Island Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 34 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"miscommunication or even lies"

(United States)

Verified Review | Honolulu to Lihue. I understand bags get lost. It happens. Especially when we took three flights to get to our final destination, Lihue, and involves two different airlines. We landed in Lihue at 2:57pm yesterday without our checked bags. The employee we dealt with said she would call us once she found out more details. She called around 5pm and stated the bags were still in Honolulu and would be on the last flight to Lihue, landing at 9pm last night. She then stated we should plan to be at the airport at that time to pick up our bags, normally when this happens the airport/airline happily drops them off for you at your hotel, but I told her ok and we would be there. We canceled our dinner reservation, being that we didn't have approriate clothes to wear and sat by the pool, as we didn't have our bathingsuits. Not too long after, she called back to say our bags would be delivered to our hotel that night - wonderful we said, and notified the staff at the hotel. This morning we go down to get our bags and they weren't delivered. We have early morning excursions so you can imagine our frustration. I call Island Air at the airport where they say the driver will be in at 8am and our bags would be dropped off some time today, doesn't work for us. So we drive the hour round trip to get our bags. Again, I understand bags get lost and I don't even know who is at fault for the mishap but the miscommunication or even lies about when bags are being dropped off is unexceptable and then the inconvenience of being put out to go and get them, when we would have gotten them last night is absurd.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Lihue
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline I've ever used"

(United States)

Unverified | Kona to Honolulu. Worst airline I've ever used. First time using them. Booked four flights for inter-island vacation. All four flights were cancelled without notice. Online check in did not work. Stood in ticket line for over one hour. Carryon bag weight limit 16 lbs., without notice. Gate attendant not friendly. No place to buy food or drinks and no vending machines in Kona or Kauai, one bar in Honolulu that opened after noon. One plane had seats that the cushions were worn so bad me and my wife were sitting on the seat frames metal bars. Only good thing was the flight crews were nice.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKona to Honolulu
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"cabin crew were great"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Great experience island hoping with Island Air flying from Kona to Honolulu. Great staff and free internet at airport in Honolulu. Lovely views and complimentary Guava juice on the flight to/from Kona. Would recommend the jet props as you fly lower and see more of the great scenery. The cabin crew were great too with added commentary about the islands. Also Island Air was a bit cheaper than some competitors and I believe jet props are more efficient and cleaner than pure jets so its good for the environmentally consciouss too.
AircraftATR 72
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKOA to HNL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"fly another carrier"

(United States)

Island Air from Maui to Honolulu - the website wouldn't allow me to check-in online. At Maui the self-serve computers for Island Air weren't working either, there was just a single person checking in passengers and the line was really long. I was in the line 30 mins and then called Island Air customer service but they too couldn’t check me in by phone. When finally got to the counter I was told now I'd missed my plane and they had given my seat away. They could see my history and that I had called so I was in line but insisted on charging me $25 fee for changing to the next flight - ridiculous. I’ll do anything I can to fly another carrier. Faulty web check-in, broken self-serve machines, call center incapable of helping and counter staff not considerate.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOGG to HNL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst customer service "

(New Zealand)

This airline has to be the worst to deal with customer service wise. I booked two tickets at the cost of $426NZD online. Straight away I realised the dates were entered wrong so I contacted Island Air immediately and let them know so they could cancel the flights and refund the transaction. Their policy states if you book a flight you are entitled to a full refund and cancellation within 24 hours. When I checked my credit card statements we realised that they had charged us for the flights and had not been refunded our money. I contacted them and let them know so they could refund the money. This was over four months ago. I have given them documentation, bank codes and everything they have asked or one could possibly think they would need to resolve the issue. I have still not received my refund and they have excuses every time I contact them as to why I have not been refunded. I am tearing my hair our with frustration. These guys are absolutely useless. I won't ever fly with Island air because if they can't sort out a simple thing such as a refund, what else are they overlooking or not taking care of?
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHawaii to Maui
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"wish we had read reviews before"

(Australia)

One night in Maui ended up a few hours in Maui thanks to flights not leaving. It took 3 aircraft and hours at HNL airport to leave. No communications from Island Air ground staff and bad attitudes. Worth paying the Hawaiian Airlines price to travel with them. I wish we had read reviews before booking with this company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Maui
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"it was a pleasant experience overall"

(United States)

We had a very good experience flying with Island Air. The day we took our return flight, they were celebrating their 35th anniversary. We were greeted with lei greeting before boarding the flight. On the flight, we were given some local cookies, local coffee and POG juice. The flight attendants were nice. I was not expecting good customer service as I read some bad reviews but it was a pleasant experience overall.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKahului to Honolulu
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"all staff were really friendly"

(United Kingdom)

I was a little worried after booking Island Air due to some of the reviews I have read about late/cancelled flights. Our flight was on time. I did notice that on days when the weather was very poor that flights were showing some delays, but I guess this would be in common with most airlines flying around the islands. The quick 35 minute hop was pleasurable and stress free. Island Air operates from the 'commuter' terminal at HNL. In reality it is just them and another small airline that shares the facility. No lines at check in, no lines through security. Once airside free wifi available throughout as well as free newspapers and even coffee. Onboard had great views and even some commentary en route by one of the flight attendants pointing out points of interest. Was a nice touch. Served either a bottle of water or a cuplet of juice. Bags (US$15 each to check in) appeared on reclaim belt within a minute of arriving in the baggage hall. All staff in the airport and onboard were really friendly.
AircraftATR72
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Maui
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Island Air customer review

(United States)

Delays delays. We were supposed to go from Maui to Kauai and be a 2 hr trip. It took 6 hours instead with us waiting in the airport for 4 hours. The people next to us had been waiting for 8 hours and got delayed another two as I started writing the review . Everyone has delays. Stay away from Island Air!
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

Island Air customer review

(Australia)

After so many negative comments I believe a positive is in order. Honolulu to Lanai check in a breeze courteous and friendly we paid $17 per bag but now only $15. Flight basically on time aircraft ATR quite comfortable after all flight is only 24 minutes. 2 Flight attendants very friendly juice and water offered. Bags delivered promptly. Will fly them back to HNL and will only post if flight is any less enjoyable.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort N/A
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
yes
1 to 10 of 34 Reviews