Vote Airport  

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 479 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"KLM is a different world"

(United Kingdom)

I fly often between London and Amsterdam for work and despite alluring fares from low cost carriers, flying KLM is a different world. If KLM had a better price strategy they would be as busy as the low cost airlines. That said the service and detail on board is of great standard - Dutch prints on coffee cups and little treat boxes are a great touch delivered by their marketing team. The cake and wrap served on each flight were the best airplane snack food I've had. I'm more then happy to rate this flight as 10/10, but fares can be high for this 50 minute flight, and as such tomorrow I'm unfortunately flying a competitor.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to AMS
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"will fly KLM again"

(United Kingdom)

Tokyo Narita to Amsterdam was my first time with KLM and I was impressed. Online check in was very straightforward, a user-friendly website. At the airport, the check in process went smoothly. I liked how the pilot kept us informed all through out the flight. More importantly, there were no unnecessary PA announcements. The Boeing 777 seating was on a 3-4-3 configuration, but did not look and feel cramped at all. Blue, KLM's colour, made the interior look good and relaxing. Friendly and attentive cabin crew. The food was good and so was the inflight entertainment. We arrived at Schipol Airport on time and well rested. I will fly with KLM again.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNRT to AMS
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"seats in economy are extremely narrow"

(United Kingdom)

I flew KLM from London Heathrow - Hong Kong via Amsterdam on 24th Jan 2015. First flight was on an Embraer 190 operated by KLM Cityhopper. Flight was good and on time so no complaints there. Flight to HKG was on an old 747 combi and was terrible. Flight was on time and cabin staff were pretty good, but the seats in economy are extremely narrow and have pretty much non existent. Also, the IFE controlls are in the armrest (at least on window seat) and are pretty difficult to access. Overall I'd recommend KLM for inter-Europe hops but I'd say stay away from long haul unless you enjoy cramped seats.
AircraftE190, Boeing 747-400 Combi
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to HKG via AMS
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"flight attendants were nice and helpful"

(Denmark)

This was the early bird flight out of Copenhagen to Amsterdam at 0600 and everything work very well with KLM Royal Dutch Airlines. Quick boarding, departure and arrival on time and the flight attendants were nice and helpful. Even though it was a full flight it was comfortable and seats in Economy are fine without being great in any way.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPH to AMS
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"fly with KLM again"

(Canada)

We were 3 hours late departing Edinburgh so missed our connecting flight from Amsterdam to Toronto. We were forced to take a flight to JFK New York and then another flight from there to Toronto. Although it was very inconvenient and tiring, I realize that sometimes things happen that you cannot control. I contacted the customer service people when we returned and they were extremely helpful and compensated us for the flight. I would fly with KLM again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEDI to YYZ via AMS
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"complete ignorance from KLM "

(Sweden)

We were rebooked on this flight from Amsterdam to Lima due to late incoming flight from Stockholm (not KLM fault), so we missed the direct flight to Quito. Our final destination was Quito. In Amsterdam uninterested staff in the transfer area. We could not get our Boarding passes from KLM for the flight from Lima to Quito with TAME, a carrier unknown to us. Our luggage was to be sent directly to Quito with the same flights. Onboard this KLM flight, the cabin was old but the service was OK. Inflight we were told that a person would meet us and help us with the transfer in Lima. Nobody turned up so we had to find the gate for TAME by ourself. That was not open so we went to KLM gate for the returning flight, they knew nothing and were not interested to help us. Eventually we received our Boarding passes at the gate, Economy class as this was the only provided, we were not informed of that. In Quito, were we arrived 7 hours later than our original shedule, our luggage was missing so we made a search with help of a serviceminded person of TAME. The day afterwards we e-mailed KLM and asked them to contact us, they did not. Next day I called them and was told that our luggage was not their business any more but it was up to TAME to find out were it was, they did not intend to follow-up on this. In our hotel we had wonderful staff that called the airport a lot of times and at last, 40 hours after arrival we got it delivered to the hotel (sent from Lima by LAN Chile). The baggage tags were left and we could see that KLM had not redirected the luggage, no wonder that they were not transported properly. KLM has put a new standard to their device "Sky Priority": For a little more money we make your trip much more exciting. We found this trip to be extremely tiring and the complete ignorance from KLM is exceptional.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAMS to LIM
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a great experience"

(Netherlands)

Amsterdam to New York JFK with KLM and from boarding till disembarking it was a great experience. Great meals (I would not recommend the eggs though) and friendly staff. Nice pillow and blanket and a lot of choice in the entertainment system. The prices are higher than other airlines, but my experience was worth the money.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to JFK
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"it is an excellent airline"

(Canada)

Vancouver to Brussels via Amsterdam. As a frequent flyer on Air Canada and Air Canada Rouge, I felt as if I were in wonderland on KLM. The staff are wonderful - friendly, smiling, helpful and passing up and down the aisles offering water, drinks, snacks, assistance. The hot meals on this flight for dinner and breakfast, were tasty and plentiful. My no red meat husband ordered a Hindu meal for no extra charge and it too was outstanding. The wine was excellent, and I noticed the cabin stewards offered a variety of alcohol if one wanted to drink. Blankets and pillows were provided, as were comfortable headphones. The entertainment was great with lots of choice of new movies and varied shows. The premium economy seats we were in were extremely comfortable, with more than adequate leg room and a good recline that enabled an easy nap. I think it is an excellent airline, and far better than the many American carriers and Air Canada flights I have flown before.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteYVR to BRU via AMS
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"going to miss Schiphol"

(Saudi Arabia)

Dammam to Amsterdam. I will say that I like KLM, Schiphol Airport and love the Dutch people. My one big complaint is Delta Airlines - an awful airline. I fly out of Dammam, Saudi Arabia and KLM is very convenient for me. On my flights to the US, KLM has turned over the trans-Atlantic and Domestic flying to Delta. Delta's aircraft are old and uncomfortable, the service is sub-par and I have had 3 instances of missed connections with Delta - and one unbelievably bad experience in Atlanta. I became so frustrated with Delta that I left KLM. I am at home in Las Vegas at the moment having flown on Lufthansa - wonderful, wonderful experience. Lufthansa now has my business. My point in this message is that Delta Airlines must be doing damage to KLM reputation. I'm going to miss Schiphol Airport. The rating below is for KLM, not Delta
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteDMM to AMS
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"more and more like low cost"

(Sweden)

Atlanta to Stockholm via Amsterdam with KLM, and the flights arrived about on time. Nice staff and fair price. Inflight entertainment is okay, but the product more and more like low cost carrier. Food worse than 2-3 years ago and w below an acceptable standard now. Check in at Arlanda under staffed which led to stress. Sad to see the decline as I'm sure the product could be better - even without an increase in fares.
AircraftBoeing 777-200 / 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATL to ARN via AMS
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no