KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 694 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"very attentive service"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Long haul flight from Amsterdam to Tokyo with KLM. We paid a bit extra to have Economy Comfort seats. While Premium Economy (which is offered by other airlines) is usually a different service class with more generous seats and slightly better service, Economy Comfort seats are standard economy seats with more legroom and 50% more recline (on long haul flights). The service is exactly the same as in Economy. However, Economy Comfort seats are usually much more affordable than Premium Economy seats. We thought that the extra money was well worth it on this long flight. But the highlight of the flight was not the seat, but the excellent and very attentive service of the flight attendants. We will definitely take KLM again.
AircraftBoeing 77W
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Tokyo
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"best service by far"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | KLM is one of the best airlines with the best service I have flown. It was one of the cheaper flights on this route from Amsterdam to Barcelona and with the best service by far. They even serve free food on short haul flights wich is amazing. And a free water and another complimentary drink of my own choosing.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Barcelona
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"low fare, full service"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Very impressed With their service on this short hop from Copenhagen to Amsterdam with KLM. Cheapest ticket on specific dates. Full service done by very engaged staff who attended passengers special needs with a smile. Both flights were smooth and on time and flight deck kept us updated all through the flight. A complimentary snack served With drinks. Only minor issue would be the wait for baggage in Amsterdam but 50 min is better than most airports anyways. Would recommend KLM any day. Low fare and full service
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Amsterdam
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"30 inch seat pitch is just far too little"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Okay, let us take the good things first, even on the short trip from Düsseldorf to Amsterdam you were served something free of charge even though it was just water and crackers. Now to the bad thing. KLM will let you choose a seat but if you want an emergency exit seat you have to pay extra. On almost all other airlines you an choose an emergency row seat when you are lucky enough to be one of the first to check in. But on KLM, no way. If you do not want to pay extra then you are stuck in the seats with less than 30 inch seat pitch. Now I am 196 cm tall where most of my height is in the legs, so a 30 inch seat pitch is just far too little. KLM won't even let you move after the freight has started unless you pay. On most other airlines I have never complained about this because I had a chance to choose an emergency row seat, but I am a really strong believer in the fact that I should not pay more to have the same kind of comfort as a person only being 170 cm. So dear KLM drop this policy and maybe people will like you a little bit more.
AircraftFokker 70 and Embraer 170
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDusseldorf to Aalborg via Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"good quality KLM transatlantic flights"

(United States)

Verified Review | Washington to Amsterdam return. For the most part these were good quality KLM transatlantic flights, with on-time departure/arrival, comfortable seating (Economy Comfort leg-room is well worth the extra outlay when you're flying long-haul) and a friendly cabin crew. The only sour note was the food, featuring rather fatty chicken which disagreed with me considerably. I'll just put it down to an off week in their catering department (people do have cold periods from time to time) and fly them again sometime, since on a number of past flights I have found KLM's service (including the food) to be of a very high standard.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"not a business class service"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Calgary to Amsterdam. The seat in business class are very uncomfortable. Not fully lay flat and no privacy having another passenger near to me. Every time he went to toilet I had to modify seat position and wake up in the night. Very bad food service. My seat was number 2 and flying dutchman cocktail was already finished. The lady did not apologise for that. I skipped dinner because of the smell of cheese of Alfredo pasta that permeate the cabin for a long time. I had breakfast. Film selection is ridiculous, add few titles more. Bus at the arrival instead of the finger. Definitely not a business class service you expect.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCalgary to Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"better not to serve anything"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Aberdeen to Amsterdam in an old Boeing 737-700. Flight was on time and the crew polite. Before boarding in Aberdeen was a massive confusion everyone was put in queues mixed with other flights and ended up have to show my boarding pass 3 times. The service is a joke. To give people a tiny piece of cake and a plastic thing with water better not to serve anything. Just the rubbish that makes certain it is not environmentally friendly!
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAberdeen to Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"We enjoyed the flight"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta to Kuala Lumpur. Our first time fly with KLM. Good ticket price one way. Waiting for take off almost 1 hour but it was okay because watching the movies and playing the games. Friendly ground staff & stewardess and good service. We enjoyed the flight.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"most pleasant flight"

(Iran)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to New York. This was the most pleasant flight. The pilot and cabin crew and waiting time were fantastic. Flight on time, cabin crew support and attitude was fantastic, very calming and relaxing. The pilot invited us when he saw us to see cockpit after landing and took picture from me. Many many thanks to him for warm greetings and fantastic landing.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to New York
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"Overall very average"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Cape Town to Amsterdam and back with KLM. First time flying with KLM. Usually fly Emirates but KLM offered a direct flight. Was very disappointed with the in-flight service. First impressions were good but as the 11 hour long flight progressed service got worse. To get the attention of the flight attendant is impossible unless you walk to the back of the aircraft. The button to get attention means nothing as they either keep switching it off at the back or ignore it. The attendants were a bit rude when asking for more alcoholic beverages. Food was average. In-flight entertainment was okay. A Few new movies. No structure to the series that they have. Overall very average. Wouldnt fly KLM again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no