Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 267 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"awesome thanks to cabin crew"

(East Timor)

Verified Review | Singapore to Tokyo Haneda. The flight was delayed for 30 minutes which was okay. When I was boarding, there was two flight attendants standing by the door to greet and apologise for the delay to the passengers. After take off, dinner was served. I would say Japan Airlines has a good selection of meals in economy class. The FAs on this flight was attentive and helpful. The IFE screen on my seat wasn't working, so the FA reseated me. Prior to landing, a Japanese style breakfast was served on board. It was delicious. Overall, I would say that this flight was awesome thanks to cabin crew. Good job.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Tokyo Haneda
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"an exceptional First Class"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | What an exceptional First Class Journey from stepping onboard to leaving the door. I was greeted at the door of the aircraft and ushered left to seat 1A. I was instantly served Salon 2006 Champagne and shortly afterwards offered leisure clothing of my size, and offered that opportunity to change into it before departure. The bathroom had a padded drop-down floor and seat so that you didn’t have to stand on the floor or toilet to change! Then all five staff working in First Class bowed and introduced themselves, and the Japanese 9-cousre menu started shortly after take-off. Many fine champagnes and sakis were offered and enjoyed, as well as the offer of the entire Japanese menu after mentioning that I had not tried many Japanese cuisines. As there were only two people occupying the 8-seat First Class cabin, the crew made up the suite opposite into a bed for me so I could sleep when it suited me. After about 3 hours of sleep they asked me if I wanted more food and drink. Nearing arrival, I was presented with a bag containing a Business Class amenity kit (having complimented them on the First Class Porsche Design kit, and they wanted me to have a Zero Halliburton one), some Japanese photos and two bottles of water for my onward journey. If only BA could provide anything near such perfection. JAL is wonderful and their premium product is perfection!!
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteHeathrow to Tokyo Haneda
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"long way behind rival ANA"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Tokyo in business class. Seats were quite confortable although rather narrow for sleeping, and the cabin was overheated for non Japanese passengers, but staff don't seem to care. I have now flown this route with LH, ANA and Japan Airlines, and have to say that Japan Airlines are below standards of others. Cabin attendants speak very poor English (they have foreign CA), and the service is so slow and rather poor. I didn't expect them to be this poor, and a long way behind their rival ANA (who I will choose on next trip).
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Route Frankfurt to Tokyo
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"FA did not speak English"

(United States)

