Top 100 Airlines  

Malaysia Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 622 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"staff perfunctory, not friendly"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Late night flight from Melbourne to Kuala Lumpur with Malaysia Airlines (MH128). Check-in was robotic. Boarding was done efficiently. On board, a nice welcome from a member of staff but after that, it was all perfunctory and not very friendly. Staff seem to be more interested in finishing up their service quickly and disappearing into the galley. The seat was one of the new business class seats. These seats really confuse me. Why not use the herringbone arrangement instead of those large and bulky storage areas beside the seat? I would have preferred more seat width and less storage area. The seat controls were not working very well and the seat kept going into recline mode as I kept hitting the button accidentally. Some genius located the panel at elbow level! When the seat lies flat, you are cocooned in a little pit which makes you feel like you're in a coffin as the seat sinks well below the arm rest. Badly designed seat which is better as a recliner than a flat bed. The food was noting to shout home about. The tray table was abysmal in size and all meals were served on a tray. The pillow is a small, thin square which is not very supportive. Is it worth the money? I do not think so. I found my outbound trip on AirAsia X Premier seat more comfortable and better for sleeping, although it was an angle flat seat.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to KUL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"food nothing special"

(Netherlands)

Bali to Kuala Lumpur with Malaysia Airlines. Check-in smooth. FA cheerful. Gin tonic was great. Food nothing special. Entertainment old but ok. 2.5 hour flight was uneventful. Their 777 are the only ones that have 2-5-2 seating but prefer flying the A330 these days with my partner.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDPS to KUL
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"always enjoyed the experience"

(Australia)

Wish to thank the captain and crew on board this flight from Kuala Lumpur to Melbourne. Due to an electrical problem out scheduled 21.50pm flight was cancelled after we had all boarded. This required a change of plane meaning all luggage and passenger meals had to be changed. Our flight finally took off about 2am. I think all involved handled the situation professionally. A lot of negative things are said about Malaysia Airlines but I have flown with them since 1999 and always enjoyed the experience. The only minor thing I would like to see are newspapers for all flights - reading the magazine 4 times is quite boring.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to MEL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service was efficient and polite"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to London Heathrow with Malaysia Airlines. Check in at KLIA wasn't a particularly premium experience although it was better than for economy class where the queues were horrendous. The lounge is decent with a good range of food and drinks. Boarding was on time and easy as business class was less than half full. Overall the flight was fine and the service was efficient and polite although lacking any real warmth. The meal service was slightly odd; I had used the chef on call option and the first serving was fine but later one of the FAs told me that they no longer did a second full meal service (on a 13.5 hr flight in business class!) and that I had to choose something from what looked like a snack menu but then later they brought my chef on call order out anyway. Bit confusing. The seat is comfortable and turns into a fully flat bed. Arrived at Heathrow slightly ahead of schedule.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKUL to LHR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"stick to flying budget airlines"

(Malaysia)

Kuala Lumpur to Bangkok return on Malaysia Airlines after several years of choosing other airlines. The service from the crew and ground staff was polite and pleasant but the same cannot be said of the quality of the meals served. The fried rice that was served on the KL to BKK route was the worst I have ever tasted. I think I will stick to flying budget airlines where I have some control over the choice of meals. The sandwich served on the return flight was marginally better. I had the same aisle seat on both flights - the older plane to BKK had more leg space but no IFE. The new plane on the return journey had a good selection of movies and music, but leg space was a lot less due to it having a broad black metal support. The middle seat on the other hand had more legroom.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to BKK
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service was good"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Flew on their lie angled flat business class from Kuala Lumpur to Tokyo Narita. The seat is comfortable although it's angled flat. The seat is good for this 7 hour flight. The crew were friendly. Service was good. The meal is pre ordered online with their "Chef on Call" service and it was delicious. Their signature satay also delicious. Amenity kits also provided with the Porsche design brand pouch. Overall, a comfortable flight.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKUL to NRT
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"overall bad experience"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Denpasar to Phuket via Kuala Lumpur. After many years, I booked Malaysian Airlines again. Disappointing, and the flight out of Denpasar, ran out of meal selection, not even half full, served penne with Chicken which was totally disgusting, still water served from a metal Jug that tasted awful. Connecting flight to Phuket delayed at Kuala Lumpur Airport. Chicken Curry served on the next flight was just a few diced vegetables, no Chicken! No Immigration Arrival Cards onboard for Thailand, which created havoc at Phuket Airport for all passengers and delayed many. Overall bad experience.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDPS to HKT via KUL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"cabin was insanely hot"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew Malaysia Airlines MH604 from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur. It was operated by the Boeing 737-800with super old cabin. Cabin was insanely hot until reaching cruising altitute. Legroom was tight and the leather seat was not unfortable at all. Flew back on MH605 on the same day and faced the same problem.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to KUL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"everything was fine"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Singapore to Kuala Lumpur with Malaysia Airlines. I go to the airport roughly 6 hours before my flight. I asked the check-in agent on the possibility to put me on the earlier flight. She said I'll be flying on the next available flight which means I have 1.5 hours to kill. After she gave me lounge invitation, I headed to a very decent SATS lounge. Finished my lunch, I go to the boarding gate only to be found my flight was delayed. The station manager said, the inbound aircraft couldn't land in SIN due to adverse weather and landed in nearby JHB. Passengers were given food voucher and only to come at the gate after 2 hours. I headed back to SATS lounge. After 2 hours, the aircraft still cannot be seen and station manager assured the flight will be landing in another one hour. He keep on updating us and told me the paperwork complexity when the flight rerouted. Aircraft arrived 1.5 hours later. The captain and cabin crew apologise the delayed incident. I was offered small pack of nuts and juice. I found that Malaysia Airlines has removed hot beverages on this route. Overall, everything was fine, check-in agent fantastic and communication by the manager was great.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to KUL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"could not ask for more"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Kuala Lumpur with Malaysia Airlines. It is such a pity that the combination of two accidents and financial difficulties hit this airline hard but their staff give hope they will rebuild again. From seamless check in, excellent Heathrow lounge to the welcome on board you could not ask for more. You can pre-order in first and business class your meals from a long list of western and Malay dishes, including their signature Satay starter. Flight on time, and use of their lounge at KUL on arrival made for an enjoyable flight.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
Routelhr to kul
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes