Top 100 Airports  

Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 226 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"professional and efficient"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Japan Airlines from Taipei to Los Angeles via Kansai return. It might not have the best inflight entertainment or the best economy seat but cabin attendants were top notch. They were professional and efficient with great attention to detail. They walked around the cabin handing out drinks during the flight. I had the best inflight meal I have had.
Aircraft787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTPE to LAX via KIX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not recommend on overall service"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Tokyo to Frankfurt. They ran out of Japanese food and all breakfast options on Business Class. I had pot noodle for breakfast on Business Class. I was offered a bottle of sake on plane but they do not stock resealable bags on board, so could not accept this due to connecting flight and airport security, they did not offer to post it to my home address. On outbound flight they did not place us sitting together even though booked under one reference and requested to sit together a month in advance of travel, had to complain at the gate in order to get seats assigned together. After complaining after experience, Japan Airlines did not offer any apology, so would not recommend based on overall service, food and seating arrangements.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNRT to FRA
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"flight crew were attentive"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Diego to Fukuoka via Tokyo Narita with Japan Airlines. Outstanding service and very professional. Brand new Boeing 787 - and my flight was before the new "larger" economy seats (but, the older 787 economy seats were still very comfortable for the SAN to NRT journey). Onboard flight crew were attentive and met any requests with a smile (and a bow). Food was outstanding (by economy standards). Flying to Japan out of San Diego is so much easier than LAX or SFO.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSAN to FUK via NRT
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"flying experience was quite nice"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Kuala Lumpur via Tokyo Haneda. We had to change airports in Tokyo but it was worth it for the ticket price because they have reliable and not too expensive bus service between airports. Overall, flying with JAL was a good experience. The legroom in economy class was plentiful and the seats were comfortable. Flight attendant service was good as well and there was a decent selection of movies to watch on seat back monitors. My complaint is that the food on flights between SF to Tokyo didn't seem adequate for a 10 hour flight, which is long. They provided 1 full meal and 1 little dinky (tiny!) sandwich with no condiments, so remember to bring snacks. The lack of condiments on the sandwich and the fact that it was cold made it extremely dry and barely edible. On the other hand, the full meal they served were good, my only complaint being that they did not heat up the bread rolls. I've flown on many trans pacific flights between the US and Asia with other airlines and they have always provided 2 full meals. But as a whole, the JAL flying experience was quite nice and I wouldn't hesitate to fly with them again. Bonus points for the fancy bidets found in Japanese airports.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to KUL via HND
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"service was very good"

(United States)

I flew from Tokyo Haneda to Bangkok, the flight to Bangkok was on a newer 777, it was the typical Japanese clean and orderly. Food was ordinary but service was good with several beverage offerings. The flight was uneventful and pleasant. Can't say the say for the return trip from Bangkok to Tokyo Haneda, we flew an older 777 with tiny AV screens that were small and hard to see. Leg space was cramped and not as generous as our trip on the newer aircraft flown into BKK. Although the return trip was uneventful it was unpleasant as the aircraft was so worn I was surprised it was in the JL fleet. Service was very good with an easy check in process and personalized service if needed as I needed to get a transfer boarding pass on my flight from LAX on a different airliner. I would fly Japan Airlines again but hope for a newer aircraft.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHND to BKK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"very friendly staff"

(Canada)

Vancouver to Bangkok via Tokyo with Japan Airlines. Very friendly staff, inflight selection of movies was average, the food was quite good and I had no problems with the seats. The plane was delayed leaving from Vancouver to Tokyo but the pilots made up for lost time and we arrived in Tokyo on time. My favorite food item was the kiwi juice, so good.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to BKK via NRT
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"found JAL PE to be sub-standard"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Ticket purchased online with Japan Airlines. Process is easy and allows check-in up to 72 hours prior to scheduled departure. Check-in at airport was quick and efficient, staff helpful and friendly. Flight from Sydney to Narita departed early, as all passengers and crew were ready to embark. Wi-fi only available gratis in Business or First Class, or for a charge if you are in Premium Economy or Economy providing you have an account with JAL. Catering was of a good standard, with reasonable selection of food, drinks and snacks. Flight was smooth, with pleasant climate maintained inside the aircraft. Arrival was ahead of schedule and disembarkation was well organised. Overall, having experienced Premium Economy (PE) with CX, I found the JAL PE to be sub-standard. Apart from the PE seats in JAL and a separate check-in counter, the catering, baggage allowance, etc.. is exactly the same as Economy. Considering the new Economy seats in JAL, I believe Economy is much better value for money. Maybe CX PE experience has spoiled me!
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSYD to NRT
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"not a pleasant experience"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Tokyo Narita to Sydney. My first issue arose when attempting to check-in online within the prescribed period. The JAL system would not allow me to complete check-in, advising I had to contact my travel agent. This was bizarre, as my ticket was purchased from JAL direct! At Narita Airport I was directed to the Premium Economy check-in. When I presented myself at the counter to which I was directed, the staff told me they were closed, and took me to another counter which was also closed! Staff subsequently turned up and completed my check-in, however, the check-in process was disorganised. Flight departed on schedule. Food quality was of a poor standard. I had expected better from JAL when departing from their home base. I had also expected to find some typical Japanese dishes on the menu, but they were absent. Flight was not comfortable, as the crew had the climate turned up and it was way too hot and made it too uncomfortable to sleep. Most passengers in PE were visibily hot, as people removed all but necessary clothing and didn't use the aircraft blankets - requests for reduction in cabin temperature were ignored. Initially I presumed that to acclimatise us to the colder weather in Sydney they would reduce cabin temperature as we approached Sydney, the ambient temperature in Sydney being 6C. However, this was not the case. I was still sweating when I left the terminal and went into the open air. Flight arrived on schedule, however, disembarkation was very slow to be implemented and seemed disorganised. I understand that First and Business Class have priority, however, there was a long delay to allow others to disembark after all the First and Business class passengers had long since disappeared into the terminal. Overall, not a pleasant experience on this flight with JAL. On the basis of this flight, I could not recommend JAL to others.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteNRT to SYD
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"seating is surely now outdated"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Haneda with Japan Airlines. Lounge was packed prior to the 09:45 departure to Haneda. Business class forward cabin looked cramped, although fresh and spotless. 7-across angle-flat seating is surely now outdated and was not very comfortable, especially with the seat itself being quite hard. Not really a problem for a daytime flight, but I would be very unhappy to find this layout on the inward overnight flight. Reasonable IFE selection but small screen. My main complaint is the lunch service. With limited main course selection taken at take-off and the first course not delivered until an hour later, you'd think the service from then on would be relatively speedy. Not so! A full 40-minute wait between the first two courses is quite unforgivable, the more so when I had to return my steak as it was not even lukewarm! Thereafter the flight was uneventful, although it was all but impossible to hear the cabin service announcements. Departed on time and arrived 10 minutes early.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to HND
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"quite disappointed with Premium Economy"

(Australia)

Chicago to Tokyo Narita. Quite disappointed with Japan Airlines Premium Economy as they serve economy class meals, wines, etc in Premium Economy. Whilst the legroom was certainly better than economy, can't really see a reason to pay a premium for an economy class product. Other Oneworld carriers serve better meals and premium wines in premium economy.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteORD to NRT
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no