Verified Review | Fukuoka to Tokyo Haneda. I purchased the ticket on this flight with the Visit Japan Fare option, it allows you to travel within japan on a flat fare of $100 per person one way. The only condition is you must be a foreigner living outside Japan with a passport to prove it. A friendly welcome was provided and cabin interior was clean and modern. Seats were leather and slim, yet very comfortable. Flight was only about 90 minutes and we were given a choice of juice, coffee or tea; no sodas. I was the only tourist on the flight and the FA did not speak English, so she handed me a menu with english translations of what they had to offer. Great value for foreigners, although if you were to purchase the regular fare, it is much more expensive.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteFukuoka to Tokyo Haneda
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"now a regular with JAL"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Tokyo to Honolulu. This trip to Hawaii I splashed out on their premium economy. It is a great value considering the services provided. You get designated check-in, priority luggage check, and access to the Sakura Lounge at Narita. Because it was a late night flight, people like myself were eating full meals in the lounge in order to skip the late night dinner service onboard. Plenty to choose from: teriyaki chicken over rice, their famous beef curry over rice, dim sum, soup, sandwiches, and Thai curry were some of the choices. We also got a massage and a shower in before boarding the aircraft. Of course, people did eat on board, too, which consisted of a posh Tokyo "yoshoku" chain called Shiseido Parlour and while I didn't eat anything, the meals definitely looked better than your average economy meal. The seats are a little hard after 5 hours and the recline is the slide type which many people dislike, but since I can't sleep on planes anyway, it didn't bother me. There is ample space both in width and in leg room. The service is flawless. The AVOD was adequate. A smooth flight going over. Coming back, the 787 was even better. The toilet in economy with a washlet was a welcome treat. There were two babies traveling in the front row of premium and they were treated like kings! The older flight attendants doted over them the entire flight with special meals, chatting, games and toys, and of course bassinets. The power port at my seat didn't work, and the wifi on offer never seemed to either. I'm now a regular with JAL and I don't think I'll be changing anytime soon.
AircraftBoeing 777 / 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteTokyo to Honolulu
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"pleasant and easy trip"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Tokyo Haneda to Taipei. I usually fly premium or business, but since the flight was only 3 hours 40 minutes going down and 3 hours coming back, I decided to save money and fly economy. At Haneda, the economy check-in line was long but moved rather quickly. The staff were professional and it was running smoothly. The crew onboard were wonderful on both legs. The food was good quality. I'm XXL and legroom is usually a problem, but it wasn't so bad on this aircraft. However, the seats seem a bit low and there was blockage under the seat with AVOD boxes, so it wasn't really comfortable overall. The cushions were thin. The aircraft is a 787, but it must be one of the oldest! If you paid for a staggard, lie-flat bed in business, you'd be sorely disappointed as they are the old neo shell seats. The interior was not the great "wider seats" they advertise and the AVOD was rather limited. I think if you are Japanese (or are fluent in Japanese) you'd be happy, but it was a rather lame assortment of major Hollywood blockbuster features with few interesting selections. All in all, I had a pleasant and easy trip on JAL and I look forward to flying them in premium economy in the future.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Haneda to Taipei
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Excellent customer service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Busan to Sydney via Tokyo. Excellent customer service! I was 32 weeks pregnant at the time of travelling and without me asking for any assistance all the staff I encountered were genuinely hospital, diligent & attentive. The lady who helped me at the transfer desk in Narita airport led me to a seat so I could sit down while she processed my request. And cabin crew on board came and spoke to me at different times of the flight to ask how I was feeling and if I needed anything. As the flight wasn't full they also asked the lady next to me to move to the next seat over to give us both extra room - she was happy to oblige. At the end of the flight, I was given a little gift for my new baby which had some toys and also a little JAL model plane. The crew had written a personal message to me offering their congratulations with all the details of that days flight written on it - a lovely keepsake. The food is of a high standard for airline food and they presented a picture menu so you could make your decision more easily. The toilets were kept clean and well stocked. Overall an excellent airline. This was my third long flight with JAL and each time the customer service has been excellent - which is a priority for me when flying.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBusan to Sydney via Tokyo
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"the cabin was very clean"

(Japan)

Verified Review | The very flight happened to be Japan Airlines 50th Anniversary of Tokyo-Kuala Lumpur route. I got my class of service upgraded from Economy to Premium Economy at the time of check in for nominal charges. The seats of the aircraft was very nice and the cabin was very clean. Some negative things to note. The food. The menu was introduced to have been developed by Naomi Iijima, a food "designer". I had a small bite of everything and none of them was acceptable. Though "designed" to look fancy, everything tasted terrible. I'd say "regular" meal that you'd expect on economy class by other airlines would be far better. Cabin Attendants English was not good. Very unclear and hard to understand. The attitude of CA towards passengers was not something that worth a compliment. Cabin Entertainment menu offered is quite limited. The flight arrived at KL and was greeted with water arch. At least that was a little fun.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteTokyo to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"a perfect flight again"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | JAL continues to shine! This is not the first time I rode Japan Airlines but it never fails to impress. The cabin attendants from Tokyo to Dallas were all outstanding. They did not only smile but cared for every passenger genuinely. They paid close attention to details such as walking softly so as not to disturb passengers. Meals were elegant and plentiful. The seat has a lot of privacy and Japan Airlines further increased comfort by providing mattress. Overall a perfect flight again!
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTokyo to Dallas
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"top notch in every aspect"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Japan Airlines is top notch in every aspect, in particular its inflight catering and the hospitality from the cabin attendants. During the 4 hour flight from Hong Kong to Tokyo Haneda, all cabin attendants were very proactive in helping passengers. They did not only serve with smile but I could feel their passion in caring on every passenger and their attention to details. The aircraft was equipped with SkySuite III with excellent cabin condition, including lie flat seat and huge personal TV screen. Slippers and other amenities were provided. All ground staff in HKG were very professional and well trained. With high expectation before the flight, I could say my expectations were all fulfilled and the flight was perfect!
AircraftBoeing 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Tokyo Haneda
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes