Vote Now  

Malaysia Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 765 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"a very agreeable service"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Kuala Lumpur. Round trip from Bangkok to London via Kuala Lumpur; all in all a very agreeable service. Really enjoyed the long sleep on the London legs. Also liked the no fuss meal services which began and ended the flights. Thought the Golden lounge at London Heathrow was excellent, comfortable and not crowded; good showers too. Much prefer this non stop service compared to stopping off in the Gulf.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"rude, arrogant and obtuse"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Initially purchased an economy ticket Kuala Lumpur to Auckland. However 2 days before flight was offered chance to bid for an upgrade to business class, which I succeeded in obtaining for an extra US395 one way. Then the problems began. The upgrade was mistakenly given to my travelling partner who had opted to stay in economy. Boarding passes were back to front, I was still in economy, he was upgraded to business! No matter how hard I tried, it fell on deaf ears. No one was interested, nobody wanted to help. I spent over an hour pleading my case but to no avail. Staff were rude, arrogant and obtuse, even trying to blame me for the situation. I asked for my money back, "policy is no refund on upgrades". It is incredulous that a company treats passangers in this way!
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Auckland
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"unlikely I will fly with them again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to London. This flight was scheduled to leave KL at 23.30hrs 19th March. Flight then delayed due to 'technical issues'(not specified). No information was given about delay until flight due to board. Not informed at that stage that flight would be delayed for 12 hours. At approx 01.00 informed that flight rescheduled to 11.30am the next day; crew observed leaving gate. 1st and Business class passengers then requested go to desk to be transferred to hotels. Economy class passengers told to wait in very cold and uncomfortable lounge (thin blankets and food vouchers had been provided; only one food outlet-Burger King -apparently open by this stage, not everyone could get food.) No further announcements regarding hotel transfer. At approx 2.30am, economy class passengers began moving out departure lounge (no announcement to this effect) as word got round that lounge being closed. Large numbers of passengers then made their way through airport with minimal assistance from Malaysia airlines staff (i.e. one person shouting 'London flight' and pointing us toward immigration desks, followed by another person after immigration directing us to limousine desk). Very slow progress through immigration as very few desks open and no apparent effort made to open more despite efforts of one official to speed proceedings up. Chaos at 'limousine' desk-one individual working extremely hard however to get large numbers of people on buses and to hotels. Finally boarded minibus at approx 04.00am for 40 minutes drive to a very nice hotel on outskirts of KL. Got to room by 05.00am, had to be back in hotel reception by 09.00am for bus back to airport Overall very poor treatment of economy class of this A380. Once on the plane however, the flight itself was good - the cabin crew worked very hard to provide good levels of service (despite large numbers of justifiably tired and emotional passengers), the food was mostly good, and there was a comfortable seat and lots of leg room which is the main reason I have chosen this airline for London/KL/Sydney flights over the past 8 years. However this represented an extreme deterioration in the level of service expected from them - I have had better levels of service and communication from budget airlines. I was also unfortunate enough to experience a shorter delay, also for 'technical reasons' on the outbound flight from London 2 weeks previously, but that was managed well despite missing my connection to Sydney. After this experience, unlikely I will fly with them again, which is a shame as they have always provided value for money and a comfortable flight experience.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to London
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"bad attitude towards customer"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Kuala Lumpur. Food was nice and price also competitive. I don't usually write review but I felt this airlines deserve it. Booked flight to Japan via Kuala Lumpur. In Heathrow London it was a mess in check in, 3 hours and 20 min in check in line. I checked in online and got seats together. At boarding noted that the seats on the boarding pass issued at airport are different! I spoke to the staff and they showed no interest in doing anything. Very bad attitude towards customer. I have the airline the benefit of doubt for the computer error, however on my return journey I'm having same issues, slow check in and wrong seats again. If you are a family or couples I advise not to fly with with Malaysian Airlines. Looking around me this seems to be a common problem.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I enjoy flying with them"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Tawau via Kuala Lumpur. All 4 flights are a bit inconsistent. 3 out of 4 airplanes used are comfortable, with sky interior and PTV, the one flew the last sector is in a very old interior, and completely lack entertainment. Cabin crew also vary from flight to flight but I found most of them possess great service minded , high professionalism and are very friendly. Food are very good in all flight. In general I enjoy flying with them.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Tawau via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"was really cold in the plane"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | Hanoi to Kuala Lumpur. It was quite a smooth flight, delayed for only about 15 minutes. Aircraft is not new but in good condition. On board meal was not bad with a hot main course (2 options was offered). But it was really cold in the plane. Although I put on my sweatshirt I didn't help much! They think that freezing cold is a king of luxury. I was really happy I hadn't caught cold.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airline I've flown"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Kuala Lumpur return. Without doubt the worst airline I've flown - both long haul and short haul. An incredible level of incompetence in the digital age. On the outbound flight, we called Malaysia Airlines and pre-booked exit seats several weeks in advance (all ok). Turned up to Heathrow and the Malaysia Airlines computer system had lost all pre-booked and checked-in seats, sending the check-in queue into turmoil. I appreciate things happen, but Malaysia Airlines staff did nothing to help. No one came out to speak to passengers and say there was an issue. Families were all split up and those who hadn't checked in, were given the seats of those who'd done it weeks before. We spent 2.5 hours in the check in queue and the attendant was frustrated the customers were frustrated. Delayed 45 mins on outbound. No apology at all. - The A380 is 10 years old. Malaysia Airlines have made the interior look like it was 30 years old. Was dripped on by the aircon unit the whole flight to KL. Delayed 1.5 hours on return leg (managed to split up whole families and assign exit seats to 3 year old children and have new born babies travelling alone). Again no apology. Both legs people had seats back, blind and tables down and for take off and landing and no one checked seats belts. Staff aren't rude, they just don't care. On the return journey the staff spent 2 hours in one hit laughing and joking in one of the galley areas. Worst plane food, bar none. -Entertainment system kept breaking on the way back. Again, staff weren't even offering an apology and showed not interest in finding a solution (ideal for a 13 hour flight).
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"business seats just a little better than economy"

