KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 859 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"friendly, outgoing, and attentive"

(Sierra Leone)

Trip Verified | Freetown to Hong Kong via Amsterdam. The Freetown - Amsterdam leg was with the old Business Class seats, whereas the second leg to Hong Kong was with their new World Business Class seats. Whilst the second leg was obviously a superior product, the old seats were acceptable for a reasonably short flight. Crew on both legs were very good - friendly, outgoing, and attentive, and seemed to enjoy their jobs. Food was good, though the selection of wine was reasonably limited and not particularly exciting nor high-end. Crew made sure I was constantly topped up. Really loved their crockery and cutlery - cool designs and a nice touch. Bathrooms had good Zenology products, but the amenity kits were seriously lacking - no body care products at all. The IFE was good - there was enough choice, and it was a pleasure to watch on the large screens. Loved the little houses filled with gin that they passed out. Really enjoyed both flights.
AircraftA330-200 / Boeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFreetown to Hong Kong via Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"I am very disappointed"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Bangkok. Whilst the flight was boarding and I was in my seat I noticed a sickening Sweaty feet smell. Someone had taken of their shoes and the smell was horrendous. I was trying to figure out where it was coming from. After take off when I got up to go to the toilet I saw the lady sitting behind me holding a tissue covering her nose and mouth. The man in 60b next to her was the one were the bad smell came from. I went to speak to the purser and told her the situation and she told me she had smelt it too but also didnt know where it was coming from. I asked her if she could please do something. She basically giggled and said "what do you expect me to do or say about it" that is not how you deal with a problem, especially not when you are a customer service manager. (they get trained for these situations) She went to the man and told him carefully about the smell and asked him "could you please put your shoes in a plastic bag" and left it at that. It didn't make it any better as the smell was coming from his dirty feet and socks too! After about 20min the smell still hadn't gone and when the purser walked by I told her that it still smells really bad. She said "the gentleman had put the shoes in a plastic bag" when I said it is not only his shoes that were the problem but also his socks and feet she basically gave me an angry look and walked away not to been seen for the rest of the flight. I among others were forced to sit in this smell for 10.5 hours from take off till landing. This is unacceptable. I felt super bad for the Thai lady behind me in 60a as she was squashed in her seat as the man was also very big and showed no consideration for her space plus the smell was even more unbearable for her. I think the way the purser went about it was ridiculous. She should have asked him to put his shoes back on and show a little bit more customer care. It is a long haul flight and to sit in that smell for that amount of time is unacceptable, especially if you have paid almost 900 euros for a ticket. I am very disappointed with this service. To make matters worse, after they served breakfast about 1.5 hours before landing the lady in 59c next to me started vomiting. I was handing her more sickbags from other seat pockets. In this time flight attendant walked by and didn't ask the poor woman if she was okay when she was clearly sitting with a sickbag on an aisles seat in full view of the crew passing by. I must say this has been the worst flight I have ever had. I am very disappointed in the lack of care of the crew and ground staff.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Bangkok
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines customer review

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to London. Due to terrible traffic I arrived a few minutes late at baggage drop off in Amsterdam. Unfortunately, the computer said no and I was unable to check my baggage. Customer service was very helpful and put me on standby for the next flight, not to LCY but LHR, helped me check my bags and gave me a boarding pass for the flight one hour later. At the gate, KLM ground staff were very understanding and friendly and informed me I would be able to board. In my experience, KLM staff on board is helpful and nice.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to London
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"crew were very impressive"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Santiago de Chile to Buenos Aires. Check in at Santiago de Chile was easy, no queues at bag drop (2:15 before scheduled departure), check in assistant was very helpful and explained arrivals information for Buenos Aires. Aircraft left Santiago early and landed in EZE early- nice cabin didn’t look worn at all and the seats had decent leg room. The aircraft was about half full which meant there was plenty of space to stretch out on this 1:35 minute flight. The crew were very impressive most were trilingual speaking Dutch, English and Spanish. Lunch consitisting of a tasty pasty was offered, a drinks service followed and the flight finished with tea and coffee about 40 minutes before landing. Upon arriving in EZE the ground crew were there ready to assist passengers continuing to Amsterdam. Baggage arrived swiftly and in good condition. The ticket cost £150 for a single.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSantiago de Chile to Buenos Aires
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"sitting in a pile of claims"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Birmingham to Minneapolis via Amsterdam. When an airline has so many lost luggage claims that after 45 days, your claim still hasn't been started, you have to ask yourself "Is KLM the right airline to fly with?". I have no complaint about the the planes, the staff or the on board experience, they're all pretty good. Where this airline fails is when they delay your flights because of missing catering, lose your luggage, smash that luggage and I lost some valuables. All of this happened to me in one flight. Trying to get their customer care team to acknowledge my claim and begin the investigation is proving to be more difficult than landing a vehicle on Mars. The day after I arrived back, my luggage arrived at my house and it was broken beyond repair, and missing several items. As I write this, it's been 45 days since I made first contact about this, and my claim is still sitting in a pile of claims, waiting to be started. Each time I call, my claim is being "escalated to a manager", only to find out the next time I call that this didn't happen. I've had every excuse available and not their staff hang up when I call. I have to use my colleague's mobiles so the support team does not recognise my number. If you are planning to book with KLM, only do so if you are only taking hand luggage with you, and you're prepared never to make a claim against the airline for anything else because, it's highly unlikely they will process your claim. The biggest frustration is, I enjoyed flying with them, it's just their Customer Care team that letting the airline down.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Minneapolis via Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"where is the hot meal?"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Porto to Berlin via Amsterdam. This is my first time with KLM and the leg from OPO-AMS was a disillusion mainly by the meal. The flight departed at 11.00am and arrived arround 14.20pm (2.20h flight - in OPO we've CET-1) and according to the KLM site, at lunch time and in flights with more than 2 hours, it shall be served a hot meal. But the meal had water, a juice, a cup of tea or coffe and a small slice of limon cake. Where is the hot meal? The meal in leg AMS-TXL (an 1 hour flight) the meal was better - a wrap with the same beverages. The seat is ok with medium legroom (but I've 1.93m). The flight from OPO to AMS was delayed by 20 minutes due to traffic in Porto city that cause the late arrival of all the crew. However, should be a company which I'll use again.
AircraftE195
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePorto to Berlin via Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"I would highly recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Denpasar. This was my first time flying KLM World Business Class. The flight left slightly later than scheduled due to the late arrival of the aircraft. This flight is a 5th freedom flight from SIN to DPS as the flight originated in AMS. I was In seat 1A and was very impressed with the seat. Highly adjustable to whatever position you want. There is power available to charge your electronics. The seat was a little dirty but I put this down to it not being the first flight and the tight turnaround, nothing abhorrent. The only downside is the immovable ottoman footrest. If you are under 5’7” you may struggle to reach it. The inflight entertainment was very good with a wide range of movies and tv shows as well as an interactive map showing you the route. It was much more responsive than other IFE systems that I have used recently and the remote is touch screen which helps a lot. The food was respectable for such a short flight, with two choices for the main, either chicken or beef with all the trimmings. Altogether when the salad and desert it was very tasty and the crew kept filling up drinks and offering bread rolls. I was surprised to get a meal on this flight but I was glad I did. The crew themselves were very happy which was pleasant and they were very attentive. The KLM houses were a unique experience as no other airlines do this. I got house number 28 and it is filled with a Dutch Gin. Overall it was a nice flight compared to the competitors on the route and was very well priced for a business product. I would highly recommend.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Denpasar
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"on time, very comfortable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Washington to Amsterdam continuing to Tallinn via KLM/airBaltic codeshare. As a general rule the long-haul flight went well - on time, very comfortable Economy Comfort seats, friendly and attentive cabin crew, plus very smooth connections via Schiphol. However, I must agree with an earlier poster here that KLM's catering department does appear to have lost the plot a bit, at least in tourist class, with meals featuring very fatty chicken. (This had happened to me before with KLM, as I mentioned in an earlier post in this forum about a year ago). At least they did do two drinks-trolley runs, which were much appreciated. If they'd just pick up their game a bit on inflight meals, these annual trips of mine via Amsterdam to the Baltics would be close to perfect. I remember some years ago being served on a KLM AMS-IAD flight a delightful platter of meatballs and mash - please reinstate that!
AircraftBoeing 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Tallinn via Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Boarding was efficient"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Today's flight was 100% booked which was to be expected since our flight was on the first Sunday of the Dutch School holidays. Through the Dutch media we were warned that Amsterdam Schiphol airport should be overcrowded. Through the KLM website we received the advise to arrive at the airport 3hrs before departure. Since we can use the Skypriortity fast track services at this airport we took our chance and arrived 2 1/2hrs before flight and slipped through luggage drop-off and security in less than 15 minutes! Boarding was efficient and on time, on board we were welcomed by the crew who had the time for a chit-chat with all passengers while boarding. The flight departed and arrived well on time. The onboard service consisted of a warm sandwich and a drink followed by a 2nd round when muffins were distributed. We had exit seats (pre-booked) which are the best seats on the plane with tons of legroom. Disembarkation in Lisbon was OK but we had to wait over 30minutes for our luggage to arrive on the belt. However our golf bags who arrived on a separate belt for special luggage were delivered promptly.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Lisbon
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"would greatly recommend"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Athens. A friend and I missed our flight due to unforeseen circumstances and the KLM transfer lady went out of her way to accommodate us. She was super nice and understanding. We received outstanding customer service and would greatly recommend this airline to anyone.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Athens
Date FlownJuly 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes