Icelandair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 656 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (South Africa) 5th August 2015

Surprisingly good experience and good value for money. The check in was efficient, seating comfortable and spacious. Crew were friendly and efficient, food for sale on board was of good quality and the inflight entertainment good for such a short flight.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon Heathrow to Reykjavik
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United States) 27th July 2015

We waited two hours, past our departure time before they loaded the plane. An hour later, they unloaded us. We waited for 45 minutes before we got another plane, and then it was not running either. We arrived four plus hours after our scheduled time. All connecting flights were already gone, so they said good luck. We had to spend the night in Seattle, with no help, or reservations. Everyone passed it off to someone else to help us. We were given a piece of paper that said we had a flight the next day at 9.40 am. When we showed up at the airport, the connecting airline was confused by our piece of paper. We had to go to a special line and untangle the mess.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteIceland to Seattle
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United States) 19th July 2015

Icelandair employees are borderline rude and completely lacking in the concept of customer service. From start to finish, the experience was stressful and left me angry. To begin with, I tried to check in online using the email sent to me, but the boarding passes would not download, no matter how many times I tried. When we got to the airport we discovered an extremely long line of people wanting to check in, I asked an employee if having checked in online we could avoid the line. She said no. So what is the point of online check-in? When we finally got to check in, the agent was silent, even though she could have, and should have, warned us that the line through security was impossibly long such that there was no way we were going to get to the gate on time. People were pushing and yelling and breaking the line, trying to make their flights. No airport or airline personnel was in sight to offer assistance. Finally, after more than an hour, a person in a uniform - unidentified - pushed a man in front of us and said that he needed to make his flight that would be leaving in a few minutes. At that point, we were already beyond the boarding time for our flight. The person turned to us and said "they are holding the flights." No other information was forthcoming. When we finally got to where we could see the security people, it was immediately obvious why it was taking so long. Only one screening station was open! Unbelieveable. We had to run at full speed to the gate, and were the last people they let board. Who knows if there were people who were less fortunate. we had no time at the airport to change our money or apply for the tax refund. So this all cost me more than it should have. We loved Iceland, but thanks to Icelandair I will never go back."
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteReykjavik to Stockholm
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th July 2015

Planes were comfortable, plenty of inflight entertainment, flights on time and arrived a little earlier than scheduled. Prices were incredibly good, however they do fluctuate day to day so make sure you check dates around when you'd like to fly - they may be a lot cheaper on other days. The only drawbacks was getting through check ins on the flight back. We ended up being separated on the plane which, with me being a nervous flyer, didn't bode well. Also the queues for check in at Keflavik were rather long even though we were effectively just dropping our bags off. On the whole though, excellent! It would be nice if airlines didn't capitalise on the fact that if you are hungry or thirsty you have to pay over the odds for food and drink, although this is the same for many airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteManchester to Keflavik
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United States) 13th July 2015

My expectations were low for Saga Class because the price was half of what I would have paid for Business Class on most transatlantic carriers. That being said, I was pleasantly surprised. The good: Air France Lounge access in BOS was excellent. Check in was great. Saga Lounge in Reykjavik was excellent. Nice AF lounge in Frankfurt. I did a two day layover in Iceland which I enjoyed. The food was good to excellent. I preordered each meal. The lamb was the best choice. I found the crew to be very pleasant and accommodating onboard. The 'less than good': Remote stands in Reykjavik. Not a problem arriving, but leaving was very uncomfortable. They loaded and loaded and loaded folks onto that bus. We waited and kept waiting with the door open and a cold gale coming through. Seriously? They couldn't get another bus? Finally, the flight from KEF to FRA was full in Saga Class with Icelandair execs and their spouses. They were some of the most obnoxious, demanding, and rude passengers I have ever encountered. They got their luggage hand delivered in FRA before any other passengers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteBOS to FRA via KEF
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United States) 6th July 2015

I just had 4 flights on Icelandair in the past 2 weeks and they were all excellent. The in-flight entertainment systems were working on all 4 flights, they were all basically on time except for one that was about 45 minutes late taking off. All of the planes seemed in good shape to me and were clean. The seats in economy were much roomier than other airlines I've been on. Plenty of leg room. I have had issues with the seat belts being tight on other airlines and this is the first time I have had plenty of extra slack with the seat belt. I also found the seats to be a little wider than what I have experienced in the past. I did purchase a couple of snack items from their menu and they were very good. They offer a wide selection of items to eat for many different tastes. The attendants were all excellent, going out of their way to help and bring pillows, blankets, headphones, etc. I noticed one lady was offered an iPad to watch when her screen wasn't working and another passenger was moved to an empty seat to be more comfortable. I myself was offered a seat up in SAGA class when I mentioned I wasn't feeling well. I did not take them up on it but I appreciated the offer being made. I think this is a really good airline and they do not seem budget in any way even though their low prices tell a different story. I would highly recommend them to anyone.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteWashington DC to Milan via Keflavik
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United States) 4th July 2015

I have flown Icelandair about 5 times across the Atlantic since 2012. First the positive: at the time it was the only airline which allowed rescheduling of flights for no fee or a very low fee. The lounge in Reykjavik is quite good and the Reykjavik Airport is very nice. There are plenty of negatives with this airline. First of all the planes are quite old and it shows. Staff can be unfriendly if not outright rude. I had numerous delays and one time I got stuck at Reykjavik airport for an entire day. The first alternate plane had an engine failure and the second must have been one of the oldest Boeing 757s in service. I would not recommend them. There are better alternatives now to fly across the Atlantic.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJFK to LHR via Reykjavík
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United States) 1st July 2015

We were looking forward to our first Icelandair trip with a 2 day stopover in Reykjavik. Flight over to Oslo via Reykjavik was uneventful, lack of food choices disappointing, and personal entertainment did not work! Different story on the flight home - we waited over .5 hours to check in, only 2 counters open plus 1 at Saga desk who just sat there most of the time! At boarding time we could not hear, I asked what rows were called and gate attendant snapped at me, and others. Flight leaving Reykjavik 90 minutes late - this happens so no big deal. Seemed to be great confusion, between boarding staff and flight crew - scanned in, but then waited in hallway over over 30 minutes to board. Personal entertainment did not work on either flights (so 3 out 4) even with resetting. Plane was dirty, Flight attendants friendly and offered to change my seat. I would have, but traveling with my wife. Will think twice before flying them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteStockholm to Boston via Reykjavik
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 21st June 2015

LGW-KEF-PDX, PDX-KEF, KEF-LHR. I flew to Portland to visit friends with a 4 day stopover on the way back in Iceland which is included at no extra cost. I think I agree with the review by M Brown on the 20th March, people are being are rather unfair particularly with regards to the catering situation on Icelandair - they are very clear on what the product being offered here is and there is opportunity once booked to add food from the regular menu at a discount before flying and this is served to you before the main food service begins. I only pre-ordered food outbound on the long-haul KEF-PDX sector and found what was served to be delicious and good value. All non-alcoholic drinks are complimentary and can be requested at any time during the flight. All sectors were on B757, which whilst relatively old were immaculately maintained. Outbound from Gatwick the plane was a bit older and had no IFE, but this was ok for the short flight to Reykjavík and I was notified 24hrs prior to departure of this via text. On the long-haul sector from Keflavík to Portland the aircraft was more the Icelandair standard product and we were presented with bottle of Icelandic water which was a nice touch. There was IFE on this sector but it was very old, with poor quality picture and didn't have a fantastic selection - but I had brought my own entertainment with me anyway. The staff however on this flight were fantastic and really worked hard to be friendly and attentive to passengers needs so much so I will be writing to Icelandair to tell them so! Flying back to Reykjavík was pleasant with blankets and cushions provided for this overnight sector and IFE was newer and the the best of all the sectors with a clear picture. My return to London a few days later was also fine with everything on schedule and generally pleasant. One thing that didn't work on any sector was mobile boarding passes - this didn't work on a single sector for me, but I easily received a paper version in most cases. Apart from little niggles which made the experience less than perfect overall I was satisfied with my experience, it was fantastic value for money with the added plus of the stopover and would be very happy to use them again.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLGW/LHR to PDX via KEF
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (Estonia) 21st June 2015

Connected with Icelandair from and to Estonian Air via Oslo outbound on June 8, 2015 and via Copenhagen homebound on June 14,Tallinn. On both flights electronic check-in and boarding were smooth, aircraft clean, seat pitch and legroom sufficient, departures and arrivals on time. FA attentive and nice on both flights. Inflight magazine was informative and pleasant. Negative aspects - the selection of meals and snacks in Economy for sale is poor and lack any imagination. The same goes for the in-flight entertainment.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteOslo to Keflavik
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes