Airline of the Year  

Lion Air

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 100 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"crew is nice and friendly"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta to Denpasar, my first time flying an A330 with Lion Air. Leg room was huge compared to the 737. The ground staff is okay (at CGK and DPS), cabin crew is nice and friendly, but the baggage claim took longer than I was expecting. Other than that, it was the cheapest flight and it is worth it. No IFE, only magazine. They sell drinks but not sure if they sell food on this flight. Seat width is smaller than the one in 737. Plane was configured in a 3-3-3 layout and it was quite new, and also clean.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Denpasar
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"airline is always late"

(United States)

Verified Review | Lombok to Bali. This airline is always late! I have missed connections because of them. After flying with them throughout my whole trip to Indonesia (big mistake), my last flight was finally on time. Unfortunately, they damaged my surfboard on that flight and refused to pay. Actually, they said if I stay in the country for another month, they would repair it for me. Ridiculous! The staff was so confused and had no idea how to handle the situation. After 3 hours of negotiating, my friend got his board repaired. They still refused to repair mine.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLombok to Bali
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"this unpleasant experience"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Denpasar to Jakarta. Had unpleasant time with Lion Air, both their system or their reaction in handling problem. I have bought the ticket and did web check in/online check in, I bought 2 seats and check in together. And then when we arrived at airport and went to counter to check in luggage the Lion Air officer said very leisurely that one of our seat is not available anymore and the flight was full already. They said their system didn't received out web check in data so the seat now is not available anymore. And furthermore we have successfully checked in and we didn't late came to airport. Then they give many unreasonable reasons and the officer even said this is not their fault. After long wait and many debate, last minute they let us in to the airplane. We are very disappointed with this unpleasant experience. And we feel really insecure to fly with Lion Air again in the future.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Jakarta
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"good flying experience"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Singapore to Jakarta. Lion Air has a bad reputation of having delays over and over. And this delay problem happened to me on my flight from SIN to CGK. We were departing at 14.50 and boarding at 14.05. Not until around 14.30 the plane arrived and passengers are just getting out of it. Meaning that the plane just arrived from another flight. At 14.50 we begun boarding and at 15.15 we were taxiing. After around 30 minutes in to the flight, they put seatbelt on is still on and apparently we were having some turbulence but it's normal. Then the flight attendants offer some food and drink (which is very nice, I ordered the fried rice with ebi katsu). For the cheap price, Lion Air offers a reasonably comfortable seat for me. This is probably because i'm only 165 cm and quite skinny. The plane is quite clean and new although the stickers on the tables was ripped. But the lavatory could use some improvements. When we arrived at CGK we used the jetbridge. This is rare as usually they used busses. Baggage claim is quite the wait and they also changed the conveyor belt number. For the price, Lion Air offer good flying experience.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Jakarta
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"service is nothing special"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta to Medan with Lion Air. The service is just there, nothing special to mention. The flight attendants are servicing well, but the lack of enthusiasm and sincerity is showing. The seats are not comfortable, as they jam so many people in so the seats feel very cramped. There is also a rush to get overhead baggage as some people carry baggage that should not be taken to cabin at the first place due to their size. There is no inflight entertainment, and some seats don't even have in-flight magazines. The flight is not good, the landing is very rough though the weather is fine. I fly the earliest flight possible, so I don't experience delays that frequent Lion AIr services in Indonesia.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Medan
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"flights were pleasant"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | It was a early morning flight out of KUL. I was in a group of 10 people going to Radin Inten II airport in Bandar Lampung via CGK. There was a 5-hour stopover in CGK before our next flight to TKG. Overall, the flights were pleasant, but in the inflight sales of food was too simple; no food items were available, passengers were only able to buy water and a piece of cake. During our stopover, we had to carry our luggage from Terminal 1 to Terminal 2 of CGK ourselves; Lion Air should have provided us and others with transport while in transit.
AircraftBoeing 737-900 / 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to TKG via CGK
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"flight was generally smooth"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | This is the second daily scheduled from Bandar Lampung to Jakarta. We took a few minutes behind schedule but arrived on time. The flight was generally smooth. Take-off and landing was okay. The cabin crew were attentive to passengers' needs. The bus service from the tarmac to the terminal was also efficient.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBandar Lampung to Jakarta
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"a very bad experience"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I was scheduled with Lion Air from Singapore to Jakarta scheduled at 9.20 pm there are long queue in Changi airport terminal 3 from 5.30 pm. We have waited for over 1.5 hours in a que alongside many passengers from other Lion air flight which supposed to fly earlier, then suddenly a representative from Lion Air announced that due to technical and operational reason, both flights is canceled and the passengers are given the option to fly through Johor Baru Airport or Full Refund, many passengers opt in to fly for Johor Baru. The registration for transport in Changi Airport was a huge mess only two counters are open to cater two canceled flight, unclear instruction, clearly confused and unresponsive staff from Lion Air, it took us until around 10.30 pm before we can depart to Johor Baru, they provide a SGD$ 10 Voucher for food, went through multiple immigration and finally reached Johor Baru around 12.30am with hundreds of passengers. They say they chartered a flight specifically for us, when we are there, apparentky they uses Malindo Air, we are then proceed to do the recheckin which took us another hour until at least 1.45 AM, the flight information is displayed that the boarding time is at 2 AM, but then again further delay until 3.45 AM when we finally boarded, but not without a borderline demonstration was held by the very irritated passengers. Malindo Air ground staff did not provide any clear information about what's going on and not even a water for compensation especially for the kids and the senior age passengers, all of them pretend not to know by turning their back to the pasangers and called one security guard for help. No apology are made by the ground staff or security, they provide a very rude attitude to passengers, and finally after a lot of screaming we boarded the plane and depart at 4.20 AM to Jakarta. It was a very bad experience that makes me to warn every reader to avoid Lion Air at all cost whenever is possible.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Jakarta
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"it was quite a pleasant flight"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I was flying back from Singapore to Jakarta and it was not my first time flying with lion air. Ground crew at Changi was pleasant but wasn't really smiling that much. Check in was easy and everything was going well. When I got to my seat, the seat pocket infront of me was a bit ripped off but I didnt really care about it. Cabin crew was friendly and nice. There wasn't any inflight entertainment other than some magazines and there wasn't any food menu either. However, they did sell a few main courses, snacks, and drinks. The food was okay. Leg room was spacious compared to competitors. At the end, it was quite a pleasant flight with Lion Air
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Singapore
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"ticket price is the cheapest"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I flew from Solo to Jakarta. As a low cost airline, ticket price is the cheapest, as cheap as an economy train ticket price. Although Lion Air is known as the King of Delay, my flight was on time. The aircraft was good and new. They sold snacks on the plane if you hungry. I recommend you to fly with Lion Air if you have low budget, but if you want a comfortable one, pay extra for Garuda or Batik.
AircraftBoeing 737-900 ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSolo to Jakarta
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 100 Reviews