Vote Now  

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 653 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"customer service is unacceptable"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Terrible experience! I arrived in Newcastle at 830am on Thursday and discovered that my luggage had not arrived with me. I have experience this before with other airlines and understand that losing your luggage is a risk you take when flying. However, that was 3 days ago and I have called the airline 6 times to be told 6 different stories and different times to expect my luggage. They confirmed that my luggage was found and arrived in the UK (1 hour from when I am staying) on Thursday evening and said it had been picked up by the courier they hire on Friday morning. Currently the earliest expected delivery time they can give me is Monday evening. This is 5 and a half days after arriving in the country (and that is providing this information is not false like the previous 5 expected arrival times). I have asked to speak to the department manager but have been told that one is not available every time I have called. We travelled to England for a special occasion and ultimately do not have clothes to wear to that occasion. We have altered our travel plans in order to always be at the delivery location we provided in case the luggage does show up. This type of customer service is unacceptable in my eyes. I will never flying KLM or recommend it to anyone again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Newcastle
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not really premium at all"

(United States)

Verified Review | Houston to Amsterdam. I fly regularly between the US and Europe, usually on premium economy. Most times I end up on Lufthansa, British Airways or SAS, who all have wider seats, bigger screens and power supply in their premium economy class (I avoid the US airlines for all it's worth). The additional leg space and seat width makes the difference for me. For the first time I chose to try KLM premium economy for my Houston to Amsterdam trip. What a disappointment! The seats were the same as in economy class, i.e. exactly the same width. The only difference was a few inches extra of leg space. If you choose an emergency seat, which costs less than the premium economy on KLM, you basically get a better product. The screens looked like they came from a different era, pixelated and tiring to look at. Also, there was no power supply at all. Comparing with standard economy class it is of course much better to have the extra leg space, but compared to the competitors the KLM 'premium economy' is not really premium at all!
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteHouston to Amsterdam
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"very pleasant flight"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Very pleasant flight with KLM flying from Lisbon to Warsaw via Amsterdam. On both flights airplanes were pretty old, a bit worn out, old fashioned, no any kind of inflight entertainment, but both flights were right on time and very nice. Catering was decent (either warm pasta with cookie or wrap, full soft and alcohol bar), but the best thing with KLM are the crews who are always extra friendly, smiling, chatty and professional. Totally recommended.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Warsaw via Amsterdam
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"very friendly welcome by the cabin crew"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew with KLM on the 3rd April from Lisbon to Newcastle via Amsterdam. Before I arrived at Lisbon Airport, I checked in online using the KLM app which was a very smooth and easy experience compared to some airline apps. On arrival at the airport I checked in my bags at the bag drop using the boarding pass which I had on my phone. The staff around check-in were absolutely fantastic, couldn't have been more helpful. As I boarded the aircraft, I was given a very friendly welcome by the cabin crew. The flight departed 15 minutes behind schedule due to an issue with ATC in Amsterdam. Once we were airborne the crew began to serve breakfast which consisted of a Dutch breakfast sandwich and a choice of drink. The sandwich was actually quite nice although the appearance did not look so tasty. Throughout the flight the cabin crew continued to serve light snacks and beverages, and the service was outstanding. The time lost at Lisbon had been made up during the flight and we actually arrived at the destination 5 minutes early than anticipated. I would certainly fly with KLM again for their outstanding service and value for money.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Newcastle via Amsterdam
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"always a pleasure to fly with KLM"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | It's always a pleasure to fly with KLM on this route from Kuala Lumpur to Jakarta. Check in and boarding is always easy and hassle free. Enough information was given before the flight-boarding time, gates, etc. The ground crew were efficient and friendly. However I was not aware the departure time was 16.20, as I remembered it being 17.10. But no matter because we have reached the gate early. On board, the FA's only serve veggie pie which was not delicious. Beverage selection was great with wine served on request. The airline should seriously consider to change their "veggie pie" menu.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Jakarta
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"flight with a great service"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Copenhagen to Tehran via Amsterdam. Nice flight with a great service. Business class was full and lots of children hopping around. Crew was exceptionally good, getting things done efficiently as well. I liked the starters. Saw two films and service ended with a traditionally Dutch snack. Seats had good lounge position. Toilets were kept clean throughout the flight. My suitcase was one of the first out. Could not have been better.
AircraftBoeing 772
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCopenhagen to Tehran via Amsterdam
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"staff extremely friendly and helpful"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Curaçao via Amsterdam. I had read a lot of negative remarks that we chose KLM rather resentfully, but the itinerary from FRA was more convenient than Air Berlin. For Curaçao, there was no other reasonable choice. This little competition makes the tickets rather pricy in comparison to flights to Asia. Their website is awful in many respects (I would have to fill pages, so I don't write why), that made our expectations not very happy either. We were very surprised that none of our prejudices turned out to be confirmed. Not a single delay, on the contrary - we reached all destinations up to 10 minutes earlier than scheduled. Friendly staff on ground and in the air. On both long hauls, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful - we are accustomed to Asian Airlines and have become quite fastidious about service, but this reached the same level. Our prebookings of gluten free and Hindu meals had been lost by their sappy website, but the staff did their utmost to compose some convenient replacement food for us and re-ordered instantly our meals for the return flight (with success). The quality of the food itself was average but edible. The movie entertainment consisted mainly of stale news, mainstream thrillery, or animations which I preferred because the screens are not good enough for any dark scene in a normal movie - you see nothing but a black screen. Because of the cheap earbuds, acoustics qualities are very low and it was hard to understand much of the dialogues in English (English subtitles would help a lot!) - and there were few films in German. Seats were okay and there was enough legroom, so that we could even slide down a bit and sleep. For flights to the west, we will certainly book KLM again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Curacao
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"it lived up to expectations"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Nairobi. First time trying the New World Business Class and it lived up to expectations. The cabin staff is very friendly, attentive and looks natural. This is the best cabin staff I have experienced, and I typically fly Economy. The new seat design puts KLM in a higher league, and the cabin space is quite relaxing, not giving impression of being full. Meal service is well time and diverse enough, good choice and what you expect in a normal Business Class. KLM fares are high for the Dutch market, but their scheduling is the best for making most of your work days. IFE is a bit dating as most aircraft now have some high def screens, but like many people I pack my own gear so this is not much relevant. All in all KLM is living up to expectation, no delays and the ground service is Schiphol is flawless. Time to upgrade the A330 fleet!
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAmsterdam to Nairobi
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"consider them for the next trip"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | London to Kuala Lumpur via Amsterdam. First flight with KLM and was a bit apprehensive, as connection from London was very short. The SkyTeam Lounge at Heathrow is adequate, enough space to sit and have a quiet drink and a snack. There is WiFi. Catering OK, but my usual carrier is Etihad, so the experience was a little different, no a la carte table service. Flight boarded at T4 from the gate opposite the Lounge, very convenient. At Schipol we had just about 50 minutes from touchdown to the onward connection, which was enough time to have a quick drink, find our way to the gate and immediately board the next flight. With such a short connection I was worried our luggage wouldn't make the flight, but when we arrived at KUL there it was! The new World Business Class is very open and comfortable. The seating is great, save for the fact that you have no direct aisle access for the window seat. If you are travelling as a couple this is fine, for solo travellers it might prove tiresome. The on-board service was great, the staff were attentive and extremely helpful. The catering was OK, very Dutch shall we say! The drinks were good quality, but a bit mean. Nothing that one could really grumble about. The in-flight entertainment is good quality and there was an adequate range of new and classic programming to keep me entertained until bed time! The bed is great and I slept like a baby. Even though they are older aircraft I like the sense of space you get with the Boeing 777, which somehow you don't quite feel on other aircraft even the 380. The price was comparable to Etihad (about GBP 300 more) but the flight is 1hr to AMS, a 1hr layover and then a 12hr leg to KUL. Reverse journey the same timings. For EY you have a 3 or 4 hour layover and now they have adjusted their timetable you have to either leave UK early in the morning or arrive very late to KUL. The KLM timings are much friendlier. We left LHR at 17.00 and arrived in KUL 16.00 a much less stressful journey. Am flying back KLM and will definitely consider them for the next trip too.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to KUL via AMS
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"fantastic 2 flights"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Fantastic 2 flights from Vienna to Oslo via Amsterdam. Economy Comfort seat had generous pitch. Flight attendants on both flights were the warmest and friendliest I have encountered in years. Usually fly Lufthansa/Austrian and the difference in the level of service offered by these attendants was incredible. Both flights left on time and landed early. Small snack and drinks offered, plane clean and presentable. Would definitely recommend KLM.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Oslo via Amsterdam
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes