Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 278 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"was a very bad experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tokyo Narita to Ho Chi Minh city. Terrible customer service at Narita airport. I had 2 hours layover at this airport to go to Ho Chi Minh city January 22, 2018. Around 5:30 pm we all were boarding and ready to depart but for some reason the airplane couldn’t fly any where and we were stuck inside for 5 hours then the pilot announced our fly is canceled. Our airplane went back to the terminal but the door couldn’t open because too much snow. So it took another one hour to get out off JAL airplane to go back to the terminal. We all got one sleeping bag, one bottle of water and a small bag of cracker for the night because of the snow storm. In the morning around 8 am we got in line to re book our ticket but all of employee at Narita airport told us we have to call JAL or book online because we were customer of yesterday they couldn’t help us in person. It’s was very disappointed with the way they handle there customers. Then we got in line to put our name and get number to get drawing at 3 pm the second day to see who is the lucky one can fly out. It’s seem like we all refugee waiting list to go back to wherever country. I was lucky that I met an Idian couple when I was charging my phone and later the husband help me to call local JAL to book my last seat at Haneda aiport which is one an half hour away by bus. My phone has international plan but couldn’t call local JAL number and 1800 JAL number took me hours but still no one pick up the phone. We were unlucky with the drawing so have to stay another night to get in to the waiting list at 4 pm fight for January 24,2018. The people at help desk gave us one night hotel which is 2 hours away. I asked the worker at help desk if my 3 friends they don’t want to go to the hotel that night could they have voucher for food instead but they no. I felt so bad for them because they have to stay another night at Narita airport with the same set of clothes. Any way there was a few nice employee try to help us by the end, one ask her boss to give me $30 to take bus to go to other airport to get the fly at 1:30 am. I was so tired because of two nights no sleep and stress out because I have 6 days left for my vacation. That’s was a very bad experience with the way JAL treat their customer. I hope they will learn from this and will help all of their customer like me who stuck at Narita airport for 32 hours or more.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Ho Chi Minh city
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to New York. Absolute worst customer service and experience with this Airline. On my honeymoon and paid for an upgrade on the way to my destination and halfway was downgraded. They blamed JFK for not properly communicating the upgrade was only halfway. Either way we got the runaround with a few different people at the Haneda Airport. Most notably was an incredibly rude manager, I was shocked when she said she was a manager because the way she spoke and handled this was incredibly unprofessional. I was interrupted nonstop by “no no solution unless you pay more”. Horrible experience I will never fly with this Airline again. Don’t use them if you want to avoid the worst headache and rude customer service. I would give zero stars if I could.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to New York
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"terrible customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Chicago via Tokyo. Won't be flying them again. Arrived at the airport at 6 for my international 8am flight which was delayed. At noon they cancelled the flight. They have 1 person helping customers getting on new flights. Most people are stuck here an additional 24 hours. Absolutely terrible customer service. There are about 30 furious people here still waiting for hours to get on flights. The best they are offering is getting in 24 hours late.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chicago via Tokyo
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I felt really welcome"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Chitose to Kushiro. The cabin crew were smiling and I felt really welcome. The boarding and the seating were a breeze and the airline provides small headphones that you can take with you. One of the cabin crew members gave us free JAL Aircraft Models as gifts and kept asking us if we wanted more Apple Juice. The seats were very comfortable and the legroom was more than enough for relaxation. The only thing that did not work properly was the free WIFI. I will definitely fly with JAL again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChitose to Kushiro
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"do not offer welcome drink"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | Tokyo Narita to Taipei. The crew efficiency was a big problem, they do not offer welcome drink when you board the plane. The meal service was a disaster, the speed was really slow and they did not offer the drink service before meal. They just gave you a whole tray. It took one hour from I boarded the plane to I got my first drink. Also the taste of the meal was really bad. I would never spend money to buy their business class ticket.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Taipei
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"IFE system a disaster"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | Taipei to Narita. This was an really disappointing flight. The meal was terrible, it looks really nice but the taste was really bad. Also the staff was lack of efficiency. The meal service go through very slow, the service was really bland. The dessert they offered was just a really small size Haagen-Dazs ice cream. I am so disappointing. Also the IFE system was a disaster, the speed was really slow and the interface was really not user friendly.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTaipei to Narita
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ruined my family holidays trip"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Japan Airlines customer care team in Hong Kong is the worst, rude, no manner and helpless. When I book tickets via gotogate website, there was no field to put in middle name on the ticket. I called the Japan Airlines many times to help me to insert the middle names on the tickets for my family but they offered no helps, they said Airlines will refuse our entry at the airport and we have to paid very high fees to get new tickets, they charged us $390 to cancel each ticker plus fair different. Airlines ruined my family holidays trip.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Tokyo
Date FlownNovember 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"boarding was orderly and strictly conducted"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I flew JL773 on the return leg of the Melbourne - Tokyo Narita - Melbourne journey in September 2017. There was no queue at check-in, immigration was smooth and Narita T2 seemed a little quiet after the Passport Control. Upon arriving at Gate 84, it was even quieter, and boarding was orderly and strictly conducted according to oneworld membership tier and class of travel. JAL’s 788 V2 (SS8) has a generous 2-4-2 configuration in Economy, with 18.9” Seat Width and 33” Seat Pitch. The rear section has 88 seats, which easily composes a relaxed cabin ambience, especially when it was only one third full. IFE was sensitive to touch, sophisticated and loaded with international and classic titles. In-flight Wi-Fi service has three prices when paying by normal credit card, US$10.15 for 1 hour, US$14.40 for 3 hours and US$18.80 for 24 hours. If you are paying with a JAL Card, the prices are US$9.15, US$12.95 and US$16.80 respectively. Asked one Cabin Crew in particular a specific loading question, she was visibly annoyed. The Cabin Manager noticed the situation and personally came to apologise for the ‘service attitude’ and gave me a small present from the Captain. For the remainder of the journey, I received unprecedented and somewhat uncomfortable levels of pampering attentions from the crew members. Two meals were served after takeoff with five or six types of grain or chocolate made snacks readily available between meals. The first full meal was designed by JAL’s one of six RED U-35 Cooks, including Kazutoyo Inoue from Szechwan Restaurant Chen. The second proper meal ‘Air Yoshinoya’ came in the form of a bento box, which was served exactly two hours before touchdown. In-flight beverage list contains 10 types of Soft Drinks including the JAL Original Drink - SKY TIME “Kiwi”, and wine, beer, sake, whisky, gin, vodka, brandy and plum, a total of 8 varieties of Alcoholic Drinks. The actual flight took 09 hours and 54 minutes, travelled 8,377 km and reached the gate 34 minutes before the scheduled arrival.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNarita, Tokyo to Melbourne
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Excellent business class seat"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Tokyo Narita to Melbourne. Excellent business class seat and attentive service, Sat in 9C and you could not hear Premium Economy section. Son sat in 9A and loved the privacy of the window pod. Onboard WIFI the fastest and most reliable I have come across in the ski. Five star business class experience on-board. The First Class lounge in the Satellite area at Narita though was pretty basic. Would have been rated a 10 if the bed when flat was another couple of inches longer (note I am 6 foot 2 inches tall)
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Melbourne
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"seating needs some work"

(United States)

Verified Review | Boston to Hong Kong via Tokyo. Really great service, however, long haul flights, the seating in business class is so uncomfortable. This was my first time flying JAL, and typically I would not write a review, but after clocking almost 40 hours on JAL in 1 week, I feel I need to point out the seating situation. Now for the price of biz class - its great, but after working for a few hours, a movie and dinner, it is almost impossible to get comfortable for a sleep. In fact, because of these seats, I left with severe cramping. Again, the service was great. Very friendly, and they go out of there way to provide exceptional service, however, the seating needs some work.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBoston to Hong Kong via Tokyo
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes