LATAM Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 145 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"one of the worst airline"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | Sao Paulo to London. This airline is going from a good one to one of the worst airlines you can fly between South America and Europe. Website is always showing some errors, online check-in does not work, Airport check in is OK, VIP Lounge is right now the best product they can offer boarding is chaotic with no Priority respect, plane is OK need some update. Cabin crew is friendly but should get some English lessons since they couldn't help a Britain Customer in any way - IFE broken, service is below you get on any European airline. If have not figure out if LATAM has destroyed the good reputation LAN had in the past after their merger with TAM, or as many Brazilian believe the Chilean Management have not idea about customer satisfaction.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSao Paulo to London
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"looked like it was poorly maintained"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On June 7th, 2018 I called the LATAM Customer service about my baggage allowance for a flight to Bucaramanga, Colombia. I was told by the LATAM customer service representative that I was allowed 2 bags under 23kg, I mentioned that I was playing a Golf Tournament in Bucaramanga and I was going to take a luggage bag under 23kg and a golf bag under 23kg, the LATAM Customer representative confirmed that it was allowed. So, I got a huge surprise at Check-In in Miami when I was forced to pay $100 for the Golf Bag for being a sporting equipment bag, this is ridiculous since that it is not the case on other airlines and I bought the Airline Ticket under False Pretense! On my return flight from Bucaramanga, I got a bigger surprise, when I was charged a higher fee this time, $119.27. Why? This is wrong, that I bought an Airline Ticket under false pretenses! Also, the food service was awful, the plane was dirty and it looked like it was poorly maintained. My seat on the return flight was loose, seat 13L. The only provide entertainment via an application and the seats have no charge connections for the IPAD or Phone!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Bogotá
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly with Latam again"

(United States)

Not Verified | My family (wife and two-year-old daughter) and I flew from Sao Paulo, Brazil to Los Angeles, California in May. The flights themselves were fine, but when we arrived in LA we found that all our luggage was lost. Annoying, but relatively common. One of the items Latam lost was our carseat which was needed for us to drive home. Latam's response "there's nothing we can do." Giving out loaner car seats in this situation is common practice at every other major airline. Latam's "solution" was for me to drive around LA at 10pm to find an open store and purchase a new carseat (not sure what would've happened if my wife was traveling alone with our daughter?). All this added 4 hours to our travel time getting us home very late and with a very tired two-year-old. We were told by everyone we at Latam LAX that we would be reimbursed by Latam for the purchase price of the carseat we were forced to buy AND we would get all our property back. We received our luggage 4 days later, but no carseat (wrapped up with the carseat was a small, antique, wooden stool a family member gave our daughter which can not be replaced). We contacted Latam and they said it can't be found and that the case was closed because we were already reimbursed for the purchase price of the carseat we were forced to buy (the price of the carseat we lost was MUCH higher than the one we bought in a panic). We have still not been reimbursed for our lost property and are just repeatedly being told they can't do anything. Every step of this process has been horrible. From the staff at LAX to the call center staff to the email exchanges. Everyone has treated us like it is our fault they lost our property. I have repeatedly been told by the call center staff there is no supervisor or manager on duty (a blatant lie, there's no such thing as a call center with no supervisors). This has been a horrible (and expensive) experience. I will never fly with Latam again and suggest nobody does! If companies are judged by how they act when things do not go well, then Latam is the worst company I've ever dealt with.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSao Paulo to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the airline did not fix the problem"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We travelled LATAM Airlines from JFK to Lima in June of this year. On our way to Lima already chairs in business class did not work correctly but we decided not to complain since things can happen. Well, on our way back from Lima to JFK after boarding a plane we were told that our two seats in business class were broken. We can assume that for more than a week the same chairs were broken and the airline did not fix the problem. Plains are ancient. In economy class, you cannot even move the armrest. You see the lack of maintenance.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLima to New York JFK
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Latam does not deliver on time"

(Peru)

Trip Verified | We live in Pucallpa, Peru. The last 5 interactions with Latam Airlines have all been disappointing. They let me sit in the airplane on the tarmac for 1.5 hours, then had us return to wait in the terminal for another 2 hours. Then they cancelled the flight. I believe they knew the whole time there was a technical problem with the plane the whole time, but waited until we could not have rescheduled to one of the other 4 flights that left that night. I saw them pull the luggage loading ramp up to the plane to take the luggage off the plane 2 hours before they cancelled the flight. They then rescheduled for the next morning. As a result, I did not meet my friend in Lima who flew out the next morning - the main purpose for my flight. Lots of people then missed their connecting flight to the United States. A nightmare for the traveler and for us who are supporting their trip. Our visitor's flight from Lima to Pucallpa was cancelled due to "fog". They did not take off from Lima for another 3 hours. Today I went to pickup another group flying Latam. This flight came to Pucallpa, but did not land because of "fog", then flew back to Lima. What a waste of time It seems like they are flying VFR (Visual Flight Regulations). They probably will not come now until the regularly scheduled evening flight - another 12 hours. How can they not know the weather conditions? How can they fly a commercial plane that cannot land in what I would call "mild" fog? As a side note, the arrival monitor said that the flight had landed. It is a problem living in a culture where it is so easy to lie. Yesterday, another visitor who purchased her ticket with Latam 3+ months ago, checked in with Latam 3 hours before the flight and was told it was overbooked and would have to wait 12 hours before the next flight. Ridiculous ! We had her buy a ticket on Peruvian and come much sooner. Latam now has a policy for different fares for different amount of luggage. In the process of booking my flight, it seemed like they were extracting fees for what is normal on other airlines here in Peru. They said my carry-on was too large and charged me $25 dollars. My carry on is a regulation size and I have never had a problem with the other airlines in Peru carrying it on for the past 6 years. The bottom line: Visitors come for 6 or 7 days, and are wasting up to 2 days of their trip because Latam does not deliver their flights on time. I would choose Peruvian Airlines, Star Peru, or LC Peru. Note: Watch LC Peru's luggage limits if you are coming from the USA with 2 bags (LC flys smaller airplanes). Hope this is helpful.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePucallpa to Lima
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"got a good deal price wise"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | Traveled from São Paulo to Johannesburg. Disorganized boarding, late almost two hours, three gate changes. Old plane. SAA overtook us by 2 hours. Food is bad. To organize special meals - in hope you get a better meal - you have to call them. Good luck with that when in Brazil: long wait. Otherwise, call another country for better service. I’ve called Germany and it worked just fine. Website is also full of 404 errors. Enthusiastic cabin crew, maybe to try to compensate the airline shortcomings? Oh, one cabin crew member didn’t speak English. She had to ask for help. Fair thing to say: I got a good deal price wise.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSão Paulo to Johannesburg
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"price has risen more than 100%"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Lima. My wife and I are planning a trip to Peru and were purchasing tickets as usual through Cathay Pacific website from Hong Kong to Lima (Peru) with transit in LA. As there was no option to book business class tickets for LA to Lima part of the trip in the end we have purchased only Hong Kong to LA through Cathay Pacific and decided to use the LATAM website to purchase business class tickets for LA to Lima on the same day. Everything was great until the payment part on LATAM website. Once we have entered the Visa CC details and clicked on pay now we have instantly received message that payment is rejected and to try making the payment again with provided link. As we were surprised with the message we have tried to make payment using MasterCard which in the end was also rejected by the website (ticketing office). At this pint we were scared about what has happened and decided to contact LATAM customer service directly. The CS officer picked up the call relatively fast and we have given him the reservation code to which he mentioned that the reservation is visible in the system but that their website sometimes rejects payments for no apparent reason. After waiting awhile for him to check with his manager he has offered to put us through to phone payment option where we again imputed our credit card details to be put on hold for another 5-10 minutes. The CS officer got back to us saying that unfortunately they are not able to accept payment over the phone at this time and in case we would like to keep the reservation we would need to go to ONE WORLD partner ticketing office in Hong Kong and make payment by presenting reservation code in matter of several days. As everything was done on Saturday I drove for 2 hours to HK airport and Cathay Pacific (one world partner) ticketing office to make the payment. At the counter I was told that CP is not able to accept payments for any other OneWorld partner ticket reservations. At this moment we called LATAM Customer Service again and they have said they are sorry for giving us wrong information but if we try again through their website the payment would now be accepted. I have gone online to try purchasing the tickets again while on the phone with CS but the price has risen more than 100% at the time. As we had reservation pending for payment in worth of cca US$7500 they didn't want to offer us the same price but told us that we have to pay US$16000 as the price displayed on their website at present. After complaining to CS over the phone they have said that they are not able to help us with problem anymore and if we want to complain we can do so online. So not only we lost the acceptable price for Business Class tickets, money for 2 hours worth of international calls but we were also scared as our connecting flights might not match. At this moment we had to contact Cathay Pacific to help us purchase connecting flight economy class by cancelling HK-LA tickets and reissuing HK-Lima tickets. It was the worst CS handling of a problem caused by either really lousy website or poor security center team for their payments as payment went through 3d authentication. Now we have a long flight with really busy schedule in Peru with no chance of relaxing on the airplane ahead of us.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLos Angeles to Lima
Date FlownJune 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"their app didn't update"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Florianopolis to Rio de Janiero via Sao Paulo. This was my third and fourth flight with Latam in Brazil, I was late for my first flight to Sao Paulo, because their app didn't update the time change of the flight, to be fair they did send me an email, a couple of weeks before, I missed the flight but they changed the flight with no charge, which was really good customer service because the fault was with both of us. Both planes look old inside, also both times the headphone ports did not work. On my flight there was an option for wifi connectivity I downloaded the app but it didn't work.
AircraftA320 / 319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFlorianopolis to Rio de Janiero via Sao Paulo
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"inside the plane looks dated"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Iguazu Falls to Florianoplois via Sao Paulo. At the airport, the staff were lovely but their check-in machine did not work, it's better to line up. The first flight was lackluster, the plane from the outside looks sharp but inside the plane looks dated, on both flights the headphone ports did not work, so no in-flight entertainment. LATAM Airlines was the most expensive airline in Brazil for the flights I wanted and there was no food, they did hand out water, it wouldn't be so bad if their competitors did the same. On the second flight, we got on the bus (everything was smooth) but the bus stopped next to a TAM airplane which caused a little confusion. Again no headphone port working. Wouldn't pick LATAM in Brazil again there are better options available.
AircraftA320 / A321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIguazu Falls to Florianoplois via Sao Paulo
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"We weren’t disappointed"

(Uruguay)

Not Verified | Having heard good things about LATAM, we decided to pay some extra money and choose LATAM over other budget airlines which flew the exact route. We weren’t disappointed! Boarding was carried out in a very organized way, and the flight had no issues at all, which guaranteed us a complete good experience. The staff were friendly with all the passengers, and were very clear when indicating instructions. The food and drinks service was better than what you would expect at a 2.40 hours-long flight, and you could repeat your drinks if you wished. Even when we had to wait to exit the plane due to the Terminal in Santiago being crowded, the crew did an excellent job on keeping the passengers in their seats and calm.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontevideo to Santiago de Chile
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes