LATAM Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 67 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"service level is getting worse"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Sao Paulo. Business Class Meals were below any level. Have choosen for Dinner the Grilled Shrimp with Grilled Polenta and Asparagus. The attached picture says everything, 3 little shrimps and the asparagus have been replaced by two thin green beans. Since LAN took over the former TAM in Brazil service level is getting worse in Business Class every flight I take.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJohannesburg to Sao Paulo
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"The seat was alright"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Flew TAM Airlines from Madrid to Sao Paulo. A new airplane, the A350. I was impressed by the friendliness of the cabin crew. The seat was alright, not as cramped as Air France B777 nor as big a TAP A330. The IFE was a big disappointment, as there were very few movies and songs available. It was a night flight and I could sleep relatively well. The food portions were very small. I would fly again as long as they offer better fares. Normally the best value to fly to South America remains to be Iberia. I cannot say my ticket was cheap for economy class.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Sao Paulo
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I would never fly LATAM again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Buenos Aires to Iguazu. If you fly with Latam arrive at least 3 hours in advance even for domestic flights. I arrived 1hr 45 mins in advance and was put onto a later flight- no explanation, I can guess because the flight was overbooked. I asked to speak to a supervisor to discuss the change and they refused to send me one. The response was 'it doesn't matter you have a flight' - I suggest it does matter, this has now affected my onward journey. After getting my boarding card, I had to join a two hour long check in queue. I have flown from many airports across the world, this by far is the most chaotic,stressful and experience. The staff are unhelpful and verging on rude. If I had the option I would never fly LATAM again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBuenos Aires to Iguazu
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"enjoyed nothing about this flight"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | One good thing about this experience, the cost of it. Ticket from Sao Paulo to London was cheap. You really get what you pay for. Enjoyed nothing about this flight, uncomfortable seats, average service, terrible food. Flight arrived on time at least. The merger of LATAM has done nothing to improve TAM, I had hoped LAN would make improvements, I am yet to see them. Avoid this airline where possible.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSao Paulo to London
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Check in was chaotic"

(Argentina)

Verified Review | Buenos Aires to Salta. Check in at the airport for the outbound flight was chaotic. When I asked the Latam agent what the problem was she replied "What do you expect, its vacation season". All of this hour and forty minute wait, despite having checked in online the day before. No bag drop available. The flight was then delayed almost four hours. To Latam's credit, we were given a voucher for a sandwich and soft drink. Once on board, wasn't expecting smiles but was expecting apologies from the captain and crew for the delayed flight - never happened. Food for sale on board. Purchased a hot tea which was tepid and not worth the price. The return flight six days later was on time.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBuenos Aires to Salta
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Shout out to staff of LATAM"

(United States)

Verified Review | Santiago-Chile to New York. First they allow me to change the date of my 92 years old mother's flight due to an accident, for a very small fee. Then my mother had a problem with her visa, so she couldn't travel the second date, They put her on a waiting list for a third time. The day of the flight she was assisted to her seat, but it was the wrong seat, so my mother was removed to her right seat which it was already taken. The staff then was extremely nice and acomodated her on business. Shout out to the staff of LATAM.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSantiago-Chile to New York
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"great plane, woeful service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Great plane, woeful service from Sydney to Rio de Janeiro via Auckland and Santiago. The only good thing about my LATAM experience was the plane on the Auckland-Santiago route. Great plane, clean, modern, great technology and comfortable. The booking process was painful with multiple problems on the which continued when I tried to book a vegetarian meal (Painful and lenghthy experience) and check in online (website malfunctioning). The first leg Sydney - Auckland was with Jetstar who LATAM seemed to have not informed them that I had connecting flights and the counter staff had no idea how to deal with this, and the gave me a boarding pass for the Santiago leg and said to go to the transit, which I did and then found out that my baggage was lost in the airport. Jetstar staff all gone and LATAM staff had no idea or ability to contact Jetstar, but this was eventually sorted out. The food on the flight was pretty horrible, cold soggy uninteresting meals. Staff were nice though. when I got to Santiago it was on time but the chaos and confusion in the airport the LATAM desk overrun with angry peopel shouting, people jumping the queue staff confused and people missing connecting flights etc - it was awful. Eventually after two hours of that mess I got my boarding pass then the next plane was delayed by over two hours with no LATAM staff available or interested to help. The gate staff were overwhelemed with crowds of angry and frustrated people in overcrowded gates with so much chaos, in a filthy airport that just was not coping with the volume. I gave up trying to ask any staff what was going on and to find things the onle info I got was from shop keepers. The worst customer service ever.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Rio de Janeiro via Auclkland / Santiago
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I had to cancel my trip"

(Canada)

Verified Review | 5 months of waiting and I do not get my money back from Latam. My wife and I bought our tickets in August 2016 to fly March 2017. Being Peruvian she paid less. Being a tourist I had to pay a complete fare but my ticket was refundable. I had to cancel my trip. I telephoned Latam a month in advance and they assured me there was no problem and asked me to wait 4 weeks to get the refund. Nothing happened. So I called back in April and they said the ticket had already been refunded to my credit card. I checked and this was not true. Called again and they told me it was an error. They were going to investigate and gave me a new "case" number. Another month and no news. Finally they changed again my "case" number and promised to solve the problem. I have already received 4 case numbers and spent 5 months calling, writing. Nothing at all except for: "we understand and will get to you as soon as possible". What can a tourist do?
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLima to Tumbes
Date FlownMarch 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"only given in Portuguese"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Sao Paulo to Bogota on the first leg of this flight, at least I tried. Pilot needed to cancel the take off twice due to "technical problems" with the aircraft. Aircraft set on the tarmac for over three hours to be repaired, just to return to the gate again after having undertaken a second take off attempt. The problem was apparently not solved. Eventually the flight was cancelled completely and passengers were requested to disembark. No information from the ground staff and what is going on, and even worse, all the information that were given were only given in Portuguese language. Please note that this was an international flight from an international airport. Not acceptable. All in all this was a horrible trip with an unprofessional and incapable airline that has cost me almost a full day of my vacation. Two out of ten for LATAM organizing a decent hotel and snacks and drinks without further hassle and for the decent in-flight entertainment that helped passing the time (if it was operational, on some seats it froze and thus seized operation).
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSao Paulo to Bogota
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"my niece was denied her trip"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Santiago to Montevideo. LATAM's customer service agents are either very poorly trained, have been assigned no real decision-making authority, or both. The result is that the simplest, most reasonable and most straightforward request, if it happens not to appear in their manual, is denied. Yes, with a polite apology, and even with recognition of how very unfair it is to deny the request. But denied it is. My own experience involved making a typo on my Smartphone on their online reservation system. Booking a flight for my niece, I clicked on the wrong date. I couldn't fix it online even though I caught it within five minutes, so I phoned. First level of customer service: "That's too complicated for us". Escalated to second level of customer service: "I'm not authorized to change that". Escalated to third level of customer service: "What you request is very reasonable, but I will need to forward the case to my supervisor". The Supervisor then didn't get back to us until after the (incorrect) flight had taken place. I was out $300 and my niece was denied her trip. If you must use LATAM, book your flight via a travel agency, so that you don't ever have to deal with their customer service personnel.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSantiago to Montevideo
Date FlownMay 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 67 Reviews