Top 100 Airlines  

Icelandair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 366 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"it was well worth it"

(United States)

Verified Review | September 11th, flew Icelandair #853 from Keflavik to Chicago O'Hare. Very funny and friendly check-in lady at the Saga desk (flew premium economy but could use the Saga check-in). Security line long and the airport overall is insane. As have been reported here many times, the terminal is too small for all the flights leaving in the banks to Europe or USA. Gates close together and passenger boarding lines criss-crossing each other - massive confusion. Once we boarded the bus to the aircraft things were calm. Friendly welcome from the FA and seated in row 6 - business class seats but premium economy service. Overall a great flight but only complaint is the food portion - it was so tiny. Bring food or you will be starving. Excellent choices for AVOD entertainment, comfy pillow and blanket and seat, along with great service. For $600 for a one-way ticket it was well worth it. Look forward to returning to Iceland as it is a fantastic country.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteKEF to ORD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"not entertain this airline again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review |Birmingham to Newark via Keflavik. This review is prompted by my poor experience with the checking in / baggage staff at Newark airport. I was able to book preferred seats for myself wife and daughter for the outward flight. No problems there. In order to secure seats for the return flight I attempted to book online. However, their website was not working. I contacted bookings by phone and after the obligatory wait was assured the seats I wanted were confirmed as mine. This all changed once I got to baggage check in. I was informed that the seats had been taken. I will spare the reader the to and fro of conversation between myself and the check in staff. What left a bad taste for me was the condescending attitude thinly disguised behind an even thinner gauze of professionalism. I will not entertain this airline again and would warn potential customers to brace themselves for a letdown of there plans due to the whims of the booking in / baggage staff. On a positive note the flight attendants were good.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBHX to EWR via KEF
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"pathetic customer service"

(United States)

Anchorage to London Heathrow via Keflavik. The first leg of the flight from Anchorage, was delayed two hours. I asked three different employees why and received three different answers. Spent over seven hours in the airport in Iceland, more delays. During a two hour period, Icelandair announced that five flights were overbooked. Our flight was never announced as boarding, we happened to see folks lining up. Food is available for purchase in economy, but looked awful. We arrive in Heathrow at 9 pm. Luggage did not appear on the baggage carousel until 10 pm. At 10:30 pm it became obvious the passengers from Anchorage would not be receiving our luggage. Filled out forms and was told our luggage would be delivered to our hotel the next morning (Saturday). We did not receive our luggage until Sunday at noon, just as we were checking out. Starting August 18, I have sent emails to Icelandair. I get an auto reply, that cannot be responded to. I have tried calling but cannot get past the language barrier. Very frustrated with the pathetic customer service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteANC to LHR via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"been a complete nightmare"

(United States)

Verified Review | Denver to Reykjavík. It was my first trip overseas and I wanted to check out Iceland before heading to Italy. There is only one flight out of Denver per day to Iceland. So, of course the flight was on time. It had been sitting on the tarmac all day. Once we boarded, the cabin was over 100 degrees. The crew made us stay on the plane for close to an hour before we were allowed to go back into the terminal. We watched while the maintenance crew try to figure out what was wrong. After 45 minutes, we boarded again. I discovered my seat would not recline on the 7 hour overnight flight and I could not be moved to another seat. Then we were told none of our checked baggage was loaded and would be delivered to our final destination the next day. Their solution? Free wi-fi for everyone! My touchscreen was faulty and I could do nothing, so I had a bright light shining in my face the whole time. I asked for it to be shut off several times, but they couldn't. Needless to say, I had no luggage during my one day stay. I was given an overnight bag that included some grooming essentials, but I had no clothes, so that was of no help other than being able to brush my teeth. I sent a complaint to their customer relations department asking for a refund as soon as I returned to the States on July 30. It's now September 16 and it hasn't even been reviewed! Do they have that many complaints that it 2 months to read an email?! I've called 5 times to get status and get pushed out a few more days or a few more weeks every time. The last call was this morning and I tried to escalate to speak to a supervisor multiple times, but that was clearly not going to happen. She told me "two more weeks." Two days ago I was told 4 weeks and last week I was told a few more days. Who is right?! I asked for a guarantee and she said that's just how it works. Whatever that means. I am appalled at this airline and would never fly with them again. I refuse to take a travel credit if offered and just want my money back. This has been a complete nightmare!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEN to KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"great value for money"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | We have flown from Amsterdam to New York and back via Reykjavik, and didn't encounter any issues. The flight was smooth and easy. I was a bit worried about connection in Reykjavik as we only had 1 hour and 50 minutes to change planes, however it was more than enough to calmly find the right gate and have a coffee and a quick bite at the airport. A pretty nice collection of movie and tv shows, which is enough to keep you busy for a transatlantic flight. The food was ok, nothing too exciting, but ok if you really can't wait until you arrive. All in all, great value for money, will definitely fly them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to JFK via KEF
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly Icelandair again"

