KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 833 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"does not reward you"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Bahrain to Cardiff via Amsterdam. KLM new "revenue" based customer rewards program that does not reward you when you spend more revenue. I fly with KLM on medium haul and short haul flights 8 times a month. When they changed their loyal program earlier this year I kept away from posting anything and waited to see how it would affect me. I am sorry to say that KLM staff on this flight have at best misunderstood the terms and conditions or at worst are purposely misleading customers on the terms and conditions of KLM's new loyalty program. I always upgrade to business class when there are seats available from my economy ticket and more often than not pay full price. On this occasion i paid $900 ontop of my existing ticket to upgrade after confirming with the KLM staff that I would indeed receive the 24XP points in order to retrain my gold status. The flight went well until i noticed that I had only been awarded 8XP points via my KLM app. Upon questioning KLM on this after the flight they informed me that although their system is now revenue based that this "revenue based" program do not recognise this type of revenue based spend?? I am now in the process of changing airlines. 8 x minimum and short haul flights worth of revenue based pending walking our the door for KLM.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBahrain to Cardiff via Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"didn't meet the standard size"

(India)

Trip Verified | London to Bengaluru via Amsterdam. Terrible service, rude employees, extremely unhelpful. I had 2 small baggage which were under weight limit for check-in but I was charged additional whereas most of the other passengers with huge baggage that didn't meet the standard size were allowed without any additional money being charged. Also the food was really bad, the sandwich was too dry.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bengaluru via Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rebooked flight also cancelled"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Amsterdam return. Original outbound flight cancelled due to staff shortages. To make matters worse, my rebooked flight was also cancelled, as was the one afterwards. One angry phone call later, I discovered my rebooked flights had not been cancelled, rather KLM had not entered by booking in to the flight correctly. I was eventually rebooked on to a convenient alternative KLM flight, but lo and behold, on the day I was due to fly, my flight was cancelled. After another angry phone call, I took an pleasant and uneventful BA flight to Amsterdam. Sure enough, my return flight on KLM was cancelled due to technical issues with the plane and my rebooked flight delayed by an hour. To their credit, KLM air crew were very nice and their planes clean. However, the chaos in which KLM seem to operate has put me off flying with them in the future.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rude and unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew KLM from Amsterdam to Nice. Just shocking how rude and unhelpful the airline staff are at the airport. No such thing as customer service. Several times now I have been overly disappointed in the service by this arline and their staff.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Nice
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"refused as carry on"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Madrid to Amsterdam. Medical equipment that is essential for me was refused to be allowed as carry on. I showed doctor letters explaining the necessity of the equipment. They threatened to not let me on the plane unless I agreed to let them put it in the hold with other luggage. Eventually this was my only option, with compliance and management contact being refused. This is especially disappointing of an allegedly high class airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"two restrooms for 5 hour flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tel Aviv to San Francisco via Amsterdam. The flight from Tel Aviv to Amsterdam was aircraft Boeing 737. It was a fully packed plane with only two restrooms for 5 hour flight. The aircraft had no entertainment and the two restrooms were not sufficient for the entire economy class section. There were lines constantly for the use of the facility. I don't know why KLM would use such an aircraft for 5 hour trip. On the other hand, the flight from Amsterdam to SFO in Boeing 767 was a totally different experience. The aircraft was much larger and it didn't fill to the capacity so it was much more pleasant flight with less aggravated passengers. Each seat had its individual screen for the entertainment.
AircraftBoeing 737 / 767
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTel Aviv to San Francisco via Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"cabin crew were wonderful"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | It was my first time flying with KLM on a non-European flight, the boarding was easy, it's Schipol. The seat was comfortable, the cabin crew were wonderful, the in-flight entertainment was good, could be a little broader but cannot complain. The food though was rubbish, they ran out of beef when they got to me but that isn't the problem it's more the quality of food, they do come round with drinks a lot which is great. Really smooth flight. I've been on an American airline and they're terrible, so it's an overall thumbs up for KLM long haul flights.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Rio de Janerio
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Overall really impressed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Manchester to Lima return via Amsterdam, for the first time in KLM's new world business class.The day we flew there was a power outage at Schiphol airport. Fortunately none of our flights were cancelled, though our connecting flight from Manchester was delayed and gave only us 20 mins in Amsterdam to catch our Lima flight. Staff were extremely good in up-dating the information and honest, saying if we were late the next flight would not wait. Our long-haul experience was fantastic, no delays or luggage issues, the FA's were really friendly and engaging; it was obvious that they took pride in their jobs. The seats are really comfortable and lie flat - on return flight slept for 6 hours. The IFE was current, good resolution and although the screen was fixed never felt I wanted to adjust the screen. Catering was of a high standard and tasty (though not as great variety of choice as offered by middle eastern airlines) and was never left lacking. One the subject of catering, the photos of short-haul sector catering - the chicken salad with accompaniment is what KLM presented on AMS to MAN compared with our BA Club Europe meagre offering of an unappetising chicken sandwich (GOT to MAN in Feb 2018). Overall really impressed and would not hesitate flying KLM business class long-haul again.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManchester to Lima via Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"is the cheapest ticket"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Bahrain to Kuwait on an A330 in December 2017. On this 1 hr flight, they served juices and waffle. The plane looks old and the crew looked tired which resonates as a gloomy trip. This is the cheapest ticket compare to the legacy and budget airlines flying between this route. Seat pitch is ok. Upon landing, we were stranded in the taxi way due to some other delayed airline blocking our designated gate. Since we were not moving, the air became really hard to breathe in as it smelled like the exhaust from the engine. A female passenger went ill and her children got out of their seats to seek assistance but a crew sitting behind a few rows shouted at them to sit since the plane is still taxiing. Unfortunately, none of the crew who were assisting can speak Arabic. How can an airline send their plane to an Arab country with arabic speaking travelers with cabin crew who do not speak the language?!
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBahrain to Kuwait
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a pleasure to fly KLM"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Oslo to Amsterdam. I would like to thank KLM for the excellent service offered. Boarding was on time and fast. Nice and very clean Boeing 737 aircraft. The Captain gave a warm welcome message in perfect English. The cabin crew did a professional job and were perfectly groomed and polite. It is a pleasure to fly KLM.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOslo to Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes