LATAM Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 106 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I will be using an alternative airline"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | We had booked to fly from Flrianopolis to London on 22nd December. I have flown with TAM/LATAM for 7 years and a gold frequent flyer member. When we arrived in Florianopolis for the flight having downloaded our boarding passes 2 days before with assigned seat numbers we were told that there was a problem with the aircraft(1st lie) on the London leg and cancelled our reservation. The local LATAM sales staff said they could route us via Casablanca to London with Royal Air Maroc (2nd Lie) and they tagged our luggage accordingly. We checked in for the booked flight to Sao Paulo. When we arrived in Sao Paulo we looked at the Departures board and there was no problem with the flight to London and Royal Air Maroc knew nothing of the reservation. We were kept at Sao Paulo until 2.00 am until our luggage was recovered. Whilst waiting there were 6 other passengers who had had their tickets cancelled because the London Flight had been overbooked. We were then booked on to the BA flight (much better service) the following day. Due to next day arrival in London my booked rental car was no longer available and I was faced with upgrade costs as it was now Christmas Eve. LATAM have refused to pay any compensation because their staff in Sao Paulo put as a reason for missing the original London Flight as a delay in the connecting flight (3rd Lie). I have followed their complaints procedures and made suggestions to settle the claim to no avail. As a regular traveller between Brazil and London they were presented options for future flights to settle my grievances amicably but to no avail. It appears that talking to the other passengers that had their tickets cancelled they all tell the same story. It is clear that LATAM use this form of fabrication of the truth to avoid paying out compensation for their continuing policy of overbooking flights. So much so for their Loyalty programme that clearly counts for nothing and as to their call centre based in Columbia they are a complete waste of time. Rest assured that in future I will be using an alternative airline.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFlorianopolis to London via Sao Paulo
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"made our experience a terrible one"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Arequipa to Cuba via Lima. Me and my friend used Latam Peru this summer in our trip from Cuba-Lima and Arequipa-Lima and Lima-Cuba again. The flight attendants are ok, but that was all it was ok about their flights! The nightmare started with a 2 hours delay, after we got to our destination, they have lost my friends suitcase. Once we got to the info point, no surprise, no one talked english (lucky we speak ok spanish) after hours of waiting.. they did not provide any funding to help us with the situation. When they finally find the luggage 3 days later, stuff was missing. On our second flight, they didn't lost our luggage anymore, but we did not know that when you buy your tickets there is the separation between a citizen of Peru and all the other countries. So even though they asked for our citizenship when we bought the tickets, there was no message that the tickets we are about to buy can just be used by peruvian citizens. Therefore when we got to the airport was a huge fine of 250 euros each was waiting for us, because we bought the wrong tickets. The alternative was to cancel our flight without a refund.. In other words, i don't wish to anyone the experience we had with Latam, they made our experience in South America a terrible one.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteArequipa to Cuba via Lima
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"attentive, polite, very professional"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | Fourteen hour daylight flight from Santiago Chile to Melbourne with LATAM. Very good cabin crew, attentive, polite, very professional. Good IFE although movies could be more up to date. Lunch served after take off. Menu quite interesting although portions seem to have been reduced. No more small salad, no more bread roll, no more desert (except for a small, packaged, piece of cake). Good Chilean wines and plenty of drinks all round. Drinks and food available in the galley throughout the flight.
AircraftBoeing 797-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSantiago Chile to Melbourne
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

LATAM Airlines customer review

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | Flew LATAM from Auckland to Santiago. Very efficient checkin by Air New Zealand staff. Organized boarding by rows, plenty of bin space for hand luggage. Very attentive staff, food choices interesting but could be more substantial. Good IFE. Plenty of snacks and drinks available in the galley during the 10 hour flight. Booked "extra space seat" for US$50, well worth the extra charge.
AircraftBoeing 797-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Santiago
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"very poor service received"

(Peru)

Trip Verified | Lima to Iquitos. First, it was LAN Chile, an excellent airline with superb service (nice food, games, extras, etc.). Then it changed to LAN Peru, the service was not that good anymore, but decent. After years of travelling in LAN, the airline is now called LATAM (a merge between LAN and Brazilian TAM). First, the trip was two hours delayed. Then, we could not choose our seats, so I was in row 1 and my friend in row 19. They did not give us any newspaper to read and no food, not even peanuts, pretzels or a glass of water. The "entertainment online" offered assumes you have a smart device with you (with enough space and batteries) and it also assumes that you had previously downloaded their app at the gate (do they have Wi-Fi there? , did somebody told you this before entering the plane?). So, it was one of the most boring trips! Fortunately, it was a 1.5 hour trip, but taking into account the initial plane's delay and the fact that you have to be two hours in advance at the airport, we ended up our trip starving. On the return flight, my friend and I got stocked-up with drinks, food, candy, magazines, and so on. The trip was quite expensive even! Definitely, no comparison between the high price of the plane ticket and the very poor service received. I can't imagine a longer trip with this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLima to Iquitos
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"imitation of customer service"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | Bogota to Buenos Aires. Well, no points for this airline, I have a ticket (for my partner), the amount for the ticket was charged to my credit card, and LATAM annulled the ticket without any notification. They have withheld the funds charged to my credit card, denied service, required me to deal with their inept "call centre", complete with poor audio, mumbling service representatives who pass customers from one clown to another in a pathetic imitation of customer service, without offering any kind odd solution. Never again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBogota to Buenos Aires
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"refused to allow this"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Santiago to Isla de Pascua. LATAM has the worst costumer service I have experienced. I was originally flying from Santiago to Cusco with a layover in Lima. Due to extenuating circumstances, I had to return to the USA early and I did not use my ticket from Santiago to Lima but was able to get a flight from the USA to Lima so as to catch my original flight from Lima to Cusco. LATAM refused to allow this and forced me to cancel the entire flight. I called them to inform them of my plan and was not asking for any sort of refund and they denied me the ability to do this. I will never fly with them again and don't recommend ever booking with them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSantiago to Isla de Pascua
Date FlownApril 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"the crew were quite amazing"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Overall a great experience on this newly established direct flight from Santiago to Melbourne with Latam's new fleet of Dreamliners. For this long stretch Latam opts for the 900 Series providing the capacity for a 13.5-15 hr flight spending on direction of winds. Check-in in Santiago was super easy. The exclusive business check-in area is situated at level 3 of the airport, which is also where the VIP lounge is located. It took all of 5 minutes to check-in and go through the VIP passport and security control leading you directly into a very large lounge spread over 2 floors. Boarding commenced approx. 45 minutes before departure and doors were closed near enough at our scheduled departure time. To our surprise the scheduled 15 hour flight was reduced to 13.2 hrs. For me the layout of the 800 Series is nicer, but again no issue with the 900 Series. In-flight staff during the entire 13+ hr flight was non stop just looking after us, truly the busiest crew I have seen for a long time. We got dished out a lunch, a snack and a dinner approx. 2 hours before arrival. The food standards are OK, but not to compare to Singapore or Emirates. Even though an espresso pod machine should have been available, it was somehow out of action, which was disappointing. The South American wines are worth trying. Reds from Chile are amazing. Headphones are not the best in the air, with little or no noise cancellation benefits. No PJ's provided and the small amenity kit is also just OK, a trend with most airlines and why not as most of it ends up in the bin. On our flight no newspaper or magazine was available in English, a bit of a shame. The crew forgot to hand out migration forms and after asking 1 hr before landing I was told they had none on board. Minutes later they hastily started handing them out, however the crew wasn't familiar with the Australian requirements for each person to have a in-coming migration/customs form completed (both sides). Families were told only one per person was required. Further, business class passengers did not receive an Express card, which allows you to fast track passport and customs check-points. To add to this you can't use smart gates, as you must answer a question where you spend most time at and most South American countries prevent you to enter via the smart gates. Even though luggage was priority tagged our 4 cases had the pleasure to arrive right at the end. Back to the inflight experience, I mentioned to the purser that the right hand front toilet randomly would flush (also when you are sitting on it, which is a rather strange experience) and that the left hand lavatory had a faulty water tap, which was running non stop. After such a long day in the sky the purser wasn't really interested and told me the water tap issue is linked to the aircrafts hydraulics and it always happens at the start (2 hrs into the flight?) and yes the other toilet had a sensitive switch (clearly very sensitive as I never even touched it and it happened a few times). Aircraft Reg: CC-BGF in case Latam wants to get these items fixed. Overall the flight was great with amazing glimpses of the Antarctica, the crew were quite amazing and we arrived well in Melbourne without having to stop-over in Auckland NZ and sit there for 6 hours, so thank you Latam.
AircraftBoeing 787-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSantiago to Melbourne
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no transparency with the customers"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew LATAM Airlines from Montreal to Lima via New York. Worst company you could ask for! Absolutely no transparency with the customers, they had us stuck in the airport providing absolutely no explanation for 20 hours, telling us the flight will be there shortly every few hours. We later learned that the crew had actually left the airport hours ago. On arrival they lost all our luggage. Wouldn't have been bad except the fact they never delivered as promised, gave us phone numbers that are no longer in service and never returned any of our calls/emails. Our vacation ended up being ruined as we couldn't get out of the city so we could have a chance to recover our stuff. They never made a single move towards us.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Lima via New York
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"the service was spot on"

(Australia)

Lima to Santiago. Our first flight on Latam’s fleet of Boeing 787 and in fact our first flight on Latam in a wide bodied aircraft. We arrived at the business check-in counter and the usual annoying thing happened as ground staff wanted to redirect us to the economy section. Such a simple thing to manage by simply saying please come through into our business class area. Check-in was quick as expected. There is no Latam or partner lounge in Lima and we received 3 x US$ vouchers for 3 different food places within the terminal. We did run out of time, so never used them. Boarding the Boeing 787 is very exciting as the ceiling height is massive. Latam operates 2+2+2 configuration with ample space to reach your seat even it is the window seat. Whilst a short flight, the service was spot on. The purser introduced herself and overall inflight staff was in a pleasant way managing the cabin. Shortly after take off we were offered a decent breakfast and after having cleared away the trays, the crew arranged for a comfy duvet and large pillow. Windows got electronically dimmed. The choice of in-flight entertainment was excellent along with the screen size, whilst quite away from you. Head phones are not the best in the industry - maybe something Latam should upgrade to complete the overall great experience.
AircraftB787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLima to Santiago
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes