Korean Air

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 452 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never travel with Korean Air again"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Amsterdam. When we travel as a family, they should have knowledge and control over which seat to be given. They prioritise their home citizens first. When asked nicely if they could change it or move some passengers, they just replied "not possible". Worst airline ever attended. As a family we have never experienced a airline which gave seats 1 by 1 when we are a family. Therefore we will never travel with Korean Air again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Amsterdam
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a very good experience"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Shanghai via Seoul. One of the best business seats I have experienced. Check in in Frankfurt went smoothly. The lounge was ok but nothing special. Had a seat at upper deck of Boeing 747-8 at the window. Spacious with privacy and a nice HD monitor, it was full flat bed. Staff was extremely helpful and competent. Food was ok with a choice of western and Korean food. Flight was in time. Transfer in Incheon was uncomplicated, the lounge there could be better. Quiet poor choice of food, but the lounge had a smoking room and draft beer. Flight from ICN to PVG was also nice business class experience, especially when considering that this was just a good hour flight. Return flight had same standard. Overall a very good experience.
AircraftBoeing 747-8 / A330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt to Shanghai via Seoul
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"unpleasant one to travel with"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Incheon. The booking, check in and website infrastructure/system are very frustrating and error prone. I have been on multiple flights with them and almost missed a flight because my boarding pass would not scan at the gate. Recently my flight was delayed because people had trouble boarding at the gate as well. Checking in on their website has been an issue because the information requested had no entry field. Checking in at the kiosk at the airport printed all of my fellow travelers boarding passes but only 1 of mine. When I tried to check in to print the rest of mine it errored out and I had to wait for the check in time for my flight at the korean air counter so a person could fix it. A lot of small annoyances add up to make this airline an unpleasant one to travel with. Also the seats on their smaller planes are concave and incredibly uncomfortable. The bigger planes are better.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Incheon
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I had a positive experience"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Moscow. I had a positive experience with Korean Air. Cabin crew was helpful and gentle, food was quite ok, IFE had the biggest screen I had seen. The film choice was not as big as in other airlines but I found many good titles to watch. The seat was really comfortable with loads of room for my legs. The only minus was the ground service. Baggage drop was really long and chaotic.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Moscow
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"food was of good standard"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Prague. Check in very fast. Was seated in the upper deck of the 747-8i. Amazing aircraft, the prestige suites are very private, and the extra storage along the window is most welcome. The cabin was spotlessly clean, and two bathrooms upstairs is a plus as most airlines only have one. Cabin Crew are very professional and friendly, and always immaculately presented. The food was of good standard. The entertainment is a bit limited, however that doesn't really bother me as I do not use the IFE that much. ICN is a great airport, although the Korean air lounge isn't really worth a visit, they should invest more into their lounges. Overall a great experience, Korean Air is one of the more premium airlines to fly.
AircraftBoeing 747-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSeoul to Prague
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst flight experience ever"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Manila. Worst flight experience ever. You go to the gate they told you at the checking in counter and when you are there; no program, no sign, nothing. When I went to the Korean Air customer service they told me after a 3 hour waiting line, that the flight will leave 5 hours later then expected. When we are 5 hours later, still no plan and again waiting for hours. This all without any information, or announcements. They also didn't offer a voucher for even a meal. Also not giving any option by claiming costs. This whole combination, I haven't ever experienced it ever before. Third world countries experiencing typhoons manage the airplanes and communication better.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Manila
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"recommend to avoid this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Kathmandu. First was told 3 hour delay due to technical difficulties then further 2 hr delay due to same reason. When asked, no proper reasoning was provided. All was said was sorry. I find sorry as a very inadequate answer to such a huge problem. Lack of proper answer and reasoning to delay from airlines authority was more than aggravating. No compensation whatsoever and shady reasoning gives me enough reason to avoid this airlines in my future travel. And would strongly recommend others to avoid this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Kathmandu
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"failed to inform passengers"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Tokyo via Seoul. The flight from Seoul to Tokyo Haneda delayed 3 times so far. The airline failed to inform passengers as soon as they knew about a delay. The first delay I found out at the boarding gate near the scheduled boarding time - 3 hour delay. The second delay was known 30 minutes after the boarding time, after we pressed an airline employee to find out, while he appeared to be running away - another 3 hour delay. The third delay is announced at the boarding time, unknown how long until further notice. To their credit, they gave out bottled water once during this long, frustrating process. But nothing else, no explanation, no other accommodation. Some local passengers were yelling, many lied around trying to get some sleep. Inquiries made in English were met with very limited response. We were not given a chance to plan for alternatives, with the late announcements or lack of transparency. We are still waiting.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Tokyo via Seoul
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"they are very robotic"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Mumbai via Seoul. This is a cheaper option to travel to India. Also since the flights are approx. 12 and 10 hours duration, it doesn't become very tiring towards the end. However they have flights only thrice , week. This is the second time I flew with them. The San Francisco to Seoul flight has more legroom but to Mumbai just cramps everyone. I have tried both Indian non veg/veg and regular flight food and found both quite good. However their portion size is very small. And they don't have much snack options like banana or chips available like in other flights. So I ended up being hungry all the time and literally waiting for food. Economy class service is just Ok. The crew is not bad but like someone said they are very robotic and no warmth at all. And one or two can be rude too. IFE is bad, very limited and boring options. Also despite chunk of passengers being from India, they don't offer any Indian entertainment. Still its a value for money courier. But given a choice of same airfare I would prefer another airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Mumbai via Seoul
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"all of their four legs was delayed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas Ft Worth to Ho Chi Minh City via Seoul. This is the first time I fly Korean air and all of their four legs was delayed. Pretty lousy statistics, I should say. It certainly doesn’t help when your flights are so long and you want to just get through it as quickly as possible. On top of that I was placed in the last row by the bathroom for the nearly 20 hrs flight home. Fortunately I was able to change the seats by going to the airport ticket counter the night before. For the 15 hrs flight from TX to Seoul, only two meals were served. Boy! I was very hungry so on my return flight I packed extra food. Suffice to say future flying with Korean Air will be rather unlikely.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas Ft Worth to Ho Chi Minh City via Seoul
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no