Malaysia Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 912 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"the not very friendly staff"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Seoul via Kuala Lumpur. Flight from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur delayed by 2.5hrs. Passengers who had connecting flights, or meetings begged the staff at the MH transit counter to put them on a Singapore Airlines code sharing flight which was refused. I was lucky enough that I had 4hr layover in Kuala Lumpur. Flight to KL was on a rather tired looking Boeing 737. FA's were rather robotic and not overly friendly. Golden Lounge in KL was still under renovation despite different information given on the MH website claiming that it opened on the 20th February. Replacement lounge shockingly basic. Service on the long flight was similar as on the short flight. Food and seat was decent. Flight arrived on time, IFE poor. MH has been constantly on the decline over the last few years, but this was the new low point due to the handling with the delay, and the not very friendly staff.
AircraftBoeing 737 / A330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Seoul via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Cabin crew were professional"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Red-eye Malaysia Airlines flight from Kota Kinabalu to Narita. The flight departed at about 1.00am Malaysian time and took about 5-hours. Right after take off, breakfast was served. As expected, many passengers refused service as it was about 2.00am. I think they should move the service to about 2-hours before landing. IFE and seats were okay. Cabin crew were professional but not too friendly.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKota Kinabalu to Narita
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"flight been changed to midnight"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Kuala Lumpur. MH89 from Tokyo to KL connecting to Singapore was delayed, once we arrived in Kuala Lumpur we only had 15 Mins to run and transfer to our connecting gate only to be told that our flight has been changed to midnight, there were so many things wrong with the airline. There was no one waiting for us at the arrival gate to inform us about the transfer process and the staff at the transfer counter did not apologize and give attitude. The meal coupon is only 7 dollars!!!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"The blanket was thin"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Ho Chin Minh City via Kuala Lumpur. The staff was not professional and toilet was gross. The seat back table had a food stain on it. The blanket had pretty low quality and was thin and couldn't keep me warm enough.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Cabin Crews top notch"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Had a very pleasant journey with Malaysia Airlines. My 2nd time flying their A380 both to the same destination London Heathrow, food was nice, cabin was good, special mention to KUL-LHR team departing on 27 Jan 2018, Cabin Crews top notch! They even brought me around the aircraft to kill time, will be flying with them again on my next London trip!
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to London Heathrow
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"everything went smoothly"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Had a good experience with Malaysia Airlines flying from Kuala Lumpur to Bangkok, everything went smoothly and on-time. Would say their cabin crew was great, one girl never smiled but the rest were very nice and professional. Went with this airline due to their 30 kg baggage allowance and early evening departure. If I’d have to mention one negative thing it would be the chaos at BKK immigration but that’s a whole other review.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"with good cabin staff"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Jakarta via Kuala Lumpur. Service ok, spacious leg room, entertainment ok. The food was okay (but no appetizer / fruit). Flight with no delay and with good cabin staff. Not excellent but good enough. Will fly again with Malaysia Airlines (moreover if they have promotional price). Recommended!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Jakarta via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"poor service, communication and organisation"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I was due to travel an 8hr flight with my wife and 20 month old daughter from Melbourne to Kuala Lumpur at 3.15pm then have a few hours layover in KL followed by a 3hr flight to Colombo. We were informed that this flight was cancelled and rescheduled at the airport and asked to line up as normal at the check in counter (which took 1hr) just to be told to come back at 9am the next day for the rescheduled flight. There were no staff to inform us of the reasons why the flight was rescheduled to anxious passengers lining up. We were told to call the Malaysia Airlines number to find out the flight info (they were not going to contact us). I called the number and was informed that not only was it going to be a 9am flight (which we particularly didn't want due to having a 20 month old up all day on a plane) but we would also now have a 9hr layover in KL (compared to the original 3hr layover). They stated that they would provide accommodation and meals for the layover and we would be met by an attendant when we arrived in Malaysia. Further, they did not send the new flight details until I called up and requested them. So we got to the airport the next day at 9am and checked in. But due to a "comment" on the online system they couldn't print out my wife's connection boarding pass so we would have to get that from KL. Then the flight was not only delayed by 2hrs but we also had to be bussed to the aircraft which was in a disgusting condition. Dirty floor, toilets etc. It was obviously thrown together at last minute. The explanation for the delay was that the catering was late (ironically the food was also the worst I have ever had on an airline). We also had to fight to get the baby meals we requested for our daughter. When we arrived in KL, no one was there to met us and they had not orgainsed the accommodation, which had to be organised by staff at the transfer desk who didn't seem to know what was going on. Then the group (others who were in our position) that had to be accomdated was not escorted to the hotel but just given directions. They had also forgotten to include a meals allowance which I had to get the hotel to follow up on. Additionally, the boarding procedures were unbelievably disordered, passengers were not called up by seat area and instead allowed to pile onto the plane creating chaos within the aircraft. On board the plane we found that most of the attendants seemed annoyed when passengers asked them for assistance and some were overtly rude. In sum, minimal explanations, no financial reimbursement, no benefits, poor service, communication and organisation. This was an awful experience and I won't be flying with them again. I understand that sometimes flights have to be rescheduled but the lack of professionalism in its management was unbelievable!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Colombo via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"5hr delay and no information"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Kuala Lumpur. 5hr delay and no information and they didn't tell directly there would be 5h delay. And instead giving customers food and drinkat the waiting area all the passengers had to go to a counter wait in a line for an hour to get a Food coupon for 20 Ringits that's around 4 Euros and in a Airport where everything is $$$ and plus you have only one Restaurant where to go. After ordering another 30 minutes only to find out that is the most disgusting Restaurant.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Cabin was extremely hot"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Flew Malaysia Airlines from Kuala Lumpur to Kota Kinabalu. Cabin was extremely hot. Either the aircraft air conditioning system was not functioning well or the airline wants to save costs on not handing out blankets and pillows which they did in the past. I noticed not only on this trip but on several trips as well. Please fix the air conditioning. Very uncomfortable. Lots of passengers with huge and heavy pieces of luggage who kept trying to force them into the overhead compartment. Not nice.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Kota Kinabalu
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no