraft). MH as an airline is undergoing a restructuring and I am confident it will turn around. However its food, if one were to be generous and use the term food, is an insult to Malaysia as a nation.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKI to KUL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"crew were very attentive"

(United Kingdom)

London Heathrow to Kuala Lumpur. First experience on Malaysia Airlines and the A380. Sat on upper deck section of economy as seating layout is preferable (2-4-2) vs 3-4-3 on the lower deck. Entertainment system was very good with big screens, and USB and plug chargers at every seat was also very useful. Cabin crew were very attentive and served several rounds of pre-meal drinks (though the selection is no where near as good as BA). The food was outstanding - chose the Malaysian style meal option for both the lunch and breakfast and both were superb.
AircraftA380-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to KUL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"fly Malaysia Airlines again"

(Australia)

Kuala Lumpur to Beijing. I can't comment on the check in staff as we checked in as a group of twenty. I have known about Malaysia Airlines decline into lacklustre service but it was a very pleasant 6 hours jaunt to Beijing. FAs greeted me with genuine warmth. Inflight they came around with peanuts and drink service. One FA thought it was perplexing for me to request a Fruit Spritzer a mix of ice, Sprite and Apple juice (which was not on the drink menu). I guess it was too much for her to handle. For dinner I had spicy fish kung po with noodles. It was very tasty. Nearing arrival, we were offered a small snack in a box. There was no water service after main meal, but FA responded very quickly to my bell call. The plane felt new and it was clean. A few rows down from me someone was taken ill and cabin crews showed great compassion through their speedy service. Cabin announcements were clear and frequent - an emphasis of safety which I like. Overall I will choose to fly Malaysia Airlines again.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to PEK
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"crazy management decision"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | I've been flying Malaysia Airlines whenever possible, usually to KL, Jakarta, Bali and Brunei, and have a developed a loyalty towards this beleaguered carrier through its tough years. In the recent past, it has served up a good business class product, offering discounted prices you can't find elsewhere, but lately the quality of service has started to deteriorate. for starters, the flights I take most often are Bangkok to Kuala Lumpur return for which MH schedules 7 flights in each direction. Yet, there's not a great level of reliability on these actually flying, as I've discovered. Malaysia Airlines sometimes cancels some of these on short notice if the loads are light and then they seek to combine flight loads. Today was one such case. So my 5:10pm flight cancelled less than 24 hours out and I got an email from MH telling me that I was rebooked on the 6.40pm flight to KL - so my plans for an evening meeting in KL were scrapped. We've all seen the wide-body aircraft taken off the regional routes (today's use of an A330 on this flight was a rare exception) and "meals" in Economy have become boxes while offerings in Business Class have become less remarkable. But today, I discovered that Malaysia Airlines has suddenly stopped serving any form of alcoholic beverage on its regional flights under 3 hours in duration, even in business class! This is really too much. I asked cabin crew for the story behind this, and they empathized, noting that it was a crazy management decision announced without any consultations with staff. So, no more wine or champagne on the flights to Bali, no beer at the end of a hard day of Jakarta meetings. This seems to be a great way to drive away business. SQ, TG, and Garuda will be glad to have it!
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to KUL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"dirty cabin and filthy seat"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Manila to Kuala Lumpur. Again into a dirty cabin and filthy seat. Did not touch the pocket. Flight was full so had really no option. As my connection was a close one grinned and beared it all the way to KLIA. Service was good. Food so so. Beverage service was ok. Staff friendly enough. Late push back and late arrival. Just enough time for my connection thru.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to KUL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no