Best Economy Class Seats  

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 546 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"quick departure and attentive staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Kraków to Edinburgh via Amsterdam with KLM. We were a group booking and arrived at Kraków and taken to a quiet check in area, very prompt and arrived on board. Good seating together as a group. Only disappointment was the snack served were not gluten free and myself and another in the group are Coeaclics. Good flight with attentive attendants. We arrived in Schiphol and had a two hours wait for our next flight to Edinburgh, again very quick departure and attentive staff.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKRK to EDI via AMS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"staff were nice and planes were clean"

(Germany)

Verified Review | We had 2 really good flights with KLM from Amsterdam to Johannesburg and from Cape Town back to Amsterdam. Our plane was equipped with the "KLM New Economy Class" which means that the seats are thinner than usual and you will now have a touch screen with a brilliant entertainment system in front of your seat. You can also charge your laptop or mobile phone with an USB cable. As on our previous flights with KLM we really enjoy the food on the long-haul flights. The desserts, salads and also mains are always delicious (for plane food). The drinks are good and they offer you many times water, juice etc. The space between our seats and the front seats were quite spacious. I am 1.70m tall and my boyfriend 1.80m. The selection of movies is quite good. You will find recent films and all-time classics. We would always recommend the flight with KLM. Flights were in time. Staff were nice and planes were clean and comfortable.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to JNB
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"a poor experience with KLM"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Sao Paulo to Amsterdam and a poor experience with KLM and their "new ergonomically designed seats". Sitting in the window seat, I felt pressed to the wall, by the passenger next to me, a normally built man. Whatever position I sat, resulted in contact with the passenger next to me. This was never a problem with the old, comfortable seats. They had plenty of space for normally built passengers. I attempted to sleep by standing for a couple of hours by the restrooms, but was not allowed by the flight attendant. The toilet seat was actually more comfortable than the ergonomically designed seat. I was also told that the seat widths are the same as earlier on KLM, which seems to be incorrect, after reading the reviews on this site, where so many others are complaining about the narrow seat width.
AircraftBoeing 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGRU to AMS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"leg room was appalling"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | KLM flight from Billund to Los Angeles via Amsterdam was delayed. In-flight entertainment didn't work (10 hour flight), and was not fixed despite many "tries" - and by "tries" I mean they restarted the system every time someone complained, which didn't fix anything. Leg room was appalling. Cabin was noisy. Food was mediocre. Would not recommend.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBLL to LAX via AMS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a very pleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Leeds Bradford to Amsterdam with KLM City Hopper. New plane, loads of leg room, snack served on both outward and return journeys. Staff very helpful. Good communication from flight deck. All in all a very pleasant experience - well done KLM. Our first flight with them, but will certainly use them again.
AircraftEmbraer 190
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLBA to AMS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Jakarta to Kuala Lumpur on a KLM 5th freedom flight. I was pleasantly surprised. The aircraft, a 777-300ER, was one year old but looked immaculate and featured the new slim fit economy class seats with the latest IFE version. I found very interesting the possibility of chatting from your seat with somebody else on the same plane through the IFE itself. A full hot meal was served (good quality) along with two rounds of hot drinks and spirits. Cabin crew was nice and polite but I really do not like their uniforms. Frequent announcements from the pilots in English. Flight left Jakarta ahead of schedule and did land on-time. A 20 Kg checked luggage was also included into the cheap fare. Recommended: this is a very good option especially compared to the many LCCs that fly on the same route.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCGK to KUL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no seats for my family"

(United Kingdom)

Amsterdam to Toronto with KLM. I got to the airport for a 9:45 am flight only to find out that the plane has been overbooked and there are no seats for my family. We are then informed that we have been changed to a flight at 2:45pm and now have to travel indirect to Toronto via Montreal. We speak to the supervisor at the ticket desk and he tells us that after we pass through security, there will be some meal vouchers waiting for us at the information desk. When we arrive at the KLM desk, they kindly let us know that our names are nowhere to be found on the compensation list. After about 1 hour of hassling over the vouchers we give up. Our family should have been back in Toronto early afternoon but instead we will be arriving well into the night. Thanks a lot KLM for all your courteous service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to YYZ
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"complimentary drink and sandwich"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Prague to Amsterdam with KLM. Inbound flight was delayed a bit due to passengers checking in, but not showing up. Flight crew managed to arrive on time in Amsterdam though, so kudos for that. Standard KLM service, which is good. Cabin crew were not exceptional, but good in their service. We've received a complimentary drink and sandwich, even on a short flight like this. Overall feeling is good and happy to fly a quality airline for the same price on such a short flight instead of the dreadful low cost carrier.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePRG to AMS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"inflight service was good"

(Netherlands)

Short (leisure) flight from Amsterdam to Prague (1 hour, 15 minutes) with KLM. We had a seat at row 19 in a 2-2 configuration. Seats are good and offer enough legroom, even for me (6'2"). Inflight service was as what to expect from KLM - good. Even on a short flight like this, you receive a complimentary drink and sandwich. Not overly enthusiastic and friendly cabin crew, but nothing to be negative about. Cabin crew served us well and made us feel welcome on board, which is the most important thing in my opinion. Flight departed and arrived on time. One negative sidenote, I don't like the fact KLM charges passengers for there bagage which need to be put in the hold. I understand it, since they are forced to by competition, but it's KLM unworthy in my opinion.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to PRG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"cabin crew is excellent"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | CAG to AUH via AMS with KLM. My mistake was to take flights with such short connections. Outbound lost connection and inbound nearly lost the connection as the gates of European and International flights are on opposite sides and there's at least 20 min walk + passport control. With the congestion of high season passengers should make sure that they have at least 2 hours for each connection. This is the only fault I found with KLM. Short connections flights should not be sold in my opinion. Apart from this, I flew with the B787 Dreamliner, a different story of comfort in Y class. Meal (sweet and sour chicken) wasn't exceptional, but the snack (quiche) was quite nice. Cabin crew is excellent. Couldn't expect any better. WiFi is charged at almost $10 for 40 MB, which compared to what the Gulf carrier offer it's a rip off.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCAG to AUH via AMS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes