Lufthansa

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1220 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"operated by Deutsche Bahn"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Lufthansa does not have flights between Cologne and Frankfurt but offers a service that is operated by Deutsche Bahn (train service). While there used to be a staffed check-in counter at the train station, it was replaced a couple years ago by a self check-in. That means there is no agent anymore and flights cannot be changed. I find that disappointing. The service itself is good because the train station is in downtown cologne (and the airport isn´t) and the trains are punctual. Lufthansa is using a dedicated train car, but no food or drinks are offered in economy class on this 1-hour train ride. Wifi and personal device streaming are free of charge. After all I am quite happy with this service and using it frequently.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteQKL to FRA
Date FlownJune 2018
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"cancelled the booking"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Lufthansa pushed the times of my original flight back by 6 hours, just a couple of months prior which is out of line considering their no refund policy and high rebooking fee. With no alternative flights available in the company to fit in with my already booked itinerary, the call centre staff cancelled the booking with promise of a full refund of 412 euros within 14 business days. They emailed confirmation of cancellation without any acknowledgement of the refund in writing. 6 weeks, 6 phone calls and an email inquiry later, I am still waiting. It took over a week for someone to respond to my urgent inquiry, with a generic, unhelpful response. The call centre staff have been completely unwilling to take my situation seriously and don't seem to understand the aspect of holding onto funds for which they are not providing a service. I have been continuously advised that they are unable to provide written confirmation of the refund, that I am unable to speak to the refunds department directly and tell me it has been processed, and to keep checking my bank account.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Split via Munich
Date FlownJune 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Germany's most expensive coach operator"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Another trip with the wannabe Premium Airline which might be better characterized as Germany's most expensive coach operator. Had a flight from Stuttgart to Munich and now to Geneva - already spent more time in the bus than in the air. At least Lufthansa were on time today.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Geneva
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we were not too impressed"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Amsterdam via Frankfurt. The 747-8 is an interesting plane to fly, it's new and a classic at the same time. Unfortunately flying it in economy is just awful. I was seated in row 16, the first row of a mini cabin between club and premium economy, where seats are sold at premium prices. The seats are cramped and ergonomically wrong, not a chance to get comfortable. IFE could be good but malfunctioned in about every way it could, so gave up on that. The insult after injury was the main meal: a tinfoil container half filled with a mix of overcooked macaroni with mayo! The German kitchen is not known for its delicacies but this was simply terrible. Tasted like a mix of metal and nothing. A passenger was apparently smoking-where and when it is of course not allowed - but to wake up 400+ passengers with an incomprehensible long and loud rant by the lead FA in the middle of the night was not appreciated or professional. Also bags did not make the flight and although Lufthansa keeps emailing you on every element of the trip (like gate changes), they didn't bother to inform us our bags were never loaded in LAX, why? Needless to say we were not too impressed by Lufthansa and consider this flight and airline as bad as it can get these days
AircraftBoeing 747-8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Amsterdam via Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never fly Lufthansa again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Paid $10,000+ for first class Washington to Istanbul via Frankfurt. Flights there via Frankfurt were fine. Decided to return a couple days early so called to change flights. At this point the service went from good to horrible. First you call 800-645-3880 and prepare for half hour minimum call (once I was cut off after hold). I explained just wanted to move up the Istanbul to Frankfurt segment couple days. Again a long hold the agent says no problem same fare. But I will need to pay $1,500 in taxes. I ask for explanation and none given. I then for cost to cancel the entire return trip and it is $900. This made no sense so I decided to go to the airport to talk to a human being face to face. Lufthansa has their Istanbul airport office and I get some service counter agent who basically has to call and hold just like I did from hotel. Another 20 minutes to be told to change the Istanbul segment would be $2,400! If I were to purchase a business class ticket today from Istanbul to Frankfurt it is $350? So why $2,400? No explanation from anyone. I am calling again now and holding. 20 minutes get an agent who will check and again 30 minutes and still holding. I will never fly Lufthansa again.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteWashington to Istanbul via Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"turned out to be a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is my 3rd bad experience with Lufthansa in the last 3 months and I think I need to share it. I was travelling Business Class from Zagreb to Frankfurt and then to London with a layover in FRA of 1hr 45min. Boarding at ZAG was done without priority boarding. When landing at FRA the pilot lost his way around the airport and took about 20 minutes to park at a remote stand. Not only no separate bus was used for C class passengers, but instead all passengers were squeezed like sardines into one single bus. When I reached Terminal A I had to walk for over a mile and take a train to make it to gates B where my flight for LHR was departing from. I have never before had to go through security again during a transfer when travelling within Europe, yet Lufthansa decided to send me through a route that required security screening again. The queue for the security was one of the longest I have ever seen in my life. As a business class passenger and Star Alliance Gold member I attempted to enter the Fast Track. A lady standing at the entrance refused entrance to me saying just "No", despite me showing her my C class boarding pass and my gold star alliance card. I asked her three times whether Lufthansa does not allow passengers to use fast track any more and she kept telling me one single word, "No". I waited in the normal security queue for 40 minutes and that left me no single minute for lounge access. When I reached the gate, boarding just started and no priority boarding was used again. The Lufthansa agent just opened the gate and said "please go" and all passengers just run towards the plane. There are not a lot of benefits for business class European flights. People pay a significant additional amount of money to get a couple of extra benefits which it appears that Lufthansa refuses for no specific reason. What should have been a comfortable layover turned out to be a nightmare for me and a gap of nearly 2hrs between the flights disappeared. I have experienced inconsistent and bad service from Lufthansa both on the ground and in the air in another two occasions recently and this is enough for me to say that I would not recommend this airline to anyone and certainly don't waste your money to pay for business class because it is questionable whether you will receive any of the benefits at all.
AircraftCRJ1000 / A320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteZagreb to London via Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"a very unpleasant experience"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Prague to Singapore via Frankfurt. I had a very unpleasant experience. When we were told that we could get a meal voucher because we were re-booked to the next days flight, we were redirected by Lufthansa staff to different counters 4 times. Finally at the last counter staff told us the voucher could not be issued with a bad attitude, even told us to go to the ticket office to complain if we had a problem with that.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Singapore via Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I recommend Lufthansa"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | London to Munich. I prefer Lufthansa because they have a good onboard service and a friendly crew: On this short flight I was served a cup of water, a cup of white wine and was given a sandwich. The sandwich was not a full meal but a good light snack in the evening. The departure terminal was T2A which is brand new and very convenient. Arrival terminal in Munich was T2, which also is convenient and more comfortable than the old T1. I had a seat in the emergency exit row which can be reserved in advance by paying a fee or for free during web check-in. I had one trolley suitcase and a notebook bag. The flight was delayed due to bad weather in Germany but we were well informed. In Munich, I saw that some connecting passengers were picked up by gate agents. I recommend Lufthansa.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Munich
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"definitely recommend Lufthansa"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | One of the best airlines I have flown. I started my journey in Seattle and travelled to Zurich via Frankfurt, Germany. I had flown with them a couple of times before, all positive experiences, and I was looking up to my flights. The ground staff were excellent, although I was a little disappointed to find out that Seattle Airport doesn’t offer any bag wrapping options. The ground staff was very friendly and helpful. After I checked in my bag, I headed to the lounge. Although it was crowded and not Lufthansa’s own lounge, it was a great lounge. The seats were very comfy, WI-FI was fast, food was good, and the staff was very friendly. Boarding started on time and in the correct order. Boarding went very smooth, and as soon as I boarded, I was welcomed to the purser. The food was great and seat very comfortable. I slept great and enjoyed my meals. Lufthansa’s staff is outstanding. A man sitting next to me was very inpatient and kept complain about the fact that the person behind him got his meal first even though he had a higher status. I would have already stopped serving, but the crew kept smiling and putting up with his moaning. My flight was great and I would definitely recommend it. After I landed in Frankfurt, I had a 4 hour layover until my connection to Zurich, but it went great and very smooth. As I was very tired, I headed to the lounge to rest, but after the lounge staff saw I was almost sleeping in my seat, they offered me a bedroom with a shower. The bed was perfect and the room looked like a 4-star hotel. The shower was outstanding and I was impressed with the service. After my rest, I headed to my connecting flight to Zurich. This flight also went very smooth and the food was great. After I landed, I accidentally forgot my iPhone on the plane, but before I had even noticed I left it, the flight attendant came running through the terminal to give it to me, I was amazed. My bag was the first one to come out in the baggage claim, which was very nice. Overall, I would definitely recommend Lufthansa.
AircraftBoeing 747-400 / A320-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSeattle to Zurich via Frankfurt
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"outside position with bus"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Geneva to Frankfurt operated by Air Nostrum, hope service of engines is better than that of the seats (see attached foto!) Departure was 75 min late and outside position with bus from as far as possible.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGeneva to Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no