(United States)

Seattle to Paris via Reykjavik. The Icelandair flight attendants on my flight to Europe were not very friendly and I chalked it up to a bad day. While on my vacation my wife fell and broke her wrist and had to have surgery. I called both Priceline and Icelandair to find out about making the flight more comfortable for her and was willing to pay for an upgrade to economy comfort or business class. Neither of them were able to ascertain the value of my remaining flight and could not sell me an upgrade. I was willing to leave early if there were other flights with more available seats. In the end the customer service agent at Icelandair was unwilling to give me her name, let me speak to her customer service agent and ultimately hung up on me. I will never fly Icelandair again!
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSEA to CDG via KEF
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"nowhere near business class"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Stockholm to Toronto via Keflavik in May. I have previously flown Icelandair in economy, and know them to be a low cost carrier. Thought I would try their business class, but was not expecting much. Turns out I was right. It is still a low cost carrier and you get what you pay for. The inflight experience was akin to a premium economy on other (not fancy) airlines. The seat is of OK comfort with passable but not great legroom. The food is of economy class quality although the portions are larger than in Y. Wine was of decent but not great quality. It was however offered freely. Service was pleasant and friendly in typical Scandinavian cool / detached manner, but no complaints here. The inflight entertainment system is extremely limited with very few and outdated movie choices. You do get the use of decent headphones (in Y you have to pay for this). I did not use the WiFi that is offered free of charge to business class passengers. The lounge in KEF is surprisingly pleasant. Smallish, but intimate rather than "small". Not bad choice of food (was there for breakfast both times). Only had brief time in lounge as layover was brief. Did not use washrooms while there. The airport experience in KEF is however otherwise horrendous. The airport gets very busy and you are bussed from and to the plane. Prior to getting on the bus for boarding however, everyone stands jam-packed in a "holding pen" like area, for quite a while. On both trips it took a long time before we were "released" from the penn unto the busses, and the experience standing literally squeezed shoulder to shoulder in such a crowd was unpleasant to say the least. Boarding is totally chaotic, and no priority for J passengers. KEF is clearly way overwhelmed by number of travellers. This may not be Icelandair's fault, but does mar the experience. So in summary: the business class flight was about half the price from I would have had to pay on SK or AC, and the quality reflects this. Again, you get what you pay for: in this case a better seat (but not great) than in Y, bigger food portions, headset and lounge access. It is nowhere near a business class experience of other transatlantic carriers and miles from that on Asian carriers. Value for money?: maybe, if an improved seat comfort is very important to you, otherwise not. In the future I'll tough it out in Y on that route and use the money I save on some of the many fantastic restaurants in Toronto.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteARN to YYZ via KEF
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"no-frills approach .. costs less"

(United States)

Verified Review | I found that Icelandair provides the most comfortable trip for those who cannot stand being on a plane for 7, 8, or 9 hours or longer. I fly via Keflavik and sometimes spend a night or two in Iceland to relax between flights. Economy is cheap, but you have a clean seat and a safe flight - there are no frills. Economy Comfort is located in the same area of the plane, with just the middle seat free (in a 3-3 configuration). There is a limited selection of free food and drink. Saga Class is like business class on a domestic flight : seats are larger, tasty food, attentive staff, hot towels, etc. Due to a security issue scare at Frankfurt airport, our flight was delayed by about three hours, staff handled this situation professionally. Most passengers missed their connecting flights at Keflavik, but I was among the lucky ones: the plane from Frankfurt continued on to Boston, where we arrived with about a two-hour delay. Several reviews have rightly noted that the Keflavik airport has become somewhat chaotic. Even if you are booked in Economy Comfort or in Saga Class, you will board with everyone else, in no particular order. Elderly people may find it unpleasant to be standing for extended periods at the gates, waiting for the boarding process to begin. There are perhaps a dozen seats at each gate; that's it. In conclusion, I enjoy flying on Icelandair, with a few reservations. One may be disappointed by the no-frills approach or the fact that Sage Class does not compare with a real business class, but it costs less too.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFRA to BOS via KEF
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a tough slog back in Steerage"

(United States)

Verified Review | Munich to Denver via Keflavik. Not a bad airline / flight to and from Munich. I'm 60 so this is a tough slog back in Steerage for the long leg. Next time I might upgrade just a bit to Economy Comfort, but it doubles the flight cost. My trip was $1250 RT, others using services cut that price dramatically. I'm 6'1" 210, and there is just barely enough room on the 7.5 hour leg to Denver. The movies help some. Right now, they appear to be dropping you off, and sending you off, via the tarmac, so plan on a little walk to and from. I departed and arrived, out on the tarmac. A small backpack is easier accessed than a suitcase on board. I counted 5 flights on adjacent gates while walking to my outbound gate to Denver and 4 departed at 1700 and mine was 1645 so plan on a packed house. Get your gate departure off the monitor and "cattle call" your way to it. It appears to be the airport issue, not the airlines, and might resolve if they are under construction. They appear to intentionally fly everything out at 5 pm local time I wanted to buy some socks at the airport shop, but found none displayed. They had them last December, so it must be a seasonal item. I'm curious if their points deal actually pays off as they just emailed me a buy 2 and get 1 free for points, but 2nd class requires 240,000 points approximately for a trip. Plan on buying your own booze, a Baguette, and 2 Gin Tonics was $20 bucks USD, $2400 Kroner. Someone on the flight stayed over in Iceland, and complained of high prices, but I suspect poor planning may have played into that as she was quoted $240 for a taxi to town, and I'd bet there is a bus of sorts. Crew was nice, but no moving up in seats. I believe they sell out the front row of first emergency exit tow as Economy Comfort seats, along with the rows in front of that. On the flight in from Kef-Munich people scrambled for those 6-8 seats, and nobody said anything when they instantly filled. Sorry for the blurry terminal photo, was rushing to find the gate. Only about 50 minutes between legs, so you have to hoof it. There is just enough time to man-shop the gift shop, in and outbound. Your mileage may vary!
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMUC to DEN via KEF
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"don't go there on Icelandair"

(United States)

Verified Review | Boston to Reykjavik. Awful from the outset. Originally scheduled to leave from JFK, but weather cancelled my connecting flight. Was able to salvage trip by driving to Boston and catching Icelandair flight departing from there; got the last 2 seats approx. 5 hours before the flight. Plane was a dump. Old, dirty and by far the worst Business Class cabin I've ever seen. Basically just 2x2 seating in old seats that barely reclined; and minimal legroom. Old TV screens in armrests that would not lock into place, so you constantly have to readjust their position to actually watch. But such limited availability of entertainment it didn't really matter. Except that you couldn't sleep because the seats would not recline and there was no legroom. Well, maybe just enjoy a nice meal. Not a chance. Some lame tiny piece of chicken, overcooked and tough. Some sort of Indian yogurt sauce on the side to try make it palatable, but that was awful too. On a bed of flavorless rice. And mediocre wine. And to cap it all off, Icelandair charged me an extra $1350 for changing flights, even though I couldn't make the original one due to weather and managed to get to Boston instead and take two empty seats. And then Icelandair won't respond to several requests to discuss reversing that charge. Radio silence. Do yourself a favor. Iceland is a spectacular country, but don't go there on Icelandair. And if for some reason you have no other option but Icelandair, do not pay extra for Business Class, because it isn't and you will have just as good a seat and experience in Coach.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBOS to KEF
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no