(India)

Verified Review | Mumbai to Jakarta via Kuala Lumpur. The ordeal with Malaysia Airlines started at Mumbai as the flight was delayed by 3.5 hours. It was fine as I got a message that flight is delayed and accordingly I planned my arrival at airport. The issue of my boarding pass took about 30 minutes as the I was checking in after the actual scheduled departure and they had closed the desks in the terminal. Why this was not re-scheduled is still a mystery. As I was worried about the connecting flight, I was assured by the staff that I shall get a connecting flight 3 hours later. The flight is 5 hours and the Business class seats are just a little better than economy as far as leg room is concerned. So in my cramped space I was sitting all the way five hours and dozing off as it was past midnight with no sleep. The crew never served breakfast. That was surprising and there were no amenities like toothbrush, etc. The second part was even more interesting. On reaching the transit counter, I was told that 2:00 flight is full and change is not possible. So I was offered a flight 5.5 hours later. Which again was delayed by almost an hour. The lounge is just functional and does not allow you to rest as their are no reclining seats. I was wondering why a transit hotel was not provided. I did not expect a better business class seat in short leg of 2 hours from Kuala Lumpur to Jakarta. On board as I had booked special AVML meal I was told that no such booking exist. They had not transferred my preference in changed flight. So I remained hungry all the way. So over all I remained seated for 15 hours through the night and almost a full day with small snacks in lounge as I have special meal requirement. On landing my baggage was missing so I wasted half hour waiting on belt and then half hour to register the missing baggage. It was delivered next morning at the hotel which was some relief.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMumbai to Jakarta via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"fares were something of a bargain"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Perth via Kuala Lumpur. Easy check in and nice lounge at Heathrow. Flight a bit late. Seats much more comfortable in A380 then I had read - full flat bed, a bit hard but easy to sleep and loads of room. Thin mattress and good duvet provided. Excellent food other then vegetarian option which was vegan and uninspired - chick peas served for both meals on way out and paneer the same on the way back. But very good flights. KL lounge is still very dated and worn out. A330 has slightly odd seat layout the single seats are great, the doubles ok unless you're in the window as there's little space and you need to be on good terms with your neighbour to get out. Neither food nor bed with thin blanket only nor service as good on Perth legs. Ground staff at Perth were poor, slow check in, lots of people seemingly doing nothing. No better at boarding. All four flights were near enough full. Seems the heavy discounting is at least having that positive effect. My fares were something of a bargain.
AircraftA380 / A330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Perth via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"improved a lot on their food"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Denpasar. Check in was a brisk. Probably, the crowd wasn't too bad. Flight was not bad for a 737 in term of the seat space, quite well-maintained. Equipped with entertainment on board for each passenger. Lots of choices of movies. Was served with a choice of either Chicken Murtabak and Fish rice. I must say Malaysia Airlines has improved a lot on their food. Delicious meal. Air hostess was polite and attentive. Toilet was clean. We arrived Bali on time. Announcement could have been better as the sound system was too soft. Overall, the flight was above my expectations.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Denpasar
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes