Lufthansa

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1300 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"over 1 hour delay"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Warsaw to Singapore via Frankfurt. First flight Warsaw to Frankfurt over 1 hour delay. Staff very unhelpful in getting us to our connecting flight. We figured out our alternatives online better than they could. In the end we figured better to fly with Lufthansa and try to make out connection. Probably a bad idea as they went on to lose our luggage. They didnt organise the boarding so children/premium/people sitting at the back didnt board first. Making boarding slower on an already delayed flight. We got on board an asked if we could sit up the front to make it easier to catch our connecting flight. We were told no. We received no update on our connecting flight during the 1st flight. On landing we had to run from gate A to Gate A at Frankfurt airport and Lufthansa couldnt tell us if they would wait for us and the 6 other groups trying to catch the connecting flight. We sprinted across the airport and made it to our connecting flight that was delayed as well. The A380 screen hardly worked, I was bashing away at it to try and get a look at the movies. No documentaries and no games either. Music selection poor. My seat did not recline properly so I had to physically pull it up every time. I cannot think of one thing they did well.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWarsaw to Singapore via Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a terrible experience"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Berlin to Cape Town via Frankfurt. Just a terrible experience. Overnight flight to Capetown with a little baby of 10 months. We expected to get the first row in the cabin where you can install a baby bed. Instead we were seated randomly in the middle (Purser explained that there is a new policy that persons without babies are now seated there in case they pay more, an option that was never offered to us). First we tried to change this at the check-in in Berlin but person was not able to change seats in the system and recommended to ask gate personal in Frankfurt. At the gate in Frankfurt a very unpolite person told us "you are the last to come to the gate and expect me now to do anything for you?" (Needless to say we were the last because connecting Lufthansa flight had a severe delay). Onboard Purser was nice but not able to resolve situation. When we landed after a real bad flight, baggage was lost. Worst part: talking to the Senator Service Line people did not resolve anything (this is not our role to take care of lost baggage) but even made fun of me.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Cape Town
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a do-not-care attitude"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Helsinki to Brussels via Frankfurt. First time during the early summer 2018, German punctuality showed its true colors: Lufthansa staff left the airport immediately after their shift ended, leaving an airport full of passengers suffering delayed flights due to thunderstorm. Everything was closed, no-one at the airport taking care of passengers. Today my flight is 3 hours late. The info from the crew: ”your flight is cancelled and bear in mind I am not responsible for it”. Long trip, missed a meeting. Asked for to pay for a lounge (which should be possible according to policy) - nothing. The company has well educated the staff to face unhappy customer - with a do-not-care attitude.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Brussels via Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Service from the crew was excellent"

(United States)

Trip Verified | First of all the airline had wide seats with enough legroom for 6 foot 4 friend of mine. The air inside the aircraft was nice and fresh. Service from the crew was excellent. But more importantly I wanted to thank thr flight manger for making our experience with Lufthansa excellent. There were 3 of us traveling together and our seats were not together. The flight manager was very professional, courteous and accommodating. The best part of the experience was that he was professional and positive.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Kiev
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Do not trust wheelchair assistance"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Moscow via Munich. They forgot to move our relatives from one plane to another in Munich and Frankfurt. We confirm with Lufthansa each time by phone 1 day before departure that they will have wheelchair assistance. Our relatives are 85 and 82 years old with health problems and they don't speak English or German. We prepared a paper in English for our relatives to give to Lufthansa agents to help them. No results. When we spoke with Lufthansa they sad that they don't have enough wheelchair at that time or etc. Even in Montreal nobody helped them. A security officer helped them after 3 hours in the airport. From the airplane arrival in Montreal to exit passed 4,5 hours and nobody could help us to see where they are. Do not trust wheelchair assistance in Germany or Canada.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Moscow via Munich
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"assured there would be gate assistance"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Miami to Frankfurt. Lufthansa claims to have gate arrival/transfer assistance for First Class passengers. On LH463, First Class (paid) on June 26, 2018, I arrived in Frankfurt with a relatively short connection. I had asked the purser onboard if gate assistance would be provided, as I was unfamiliar with the Frankfurt airport and had heard horror stories about maneuvering through this older maze of an airport. I was assured there would be gate assistance. After leaving the A380 - huge masses of people were herding in every direction imaginable and no one from Lufthansa greeted the flight or was there to assist First Class passengers. Over an hour later, I managed to find my way to the First Class lounge where the agents were clueless and acted like I was expecting too much to expect assistance, even after I had asked about it and tried to confirm it would be available. Lufthansa in fact does not provide gate assistance in all cases for First Class passengers and their rating should reflect this case. In addition, Wifi was not working on the flight even though the aircraft was Wifi equipped. Cabin crew could have cared less and suggested I enjoy time away from my computer!
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteMiami to Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never felt more abused"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My wife and I recently flew from Houston to Florence with a connection in Frankfurt. We arrived at 09:00am, went through customs which took over an hour, walked to terminal B, went through the slowest, most inefficient security line I have ever seen, then walked to our gate. We arrived at the gate at 11:08am and were told they had already closed the gates and could no longer board us even though the plane was still sitting there. I assumed this wouldn’t be a major problem considering it’s not that uncommon to miss a connecting flight and assumed we would be put on the next flight out to Florence. To my dismay, we were told that it was our fault we missed the connection, that the airline was not informed of any delays or long wait times in customs or security and that we would not only have to buy a new flight, but the return home flights were also canceled because we missed the connection. I’ve never felt more abused as a customer of any product or service in my life. I would never recommend Lufthansa. We were even talked down to like we were children by the customer service representatives.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"re-routed to another flight"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Geneva to Olbia via Frankfurt. We chose Lufthansa over cheaper options for their better time schedule for our flight to Olbia where we'd spend our vacations. The outbound flight was delayed 15 mins. This was sufficient for us to miss our Lufthansa connection in Frankfurt where after running to the connecting gate the Lufthansa personnel told us the gate had closed 5 min before and the bus connection to our plane was not available anymore. They stated nobody informed them about the connection and that there was no possibility for us to board the plane. We were re-routed to another flight (double the duration) and the plane we missed ended up taking off 20 min after we reached the gate. Customer treatment has been sub-par, inflexible and impolite in providing us explanations. This our 3rd flight in a row from Geneva to Frankfurt where we have issues. Last 2 were cancelled due to adverse weather conditions. Service on board was ok while the planes were not the newest at an above average cost.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGeneva to Olbia via Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service was very efficient"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chennai to Frankfurt. Arrived at the airport two hours prior to take off. The Checkin was prompt and without any wait. Was sent to the Lounge none of which have much room. The boarding was effortless. The seat was on the harder side - like most German cars and usually the provide very good support. Mine was set at hardness level 3 and did the trick. The service in the plane was very efficient. The cabin staff did a commendable job in serving the us promptly. The food was good but I didn't want to eat yet another Dhal and Paneer with Rice dish! The inflight entertainment was mediocre. The selection was good but not as good as some 5-Star airlines. The flight took off on time and landed early in FRA.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteChennai to Frankfurt
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Lufthansa is completely unresponsive"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flight LH414 (MUC-IAD) was delayed over 4 hours. It happens. Had to re-book the connecting flight for the next day and had to book a hotel in Washington DC overnight on my own. It happens. What I never saw happening until this flight was the complete lack of help from the airline. No help in re-booking (United helped here) and no help with accommodation overnight (flight landed close to midnight and no more connections were possible). On top of that Lufthansa is completely unresponsive to calls or emails after the ordeal. Customer Support asks for receipts for the costs incurred. Once those are submitted: Silence, just nothing.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTimișoara to Denver via Munich, Washington
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no