top100_2016  

Icelandair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 343 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst flying experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | We flew Icelandair from Boston to London. We purchased travel protection when purchasing the tickets. There was a terrible accident in route to the airport (London) which caused huge delays. We arrived 40 min prior to scheduled departure but they would not let us even see if we could make the flight which turned out to be delayed anyway. They had 5 unsold seats on a flight leaving 5 hours later for which they wanted to charge us $3150 USD to change and they gave us 7 minutes to decide or they would cancel the remainder of our ticket (KEF to BOS). We tried to call the travel insurance to see if they would offer more assistance but they said claims should be filed afterwards. My husband went to talk to the Icelandair agents and explain we just got an email that the flight was delayed but they said it was too late and the entire ticket was now canceled. We spent $2200 to buy tickets on another carrier to fly directly from London to BOS. I filled a claim form on-line 28 days ago and received an auto generated email saying the review could take up to 14 days but I still haven't heard anything! I sent a follow up request through their website (no email address listed) 10 days ago. Today I called and waited on hold 20 min but when they answered they said I need to call during Iceland hours as they were closed. Both legs we took to London (BOS-KEF) and (KEF-LGW) were delayed 1 and 2 hours respectively. We got a small water bottle on the first leg but were offered nothing else either time. This is easily the worst flying experience I have ever had and we travel about 4-5 times a year.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOS to LGW via KEF
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"definitely book this airline again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Keflavik to Boston. The flight crew is very professional, helpful and personable. They even made accommodations for my daughter who became very airsick. Can't be more pleased with their level of attention and service both in reservations and during flights. Economy seats provide more leg room than some airlines. Overall, excellent experience during all 6 flights. Will definitely book with this airline again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKEF to BOS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"has a serious problem with delays"

(United States)

Paris to Boston via Keflavik. I wanted to give Icelandair the benefit of the doubt. Since the seats, entertainment, and food aren't bad. But I've absolutely had it. I thought maybe it was just my luck, but this airline has a serious problem with delays. Don't fly with them if you need to be somewhere at a certain time because there's 95% chance you won't get there on time. Every flight I've had with them has been delayed. Not worth the lower airfare.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to BOS via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"took 5 flights, all delayed"

(United States)

Verified Review | Minneapolis to Reykjavik return with Icelandair. We took 5 flights in 3 weeks with Icelandair. All of them were delayed. Plane cabins were hot. Communication about the problems were after the fact. No free food or snacks. On a 6 hour flight, I would think you could give a can of pop vs just a glass. At Keflavik airport there is little seating at gate. With 3 flights leaving at once it was packed. On a bus to the plane with one flight, we waited 30 mins standing before we could board. And another flight called last call 8 times. Delaying all those on the flight as they should of been departed already.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMSP to KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service was atrocious"

(United States)

Verified Review | Paris to Chicago via Keflavik with Icelandair. We were set to depart Paris at 2.10 for our ultimate destination Chicago with a layover in Keflavik. In Paris the Icelandair aircraft was late to pick us up. Since our layover and many others was short we were all very concerned about making our connecting flights. We were reassured that they would hold our flights for us. When we arrived in Keflavik our pilot announced at 4.45 that the connecting flight to Chicago was at gate D34. We were told to run and hurry to make our flight. We ran. When we checked in our boarding passes they told us again your flight is waiting hurry and run. When we got to the securitu checkpoint they told us again the flight was waiting for us. When we got to our gate the flight had left. We have 3 children at home waiting for us. I had to find emergency childcare because the only flight we could get on is 24 hours later. My husband is missing a day of work. The customer service was atrocious there were 20 passengers left behind who are missing their children, work, orientations, school, etc. We were offered little accommodation to this horrible set back. They put us up in a 1.5 star hotel with meals. That doesn't make up for the lies told by their employees or the stress put on the travelers. It's worth your time and money to book with another airline. Never never fly with Icelandair.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to ORD via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"customer service at desks was rude"

(United States)

Boston to Munich via Reykjavik with Icelandair. The service and amenities were nice. The first flight was delayed by an hour and caused us to miss our connecting flight, which was also Icelandair. Their reschedule effectively ruined our first day of vacation by making us 7 hours late, and having to go on two extra flights. Their customer service at the desks was rude and unhelpful. Our baggage was also delayed and almost caused us to be late to our connecting flight.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOS to MUC via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"know how to satisfy customers"

(Canada)

Flew Icelandair from Toronto to Reyjavík and I must say they made my trip to Iceland even more pleasant. The flight attendants were all very nice, they handed out free water bottles to everyone and always had a smile on their face. I even got up and went to the back to ask them for tips as to what I needed to see and eat in Iceland and they happily gave me suggestions and even wrote the names of some good restaurants down for me. The one downside was that their was no complimentary food, but that was acceptable for only a 5 hour flight. The seats were relatively comfortable and the inflight intertainment system was equipped with a good selection of movies. Overall, Icelandair know how to satisfy customers and I will be flying with them again if I am given the chance to.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"late arrivals and missed connections"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Total debacle. with Icelandair from Edmonton to Helsinki via Keflavik. Was supposed to be a 10 hour flight, but turned into 18 hours because of late arrivals and missed connections. They lost our baggage, promised to deliver it to the hotel and didn't. Two days later, I had to spend 30 minutes on the phone to track it down before finally rushing to the airport to get it. The alternative was to leave to Russia and hope that they somehow got the luggage to me. I can accept the cattle-car level service that they offer on the flight if they can get me and my luggage from point A to B efficiently. But this was nothing more than late flights, missed connections, and broken promises. Worse yet, the airline's feedback system is completely byzantine and they don't seem to respond. Two weeks after writing, I haven't heard anything.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYEG to HEL via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"nice but immensely inefficient"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was our first experience with Icelandair and Iceland Airport and we intend it to be our last. We flew round trip from Boston to Glasgow with a layover at Keflavik Airport both ways. Flights into Iceland both ways were on time, but from Keflavik out, both were significantly late, 4+ hours going to Glasgow and 1+ hours going to Boston. In both cases, Icelandair or anyone at the airport for that matter didn't seem concerned, almost like it was standard procedure. Everyone was really nice but immensely inefficient. The airport itself has no idea how to handle any kind of volume, yet they seem to think they can. It's like they marketed and booked flights before they had the infrastructure and ability it handle them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGLA to BOS via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"seats the most uncomfortable I have been on"

(United States)

Newark to Copenhagen via Keflavik with Icelandair. The seats on this airplane are the most uncomfortable I have ever been on. When we arrived we had to deplane using the stairs and then board buses to get to the terminal. At the terminal we had to stand in line for what seemed like forever. There were no seats for anyone who is using a cane. We then had to board the buses again to get to the airplane where we again had to trudge up the stairs to the plane. Our flight back was delayed for over an hour (no reason given) but they held the connecting flight for us (this was the only good thing I have to say about Icelandair). Again we had to run to our gate, get the buses, and climb the stairs. I definitely will not be flying Icelandair again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEWR to DEN via KEF
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no