Vote Now  

LIAT

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 107 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"clearly needs competition"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew from Barbados to St Martin via Antigua. Flight to Antigua no problems but transfer from Antigua to st Martin was a joke! Cancelled flight with no direction from staff at airport. Poor staff being given hassle, found out same flight cancelled yesterday as well and other reports continued cancellations. Shocking service and a disgrace. This airline clearly needs competition.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBGI to SXM via ANU
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"LIAT is very disorganised"

(Barbados)

Bridgetown to Dominica. LIAT is the worst airline - never on time. Delayed for 2 to 3 hours everytime I fly with them. If you can avoid flying with them please do. Once after being delayed for 3 hours, in the middle of the flight they announced they wouldn't be landing in the first country due to technical difficuilties they are proceeding to the next country. Fair enough. 23 passangers including I, had to stay until the next morning for the next avilable flight. The rooms of the hotel in which we stayed were hot and uncomfortable with very poor service. LIAT is very disorganised.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBGI to DOM
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disgusted with the service"

(Trinidad & Tobago)

I have never experienced such poor service, disdain and discourtesy from any industry. I travelled to St. Vincent in June 2016, My return flight which was carded the 19th June 2016 was cancelled and I was only informed of that when I went to check in on that date. The discourteous and disrespectful staff member walked to the Lobby and simply said that the flight was cancelled and LIAT was not responsible for our accommodation and transportation. I managed to get a return flight the next morning. LIAT you have messed up my daughter's wedding plans as I cannot be there. After an hour and a half delay, my flight on the 11th November 2016, was cancelled at approximately 10.45 pm. I think because LIAT have the monopoly on this route, they are taking advantage of your passengers. They have no problems accepting my money, at least deliver a good service. My experience with the Trinidad staff has been very courtesy, but some of the St. Vincent staff, their attitude leaves much to be desired. I hope that when the new airport opens in St. Vincent, that the competition LIAT get is more than enough to give a good wake up call. I am disgusted with the service of LIAT.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePOS to SVD
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"airline is not reliable"

(United States)

LIAT pretty much has a monopoly between the eastern Caribbean / West Indies so if you travel between islands via air, you're likely going to experience LIAT. I flew from Barbados to St Vincent and the flight left 2 hours early - really. Then flew from from St Vincent to Dominica - the flight left 2 hours late and sat on the tarmac without air conditioning for at least an hour - and everybody was drenched in sweat and miserable, and then my bags didn't make it - none of them. They were delivered to the hotel the next day by a LIAT contracted driver who wanted a tip for delivering the bags. I then flew from Dominica to St Kitts - and that was 2 hours late again. Bottom line is that this airline is not reliable, has a monopoly and knows it - I think I'd rather take a boat, but it's what is there - I don't like it, but it is what it is.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSVD to UVF
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"8hrs sitting at that airport"

(British Virgin Islands)

My first encounter with LIAT was January 2014 when I was about to take up residency and work in the BVI. The employers asked that I purchase a one-way ticket for which they planned to reimburse but I was met with difficulty in doing so, even though I provided all the necessary proof of my reason for travelling. I was forced to buy a return ticket with promise that the airline would put up the balance as credit on my next flight (with a year to use it) however I had to pay $31. from this balance have this done. I didn't travel again until a year and a half later so I lost my money. My second encounter was July 2015 when I was returning from SVG, with my son. Our flight was supposed to be 3:15pm I never left the airport till 6:30pm but not before being switched to 3 different flights with 3 different sets of boarding passes, no proper explanation and some how they forgot to switch our luggage. It was not until I was waiting by the luggage wheel for how long until I realized I was luggage-less. I reported this filled the necessary paper work and they promise to contact me which they never did. It was up to me to make calls all of the time to follow up on my suitcases. After 3 days of hell and having to buy clothes for my son, I finally received a call to say my luggage had arrived in Tortola. My next experience was in November 2015 when I travelled to Barbados for a visa appointment with intent to return home the following day. On my way back I was left at St Kitts airport at 2:35pm to await a connecting flight. I remained at that airport until 9:45pm with steady announcements that the flight was delayed until finally an announcement asked that the passengers return to the check in desk downstairs. I was then told that my flight out would be after 6pm the next day and that transportation would take me to and from a hotel. Arriving at the hotel where there was no pre-arrangements for accommodations and had to wait hours for this to be verified. Thanks to LIAT for the $30 voucher for meal. So I was scheduled to work the next afternoon shift and so had to be calling my supervisor to get a shift exchange with a coworker so I wouldn't go down as absent. My next encounter was August 2015 when my son was returning home. His flight was cancelled due to weather condition, a fair reason. Next morning I show up at the airport and was told my son couldn't check in because they have to deal with the other passengers whose flights were not affected by the cancellations the day before and that my son could not get a flight out until the next 5 days. This I think was ridiculous and I actually had to quarrel to get some information or I would have sat there all day without getting any. In February this year I travelled to SVG again, on my return date I got to the airport from which I live many miles away only to be told my flight would be late and I would miss my connecting flight from Barbados and that I would have to return home and travel the next day. Hello, what's the use of providing contact info when no one bothers to use them to update you about changes? My most recent encounter was last month when my 13 yr old son was returning to SVG. Got to the airport at 11:00am to check in for a 12:45pm flight, and spent 8hrs sitting at that airport before 1 single LIAT plane landed at that airport. Fortunately my son got home after 1am next morning without any overnights and I was grateful. Travelling again next 3wks, better service please.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSVD to EIS
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"luggage was removed from the flight"

(United States)

Verified Review | The flight from St. Vincent to Trinidad was delayed and our luggage was removed from the flight with no information given. We arrived almost three hours later and our luggage was never placed back on the flight. When we inquired about our luggage there was no reason or response given. We explained that we were traveling the next morning and they were of no help. The luggage did not arrive on time the next day and we had to purchase other items as we were traveling with small children. I hope to never have to use their services again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSVD to POS
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"treat the public with disdain"

(United Kingdom)

Originally flew into Barbados 22.8.16 to pick up LIAT flight to St Vincent that same evening, got through security to be told flight cancelled and we could either travel without luggage or stay overnight in Barbados, we chose the latter and flew out the next day. After a brilliant wedding and holiday we returned to E T Joshua 5.9.16 for a 15:40 flight to Barbados to meet connection at 19:25. Flight delayed and connection missed. No apology from LIAT and other members of my party still in Barbados waiting on standby. No apologies no explanations. Poor very poor. Until Argyle international completed and running we will not return to the beautiful islands of St Vincent and the Grenadines. One highlight was a friendly and helpful member of staff who wheeled my step mother through the airport and tried to go find a manager buy with no success. LIAT are causing much tourism to be lost. Once again very poor that one airline has the monopoly and feel they can treat the public with disdain and putting strain on crew and front desk staff who take the brunt of our complaints and seem to have learnt to shrug them off with the standard 'you just have to wait'. St Vincent and the other affected islands need to do something. Enough is enough.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSVD to BGO via UVF
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"LIAT is awful"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Juan to St Kitts. LIAT is awful. My husband and I checked in for a 6am flight, they sent our bags down the chute and then said come back in 7 hours - flight delayed! We came back, board showed no more changes, got through nightmare TSA line and then delayed 7 more hours! I had our bags pulled, cancelled our reservations as our vacation was disappearing - LIAT did not acknowledge their problem for another 24 hours! They promised to refund our ticket price. Every email says the refund is coming - no refund. Value for the money=zero.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSJU to SKB
Date FlownJuly 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"utterly disgraceful"

(United Kingdom)

Barbados to St Vincent with LIAT. What can I say that many people havent already said? I do a lot of travelling for work and LIAT is the worst airline I have ever flown with. LIAT is rotten to the core and this filters down to the staff. This is what happens when there is no competition from other airlines. Owners don't care and neither doe the staff. What LIAT doesn't realise is that St Vincent (like many other Caribbean islands) rely on tourism and the experience tourist receive from LIAT will determine whether they return. Shame on you LIAT, shame on the owners, shame on the government for not having any competition and shame on the staff, utterly disgraceful.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBGI to SVD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"4 flights, only 1 on time"

(United States)

Verified Review | Beef Island to San Juan via Antigua. My husband and I flew LIAT for the first and last time. We had 4 flights over 2 weeks and only 1 was on time. Unfortunately, the on time flight connected to a flight that was 4 hours late which meant we spent 6 rather than 2 hours in Antigua during which time we only had announcements that the flight was delayed and a further notice would be forthcoming in 45 minutes. There were no LIAT personnel in the gate area who could give any information. I was very grateful that we were not connecting to another flight in San Juan until the next day. Our other 2 flights were 2.5 and 1.5 hours late and again I was very grateful that we were not under any time constraints. Our first taxi driver told us that LIAT stands for Leave Island Any Time and they lived up to their reputation.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEIS to SJU via ANU
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no