Top 100 Airlines  

Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 215 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"journey to Europe a pleasure"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Frankfurt via Tokyo Narita. Exceptional service and a very comfortable lie flat seat made the journey to Europe a pleasure. Friendly flight attendants, generous meals and attentive ground service makes it easy to choose Japan Airlines. Whilst the inflight entertainment definitely has a Japanese focus, there is more than enough to choose from and the variety of programs has increased since last year. Am travelling again to Frankfurt in June with Japan Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSYD to FRA via NRT
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"service which is becoming rare"

(United States)

Verified Review | I had one of the most pleasant flying experience with Japan Airlines from New York JFK to Tokyo Narita. I had heard about their Boeing 777 Sky Wider Economy seating, with only 9 abreast (opposed to commonly used 10 abreast) and a generous seat width and pitch, plus some other nice features. I always wondered if an inch or two here or there really count. I was wrong. It does matter and with one less seat in a row, made an enormous difference on this 13+ hours flight. A pre-meal drink service was followed by a 7 dish lunch, including miso soup and ice cream. Another meal was served before landing. What set them apart was the staff who were caring, polite and courteous. The kind of service which is becoming rare or found only in premium cabins. They made numerous rounds with drinks during the flight. I saw them caring for babies and observed one of the crew making an origami for them in the galley. Entertainment system was adequate with high quality screen displays. Announcements in English could be clearer. My Oneworld Sapphire status (AA Platinum) was fully acknowledged at the check-in counter and other ground services.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to NRT
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"I am very impressed"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Los Angeles via Tokyo, and I am very impressed by Japan Airlines. The service and food were good, leg room was sufficient, and seats were one of the most comfortable I have sat on. Though the variety of entertainment was not great, it was sufficient for the long haul flight that I was on.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to LAX via NRT
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"definitely choose JAL again"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Have flown 4 sectors with JAL this last month, Hong Kong to Haneda, Haneda to San Francisco, Vancouver to Narita and Narita to Hong Kong. All four sectors were excellent: attentive and friendly service, new planes, fantastic food, good entertainment, not excessive announcements, comfortable seats. Best was the genuine, caring and friendly service from all crew member. I will definitely choose JAL again for long haul flights if they fly the route that I am flying.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to HKG via HND
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"seat was very comfortable"

(United States)

Tokyo Narita to Helsinki with Japan Airlines. The Boeing 787 business class layout is the same as their Boeing 777 product. I had seat 8K, which provided an excellent view of the engine and front edge of the wing. Privacy was excellent because of the window seating. Cabin air seemed not nearly as "fresh" as Boeing describes it for its Boeing 787 product. Service was excellent and attentive. Food options superior to anything I have experienced and made the flight memorable. Dimming and reopening of the blinds took some getting used to because of the delay but it all worked well. The entertainment system seems to have some glitches. Pausing or quitting a movie, for instance, seemed impossible to do. Navigating the flight map didn't seem to work. I couldn't seem to purchase Wifi connectivity on my iPhone or iPad. The lie flat seat was very comfortable - more so somehow than the identical version in the 777. I didn't need the separate memory foam futon. Overall an excellent experience with JAL. I would opt for them next time I am flying this route.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNRT to HEL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"First and last time"

(Thailand)

Japan Airlines from Bangkok to Narita okay in new Boeing 787. Service very good but food menu quite limited and wine selection not nearly as good as others, with a definite slant towards the sweeter palate. Nar-CTS leg and CTS to Haneda leg very disappointing. Pay for business class but without the benefits on domestic legs it seems. No food served on board which is the norm I am told and no access to the Sakura lounge. Ground staff at Haneda buyer beware. First and last time for this traveller I am afraid.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to CTS via NRT
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"good airline to travel"

(Canada)

Vancouver to Tokyo, Japan and a good airline to travel with. I have traveled to Tokyo and Taiwan many times with Japan Airlines, and the food is very good in my opinion. The inflight entertainment could have more games, or some other service but in general it is very nice.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to NRT
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"would gladly fly JAL again"

(United States)

San Francisco to Haneda with Japan Airlines. After reading other reviews that meal service would be limited on this flight because of the 00:45 departure time, I was pleased to see that a full meal service was provided after all. Departure was on time, cabin was pretty full. I had an aisle seat in the middle section. This provides for least privacy in the business class seats it seems. Crew was attentive and friendly. The flatbed seat was pretty decent. I did not use the separate "memory foam" futon. Temperature in the cabin was pretty much room temperature, not too cold and not too warm either. Inflight entertainment system worked but seemed unfinished. It was difficult if not impossible to pause a movie, for instance and the flight map didn't seem to provide any control. I couldn't get the Wifi to work (by logging in to their system and paying for access) on my iPhone. The food options were all excellent and for this reason, combined with the excellent service, I would gladly fly JAL again on this route.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSFO to HND
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"FA's were excellent"

(Australia)

Tokyo Narita to Vancouver with Japan Airlines, and very nice food served. FA's were excellent with a genuine smile and service. There's a happy coat for inflight use. Seat is angled flat but not horizontal. Flight was delayed by one hour but worked to my advantage as my connecting flight was late. Plane flew over Chiba, nice view at night. Landing into YVR – nice view of islands.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNRT to YVR
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"aircraft is clean"

(Philippines)

Japan Airlines Manila-Narita return on Boeing 767-300, seats 55K and 15D. JAL has no choice of food (unlike before) but I have no problem on that as it is good and palatable. The flight attendants make sure passengers are well attended to and serve with a smile. In-flight entertainment has a wide selection of movies, sounds, etc. The aircraft is clean including the toilets.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to NRT
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes