Airline of the Year  

Kuwait Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 198 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst managed airlines"

(Kuwait)

Verified Review | London to Kuwait. Despite the lovely new aircraft with superb seats and entertainment, good service and great food, this must be one of the worst managed airlines. Their internet and mobile sites are rubbish and don't try and call them or obtain any service on the ground. If you call their call centre the phone will ring for hours. If they ever answer they do so just to hang up and stop the phone from ringing. Ground staff in their offices and at check in are rude and unhelpful. Their airmiles program is an unusable joke. Alll these experiences occurred on just the one flight - of many I've had recently. Brand new 777 and the seat was broken. Sat upright all the way from London to Kuwait - on a $5000 business class ticket. No apologies from management, even though the staff on the plane tried to accommodate - but plane was completely full. I had tried to upgrade before using miles, but even though I have lots of miles they are completely unusable under new rules that ban upgrades on new planes. I also had to try and change the ticket - it took days of phoning and eventually I had to go into an office which was a horrible experience with rude staff who could not have been more unhelpful and arrogant. At check-in there was complete and utter chaos. The plane took off four hours late (which is in fact not much of a delay for this airline which has the worst flight management on the planet). Anything to do with the management and ground operations and maintenance of this airline is a complete and utter joke or nightmare, depending on the day.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Kuwait
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"staff on return were much better"

(India)

Verified Review | Bangalore to Kuwait. After enduring their tatty planes for years, I landed the chance to fly their new A320s on a trip from Bangalore. The aircraft was fresh, the IFE worked and flights were on time - but the crew on the outbound r were rude and horrendous. Snapping back at passengers, disappearing for hours at a time and not answering call buttons. Thankfully, staff on the return were much better albeit very slow with the meal service on the overnight flight when you ideally want to finish dining and sleep. Overall, new planes are nice but there's more to satisfying a customer than just that.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangalore to Kuwait
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"much improvement to think about"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Kuwait Airways has the worst airplane i've ever seen (there are still ashtrays integrated in the seats). The seats are in an awful state. Regarding entertainment from Manila to London via Kuwait, good luck. They propose you either to sleep or to eat. There are no TV working there. The staff working inside the plane are quite nice with the passengers but seem to deal with the means they have unfortunately. Also, regarding their digitalisation, they just don't know what this is. Good luck if you want to do you check in online (I tried several times). Moreover, in terms of customer service, they are in the past. I've kindly asked for a solution in order to change my flight as there was an earlier departure than the one i'be booked, they literally just said no. Which I found really funny and didn't try to go further as it's not normal to respond this way to a customer (or ex-customer now). In a nutshell, Kuwait Airways is trying to be a flight company, but they are just trying - so much improvement to think about.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to London via Kuwait City
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the worst flight I have been on"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The flight from Manila to Kuwait was the worst flight I have been on. I have been on a lot of long-haul flights but this is my first time with Kuwait Airways. The aircraft from Kuwait to London was by far superior and slightly better service. On all flights the aircraft was cold (even more so on the old planes), we asked for blankets and were told they do not supply them (even though their inflight magazine claims they do). I always wrap up warm on a flight but this was unbearable. On the London to Kuwait flight we were given a menu which had a vegetarian option. However, on the return flight as we were at the back they had run out of the vegetarian options and so I was unable to have a main meal, it was also over 4 hours into the flight before we were given food and drinks were only offered twice on the flight (unacceptable for a 7 hour flight especially when you are not even allowed to bring on water brought at the airport. The flights between Kuwait and Manila had no vegetarian option, when I questioned this the staff very rudely replied that it isn't normal for them to have to cater for vegetarians. I therefore asked for some cheese so that I wasn't limited to just eating bread and butter. On the way there they were reluctant to give me any and had to ask 3 different people before I got any. The staff on the return were more helpful. It is a 8/9 hours flight between Kuwait and Manila, on both legs our entertainment system was broken and we were unable to watch movies or listen to music. My seat was broken and didn't lean back. The flight was also severely delayed from Kuwait to Manila with no apology or proper food or drink offered to us. Their website is not user friendly and we were unable to check in online. I will never fly with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to London via Kuwait
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Huge improvement overall"

(Kuwait)

Verified Review | Flew from London to Kuwait. Huge improvement overall. A sudden leap into a completely different realm. The new 777's are beautiful, not only in terms of superb interiors that make these planes now by far the most comfortable rides in and out of Kuwait in terms of hard-product (they used to be the worst imaginable experience) but even the new livery seems to have the flight crew smiling and the pilots looking proud. The food and service on Kuwait Airways was actually always quite good, but served in the dismal surroundings that used to depress the whole experience they could not shine as well as on these recent flights on the 777 that I have had. Even the front end of their internet site now looks like its in this century. Behind the scenes there is still a lot of work to be done. For example, I am flying again tomorrow to London on the same KU flights, but the contact centre still remains as before completely uncontactable, incredibly unhelpful when you do find a way past their systems to prevent contact, and behind the much better front of their internet site their is very little you can do to manage your booking. You still find yourself being arbitrarily moved from seats you may have reserved, find it impossible to upgrade your ticket even if you are willing to pay extra to do so (clearly commerciality has not sunk in yet) and you really don't yet get the feeling that the customer matter very much. But for the considerations in the last paragraph I would, unbelievably, be giving the airline a good 7-9 rating now (compared to the 0-1 it over-deserved before) but it needs to pick up on the back-office and mid-mangement support to get there as a complete product. For this reason its probably around the same level as BA or KLM now as a 5 (even though its planes are now much better than either of the other two that operate out of Kuwait to Europe). There is really no reason it could not ultimately approach the levels of other airlines in the region as an 8/9 rated carrier.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Kuwait
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"much better than expected"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Kuwait Airways from New York JFK to Ahmedabad via Kuwait and then back to JFK via Kuwait and Shannon. I was pleasantly surprised to find the aircraft much better than expected, it was clean with adequate legroom, big screen and comfortable seats. The airline didn’t provide blankets. The crew were professional and food options decent. The movie selection was decent with a selection of games for the kids. There was also a plug to charge your electronics. The flight from Shannon to JFK also provided an option to purchase WiFi. Getting in to the Kuwait airport was little bit disorganized but once you get past the entrance, the airport had decent selection for food including two Starbucks.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to Ahmedabad via Kuwait
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"much better than expected"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew from Ahmedabad to Istanbul via Kuwait. I found the airline to be much better than expected, having read some bad reviews. The aircraft's were like new inside with PTVs and comfortable seats with adaptable headrests and foodrests. There was a good choice of movies, games and a moving map and they have two cameras for watching the takeoff or the scenery. The cabin crew were friendly and professional. Also, the baggage allowance was very large - something like 30kg or more. Both flights were on A320s and the food was different on each. On the first there was a choice of omlette or paratha and on the second the choice was between chicken shish kebab or fish. All were good and came with tea/coffee and a wide range of fruit juices or other drinks. At Ahmedabad airport, they checked us in quickly for both flights without any hassle and checked our luggage through to Istanbul. As we had both boarding passes already we didn't have to do anything in Kuwait except go to the next gate. Kuwait Airport itself is OK but nothing special. The signage is bad and it´s a bit disorganised. Also, there is a severe lack of toilets for no apparent reason. It has a reasonable selection of places to eat and a few lounges that you can pay for if you want. The seats are comfortable enough to sleep on but I'd advise to take a pillow, a blanket, an eye cover and ear plugs because otherwise the bright lights and noise will keep you awake. It's busy all through the night with lots of flights arriving and departing. If you stay over 8 hours you can get a free stay in the transit hotel. If you stay for less than that then they give you a voucher for a sandwhich and a drink. To take advantage of either of these benefits you have go and ask at the transit desk (to find this, ask at the information counter where for the Kuwait Airways transit desk as you will never find it otherwise. It´s hidden away inside one of the gates). All the flights were on time and the price was the cheapest amongst all of the options from India to Turkey on these dates. I recommend to try it out and to stop in Kuwait if you have the time. It looks like an interesting place!
AircraftA320-214
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAhmedabad to Istanbul via Kuwait
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"excellent price and service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Manila via Kuwait. I have to say that they offered a very comfortable and pleasant service. The aircraft used were from the new fleet from London to Kuwait, and older 777 from Kuwait to Manila, same for the return flights. The staff were very polite and efficient. The food was ok, and of the same standard I have experienced on other airlines. The flights were delayed But this was not due to the airline but due to the security checks at both Manila and Kuwait. They offered and excellent price and service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Manila via Kuwait
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"such a horrible experience for them"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Cochin via Kuwait. My parents travelled in these flights on April 2nd 2017. We had requested online for a wheelchair which was confirmed and also told the staff at airport that they need wheelchairs. They used the wheel chair in London. But when they reached Kuwait the staff refused to give them a wheelchair. Their flight time had changed and this was not informed at London. They had problems with language as well. They were "shooed" away and shouted at, asked to find their way in an unknown place. Is this the way you treat your elders? It was such a horrible experience for them. I will not recommend Kuwait airways for anyone. If you want your parents reach home safely find another airline. My parents were lucky to have a fellow passenger to help them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Cochin via Kuwait
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"my overall experience was quite good"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Flew Kuwait Airways from Frankfurt to Bangkok. Despite some poor reviews my overall experience was quite good and did not differ much from experiences with other middle eastern carriers. The aircrafts were new and offered the usual onboard entertainment, however movie choice was limited and was missing new movies and blockbusters. Especially disappointing was the fact that the movie offering did not change from February to March, since I was hoping to see some other movies on the flight home. Food was good, only the drinks selection left room for desire, but that is what you get when flying with an airline from a country that bans alcohol. They also could have offered drinks more frequently.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes