Airline of the Year  

Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 256 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"the best for economy seat"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Tokyo Narita to Moscow Domodedovo. The Japan Airlines Boeing 787 is a good aircraft for economy class and the best for economy seat. Food is good and it's of course Japanese food served. For a cabin crew service it's good. Overall it's good service from a 4-Star airline!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Moscow
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"No JAL good service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Las Vegas to Tokyo return via Los Angeles. We thought she was going to fly JAL, and the JAL website advertised delicious looking Japanese food. After booking we found out that the flights were operated by American Airlines. No JAL good service and great food. The food on the flights was junk American Airlines food. Marginally edible. We feel ripped off and will never consider booking with Japan Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Tokyo via Los Angeles
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"topped other airlines"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Tokyo. This airline topped other airlines I have flown with before! Before my flight I had a few questions about my booking so I decided to email them. I was surprised that I got answer the following day! Same goes for the phonecall. I called since I had a codeshare ticket, and the online check-in did not work for me. I expected to be waiting on the line, and was so surprised when a very cheerful woman answered after a few seconds! It was my first long-haul solo flight and I felt a bit anxious. Without saying anything to the staff, they would check on me very often, making sure I was comfortable. The staff was very competent, and spoke Japanese, English, and German. The time on the flight to Tokyo passed very quickly thanks to the inflight entertainment.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Tokyo
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"above my expectations"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Japan Airlines is excellent. First flight was from Osaka to Los Angeles. Solidly good with good departure and arrival time. Also flew from Narita to the Philippines and both experiences were above my expectations. I had arrived early at the airport and they let me choose my seat on the plane. The Japanese staff are world class! It was my first time flying across the Pacific and they made my flight very comfortable. The cabin crew were very attentive, helpful and accommodating. The food was good, there was no charge for liquor and the lavatory was fairly clean. Great selection of movies to pass the time. They could do better if they provided the inflight wifi service, but aside from that, definitely would fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Los Angeles
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"crew on both flights were indifferent"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Both legs (Haneda-Bangkok, Bangkok-Haneda) were red-eye flights. The quality of catering was much better on the outbound flight (HND-BKK). However, there were no choices on both legs. I really think Japan Airlines should provide meal choices for their passengers. Service-wise, the crew on both flights (BKK-HND) were indifferent and not really friendly towards the passengers. There were Bangkok-based crew as well, and there is a big difference among the Bangkok-based crew. Some were really good but some were not so friendly.
AircraftBoeing 777-200, Boeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"providing excellent service"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Japan Airlines from Hong Kong to Tokyo Narita in economy class. The attention to detail by its ground staff and cabin attendants was exceptional. There were both Hong Kong and Japan based cabin attendants and they were providing excellent service. The aircraft did not have the Sky Wider seats but the seats were still very comfortable for a regional flight. Quality of inflight meals was very good although there was no option. The cabin of Japan Airlines was very quiet which made the whole flight very enjoyable.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Tokyo
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"cabin temperature is just too high"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Tokyo Narita to Sydney. Love everything about JAL. Service, seats, food but I cannot fly with them again as the cabin temperature is just too high. It was unbearable. It is something that Aussies always complain about i.e. Japanese aircraft are too warm. The result is a very unpleasant flight. I can't go through that again. Booking with Qantas next year.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"cabin crew were professional"

(China)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Kansai. I chose Japan Airlines because of its cheap ticket and the service was really good. Delicious food for a flight under two hours. A very comfortable seat which could help me have a good rest. IFE was enough for me. And the cabin crew were professional. Next time, I will put JAL into consideration if I take the flight between PVG and KIX again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Osaka
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"my chosen option for this route"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Absolutely the best Tokyo to Sydney option. It does use Narita as opposed to Haneda, but JAL certainly makes up for the slight inconvenience due to the distance to the city. Firstly their fare is cheaper than Qantas, and even the Jetstar flight via the Gold Coast. Secondly their luggage allowance is more generous (23kg x 2 check-in) so it was a nice surprise to be able to relax at the airport baggage-free. Thirdly their staff, both ground and air, were so competent. They were efficient and knew not to disturb you unnecessarily, while keeping the signature Japanese Omotenashi mind. Also they serve you plenty of drinks and quality food, with warm breakfast. I did think the flavour was too much to the Japanese liking (e.g. they served rice-featured breakfast and no other options, if I'm not mistaken), but it was one of the best economy class meals around. could not stress more how wonderful the spaciousness of the "JAL Sky Wider" seat arrangement was. The only complaint is the range of movies and TV shows shown. Qantas offers more alternatives than JAL and ANA's typical blockbusters and Friends. Overall, JAL will be my chosen option in the future for this route, unless Qantas lowers their price, as I'm their FF member.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNRT to SYD
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"leg room was very good"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Tokyo Haneda in October. Seat pitch and leg room was very good with much space to stretch out. The flight was operated by a Boeing 767-300ER with seats in a 2-3-2 layout. Seat recline was good. Breakfast was served on this sector and was a breakfast soup which was surprisingly filling. Cabin staff were polite and attentive. IFE was very good and responsive. The large IFE screen was very clear and modern. Prices were lower than ANA and Singapore Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to HND
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes