Top 100 Airlines  

Jetstar Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 484 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"should be called premium economy"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Phuket. Once we got going the flight was great, however we suffered a 10hr delay due to a breakdown, an then another 45 minutes while the plane was cleaned. We were offered a $50.00 Jestar voucher as compensation and told to claim any other out of pockets from our insurance, I think that this is pretty poor. While Jetstar calls this business class it really should be called for what it is and that is premium economy, meals where good and staff were attentive and it is far better than sitting at the back of the plane. The price and service was similar to a premium economy ticket on Qantas or Singapore Airlines, however even despite being called business class their is no priority luggage with Jetstar.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to HKT
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"a good experience for me"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Tokyo Narita return and would say Jetstar is my favorite Low cost long haul carrier. Plane on both journey was beautiful, seat was comfortable, food was very good for me and affordable as well. IFE was fine though dissapointed as not much selection, still ok to keep me entertained on the close to 10hr flight. Was a good experience for me as well to try the Boeing 787, very nice and quiet aircraft. Would definitely fly them again on their international routes as thier prices are very reasonable.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to NRT
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seats are comfortable enough"

(Australia)

This is about the 4th time I have flown Jetstar star class. If you know what to expect then you will be happy. If you want lie flat beds and all the trimmings then you are kidding yourself. My flight on May 10 from Melbourne to Bangkok was great. Check in staff were grumpy, but I got over that. The seats are comfortable enough for a daytime flight with plenty of legroom, just not much recline. The food was good, not up to some airlines business class but not too far off it. Wine selection and quality was good. The Thai staff were very good. The cabin is only 3 rows for star class, smaller than I have had in the past, but that is good as you get better service and no queueing for the toilet. We were first on and first off the plane. Qantas Lounge in Melbourne is okay, but needs a refresh, a bit tired compared to say Singapore or Hong Kong, or even Los Angeles. Overall I think it is a good deal and an alternative to Qantas premium economy, which I would rate about the same, which makes sense as the cost is similar for routes of the same length.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to BKK
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"a lack of competition"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Osaka to Sydney via Cairns. When I am paying over a thousand bucks for a return to Japan on low cost airline Jetstar, I am paying the equivalent for a return flight to Europe. So surely the term low cost airline refers here to the shoestring budget Jetstar its service is based on and not the price tags of its flights to Japan. I am venting my frustration because there is a lack of competition. Jetstar is the main airline offering services to and from Japan. On this particular journey the flight was cancelled due to technical errors with the airplane. As a result it is taking hours to get things sorted for accommodation and rebooking. Yet I am paying a more than low-budget price for the flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKIX to SYD via CNS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"needs to regain punctuality"

(Australia)

Flew Jetstar from Sydney to Adelaide and return. Departed Sydney twenty minutes late and arrived in Adelaide 15 minutes behind schedule. The return was worse as we departed Adelaide thirty minutes late and arrived in Sydney twenty-five minutes late. While the return flight was late after delays in Melbourne because of the weather, it is still unacceptable. Jetstar needs to lift its game or re-schedule flights further apart to regain punctuality. On the plus side, I asked for aisle seats for both legs at check in and was accommodated with no fuss and a big smile.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to ADL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never travel with Jetstar again"

(Australia)

Singapore to Melbourne. We have traveled with Jetstar before from Hawaii business class and we said, never again. Now we were traveling from Singapore on a new airline the Boeing 787 and thought this time it would be okay. Again we purchased a Business Class ticket. We came off a cruise and were taken to the airport 9 hours before our flight. We went to Qantas/Jetstar Business Lounge, where we were told we are not allowed to enter as we are not Qantas Club members (we could join for $600 ea!) and we were supposed to purchase some kind of package when we bought our Business Class ticket to allow us to use the Lounge. I said, no problem, I will purchase it now, but was told it can only be done online when you purchase the tickets! So no matter that I paid all that extra money on a Business class, we were not allowed to use the Business Lounge. This is the first and only airline who did this, we never had this problem before. On the plane, the Business Class is like the Premium Economy of other airlines. Virtually no leg room, seats are very narrow, nothing like a Business Class seat should be. Extremely disappointed, will never travel with Jetstar again and won't recommend it to anybody.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSIN to MEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"absolute worst airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | Queenstown to Melbourne. In my 40 years of travel this was the absolute worst service ever encountered. As a result of a minor problem with Australian visa and Jetstar refusal to assist, we missed the first leg of international flights and had to re-book. This resulted in spending two nights on airport floors, loss of a paid hotel accomodation, and re-booking fees. The visa was a very minor issue, and a competing airline a few feet away took care of the matter for us in a matter of minutes after Jetstar refusal. Unfortunately, Jetstar had closed the boarding gate and we missed the flight. The counter personnel at the Queenstown airport were extemely rude. In addition, the Jetstar website is very confusing. At the time of purchasing tickets one month in advance, I paid $50 luggage fees. At the time of boarding, we were charged $420 additional fees for two pieces of luggage. The fees were paid and at the next stop in Auckland enroute to Melbourne, the agent attempted to collect additional luggage fees. Again, the personnel were extemely rude and required receipts for the previous payment because the computer didn't contain records. We contested these charges after returning home, but received only long-winded explanations as to why Jetstar bore no responsiblity. This is the absolute worst airline and the most expensive of all the flights due to luggage fees, re-booking, lost hotel charges.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZQN to MEL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"was much appreciated"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | My aunt (89) was booked to take this domestic flight from Auckland to Nelson, but was late to the check-in counter. Instead of refusing to assist, Jetstar organised an airport hotel, transport to/from, meal voucher, and booked her on the following morning's flight. This went several extra miles beyond what they were required to do, and was much appreciated by our family. Also pleased to see Jetstar in NZ has finally agreed to switch from opt-out to opt-in for extras such as baggage etc on their flights, starting in May 2016.
AircraftQ300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to NSN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"terrible service to guest"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Poor Jetstar check in staff at Christchurch Airport. It was terrible service to guest. I added the wheelchair service for my grandma but they didn't prepare staff or the wheelchair. I brought it from outside by myself and even then, they were asking me to take her to aircraft. Ok, I understand it gets busy, but when I arrive at the boarding area, they made me wait and boarding at the last. It was 7am flight, and I'm really disappointed in Jetstar service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCHC to WLG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"poor check-in staff service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Singapore with Jetstar. Overall a pleasant experience, but marred by extremely poor service from Jetstar check-in staff. They ignored Business Class passengers while bickering among themselves, avoiding all eye contact with waiting Jetstar customers. No explanation or apology was given for failing to attend to passengers. After 10 minutes of this we moved to the Economy Class check-in queue, where the process was efficiently handled. I have flown Jetstar Business Class a couple of times and have not encountered such rudeness. Everything else about the flight was fine: punctuality, comfort, friendly and efficient on-board service, and pretty good food. I am sure it was just a couple of rotten apples at the Melbourne Jetstar counters who let the company down, but they urgently need retraining about customer service!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to SIN
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes