Jetstar Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 603 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"seats weren't the most comfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Sydney. First time I have flown with Jetstar in 3 years, after previous experience with delays. After a relaxing time in the Qantas Club, the boarding process was a bit chaotic with no allocation specifics given. Once onboard the seats weren't the most comfortable but given the flight was only 1 hour, it wasn't too bad. No IFE during the flight so I was quite bored and no complimentary food/beverages, a true sign of LCC. Surprisingly, the flight was on schedule from take off and landed early as I take punctuality very seriously. I would fly Jetstar again to test their consistency and customer service.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Sydney
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"an enjoyable flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Sunshine Coast. The flight departed and arrived on time. Check in was quite easy. The staff were very friendly and helpful . My pre booked meal (toasted ham and cheese sandwich) was quite tasty. One criticism, the beer could have been chilled. They had to offer ice. Overall an enjoyable flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sunshine Coast
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"won't be flying them again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Brisbane. I paid for 20kg checked luggage. I only used 9kg. 11kg under weight. My carry on bag was about 1kg over the allowed 7kg (the work Laptop does it every time!) Jetstar charged me an extra $60 for the privilege of carring kgs I has already paid for. I fly fortnightly. Frequently with Jetstar. I won't be flying with them again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Brisbane
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Unhelpful, rude and didn't care"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Sydney. Unhelpful, rude and didn't care about me making my international flight in Sydney. Would not recommend to anyone. The worst flying experience I've ever had. I would recommend flying any other airline besides this one.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Sydney
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"would not recommend it to anyone"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I would not book with Jetstar Airways again and would not recommend it to anyone. My flight from Auckland to Palmerston North was cancelled a few hours before I was due to depart. I have since learned that this is a common occurrence with this airline. We were offered other flights the following day but believe that at least one of these flights was also cancelled, thankfully we did not take the chance of finding out and booked with another airline. During our flight we heard stories from other passengers of repeated cancellations!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Palmerston North
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"never had any issues with them"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Flew with Jetstar from Sydney to Hobart return over the new year. The flight was much more expensive than normal, but that is to be expected during busy/peak travelling periods. Both routes were flown on the A320. The seats were fine, felt a little squashy at times but it was only a 1 hour 30 min flights. Cabin crew promptly came around with drinks and snacks, but I had brought my own food. No entertainment, but it's such a short flight it hardly matters. The incoming flight for our trip back to Hobart arrived late, but as soon as everyone was off the plane we boarded, which meant that the plane departed on schedule and arrived on time in Sydney. I've flown with Jetstar multiple times and have never had any issues with them. I will continue to fly with them.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Hobart
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"unable to move whilst in my seat"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Booking online was simple, as was the self check in and bag drop. However the departure gate was right at the far end of the terminal. It took ages to get to and it included various flights of stairs. Once there there wasn't anywhere near enough seating made available to sit and wait before boarding. This was made worse by very weak airconditioning. This is despite the airline requesting all passengers be there not less than 30 minutes before boarding time. It was a tiny plane. I was unable to move whilst in my seat and due to lack of space only got to make use of 1 of the 2 armrests. Cabin was dirty all over. As was the magazine which had all the puzzles filled in by previous passengers. My ticket said I was to get a $10 meal voucher but this never occurred. The menu was pretty awful anyway and staff service non-existent. It was a very boring flight even despite its brevity as there was no inflight entertainment. At least my bag came out very quickly the other end. In summary the best parts were start and finish but very poor in the middle.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I was moved to another seat"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Cairns. A while back I was involved in a car accident and approximately a third of my body was burnt. I now wear compression garments which act to compress the skin. I go to the gym and weight train approximately 4 to 5 times a week and regularly go jogging and hiking. Over Christmas I flew from Sydney to Cairns with Jetstar. I booked an exit seat as I am 6 foot 2 and I like the leg space. On arriving I was told I was not allowed to sit in the exit as I was not physically capable of doing anything. After trying to explain that I had no issues at all and the garments were only for burn compression, I was moved to another seat and told to contact Jetstar if I wanted a refund. If that was not enough of an insult, I boarded the plane to find that my seat and the other exit seats were filled with people who I highly doubt were able to physically help anyone. I was obviously discriminated against purely on my appearance and at no time did they consider my situation.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Cairns
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"inflexible baggage weight policy"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Queenstown to Auckland. Jetstar imposes a highly restrictive and inflexible baggage weight policy. Jetstar does clearly articulate the requirements that must be met to avoid their unreasonable excess baggage weight fees, but if you are unaware and are over their limit, you will be unpleasantly surprised. In my case, my carry on bag was 12 Kg, 5 Kg above their 7 Kg maximum. I could not fit anymore items into my checked baggage to offset this weight. So, Jetstar charged me, not for the excess (5 Kg), but for the whole 12 Kg at NZD 15/Kg or NZD 180! This was far more than the cost of my seat on the flight from Queenstown to Auckland. The whole experience was the only blemish on a fantastic 2-week trip throughout New Zealand. My suggestion to future Jetstar passengers: travel with a portable luggage scale or consider flying with an airline that is more customer-oriented than Jetstar.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteQueenstown to Auckland
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"value for money"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Sydney on December 10. Great service, value for money. Flight was on time, craft was new and clean, service was efficient and professional. Meal was better than expected. A pleasant change when comparing to another low cost airline I was using during my stay in Australia. Next time, I would choose Jetstar for my national flights in Australia.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Sydney
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes