LATAM Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 124 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"very disappointing experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Auckland. A very disappointing experience this time around, not that I was expecting other the top service but it was below average. To start off, the Check-In was slow as the Ground Team was more worried about having a briefing then prioritising the passengers. I wasn't given a fast track pass through security as they had none even when they seem to be organised. Upon boarding, again there was no priority for High Tiered and Premium passengers and main reason being it was a bus gate. The Crew onboard were very mediocre, absolutely no one stood out even with their extra touches. Pre-departure drinks took a long time to get around with a very basic amenity kit given straight after. The catering was okay nothing amazing with selections or taste. At least the IFE was decent, plenty of options though I couldn't compare it with Emirates offering. Overall I think the Team needs to be more personal, smile more and prioritise the passengers.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Auckland
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"a drop in the quality of services"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | Sao Paulo to Foz de Iguacu. Unfortunately in recent months there has been a drop in the quality of services offered by LATAM. From a faulty online booking system that has been in maintenance for months, as well as a total lack of motivation on the part of the employees, mainly in LATAM BRAZIL. At the check-in for passengers with Status Loyalty / Lanpass simply in Guarulhos there is no one, three employees chatting at check-in the lolzes understand the atmosphere of professionalism of the Company. Boarding via remote location. After takeoff the cabin crew disappears in the galleys and you can find them eating and talking. The on-board service, no free drinks - no free snacks (they are worse then US airlines), begins 30 minutes after take-off on a 1:25 flight. Notice the total lack of interest on the part of the crew in "selling" the products offered and disappear quickly into the Galley. In a market where there have been months of increasing criticism of Latam and services equivalent to a "low cost", there is a change from a corporate client to better companies in the market such as Avianca, Azul and Gol (the latter improving every time more). And at the end of the trip, a questionnaire is received from the LATAM President Customers Relations with a questionnaire to be pre-filled; sign that the company is concerned. I suggest checking why so many Premium customers are no longer flying with LATAM, and you are doing nothing to keep them.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSao Paulo to Foz de Iguacu
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"really good flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew return trip to Easter Island from Santiago. Really good flight. Flight was 5 hours and the seats were comfortable. Food was good for airline food. Staff friendly and helpful. I even got a whiskey in the loo queue! The inflight films were a good selection and new films featured. If I was lucky enough to be in S America agin I would travel with LATAM
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSantiago to Easter Island
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"great food and beverage"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Late night departure out of Santiago to Auckland, Business class was about 1/2 full and crew very prompt in serving an excellent dinner and clearing so those who wanted to sleep could settle quickly. Within 90mins of departure a 4 course meal with great wines had been served and cleared. Breakfast served when you wanted it and I liked the menu card that let you make selections and build the breakfast. Business class on these 787 is in my opinion excellent. Good range of new release movies, professional crew, high quality quilts and pillows and comfortable beds, matched with great food and beverage. Premium check in area at SCL is excellent but hard to find if you weren't made aware in advance, I like how it leads directly to Latam's lounge. Lounge is fine, but with limited food options if you want to dine before flight.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSantiago to Auckland
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"it went to hell big time"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My wife and I have been flying Lan for about ten years. Lan used to be a very good airline, but after the merger with Tam it went to hell big time. The list of ordeals that we have experienced with LATAM are endless. They include one time when they completely lost the record of my wife's Business Class flight from LA to Lima. If you have to make a change in your ticket forget it. You will just have to buy a whole new ticket. I have lost numerous tickets because of that. Sometimes their change fees exceed the cost of the original ticket. Their customer service is the worst ever. If you have a problem their standard answer is that will open a "case." Then you never hear from them again. One time my wife (who is Peruvian) asked why they had not responded to a "case" that they had opened. They said that they would open a case to see why the "case had not been answered. If you go into a Lan office in Lima it is full of angry customers. One time my wife went into the office and bought a ticket. The agent booked it on the wrong day. Even there right in front of my wife she could not change it to the correct flight. She said that the computer would not allow her to do it. Another time we had a problem with one of my wife's purchased Business Class flights. We called Lan's Customer Service and were connected to one of their call centers in Columbia. The agent put us on "hold" except that he actually did not put us on hold. We could hear him laughing about my wife's problem in the background with some of the other agents. What kind of an airline is this? Unfortunately Lan has a government arranged monopoly on some domestic Peruvian routes. Another thing, Lan -- unlike any other airline in Peru -- charges more than double the fare for non-Peruvian residents. I just priced a flight for my wife and me: $80 for her and $196 for me.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLima to Talara
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They not approve what I said"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | In a previous post I have described the total lack of onboard service in a 3 hours flight from REC to GRU. I was describing the bad online service of LATAM. They did not offer one glass of water. Having paid 300 USD for a OW ticket is too much! Meanwhile I was writing here I send an official complaint to LATAM via web form. Please read the kind of answer that I got "Dear Mr...... In addition to our sincere greetings, we are contacting you to offer our apologies for the attention received. We are sorry about the situation you described, and would like to manifest that our purpose is to provide a service of excellence, warm and humane. Therefore, we do not approve the way you describe you were attended. We thank you for the opportunity to provide an answer, and we look forward to assist you in the near future. LATAM do not approve the way you describe you were attended" I never got a rude answer like that. Unless the customer representative has taken the same flight with me how he can answer like that. Rather than answer "we are sorry for bla bla" They not approve what I said.
AircraftA321 (PT-XPA)
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRecife to Sao Paulo
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"top price for a no-frills service."

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Domestic flight (JJ3525) from Recife to Sao Paulo for approximately 3 hour flight. No service onboard at all (no a glass of water was offered), they just announced the so-called Mercaso Tam, a paid service for sandwiches etc. I'm not expecting caviar or champagne but I suggest LATAM to have a look at his domestic competitors like Avianca or Azul well above the market average. OW flight for 300 USD and no service at all. Narrow space for your leg. Before to be merged with LAN, TAM had a great service. Today you pay a top price for a no-frills service. My personal preference list is (value/money/service) 1) Avianca 2) Azul 3) GOL. Positive note: Check In desk in REC very professional and kind.
AircraftA321 (PT-XPA)
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRecife to Sao Paulo
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"could not fault the service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Auckland to Santiago on Latam (Qantas Ticket but LA aircraft) I could not fault the service, comfort or overall experience. It was excellent. Latam applies an "old school" spacing between the seats in J Class (787) and along with a very long flat bed there was a real sense of space and comfort. High quality duvet, pillow and seat encourages deep sleep. Food and wine was a high point and crew seem to take genuine pride in presenting Chilean fare and hospitality. Airlines and their crew should represent their culture and Latam was a great intro to Chile. Plane was full and crew to pax ratio was good, toilets always clean but tiny (that's the same in every Dreamliner). Latam does seem to get a lot of negative feedback on its regional flights but this long haul flight was worthy of 5 stars, only request - PJ's would be good! Bags took a while, but this was a conveyor belt issue and probably not Latam's fault.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to Santiago
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"avoid at all costs"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | I was flying from Rio Branco to Curitiba. When we were waiting for the flight to open, the information on screen changed to 'delayed', but no one cared to inform us. Only after an hour they called out the landing ground had been 'too wet' for the plane to land, and therefore we would have to wait for more information. It took another 1,5 hours before we heard that our flight was truly cancelled, so even though it was already clear we wouldn't be flying at 11 pm, action was undertaken only around 2 am. We then had to wait for 1,5 hour for vans to drive us to hotels in Rio Branco. They had ordered only 3 and we were with way too many people. If they had ordered more at 11, the progress would have been quicker. In the meantime, almost nobody spoke English, and the staff kept reassuring us that the vans would arrive in 10 minutes (which would mean at least 40 minutes). The worst experience, however, was with the online customer service. I wanted to do an online check-in, but I needed a Brazilian CPF for that, which I don't have because I'm Dutch. It took me literally 4 hours to make them answer me and even then they responded very inadequately, slowly, they misread my questions on purpose to give the wrong answers and they made me pay double for check-in at the airport because their website is not functioning properly. I'm still waiting for them to compensate the made expenses, but so far I'm not expecting anything anymore. Sidenote: their planes are not comfortable if you're taller than 1,60m and don't expect to be served any food or water. Long story short: if cancelled flights, extremely long waiting times and terrible customer service are your thing, go fly with LATAM! If not, avoid at all costs.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteCuritiba to Manaus via Sao Paulo
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"wonderful experience"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | Paris to Buenos Aires via Sao Paulo. Excellent trip with this airline, my first time with them since LATAM was created. Onboard personnel are really professional, and flights took off and landed on time. To top it all I was unexpectedly promoted to business class on the last leg of my trip so that added to the wonderful experience flying with this airline. I'll definitely choose them again my next time to Europe
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSão Paulo to Buenos Aires
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes