KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 724 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"Seat very uncomfortable"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew Amsterdam to Abu Dhabi with KLM. Seat quite narrow, certainly with passenger of size sitting next to me. Seat very uncomfortable after a few hours, lack of support. Metal entertainment box under seat in front of me takes away 15% of leg space. Entertainment system stems from 20th century and is completely outdated. Didn't work for the first hour of the flight, resolution worse than a 10 year old phone. No response from flight attendant to service call. Food quality poor: bland and boring. I am a proud Dutchman, but why would you still fly KLM when you get a better service for a lower price at Asian and ME airlines. On the bright side: pilots are well trained and did a super smooth landing.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"food totally unpalatable"

(Canada)

Verified Review | To start with positives, the plane was pretty tidy and well maintained and the supplies given were clean. The cabin crew was very soft spoken and helpful. Now the tough ones. The inflight entertainment system was horrible. Tiny screen with horrible viewing angles and resolution, could barely watch anything properly. The earbuds provided were of very poor quality. The food served, twice to be precise, was totally unpalatable. And to top it all up, we had baggage problems and no response received from the KLM's customer care. Would not recommend, would not fly KLM again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Edmonton
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"cramped and uncomfortable"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Amsterdam to Toronto with KLM. Staff were courteous. Flight was cramped and uncomfortable which is the norm on overseas economy class trips. We paid for assigned seats ($24 each) and did not receive them. Complained and was told the money was not refundable even though the service was not provided.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"loyal customer with no extra benefits"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Bahrain to Cardiff via Amsterdam. As customers we have to except that cancellations do happen & that more often than not the decision to cancel is taken with our safety in mind. Every airline can run well under normal circumstances but a good test of a airline is to see how they cope with situations like these. KLM were aware of bad weather & by the time my flight had arrived had already cancelled a lot of flights, with this in mind you would of thought that a large business would ensure that they have enough staff on hand not only in the airport but also online & on the end of the phone to cope with the very predictable customer demand that would inevitably ensue. Not the case with KLM. Arrived in Amsterdam to a flight board of mostly delayed or cancelled flights, then had to virtually beg to get into the Crown Lounge with a Petroleum card despite being fully entitled to enter, I was later told that KLM staff were trying to reduce the amount of people in the lounge due to the cancellations. What is the point of issuing loyal customers with a privilege card if you are not prepared to give them the privilege in the first place? Upon being emailed & texted that my flight was cancelled I was given a link to click to re-arrange my flight, brilliant I thought, not brilliant as the link took me to a blank page. Not a problem I will go to the customer service desk & sort this. I (together with a lot of other people) had to wait for over 1hr and 30mins just to be seen, by which time all other seats were taken & waiting lists were at least ten deep for that days remaining flights. Not a problem, as I (& many others) hold a privilege card this takes my to the front of the "waiting list" for last minute seats, this is one of the major selling point of the privilege card system. But apparently when you most need this service KLM are not ready to honour it, leaving you as a loyal customer with no extra benefits that KLM had previously promised you in order to get your business & loyalty in the first place. 3 hours later I managed to re-book my flight, 5 hours later I managed to get to the hotel, to be far after this everything seems to be running ok. However, when you compare this airline to how other airlines cope with disruption KLM falls well short of just achieving basic organisation let alone good customer service. When you have your flight cancelled with KLM you will receive a voucher for 15 euros off inflight duty free which was not valid on my flight as my flight is under 70 minutes in duration. Or 2000 air miles credited to your account but only after you learn to read Dutch to decipher the voucher you have been given & then post in all your boarding passes & receipts to a international address, which will probably cost you the same in postage as the miles are worth. This is after you have tried to re-book your flight using one of the three online services they advertise, non of them worked & no response was received from any for over 12 hours. So in all likely hood you will have a 1 hour 30 minute wait to see a (understandably) fed up customer service rep.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBahrain to Cardiff via Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a pleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Newcastle to Venice via Amsterdam. First time with KLM and a pleasant experience. Outward flight in Boeing 737 was delayed for 25 mins because of early-morning fog at Schipol, and arrived similarly late. Aircraft clean and comfortable, although would prefer non-reclining seats for these short-haul flights to prevent interaction with inconsiderate passengers in front. Good connection at Schipol onto Embreaer 190 - what a nice little aircraft this is! But take-off again delayed owing to air traffic control, and landed 30 mins late. Return journey had 737 for both legs. Delayed again leaving Venice, but flight to Newcastle on schedule. Aircraft staff very pleasant and efficient, although would prefer some imposition of rules on cabin bags as too many oversize bags on board, greatly reducing the available locker space for those of us who observe the rules. Small snacks dispensed on all legs of flight - very welcome. Nice experience - will certainly use KLM again.
AircraftBoeing 737 / Embraer 190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewcastle to Venice via Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"everything I need is in my suitcase"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Bangkok via Paris. Very disappointed. After the flight from Amsterdam was delayed for 1h30m, we took off to Paris to transfer to the Air France flight to Bangkok, I had to run my ass off to make it just in time for boarding. Once in the plane there was a guy next to me taking up half my chair and half on the other side, cos of his huge size. After 12 painful hours I arrived in Bangkok. But my suitcase did not. It should have arrived today, but now they say it will probably be tomorrow. My holiday is on a hold right now because everything I need is in my suitcase, also this forces me to buy clothes and other things i need in daily life. There was no choice in meals. In flight entertainment seemed like it came from the stoneage. And poor service on board.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Bangkok via Paris
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"feel thoroughly cheated"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Edmonton. The seats did not recline to horizontal. You slide off them so sleep is not possible. We paid some C$3000 each and expected normal business class accommodation. No warning of this sub-standard accommodation was given when booking through Expedia. Detailed research failed to reveal it. The senior purser agreed that it was well below standard. So did the station-manager in Edmonton. KLM customer support ignored their views. It dismissed our subsequent complaint on the basis that information about the seats "is explicitly presented on our website". In fact it is far from explicit. Firstly, you do not expect to pay a full business class fare and get nothing more than oversize economy seating. Secondly even if you spend time trying to check it is virtually impossible to work out which aircraft you will be on. In addition the promise that you will have a privacy canopy is surprising. There was none visible nor any sign that there ever had been. We feel thoroughly cheated. The casual dismissal of our complaint has made it worse. We shall avoid using KLM again where possible.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAmsterdam to Edmonton
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"rock solid and uncomfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Washington to Amsterdam. After a comedy of errors by KLM customer service which is unusual abnormal, we find KLM pretty decent. We boarded the refitted KlM Boeing 777-200 : accountants and profit were obviously the driving force here. The new slimmer lighter 17.5 seat width so plane now has a 3-4-3 configuration to squeeze in more passengers. Not only are they narrower but are rock solid and uncomfortable, still numb after spending 7 hours in them. Did anyone at KLM actually try sitting in these new seats for any length of time before buying them? Doubt it! If this is the way forward for KlM refitting these planes then its time to change airlines. Would have given no stars for seat comfort, but no option.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"staff performance was very good and professional"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Flew Buenos Aires to Amsterdam. We received a warm welcome aboard. The captain came to greet every passenger in Business Class. The seats are very comfy and could be transformed into a fully-flat bed which can even accomodate persons with a larger frame. However, people with large feet could find it difficult to squeeze them into the rather small cutout in the back of the seat in front. The inflight entertainment system was very good and the movies on offer were entertaining. There were three mains to choose from for dinner. Food quality was very good. They served a breakfast before landing. The flight attendant in our aisle was friendly and professional, but we felt she did not want to go into conversations any further than her service duties required. But overall staff performance was very good and professional, the only exception being the check-in staff in Buenos Aires. The guy looked like he had just got out of bed. But we assume they are not directly employed by KLM.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBuenos Aires to Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"a mediocre experience"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Zurich to Bangkok via Amsterdam. First leg from Zurich with a fabulous, socially very competent, young crew. Flight departed late but made up the time. On time arrival at the gate in Amsterdam. Service enthusiastic and personalized. Chicken wraps, small salad, a passionfruit cream and a bun as lunch. Less pleased on the second leg on board a Boeing 777-300ER with 2-2-2 seating in biz class. Not bad hard product, including the movie selection and the meal options. Ok wine/drink selection. Regarding the soft factors, the flight was just ok. The only personell interacting top professionally was the purser. His team members were not very interactive, very reserved, rarely smiling and not much around but during the food services. Comparing the two flights you might have guessed that you were using two different airlines. Therefore a mediocre experience. But at least for a competitive price.
AircraftE190 / Boeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteZurich to Bangkok via Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes