Top 100 Airlines  

Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 232 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"extremely user-minded"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | I flew from Osaka to Sapporo with JAL, the staff fluent in English and understandable. Everything perfect except free Wi-FI on board that never worked. JAL was extremely user-minded and friendly. A pleasant surprise.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKIX to CTS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"service rushed and disorganized"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Red-eye flight from Hanoi to Narita. Boarding was very efficient and the aircraft was ready for departure within 15 minutes. After take off, drinks service commenced and the cabin light was dimmed. Two hours before landing, breakfast service started. Unlike the previous inbound flight, I felt that the service this time was rushed and disorganized. There was no option for breakfast and the food this time is of a much lower standard compared to the inbound flight.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to NRT
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"staff very courteous and helpful"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Takamatsu to Tokyo Haneda. The flight was the last flight of the evening on August 11, the start of the summer (obon) holiday season in Japan. Unfortunately the flight was delayed by over an hour but the ground staff was very apologetic and helpful. The cabin crew looked very worried that people would be angry as the announcement was made in the terminal but they were very courteous during the flight and did their best to keep us happy for the flight to Tokyo. I couldn't fully understand the announcement (in Japanese) of the delay at the gate so I asked the ground staff to confirm my thoughts. They apologized many times for the delay as well as for speaking too fast for me to understand everything they said during the official announcement. I did understand them for the most part but needed to confirm the information. The ground staff was very courteous and helpful. Great service for a stressful time by the ground crew and cabin crew.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTAK to HND
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"great flight with Japan Airlines"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Tokyo Narita to Hanoi. Boarding was orderly and efficient. Due to air traffic congestion in Narita, we departed late.However, we managed to land on time. The crew were polite and efficient. The seat was really comfortable and the IFE were really great. Food was really tasty too. However, the aircraft was a little warm throughout the flight. Overall, a great flight with Japan Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNRT to HAN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"flight was pleasant and comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Overall the flight with Japan Airlines from Hong Kong to Tokyo Narita was pleasant and comfortable. The aircraft is a newly-bought Boeing 787-8. I was assigned the last row so could recline the seat anytime during the flight. The in-flight entertainment system was worth giving a thumbs-up. The movies were up to date and it ran smoothly. The flight attendants were all professional. They kept walking around, providing assistance as well as giving quick responses to passengers' needs. During the meal service, they were excellent in switching their channels when asking passengers' preferences.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to NRT
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"sleep well and enjoyed movies"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Delhi to Tokyo. Good seat and inflight entertainment, I could sleep well and enjoyed movies and music very much. Bad was the meal - Prawns for dinner was very salty. Though it takes about 10-11 hours from Delhi to Tokyo, JAL gives downgraded meal service compared with flight to America, Europe and Australia.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDEL to NRT
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"professional and efficient"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Japan Airlines from Taipei to Los Angeles via Kansai return. It might not have the best inflight entertainment or the best economy seat but cabin attendants were top notch. They were professional and efficient with great attention to detail. They walked around the cabin handing out drinks during the flight. I had the best inflight meal I have had.
Aircraft787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTPE to LAX via KIX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not recommend on overall service"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Tokyo to Frankfurt. They ran out of Japanese food and all breakfast options on Business Class. I had pot noodle for breakfast on Business Class. I was offered a bottle of sake on plane but they do not stock resealable bags on board, so could not accept this due to connecting flight and airport security, they did not offer to post it to my home address. On outbound flight they did not place us sitting together even though booked under one reference and requested to sit together a month in advance of travel, had to complain at the gate in order to get seats assigned together. After complaining after experience, Japan Airlines did not offer any apology, so would not recommend based on overall service, food and seating arrangements.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNRT to FRA
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"flight crew were attentive"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Diego to Fukuoka via Tokyo Narita with Japan Airlines. Outstanding service and very professional. Brand new Boeing 787 - and my flight was before the new "larger" economy seats (but, the older 787 economy seats were still very comfortable for the SAN to NRT journey). Onboard flight crew were attentive and met any requests with a smile (and a bow). Food was outstanding (by economy standards). Flying to Japan out of San Diego is so much easier than LAX or SFO.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSAN to FUK via NRT
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"flying experience was quite nice"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Kuala Lumpur via Tokyo Haneda. We had to change airports in Tokyo but it was worth it for the ticket price because they have reliable and not too expensive bus service between airports. Overall, flying with JAL was a good experience. The legroom in economy class was plentiful and the seats were comfortable. Flight attendant service was good as well and there was a decent selection of movies to watch on seat back monitors. My complaint is that the food on flights between SF to Tokyo didn't seem adequate for a 10 hour flight, which is long. They provided 1 full meal and 1 little dinky (tiny!) sandwich with no condiments, so remember to bring snacks. The lack of condiments on the sandwich and the fact that it was cold made it extremely dry and barely edible. On the other hand, the full meal they served were good, my only complaint being that they did not heat up the bread rolls. I've flown on many trans pacific flights between the US and Asia with other airlines and they have always provided 2 full meals. But as a whole, the JAL flying experience was quite nice and I wouldn't hesitate to fly with them again. Bonus points for the fancy bidets found in Japanese airports.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to KUL via HND
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes