Top 100 Airlines  

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 575 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"subsequently excused themselves"

(Belgium)

Our first experience with KLM was certainly not optimal, but they have their subsequently excused themselves. Hopefully this was a one-off less pleasant experience. We left with KLM from Brussels to Amsterdam Schiphol to switch to another KLM flight to Bangkok. At our first flight was already wrong: technical problem with the brakes, impossible to leave. After an hour delay we left, and we find out onboard the plane that just connections after 18h (we left at 17:45) were possible. We finally came to Amsterdam to 17h15, where we walked fast with the whole family (traveling with two children) to be told at the gate that we were rebooked via Kuala Lumpur. First of all, we have never asked this but eventually I assume KLM does this only with good intentions. Yet when we were at the gate with children and luggage, the plane was still there, and more people were still boarding and we were not allowed on the plane! KLM decided us to book via Kuala Lumpur to Bangkok, adding a lot of time to our booked journey. The reaction of the staff on the spot was not friendly at all. Eventually, we have to abide by their decision, we were not allowed on the flight, so we went back to the KLM information counter. There they confirmed we had an extra few hours waiting to catch the flight to Kuala Lumpur. When you take such a long journey with children and you book in advance your seats on the plane, we then discovered that we could not sit together as a group of 4, but the staff was able to keep us places 2-2 adjacant in the middle row with 4 seats and 2 seats next to us free so that we would have more space . How do you explain to me that we cannot sit side by side with 4 seats, but with two and two empty seats?Leaving Kuala Lumpur again a technical fault with our plane to Bangkok, again more than 30min delay. Finally arrived in Bangkok over 8hrs later than planned. Booked taxi had gone, extra costs, and less travel enjoyment. Once at home we reported in writing to KLM, who provided an immediate apology and compensation to help mitigate the negative experience. The positive must certainly be said!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to AMS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Seats quite comfortable"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | This was my first time flying with KLM from Kuala Lumpur to Jakarta. The air fare was reasonable if compared with Garuda or MAS. Boarding was fast and easy. Seats quite comfortable. IFE was great with updated content. Arrived 10 minutes early. However the food was mediocre. I believe a hot meal or supper will be more appropriate.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteKUL to CGK
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"inflight service average"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Berlin via Amsterdam. Inflight service average. Attendants not that friendly. Food as expected for economy but the omelette for breakfast was dry and a little tasteless, and coffee seemed very low quality. Please supply milk instead of powdered creamer. Entertainment options acceptable. Easy to check-in online. No problems there. Premium economy seat had great legroom and recline. But you have to share the underseat space with the person next to you. So that is annoying. Who gets to put their bag there? I would use them again if the price was right.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteKUL to TXL via AMS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"very friendly and efficient staff"

(Netherlands)

This trip to South Africa was our honeymoon and KLM played a very big role in making this a very special trip. Besides the clean cabin, very friendly and efficient staff and good food we got champagne and a nice friendly chat on the way to Johannesburg. On the flight back flight attendants asked us how our trip was. Flights were very good and on time / ahead of schedule. Highly recommended.
AircraftBoeing 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to JNB via CPT
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst flying experiences"

(United Kingdom)

London to Istanbul via Amsterdam. One of the worst flying experiences I have bad. The staff at Heathrow were very rude, the ticket was sold without making it clear there was no luggage allowance so we had to pay extra. They had only two staff at the airport so we had to queue for a long time to get this done. The plane was delayed by 3 hours so we lost the connection. KLM also lost the luggage (which we had to pay more for!) In all I found their staff to be extremely rude, the service on the aircraft was appalling and they are unable to fly even 100 miles without having a several hour delay.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to IST via AMS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"overall good value for the money"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Los Angeles. Due to better pricing I used a Delta ticket to LAX, which gave me the inbound flight on KLM and outbound on Air France. KLM was great service, a good seat you can sleep on, good IFE and good food. No delays, nice lounge at AMS, efficient boarding, so overall good value for the money.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteFRA to LAX via AMS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"excellent boarding and flight"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Zurich to Amsterdam. Swift checkin at ZRH Checkin 2, excellent boarding and flight. Had 12F seat with double legroom, due to the fact that the seat directly at the emergency exit is missing. Only point to criticize was the plane piece of cake they were serving on a flight during lunch time. For me something salty would have been more adequate.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZRH to AMS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"comfort seats ... a joke"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | We have flown KLM twice, from Singapore to Bali return. We paid extra for comfort seats, but what a joke. The seats were offset so my tv screen was halfway between mine and the next seat (I was window). My husband was middle. The aisle seat had an armrest tv and tray because there were only 2 seats infront of us. My husbands tv was overlapping her space and his tray hit hers. More importantly, her tv totally blocked the row. It was a nightmare. On the 13th we flew back. Had paid extra for comfort and were seated several rows back, so didnt get them. Never again.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDPS to SIN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"plenty of seat space"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Johannesburg via Amsterdam. Excellent flight and service on both legs, good food and snacks served with additions if required. Both legs on time. Plenty of seat space and leg room in economy. Although the 3x4x3 layout of seats means if you choose a window seat it is difficult to move during the flight and disturbs the other two seats. Problem retrieving my bag was dealt with efficiently although this was not due to KLM but a passenger collecting the wrong bag.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to JNB via AMS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"friendly and professional"

(United Kingdom)

This was my first time flying KLM. The flight attendants for the four segments I flew were friendly and professional. They served a small snack and drink for a 50 min flight between BHX and AMS as well as AMS and ZRH. They offered wine and beer as well. Certainly better than what BA offers. Good job KLM. Keep it up.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZRH to BHX via AMS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes