Airline of the Year  

Jetstar Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 552 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"nothing to write home about"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew Adelaide to Melbourne-Avalon on Mother's Day with only carry-on baggage booked, I paid the bargain basement price of $58 for a return flight to Melbourne. I wasn't, however, impressed with Jetstar's new policy of weighing each passenger's carry-on bag as they approach the boarding gate, with the intention of slugging each passenger with excess baggage a small fortune to place the bag in the hold. This is something that should be done at check-in, as it only holds up the queue. On board, the service was good, but not great, and overall tolerable for the short hour-long flight to Melbourne-Avalon. The return flight on May 17 was very similar, with some divergences. This time, I checked in at the counter (I happened to do some shopping in Melbourne and pre-paid checked baggage), and Jetstar's Avalon Ground Crew couldn't have been more helpful or polite. On board, however, the service was once again good, but nothing to write home about. Overall I'd recommend Jetstar only if there was a significant difference in price between other airlines, including Tigerair (far superior to Jetstar as an LCC in Australia), or if one wanted to fly to Melbourne Avalon Airport, a beautiful little Airport some 40kms out of Melbourne's CBD which was an absolute breeze to visit and to use.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Melbourne-Avalon
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly with them again"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Singapore to Sydney. Worst experience ever with customer service. They double charged me and didn't refund me even though I provided evidence. My flight also got cancelled from Singapore to Sydney. My husband, daughter and I were meant to be on the next flight. Waited 6 hours because they couldn't simply generate a boarding pass for my infant. I will never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Sydney
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"it's the attitude of staff"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Auckland to Palmerston North. Was in a hurry so checked in online, didn't print out my boarding pass 'cause I didn't even have time (my bad). Was hoping the boarding pass with a bar code on my phone would be ok, lady at boarding gate didn't seem to have a problem with that at all so she checked me in as normal. They ended up checking the wrong person in and gave it to me as me and the other one had the same surname and first name's initial. Obviously this resulted 2 people with the same seating, tried to explain to staff what I thought happened, apologized for the confusion because I felt at fault. The guilty feeling stopped when this lady was rude and blamed the whole thing on me for holding the wrong boarding pass. Well, I'm sorry that your staff was the one who checked the wrong person in, instead of using the booking reference to ensure they checked in the right person, they used the last name (which can be very common). It was amazing how I received no apologies for the mistakes on their end and had to feel bad for my mistakes only. I only thought it was ok to use a boarding pass on phone because I never had an issue with using it in the past with Jetstar. The flight attendant was sweet enough to check if I was ok afterward but then said "it's alright" like "yeah, we forgave you"??? This time it's not the delays that bother me (you get what you pay for), it's the attitude of staff.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Palmerston North
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Good value for money"

(United States)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Singapore. Good value for money, despite it was below of our expectation. It is the least comfortable Boeing 787-8 I have traveled in business class with a 2-3-2 configuration and we were in the 3. It is good value as it includes 30Kg of luggage, food, in-flight entertainment for an 8 hour flight. Food quality and service was acceptable to good.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Singapore
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"airfare was reasonable"

(United States)

Verified Review | Perth to Cairns. It is a classic low cost airlines, not much legroom, it was a 4 hour flight, not a very comfortable one, except that airfare was reasonable. It was a red eye flight. I would recommend the airline only when fare is considerable less than Qantas or Virgin Australia.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Cairns
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"the coldest plane I have ever been on"

(East Timor)

Verified Review | Flew Jetstar from Melbourne to Denpasar. The coldest plane I have ever been on, I was pretty warmly dressed in jeans, jumper, boots and socks, and was still absolutely freezing. I asked for a blanket which I was told was 15$ so I asked if they could turn off the A/C as everyone was wearing hoods/scarves around their heads etc and the flight attendant tried to tell me it was 25c! It was well under 20. We also took off 1.5h late due to faulty cabin lights and were on the plane the whole time, no offer of water or anything. It wouldn't be so bad if this "budget" airline had prices to match the service/quality but it doesn't.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Denpasar
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"seating got shuffled around"

(Australia)

Verified Review | For a weekend trip from Sydney to Melbourne I had tried to use Qantas Group points and pay, only to find lots of block outs on Sun afternoon. So ended up on Qantas domestic on the way down, and Jetstar on the way back up. At the time of booking I was able to get seating for QF 443, so not JQ 526. (And no, that Q doesn't stand for quality, more like questionable). Called JQ, after being on the phone got seating I wanted. Even got charged for it, though I wasn't advised of this. Although I have the QF app (which after the flight showed JQ526), I had to download the JQ one as well for some reason. All the way Tripit showed it as QF443 / QF478 operated by JQ (JQ526) Ah well. It then changed from exit row to + 4 rows to -1 row to ultimately another 11 rows and exit row. We got to the airport in time to get some dinner, then realised bag drop only available 2 hours before flight (and check in on the machine 3 hours before flight). It then asked if okay with exit row, but still got shuffled around. Though staff at the counter fixed it having seen some charge had been send through, which Amex showed as pending. Still not sure why. Flight was may be 3/4 full. Last time I flew JQ was probably a decade or so ago, thanks for reminding me why, even for short haul.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"found the experience quite good"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Honolulu return. I found the experience quite good, on time peformance on outward and return. As for hidden costs? Paid for more leg room in economy, got 30 kg luggage allowance. Added comfort pack (best ever on economy class, full of goodies). Cost clearly stated, my choice to add on. Entertainment pack added at extra cost, again clearly stated. Meal included just had to pre order. Only problems was a misbehaving passenger.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Honolulu
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"didn't want to help at all"

(United States)

Verified Review | Auckland to Christchurch. Before my trip, I had purchased the particular seating both from and to Auckland. And Jetstar had sent me the confirmation of my seating after I had made the payment. When I got to the airport, I found out that they just simply changed my seats both from and to Auckland. I told them I had purchased the seat and had the confirmation for it. They didn't want to help at all.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteAuckland to Christchurch
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"a scam calling this business class"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Melbourne. This is a scam calling this service business class - it is nowhere near it, not even premium economy. I have flown with Jetstar on this route to and from Bangkok numerous times since it's inception but this is the last time ever. Everything has gone down hill so much in the two years since I last did it. Check in was a debacle at Bangkok with economy passengers checking in at business desk whilst we waited but no economy check in agent called us up and economy passengers got priority ! Boarding is like a herd of cattle swarming and again no priority. I was most angered by the meal service which was very sparse, linen napkins replaced with paper ones, no second cup of tea, just quickly swiped the tray away. Breakfast was a piece of cake and margarine (not even butter). Really, really disappointed and despite being a frequent and loyal customer I will not be back.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no