Jetstar Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 571 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst flight attendants on my flight"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew Brisbane to Sydney. Worst flight attendants on my flight. Checking in and boarding was fine but the flight was terrible, I had a crying 1 year old who just cried non-stop being her ears were sore, not once did any of the 4 flight attendants come to see if she was alright. I was blocked in my seat so I couldnt stand with her and not once did any of them come to see if she was okay or if she needed anything. They would just walk past everytime. They looked miserable and so untidy, they basically looked like they had just woken up. I am so dissappointed all other airlines I have travelled offer the most amazing help and support. I will never ever travel with Jetstar again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Sydney
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"take advantage of their customers"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Melbourne. I received a message 3 minutes before walking out the door to catch my late evening flight with Jetstar. "Your flight from Sydney is cancelled. Go to website to check your flight options. We're sorry your flight has been cancelled." Bit of a pathetic apology, but I jumped online immediately to investigate. This was due to bad weather - so not Jetstar's fault, but their responsibility to compensate none-the-less especially considering other airlines were still flying from Sydney, and I was paying for a promised service. My reason for booking a late flight was that I was working my part time job (ie.can't afford the higher fares for Qantas or Virgin) in the day and needed to fly from Sydney to Melbourne for a job interview. The interview was at 9am on Thursday, so the alternative afternoon flights they were offering on Thursday afternoon were not a solution. I was told that I could swap my flight for an afternoon flight on Thursday, or morning flight on the Friday. Or a voucher for the amount of the cancelled flight. I explained that my reason for travel was a job interview in the morning (not just leisure or an unimportant trip) and therefore an afternoon flight was pointless. I could not be flexible - not to mention my return flight to Sydney was scheduled for 3pm. Arrive in Melbourne at 1pm and return to Sydney at 3pm the same day?? I told them I had no need for a change of time and date unless that change landed me in Melbourne in time for my interview. I was given more options (and then fewer options) for Thursday afternoon or Friday, and not one that actually properly compensated me for this cancellation. A voucher provided in five business days was not a solution, and with no extra planes added the following day to compensate for the hundreds of passengers put out; I was left with no solutions, and out of pocket. Finally I agreed to their only form of refund (despite the assistant explicitly saying at one point Jetstar can refund cash depending on the reason...ie whether they deem it worthy). It was this point that I was offered the amount for the cancelled flight, only. They still tried to charge me the cost of the return flight despite cancelling my initial flight! The attempt to still charge me for the return flight, after an hour of nil solutions, was enough to firm my mind. Avoid Jetstar. They do not care about their customers. They are a budget airline because they take advantage of their customers to make a profit. I could only just afford the flight to an interview. Another reviewer summarised Jetstar well: This airline is highly unreliable carrier with an arrogant culture and devious selling practices.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"highly unreliable carrier "

(Australia)

Verified Review | Brisbane to Nagoya. My booking had me flying to Osaka and travelling by late night bullet train to Nagoya. As I arrived at Brisbane airport I received an SMS stating that my Jetstar flight from Cairns to Osaka has been cancelled. It took 90 minutes before Jetstar provided a solution- a flight on Qantas to Tokyo not Osaka. So I arrived late at night, miles from Osaka and had to arrange bullet train to Nagoya at my expense. This was my second Jetstar international flight that Jetstar cancelled and transferred the recovery costs to me. Behind schedule I decided to return on the same flight but extend for five days. The Jetstar Indian based dialogue centre tried to charge me $630 to change my flight. I rejected and used the "manage my flight" option. I was charged $300. My complaint letter to Jetstar was acknowledged, by a corporate apologist who stated that I had changed my return route. I hadn't changed my route - I changed the day. The excuse for their cancellation was unavoidable technical difficulties. So my experience with Jetstar is two cancelled flights with no apology or compensation for the extra costs. This airline is highly unreliable carrier with an arrogant culture and devious selling practices.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Osaka
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the staff were very friendly"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Great flight with Jetstar Airways from Christchurch to Auckland. Great food and the staff were very friendly. I suppose the only bad thing was a delayed flight. But overall I am happy. Jetstar meets all expectations. One time my partners flight was late and he was given a free voucher.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChristchurch to Auckland
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"value for the price"

(China)

Verified Review | Sydney to Auckland on June 17th. Checked-in was convenient and fast in the counter. My Seat was 10D. The space of the seat was narrow,so my knees had to touch the front seat. I felt uncomfortable. The service of cabin crew was just at the standard level. But this flight was value for the price.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Auckland
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"staff are at best unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Jetstar are the same as any low cost airline in that they charge for everything, and are totally inflexible about any changes or limits. But that's expected, and really no worse than any other LCC. When something goes wrong (flight cancellation, rescheduling or delay), however, Jetstar reach a whole new level of terrible. Their staff are at best unhelpful and at worst incompetent. To be fair, the staff are hamstrung by Jetstar's ridiculous customer-hostile policies, even when the fault is theirs. They cancelled my flight from Honolulu-Melbourne, and were unable to get me on another flight for 3 days. When I purchased a ticket on a Hawaiian airlines flight to Sydney, Jetstar refused to put me on a Jetstar flight from Sydney to Melbourne. Unless you have flexibility of several days in your travel plans, I would recommend avoiding Jetstar.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Melbourne
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff were rude and uncooperative"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne Avalon to Sydney. The Jetstar check-in staff at Avalon airport weighed my hand luggage and said I was 2kg over. I carried exactly the same stuff I brought from Sydney last night on a full flight and there wasn't an issue. Jetstar at Avalon wanted $60 for 2kg of extra luggage. I told them that I could have put on 2kg in one day and it wouldn't make an iota of difference. The staff were rude and uncooperative. This is the only authority they have in the real world and it goes to their head. So I had to go through my laptop bag, throw out some paperwork I will have to reprint back at the office and put about a kg of stuff (such as USB drive, small batteries, etc) into my pockets. All because of pig-headed Jetstar staff.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne Avalon to Sydney
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Expect nothing fancy"

(Australia)

Verified Review | For the price, this short flight to Launceston was value for money. Although we had a small delay, the comfort of the Melbourne Airport Domestic terminal, made up for the 1 hour delayed flight (something that seems to be a common thread when flying Jetstar). Expect nothing fancy or over the top and you should have a good time when flying Jetstar.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Launceston
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never travel Jetstar again"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Phuket to Melbourne. Booked for 1020pm, luckily I looked at my emails and saw it was not going till 3.30am. We had to book another hotel near the airport and because it wasn't delayed by 6 hours can't claim. They gave us a voucher to get something to eat at a burger place. No chips, no coffee, only nuggets and fish burger and the staff were very rude. We will never travel Jetstar again. We paid top dollar for our trip, dinners, extra baggage etc. We had an awesome time in Thailand but going home just spoiled our trip .
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Melbourne
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Jetstar Airways customer review

(Canada)

Verified Review | Jetstar is the worst airline my partner and I have ever flown. The flights are delayed every single time we have flown. No food vouchers or any compensation were ever offered. Their staff are rude and inconsiderate not to mention they know nothing to do with what's going on. They have never been helpful in any situation we have encountered with them (which are many). We were moved to a separate flight on another occasion and had to talk to 4 people before they moved us back and when we questioned why we were moved in the first place they wouldn't answer and we are positive it's because the flight was oversold. There are consistently issues with their flights and we will never be flying with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Siem Reap
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no