Jetstar Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 577 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"express my dissatisfaction"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Sydney to Auckland. Terrible experience from beginning to end. The flight was cancelled while we were in the line to check in. We were offered an alternative flight with Qantas however it was 7 hours later and we had commitments back in New Zealand so asked if we could arrange a refund as we would have to purchase flights on another airline. The customer service manager agreed and said she'd make notes in their system regarding the details. We purchased last minute flights on an alternative airline at horrendous expense being last minute and flew home. When I went to follow up the refund I was bounced around no less that five different people and pushed to online chats no-one being able to assist and all saying that we had boarded the plane and taken the flight. No 'notes' were ever put in the system and they had to launch an 'investigation'. Two weeks later they send me an email saying that as per their terms here was a voucher to the value of the flight. I replied saying that the Customer Service manager had agreed to refund the flight given the circumstances and received no reply. I re-sent the email a week later and also received no reply. Every aspect of the dealing was absolutely horrendous and took a lot of self focus to breath through it and not react in an angry fashion. At least writing this review has given a means to express my dissatisfaction and let it go.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Auckland
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolute worst experience "

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Denpasar to Sydney. Absolute worst experience I’ve had in 20 years of flying. Jetstar promised to compensate my friend and I for a mishap they made and then ignored our calls and emails when it came time for payment. I’m totally disgusted at how they treat customers and would always recommend travelling with another airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Sydney
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Don't fly with Jetstar"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Honolulu. Worst airline in the world. Had ordered meals and paid for meals which they did not have on board when we flew. The so called customer care person emailed to apologise and provided vouchers which are not transferable, have to be used in six months and have a host of other conditions which makes them very hard to use. Also he has failed to respond to any emails we have sent. The complaint was taken by the stewardess onboard, so they just sent an email with excuses and then sent these worthless vouchers and ignored all other correspondence. Jetstar are quick to take your money for pillows, meals, entertainment etc but do everything to ensure they don't give you a refund in cash. They send these highly conditioned vouchers which clearly you will have little chance of using so they don't provide the service and then also keep your money! Don't fly with Jetstar.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Honolulu
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"very upset by the staff"

(United States)

