Korean Air

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 885 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Korean Air customer review

Review by (United States)

I did a round trip to Ulaanbaatar from July 23-Aug 7. The following two gripes about business class. 1) As I have read with other reviews, the business class seats are not truly lie flat. There is a headrest-pillow attachment which is fixed in place and it really prevents a comfortable lie flat position. The area in the seat shell is also too narrow for the upper portion of your body (I am 5'9' and 135 lbs) and you can not comfortably rest on your side. I have flown Air New Zealand business and their seats are fabulous. They have a seat that flops forward creating a flat surface which is then covered with a mattress. They also give you a quilt cover instead of a blanket. 2) The flight is anywhere from 12-13+ hrs depending on direction. The first meal is served after take off which is fine, however the second meal came approximately 6 hrs before landing. This only allowed for 4-5 hrs of sleep if you wanted to have both meals. There is not reason that. The second could have been served 3 hrs before l a doing allowing at least 6-7 hrs sleep with enough time. For the flight attendants to get things cleaned up. 3) The choice of food was off. When we left Korea at 12.55am they served dinner. 5 hrs later they served a meal that resembled a lunch. It would have been better had they waited until 3 hrs before landing (at JFK at 10am) if they served breakfast.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJFK to Ulaanbaatar via Korea
Date Flown09-08-2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Korean Air customer review

Review by (Malaysia)

The aircraft operated from KUL to ICN was a B777-300ER which coincidentally turned 4 years old on the day of my flight. Although the configuration was 3-3-3, the seats felt rather cramped due to the premium cabins covering half the aircraft which surprised me. The Asian vegetarian meal I ordered was great and staff efficiency was excellent. Inflight entertainment only featured Korean, Japanese and Chinese films in addition to Hollywood which I felt was rather limited. Would have been better if there were other language films such as Indian on board since KE recently announced its intentions to expand in India. Transit in ICN was hassle free and easy to locate gates with lots of shopping and Korean cultural experiences. ICN to CTS was a brand new A330-300 and felt way more comfortable than the B777-300ER as I heard the premium cabin is one of the smallest in Korean Air. Overall a good experience and would consider them again.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER and A330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteKuala Lumpur to Sapporo Chitose via Seoul Incheon
Date Flown27-05-2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Korean Air customer review

Review by (United States)

I flew Korean Air for the first time. The A380 seemed surprisingly quiet inside. I had a boy sitting beside me who vomited during the trip so that kind of things but the cabin crew were helpful with him. Food was probably their weakest point, though I will take comfort on a plane any time over food. I don't like Seoul airport but Korean staff were very helpful and answered my questions. The plane got to Seoul late and I had a half hour to get to my next flight but they helped me get to my next flight. Overall I'd recommend them over most other airlines.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteJFKto HKG via Seoul
Date Flown27-08-2014
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Korean Air customer review

Review by (United States)

Seoul to DFW (Korean Air, flight #31 on July 9th) was the worst flight of my entire life. There was intolerable turbulence almost without stop for the first three hours of the flight and continued with high frequency throughout the entire flight. It wasn't until they finally ascended to 39000 feet over halfway through a 12 hour flight that the turbulence smoothed. I am not a nervous flier and have flown all around the world on various airlines but this was so uncomfortable.
AircraftBoeing 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSeoul to Dallas Ft Worth
Date Flown11-07-2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Korean Air customer review

Review by (Belgium)

Flight on time, friensly staff and comfortable seats. I am 191cm and I didn't have any legroom issues on this flight. Entertainment system is very up to date, screens wide. Food however is just average though.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteICN to AMS
Date Flown07-07-2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Korean Air customer review

Review by (United States)

The check-in process was fast and easy. I travel with an instrument and rather than making a fuss about it, they tagged it so I would get by even more easily. The food and beverage service was superior to any airline I have flown. The cabin crew were friendly and staff quickly responded to any request made. The layover in Seoul was easy and everything left on time.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHKG to LAX via Seoul
Date Flown04-08-2014
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Korean Air customer review

Review by (United States)

The planes are new and well kept. The A380 was a dream with a tomb like silence in the upper deck. The service is as good as any Middle Eastern airline and the connections to places like Vietnam from New York are amazing. The trouble is that they ruin it all with the transfer desk in the Seoul airport. After a relaxing flight, you arrive in Seoul at 5 AM and are tossed into a seemingly endless maze of travellers who are forced to go through security all over again to transfer flights. There are no special lanes for business or first class. Poor families with babies are also tossed into the cauldron. In an otherwise well thought out and spacious airport, it's appalling that they can't get this one part right.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew York JFK to Da Nang via Incheon
Date Flown02-07-2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Korean Air customer review

Review by (India)

HKG-ICN return, cabin in in 2-4-2 configuration. Cabin clean, seats comfortable, toilets well stocked. Special meal (VLML) served promptly and well done, followed by ice-cream on one leg. Crew came by with drinks during the short flight. Flight was more than half empty. Huge check-in line at Incheon though it moved quickly, but check-in still took over 30-40 min.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHong Kong to Seoul
Date Flown29-06-2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Korean Air customer review

Review by (Canada)

Flew from Zhengzhou CGO to Incheon ICN and then Vancouver YVR. Received decent ground service at CGO, no waiting at the check-in counter and customer check, aircraft was a newly decorated 737-800. Main course meal served inflight and was a surprise since it was a morning short-haul flight. Flight was on time both for takeoff and landing. Have to say that the landing was terrible, hard and banked. Int'l connection at ICN was smooth and did not take more than 30 minutes. Korean Air staff was available during transfer. The flight to YVR was at that time a 747-400, which was aged but carefully maintained. Cabin was cold for me but extra blankets were available. Provided toothbrush kit and slippers even for economy class. Cabin crew was not good enough at English but well enough to provide services. Two meals were served and both were good. The flight itself was on time and the captain was of great professionalism, communication with cabin was made after takeoff and before landing in Korean and English, which was a nice touch especially on Asian carriers. In-flight entertainment system was available on both segments. Did not use much because the touch screen was aged and its reaction was slow. Overall very satisfied, however the fare was a bit too high, so I will give 9 out of 10.
AircraftB737-8Q8(WL), B747-4B5
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteCGO to YVR via ICN
Date Flown16-09-2014
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Korean Air customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

I recently flew KE867 and KE868 from ICN to Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia). The flight attendants on these two sectors worked very hard. The aircraft's were A330-300 and the return flight was full. The amount of cabin baggage taken in by the passengers on board wouldn't have been allowed on either the American or European airlines. Most of the flight attendants were females and for the life of me I don't know how they were able to lift the heavy cabin baggage and put them up in the overhead lockers. Throughout the flight the flight attendants were cheerful and smiling. As for the food, cleanliness and other aspect of the travel on those two flights I give Korean Air 5 Star plus.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteICN to Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia)
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes