Best Cabin Crew  

Kenya Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 181 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"very comfortable seats"

(United Kingdom)

London Heathrow to Johannesburg via Nairobi with Kenya Airways. Almost new planes with very comfortable seats and plenty of space. The staff were fine and friendly. On demand entertainment. Meals were average but acceptable. None of our four flights were late. At a bargain price, pleasantly surprised and would happily use again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to JNB via NAI
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"things have been withdrawn"

(Zambia)

Kenya Airways flight KQ584 from Ndola to Kenya on the 23rd December 2015 was the worst flight I've been on. The toilet seat was broken., very unhygienic to make matters worse the flight was full. On my way back on KQ101 on 24th January 2016 from London Heathrow, no wine or lager was served. I don't drink but a lot of people complained. Its only right for us to be told when we buy our tickets that certain things have been withdrawn. Ive been flying Kenya Airways for a long time but I wonder if I will be using it in March when I go back to the UK.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNLA to LHR via NBO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"arrogant and self importance"

(United Kingdom)

Johannesburg to London via Nairobi, and the flight was overbooked. When we left London we were told that our luggage was 2pcs x 23 kg and can be combined as were travelling with my partner. However on return we were refused checking in Johannesburg because we had one piece each weighing 25kg each. Trying to explain the simply mathematics to staff was a challenge. We had to unwrap our luggage and repack it, give away some of our clothes and re-wrap the suitcases with seal film as luggage often gets broken into. This cost us extra money and had to pay the difference when we did not need to. Very rude, unprofessional, arrogant and self importance. I don't think I'll be flying Kenya Airways any time soon.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to LHR via NBO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"totally unprofessional staff"

(South Africa)

Kenya Airways from Jeddah to Johannesburg via Nairobi on 27th Dec, flight delayed for an hour, no reason and or apology given. Arrived Nairobi 8.00am, connecting flight to Johannesburg 8.25am. Met on the tarmac by Kenya Airways staff, no apology no reasoning, just handed us new boarding passes like sheep - move move, you're on the 12.20 flight, obviously pre meditated. The 12.20 flight was delayed to 12.45 with relating inconvenience to passengers catching connecting flights and pick up arrangements, given that this was the Christmas long week end. Mark me down as very disappointed at the totally unprofessional staff and lack of arranging a few min delay to accommodate the connecting flight. Not sure were the slogan Pride of Africa fits in. Kenya Airways need staff education badly.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJED to JNB via NBA
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"meal was disgusting"

(Mauritius)

Kenya Airways flight from Johannesburg to Juba via Nairobi. In-Flight service was not up to a minimum standard. The meal served onboard was disgusting. Worst meal ever considering a 4hrs 15mins flight. Considering the price of ticket, Kenya Airways is not competitive on this trip.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 / E190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to JUB via NBO
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"trip was just terrible"

(Malawi)

London to Lilongwe via Nairobi. I've been flying with Kenya Airways for close to 10 years (after BA stopped flying directly to Malawi). I've enjoyed comfortable leg room and services at most times. But this trip was just terrible. After an 8hr+ flight, they had a 6 hour wait for connection for 12.35pm. Then when it was about 1.30h to go, it was cancelled without any sensible reason. Having been tired, I was angry by their lack of communication. They compensated with a hotel booking about 20-30min away. The hotel was comfortable and had excellent services. We were taken back to the airport for a 10pm flight naturally expecting to be in Lilongwe by just after midnight. To my horror this wasn't a direct flight, but was going through Zimbabwe first then back to Lilongwe (no sense in this whatsoever). To make it worse, it didn't leave until 11.15pm. During all this there was no apology or anything. I've noticed this is becoming very common with their flights to Malawi apparently where they cancel or delay without thought. I regret not buying insurance because I would have claimed. For a such a good airline doing well for Africa, it's really a pity. If South African Airways had favourable luggage allowance for their heavy price, I would have switched. The new planes are too hot for comfort - I had a hoodie and a blanket expecting the typical cold inflight temperature, but no it was blazing in there.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to LLW via NBO
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"seating was extremely cramped "

(United Kingdom)

We flew Kenya Airways from London Heathrow to Nairobi and then 5 days later on to Livingstone in Zambia. The return journey was a connecting flight from Livingstone to Heathrow via Nairobi. Every flight was on time and the staff were all friendly, however the main complaint which is significant was the temperature inside the aircraft and the cramped seating. It was so hot that it felt like being suffocated and despite repeatedly asking for the temperature to be lowered nothing happened. I was only wearing a vest top and crop linen trousers so could not take anything else off. It was so unpleasant that I will not fly on a Kenya Airways Boeing 787 again. The cabin crew said that normal temperature is 24 degrees or people start getting cold. I say to them dress accordingly and give everyone else a chance, they can at least put more clothes on! The seating was also extremely cramped and the seat back entertainment system didn't work properly. Bad form for such a new aircraft.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to LVI via NBO
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"cancelled without notice to me"

(Malawi)

I was supposed to fly at Kenya Airways 1025. The flight was cancelled without any notice to me. I had to drive back home 30kms then go back to the airport another 30kms. This means 120kms of wasted fuel when I could have been informed in advance. Kenya Airways staff at the Lilongwe City Centre office did not even apologise for the inconvenience. This is the second time this is happening. In April this year I was to travel to Botswana via Nairobi and the 0230 am flight was delayed up to 6am. Nobody told us what was happening. When I told the staff I was told I should not worry because the connecting flight to Joburg would wait for all passengers delayed - I was horrified on arrival in Nairobi to find I had to make my own arrangements and my onward flight to Gaborone could not be booked by staff in Nairobi - it was a nightmare. When I got to Nairobi yesterday I thought the Kenya Airways "Customer Care Service" poster was a mockery to all the experiences I have had with KQ.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLilongwe to Dar via Nairobi
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"quite decent food and service"

(Thailand)

Flew Kenya Airways, BKK-NBO-JRO, then JRO-NBO-HRE, then HRE-NBO (via Lusaka) - BKK. The long haul part of the leg (9hrs) was pleasant with a new Boeing 787 and quite decent food and service, including choice of wines. The seats are a little stiff and narrow for my size. Left on time from BKK arrived a little early due to tailwinds. Made the connection easily and arrived (with bag) in JRO. The second leg was uneventful, even pleasant with great service, clear announcements and a good selection of movies. Arrived on time in HRE. Heading back the other direction, the ride was smooth and connection in NBO was tolerable now the terminal has been upgraded and there is at least a selection of restaurants and places to sit while waiting. NBO-BKK arrived on time. I made the mistake of choosing seat 25D to sit and had other passengers continually trying to walk in front of my stretched out legs to cut across to the toilets on the other side. Never again for me. Otherwise good food, and arrived in BKK at midday. Route to east Africa is shorter and faster, and cheaper than other airlines.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to HRE via NBO
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"checked us in at 2-star hotel in Douala"

(Cameroon)

I don't even know where to start. I lost two days of my vacation due to flight delays from Douala to Dubai and Kenyan Airways gave the worst experience so far. When I was checking-in at the counter, I was quite pleased with a very helpful local ground staff. Before I left, I gave him 5000 CFA as a tip. The flight was delayed 6 hours so I checked in late as well. Suddenly, the staff was asking furiously for additional money because his superior saw him receiving a tip and he had to share the tip with others (couldn't believe) this really happened. He was bugging me in the most creepy way possible so I just decided to give another 5000 and left. I was supposed to leave Douala at 1PM but we were only informed at around 4PM that they had to check us in overnight because there were some mechanical glitches with their plane. They checked us in at 2-star hotel in Douala for twin sharing-room! The room was like crate. We were finally picked up by van and we headed back to the airport. We boarded one hour late and because we were delayed for one day and I had a couple of connecting flights, my entire flight schedule got messed up. It seemed we were hostaged - not being histrionic but that was the feeling. They didn't issue a new plane ticket and asked us to claim the next ticket in Nairobi. So when we were supposed to catch the next flight from Nairobi to Dubai, we were a few minutes late and we weren't able to catch the flight. After 30 minutes of looking for somebody who can provide us information on how do we board the next flight, we were finally advised that we had to stay overnight in Nairobi and check-in at the hotel - again. There were three of us who were supposed to fly to Dubai. We insisted that they book us Etihad as it was the closest flight that time. They told us that they couldn't book another airline because it would be more expensive for them. They advised us instead that we could book and reimburse the expenses from them (yes, so if you like taking chances, one can consider). So we finally settled to stay overnight after they told us that we would be billeted on a 5-star hotel. We finally arrived at the "5-star hotel" only there was no air-conditioning. Yes, a hotel without an AC but a fan. We left Nairobi the following day and flew to Dubai. As soon as I get to Dubai, I requested my travel agent to cancel my return flight and reimburse me with my return flight. They offered instead that they would upgrade my cabin class to business for my return trip. The return trip had minimal delays and the business class experience was ok. But when I landed in Douala my luggage was missing! They told us that our luggage were left behind in Nairobi so we will have to wait the next day to get our luggage.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteDouala to Dubai via NBO
Date FlownDecember 2014
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no