Lufthansa

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1078 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"experience was frustrating"

(United States)

Verified Review | Athens to Vancouver via Munich. Despite the comfortable seat and good inflight entertainment in premium economy from Munich to Vancouver, our experience was frustrating, flat out disappointing. We could not check in one of 4 travelers online under one booking. Error messages such as unfortunately you are unable to check in online, your name, ticket number etc may be incorrect, and your routing does not match your ticket. Error messages were different every time we tried so you didn’t know what exactly was the reason. We were questioning whether he even had a ticket. Called customer service multiple times only for them to tell us to call tech support which was not open 24/7. We had to wait. Tech support advised that passenger was selected randomly to manually check in at the airport. Had that message shown at online check in, it would have avoided some undue stress and costly int’l roaming charges for calls. Original gate from ATH-MUN was rather close to our MUN-YVR, however we needed all the time we could get to go through exit customs since my mother in law is unable to run. On arrival, the gate of the current flight had changed, and it could not have been father away from our connecting fight. Boarding an A330 MUN-YVR was a disaster. Other than frequent flyers/business class boarding first, it was general boarding for everyone all at once and this included wheelchair passengers. If you’re a seasoned traveler, you know boarding in an orderly fashion from the back of the aircraft to the front helps prevent backlogs. Passengers were backlogged on the jet bridge so that it piled up back to a short escalator that was available to passengers and their carry ons which most, if not all, used it. Safety issue here is that it bunched up people all the way to the bottom of the escalator where those getting off had no place to go. Upon arrival into YVR, we were advised our checked baggage did not make the connection in MUN and advised they will deliver our bags the following evening. They were not delivered as promised the following evening and delivered another 12 hours later the following morning. Total 40hrs. We wrote an email to customer relations right after the online check in fiasco and the email did warrant a response from Lufthansa. It has been 7 days and still no response. 
AircraftA330 / A320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteAthens to Vancouver via Munich
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"definitely fly Lufthansa again"

(Serbia)

Verified Review | Belgrade to Brussels via Frankfurt. First time flying with Lufthansa and was not disappointed. Both flights were pleasant, cabin crew was very friendly, food was minimal but still tasty. Seats were slightly narrow but felt decent enough for short flights. Two-hour layover in Frankfurt was enough to get through security and passport control with time to spare. On arrival in Brussels proceeded straight to baggage claim, where I waited only a couple of minutes for my suitcase so I managed to catch the bus on time. On my way back to Belgrade flown via Munich instead, but the experience was equally good. Would definitely fly with Lufthansa again in the future.
AircraftAirbus A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBelgrade to Brussels via Frankfurt
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"maintains a high standard"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Nice to Frankfurt. Check-in at Nice Airport was fast and efficient but there were not enough seats at the gate so many people had to stand and wait. Even though there was a little delay the crew made up for everything being nice and very attentive. Really cherish that Lufthansa sticks to a good service also on short-haul flights providing free drinks and snacks so you feel valued as a customer. Lufthansa is a reliable and efficient airline that maintains a high standard in customer care.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNice to Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Would highly recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manchester to Beijing return via Frankfurt. First time in over 5 years that I used Lufthansa and they have really improved. Certainly make BA look like a true low-cost airline! Short sector to Frankfurt on A320 was comfortable enough, with nice meal in business class and fabulous and chatty crew. Transfer in Frankfurt was easier than expected and had a 2 hour break in the lounge - which again is big step up from before with nice food on offer. The A380 trip to Beijing was very pleasant. I'm not a fan of the seats arranged in pairs and your feet end very close to your neighbour and seat lacks privacy. Despite those issues, it was comfortable as a flat bed, and the food was again great and tasted fresh for a change. Cabin crew again lovely, smiling and seemed very engaged with passengers. Return trip was fairly similar, excepting long walks and very unpleasant Terminal 3 at Beijing. Would highly recommend.
AircraftA320 / A380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManchester to Beijing via Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"I was deeply disappointed"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Rio de Janeiro. I was badly impressed with the disorganization of the cabin crew. They were really slow to serve breakfast and the process took like 2/3 hours. They were also very rude and answered sharply to our questions using imperatives and raised voices. I expected a high-quality service from Lufthansa but I was deeply disappointed.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Rio de Janeiro
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"service was extremely friendly"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Naples. The seat distance in the aircraft was relatively good and more than enough for my body size (180cm). Punctuality and cleanliness left nothing to be desired. The onboard service was extremely friendly, in a good mood and an additional service of drinks was carried out.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Naples
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"okay product and okay service"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Oslo to Malta via Frankfurt. This company apparently has good schedules, an okay product and okay service. The weak point is that I often experience changes in the flight times (I fly this route several times a year, and about 4 round trips a year on Lufthansa). The airline expects you to be understanding and accommodating, and doesn't give compensation when it causes its passengers inconveniences (like changing the departure time of its flights, or changing the aircraft type at the last hour and your booked and paid premium seat is no longer available). When you ask to be accommodated on another flight (like a later flight after a schedule change), Lufthansa provides a bunch of excuses. Their customer service call centres are a waste of time.
AircraftA321 / A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOslo to Malta via Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"makes the service inconsistent"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Efficient check-in at Heathrow Terminal 2. As I arrived early at the airport Lufthansa moved me to an earlier flight to Frankfurt, and forced me to sit in a middle seat. Crowded and old A320, with soon-disintegrating seats. Service was good, with delicious sandwich and German beer served in glass bottles. Extremely long transit walk at Frankfurt, nearly one hour gate-to-gate, with extremely rude security staff. Chaotic boarding at Frankfurt. One unacceptable thing onboard Lufthansa flights to Hong Kong is that all announcements are made in Mandarin (language in China) instead of Cantonese (main language in Hong Kong), except the safety video which makes the service inconsistent. Mediocre meal but served with wide range of beverages, including post-dinner drinks. The toilet became smelly and dirty only one hour into the 12 hour flight, without improvements during the rest of the flight. Extremely long wait for baggage at Hong Kong, 40 minutes after arriving at the baggage claim for the first priority bag and more than one hour for normal bags.
AircraftA320-200 and A380-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Hong Kong via Frankfurt
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a very reliable airline once again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Graz to Manchester via Munich. Our first flight was fine, walked straight from gate to the plane over the tarmac (no further than a normal airport gangway), greeted with a smile and a chocolate bar as we boarded. Only a short hop to Munich, drinks served and a scenic flight. Seats comfortable and enough leg room for a smaller plane. The change in Muuich was efficient and reached the connecting gate in plenty of time. Our next leg was delayed by 30 mins (overall), to be fair they did their best to make up time. Nice service onboard - salmon sandwich and a hot drink (cold drinks and wine available too). Friendly crew and really good leg room in row 5. Both flights virtually full - board and disembarking went with ease. No luggage issues. Lufthansa a very reliable airline once again, look forward to my next flight.
AircraftCJ900 / A320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGraz to Manchester via Munich
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"let us stay in hotel near airport for 2 nights"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We were flying from Larnaca to Bydgoszcz and we had to change flights in Vienna, where we had about an hour to get to the connecting flight and Frankfurt where we were supposed to have about an hour too. Everything would have been ok but our flight from Vienna to Frankfurt was late and we ended up having only 25 minutes to get to the gate for our next flight. We were told by the crew when getting off the plane that the connecting flight would wait but we ran fast as we could anyway to get to the gate. Well they closed the gate in front of us and we missed the flight. Our next flight to Bydgoszcz was in two days. Luckily Lufthansa let us stay in a hotel near the airport for 2 nights and paid for the room, full board and got us tickets onto the next available flight without too much hassle.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLarnaca to Bydgoszcz via Vienna & Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes