Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 573 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"best Economy class flight I have had"

Review by (Germany)

Paris CDG to Tokyo Narita with Japan Airlines is the best Economy class flight I have had. JAL is widening Economy seats (pitch and width) in their new configuration across their long haul fleet. The seat pitch was 34 inches. The new IFE screen was nice, but the inflight entertainment programmes on the Gulf carriers is more extensive than on JAL. Food of great quality and the staff courteous and most helpful. The flight was punctual and my baggage arrived. It was the same experience on my flight back from Narita to Frankfurt on the Boeing 777-300.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteCDG to NRT
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

It was our first time to fly on Japan Airlines and we were impressed with the staff. A very special "Thank You" to maintenance staff at the Manila airport. Long story short, my glasses went under my seat in Business Class and they found them. During the flight the flight attendants did all they could to help me find my glasses and when we did not find them, they called Manila prior to our arrival and had a maintenance staff member meet us at the gate. Unfortunately, after about 15 minutes of removing panels and searching, the glasses were not found. Maintenance staff promised he would continue to take things apart and do all that he could to find my glasses. He found them and I was able to pick them up at the JAL office in Manila prior to my flight departure the next day.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSan Diego to Manila via Tokyo
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

Probably one of the nicest flights I have had. The seat was very comfortable and the flight attendants were delightful. The meals were well presented and tasty. The personal videos had a good selection of recent films but I slept 5 hours. My only complaint was that the cabin was too warm for my liking and I awoke sweating a few times.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLAX to NRT
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia)

I normally fly Qantas but this time I chose Japan Airlines I expected JAL would be better but was wrong. The PTV screen was too small and it was not a touch screen so every time I had to control with a remote which was pretty inconvenient. Subtitles were annoying while watching movies. I didn't want Japanese or Chinese subtitles but I could not get rid of it. Otherwise it was okay. Heaps of kids were seating around me though.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteTokyo to Sydney
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia)

Both outbound and inbound were good, the Boeing 777-200 is dating but the leg room is good enough for me, the seat looks old but comfortable. Food was good but the Mos burger on the return flight (NRT-SYD) was a disaster! My grand daughter tried to do the assembly part then refuse to eat it as the sauce - actually the whole burger - was a mess! Japan Airlines flight attendants were the gems of the flight: they were polite, worked hard to served a full flight. On our connecting flight from NRT to ITM, Japan Airlines used the Boeing 777-300. Despite the seat looking newer, the padding was so thin: I felt so uncomfortable after half an hour and that was a short flight (1h30m). Will happy to fly with Japan Airlines in the future.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSydney to Osaka (ITM) via Narita
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

This airline has to be the best for economy class passengers. Everything worked perfectly, the food was fantastic, the cabin was clean and the flight attendants were nice. Even had Haagen Dazs ice cream for dessert. We departed and arrived on schedule.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBKK to NRT
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (Japan)

JL 724 is a red-eye flight out of Kuala Lumpur. After departure, refreshment was served. Compared to other airlines I have flown, the touch screen on JAL is of a much better quality. I could really enjoyed two movies during the 7-hour flight. Breakfast was quite good but JAL should provide options for passengers to choose from. Personally, JAL's new seats were very comfortable. The cabin crew were very efficient and friendly.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteKUL to NRT
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

The Good: very polite and accommodating ground and flight crew. Food was decent and plentiful. Both flights departed exactly on time. The de-planing process upon landing was very quick. The Bad: Exceedingly uncomfortable seats. They are lumpy and hard which, for a long haul (12 hour) flight, was terrible. In Tokyo, I was absolutely dreading my return flight home on these seats. To mitigate the discomfort, I purchased an inflatable "donut ring" cushion and sat on that on the flight home. If you take JAL, please consider bringing an inflatable cushion along. The USB charger outlets that are so prominently advertised as a great feature of the Dreamliner do not work. On both flights, I tried the outlets at my seat and my husbands and asked several fellow passengers if j could try theirs. I tried at least 7 or 8 outlets on both flights. They do not work. Make sure your devices are charged. It's a long flight. Don't plan on being able to recharge in flight.
AircraftDreamliner
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBoston Logan to Tokyo Narita
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

SFO-HND-SFO. Check in very easy since the flight operates overnight in both directions. The seat was hard and uncomfortable, however legroom was decent and the u-shaped pillow was nice. The seat pockets barely stretch, so they cannot be used to store anything other than thin objects, not even the water bottle they provide pre-flight. Food below average compared to other airlines. The SFO-HND route featured chicken sandwich as a snack and chicken porridge for breakfast. HND-SFO route featured a tuna melt as a snack (that sounds like a recipe for disaster, right?) and a corn soup / cream of broccoli mixture. I was expecting more, having flown ANA and United in the past. Note that you can look up the inflight meal on their website. For IFE there was a personal tv on the back of each seat, with a decent selection of movies and television programming, though not as much as on Delta flights that I have been on. I slept on the flight, so I didn't watch too much tv, but there were some recent movies from early 2015. Service was nothing special. FA was friendly, but failed to collect the plastic beverage cups and trash after the first beverage service. She walked by and picked up the cups to the right of aisle, but failed to collect any of the cups on the other side despite the fact that the empty cups with trash were on the tray table. I had to wave to her several times before she noticed that the cups had not been collected for sometime. I would not recommend JAL for the SFO-HND route.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSFO to HND
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Japan Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

On JFK-NRT route Japan Airlines upgraded their B777-300ER and B787 seats to SkySuite, which offer surprisingly generous space and big screen (10 inches). I was very satisfied with everything including cabin crew service, flight meals, seat pitch, but only except inflight entertainment system, movie selections to be specific. The movies were a little bit outdated with limited western selections, but would be ideal for Japanese passengers since half of the movies are Japanese. JAL used B767 for its NRT-PVG route, and most passengers appeared to be Chinese tourists traveling with kids. The boarding process was a bit chaotic and the flight was full. The A/C on this segment was outrageously strong, and I was frozen sitting on a window seat. The flight attendant was very considerate after I told her this problem. Again, the cabin service was excellent; meal was good, but the inflight entertainment system was a bit old but still acceptable. I would definitely fly them again, for its top-notch service. JAL definitely deserve a 5-star rating.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER, Boeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteNew York to Shanghai Pudong via Tokyo Narita
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes