Luxair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 63 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"flight was satisfactory"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Flew Luxembourg to Malaga. Overall, the flight was satisfactory but with some disappointing points throughout the flight. The lack of English announcements is unforgivable for a legacy carrier as LG. Pre-recorderded or real Spanish announecements should also be displayed for Málaga (as they are on flights to MAD and BCN) knowing that there is a small but strong Spanish community flying regularly on this route. The lack of miles earning in the “Basic” fare is also not understanble from the passanger point of view. The introduction of onboard Wi-Fi would be more than welcome. Therefore, the avaibility of the online check-in for this route has made the flight experience much more enjoyable and practical. Clean cabin, friendly cabin crew, modern plane and flight on time.
AircraftBoeing 737-800W
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLuxembourg to Málaga
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"fabulous cabin staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Luxembourg to London City. Excellent airline with fabulous cabin staff. Really impressed with the full service that you now don't get on airlines like BA. Old school service with sweets handed out before landing. I highly recommend people from London needing to get to Luxembourg to use Luxair from City Airport. Absolutely well worth it. Our flight was bang on time and the check in was also seamless with a lovely check on agent.
AircraftDH4
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLuxembourg to London City
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Staff was very rude"

(Luxembourg)

Verified Review | Faro to Luxembourg. Staff was very rude, we had to ask 4 times to bring us water for our toddler, and finally we got it with comment, "sorry, but I am alone and I have service to finish!' (there were 4 flight assistants on the board). After finishing snack they haven't picked up the meal tray for more than an hour, when we asked them 'can you remove this, we don't have space with the toddler on the lap' they were irritated and said "this is not the way to talk to us" . They seemed friendly with passengers without kids but very intolerant and unhelpful with passengers with babies or toddlers. We will avoid traveling with Luxair because of this reason. Very disappointed. When traveling to Faro the flight was dealyed by 3 hours.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFaro to Luxembourg
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"was a positive experience"

(Laos)

Verified Review | The flight from Paris CDG to Luxembourg departed on time and arrived earlier than scheduled. Service on board was very good on this short flight. A small snack and water were served. The flight was quite bumpy as its a small aircraft but there is nothing the airline can do about turbulence. My only complaint is that the flight departs from CDG T2G which offers very few options for shopping and dining. Overall, this was a positive experience and I would happily recommend Luxair.
AircraftBombardier
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis CDG to Luxembourg
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"service has decreased with the years"

(Luxembourg)

Verified Review | Flew Luxair from Luxembourg to Malpensa. Expensive airline, sold as "all inclusive" but service has decreased with the years, now you get half a sandwich instead of a full one. Cabin crew far too young and inexperienced. Those Bombardier are small planes, shaky and noisy which means you are unable to have a conversation with your neighbor or have a nap. Ground service: no comment as they are rude. I afterwards flew easyJet, and I highly recommend them as luggage and ticket were half price.
AircraftBombardier Q400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLuxembourg to Malpensa
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"we got a decent deal"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Excellent airline who always treat customers well. Luxair are the only direct way for getting from Ireland to Luxembourg (alternative being to fly Ryanair to Hahn or Charleroi and get a 90 minute bus). A few years ago this flight used to stop off in Manchester to pick up more passengers, but luckily that is no longer the case. The only drawback with Luxair is the premium price you pretty much always have to pay. If you see a bargain price, book it. On this particular flight, we got a decent deal. Checked baggage always free, food very nice (so fresh!), lovely aircraft in which you get immediately know this is a premium airline (leather seats, small plane, roomy). Luxembourg airport doesn’t have much going on, but still nice and easy to get through. If Ryanair or Aer Lingus decide to fly the route, it will provide stiff competition. Hopefully Luxair will fight back and not run away from the route.
AircraftBombardier Dash-8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDUB to LUX
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"certainly a full service airline"

(Australia)

Loved the convenience of flying out of LCY. For just a one hour flight, we were given a snack (a delicious salami and salad roll on very fresh bread), wine, coffee and a face wipe. Just before landing we were given a Belgian chocolate. The aircraft was small and rather cramped, but I realise that larger aeroplanes may not be able to land at LCY. Luxair is certainly a full service airline, offering the high standard of service that flying used to provide.
AircraftBombadier
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLCY to LUX
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"old school in excellent way"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Stockholm to Luxembourg. Definitely old school but in an excellent way. Even in economy you got offered a choice of a cheese salad or salami sandwich and champagne/drinks. Service was excellent from check in through on board service. My only quibble that as a member of Star Alliance, Luxair should be able to credit my points through SAS. However, despite the check in clerk trying his best you're stuck with Lufthansa's Miles and More program. The 2 hour 30 minute flight on a commuter prop plane (Q400) is probably stretching the envelope in terms of comfort but the stewards did everything to make your life pleasant, prices are good if all your legs are with Luxair. They go up steeply if you have to take a connecting flight with another Star Alliance member. A nice touch is the meet your luggage at the steps of the aircraft (mandatory for an aircraft this size). Expect to be bussed into the terminal for the turbo props at Luxembourg Airport.
AircraftBombardier Q400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteARN to LUX
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"good flight for US$150"

(United States)

Luxembourg to Madrid on Boeing 737-800 in Economy. Check in easy, no line and friendly agent. No line at security and into the gate area with plenty of seats. Not much choice for food (one restaurant with snacks). Around 80% full cabin, friendly attendants welcome on board in English/French/Luxembourgese. Departed 15 min late due to baggage loading. Good flight overall, just over 2 hours and served a snack and drinks. They had some entertainment on the drop-down screens but I was watching my own Ipad. Flight-map would pop up here and there to let us know where we were. Landed in Madrid at T4 and bags were out pretty fast. A good flight for US$150.
Aircraft737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLUX to MAD
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Dash 8 is not the best"

(Sweden)

Luxair serves sandwiches and even champagne to economy passengers and for reasonable prices. However, since they replaced many of their jets with noisy propeller-aircraft, flying-times have become a lot longer and the comfort of their Dash 8 is not the best. On my recent flight from ARN to LUX that was three hours long (normally it takes only 2 hours and 10 minutes) they had only one drink-run which is poor for such a long flight. Seating was cramped (Dash-standard) and there was no onboard entertainment. For me, the slightly better service does not outweigh much longer flight times and this is why I will tend to consider other airlines into FRA again in the future.
AircraftDash 8-Q400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteARN to LUX
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 63 Reviews