Vote Airport  

Lion Air

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 69 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

Lion Air customer review

(Indonesia)

The Lion Air flight was delayed for an hour. The boarding gate were overcrowded as many flights to different cities were also delayed. Flight was smooth. The cabin was comfortable. Luckily it was a short haul flight, so I didn't mind the short seat pitch. You get what you paid. With low ticket price, I wouldn't have high expectation.
AircraftBoeing 737-800NG
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCGK to JOG
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not worth the problems"

(Indonesia)

You think I would have learned my lesson after 90% or so of flights I have taken with Lion Air have been delayed. Now sitting on the floor in the crowded waiting lounge as no seats are available with another 2 hour delay, just announced at take off schedule. Not fun with 2 small children. Last month my return flight to Bali was delayed by 3 hours each way. Also don't bother with trying to check in on the app. It does not work. I will never book with this airline again. Not worth the problems for the cheaper price.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Denpasar
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"warning people of poor service"

(United States)

In a recent business trip to Singapore, my usual airline was booked full. I decided to try Lion Air. I am disabled and require a wheelchair for long walks. That is always a challenge for any airline to get right. My usual airline, AirAsia, does not charge for a wheelchair if arranged up front. Lion charges a whopping 30.00 SGD for a wheelchair. Now my first piece of advice, do not use Lion Air is you need help getting around. I found that the words "Customer" and "Service" are fairly unknown. Lion is especially bad with that concept. If there was a zero star rating I would readily give them that rating. I am an American, Indonesia extends what is called a "Visa on Arrival" to USA and some other countries. When I went to get my boarding pass the Lion Air employee refused to give me a boarding pass because I did not have an Indonesian Visa in my passport. I tried explaining that I get the visa on arrival. He still refused. I asked for his manager and explained it to her. Finally after much deliberation (and showing where I have done this many times before) they issued my boarding pass. The young man apologized that he was only doing his job. Well I am sorry too but warning people of poor service in this forum is mine. In all fairness most of the people were nice but still did not take care of the customer. One young man at Jakarta was helpful but only after paying him an additional 100,000 IDR.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to CGK
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"flights were cancelled"

(India)

We have been trying to get out of Gili island for a couple of days. Due to the volcanic activity all flights were cancelled. We called Lombok and Lion Air informed that one or two flights were operational so head there to find out it was fake. We take a boat from Lombok to Bali and reach the Lion Air counter at 2am. We waited at the desk until someone asked us to not sit at their counter(although lots of other flight counters had no problem with the same) we get out and return to the counter at 5 for cancelling our ticket and issuing new ones for which we were charged an exorbitant amount. 8 million rp! Being extremely tired, we agree. One of the payments didn't process on the credit card so we went to their Lion Air customer service. They fleeced us there too with bad exchange rates. Post that we go in and since one from three tickets was yet to be cancelled and reissued we did that at the machine. The cancellation for which was less than 5 million! And now the flight is delayed. Not surprised. Never taking this airline again. We have met amazing people in Indonesia who gave us the best service except Lion Air.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBali to Jakarta
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cabin was very hot"

(Czech Republic)

The cabin was very hot. We were waiting on the runway for about half an hour, after that, they announced problems with the air-conditioning, but said it would be ok after take-off. Another half an hour, another announcement, only in Indonesian. Everyone onboard got angry (the increasing heat did not help) and started exiting the plane. No staff were able to explain what was going on - they only word was 'sorry'. People deboarded and were arguing while standing on the runway for another 15 minutes. Then we were shuffled to back to the terminal and told to wait for a replacement aircraft. Their ineptitude to tell us what's going on really surprised me. Never flying with Lion Air again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYogyakarta to Denpasar
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"nobody at the check in"

(Indonesia)

Flight was scheduled at 06.20. Arrived early at the airport around 03.30 am. The information gate "check in open". But nobody at the check in counter. And when I asked the airport security they said it will be open at 05.00 am. I was hoping to be able to check in sooner to be able to rest at the gate. No difference from taking a bus from a bus terminal.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMakassar to Kendari
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"zero customer service"

(Australia)

Nias to Medan with Lion Air, and I arrived 2 hours prior to my 9:30am domestic flight only to be told it had been cancelled and they had very kindly put me on the 7am flight - but failed to send an email to inform me! Then they charged me extra to put my surfboards on a 10:30 flight which was delayed by a further hour. This resulted in me missing my international flight. No compensation, zero customer service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNias to Medan
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

Lion Air customer review

(Netherlands)

My friend and I booked a flight from Krabi Airport to Bangkok for a very good price with Lion Air subsidiary Thai Lion Air. Seen the mostly negative reviews of Lion Air itself and were a bit hesitant to fly, but figured it would probably be alright. The experience was actually better than I expected. Yes, we did have one of Lion Air's notorious delays (about 25 minutes) and no, they did not mention it nor apologize. However, the flight itself was allright. Seats and legroom are comparable to other low-cost airlines and we comfortable enough for me (I'm just under 1.80 m). Staff are friendly and in-flight food and drinks are inexpensive. I don't know anything about the quality since I only had tea. Overall, I can say that if you don't mind a little delay, Thai Lion Air can be a good budget-concious choice.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKrabi to Bangkok Don Muang
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Lion Air customer review

(Indonesia)

The flight was shown as on-time but when I approached the desk and was told by staff it was delayed by 10 minutes, then told 20 minutes, an hour later we were asked to walk to another gate to a replacement plane. Once seated another passenger showed me his boarding pass that was the same seat as mine. The cabin crew tried telling me I was in the wrong seat, despite me showing my pass that she claimed was one row. I pointed out that row was already full, and I offered to move to the adjacent seat next seat. No explanation or was forthcoming for duplicate boarding passes.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Bengkulu
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

Lion Air customer review

(Indonesia)

Flying Lion Air (operated by Wings Abadi Air) from Kupang to Atambua on 16th June. It was nice journey onboard although it is a short flight. New ATR72-600 had quite nice legroom. Price was very affordable. Flight attendants have nice uniforms accompanied by wonderful smile. I will recommend and choose Wings Air in short flight again.
AircraftATR72-600
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKupang to Atambua
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 69 Reviews