Top 100 Airports  

Icelandair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 355 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"service was excellent"

(United States)

Denver to Oslo via Keflavik with Icelandair. This is the second time we have flown Icelandair out of Denver to Europe with a stopover in Iceland for several days. We chose Saga class, similar to Business class. The cabin had a total of 12 seats, service was excellent and follow up after wine was accidentally spilled on my jeans was good too. The flights were on time and as seasoned travelers, we have no complaints at all. I was disappointed to see so many unhappy travelers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteDEN to OSL via KEF
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"fly these guys again next time"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew IcelandAir round trip out of Seattle on a direct flight to Keflavik return. The staff, like most of the people I met in Iceland, were extremely friendly. My return flight was delayed by 45 minutes, which isn't the end of the world, but definitely adds to the theme of delayed flights I saw on other reviews. The seat comfort was decent and the in-flight movie selection was ok (the movies were also unedited, something I haven't see a lot of on international flights). There was also a USB charger port. I will add though that your personal headphones won't work and you'll be forced into buying a pair of theirs, and yes I said buy, which leads me to my biggest gripe: nothing is free. They hand you a bottle of water when board but that's it. No free booze, no meals, etc. I asked for a whole can of Pepsi and the flight attendant made it sound like she was putting her job on the line by giving me the whole can. She seriously insisted I try to hide it. I've flown on way shorter international flights and still been served food and booze. However, I'm not sure I can fly direct to Iceland for less than what these guys are charging, as my ticket was crazy cheap. So maybe 10 bucks for a couple of beers isn't the end of the world. I'll fly these guys again next time I visit Iceland.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSEA to KEF
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the issue that developed was baggage"

(Germany)

Actually a great flight with Icelandair from Frankfurt to Reykjavik. Took off on time. Seated in their version of business class. Upon arriving at KEF, the issue that developed because of renovation going on in the building, was baggage. They had probably ten planes to land within a two-hour period and their temp deal with baggage is messed up. Spent almost an hour waiting on the baggage to appear, with a overflow crowd of people. Once I got my bags, no trouble. Six days later, leaving KEF, easily walked through the airport, and spent an hour at the business lounge for the airline. Great place and terrific food.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFRA to KEF
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"do a horrible job of delivering"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York to Oslo via Reykjavik. Don't fly this airline if you have baggage to check! First off, both flights to Norway were delayed several hours. I was notified of the second delay but not the first. Even though I had to go through customs my backpack did not get transferred between planes. Neith did the luggage for the 5-10 other people changing planes. The bag didn't arrive on the next plane which didn't arrive for another 8 hours late but took over 24 hours because the flight the next day was also over an hour late as the previous three had been. Customer service is also terrible. The customer service rep didn't know how to respond when I told her I didn't know where I was staying because they lost my bag which had my tent in it. She then suggested I continue on my trip hiking in the mountains without any gear and the airline would courier it to me even though she had no idea where my luggage was and when she'd have it. I've had to pay for a hotel, train fare, overage on the rental car and I missed one of the three hikes I had planned. They also failed to call me as promised that night by the specified time. When I tried to call back at the time they suggested I found out their office was closed for the night leaving me without any idea as to whether I'd get my backpack. It's been five weeks and I've yet to hear back from the airline regarding my claim. During the rest of my trip, I met a French couple that told me the airline was notorious for losing baggage, that it happened to their sister and when they found it, they compounded the problem by couriering it to the wrong place. I also stayed at a hostel in Iceland where a couple was waiting on their backpacks so they could do their hikes. For an airline that promotes stopovers with a picture of a tent on a mountain in their website, they do a horrible job of delivering. There are plenty of other airlines that do a much better job at a comparable price.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to OSL via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I do not recommend this company"

(France)

Verified Review | Paris to Reykjavik. Worst Flight ever : Delay of allmost 2 hours due to some issues with the luggages drop in in Orly Airport Paris, no communication about it until we get in the plane where the pilot apologize. Arrival at Reykjavik : no luggage - we were a group of 20 people who waited for more than 2 hours in the luggage room with no informations about our bags. Iceland is the kind of destination that you prepare months in advance, I had plan to do the Laugavegur Trek the day after we arrive and then take a rental car 4 days later to drive around the Island. Well when your tent, sleeping bag and all your clothes arrive 48 hours after you, the whole trip you were planning for a year is pretty dead. During that whole period of 48 hours, I have paid 2 nights in Reykjavik and Keflavik hostel, Last minute reservation in Iceland are really expensive, no help from Icelandair, just received 100$ per person , which does not cover at all the additionnal expenses. Iceland is a wonderful Island, but it is also an expensive destination which deserve appropriate and reliable transportation service. I've been working hard to put money aside to prepare with care this journey and Icelandair turned it into a big deception. I do not recommend this company, customer service is really poor - I had to call them about 20 times, even when they finally received the luggage they still were not able to deliver it in time 4 hours later, at this point I did not even care i just wanted to have my bagpack).
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORY to KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"seat was comfortable"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew from New York-JFK to Helsinki Vantaa via Keflavik. The comfort of Iceland's carrier began right at the check in counter. The staff assured me that my bags would make the connection, and offered a voucher if they didn't. The flight departed on time. Everyone was given a pillow, blanket, and a bottle of Icelandic water. Cabin crew spoke very good English. IFE was perfect. The seat was comfortable, I almost felt like I was in first class. I'll certainly be flying Icelandair next time I fly to Europe, since direct flights are insanely expensive.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to HEL via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"pandemonium at Keflavik Airport"

