Top 100 Airlines  

Jetstar Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 504 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"incredibly sneaky website"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Bought a flight last minute from Brisbane to Cairns. Advertised price was $120. After navigating the incredibly sneaky website, and paying the fee for 20kg of baggage, I managed to get away paying $150. Little did I know that Gold Coast airport, which is over 100km away from Brisbane airport, can be used interchangeably. So it wasn't until I arrived at Brisbane that I realized my mistake. Thankfully the kind staff at Jetstar did me the favour of allowing me to pay a $50 fee and catch the next flight out of Gold Coast, provided I could make the flight. Please Jetstar, you shouldn't have. Upon arriving at Gold Coast, I promptly paid the $50 fee and queued for the baggage drop. The agent at the baggage drop informed me that I was over the allowable limit for my checked baggage. Being familiar with airport procedures, I said "Ok, just let me put the excess into my carry-on." He replied by asking me to put my carry-on as well as my laptop (?) on the scale. He then informed me that I was 16kg overweight. I reluctantly agreed to pay for it, until he informed me that it would cost me $240 additional. So if I were to have taken that offer, I would have paid almost 4X the advertised price at a whopping $440. Thanks Jetstar! I went back to the help desk and there was a lot of hand wringing. And they had the gall to tell me they were doing me a favour by bending the rules by letting me pay the $50. I've flown with a lot of bad airlines, all over the world, but your extortion game gives me a real appreciation for how good I've had it before.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOOL to CNS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"a good, comfortable flight"

(Australia)

Melbourne to Denpasar. Jetstar's ground service is the same compared to full-service airlines in Business Class. Dedicated check-in area in Melbourne, fast track through security and immigration and Priority Boarding. Since, I am a Qantas Platinum I had access to the First Class Lounge. Excellent lounge, by the way. Once we were onboard we were offered 3 options for departure drinks including Champagne, orange juice or water. Inflight service offered drinks with nuts, followed by starter and main course. Dessert and cheese offered from a trolley with alcohol, tea and coffee. Since the flight was only 5 hours only one meal service was offered. Throughout the rest of the flight the crew were proactive offering a snack bar. We arrived in Bali 5 hours late, because of technical issues in Melbourne. We were notified on this 4 days prior to the flight which was good. The downside was the speed of the baggage to come out at Denpasar Airport. Business class bags surprisingly came out last. Jetstar should seriously consider Priority baggage for their Business Class passengers. Overall a good, comfortable flight.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to DPS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"resorts to rip off practice"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Denpasar to Cairns. Not flown yet and most unhappy. Now on second electronic scheduled departure time change, no problem. On original booking I paid for extra legroom seats. Confirmation of acceptance of new flight time requires confirmation of original seat selection. Final stage demands another payment of the seat reservation fee before acceptance. I am not aware of any European airline that resorts to this rip off practice. Jetstar has no system of communication with a human, only ask Jess, which gives a load of useless questions and answers. Sept 2016 flight date is a dummy to tick the boxes, booking for Dec 2016.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDPS to CNS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew were efficient and friendly"

(Australia)

Verified Review | This flight from Melbourne to Townsville was booked on Qantas points but, despite having the Jetstar reservation code, it wasn't possible to check in online. At Melbourne Airport check-in and bag drop using the kiosks at Terminal 4 was very quick. The terminal itself is quite pleasant, but there was a very long walk to the gate (some elderly passengers complained to the crew about this). We had seats 1A and 1B at the front by the aircraft exit, and as there was no bulkhead we had a huge amount of legroom. The crew were efficient and friendly, and the snack we purchased on board was fine. The flight left 15 minutes late but arrived on time. Overall quite a pleasant experience.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to TSV
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"what to do with suitcase for 5 hours"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Newcastle to Cairns via Brisbane. Can you believe that checked in baggage had to be claimed in Brisbane? Then, what to do with a suitcase for 5 hours? Ground crew told me that at their discretion I may be able to go through the screening team, and pointed to stairs. This however was not the case, so I lugged the case back down the stairs. If there is so much trouble with a domestic flight, it will be a dark day before I venture on an International flight, or another domestic flight. This did not happen on the outward flight but that was with another airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNTL to CNS via BNE
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight cancelled without notice"

(Australia)

Sydney to Honolulu with Jetstar. The flight was cancelled without notice. I flew all the way to Sydney from Perth early in the morning. When I got off the plane, first thing I saw on the screen was that the flight was cancelled. I wasn't even notified and no suggestions from Jetstar besides stay in Sydney for another 2 days to get the earliest possible Jetstar aircraft to Honolulu. I ended up booking another flight to Honolulu after getting to Brisbane at my own cost. I will never use this airline again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to HNL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"left to fend for ourselves"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Jetstar flight from Singapore to Melbourne cancelled at short notice without reason. Rebooked us on a delayed flight to Brisbane. No information at all from the airline upon arrival at Singapore. We were left to fend for ourselves - a family with small children. Flying to Brisbane but still unclear how we will get to Melbourne. Avoid at any cost.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to MEL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"crew were great and friendly"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Early morning service from Christchurch - Wellington with Jetstar Airways. Check in fast but the check in staff were not the most welcoming. Boarded on time. Crew were great and friendly. Departed on time. Ticket price included a $10 voucher for which I got a hot beverage and a snack served by were friendly crew. Landing into WLG was very choppy and turbulent. However the flight deck crew did a good job. Arrived into WLG a few minutes early. Bags took a whilst to arrive at WLG. Overall a very reasonable flight that exceeded expectations.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCHC to WLG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"nothing to really complain about"

(Australia)

Verified Review | The Jetstar Airways flight from Perth to Gold Coast was delayed by twenty minutes due to late inbound arrival of aircraft but that was no concern. The pilot did say that we would be landing on the dot, early if Gold Coast airport did not have a curfew. This was due to good tailwinds over continental Australia. I sat in 1E and it was just your normal budget airline. The staff were really friendly and clearly trained very well. There is nothing to really complain about, you get what you paid for, a cheap flight. Cheap seats, cheap cabin and no entertainment. The only thing I would say is that they should increase their menu or put more variety on.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePER to OOL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"good value for money"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Travelled Hanoi to Danang with Jetstar. Online check-in not possible for that stretch. I arrived from International T2 terminal only 25 Minutes before my domestic departure with Jetstar. Jetstar check-in staff was alerted and extremely cooperative to accommodate me on board, despite I had to rush unbelievably. I caused a minor delay of 5 minutes but we arrived on time. As my luggage obviously could not make it, it was, later the same day, with quick assistance from Jetstar, sent with the competing airline, Vietjetair - and I picked it in Danang airport after a few formalities. Onboard on the A320, I found a very good service by FA’s. Food, drinks, items for purchase at OK prices. Good value for money, surprisingly professional handling, despite denoted as a “Low Cost Carrier”.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to DAD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes