Top 100 Airlines  

Lion Air

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 73 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"price was amazing"

(Turkey)

We flow from Kuala Lumpur to Jakarta and Jakarta to Singapore with Lion Air. I didn't expect much in terms of customer care and service and choose this airline merely for its cheap offers. However, I was quite impressed of this airline for several reasons: 1) There was no cancellation or any delay of our two legs with Lion Air. 2) I found the crew very polite, they had a smile on their faces while welcoing passengers during boarding. 3) I was also very impressed witnessing the staff helping passengers actively with storing their big and heavy bags onto overhead bins, this is a touch that you wouldn't see with European crews. 4) Crew engaged in emergency instructions. They briefed passengers in the exit rows about their duties. There was a seat empty on the exit row so a cabin member was asking people if they would like to sit in the exit row. 5) Crew were not good with English skills, their airline magazine also has no english content at all. 6) Price was amazing compared to other carriers. Full service carrirers such as Malaysia and Garuda wanted 4 times as much money as Lion Air. 7) Seat was comfortable with old fashinoned leather which I do prefer over these new but thin and hard seats from many carriers. Leg space was limited but acceptable for a 2 hours flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to CGK
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"read feedback before booking"

(Finland)

Booked a Lion Air flight from Bali to Jakarta because I had a connecting flight to Europe 4 hrs later after arriving to Jakarta. When checking status of flights same day as I should fly, there's no such flight - checking mail and in the spambox is a mail from Lion Air (late from previous day), saying that my flight is cancelled and I have a ticket for a flight 1 hr later. Fine I thought, mailed the Lion Airs customer service and asked if they know if the flight is on time and how I best can take me from terminal 3 to terminal 2 in Jakarta and explained that is important for me to check in 2 hrs before my connecting flight to Europe. Only answer I got was that it is not possible for me to cancel a flight per e-mail and no other information. Mailed them back asking what kind of customer service is this when not answering any of the questions I asked and told them that I'm not trying to cancel my flight, just trying to make sure that I will get to terminal 2 in time, of course no answer to my second mail. Got to Denpasar 3 hrs before my flight to Jakarta just to meke sure everything's ok, checking in with my old ticket and was told that my flight is 1 hr later as I already knew, asked if the flight is on time, they assured me so. Boarding half an hour later and departed 1 h 15 mins late, landed, waited for my baggage 45 mins, tried to take a shuttle bus to other terminal, it never came, took an overpriced taxi, but it was worth it, and I got to the check in 1 hr before my connecting flight. Only just made it and never been so stressed. Worst airline I ever used and the customer service is a joke! I learned a lesson also, always read feedback before booking anything, if I'd checked feedback on Lion Air before booking I'd chosen another company, I suggest you do the same.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDPS to CGK
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a complete disaster"

(Thailand)

Jakarta to Denpasar and a complete disaster with Lion Air. The flight was 1.5 hours late with no information provided at all. When asked, ground staff shrugged, were rude and said they don't know. All this for a 9pm flight. On the airplane itself, they said the lateness was due to "operational reasons". I will never fly them again and wouldn't recommend them either.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCGK to DPS
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"30 mins waiting for bus"

(Indonesia)

Denpasar to Jakarta with Lion Air was a terrible experience. The departure time from Denpasar was 18.15. At the time of check in at 17.15 I am told that flight is on time. Then at 1745 we are told that flight is 30 mins late, and finally the flight departs at 20.45. It landed at 21:50 and we were then left on tarmac for 30 minutes waiting for a bus to pick up and take us to the terminal.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDPS to CGK
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

Lion Air customer review

(Indonesia)

The Lion Air flight was delayed for an hour. The boarding gate were overcrowded as many flights to different cities were also delayed. Flight was smooth. The cabin was comfortable. Luckily it was a short haul flight, so I didn't mind the short seat pitch. You get what you paid. With low ticket price, I wouldn't have high expectation.
AircraftBoeing 737-800NG
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCGK to JOG
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not worth the problems"

(Indonesia)

You think I would have learned my lesson after 90% or so of flights I have taken with Lion Air have been delayed. Now sitting on the floor in the crowded waiting lounge as no seats are available with another 2 hour delay, just announced at take off schedule. Not fun with 2 small children. Last month my return flight to Bali was delayed by 3 hours each way. Also don't bother with trying to check in on the app. It does not work. I will never book with this airline again. Not worth the problems for the cheaper price.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Denpasar
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"warning people of poor service"

(United States)

In a recent business trip to Singapore, my usual airline was booked full. I decided to try Lion Air. I am disabled and require a wheelchair for long walks. That is always a challenge for any airline to get right. My usual airline, AirAsia, does not charge for a wheelchair if arranged up front. Lion charges a whopping 30.00 SGD for a wheelchair. Now my first piece of advice, do not use Lion Air is you need help getting around. I found that the words "Customer" and "Service" are fairly unknown. Lion is especially bad with that concept. If there was a zero star rating I would readily give them that rating. I am an American, Indonesia extends what is called a "Visa on Arrival" to USA and some other countries. When I went to get my boarding pass the Lion Air employee refused to give me a boarding pass because I did not have an Indonesian Visa in my passport. I tried explaining that I get the visa on arrival. He still refused. I asked for his manager and explained it to her. Finally after much deliberation (and showing where I have done this many times before) they issued my boarding pass. The young man apologized that he was only doing his job. Well I am sorry too but warning people of poor service in this forum is mine. In all fairness most of the people were nice but still did not take care of the customer. One young man at Jakarta was helpful but only after paying him an additional 100,000 IDR.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to CGK
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"flights were cancelled"

(India)

We have been trying to get out of Gili island for a couple of days. Due to the volcanic activity all flights were cancelled. We called Lombok and Lion Air informed that one or two flights were operational so head there to find out it was fake. We take a boat from Lombok to Bali and reach the Lion Air counter at 2am. We waited at the desk until someone asked us to not sit at their counter(although lots of other flight counters had no problem with the same) we get out and return to the counter at 5 for cancelling our ticket and issuing new ones for which we were charged an exorbitant amount. 8 million rp! Being extremely tired, we agree. One of the payments didn't process on the credit card so we went to their Lion Air customer service. They fleeced us there too with bad exchange rates. Post that we go in and since one from three tickets was yet to be cancelled and reissued we did that at the machine. The cancellation for which was less than 5 million! And now the flight is delayed. Not surprised. Never taking this airline again. We have met amazing people in Indonesia who gave us the best service except Lion Air.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBali to Jakarta
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cabin was very hot"

(Czech Republic)

The cabin was very hot. We were waiting on the runway for about half an hour, after that, they announced problems with the air-conditioning, but said it would be ok after take-off. Another half an hour, another announcement, only in Indonesian. Everyone onboard got angry (the increasing heat did not help) and started exiting the plane. No staff were able to explain what was going on - they only word was 'sorry'. People deboarded and were arguing while standing on the runway for another 15 minutes. Then we were shuffled to back to the terminal and told to wait for a replacement aircraft. Their ineptitude to tell us what's going on really surprised me. Never flying with Lion Air again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYogyakarta to Denpasar
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"nobody at the check in"

(Indonesia)

Flight was scheduled at 06.20. Arrived early at the airport around 03.30 am. The information gate "check in open". But nobody at the check in counter. And when I asked the airport security they said it will be open at 05.00 am. I was hoping to be able to check in sooner to be able to rest at the gate. No difference from taking a bus from a bus terminal.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMakassar to Kendari
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 73 Reviews