KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 847 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

" never booking KLM/Air France again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I am never booking a flight with KLM/Air France again! I travelled with my 5 year old son for the first time. They booked us on seats two rows apart. I called them several times but they could do nothing and told me to handle it myself on the airport (just be sure to be at least 4 hours in advance!) also the booked food (I have a gluten allergy) were not served. Even when I showed them the details of the booking where you could see the preferences they could not do anything. So no food for 11 hours and no apologies. In the end I send an email with the details and the only thing I received was a summary of my complaint and we hope that you fly with us again! No never!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to SYD via CAN
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unhelpful and unapologetic"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was traveling with 3 other people from Genoa to Amsterdam. We were expected to land in Amsterdam 5 hours before our flight from Amsterdam to the US. This did not happen. KLM cancelled our flight and despite my efforts of keeping our travel group together the KLM staff separated me and the people I was traveling with into two groups. My friend and I were placed on a plane that landed in Frankfurt, Germany so late we were unable to grab our connecting flight to Amsterdam. The KLM staff was very unhelpful and unapologetic. My friend and I were forced to buy a separate ticket to get back to the U.S. from Frankfurt which cost us over $2,000.00 each. and caused us to have two tickets for one plane. Once we got back we expressed our concerns and KLM only refunded us $300.00. I wanted to share my experience so that others know what you may run into when using this airline. Safe travels!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGenoa to Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst experiences ever"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Cardiff to Turin via Amsterdam. KLM always gives me the worst experiences ever. And this time again. The hand luggage was taken from me when I was already on the plane due to lack of space: it has not arrived to destination and the risk is that it has gone lost. Tthe 2 connecting flights were both operated by KLM but they did not manage the delay and did not organise any transfer in Amsterdam that make sure that we would not miss our flight. Many travelled complained since many connecting flights were not managed and people had to stay overnight in Amsterdam. While staying overnight I was not allowed to have my hand luggage back. In the end such hand luggage didn't reach the final destination and since the ticket on the suitcase was handwritten (done onboard as explained). I really doubt it will ever get back to destination. Last but not least the personnel in the planes and in the airport was always very unfair and it was impossible to speak to a responsible manager. It's the 3rd time I have this same kind of adventure with KLM. I strongly recommend to choose another company I will never fly KLM again. When I had similar problems with Lufthansa they always managed the situation very properly and fairly.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCardiff to Turin via Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Fantastic customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Delayed at Athens due to thunderstorms over Germany we missed our connection to Durham Tees Valley. On our flight to Amsterdam we were kept informed of status regarding connection flights. KLM cabin crew and ground staff handled the situation efficiently and with a smile. We were transferred onto the next flight the following morning and a voucher given for a free courtesy bus to/from the Ibis Hotel at no extra cost to ourselves. Fantastic customer service and an airline we'll be using again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Durham Tees via Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"very satisfied with this flight"

(Lebanon)

Trip Verified | Prague to Amsterdam. I am very satisfied with this KLM flight. The plane seemed in a very good condition, provided spacious economy seating, had very professional treatment from the ground staff, to the cabin crew, and to the pilot himself who kept us updated at all times, and was able to arrive just on time. The only negative thing I would say is that it lacked entertainment system.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"a very bad experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nairobi to Washington via Amsterdam. I had a very bad experience flying KLM. I bought my round trip tickets from the KLM official website to fly from Dulles airport to Nairobi and back. I'm a green card holder but my 2 children that flew with me (ages 3 and 11) are American citizens. Flying into Kenya had 1 connection stop at Paris CDG which went fine. Our return flight had 2 connections, Paris and Amsterdam which, to my greatest shock, is not okay with a green card but is ok with an American passport. I requested to have my children fly as unaccompanied minors while I reschedule my flight at extra fees bit I was denied that. All I was told is to exit the airport go home until I could raise enough money to buy new tickets with 1 connection in Europe or reschedule our flight at $817 each to fly the next morning. So, I had to pay an additional $1634 for my children that were in time and didn't need visas to make 2 connections in Europe.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to Washington via Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Very nice flight"

(France)

Trip Verified | Bangkok-Amsterdam with KLM Royal Dutch Airlines. Friendly crew. The food was good with a locally cooked pad thai for lunch. Wine was served, in small bottles, which makes a nice change compared with the wine served straight in plastic glass. You could ask for more, without being given the usual nasty stare. Another meal was served 3hr before landing, nice potato salad with raviolis in tomato sauce. Rounds of drinks were provided during the flight. The IFE was OK. Very nice flight, in a refurbished aircraft. Given the price paid, the flight was excellent.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"Good value for money"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Flew KLM from Stuttgart to Amsterdam. They were on time, even earlier in Amsterdam, however that time has been consumed by poor airport operations. Good value for money, average seats and meal.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStuttgart to Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

" ground service at London very poor"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | KLM is a very efficient carrier in terms of its online check in and customer service interface. However the ground service at London was very poor, so were its lounges. Check in at Heathrow Terminal 4 was a nightmare. Despite being a Sky Priority member traveling on business class the queue was long. Later I realised there was technical issue with the luggage belt in the business class check in section. No explanation was given and there was no attempt to serve business class passengers using economy class check in. The Skyteam lounge in T4 was also very poor. It is a very boring and dated lounge and the F&B offers weren’t great. It was far inferior to the Plaza Premium lounge on the other side of the airport. It was very disappointing to see a substandard Skyteam lounge considering they have so many flights out of T4. The service inflight is what really makes KLM a reputable airlines. The crew were chatty and extremely friendly. Everyone received a warm welcome – not only for business class passengers. Breakfast served was decent – fresh juice, good quality yoghurt and warm pastry. Returning journey was as good as outbound. Skyteam (KLM) lounge 52 was large but very basic considering its KLM’s hub. It felt like a waiting room in a large train station. Gate at Schiphol was crowded and boarding was late, but ground staff were friendly. Crew in the cabin again was first class and very elegant. Unfortunately my luggage didn’t arrive in Heathrow, perhaps due to the short connection (1 hour) in Schiphol. The queuing system at luggage enquiry wasn’t great but the handling agent was very sympathetic and knowledgeable. I was united with my luggage later in the evening so nothing to complain!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew were very efficient"

(Bahrain)

Not Verified | Business class return - over night flight. Check in fast with return boarding card offered. DAA lounge ok - flight on time, seats are the same as Y class within more leg space and recline. Business class was full but the crew were very efficient on both legs, friendly, professional, efficient and immaculate presentation. Drinks were flowing and the food for the one hour flight was grilled salmon salad, etc. Bussed to terminal and on the train within 15 minutes. Well impressed with all staff on the ground and air, would use again for sure.
AircraftEmbraer 190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDublin to Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes