Top 100 Airlines  

Kenya Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 198 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"I am thoroughly disappointed"

(United States)

Verified Review | Djibouti to Zanzibar via Niarobi. Some friends and I decided to take a short trip to Zanzibar over an extended weekend for about four days. Unfortunately, more than 1/3 of our trip ended up being spent in transit. I am thoroughly disappointed by the lack of professionalism and competence repeatedly displayed by the Kenya Airway agents in the Nairobi airport. The first flight to Nairobi was more than an hour late. When we arrived in Nairobi we immediately went to the Kenyan Airways counter, knowing we had missed our connection. The attendant at the counter told us there were not any other flights that would get us into Zanzibar that day and the only one available left close to midnight and we would arrive the next morning. This was a lie. We waited a bit and went to another desk and the person there found a flight leaving that evening and though we still spent more than 12 hours in the airport, it would get us into Zanzibar about 11 p.m. When leaving the airport from Zanzibar on the return flight Sept 4 the personnel at the counter (Precision Air) would not print both our boarding passes, they told us we had to get them at the desk in Nairobi. We had a 1 hr and 15 min layover and immediately went to the desk to get our tickets. Of course the queue was very long and half the customers ignored it and walked right up to the desk - which the Kenya Airline employees did not seem to care about. When the first of our group arrived at the desk we still had just over 30 minutes before our flight left. We had already spent 30 minutes in line because of the horrible time management and inefficiency of the staff. When we arrived at the desk the gentleman told us we missed our flight. Again, we still had 30 minutes to get to the flight and should have already been checked in when we checked in at the Zanzibar airport. They then told us even if we were first in line at the desk when the plane landed (an hour before takeoff) we still would not have been able to board the plane. Why not? Why would they sell us a ticket on Kenya Airways own website that was a fraud? The entire time we are talking with the desk people they are again, randomly talking to other customers who just walked up (like the outraged lady who was supposed to being going to one location but the Kenya Airways attendants booked her to the wrong country - I didn't really blame her), checking their phones, and essentially being some of the most atrocious customer service representatives imaginable. They were flippant and did not care. To make the long story shorter, we were stuck in the airport until after midnight before we were moved to a hotel then returned the next morning for an afternoon flight - which was of course delayed a couple times. The flight attendants were wonderful though none of the entertainment systems worked on the flight. I would not recommend this airline unless you literally had no other options.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJIB to ZNZ via NBO
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"domestic terimal is dated by 20+ years"

(United States)

Nairobi to Kisumu and Nairobi to Mombasa with Kenya Airways. The airline does have it share of constant emails with changes to the flight schedule very frequent. The check in process (I am a Sky Priority Elite member) is smooth and the staff were very good on the Nairobi-Kisumu and Nairobi-Mombasa round trips. The staff on the flights are excellent. The flight attendants are very well dressed and presented (this is my 20th round trip domestically with the company). They even manage to serve a snack (samosa) and a drink for a 45 minute flight. However the arrival at the domestic terimal in Nairobi is dated by 20+ years. The baggage delivery area is very outdated. The arrival area outside is old and not very accomodating.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNBO to KIS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"held to ransom by Kenyan Airways"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Nairobi to London. We were held to ransom by Kenyan Airways staff at the boarding gate about to get on a flight to London from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. We had a fully paid and confirmed ticket for the flight we were prevented from boarding. Boarding staff demanded we pay a disputed amount for a flight we had taken with a partner airline a week earlier, or else they would not let us board, nor would they put us on another flight. They would in effect strand us in Nairobi. We had to pay an extra $720 which we are now trying to claim back. It was extortion no matter what way you look at it. Go to Kenya but avoid Kenyan Airways at all costs.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNBO to LHR
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst nightmare I've had"

(Taiwan)

Verified Review | Nairobi to Bangkok. It's the worst nightmare I've had. Our flight delayed for 12 hours but they did not let us know until last minute. They promised connection hotel with shuttle, but the shuttle was broken. They refused to pay for taxi and water or food for the people left in the airport lobby. They told us to wait outside in the night for 5 hours and yelled at us for no patience. Next day they did not arrange the departure flight, not to mention the connection flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNBO to BKK
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"impressed by the very comfortable seats"

(United States)

Verified Review | Excellent inflight services. Clean and spacious 787. We left on time and arrived punctually. The airline provided a hot meal which included chicken, veggies, dessert, coffee, tea and other drinks. Check in was smooth at a very modern terminal in Nairobi. I was also impressed by the very comfortable seats. I flew Kenya Airways from Dubai to to Addis Ababa and also to Uganda during this past August. Great services and on time departures all times.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNBO to DXB
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"flight is often delayed"

(India)

Verified Review | Nairobi to Mumbai with Kenya Airways. It was a very pleasant day and suddenly we heard the news that the flight is delayed 2 hours. While booking the tickets it had already been stated that the flight is often delayed by 30 minutes, but had not expected the number to rise so horribly. After 2 hours 30 minutes the flight arrived. The cabin crew do not have a welcoming nature. They served the food 3 hours 30 minutes after takeoff where other airlines start serving much sooner. This journey made me more tired and I will never choose Kenya Airways in the future.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNBO to BOM
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"lazy, inefficient and unprofessional"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Flew Kenya Airways from Bangkok to Johannesburg via Nairobi. Cabin attendants and meals onboard Kenya Airways flights are the worst I have seen. Most crews were lazy, inefficient and unprofessional. On almost all flights I took the PTV was broken. While aircrafts were very new, the seats already looked old due to poor maintenance. Nairobi airport was messy, disorganised and dark.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to JNB via NBO
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"KQ give me that nostalgic feeling"

(Portugal)

Amsterdam to Nairobi - I love flying Kenya Airways when I am going home and their Business Class is superb. Very spacious and comfortable, good food and drink, good entertainment to make the trip bearable and very friendly crew on-board. The pilot even came to say hello and asked an older lady on the next seat whether she was enjoying her flight. KQ give me that nostalgic feeling.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAMS to NBO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"not much to be proud about"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | On the Nairobi-Mumbai route, Kenya Airways uses a B737-800. Their logo mentions "The Pride of Africa" but there is not much to be proud about that flight: miserable breakfast (poached eggs are just warm hard-boiled eggs, no yoghourt offered, tasteless fruit, bad coffee). Seats are antiquated and hardly recline, on the VDO, games were blocked. Fortunately, the crew is very attentive and very pleasant. Choice of reading materials is very limited. Upon arrival in Mumbai, my luggage was missing. It was probably mishandled in Nairobi, though we had 2 hours transit time, but no compensation was offered as on other airlines, not even some amenities for the night, just a few nice words and the promise it wold come on the next day, wait and see. Despite the problems, I would still recommend the airline, as connection times are generally good and their 787s are very nice.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHRE to BOM via NBO
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"excellent in his customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Very impressed with the service offered on these flights. We had missed our booked flight (ET direct from Djibouti to Addis Ababa) so re-booked at the last minute onto Kenya Airways. Even at this late stage, the fare was good and we departed a few hours later than originally planned. The aircraft was clean with comfortable seats (much better than ET on similar routes) and drinks and a small meal were served. All of excellent quality. On the first sector, the crew was headed up by a Purser who was excellent in his customer service and clear announcements in both French and English. The crew had a good sense of humour and were ready to assist in whatever way they could. Transit was via the new airport terminal in Nairobi. One word: Wow! This terminal is exceptional and must be the easiest to navigate, most comfortable I have experienced on the continent. It beats JNB, CPT and others hands-down. Processing was swift and comfortable, shops were open as were a selection of restaurants. There is clearly more to come from this airport as a number of shops seem to be preparing to open. Gate rooms are open and comfortable with access to bathrooms nearby. Fantastic new airport! Our onward flight to Addis was also good. We had to wait for a large party of late passengers but the crew were thoughtful enough to offer us a glass of water or orange juice while we awaited the late-comers. Much appreciated. Another light meal (breakfast) and drinks were served during the flight. Seats were comfortable and I slept well. Excellent job by both crews and Kenya Airways.
AircraftEmbraer E190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJIB to ADD via NBO
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes