Top 100 Airlines  

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 504 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"flight was punctual"

(Netherlands)

Amsterdam-Oslo and back with KLM City Hopper. On checking in for the outward journey I was not given the seat I had requested when booking. Not the first time this has happened. Why bother asking a passenger which seat he/she wants? The plane was not at the pier and the passengers had to take a bus to the plane. Comfortable seat with enough leg room. Flight was punctual. Snack was a slice of cake and coffee/tea. On the return journey I was allocated the correct seat. Again the flight was on time. The snack was a wrap, not very nice. Againt transported by bus to the terminal building at Schiphol. The cabin crew were correct both journeys but the bright red KLM regulation lipstick for the ladies clashes with the orange in their uniform.
AircraftEmbraer
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to OSL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew friendly and helpful"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | KLM Rio to Amsterdam on a brand new Boeing 787-900 with large inflight entertainment screens. Cabin crew were friendly and helpful. Flight arrived early in Amsterdam. The food out of Rio was good. Two hot meals served. On departure dinner and on arrival a hot breakfast with fresh fruit salad.
AircraftBoeing 787-900
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGIG to AMS
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"seat was very comfortable"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew on KL809, a fifth freedom flight from Kuala Lumpur to Jakarta. The check in process was smooth, flight was on time. This B777-300ER PH-BVN is equipped with new economy class cabin, legroom was big and seat was very comfortable. The IFE system offers variety of music and movie choices. Hot meal and drinks were available. We arrived Jakarta on time. This was my first experience with KLM Royal Dutch Airlines and the experience was very impressive, I appreciated the fabulous service from the crew and ground staff in KL and Jakarta. I will choose KLM next time.
AircraftBoeing 777-306ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to CGK
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"extremely unhappy camper"

(United States)

Verified Review | Chicago to Nairobi return via Amsterdam. Many times there are 2 or 3 adjoining empty seats which would allow a tired customer to lay down and get some well deserved shut eye, except you cant lie down because the armrest only folds up about half way (45 degrees). This stupid armrest design is obviously been chosen to prevent passengers to lie down. Most airlines flying this aircraft have fully foldable armrest. I flew on Emerates on the same route last month and was happy to see foldable armrests. In another matter, I was told at the gate the Nairobi to Amsterdam flight was completely full, but there was one seat available in business and I might be lucky to get upgraded. I was seated in one of the best economy comfort seats 17C. Great, after take off the stewardess approached me saying she can offer me a more comfortable seat. Having flown extensively with KLM over many years, this normally means an upgrade to business. I took my stuff and followed her only to be shown a seat behind the bulkhead, which had absolutely no foot or wiggle room. It was one of the worst seats on the plane with a crying baby right next to me. When I tried to get my great 17C seat back it was already occupied. I spend the rest of the flight of about 7 hours standing up and walking around. Needless to say I am an extremely unhappy camper.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteORD to NBO via AMS
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"a nice airplane"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Rio de Janeiro on KLM Boeing 787-900. A nice airplane with big personal entertainment touchscreens. Very helpful and friendly cabin crew. Meals are tasty and of a good quality. KLM seats are not better or worse than Emirates or Qatar Airways.
AircraftBoeing 787-900
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to GIG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"made one feel very welcome"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Toronto with KLM. Experienced the new Business Class seat which was, for the most part, satisfactory. The actual seat is comfortable. Screen is large and makes for good viewing. However, there is very little space to put anything (books, glasses, small bag, etc.) and the headphone needs to be connected to a plug that is located in an awkward spot behind one. There is also little privacy, other than an odd looking 8 inch high screen. Food was OK and the snack prior to arrival most enjoyable. The crew were great and made one feel very welcome. Service very good.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAMS to YYZ
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"transported us from A to B"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | KLM short-haul Cityhopper flight, from Amsterdam to Bergen. We checked-in via the KLM app and received pre-booked seats in Economy Comfort. These are the rows behind business class and offer more leg space, the service is just standard economy. These seats are bookable free of charge for Flying Blue Elite cardholders. Luggage drop off via the Skypriority entrance was fast and efficient and the lines for security check were shorter than the other lines. Breakfast choices in the KLM Crown lounge are 365 days/year the same, but OK. Boarding smooth, Skypriority was enforced. When boarding was completed the aircraft remained at the gate for 10 more minutes allowing them to load the last transfer luggage, making sure that all passengers arrived in Bergen with their luggage. Cabin service consisted of a sandwich with coffee and a 2nd drink. All in all nothing special, KLM transported us from A to B and this is what we expected them to do.
AircraftEmbraer 190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to BGO
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"an incompetent airline"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Our flight was delayed from Paris to Amsterdam, and when we arrived in Amsterdam, our connecting flight to Manila had, us so we had to spend an extra night in Amsterdam. The customer assistant made a comment that we should have just taken an earlier flight if we had an important thing to do the next day. How unsympathetic! Then we were told to get a voucher for the hotel where we would be staying at and had to wait for a shuttle in the cold which took almost an hour. When we arrived at the hotel, we found out that it was under renovation and didn't even have the proper amenities for a hotel. To make things even worse, when we arrived in Manila, 1 of our checked in bags was missing! Such an incompetent airline! I will never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCDG to MNL via AMS
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"food selection has deteriorated"

(United Kingdom)

London to Hong Kong via Amsterdam. I was happy with having a seat both directions on the upper deck in general the service was friendly and efficient. The food selection has deteriorated. Far too much attention to Chinese options because of the Asia focus. As an example the return journey had beef on three places within the menu. No specific choice for vegetarians The Chinese meals were formulated in small narrow dishes which left you feeling empty. There has definitely been a cutback in the quantity of food provided. Unless this changes then we will turn to another airline. I am always advocating KLM but not with this radical menu options.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to HKG via AMS
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"onboard service pretty poor"

(United Kingdom)

San Paulo to Manchester via Amsterdam. The Boeing 777-200 was the new KLM business class. Still light years away from many modern airline business class seating (CX/EK/EY etc). However, the seat is much better than the previous KLM product and the headset even plugs in at shoulder level, rather than low down in a corner. Marginally improved personal space than the old style. Onboard service pretty poor, food and drink limited. Hot towels were cold, Hot rolls were cold, even the coffee was cold. Many items missing from meal tray. Food trolley prepared far too much in advance of service. Given that the service outbound was fantastic, this inbound leg to AMS has very disappointing. The "new" amenity pack was still basic, but contents are of poorer quality than the old. The socks already unravelling & the toothbrush bristles fell apart when used. Hardly premium product for premium class. The crew on the short flight to Manchester were friendly and helpful for the short connecting flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-200 / 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGRU to MAN via AMS
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no