Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 562 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 25th July 2015

The Good: very polite and accommodating ground and flight crew. Food was decent and plentiful. Both flights departed exactly on time. The de-planing process upon landing was very quick. The Bad: Exceedingly uncomfortable seats. They are lumpy and hard which, for a long haul (12 hour) flight, was terrible. In Tokyo, I was absolutely dreading my return flight home on these seats. To mitigate the discomfort, I purchased an inflatable "donut ring" cushion and sat on that on the flight home. If you take JAL, please consider bringing an inflatable cushion along. The USB charger outlets that are so prominently advertised as a great feature of the Dreamliner do not work. On both flights, I tried the outlets at my seat and my husbands and asked several fellow passengers if j could try theirs. I tried at least 7 or 8 outlets on both flights. They do not work. Make sure your devices are charged. It's a long flight. Don't plan on being able to recharge in flight.
AircraftDreamliner
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBoston Logan to Tokyo Narita
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 22nd July 2015

SFO-HND-SFO. Check in very easy since the flight operates overnight in both directions. The seat was hard and uncomfortable, however legroom was decent and the u-shaped pillow was nice. The seat pockets barely stretch, so they cannot be used to store anything other than thin objects, not even the water bottle they provide pre-flight. Food below average compared to other airlines. The SFO-HND route featured chicken sandwich as a snack and chicken porridge for breakfast. HND-SFO route featured a tuna melt as a snack (that sounds like a recipe for disaster, right?) and a corn soup / cream of broccoli mixture. I was expecting more, having flown ANA and United in the past. Note that you can look up the inflight meal on their website. For IFE there was a personal tv on the back of each seat, with a decent selection of movies and television programming, though not as much as on Delta flights that I have been on. I slept on the flight, so I didn't watch too much tv, but there were some recent movies from early 2015. Service was nothing special. FA was friendly, but failed to collect the plastic beverage cups and trash after the first beverage service. She walked by and picked up the cups to the right of aisle, but failed to collect any of the cups on the other side despite the fact that the empty cups with trash were on the tray table. I had to wave to her several times before she noticed that the cups had not been collected for sometime. I would not recommend JAL for the SFO-HND route.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSFO to HND
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 20th July 2015

On JFK-NRT route Japan Airlines upgraded their B777-300ER and B787 seats to SkySuite, which offer surprisingly generous space and big screen (10 inches). I was very satisfied with everything including cabin crew service, flight meals, seat pitch, but only except inflight entertainment system, movie selections to be specific. The movies were a little bit outdated with limited western selections, but would be ideal for Japanese passengers since half of the movies are Japanese. JAL used B767 for its NRT-PVG route, and most passengers appeared to be Chinese tourists traveling with kids. The boarding process was a bit chaotic and the flight was full. The A/C on this segment was outrageously strong, and I was frozen sitting on a window seat. The flight attendant was very considerate after I told her this problem. Again, the cabin service was excellent; meal was good, but the inflight entertainment system was a bit old but still acceptable. I would definitely fly them again, for its top-notch service. JAL definitely deserve a 5-star rating.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER, Boeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteNew York to Shanghai Pudong via Tokyo Narita
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (Japan) 3rd July 2015

Was actually a domestic plus a international flight. Upgraded the domestic ones to Class J (Note: they never mentioned it was business class, and neither did I think it was business class). Domestic: No food, just drinks on board. pretty decent and Class J seats were nice. Staff were tentative and smiling. No complaints at all. International: NRT-SIN-HND (JL711, JL038). Both were good. I ordered the gluten free meal and got exactly what I wanted. Staff were nice, boarding was efficient, and never a minute late. Only thing to say is the IFE, low selection of movies as well as songs (can't blame them as Japan is almost half a decade slow in releasing movies). Food was good. Best parts of JAL: Great Economy seats, and marvellous punctuality. If you are looking to get in for a transfer with only 1.5 hours for transit, this is the airline to take.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteOKA to SIN via HND
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (Singapore) 19th June 2015

I flew on a return flight BKK - Tokyo Haneda - Osaka (Itami). My connecting flight from Haneda to Itami only had a 1 hr 20 min gap so by the time I cleared immigration and customs I only had around 30 mins left to my connecting flight. The check in gate for the connecting flight had closed and the ground staff could have asked me to carry my own luggage but instead helped arrange for my luggage to be brought up the plane by the airport staff, and gave me good and clear instructions on how to get to the domestic terminal. My return flight from Osaka to Tokyo was supposed to be at Kansai Airport, but I overlooked it and went to Itami instead. The ground staff at Itami helped arrange my partner and I to be on the next flight out from Itami to Haneda, even though they could have asked me to travel to Kansai for my flight instead. The seating space was just okay, nothing to commend or complain about. Choice of shows and movies in the inflight entertainment was a little low, not as many choices as other airlines I've flown. Food was just okay, nothing fancy but also can't compare to the other airlines I've flown with. I must say that the flight attendants are very polite and attentive.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBangkok to Osaka via Tokyo
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (Philippines) 16th June 2015

Arrived Early at Manila Airport. Airline Security were friendly and accommodating. Only Few counters were opened. one for One world, one for J-class and 2 for Y-class, which makes the queue waiting time longer. Staff were friendly too. The plane was newly refurbished B767 Sky Suite with added leg space and bigger LCD monitor. Food was ok, didn't know that there is only one menu choice on board.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMNL to NRT
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (Philippines) 15th June 2015

This time going back to MNL from NRT. Easy check in. No long queue. friendly ground staff too. Smooth boarding process. Food was ok, again, no selection of food on board. the Cabin crew were always busy and non stop in offering drinks and safety reminders such is fastening seatbelt and will be a minor turbulence shortly. The only time they rested was during take off and Landing. Will take this airline again in the future.
AircraftB767
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteNRT to MNL
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (Ireland) 1st June 2015

Flew Tokyo HND to Paris CDG on 29th May 2015. At Haneda there was a long queue at check-in as there were not enough desks open. Staff were very polite though. On board staff were very polite and friendly. The safety instruction video was very poor. Missed a lot of the details usually included. We were served a lunch 2 hours after take-off. Food was decent I went for the Japanese meal. A decent main course with a number of small sides and ice cream for dessert. Good drinks selection. Throughout the flight crew were available with drinks and snacks. 2 hours before landing we were served dinner which consisted of a DIY hamburger. That was very disappointing and not what you would expect from a major international carrier. Entertainment selection was very poor with just a few films and tv programmes to choose from. System was slow and unresponsive. Seats and pillows were comfortable. And the plane was in good condition. Overall staff were excellent but the service was disappointing.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (Ireland) 1st June 2015

Flew Tokyo HND to Paris CDG on 29th May 2015. At Haneda there was a long queue at check-in as there were not enough desks open. Staff were very polite though. On board staff were very polite and friendly. The safety instruction video was very poor. Missed a lot of the details usually included. We were served a lunch 2 hours after take-off. Food was decent I went for the Japanese meal. A decent main course with a number of small sides and ice cream for dessert. Good drinks selection. Throughout the flight crew were available with drinks and snacks. 2 hours before landing we were served dinner which consisted of a DIY hamburger. That was very disappointing and not what you would expect from a major international carrier. Entertainment selection was very poor with just a few films and tv programmes to choose from. System was slow and unresponsive. Seats and pillows were comfortable. And the plane was in good condition. Overall staff were excellent but the service was disappointing.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 29th May 2015

Haneda/Itami(Osaka)/Narita. Business Class. Outbound flight was fairly dismal from check in where the agent tried to tell me I had only paid for 2/3 of the ticket? To the very worn 777 with pathetic legroom and service (only non alcoholic drinks offered in paper cup). On time was the best I could say. The second leg was an improvement with no attempted rip off at check in but the new (ish) 737-800 was cramped 2/3 seating in business class and the same pathetic paper cup offerings. ANA next time!
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no