Verified Review | I am very upset by the staff. I have never had a problem with my carry-ons fitting in the cabin, etc., and I have traveled on 10-12 domestic Australian flights in the last 2 months. But today they took my carry-on out of my hands in the boarding line, said it was too big, and made me pay $60 to check it. I am irate. The way it was handled was very degrading and upsetting. I will not be traveling with Jetstar in the future, not ever again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCairns to Sydney
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Crew onboard just chatted to each other"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Ho Chi Minh to Melbourne. Tried to upgrade my seat from Economy to Business. Upgrading via the site gave me errors. Called the phone numbers on their app (2 in Vietnam) both wrong numbers. Found the correct numbers eventually - phone went to the hold music and hung up after 10 mina, twice. Went to the airport early to upgrade, Jetstar staff told me to wait for check in to open and do it at the counter. Went to counter and they said I had to do it before check in opened and it's too late now - and it was the same guy that told me to wait. The kicker though, he grinned at me. Crew on board just chatted to each other and were barely seen. In addition: 5 flights with Jetstar equals 33 emails, 4 flight changes, 17 SMS's, different contact number for each email, emails to check in for flights they cancelled.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh to Melbourne
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"totally disappointed"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Jetstar website said if they have changed their confirmed delay time from 30 minutes to 45 minutes, they don't notify us unnecessarily of a potential flight delay that can be brought back on to schedule or does not eventuate. They have failed their guarantee. The flight arrival time was changed without any notification. If I didn't go online to check. I won't know. They change the arrival time but not departure time. I feel like I got tricked. I was planning to catch another connection flight, but I couldn't make it. It is meant to depart at 7am, but till 7am, we are not even boarding. If Jetstar notified us earlier, we could have got another flight. They are so unfriendly too. I called the hotline and they said I can move to an earlier, but when I arrived, they said it is full. Also, the airport staff is very rude and unfriendly. I feel like treated second class just because I am flying economy. The flight attendants are the worst. Please never ever ever fly with them. Totally disappointed. Everyone is waiting at the gate, but there is no staff around trying to help us out.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst flight attendants on my flight"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew Brisbane to Sydney. Worst flight attendants on my flight. Checking in and boarding was fine but the flight was terrible, I had a crying 1 year old who just cried non-stop being her ears were sore, not once did any of the 4 flight attendants come to see if she was alright. I was blocked in my seat so I couldnt stand with her and not once did any of them come to see if she was okay or if she needed anything. They would just walk past everytime. They looked miserable and so untidy, they basically looked like they had just woken up. I am so dissappointed all other airlines I have travelled offer the most amazing help and support. I will never ever travel with Jetstar again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Sydney
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"take advantage of their customers"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Melbourne. I received a message 3 minutes before walking out the door to catch my late evening flight with Jetstar. "Your flight from Sydney is cancelled. Go to website to check your flight options. We're sorry your flight has been cancelled." Bit of a pathetic apology, but I jumped online immediately to investigate. This was due to bad weather - so not Jetstar's fault, but their responsibility to compensate none-the-less especially considering other airlines were still flying from Sydney, and I was paying for a promised service. My reason for booking a late flight was that I was working my part time job (ie.can't afford the higher fares for Qantas or Virgin) in the day and needed to fly from Sydney to Melbourne for a job interview. The interview was at 9am on Thursday, so the alternative afternoon flights they were offering on Thursday afternoon were not a solution. I was told that I could swap my flight for an afternoon flight on Thursday, or morning flight on the Friday. Or a voucher for the amount of the cancelled flight. I explained that my reason for travel was a job interview in the morning (not just leisure or an unimportant trip) and therefore an afternoon flight was pointless. I could not be flexible - not to mention my return flight to Sydney was scheduled for 3pm. Arrive in Melbourne at 1pm and return to Sydney at 3pm the same day?? I told them I had no need for a change of time and date unless that change landed me in Melbourne in time for my interview. I was given more options (and then fewer options) for Thursday afternoon or Friday, and not one that actually properly compensated me for this cancellation. A voucher provided in five business days was not a solution, and with no extra planes added the following day to compensate for the hundreds of passengers put out; I was left with no solutions, and out of pocket. Finally I agreed to their only form of refund (despite the assistant explicitly saying at one point Jetstar can refund cash depending on the reason...ie whether they deem it worthy). It was this point that I was offered the amount for the cancelled flight, only. They still tried to charge me the cost of the return flight despite cancelling my initial flight! The attempt to still charge me for the return flight, after an hour of nil solutions, was enough to firm my mind. Avoid Jetstar. They do not care about their customers. They are a budget airline because they take advantage of their customers to make a profit. I could only just afford the flight to an interview. Another reviewer summarised Jetstar well: This airline is highly unreliable carrier with an arrogant culture and devious selling practices.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"highly unreliable carrier "

(Australia)

Verified Review | Brisbane to Nagoya. My booking had me flying to Osaka and travelling by late night bullet train to Nagoya. As I arrived at Brisbane airport I received an SMS stating that my Jetstar flight from Cairns to Osaka has been cancelled. It took 90 minutes before Jetstar provided a solution- a flight on Qantas to Tokyo not Osaka. So I arrived late at night, miles from Osaka and had to arrange bullet train to Nagoya at my expense. This was my second Jetstar international flight that Jetstar cancelled and transferred the recovery costs to me. Behind schedule I decided to return on the same flight but extend for five days. The Jetstar Indian based dialogue centre tried to charge me $630 to change my flight. I rejected and used the "manage my flight" option. I was charged $300. My complaint letter to Jetstar was acknowledged, by a corporate apologist who stated that I had changed my return route. I hadn't changed my route - I changed the day. The excuse for their cancellation was unavoidable technical difficulties. So my experience with Jetstar is two cancelled flights with no apology or compensation for the extra costs. This airline is highly unreliable carrier with an arrogant culture and devious selling practices.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Osaka
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the staff were very friendly"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Great flight with Jetstar Airways from Christchurch to Auckland. Great food and the staff were very friendly. I suppose the only bad thing was a delayed flight. But overall I am happy. Jetstar meets all expectations. One time my partners flight was late and he was given a free voucher.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChristchurch to Auckland
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes