Jetstar Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 641 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"must be scratching for revenue"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Adelaide to Melbourne. Jetstar must be scratching for revenue - the plane was approx 3/4 full but they weighed everyones hand luggage. I was caught when checking bag in I had even upgraded from carry on to 15 kg - it turns out i could have taken some in my carry-on. They dont even give you any over, then hit me $ 15 per kg. I get being strict when plane is full but it was no where near capacity. I was 2.5 kg over.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"penny-pinching method"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Melbourne. After having previously tried to ensure that my baggage met the requirements and was within the size allowed for carry on luggage, I proceed straight through check-in not believing my carry on to be problematic. However, at the gate the airline staff weigh your baggage to ensure you meet the 7 kg weight requirement. I would understand this policy for excessively sized pieces, however, my bag came in at 8 kg and as a result of this occurring at the gate was forced to pay $60 for this bag that was 1 kg over the weight limit. This is clearly a penny-pinching method. Had the fee been appropriate for the additional weight carried I'd have had no problem. However, by this point I'd paid just as much as a Virgin or Qantas flight where this sort of penny-pinching isn't experienced. I don't recommend this airline as they clearly don't care about customer experience or service. In future I'd rather fly Tiger airways than Jetstar.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"I enjoyed the 787 aircraft"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Phuket. Check in (after my flight with domestic Jetstar Melb to Syd) was fine and surprisingly quick. The flight also left and arrived on time and I enjoyed the 787 aircraft. The staff were very helpful and polite as well , The international food that can be purchased has deteriorated on Jetstar. The food (2 minute noodles and a very average chicken parmigiana) was nothing to get excited about even for economy food. Air Asia was much better. IFE entertainment was very limited as well. There was a very restricted choice of movies and music. I wasn't even able to access the music . When I mentioned this to one of the staff he said he'd check. I heard nothing more. I was also annoyed that Jetstar constantly changed the flight schedules. Not easy when one has limited time . I was lucky my boss was reasonable and allowed me to change my vacation times. But again I did appreciate the staff, the 787, easy check in and punctuality.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Phuket
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"staff were very helpful and friendly"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Sydney. Overall an enjoyable flight. Check in was no problem and the plane left on time I enjoyed the ham and cheese toastie that I prepaid. The staff were very helpful and friendly as well. There was no IFE which was no problem for such a short flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"cancelled because there was no pilot"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | My flight from New Plymouth to Auckland was cancelled because there was no pilot. I missed my connecting flight and had to pay over $600 to get another ticket to go to Australia which in fact I had already paid. All I got from Jetstar was a sorry. Shame on you Jetstar. Get your act together or better still reimburse people when they have proof they missed connecting flights, or pay for those flights, even better.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew Plymouth to Auckland
Date FlownApril 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"enforce more on baggage policies"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Auckland to Christchurch. Check in, boarding and bag-wait took way too long - so inefficient. Really should have enforced more on baggage policies as people brought too many bags. Pre-flight conditions weren't even checked: my seatmate had tray table down while the plane took off.The stewardess didn't even care. Take off & landing were really smooth. A320 was really old, and interior cabin smell gave people headache. Tray tables weren't cleaned properly. Toilet was clean though.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Christchurch
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"straight-forward flight on time"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Hobart to Melbourne. A smooth and straight-forward flight which operated on time. The seats had slightly more legroom than those on a Virgin Boeing 737. The only gripe was that three of the four check-in machines in Hobart were not working, and there was only one bag-drop counter in operation. In Melbourne T4 our bags were on the carousel when we got there.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHobart to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"making money from baggage charges"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Hobart to Melbourne. As most people that fly with mountain bikes know, they typically come in around 23kg if packed in a commercial bike bag. Most airlines have at least a 23kg weight allowance and typically don't apply any oversize changes to sporting goods. I have flown overseas and intestate with Qantas, Virgin, Air New Zealand and Air Canada with a bike bag weighing between 23 and 24kg when packed and never once had an issue having it checked as my included bag. It has always without exception been carried under the flight's standard included luggage allowance This all changed when I flew the first (and last time) with Jetstar (on the return leg of a qantas flight) Jetstar only allow 20kg (which if you use a good commercial bike bag and have mountain bike you're almost certainly not going to come in under) AND an oversize bag charge that isn't waived for sporting goods like most airlines. This charge along with their $15 PER Kg charge will add about $70 to your flight each way. They will not take into account that you flew out with their partner airline on the same booking with which can lead to some obvious confusion when you cant come back with the luggage you flew out with. To top it of once they know you're at your weight limit the smell blood and really go in for the kill to make an extra buck. On our return flight the resorted to the utterly stupid level of weighing the wallets/purses you're carrying on board (even if they are not going in the carry on). While I acknowledge the whole "we need to weigh your wallet and purse" thing was probably just got someone having a bad day at check in it does go to underline the clear culture is making money from baggage charges however possible that must permeate through the airlines culture. So if you're flying with a bike I'd strongly look at using an alternate airline
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHobart to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Really really cramped"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Flew Christchurch to Sydney. Really really cramped, this is a new low even for Jetstar economy. You have to sit up completely straight to avoid knocking your knees on the seat in front. Food tray hits your stomach and I am average weight. Hello Jetstar I'm not a sardine! Don't bother thinking you might get a cup of tea, $4.00 for a cup of hot water and a tea bag, just low.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChristchurch to Sydney
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff at the gate were extremely rude"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Flew Adelaide to Sydney. I understand that Jetstar is a budget airline, and that the best quality of customer service, flight comfort, and safety can’t be expected. However, it’s extremely unreasonable to do carry on baggage weight checks at the gate and not at the check-in outside of security, and then require passengers to pay 60 dollars to check in a bag. Had we been given this option, we would have put more weight into our actual checked luggage that still has extra room in it. Had we been given fair notice of this, then we could have easily gone back out of security and added more to our checked bag. The staff at the gate were extremely rude and not willing to explain why we couldn’t just add our bag to our checked bag weight allowance, or why the bags that people were being forced to check in were all the charged the same price when they were all different sizes and weights. We had a customer service agent rudely address us, and I boarded the plane feeling I’d been robbed. I know that this won’t change any of Jetstars backward policies, but I hope that in the future, Jetstar is more prudent about how it goes about monitoring the weight going onto the plane. Don’t use these methods to try and squeeze more money out of your passengers—it’s wrong.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Sydney
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no