Lufthansa

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1249 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"they lost my baggage"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Munich via Budapest. On my flight to Budapest, they lost my baggage. It took two days and until midnight that they were able to deliver my baggage. On my flight home, they took away my window seats after I had checked in online. Instead, they gave me middle seats and told me that I need to pay extra fee to secure seats. When I wrote to their customer relations to ask for compensation (for my delay baggage) all they offer is their "sincere apology" and no information regarding how they should compensate me for the costs incurred during the delayed baggage delivery. They also say that they do not offer compensation for the baggage delay. I will not to take their flight ever again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Munich via Budapest
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"lack of privacy is a drawback"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Munich. Delayed by late aircraft towing to gate. Boarding efficient and friendly. On board was perfect, a part from the Business seats which aren't private enough. Lufthansa doesn't have capsules or pods in Business and the lack of privacy is a drawback. Cabin crew, food and menus were excellent.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Munich
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"credit to both crew and Lufthansa"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Boarding and departure efficient and on time. The Business seating on European flights is always the same ... it's actually economy seating with the center seat unused, which I find poor for the money paid. However the service for this very short flight is outstanding. Not only efficient, but friendly with excellent food and drink options and serves. It's a credit to both crew and Lufthansa how these short flights are handled.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMunich to London
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Seat was reasonably comfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Toronto. Boarding reasonably efficient but priority boarding hindered by crowding at the gate. Cabin crew friendly and helpful. These B747 aircraft are showing their age, and one problem is that the overhead bins in the first few rows are smaller than standard and don't fit the cabin baggage size limitations of LH. Food and presentation were ok. Seat was reasonably comfortable but entertainment system was lacking in choice and quality. A big problem this flight were 2 small children whose parents were not controlling well. They squealed, shouted and cried throughout the 8 hour flight and other passengers were quite upset. One guest intended to seek compensation as a result. Cabin crew were equally unimpressed but didn't seem to take action of any kind.
AircraftB747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"in-flight service was good"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | This was my first time flying Lufthansa, from Gothenburg to Prague, via the hub in Frankfurt. I was going to Prague on a Floorball cup with my team. The plane was over an hour late from Gothenburg, so we were worried not to catch the transfer in Frankfurt. The in-flight service was good, and for such a short flight, it was just the ordinary expected; a snack (consisting of a sandwich with mayonnaise and turkey meatloaf) and a drink. The crew was kind and helpful, they weren't irritated because of the delay and answered our questions. At the Frankfurt hub, the transfer waited for us at the gate, giving it somewhat of a delay, maybe 20 min's or so. The organisation of the hub was average, but the FRA airport is really large, so we had to run several kilometres from the arrival gate to the departure one. There didn't seem to be much organisation either, with gates lying far apart although the nearer gates were vacant. Overall I had a good experience though, even counting the delay. There were Wi-fi, but one had to pay for it, in three different levels of WiFi speed and amount, ranging from approximately 3€ up to 7€. Because I didn't buy the WiFi services, I can't rate them, but there were more than sufficient information on the subject.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGöteborg to Prague via Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"last experience was outstanding"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Munich to Incheon. Being German and a frequent flyer of Lufthansa I am very critical towards this airline. Lufthansa kept improving and catching up the last couple of years though. I think now they did it and my last experience was just outstanding as I flew Munich to Seoul with business class. The plane was a brand new A350-900. A mattress has been provided and a Pyjama that made the flight very comfortable. The entertainment was massively improved: at least twice as much movies and programs have been added to system, that contains interactive maps. Last but not least, and which is most important was the crew. The crew was not only very professional (which is state of the art @ Lufthansa) but attentive. Even though the level of Singapore Airlines or Emirates is not reached yet but the Lufthansa crew kept taking care of the passengers the whole flight. Lufthansa merits the 5 star rating if all flights would have the same level as I experienced during this one. To be improved is the seat though. It is too tight, too inclined and lacks of storage capacities and electronics connections. I heard that Lufthansa is working on that. Looking forward for it.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMunich to Incheon
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"FAs were very good"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Victoria-Vancouver-Frankfurt-Geneva on 24 April 2018, returning 10 May. Economy class booked through Lufthansa website, with advance seat selection. YVR-FRA 10-hour intercontinental segments were mainline LH flights using Boeing 747-400s. YYJ-YVR 20-minute connecting flights by Air Canada used Dash 8-Q400 turboprops. FRA-GVA 1¼-hour connecting flights were an A-319 and a CRJ-700. I customarily book in Lufthansa's Premium Economy, but their 747s have only four rows of seats and the only PE seats left were in the front bulkhead row, which aren't worth the cost. (In that front row, although you have extra knee room, you can't stretch out your legs fully because there are no seats in front of you.) As well, in the armrest you have not only the tray table but also the IFE screen, which is half the size of screens in other PE seats. So I booked regular economy class. My seats were 49A outbound and 48K on the return. Booking those window seats cost Can$49 each way and were worth it, as they let you stretch out your legs fully under the seat in front of you. FAs were very good. Two meals were served, the main one after take-off, the second 90 minutes before landing. The meals were LH's two standard economy stodge options – vegetarian pasta or chicken. The second meal was an omelette before midday arrival at FRA, and beef stew or pasta before afternoon arrival at YVR. Connections as offered on LH website were tight, about two hours each way through FRA. Nevertheless, my luggage arrived with me both times. The only hitch was that LH and AC use different booking codes. After booking my trip on the LH website I had to telephone LH to ask for the Air Canada booking code, which I needed in order to do the initial check-in at YYJ.
AircraftDash 8-Q400, Boeing 747-400, CRJ-700, A319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVictoria to Geneva via Vancouver-Frankfurt
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"does not offer free wifi"

(Norway)

Not Verified | We had an excellent transfer route from OSL to BUD via MUC with Lufthansa. The purser especially on the MUC-BUD route (LH 1682) was very caring, I asked him to give me something for my stomach to relieve my stomach ache, he brought me a very nice cognac, plus after a little while he brought me a herb-tea. I was like whao! The diabetic food for my wife was very good too, I can recommend to anyone to order for special meals on Business Class. There was some delay on the MUC-BUD route, but we could easily get over this, because of the service we got throughout the journey! And though we had little time, we visited the Lufthansa Business Lounge at MUC, and it was fabulous too, we visited half an hour before the closing-time of the lounge, and still there was enough warm food, and staff still refilled the sweets, and enough drink, bread, yoghurts, biscuits etc. The dark side: Wi-fi! I think it's quite ridiculous that such a big company like this, does not offer free wifi at least on Business Class!
AircraftA320 / A319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteOslo to Budapest via Munchen
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"bunch of customer service fails"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Malta via Munich last month, then back via Munich. Although Lufthansa's boarding procedures are wonky and our flight was late as a result, once on board Lufthansa, I never really have any complaints. The food is decent, drinks plentiful, and seats are about as comfortable (uncomfortable) as you would expect. Lots of in-flight entertainment options, which is good. The way back through Munich was a mess. For whatever reason we couldn't check in online. We called and were told we could check in at the airport the next morning at the airport to get our boarding passes, then do the same again once we were in Munich. This went OK for the first short flight, but horrible for the connection. The Lufthansa service desk in Munich wouldn't print our passes and sent us to the gate without alerting anyone. Lufthansa has an extra security check-in before the gate, and those employees didn't want to let us through without a boarding pass. This resulted in about twenty minutes of additional delay with three other confused Lufthansa employees. We finally made it to the gate where we were then reprimanded by another Lufthansa employee for being late for boarding. She refused to sit my husband and I together (?), so we were placed in separate aisles. Once on board the flight, the seat I had been given was in between a woman and her two children. She asked me to move, which I did. The row behind my husband's assigned seat was almost empty, so we ended up sitting there together. Essentially if you enjoy taking care of a bunch of customer service fails yourself, this is a great airline. Personally, I probably wouldn't fly Lufthansa again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Malta via Munich
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"cabin is most uncomfortable "

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Lufthansa CityLine uses this aircraft type frequently on the MUC-BRU route and others and it is to be avoided. The cabin is the most uncomfortable I´ve experienced, the seats are so narrow you have to squeeze yourself into them. Also, no business-class fast-lane security in MUC despite the fact that this is being advertised and included in the price for a business clas ticket. The quality of the food on this flight was rather sub-standard, announcements in German and English only, no French or Flemish. Cabin crew super friendly as usual with Lufthansa but they can´t make up for the substandard seating and other flaws. All in all, avoid Lufhansa CityLine and the Bombardier Regonal Jet if you can.
AircraftBombardier CRJ-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMunich to Brussels
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no