Malaysia Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 943 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"indeed an unpleasant experience"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | It was indeed an unpleasant experience with Malaysia Airlines flying from Delhi to Singapore via Kuala Lumpur. The seating system allows some upgrade passenger to select the same seat as mine. Neither the staff at check-in counter nor booking system were aware of this. It is only when someone challenges me while I am still seated did I realise that the seat had been double assigned. As I am travelling with a companion we would like to be seated together. However, the upgraded passenger insists on the "paid upgraded seat" with rising their voice demanding the right to his paid seat from the ground staff. I was made to stand for 15 minutes watching this drama. The chief FA was just careless. Eventually, one this was settled I had been reassigned another seat. Unprofessional ground staff, crew members, check-in system.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDelhi to Singapore via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the bar in now closed"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Adelaide to Shanghai via Kuala Lumpur. Very disappointed with the whole flight. Pretty much non-existence service. Due to an allergy had ordered a seafood meal. This was most disgusting. Scrambled eggs a piece of white fish and a hash brown. Missed coffee service. Had to call. Then after a long period I went on to order a drink. When I rang for service the flight attendants response was a yes as if why are you bothering us. West Coast of Australia and I was informed no more service as the bar in now closed. With over 4 hours of flight this is not normal. Snack time and again I got no beverage service - passengers received an ice cream. Not me. Part 2 Delayed. Give a MR20/- dinner voucher for dinner that cost almost two times as much for something decent. New schedule time is 5 hour delay. Smart as international flight rules state a free overnight accommodation over 5 hours.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Shanghai via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Legroom was adequate"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Departing KLIA on the morning flight to Phuket. Flight left on time, and boarding was uncomplicated. Aircraft was the newer B737-800 series, with spacious overheads, LED lighting and IFE in the seatback. Legroom was adequate without being overly generous, and because the flight wasn't full, the overall comfort level for the 1:15 min flight was good. A light snack was served, consisting of bottled water, croissant sandwich and muffin, but hot drinks were not offered. Crew were not especially engaged, but perhaps it's difficult to be cheerful when doing short hop trips. However, MAS's aim to encompass Malaysian hospitality has a little way to go, based on this experience.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Phuket
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"marketing strategy made no sense to me"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Pros: 1) Frequent, direct flights for the LHR-KUL route 2) Competitive prices for their Economy Promo seats compared to the Economy Smart/Premium and other airlines with a 30 kg check-in baggage (multiple bags) allowance included. These however come with limitations (see below). Cons: 1) Travellers booked on Economy Promo seats, on top of having limited choices for their times/dates for flying and having to book a non-changeable/refundable trip early, will not be allowed the option to select their preferred seat 24-48 hours during the online check-in process as seat allocations are automatic and controlled by the airport airline counters (particularly for the KUL-LHR leg). This means that frequent, solo travellers with seat preferences or travellers in groups/families are inconvenienced by having to request for a change of seat at the airport counter during the 2 hour window prior to boarding on the day of their flight, or will have to pay more to select their seat of choice during the booking process (which reduces the difference from the discount of booking a Economy Promo seat in the first place). This contrasts to what other airlines are offering, I found the majority of other airlines still provide a complimentary seat selection upon checking in 24 hours prior (with 23-30 kg baggage allowance). 2) The cost of the MHUpgrade to Business Class after booking an Economy seat amounts to more than purchasing a Business Smart seat early on in the first place. I was offered an MHUpgrade for both legs of my most recent flight in May 2018, but found that the minimum amount required to start a bid was a hundred pounds more than the original price to book a Business Smart seat, excluding the price of the original cost of the ticket paid. This marketing strategy made no sense to me. 3) Frequent flyers are not allowed to utilise their miles/points to pay for seat selections or upgrades on top of paying cash for seat tickets. This further limits the usefulness of accrued loyalty points with this particular airline, which requires a significant amount of points for free flight ticket redemption (based on a normal price ticket and not applicable for Promo fares). 4) The recent change from the Airbus A380 (with the possibility of selecting an Economy seat on the quieter upper deck section with a comfortable 2-4-2 configuration) to the new Airbus A350-900 with a 3-3-3 configuration with smaller seats/legroom as well as cramped and reduced number of toilets located at the far end of each section of the economy aisles (long way to walk from the kids bassinet seats up front). 5) Fly-from-Heathrow only, which means those who are based further up north of England may need to allocate 3-4 hours prior for travelling down to Heathrow. This may negate the time saved when using a direct flight vs. using other alternative airlines with connecting flights. Overall, Despite using Malaysia Airlines exclusively over the last 10 years for this particular route; its increasing disadvantages and discouraging airline loyalty programme provides serious reconsideration in continuing the use of this airline. My recent encounters with the customer service team based in Malaysia over technical difficulties/issues during my online check-in process last September 2017 and their lack of interest/feedback following their own teams' advice over the counter to submit an online complaint has also allowed me to think twice now before booking with this airline in the future.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Kuala Lumpur International Airport
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"no alcoholic beverages"

(Cambodia)

Not Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Phnom Penh. Absolutely no alcoholic beverages on an international flight in business class even? Also, no personal TVs, only the kind that come down from the ceiling. This is absolutely ridiculous for anything that is dared to be called "business class" on any airline, and that's a lot coming from someone who routinely flies terrible airlines based out of the US. Malaysia Airlines needs to step up their game if they're going to try to keep surviving in the Asian airline market. The other ones out there are far, far superior; it's not even close.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Phnom Penh
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"luggage got stuck in London"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | London to Auckland via Kuala Lumpur. My luggage got stuck in London. Happens. But the way Malaysia Airlines handled the case is outrageous. They were able to deliver the luggage with the next flight, but I was already on a tour the next day. So I had to buy things for 3 days until I returned to Auckland to access my luggage. I filed a claim to get a refund for the costs I incurred in early March. I did not hear anything from them for 4 weeks. Then I tried to email the person who had replied to my claim. The person doesn't seem to work there anymore, as the email was returned immediately. All email addresses provided on Malaysia Airlines website don't work. The phone number provided for mishandled lugagge works, but in a dozen attempts I have never reached anyone. Then I called the general number. They said they would forward me. I'm in the line for about 5 minutes and then I'm kicked out. This happened three times. I tried to go through the website again, but all I get is a confirmation of receipt for my claim, but nobody seems to process the case after that. Nobody seems to be responsible for anything, nobody can be reached, wrong email addresses, numbers under which you can't reach anyone. It's an absolute mess. I find it hard to find the right words to describe the level of incompetence. I have spent so much time on the phone trying to resolve the case. The phone bill probably already exceeds what I could've hoped for as a refund for the costs I incurred. I will never fly with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Auckland via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Very bad service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Kuala Lumpur. Very bad service especially the lady who served our row, asked for water, she told me to wait as the service will start in 20min and never came back to me. We were never asked for tea or coffee until the row before us was asked - this happened not just once twice when they serviced drinks. The entertainment system was not working for my husband, we reported to staff but she never bother she just looked and walked off. I have traveled with malaysia airlines before never came across service like this - it’s the service industry she is not giving out of her pocket.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"cheaper than it’s competitor"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Kuching to Miri by Malaysia Airlines. Ticket was even cheaper than it’s competitor, I though that I was lucky enough to get at that rate. Flight departed and arrived on schedule. Since it was less than an hour flight, passenger were only served with salted peanut and small size orange juice. IFE was good and responsive. Love to fly with Malaysia Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800NG
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuching to Miri
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"like flying a budget airline"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Flying Malaysian Airlines from Jakarta to Kuala Lumpur was like flying a budget airline with worse service at a more expensive price. The flight was late with no reason given. The aircraft had no entertainment. Most of the food and drinks had run out by the time the cart reached me. The staff didn't seem happy to be there. This is the last time I am flying Malaysian airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"outstanding Malaysian Hospitality"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Seoul Incheon to Kuala Lumpur. It took me quite a while during the check in at Incheon. The check in process was very unorganised and chaotic with extreme long queue. Inflight crew service was exceptional. It can be further improved, however with the better inflight entertainment system. The On Demand service offered was kind of dated and the IFE system for the whole cabin actually stopped functioning in the third half of the flight. I hope to see some refurbishment of A380 cabin in the near future in order for the airlines to stay competitive. I was seated at the Upper Deck of Economy Cabin. Aircraft deployed (9M-MND) was a little dated with visible masking tape taped on the interior flight equipment (ie. Lavatory & Cabin). The tray table was dirty and poorly maintained at its hygiene standard. Inflight catering offered was exceptionally good. I opted for the beef with kimchi rice, the portion was generous but the entree and dessert could be further improved. Cake was served as dessert but it was way too sweet! No fruit was served in this flight sector. Nonetheless, the cabin crews did a good job and definitely, the outstanding Malaysian Hospitality was delivered. Please keep this up!
AircraftA380-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeoul Incheon to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes