Vote Now  

Jetstar Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 542 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"flight attendants very friendly"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Townsville. Hearing some bad reviews about cancellations and delays with Jetstar I was really worried about our flight. We had to check ourselves in via a kiosk and tag our own luggage and send it on its way. Having waited in an extremely long line before this innovation, it was actually a positive thing. We boarded efficiently, although by steps - and left right on time. The seat itself had reasonable leg room but was very narrow. We were lucky we had a free seat between us. The price seems initially cheap but when you add in things like seat choice, checked bag, any food it adds up to almost the price of a full service airline however, Jetstar is the only airline that flies direct from Melbourne to Townsville. We were not able to download any entertainment from their website as they don't allow this on this three hour flight. Made for a boring three hours, fortunately we had books to read. The flight attendants were very friendly, more so than any flight we have ever been on domestically or internationally - go figure. We had pre-ordered a Pho and ham and cheese toastie - mistake. They were not nice at all. I wish we hadn't done that. Anyway we arrived in Townsville 10 minutes early so that was a bonus. I would definitely choose this airline as it saves a lot of time when you can fly direct.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Townsville
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"a cheap and decent way to travel"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Jetstar was actually above what I expected flying from Melbourne to Townsville, but it started a little rough. We had driven for 1 hour in an uber to get to the airport and we had about five suitcases - on the check-in iPad, we had to check in each one of us individually which wasn't a big help. However, the experience got better once we boarded. The cabin crew were friendly and the plane was pretty clean, but the legroom was shocking. My knees were literally touching the seat in front! The Jetstar menu was good, with a decent range of food although a bit pricey. Toilets were spotless, surprisingly and the magazine was great. overall, Jetstar is a cheap and decent way to travel and I would love to return some day.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Townsville
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"cancelled due to engineering problems"

(Canada)

Unverified | We are from Canada and planned to visit our daughter in Melbourne, Australia. We spent a week in Kona, Hawaii before heading to Australia on Qantas airlines (and they are worth every penny). Our daughter found us a return flight direct from Melbourne to Honolulu on Jetstar as we planned to rest up a few days there before heading back to Canada. Our flight was to leave at 3:50 pm on April 9 and get into Honolulu at 6:15 am. Allowing enough time to clear customs, we booked a flight from Honolulu to Kona at 10:01 am. My husband got up at 4:30 AM and checked his email where he had one from Jetstar advising our flight had been cancelled due to engineering problems. He waited in a long queue for an online chat to rebook, only to find out that they could get us on a flight on April 12 - three days later and would put us up in a hotel for 1 night. As we had island tours booked and paid for in Kona (we had booked on our earlier trip) we needed to get there on the original day we booked. They refunded us our money but would do nothing else to compensate us for the additional cost of flights - Melbourne to Sydney, Sydney to Honolulu, and change our flights from Honolulu to Kona. Believe me, there are no discounts when you book on the same day you travel so we incurred lots of additional costs. I can't review the actual flight because I have never flown on them, and never will.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Honolulu
Date FlownApril 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"overall, a great flight"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Singapore. This budget airline, Jetstar impresses me. The check in process was smooth and fast. Boarding was efficient. Ground crew and FAs were friendly, helpful and seem proud of their work. Plane took off and landed on time. No entertainment and food, typical of a budget airline but OK since it was only 40 minutes. Overall, a great flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Singapore
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"even more to take your bag"

(United States)

Verified Review | Christchurch to Hobart via Melbourne. International flight and I wasn't aware how bare bones this flight was. The seat was worn and poking me in the back. They charged me an $160 for my bag from Christchurch to Melbourne and another $90 from Melbourne to Hobart. This was the same price as my ticket. My return flight is on Qantas (same price) and they are giving me free baggage. Flight also didn't include any drinks or food or any sort of entertainment. I'd say spend an extra $100 on a different flight and do not fly with this terrible company. Just scamming people. Plus, you shouldn't have to fly for 4 hours with such standards pend even more to take your bag.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChristchurch to Hobart via Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"carry-on backpack was weighed"

(United States)

Verified Review | Tokyo Narita to Sapporo. Before I was allowed to board the flight, my carry-on backpack was weighed. The size of my bag was not a problem but it was the weight of the bag. Jetstar's policy is to not allow carry-ons that weigh over 7 kgs. So, as to not have damage to my fragile MacBook or iPad, I had to carry them on with other items (iPhone, headphones, book, reading glasses) that I wished to use on the flight, juggling them in my arms as my backpack was checked in to the cargo hold. The staff treated me well and was apologetic, it's not their fault.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Sapporo
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I would fly with Jetstar again"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | My daughter and I arrived two minutes after the flight had closed. We'd flown from Manchester on Emirates. The flight had been delayed by 3 hours so it was a miracle to get to check in at all. Although Jetstar have a rigid approach to late arrivals, I was impressed with the staff at Auckland airport who went out of their way to ensure that we were on the next available flight. Thanks so much. I would fly with Jetstar again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to New Plymouth
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"would hesitate using Jetstar again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I was meant to get the 09:10 flight from Wellington to Auckland and then would have a 4 hour wait to catch an international flight back to the UK. I turned up at the airport just before 7am and was told the flight had been cancelled that morning and I'd have to go on standby for a flight that would arrive in Auckland at 12:50. I advised this would be impossible as I'd miss my international flight. After a lot of talking the lady of the checkin desk managed to get me on the standby flight that should have left at 08:35 but was late and eventually left at my originally scheduled flight time of 09:10. I had 5 mins to get to the gate and through security. I was grateful to get the flight but very unhappy with the lack of communication from Jetstar Airways leading to the cancellation of the flight. Lots of other passengers who also turned up for the cancelled flight stated they had not received any cancellation texts or emails. One person stated they received the message at approximately 5am. The plane itself had good leg room on the seats and the luggage came out promptly on arrival. I would hesitate using Jetstar Airways again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWellington to Auckland
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"awful customer service "

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Singapore. I experienced awful customer service when I recently flew with Jetstar. Outside drinks weren't allowed on the plane despite the general terrible food served. Horrible attitude of staff on the ground. And in general, the policies around outside food and drinks are not clearly communicated. I would not recommend anyone to fly this airline, most definitely not families with little kids.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Singapore
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"trick customers in my view"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Perth to Bali. When booking my flight to Bali the Jetstar web site allocated seats to me which I did not change or select. Then when I printed out my invoice notice a seat selection fee. When I complained to Jetstar live chat agent, he said I should have unchecked the allocated seats so to avoid the fee. I think this is a terrible design and one could say made to trick customers in my view. Jetstar said my mistake was refundable and would do nothing to help. There is very little choice between AirAsia and Jetstar but one who likes to use local Jetstar was my choice. Well not anymore.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Bali
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no