(Norway)

Flight from Oslo to Seattle via Reykjavik with Icelandair. Layover in Reykjavik for 90 min. Total pandemonium at Keflavik Airport, where between 4 pm and 5:30 pm there were 20+ flights set up for departure, and thousands of passengers sitting on floors everywhere, as the gates can accommodate no more than about 50 people each, if that. The gate agents announce flights without an intercom, so that only the nearest 10 people to them can actually hear the announcements. The airport is expanding, but who designed this mess? With most international flights having 200+ passengers, why are the gates configured to handle less than 50 people? Also, the Business Class lounge is before you go through the passport check, not near the gates. Incredibly bad planning.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteOSL to SEA via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"lack of communication about delays"

(United States)

Verified Review | Chicago to Paris via Keflavik. We flew on Icelandair to take advantage of the free stopover program for our honeymoon to go to France for a week with a 3-day stopover in Reykjavik at the end. On the way out, our flight was delayed 2.5 hours. The crew was not forthcoming with information as the delays mounted. Once we boarded they insisted that we would "make up time" and be fine. They refused to give anymore information. We missed our flight, as we were 30 minutes late for our 745am departure. It seemed like dozens of people were on our connection and missed the flight. The customs officer remarked to us at passport check that this seems to happen quite frequently with Icelandair. Any information that you see about short connections being a problem or that they will hold a departure for a late arrival with numerous connecting passengers does not square with our experience. They rebooked all of us on a 1am flight and gave us hotel. We were sent to the wrong hotel and then sent to a hotel that didn't have availability. This was how we started our honeymoon. On our return trip, we were diverted from Chicago to Minneapolis inflight after circling around ORD for a while without getting much information from the crew. Upon landing in Minneapolis, we sat on the runway for 2 hours before regulations forced them to deplane the passengers. Our plane had to be towed into the gate and they were not forthcoming about the subsequent equipment failure other than that they couldn't get the engine to start. They were not able to get the plane to fly afterwards and did not provide any information about an alternate flight. They did not have hotels available so once we deplaned, everyone was stranded without information midnight. After a couple hours, once most people had left to figure out accommodation on their own, they finally arranged for hotels. My wife and I rebooked onto a Southwest Airlines flight as we still had not received information on any type of return flight. I strongly recommend against booking with Icelandair due to the lack of communication about delays and the failure to provide support to passengers and the variety of other issues associated with twice being stranded.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to CDG via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"10 hour flight turned into 24 hours"

(France)

Verified Review | I flew from Paris to Edmonton via Reykjavik alone with a 2 year old and a 5 year old. As it was the shortest traveling time available, I took the risk even with reading bad reviews of Icelandair. I just needed something that was fast so it didn't tire me too much with my 2 kids, my 10 hour flight turned into a 24 hour flight. Flight delayed causing me to miss my connection flight. Long queue to rebook connection flight and ending up booking my 5 year old in a separate aisle (who in the right mind does that?) - getting stranded in Reykjavik for 1 night. Airline booked us in a bad hotel where I had to share 1 bed with my 2 kids - with horrible food as you had hotel food vouchers only (Centerhotel). Back the next day only to get another delayed flight. I have 2 kids - they gave us 1 infant meal so I asked for another one and they said they have no extras and couldn't come up with a solution on what to give my 2 year old, even if I had said she eats everything - it was just no. Wifi not working. I had about 3 people around me from different Icelandair flight complaining about their hell experience with the airline as well. In edmonton when i arrive the next day no luggage. I asked the staff why the flights were delayed and why my baggage got left behind, their answer "we dont know and we are sorry for the inconvenience". I ask the service counter to rebook my return flight as I had lost a day due to the delay - after 15 minutes of waiting and counter staff talking to the sales desk on the phone - the answer I get is "please visit the website and call the number there as we cannot do anything for you now". Its a shame there are no negative ratings to choose from, as Icelandair don't even deserve level 1.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to YEG via KEF
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"sheer annoyance at the delays"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I am writing to express my sheer annoyance at the delays we experienced on our flights both departing and returning when we left both Gatwick and returned from JFK. When leaving Gatwick on Friday 22nd July there was a delay in the plane arriving and all passengers were left waiting for the plane to arrive with little information other than its late in arriving. This then put untold stress on me as a passenger as we had a connecting flight to make, however I was supposed to find assurance in the "airport at Reykjavik is small so you won't be late" which I can assure you for the entire flight I found no comfort in whatsoever. To then arrive at JFK on 27th July at the checking in time, only to be told once again the plane was delayed, this time due to computer issues was beyond amusing. The plane was over 3hrs late in boarding and we then sat on the runway for a good 45 minutes waiting to take off. We were at the end of our holiday, we had limited funds for the time in the airport as we had to stop over and fly through the night and not even a food voucher was offered by the airline who had for the second time in less than a week made us delayed on our journey. Not only were we late in starting our holiday but we did not return home until a good four hours after we should have in a completely different airport to what had been written on our flight ticket details. We had London Gatwick printed on our tickets and when checking in we were told we were going to London Heathrow. The wifi on the airplane did not work for the entire flight and we had to wait until we got to Reykjavik​ to use the airport wifi to contact my father who had been told to meet us at Gatwick at the correct time prior to the extensive delays. The stress and worry the airline put me and my family through on two journeys will never be forgotten.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to EWR via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no