Airline of the Year  

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 684 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"I am forever grateful"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew from London to Los Angeles via Amsterdam. Sometime during my flight, I realized my hearing aids - which I had removed, placed in the KLM sickness bag, and tucked into the seat pocket - were gone. I contacted the flight attendant and every effort was made to help me find them, including searching through discarded dinner trays and on board trash. After landing, KLM employees contacted the gate agent and arranged for the last possible place - the trash in the bathroom - to be searched. My hearing aids were found! The effort put out by the crew of my flight and the grounds crew was amazing, it was time consuming and a distraction as they turned the plane for the next flight. I am forever grateful! It is such a joy to fly an airline that truly does care about the passengers and goes the extra mile for them.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLondon to Los Angeles via Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"flights left and arrived spot on time"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Today's trip was a one-day return without any checked-in luggage flying from Amsterdam to Munich. This trip was booked using Flying Blue miles in Business class and for both flights seat 4F was selected. When checking in using the KLM app all was OK, but when I printed my boarding card at the airport I found out that I still had seat 4F in the outbound flight but that this was located in the Y section! When inquiring about this with the KLM check-in staff they informed me that this was due to a configuration change. "But you are seated in Y+ and have the same legroom, so don't complain". In both Amsterdam as well in Munich I could use the Skypriority facilities allowing me to skip the lines for security but could not use the Crown Lounge in Amsterdam. On the return flight (which was not changed) I could use the lounge in Munich. This is a dedicated KL/AF lounge which has limited amenities but featured a reasonable WIFI network. Both flights were the typical KLM short haul service, a pre-packed sandwich and a cup of coffee/tea in Y and a salad and 2 drink runs in C. Both flights left and arrived spot on time.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAmsterdam to Munich
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Incredibly frustrating being lied to"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Flew KLM from Paris to Aalborg via Amsterdam. 3 out of 4 flights in a row were delayed. The captain explicitly promised that the connecting flights were notified, and that everyone would make their flights. We ran all that we could, and arrived at the gate after five minutes. The doors had closed two minutes prior, and we were refused entry to the flight, despite staff still visibly boarding. According to staff, the captain had said one thing to passengers and reported another to staff. Apparantly this happens several times every day. Incredibly frustrating being lied to!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Aalborg via Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"plane was clean and looked fresh"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | Flew Kiev to Hong Kong via Amsterdam. KLM surpassed my expectations in terms of service quality and integrity. Booking at klm.com was easy. Options sold via simple and attractive interface. Mobile check in worked well. Bag drop at Borispil airport took 2 minutes. Boarding was a breeze. The plane was clean and looked fresh. Crews were polite and attentive. Eco comfort seating was lovely. Their European catering is strange, but since there is a full bar service, not much to be unhappy about. Transfer at Amsterdam requires lots of walking, but terminal is perfectly organized, signage is easy and smart, security search was efficient (but not overly fast), so I have easily made a connection of 55 minutes. My bag made it as well. On the plane I loved the Eco Comfort small and private cabin. The seating was perfectly comfortable with good legroom. Entertainment had loads of films and shows and kept me occupied for the whole flight. No USB, no touchscreen, but ok. I loved the crews (very friendly, hard working and caring). Catering was of very good quality. My Japanese option was delivered first and didn't disappoint me. Lots of drink rounds. Great plane. Sorry to see 747s being grounded and replaced. The only annoyance was an 80 min delay due to wrong balance of cargo load (the plane was 747-combi). Finally they unloaded the wrong cargo to let us go, but even after that we spent 30 minutes waiting for available time slot. Great communication from cockpit and cabin crew. 10 out of 10 despite delay and tasteless food on European flight.
AircraftBoeing 747-400 Combi
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteKiev to Hong Kong via Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"A great experience "

(Qatar)

Verified Review | Kuwait to Washington via Amsterdam. We had an early morning start in Kuwait, the Airbus was an older aircraft with angled lie flat bed seats but quite comfortable , the IFE was a little dated with quite an old selection of TV programs which I quite enjoyed the memories they brought back but the movie selection was quite new, food was tasty, I had the dal curry which was delicious. Flight attendants were very attentive and service was professional. We arrived on time in Amsterdam and enjoyed the 4 hours wait at the airport, the aircraft to IAD was a new Boeing 777-200 with huge lie flat beds in business class and and a much newer IFE, flight attendants as good as the first leg and the food was good too! A great experience and flight and they will be high on my list.
AircraftA330-300 / Boeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKuwait to Washington via Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"crew friendly and pretty attentive"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Toronto with KLM in 787-9 Dreamliner economy class. It was a while ago flying a long haul flight with KLM and I was a bit concerned after many good flights with Singapore Airlines in recent years. But I was pleasantly surprised. First of all, service was much better than my last KLM long haul flight to Dar es Salaam. The crew were friendly and pretty attentive. Secondly, the food was tasty. It started with dinner (evening flight), finished with cheese quiche and ice cream in between. No problem to get more food if you left hungry and ask for. Enough drinks including wine, beer etc. Last but not least, the aircraft and IFE. For an 8 hour flight the seat width and pitch are reasonable. The electronic dimmable shades do work, mood lighting is nice and cabin noise is relatively low. In my opinion the biggest advantage of the 787 is the increased humidity compared to older aircraft. Nice IFE touch screen. However, if you look at the details my previous A350 flights with Singapore Airlines scored better on almost every aspect. KLM 787-9 is lacking a separate IFE control unit (for people who like gaming) and the screen is not adjustable, there could be more lavatories and it would be better if it had manual shades. Also the A350 cabin is a little bit wider. It would be nice if KLM replace their plastic cutlery for metal and replace the paper hot towels for cotton. The efficiency of meal service could be better as well (it was not very organised). Overall I was satisfied.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Toronto
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"lovely cabin crew"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Flew KLM from Amsterdam to Curacao. It was a very nice flight, lovely cabin crew and the food was good! Not all of it but I liked the pizza. The seats and the seat pitch was also good, I am 5'5 and had a lot of leg space. The entertainment screen was a bit outdated but it worked nicely. The aircraft was old, if I remember it was 26 years old, there was no wifi on board but I didn't mind. Overall it was a very nice flight, with nice flight attendants.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Curacao
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cares about its passengers"

(Croatia)

Verified Review | I was traveling on the 7th of June from Edinburgh to Zagreb via Amsterdam. I knew the weather was bad in Amsterdam and expected delays. The problem was that I only had 45mins to connect. Of course there was a delay in Edinburgh due to wind problems in Amsterdam. After waiting an extra 30 mins or so, we finally took off. On the plane I was told that I had missed my flight and I was re-booked with another airline. Being hopeful I still ran to the gate to try and catch my flight. Thankfully people were still boarding the plane, but apparently because I was re-booked to another flight I could not board. The lady at the gate though was very determined and did everything she could to get me booked on this flight again. After 15mins she managed to do so and I managed to board the plane. Very helpful staff! Very organized airline and cares about its passengers!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdinburgh to Zagreb via Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"I recommend KLM!"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Miami to Dusseldorf via Amsterdam. KLM check in at Miami airport very slow. Very long cue behind us waiting for doing the check in. Flight to Amsterdam was completely full. Crew was very polite and friendly, food was very good. Flight arrived on time! Amsterdam to Dusseldorf leg was completely full too. Friendly crew on this 30 minute flight. I recommend KLM!
AircraftA330-300 / Fokker 70
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Dusseldorf via Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"pleasantly surprised with my flight"

(United States)

Verified Review | Pleasantly surprised with my flight on KLM from Amsterdam to Kiev. Flight was about 2.5 hours long but a decently tasting warm pasta meal was served along with a dessert treat. Wine and beer both offered. Flight left a few mins late due to staffing issues but those waiting were notified promptly. Ended up only a few mins late. Compared to what we get in coach in America now a days, this was refreshing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Kiev
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes