Vote Now  

Jetstar Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 533 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"trick customers in my view"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Perth to Bali. When booking my flight to Bali the Jetstar web site allocated seats to me which I did not change or select. Then when I printed out my invoice notice a seat selection fee. When I complained to Jetstar live chat agent, he said I should have unchecked the allocated seats so to avoid the fee. I think this is a terrible design and one could say made to trick customers in my view. Jetstar said my mistake was refundable and would do nothing to help. There is very little choice between AirAsia and Jetstar but one who likes to use local Jetstar was my choice. Well not anymore.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Bali
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"this airline is a shocker with little respect for their passengers"

(Australia)

Verified Review | This airline is a shocker with little respect for their passengers. Booked to go to Sydney today for a 12.45 flight only to have it delayed until 2.50 with no explanation, and then went into a holding pattern for one hour at Sydney, only to be told that the airport was closed so we all had to return to Melbourne again. Once down we were told that there was no more flights until 3.30 Saturday afternoon which was the next day. Now I understand about the closure in Sydney but Qantas were still flying and landing at the time of our departure and indeed they were still flying that night but rather then make the effort to fly later that night they just cancelled everything leaving me needing to get to Sydney but unable, not to mention that when I asked for a refund they told me that I should have taken out travel insurance and it was not their responsibility: Until I questioned why Qantas was able to land and Jetstar wasn't they stated that Qantas have landing rights over everyone and indeed they were also flying that night they then paid up.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will do nothing to help me"

(United States)

Verified Review | Auckland to Sydney. I do not recommend Jetstar if you want good customer service. I cannot comment on the actual flight as it hasn't happened yet, but I'm thinking I won't even be getting on the plane. I flew from Minneapolis to Auckland, visiting New Zealand on holiday before I start my working holiday visa in Australia. I do not have any solid travel dates but knew that I had to be in Australia by April 16th. I was told at the ticket counter that I could not board unless I had a flight out of New Zealand. This is my fault as I misunderstood the conditions of traveling into a country via visitor's visa vs. a working holiday visa. I was under the impression I could enter the country as long as I had enough money to purchase a flight out of the country. I had to book my flight at the ticket counter and fast since my flight was about to leave. I booked through kayak.com. I purchased insurance as I was under the impression I could use it to change or cancel my flight if I needed to. Apparently, kayak has their settings set to round trip by default and I accidentally booked a flight out of Auckland to Sydney on March 7th and then right back to Auckland from Sydney on March 8th in less than 24 hours. I noticed this mistake on my layover in Los Angeles and called the airline immediately to try and get a refund for the return ticket. Usually airlines will let you cancel of change your flight within 24 hours of the booking. Not Jetstar. They will do nothing to help me. I've talked to their customer service team about 4 or 5 times and they do not care about their customers. They won't even offer me a refund via voucher. The insurance I purchased to Allianz is a farce as well. The box I checked to purchase the insurance said it covered cancellations and changes to your flight. What they don't mention is that it only covers cancellations of changes if you or your travel companion is injured or ill and you must provide extensive proof of this. I will be contacting my bank to dispute all of the charges and I'm confident they'll get my money back. Jetstar will also be losing a customer.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"happy to report service was great"

(United States)

Verified Review | Dunedin to Auckland. I was given plenty of warnings about JetStar but I still flew. I am happy to report service was great from the check in to baggage claim. The check in staff was friendly with a great sense of humor, boarding was smooth, and the cabin crew pleasant. I even got a sandwich, which is more than I received on my flight to Dunedin on Air New Zealand. The crew moved up and down the cabin many times being solicitous of our wellbeing. Compared to Air NZ domestic, JetStar is the star.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDunedin to Auckland
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"exceeded my expectations"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I am flying from Denpasar Bali to Melbourne on 21 January 2017 with Jetstar Airways. I was surprised with the flight. Low cost but they have audio video on demand. Free for general information, USB gadget charging, and headset. Pay for movies and music. Pay for meal and drink, but free for still water. Check in process running well. Good services from local staff. Then flights attendant is plain/fair. I think this flight exceeded my expectations.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBali to Melbourne
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"ground service aggressive and unfriendly"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Denpasar to Auckland via Melbourne. We left Denpasar airport a bit late due to several excuses, the main excuse was paperwork. We have already boarded the aircraft and waited on the ground for about an hour which made us miss our connecting flight to Auckland. Ground staff was a bit slow on giving us information about what was going on which made some of us very stressed and uncomfortable. The connecting flight that we were meant to be on had already left at 11.05pm when we arrived at 12am. Jetstar gave us accommodation and told us that we were on the next flight out which was at 9.10am but due to the immigration not giving us Indonesians visas we were unable to go to the hotel which meant we had to make ourselves comfortable in the transit area (which weirdly you had to call someone to open the door for you, it is so impractical when you are in a rush). We were given food vouchers worth $20 each (no shops were open at that time so we were starving). We were going to get our boarding tickets at the gate and the ground service were very aggressive and so unfriendly and rude which put us off so much. Overall, the cabin staff were alright but I've seen happier more friendlier cabin staff on other airlines. I recommend that Jetstar should really get their services to prioritise customers that have had disrupted flights and also train their staff to be more friendly and not so rude and aggressive. It would have made it more pleasant if the ground staff were more helpful and informative. Also on the flight from Auckland to Denpasar via Melbourne, our baggage had been left in Melbourne for around 3/4 days. Our baggage was meant to be checked in all the way through to Denpasar but obviously did this not happen. Not sure who to blame, Melbourne airport or Jetstar but this is really not a good way to start a holiday. We had to leave for Surabaya on the very next day we arrived in Denpasar which meant we had to drive 3 hours to the airport to claim our bags. We were stranded without clothes for 5 days.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Auckland via Melbourne
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"flight had been changed"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Jetstar Airways flight from Melbourne - Narita delayed 3 hours. Flight was non-stop on an ok plane with proper facilities/seats/etc. Narita - Melbourne was a real pain. Our return was via Cairns. Queue at Narita horrendous. Few counters. 2 flights all queued up waiting. No bag drop. 1 hour or more to check-in here. Our flight had been changed from via Cairns to via Gold coast with no notification so all seats I had booked were lost and our family was unable to sit together. I didnt know this at time but the stopover in Gold Coast required us to clear customs, collect luggage, check-in again at Domestic terminal. Ended up in a very basic Airbus at the end of a long trip. Deposited at terminal 4 Melbourne which is close to 1km to walk to transport/parking buses. We were on a ski trip so had large luggage, having to collect and it and check it in 4 times plus haul it to main airport. Have never had to transfer my own luggage before on an international flight when i booked all the way through. I would not recommend this trip to anyone.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to NRT via OOL
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Jetstar exceeded expectations"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Jetstar Airways exceeded expectations and one of the best flying experiences I have encountered. We booked late and had to take the last two seats available - 1E and 2F. At check in we were told we mustn't sit apart and we were reassigned to 1G/J. Flight staff were friendly and efficient for the 5hr 30 minute journey - from orange juices prior to take off, to drinks after, food (which was excellent, by the way) and coffee and sweets a little later. IFE offered most of what Qantas offered - wide selection of films, tv, radio etc.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Denpasar
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a great experience for the price"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Melbourne with Jetstar Airways. I bought this ticket for my family trip mainly because of it's price, and I expected the service will be not as good as the more "regular airlines", like Qantas. But overall, they've met my expections on the "magazine only" entertament system, tiny lavatory as well as the food and drink. But one thing that had exceeded my expections was the seat. The pitch was resonable for a domestic flight at 29 inches, fairly wide and the headrest was just as good as other airlines. Overall a great experience for the price.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to MEL
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"garbage bag sitting on 2 seats"

(France)

Verified Review | Adelaide to Denpasar. My first experience with Jetstar now set the crown on it. Checked in 1 bag of 12 kg at the airport because it is not possible online during check in processs = 160 AUD$. Confirmed seats for row 18 and ended up in row 30 (the last one) with no possibility to recline the seat on a 5 hour flight. Sitting in a bus is more comfortable and next to us was a huge garbage bag sitting on 2 seats! Customer service says that seats you are not paying for are not designated to you and can be changed at any time.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteADL to DPS
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no