Jetstar Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 673 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"seat was unbelievably tight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Adelaide to Perth on the 14th of June with Jetstar Airways. Flew on a relatively new Airbus A320, when compared to some of the older ones in the fleet. Although I was seated close to the front (8D), the seat was unbelievably tight in terms of seat pitch, which is okay for shorter flights like Melbourne/Sydney, but for a longer flight I’d try and buy an exit row seat next time! Crew were okay, but nothing to write home about. The customer service manager wasn’t overly pleasant when she informed me of my $15 voucher (as I’d purchased a Starter Plus fare). I had purchased this fare for the bargain basement price of $99 (plus $45 for the starter plus bundle), so I can’t complain too much. It was good value for what I’d paid, but there are better airlines around for only a few quid more.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Perth
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a wonderful flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | BNE-PPP on the 21st of June. Due to an early check-in, I was treated to an upfront seat (2C) instead of the original 9D I was given. Ground staff in Brisbane were wonderful, and the all-male crew onboard this mid-afternoon flight to Proserpine were terrific! It certainly got my Whitsunday holiday off to a terrific start! Overall, a wonderful flight at a good price! I’ve noticed that on shorter hops, Jetstar is much better, but on longer flights (over 2 hours), it’s better to upgrade to an exit row seat, or fly another airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Proserpine
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"tremendously inconvenient"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Hobart to Melbourne. Two flights, two issues. First, flight from Hobart to Melbourne cancelled, no notification, no reason given for cancellation. All of my contact info was correct and I was on a local phone system (received texts and email from other people). Next flight was three and a half hours later (it took off much later than that). I asked to be put on another flight as I had a meeting in Melbourne at 5. Jetstar refused because they had a later flight. Offered refund, but I had to eat all the fees, so the full refund was about 60%. booked on a Virgin flight for $200 more, but got there. Second, a policy issue. Flying from Cairns to Hobart via Melbourne. Jetstar will NOT check baggage through. Had to retrieve bags in Melbourne re-check them (and go through security, wait at check-in counter all over again). When I asked an employee why we could not check through he said that they were such a budget airline that they refused to pay for someone to sort the bags as they come out of the plane. He was completely embarrassed by this policy. From a customer standpoint it is tremendously inconvenient. I will never fly with Jetstar again!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHobart to Melbourne
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"very good flight with Jetstar"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Very good flight with Jetstar. Plane was a bit messy though. Food was great, really good cheap travel food on Jetstar. Cabin crew were great and very helpful. Jetstar is the best cheap travel airline by far. Way better then Tigerair or anything like that. At Gold Coast airport it was self check in and bag drop. Although there were a couple of Jetstar people walking around not really doing much. One again, very good flight with Jetstar, but as always, room for improvement!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGold Coast to Melbourne
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"best cheap travel airline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne (Tullamarine) to Gold Coast (Coolangatta). Very good flight with Jetstar. By far the best cheap travel airline I’ve ever been on. Not really any help at Melbourne. Self check in and the odd couple of Jetstar people walking around. We checked in online so we just bag dropped our bags. A bit of a wait at boarding but I guess that’s cheap travel for you. Me and my family had starter plus so $30 (Australian money) on food, drink ect. Legroom a bit little but it was a short flight to be fair. No TVs on the domestic flights but if you fly international with Jetstar you’ll have TVs. Again, very good flight with Jetstar.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Gold Coast
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"service is unacceptable"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Melbourne to Newcastle. My 8pm flight was cancelled without providing sufficient explanation. They refused to give me a flight the following morning. I had to fly into Sydney airport 2.5 hours drive away. This level of service is unacceptable.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Newcastle
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"given a different meal"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Paid for the package including hold baggage, a meal on the flight and the pre-selected seats. We selected the meal online but on the flight we were given a different meal and told "This is the meal you selected, all passengers with that package get the same meal". I didn't even try the provided sandwich. I knew I wouldn't like it and it looked terrible. Another in our party tried it and said it was awful. Also tried to upgrade baggage beforehand but the site wouldn't accept either of my bank cards. I believe it was because I was on mobile but they told me their site works on mobile and it was a problem with my card. Two cards failed to work and one notifies me if the payment is declined so I know there was no problem on my side. Luckily, I left the option on as unpaid so wasn't charged extra at the airport. They didn't tell me this was an option while I was on the live chat with them though. An on the subject of the live chat, anything typed into the box, even if you don't press send, is sent to the agent. They only record messages which are "sent" which can mean accidental pastes are sent (perhaps a password for example?) and they have no record that their employee received it. Also, if you want a copy of everything said in the chat, you have to speak to a different team. This is basic functionality available in most live chat services. I contacted them with a complaint. The first response was just excuses and the offer of a voucher which can only be used by me and expires in 6 months. I live in the UK so completely useless. I contacted them again and they said they had forward some of my comments on to the development team around the live chat but nothing was said about the meal or voucher. The only positive things I can think of is the we made it to our destination and the ground staff at Sydney were helpful.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Queenstown
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"a few unoccupied seats"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Darwin to Sydney. Jetstar does not have self service kiosks in operation at Darwin Airport, however online check in is available up to 1 hr before departure. Check in for domestic flights opens 2 hrs prior to departure and closes 30 mins prior to departure. The flight boarded about 15 mins prior to departure, there were a few unoccupied seats towards the rear of the aircraft and some passengers managed to get three seats to themselves. Prior to take off the captain gave a quick description of the route and the expected weather in Sydney. A quick food and beverage service was offered just after take off, the cabin lights were dimmed shortly after the service finished. The flying time to Sydney was 3 hrs 55 mins.The flight was smooth and most people managed to get some sleep. The flight went into a holding pattern just North of Sydney to wait for the 6am curfew to be lifted at Sydney Airport.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDarwin to Sydney
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"friendly and attentive"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | A320-200 Sydney to Darwin.Boarding commenced 25 mins prior to departure and left on time. Information on the flight was provided by the cabin supervisor. Shortly after take off food and beverage for purchase was offered throughout the cabin, snacks were offered - $5 Soft Drinks $4 & Beer starts at $8. The leather seats are comfortable but have a limited seat pitch.The crew were friendly and attentive and dealt with customer requests efficiently.There is no wifi or ports to charge devices on the aircraft which can be frustrating on the longer domestic flights over 3hrs. The flight arrived a few minutes ahead of schedule.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Darwin
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"not Customer orientated"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Gold Coast Return with Jetstar Airways. The outbound flight was on an older aircraft, seats were less comfortable and more cramped. The Crew on this journey were very cold, not Customer orientated in any way. I understand Jetstar is LCC, but as a business that deals directly with the public you would expect a certain standard plus being part of the Qantas Group should give you an advantage. The return flight was more up to scratch, the cabin was refurbished with a better hard product, and the Crew even remembered that I had a $10 voucher to use onboard. I think the service is very much hit and miss with LCC, my advice is to book with Jetstar for leisure with flexibility in minds, rather then for business.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Gold Coast
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes