KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 712 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"nothing but praise for KLM"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Birmingham to St. Petersburg via Amsterdam. I have nothing but praise for KLM, I fly to St.Petersburg Russia via Amsterdam at least 4 times a year, and all flights have gone smoothly, the odd delay was due to airport problems, but connections were never missed. The price is good, the food nothing special, but that is not important to me. The seating, staff and whole experience has been excellent.
AircraftB737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to St. Petersburg via Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"all legs of the trip were good"

(Sierra Leone)

Verified Review | Flew Freetown to Paris via Amsterdam. This was my first time flying KLM, and I was pleasantly surprised. I thought all legs of the trip were good. Cabin crew on all flights were polite, friendly and cheerful. The food was very good and plentiful, with a meal and snack served on the flight between Amsterdam and Freetown. They were generous with the alcohol, and I liked the fact that after dinner they came around with a small selection of spirits - quite rare in economy class these days. Though the TV screens were tiny, the IFE was adequate for the reasonably short flights, and there was a good selection of movies. I enjoyed flying KLM and feel they are superior in terms of both food and service to Air France.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFreetown to Paris via Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"outbound flight was ok"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew for weekend break to Ansterdam from Manchester. Terminal 3 at Manchester is appalling. The outbound flight was ok. Service was fine, though the cabin crew did not seem that friendly. Though it was acknowledged this was a short flight, a anack was provided. However for travelling at midday, the expectation would have been to have been served ay least a sandwich, not a small piece of cake, which was inadequate meaning searching for good at artival in Schipol Airport. Return flight was much better. The cabin crew was more friendly and alert and very attentive. Snack on this occasion was appopriate, for a 45 minute flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"service doesn't meet expectations"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Flew Amsterdam to Copenhagen. Even though KLM is said to be a premium airline, service doesn't meet expectations. Also regarding the sustainability of the airline: you can't even get snacks without meat on their short flights. Unfriendly staff. Would not recommend flying with them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Copenhagen
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this provider"

(United States)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Amsterdam. I was on an 11 hour flight with a transfer to another 9 hour flight. The seats are tiny, so much so that if anyone sits next to you that has any mass whatsoever they are laying on you and or in your seat. We make it to Amsterdam where we have a layover and head to the KLM lounge where my wife has a membership. I'm flying with her, and at the lounge they advise us that no guests are allowed despite being married and a member of the lounge service. Customer service wouldn't budge on this. I'm confused, and letting everyone I know to avoid this provider at all possible.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"experience was horrendous"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | KLM has one flight a day from Denpasar to Singapore. On Sep 1st due to a technical fault they delayed and then subsequently cancelled the flight the next day. My experience was horrendous. We were dropped at a DPS hotel at 2am and told to be ready to fly tomorrow. That was the last I saw or heard from KLM staff. For 2 days I was left without any information, food vouchers or a rebooked flight. The hotel did their best to provide support but they weren't even in contact with KLM for most of the time. I received a letter 2 days later saying that the ground crew would assist, they never did. It said they would contact me via phone or email with my rebooked flight, they never did. It took 3 nights in a hotel before KLM rebooked me onto a new flight, even though there are 15+ flights a day on that route. I still haven't heard from anyone at KLM and any attempts at speaking to someone who is responsible for the welfare of the passengers on that failed flight falls on deaf ears. I couldn't imagine an organisation demonstrating such arrogance and a lack of care but I have now seen it with KLM. If they are cheap and you can afford to take the risk of being left in a hotel for 3 days with no help or information then go ahead and fly, however after experiencing how KLM deal with delays and cancellations you would be far safer to fly a Low cost carrier, especially on inter-Asia routes.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Singapore
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"KLM was using Bulgarian Air"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Glasgow to Sofia via Amsterdam. The flight left Glasgow and arrived in Amsterdam on time. then it went downhill. The next flight was 2 hours late. I had to ask the staff at the airport which were no great help and after 40mins didn't know when the plane was even landing as the screen had not been updated. Eventually the plane arrived. KLM was using Bulgarian Air. The seats on board were very tight together. I had paid for a little extra room but didn't get any, the plane was dirty, no toilet roll in the toilets and the passenger safety leaflet was stuck together with chewing gum. None of the cabin crew could speak English. All the emergency instructions on the plane were in English. The cabin crew did not instruct the passengers on how to open the doors over the wings in case of emergency. Cabin crew didn't give instruction on life vest or oxygen mask proceedure. Throughout flight the cockpit door was left open for long periods of time. Cabin crew tried to hide this fact by closing the curtain. In this day and age this is shocking. Flight was so bad I booked a return trip from Sofia to London on Qatar with BA. The return from KLM I threw in the bin. Would I use KLM again - don't know?
Aircraft737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGlasgow to Sofia via Amsterdam
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"hand luggage didn't show up"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Hannover to Jakarta via Amsterdam and Kuala Lumpur. At first, someone sat on my seat and had my seat number. Thank God there was a seat empty so that the other passenger could sit during the flight. My flight was delayed for almost an hour. And then, another poor service from KLM airport crew was that I had to put my hand luggage in the luggage compartment of the aircraft. I was told that I could pick it in Amsterdam Schipol Airport. But it was so complicated and took three to four hours for me to get that. So I gave up, and they said that it would be safely send with the other luggage (the 23kg suitcase) to my final destination. In Jakarta, after two hours waiting, my hand luggage didn't show up. So I filed a report, and after three days it was sent to the airport but in a very poor condition. The handle and lock are severely broken. Today is the 21st day after my arrival and I have received only one e-mail that asked me to give the luggage details, which I replied as soon as I could. But until now, not even a single mail or call have I received. KLM should be able to handle baggage properly and not disappoint passenger like this. I have bought the ticket for round trip and hope this is my last flight with KLM. I would definitely prefer to pay more for more comfort and baggage safety.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHannover to Jakarta via Amsterdam
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"didn't have the tools to give a good service"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Flew Amsterdam to Dubai. Unfortunately I am extremly disappointed with the poor Service that KLM have in Business Class. KLM is unfortunately lower than airlines like Lufthansa, Swiss or Alitalia (which I have flown a lot lately and they have really improved). I am not even considering some other airlines I fly every year like Qatar and Cathay Pacific. The seats are below market competition (I compare with Alitalia, Swiss, Iberia, Cathay and Qatar), and the food is not up to the standards of a Business Class. At least not what I use to fly regularly. The lounge is nice but the way you provide drinks and food is definetely the cheapest I have seen so far. Not a Business Class lounge at all. I had to go to the British Airways one that as I am a Gold member so they allowed me to enter even though I wasn't flying OneWorld. One good thing I have to admit. The people on the flight were extremly nice, they just didn't have the tools to give a good service.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAmsterdam to Dubai
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"airline that embraces its identity"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Warsaw to London via Amsterdam. First time flying with KLM since 1988. Very easy to check in online. Upon arrival at WAW, we used the self service kiosk to print our boarding passes, but could not print the luggage tags. Had to wait until the check in desks opened. At this point, there was no formal queueing system, so it was a bit chaotic. Once checked in, we were in the departure lounge within minutes. Both aircraft were clean and seats were relatively comfortable. Cabin crew were very friendly and courteous. A full bar service was available. I was particularly pleased to see KLM is very proud of its Dutch heritage - even the plastic cups have the KLM emblem, a clog, a tulip and a bicycle on them. Other airlines are choosing to look away from their nationality, so it is nice to see an airline that embraces its identity.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWarsaw to London via Amsterdam
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes