Airline of the Year  

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 667 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"would definitely recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Very pleasant experience overall flying KLM for the first time. From Brussels to Amsterdam we flew on a Fokker 70 - no surprise it was a bit cramped on this flight considering the size of the aircraft. However the staff and service on board was nice. From Amsterdam to LHR we flew on a more spacious E175. Despite the short flights we were given snacks/refreshments on board as well. Lovely experience with KLM, would definitely recommend.
AircraftFokker 70 / E175
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to London via Amsterdam
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not a pleasant experience"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Abu Dhabi. I did not have a pleasant experience with KLM . I booked a flight with Etihad and didn't realise that one of the flights was with KLM until day of departure, which I didn't think was going to be a problem. First of all, the seats were not comfortable compared to other airlines I've flown with. You can't pull the arm rest up to get it out of the way. I requested a vegan meal which did not go through to them, so I was left with no options on the flight for food - the flight attendant just offered me an apple when I brought it to their attention - this was a mistake of the airline. I accidentally left a jumper on the plane and contacted KLM immediately. They were quite hard to get a hold of - I waited on the phone for ages before giving up and messaging them through facebook which they have finally responded (slowly). In regards the the jumper they told me to contact abu dhabi airport and when I did, abu dhabi told me it was the responsibility of the airline if I left it on their plane. KLM said that if they found anything, they would give it to the lost and found at the airport - Abu Dhabi found nothing so they obviously did not hand anything in to the lost and found.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Very poor service"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Flew KLM from Sao Paulo to Amsterdam. Very poor service. Seats are terrible, as is the food. Very little food as well, I think there was less than 70 grams of protein in my fish dish. The placed some water and snacks in the galley but when it is all taken they arrogantly don't replace it so you need to ask. They seem more interested in chatting among themselves. Really bad. The website is bad as well and they don't inform you adequately about how many points you will make and always offer the worst ones for this, which only gives you 25%. All in all, bad. But punctuality is good and Amsterdam as a transit airport is efficient and hassle free.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSao Paulo to Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"The staff were great"

(Seychelles)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Bangkok. This is the first time I've flown KLM, I've heard good things from the airline from family members which is why I booked. At the time KLM was best value for this route which was also a deal breaker. The aircraft was new with the 3-4-3 layout in economy. The seats on KLM did feel a bit narrow however may be due to the design of the seat. But the legroom was amazing, the slimm seats give you more room. i could slouch in my seat with the person in front reclined and still have room to spare. The in flight infotainment was ok, a few movies were good, some good series but no where near as good as other carriers. I was expecting a larger screen, it was ok but could have been better. Each seat had a USB and plug socket, very helpful. The staff were great, very friendly and came round often enough with drinks, food and snacks. Couldn't fault the staff. I was sat in the first economy cabin, a few rows after the economy confort seats, so I was a bit annoyed that I couldn't have my choice on the inflight meal, so I had to get the pasta but it was tastey and the aribiatta sauce was nice. The breakfast option was weird. It was a scrambled egg/omelette, was edible but not nice or horrible. Would fly KLM again but think I'll pre order and upgrade my meal choice.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"Staff rude and condescending"

(United States)

Verified Review | Cape Town to Amsterdam. Business class disappointing. Unlike other carriers 2 seats were together so you had to step over the person next to you who was sleeping in a flat bed to get out. No privacy. Food was just ok though in flight service by staff was very good. No sheets for the bed like on Asian carriers. Just OK. Lounge in Amsterdam very disappointing. Staff were rude and condescending. Value for money was poor. Food was just so so.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCape Town to Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"just a regular flight"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | My boarding pass could not be generated by mobile check in system for CGK-KUL sector, so I have to queue at check in counter just to print my boarding pass, but it worked for KUL-CGK sector. Flight departed on time and so did the return flight. Boarding was done efficiently for both sector. The cabin crew seemed tired. In flight entertainment is ok. It's just a regular flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-200/777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Had a great experience"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Berlin to Amsterdam. Had a great experience with my 2 short flights. The staff was as friendly as possibly can, my wife is flying anxious and they offered their help throughout the flights. They even showed her an app on an iPad to help her overcome her fear! For a 55 min flight we even got snacks and drinks, I did not expect that. Pretty tasty too. And the ticket was quite cheap. I would love flying with KLM more often!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"don't mind someone climbing over you"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Amsterdam. This was my first business class flight since I retired 10 years ago. The pre-departure lounge was quite good, and I loved being able to lie down to sleep on this overnight flight - very comfy pillow and blanket. I had a window seat and the drawback was that in order to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, I had to literally climb over the bed of the person next to me. Try that when the plane is bouncing around! The window was so far from my seat that I had to unbuckle to look out. In an economy or comfort seat, one has under the seat in front of you, or the back of the seat in front, to put things. In business class, there was only one small shelf available and couldn't use it during takeoff and landings. There was no wifi on the flight but the movie, etc. selections were fine. I have flown in KLM comfort class before and for the money, I think it is the best choice, unless you get an aisle seat and don't mind someone climbing over you.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"would rather not fly with the airline"

(United Kingdom)

Have been flying with KLM all over Northern Europe with bussniess for the past 10 years and if honest, would rather not fly with the airline. They aren't the worst out there but many a time the flight has been delayed due to the connection via Amsterdam. Ground Staff at the airports are a mixture. Some excellent people however more often than not others are well lets just say they should be working in another industry if they can't be bothered to have basic manners. This has been my experience over the years at least in various airports in different countries. Food on the flight is pretty basic and disappointing however lounges are good and would recommend.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Amsterdam
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Had a great flight"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Rio de Janeiro to Amsterdam on one of KLM's new Boeing 787-9 aircraft. Upon arrival at the airport I was upgraded to an economy comfort seat for and the check in went super fast. As a sky priority elite plus menner, I was handed an invitation letter to the GOL lounge. The food and drinks in the lounge were nice and there was sufficient variety. Boarding was on time and went in an orderly fashion. After an on time departure soon dinner was served. The seats were comfortable and the entertainement system had lots of new)movies. Halfway I decided to stretch my legs and walked over to the galley. A variety of snacks and drinks were available and the stewardess offered coffee. About two hours before landing breakfast was served containing scrambled eggs, bread, cheese, fruit and pastry. After landing luggage was on the carrousel within minutes. Had a great flight.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteRio de Janeiro to Amsterdam
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes