Vote Now  

Jetstar Japan

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 9 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"ground support is horrible"

(United States)

Verified Review | Osaka to Tokyo Narita. The ground support is horrible and the worst I have ever met. The flight got delayed and is causing my international flight (last one on the day) connection time reduced from 3 hours to less than one hour. Firstly they do not have other options although there is another flight that is not delayed and well arrive slightly earlier than this one (obviously this one does not have the inbound flight at the gate but they claim the delay is due to strong wind at Narita. Many other fights flying there are not delayed). Then they insisted on me to check my carry on sized luggage as it is too heavy. I argued about the additional wait time to get my luggage well almost guarantee me to miss my flight and hope to pay extra to get my carry on with me. They denied and denied again without any intention to further help.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Tokyo
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very bad experience"

(Japan)

Verified Review | New Chitose to Narita. Very bad airline ground staff. When dropping bags employees will ask random people to show their boarding passes. When you ask them a question they will become irritated and ask to weigh your hand baggage. The policy on laptops is not consistent and they will sometimes take into account laptops to the 7kg limit and sometimes not. They will tell you to check in another bag without weighing the hand luggage again to check that it is 7kg. When told that the same baggage (with photo proof) that another trip was made with the same baggage with no problems, they disregard and prevent boarding until a fee is paid for an extra baggage check in. Very inconsistent and opens the door to employees to cause trouble for passengers with impunity. Very bad experience. Will never recommend or fly again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew Chitose to Narita
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"No more Jetstar Japan for me"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Kansai Osaka to Hong Kong. The flight was delayed for more than 6-hours and their ground staff are not helpful and responsive. They were trying their best to refuse all requests including reasonable request (e.g. to update the letter about the delay because their flight was further delay, many passengers need this letter to claim for compensation from the insurance company). The interior of the plane is old. I ordered a meal (curry chicken with rice) and the taste was not good. The only good thing for Jetstar Japan is the crew on the plane as they are polite, helpful with smile at all time. No more Jetstar Japan for me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I have flown"

(United States)

Verified Review | Tokyo Narita to Okinawa. This is the worst airline I have flown. The customer service is terrible. They don't answer any questions you have about fees. The seats are the most uncomfortable I've flown.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNRT to OKA
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"seat was very comfortable"

(Philippines)

Manila to Nagoya with Jetstar Japan. Boarding was really quick compared to the other carriers I have flown on recently (e.g. Cebu Pacific and Philippine Airlines/Pal Express). The plane was a brand new Airbus A320. The seat was nice mainly because of the seat pocket being on top of the seat not in the leg area, which of course made a lot of legroom. The plane took off on schedule. No IFE screens, this is usual for a budget carrier so I provided my own IFE through my iPad. Soon after takeoff food and beverage service began my family and I ordered meals through their booking bundles on their website. Food offered was pork and beef over Japanese rice, the meal was really good. After that they gave arrival cards for Japan. The seat was very comfortable to sleep and I woke up 1 hour before landing to catch the beautiful sunrise over Japan - a nice compliment to a early morning flight. The plane landed on time and the deplaining was fast and a bus took us to the arrivals area. Immigration was very quick due to our flight being the first arrival of the day. Baggage claim was quick and we went to the airport train station to look for a train to the city.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to NGO
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"have to fight their policies"

(Japan)

Verified Review | This flight was booked as the final leg of an international series from the US. However, they insisted on applying their domestic baggage rules rather than acknowledging that they were part of a larger booking and allowing the most permissive of the rules. Twenty four hours of travel, and rather than having a relaxing final leg you have to fight their policies and rearrange all of your belongings. Extremely bad form, avoid at all costs.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNRT to KIX
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst travel experience"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Tokyo to Okinawa with Jetstar Japan. Worst travel experience, 1 hour delay on the way in. More than 7 hours delay on the way back. No explanations, no excuses. Seats are uncomfortable and inflight service (extra fee) started 2 hours after take off in a 2h 40 flight. 7 hours delayed flight was handled by a single person for 200+ travellers. To offer less than 7$ of voucher, Jetstar manages to make Ryanair attractive.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOKA to NRT
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed traveller"

(United States)

Verified Review | Manila to Nagoya. Jetstar Japan is one of the worst airlines I have been on. My niece, along with her children, all under 7 years old, traveling in our party of around twenty people, asked for a cup of water as soon as the seatbelt sign was turned off. Both she and I were refused water saying, "you may purchase water if you'd like", which we did. This at a cost of around $2.50/bottle. On the return flight I was once again refused water. Understanding it is a discount airline, it is unacceptable to be refused a cup of water. Very disappointed traveler.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to KIX
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight was cancelled on the spot"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Manila to Tokyo with Jetstar Japan. Our scheduled flight was cancelled on the spot due to a crew member getting sick. It was a poorly managed situation as all of us passengers have already checked-in and we were simply made to wait by Jetstar to be transported to a hotel without any assurance or given timeline of when the next flight will be. The notification of the cancelled flight was made way past the time of departure. We tried to coordinate through hotline, even speaking with an agent for more than an hour, and to no avail they didn't have any idea what plans have been set out for us who needed to be in Tokyo as we had prepaid arrangements and plans. This left us with no choice but to book to another airline for a hefty price as Jetstar cannot finalize a decision that morning. Tokyo to Manila both our baggage were left in the return flight because the plane was overloaded. We prepaid our check-in baggage of 20 kg each person months before and only checked in less than that (only 15kg) which makes me wonder why Jetstar didn't even foresee the load the plane had to carry. We were only informed that some baggage were left when we were waiting at the pick up area in Manila airport and both our names weren't even included in the list. Which we can't even confirm right then and there whether our baggage was still in Narita or not. We were simply left in line to wait to process our lost baggage claim late in the night. I think it's certainly unfair for you to treat us without any feeling of assurance and blatantly just expect us to be fine that our baggage was left. As I called in the morning to follow-up on the status of our luggage, I do not understand why their staff can't simply update us regarding the status of our report. Up to this moment, no Jetstar representative has called, text messaged, nor sent an email regarding this matter. I had to call numerous times before finding out that my luggage was on it's way via JAL flight tonight, but my sister's luggage which we checked in at the same time has no confirmed flight back yet.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to NRT
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no