Top 100 Airlines  

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 511 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"chaos with overbooked flight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Amsterdam. Appalled by KLM chaos at Heathrow this evening with an overbooked flight at 20.25. Later, on the flight not allowed to bring on any trolley bags unless gold or platinum members! Checked their luggage policy and am allowed hand luggage of the size I have. Get on board and empty lockers!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to AMS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"no more KLM for our family"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Flew with my family from Curaçao to Amsterdam. Very good and friendly wheelchair assistance at Hato. Nice new world business class KLM. Great seats, spacious cabin, very friendly crew. Regular food was ok/good, gluten free food wasn't gluten free (both of my daughters were sick during the flight!) and was poor in both quantity and quality if you compare it with the regular food. No gluten free desserts, no snacks whatsoever on a 9 hour flight. So if you need to have gluten free food I strongly suggest that you bring your own. Wheelchair assistance at Schiphol was a complete chaos. It took them more then an hour to bring us from the plane to the bagage claim. 3 pieces of luggage were broken + our 2 own wheelchairs were damaged (third time in a row with KLM!) Filed a complaint at KLM Customer Care, damage to luggage and wheelchairs will be paid by KLM. As a compensation they offered me a ridicoulous low amount KLM vouchers which I didn't accept and then the CC case manager decided to close the file. Apparently KLM doesn't accept any response from their passengers. So no more KLM for our family.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCUR to AMS
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"excellent service, meals delicious"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Toronto with KLM. Excellent service, meals were delicious, snacks, breakfast, very nice. Seats were comfortable, nice entertainment with a lot of selection. At 6,2" there was plenty of leg room. Clean aircraft with excellent friendly staff that flew us to our destination on time. Landings, flight, and communication by the pilots was excellent. Will fly with KLM again - highly recommended.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to YYZ
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew was extremely cheerful"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Madrid to Amsterdam with KLM. Flight was a connecting flight from ACE. After spending some time in their lounge at MAD using our PP, we boarded the flight. With an evening flight, the plane is well maintained. The crew makes and could break the flight as we have experienced the last couple of years flying KLM. This crew was extremely cheerful. The flight was full. Service was a sandwich. No choice. The full service included alcohol, sandwich and coffee was ok. Arrived on time. Our national airline has a great service. This crew really did a great job.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAD to AMS
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"SkyPriority worked well"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Toulouse to Amsterdam with KLM. This flight, was operated by KLM but booked on the AF website. Check in was via the Air France Mobile App - although it looks different from the KLM App is identical in use. Toulouse provides SkyPriority for Business class and Flying Blue Elite passengers which worked well. Although they have a lot of flights out of Toulouse, Air France does not have its own lounge and uses a contractor lounge which was absolutely fine. Boarding was 10 minutes late, without any communication from the ground staff. SkyPriority boarding was strictly enforced. The onboard service was typical KLM which is OK as was arrival in Amsterdam. All in all it does not matter whether you fly on a KLM or AF ticket, service is 100% aligned, only uniforms and languages differ.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLS to AMS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"partly good, partly bad"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Bangkok via Amsterdam with KLM and partly good, partly bad. Flight from AMS to BKK was on a geriatric B777. The 2-3-2 configuration led to a feeling of being overcrowded. Food was mediocre at best and not all options were appealing. On the return journey no menu cards were available. The excuse was that they had not been loaded. I was still able to get some sleep as the seats were not uncomfortable. The great appeal of KLM is the staff who go the extra mile and are always accommodating. Not good value for the price I am afraid and my next trip I shall revert to Qatar Airways.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMAN to BKK via AMS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"problem was organisation in Bordeaux"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Flew KLM from Bordeaux–Mérignac back to Amsterdam, and onboard staff is great, aircraft is on time and arriving at Schiphol was stress free. The only problem was the organisation in Bordeaux (where AF-KLM is supposed to be intergrated but here not at all. First you go all the way to 1 end of the airport for check-in (the AF area), then you are sent all the way accross to the other end. There, 45 min queuing for security as there is one lane and no Sky Priority. Logically KLM flight should be handled with the AF terminal, where all is clear. After 45 min waiting the gate is not indicated, then you reach the gate where the personnel moves to another one (just telling a few pax around). At the gate, the AF personnel did not bother organising the flow, did not set the Sky Priority lane and just boarding randomly. KLM handling in smaller airports left to AF is just not up to the standard. Although there is an obvious cost saving involved, the Sky Priority service should at least be organised properly.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBOD to AMS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"flight was punctual"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Amsterdam-Oslo and back with KLM City Hopper. On checking in for the outward journey I was not given the seat I had requested when booking. Not the first time this has happened. Why bother asking a passenger which seat he/she wants? The plane was not at the pier and the passengers had to take a bus to the plane. Comfortable seat with enough leg room. Flight was punctual. Snack was a slice of cake and coffee/tea. On the return journey I was allocated the correct seat. Again the flight was on time. The snack was a wrap, not very nice. Againt transported by bus to the terminal building at Schiphol. The cabin crew were correct both journeys but the bright red KLM regulation lipstick for the ladies clashes with the orange in their uniform.
AircraftEmbraer
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to OSL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew friendly and helpful"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | KLM Rio to Amsterdam on a brand new Boeing 787-900 with large inflight entertainment screens. Cabin crew were friendly and helpful. Flight arrived early in Amsterdam. The food out of Rio was good. Two hot meals served. On departure dinner and on arrival a hot breakfast with fresh fruit salad.
AircraftBoeing 787-900
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGIG to AMS
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"seat was very comfortable"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew on KL809, a fifth freedom flight from Kuala Lumpur to Jakarta. The check in process was smooth, flight was on time. This B777-300ER PH-BVN is equipped with new economy class cabin, legroom was big and seat was very comfortable. The IFE system offers variety of music and movie choices. Hot meal and drinks were available. We arrived Jakarta on time. This was my first experience with KLM Royal Dutch Airlines and the experience was very impressive, I appreciated the fabulous service from the crew and ground staff in KL and Jakarta. I will choose KLM next time.
AircraftBoeing 777-306ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to CGK
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes