Vote Now  

Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 253 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"above my expectations"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Japan Airlines is excellent. First flight was from Osaka to Los Angeles. Solidly good with good departure and arrival time. Also flew from Narita to the Philippines and both experiences were above my expectations. I had arrived early at the airport and they let me choose my seat on the plane. The Japanese staff are world class! It was my first time flying across the Pacific and they made my flight very comfortable. The cabin crew were very attentive, helpful and accommodating. The food was good, there was no charge for liquor and the lavatory was fairly clean. Great selection of movies to pass the time. They could do better if they provided the inflight wifi service, but aside from that, definitely would fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Los Angeles
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"crew on both flights were indifferent"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Both legs (Haneda-Bangkok, Bangkok-Haneda) were red-eye flights. The quality of catering was much better on the outbound flight (HND-BKK). However, there were no choices on both legs. I really think Japan Airlines should provide meal choices for their passengers. Service-wise, the crew on both flights (BKK-HND) were indifferent and not really friendly towards the passengers. There were Bangkok-based crew as well, and there is a big difference among the Bangkok-based crew. Some were really good but some were not so friendly.
AircraftBoeing 777-200, Boeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"providing excellent service"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Japan Airlines from Hong Kong to Tokyo Narita in economy class. The attention to detail by its ground staff and cabin attendants was exceptional. There were both Hong Kong and Japan based cabin attendants and they were providing excellent service. The aircraft did not have the Sky Wider seats but the seats were still very comfortable for a regional flight. Quality of inflight meals was very good although there was no option. The cabin of Japan Airlines was very quiet which made the whole flight very enjoyable.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Tokyo
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"cabin temperature is just too high"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Tokyo Narita to Sydney. Love everything about JAL. Service, seats, food but I cannot fly with them again as the cabin temperature is just too high. It was unbearable. It is something that Aussies always complain about i.e. Japanese aircraft are too warm. The result is a very unpleasant flight. I can't go through that again. Booking with Qantas next year.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"cabin crew were professional"

(China)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Kansai. I chose Japan Airlines because of its cheap ticket and the service was really good. Delicious food for a flight under two hours. A very comfortable seat which could help me have a good rest. IFE was enough for me. And the cabin crew were professional. Next time, I will put JAL into consideration if I take the flight between PVG and KIX again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Osaka
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"my chosen option for this route"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Absolutely the best Tokyo to Sydney option. It does use Narita as opposed to Haneda, but JAL certainly makes up for the slight inconvenience due to the distance to the city. Firstly their fare is cheaper than Qantas, and even the Jetstar flight via the Gold Coast. Secondly their luggage allowance is more generous (23kg x 2 check-in) so it was a nice surprise to be able to relax at the airport baggage-free. Thirdly their staff, both ground and air, were so competent. They were efficient and knew not to disturb you unnecessarily, while keeping the signature Japanese Omotenashi mind. Also they serve you plenty of drinks and quality food, with warm breakfast. I did think the flavour was too much to the Japanese liking (e.g. they served rice-featured breakfast and no other options, if I'm not mistaken), but it was one of the best economy class meals around. could not stress more how wonderful the spaciousness of the "JAL Sky Wider" seat arrangement was. The only complaint is the range of movies and TV shows shown. Qantas offers more alternatives than JAL and ANA's typical blockbusters and Friends. Overall, JAL will be my chosen option in the future for this route, unless Qantas lowers their price, as I'm their FF member.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNRT to SYD
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"leg room was very good"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Tokyo Haneda in October. Seat pitch and leg room was very good with much space to stretch out. The flight was operated by a Boeing 767-300ER with seats in a 2-3-2 layout. Seat recline was good. Breakfast was served on this sector and was a breakfast soup which was surprisingly filling. Cabin staff were polite and attentive. IFE was very good and responsive. The large IFE screen was very clear and modern. Prices were lower than ANA and Singapore Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to HND
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Japan Airlines customer review

(Slovakia)

Verified Review | Sapporo to London Heathrow via Tokyo Haneda with Japan Airlines. Incredible crew, nice and helpful. International and Japanese food better than BA with metal cutlery in economy class. Free snacks in economy - simple, but better than nothing. Seats on longhaul flights have a lot of knee space with cool canvas seats, very good customizable headrests with foldable sides, so you can fix your head when sleeping - good pillows - entertainment system about the same quality, but maybe BA had more choice. Domestic flight with B777-200 - configuration 3-4-3. JAL looks more tailored to Japanese customers - they have all major japanese beers - Asahi, Sapporo, Kirin etc. Very pleasant experience even on a full flights - combination of good seats, good food, and good crew.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCTS to LHR via HND
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"the service was just excellent"

(United States)

Verified Review | By far the best economy trip I have taken. We fly economy for vacation trips, which this was. Although I chose Japan Airlines for our trip to Japan and Hong Kong because we had heard that the service and food on this airline were excellent, we were not expecting much. My frame of reference was the routine abuse perpetrated on economy passengers by U.S. airlines. I could not have been more pleasantly surprised - and quite frankly shocked - by the great experience we had on Japan Airlines. The service was just excellent. Courteous, attentive cabin crews, genuinely interested in the comfort and care of passengers. Need some assistance by turning on the cabin attendant light? A cabin crew member will rush over to see what you need. Plenty of good food and beverages served throughout the flight. Think you're thirsty? Well, a cabin attendant just happens to walk by with juice or water. The economy seats we had were very comfortable, even for the long journeys we had. The 787 is a wonderful airplane to fly in. Perhaps it may seem like I am gushing here, but compared to the torture of U.S. airlines, it was nirvana. If I return to the Far East again, this is the airline I am going to use.
AircraftBoeing 787 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to JFK via NRT
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"impression was very positive"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Chicago to Tokyo Narita. I had never flown with Japan Airlines before, so my first impression was very positive. Very attentive, gracious and courteous crew, as well as the ground crew. Drinks and food were substantial. Snacks and water were available throughout the flight. In-flight entertainment was adequate.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to NRT
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes