Vote Now  

Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 248 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"my chosen option for this route"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Absolutely the best Tokyo to Sydney option. It does use Narita as opposed to Haneda, but JAL certainly makes up for the slight inconvenience due to the distance to the city. Firstly their fare is cheaper than Qantas, and even the Jetstar flight via the Gold Coast. Secondly their luggage allowance is more generous (23kg x 2 check-in) so it was a nice surprise to be able to relax at the airport baggage-free. Thirdly their staff, both ground and air, were so competent. They were efficient and knew not to disturb you unnecessarily, while keeping the signature Japanese Omotenashi mind. Also they serve you plenty of drinks and quality food, with warm breakfast. I did think the flavour was too much to the Japanese liking (e.g. they served rice-featured breakfast and no other options, if I'm not mistaken), but it was one of the best economy class meals around. could not stress more how wonderful the spaciousness of the "JAL Sky Wider" seat arrangement was. The only complaint is the range of movies and TV shows shown. Qantas offers more alternatives than JAL and ANA's typical blockbusters and Friends. Overall, JAL will be my chosen option in the future for this route, unless Qantas lowers their price, as I'm their FF member.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNRT to SYD
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"leg room was very good"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Tokyo Haneda in October. Seat pitch and leg room was very good with much space to stretch out. The flight was operated by a Boeing 767-300ER with seats in a 2-3-2 layout. Seat recline was good. Breakfast was served on this sector and was a breakfast soup which was surprisingly filling. Cabin staff were polite and attentive. IFE was very good and responsive. The large IFE screen was very clear and modern. Prices were lower than ANA and Singapore Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to HND
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Japan Airlines customer review

(Slovakia)

Verified Review | Sapporo to London Heathrow via Tokyo Haneda with Japan Airlines. Incredible crew, nice and helpful. International and Japanese food better than BA with metal cutlery in economy class. Free snacks in economy - simple, but better than nothing. Seats on longhaul flights have a lot of knee space with cool canvas seats, very good customizable headrests with foldable sides, so you can fix your head when sleeping - good pillows - entertainment system about the same quality, but maybe BA had more choice. Domestic flight with B777-200 - configuration 3-4-3. JAL looks more tailored to Japanese customers - they have all major japanese beers - Asahi, Sapporo, Kirin etc. Very pleasant experience even on a full flights - combination of good seats, good food, and good crew.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCTS to LHR via HND
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"the service was just excellent"

(United States)

Verified Review | By far the best economy trip I have taken. We fly economy for vacation trips, which this was. Although I chose Japan Airlines for our trip to Japan and Hong Kong because we had heard that the service and food on this airline were excellent, we were not expecting much. My frame of reference was the routine abuse perpetrated on economy passengers by U.S. airlines. I could not have been more pleasantly surprised - and quite frankly shocked - by the great experience we had on Japan Airlines. The service was just excellent. Courteous, attentive cabin crews, genuinely interested in the comfort and care of passengers. Need some assistance by turning on the cabin attendant light? A cabin crew member will rush over to see what you need. Plenty of good food and beverages served throughout the flight. Think you're thirsty? Well, a cabin attendant just happens to walk by with juice or water. The economy seats we had were very comfortable, even for the long journeys we had. The 787 is a wonderful airplane to fly in. Perhaps it may seem like I am gushing here, but compared to the torture of U.S. airlines, it was nirvana. If I return to the Far East again, this is the airline I am going to use.
AircraftBoeing 787 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to JFK via NRT
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"impression was very positive"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Chicago to Tokyo Narita. I had never flown with Japan Airlines before, so my first impression was very positive. Very attentive, gracious and courteous crew, as well as the ground crew. Drinks and food were substantial. Snacks and water were available throughout the flight. In-flight entertainment was adequate.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to NRT
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"staff were attentive and genuine"

(Qatar)

Verified Review | Tokyo Haneda to Singapore. Highly impressed with my first flight with Japan Airlines in a few years. Ground staff were attentive and genuine which set a nice first impression. Seating was comfortable on Boeing 767 window seat with sufficient leg room. Midnight departure meant a small snack and drink after take off, beer was served ice cold, a big plus! Enjoyed the entertainment system though range not as diverse as other airlines. Breakfast served 2.5 hours before landing, quite tasty with tea and coffee plentiful. Friendly service with a smile, look forward to my next flight with Japan Airlines!
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHND to SIN
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"high expectations were never quite met"

(United States)

Verified Review | Shanghai to San Diego via Tokyo. Everything you read ranks Japan Airlines at the top, so I decided to try them as the last leg of a OneWorld round the world trip. Also, I could fly into my hometown of San Diego rather than the usual grind of landing in LA and driving south. From the start, I had high expectations that were never quite met. The flight from Shanghai to Tokyo was short and unmemorable which is interesting, because I always enjoy the Shanghai to Tokyo flight on ANA. I had higher hopes for the Tokyo - San Diego flight based not the least on the airframe, the B787 Dreamliner. This is my favorite plane. I typically try to exclusively fly this if possible due to the reduce noise, lower pressurization and, typically, newer configured cabins. For JAL, the latter was a huge let down. Not that the cabin was old. It was very new, but the seats were the reclining type, not the lay-flat and in today's business class, that is simply not competitive for a 12 hour flight. Outside of the seat's limited recline, the overall pod was comfortable with storage in all the right places. The entertainment system was also very good. Overall, it was a comfortable seating area, but with no lay-flat, when it was time to sleep, JAL failed. While I was awake, though, the service was excellent. The attendants were attentive and professional and were always around to help. The food was very good, as well. I can see why JAL is rated well as an airline, but the absence of lay-flat seats will put them out of the running for me as a carrier. It is too bad, as I frequently fly to China from San Diego and JAL would be hugely convenient.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePVG to SAN via NRT
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"did not go around with drinks"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Red eye flight from Haneda to Bangkok with Japan Airlines. Boarding was speedy and efficient. After take-off, light snack, bread, and drinks were offered. A bottle of mineral water was offered to each passenger too. However, unlike other carriers, the flight attendants did not go around with drinks. There was only one choice for breakfast but it was great.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHND to BKK
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"efficient and satisfactory flight"

(China)

Verified Review | Tokyo to Beijing with Japan Airlines. Good flight, on time, clean cabin on the 787 Dreamliner, my first flight on this acclaimed aircraft. The notable innovation is the window shade is electronically block out/open. Meal is OK, nothing special, but very Japanese. Staff service attitude is good but their language ability is limited. Even airport custom officers do not really speak English. An efficient and satisfactory flight.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHND to PEK
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"the food selection is not great"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | As this flight leaves Singapore after 1am there is no meal served after take off. In fact it was difficult to even get a drink. Whilst the flat beds are relatively comfortable they are also very narrow. The choice of breakfast served before arrival in Haneda was either Japanese or western. I opted for the western but the meal bore no resemblance whatsoever to a western breakfast and was mostly inedible. The overall service level was average at best. For the return flight to Singapore we flew from Narita but as in the same flight taken earlier this year the plane was almost an hour late in departing due to heavy traffic around 6pm. Passengers should also be reminded that the walk from the JAL lounge is around 15 minutes as the gate used for this flight is the furthest away on the particular pier that's used. The flight itself was acceptable although the food selection is not great. Moreover my wife was served half an before me even though our food order was taken at the same time. All in all not a great experience so next time we visit Japan we will be giving JAL a miss.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSIN to HND
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no