Kenya Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 234 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

Kenya Airways customer review

(Kenya)

Verified Review | Nairobi to Amsterdam. The announcement about boarding times were clear during the waiting period. Boarding gates opened early enough. It was easy to locate the gates as the airport is clearly marked and well lit. The Boeing B787-8 is new, even though the seat i had was somehow uncomfortable but with adequate leg room nevertheless. The cabin crew were quite welcoming and wore a welcoming smile. The aircraft left on time. Once airborne we were served snacks, then a tasty meal followed including options of drinks, no sooner had we settled for a nab another round of snacks came along, then a meal. It was an endless supply of food by an efficient cabin crew. We landed at Amsterdam on time. I recommend this airline.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"in deep financial trouble"

(United States)

Verified Review | Dar es Salaam to Bangkok via Nairobi. It is obvious why this airline is in deep financial trouble. None of the payment methods on their website work - we tried several different credit cards from different banks from accounts in different countries (including East Africa) and none of them worked. Flights need to be paid for (with an additional fee - they will not waive it even though their website has payment issues) over the phone or through third-party websites. We needed to change our business class tickets to the next day due to unforseeable changes. Although their website says you can do this online, you can't. Again, it wouldn't take any payment method even when we did a 3 way call between our banks and the airline. Their solution was to write an email to their tech department. All of the flight options the website showed were different from what the Kenya Airways representative could see on their end. All of the flight options the representative could see were hundreds of dollars more than what was being shown to us on their website. After several hours (12pm until 7pm) and dropped calls later, they finally booked us a ticket that ended up costing us significantly more and we ended up losing our business class seats. We couldn't pay over the phone and so we were told we could pay at the airport at no extra charge. Upon reaching the airport, the ticketing agent charged us even more than the price on the emailed ticked we had. She refused to call the manager and told us we could either pay the extra money or not get on the flight. Once finally reaching our destination, we tried reaching out to Kenya Airways several times to share our poor experience, hoping they would do something about it to avoid losing our business in the future as we fly into East Africa often to vist family & friends. Instead, we were met with a generic email replies telling us they were "looking into the situation." This airline and their customer service is a disappointment. Unfortunately they have a monopoly over the East African region, offering the only choice to fly between major cities. If you are flying into the area from outside of East Africa, there are plenty of other airlines based in the middle east, South Africa, and other continents which are far more reputable.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDar es Salaam to Bangkok via Nairobi
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Kenya Airways again"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Zanzibar to Johannesburg via Nairobi, we were told that due to overbooking, we must take a later flight about 4 hours. They always overbook a flight so we were the unlucky ones who have to take a flight four hours later, with zero consideration for the inconvenience caused. There will be no compensation as they booked us on SAA (this again was our fault). We insisted on lunch, which was a burger only because Kenyan Airways policy does not buy sides. We were informed our luggage was on the SAA flight, after 30 minutes of waiting we realised that our luggage has not arrived with us. After numerous queries we managed to locate our luggage (Thanks to helpful staff at OR Tambo). As the lady at the counter said that we must actually be thankful that our luggage has arrived. The staff at Kenyan Airways was unhelpful and made as though everything was our fault. I will never fly Kenya Airways again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZanzibar to Johannesburg via Nairobi
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Cabin crew efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Dar es Salaam via Nairobi. Heathrow to Nairobi was full, had an aisle seat, but cushion was well worn. Evening meal served by efficient cabin crew. Meal and breakfast was better than on some better known airlines. Nairobi to Dar es Salaam on Embraer 190 was a pleasant flight, comfortable leather seats and another breakfast. Flight was on time. Return flight from Dar es Salaam scheduled for 3.45 am which was a bit inconvenient, but get to the departure gate in good time - this flight left 15 minutes early as all passengers had boarded. Aircraft was clean, breakfast was served. Cabin crew efficient. At Nairobi there is a scheduled 4 hour wait for the flight to Heathrow. Again aircraft was on time and nearly full. Yet another breakfast, this time a full meal with three choices - omelette, sausage or vegetarian. Cabin crew efficient and worked smoothly and without fuss. Had an aisle seat next to the exit door, plenty of legroom and a comfortable flight. Maybe they could have done a couple of water runs as it is a long flight. Arrived on time but had to stack as airport was busy. I have used Kenya Airways before this year. They are worth considering and are a cut above some of the UK competitors in terms of food and comfort.
AircraftBoeing 787 / E190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Dar es Salaam via Nairobi
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"an excellent experience"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Dar es Salaam to Mahe via Nairobi at a very reasonable price. I was surprised (and a little nervous) that my connection in Nairobi was only 50 minutes - what could possibly go wrong? - but on the day, everything went like clockwork. The first flight was in an Embraer, very comfortable and even had USB ports. Nice light breakfast served. Magnificent views of Kilimanjaro on this route (left side, but I imagine this could vary). Departed and arrived on time, found my new gate relatively easily and with plenty of time to explore the severely overpriced airport food outlets. Not that I needed to eat, the next flight provided lunch which was tasty. Full selection of movies on this flight also. All round, an excellent experience.
AircraftE190 / Boeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDar es Salaam to Mahe via Nairobi
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"entertainment system did not function"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Nairobi. The aircraft was a fairly new Boeing 787. I cannot fault the crew, aircraft cleanliness, seat comfort and pitch all were fine on an Economy Cabin flight. My onboard entertainment system did not function on either the outbound or inbound flights on the London Nairobi flights. the sound accompanying films was inaudible on both the airline provided headsets and my noise cancelling headphones. This is a problem experienced by at least 30 passengers on each flight. And anecdotally according to another passenger a common problem on their flights.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Nairobi
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"kicked off her shoes and slept"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Nairobi to Paris. We were in the lounge when an announcement was made the flight was delayed. The next thing we knew we were called to "final boarding". Arrived at the gate to confusion. Once we were boarded the confusion continued. Lots of chatting among staff at the doors for about 20 minutes. During that time there was no attempt to serve the business class passengers. It was a long flight. No water bottles provided which is fine because we like to try and keep things environmentally friendly but also had to ask repeatedly for glasses of water. Had to help ourselves to pillows and blankets from a bin. They ran out of 2 of the 3 choices of breakfast by row 4 in business class. The USB charger in my seat didn't work. My headphones made a loud screeching noise if I turned my head. My seat wouldn't fully recline. During take off and landing our attendant kicked off her shoes and slept. She was probably the only one on the flight that did catch a comfortable sleep. We've flown business class often and if we ever are forced to fly Kenya Air again, we'll choose economy class because it felt like that anyway.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNairobi to Paris
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"customer service is very poor quality"

(Kenya)

Verified Review | Nairobi to Dar es Salaam. This airline is in deep financial crisis and flights are unreliable. Airline management and customer service is very poor quality. The aircraft seem to be in reasonable condition and the crew also seem OK, the problem is the rest of it. Prices are high. Unfortunately the more or less have a regional monopoly so those of us who are forced to use them frequently have expensive frustrations. When there is a problem they are simply not interested. If you have a choice, choose the alternative!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to Dar es Salaam
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid at all cost"

(China)

Verified Review | We bought a return flight between Guangzhou and Nairobi, while from Guangzhou to Nairobi is via Hanoi and from Nairobi to Guangzhou is via Bangkok. When we were checking in just now for our flight back to Guangzhou, we confirmed our destination with the staff, but they still gave us boarding passes which said from Nairobi to Bangkok. But for my asking the airline desk later when we got into the waiting area, we wouldn't even know that we still need boarding passes from Bangkok to Guangzhou and things would be even more troublesome if I hadn't asked. Never seen a via flight that requires 2 boarding passes for a person, each for a sector of the flight! When we flew from Guangzhou to Nairobi, it was only one boarding pass per person. More bizarrely, we are placed in different seats these two sectors, which means we will still have to change seats when we arrive in Bangkok! Moreover, flight service is mediocre. Avoid at all cost.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to Guangzhou via Bangkok
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Two horrible encounters"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Bangkok via Nairobi. Johannesburg to Nairobi the staff were rude and you felt like you were the one being inconsiderate when asking for any help. The flight was ok just the cabin crew were unfriendly and unapproachable. The second flight was from Nairobi to Bangkok and experienced the same issues with the cabin crew except this time after pressing for assistance as they missed us for documentation that needed filling they never came so I pressed for assistance again and no one came - so clicked it again and a flight attendant came storming down the isle and yelled at us to the point where we could not speak because she was busy telling us off for clicking the button more then once. Two horrible encounters with Kenya Airways and would not recommend this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Bangkok via Nairobi
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no