Vote Now  

Icelandair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 384 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Not impressed at all"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I traveled from Toronto to Munich via Keflavik in Economy Class by Icelandair. Not impressed at all and will not recommend to others. Paid for ticket 800CAD and was surprised to learn that they don't offer complimentary food. My friends flew by Air Canada (same route Toronto-Munich) and were offered food twice- dinner and breakfast, and also complimentary wine. Even if I wanted to buy their food on board the selection was very very limited. Poor entertainment on board- total 20 movies, 6 of them were for kids, 14 for adults for all genres, headphones - only for purchase. Finally, my luggage was delayed by 2 days. No Icelandair representative at Munich airport as they don't want to pay for the desk at the airport, very poor service. Felt that they heavily rely on tourists to support economy but fail to provide adequate service to match the cost.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Munich via Reykjavik
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"this is not business class"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Paris via Keflavik. I was warned that you get what you pay for and the benefit is the stopover so I wasn't expecting the level of service you would see with other airline. The staff were efficient albeit not overly friendly. The aircraft was clean and the service was good. There are 20 movies at most and all but 1 were ancient ones. The food choice was limited but good. The issue is that this is really premium economy and not business class. The seats are cramped and on top of one another. There is virtually no recline and it felt like sitting on a brick. The person in front of you is in your lap. It was as uncomfortable as the seats on a regional jet. The free stopover is the only reason to take this flight. If you want true business class it is not found on Icelandair.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew York JFK to Paris via Keflavik
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I was quite impressed"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I flew to London Heathrow from Edmonton return via Keflavik in Economy Class. I was quite impressed with Icelandair and will fly with them again. Flying time from Edmonton to Keflavik is just over 6 hours and Keflavik to London is just under 3 hours. I was well aware that there was not going to be food served so I was proactive and brought a lunch with me. On the way home you can always buy a few wraps or a sandwich at the airport. In my case i did pre purchase the ham and cheese baguette from the Saga Kitchen which was tasty but over priced. FAs' very friendly. Aircraft were clean, and modern. Boeing 767 from LHR to KEF was excellent. Newly refurbished plane with big modern IFE. My only complaint is that of the gate staff at KEF. Very poor communication and they appeared to not really know what was going on. In my case my flight going into LHR from KEF was delayed and there was very little communication from the gate staff as she did not appear to know what was going on nor did she give the impression that she cared.
AircraftBoeing 767 / 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to London
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"the attitude is very bad"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I traveled from London to Keflavik return in February with Icelandair. The cabin crew was not friendly or helpful - actually rude, very cold and indifferent. The cabin crew look smart in their uniforms but the attitude is very bad.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Keflavik
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Would not fly them again"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Keflavik return. The plane appeared to be new with very uncomfortable leather seats. It was like sitting on a rock for 5 hours. The flight was entirely in the dark. Only once were we served a beverage, no coffee before landing in spite of having flown all night. The cabin crew were all well turned out with make-up, hair and nails looking professionaly done and smart uniforms which they seem not to want to get dirty. But not friendly or helpful. We couldn't hear the PA messages, what few there were. Very cold and indifferent. The whole thing repeated itself on return trip. Most cabin crews go the distance to be helpful and especially friendly. There was also no thank you for flying with us as we left the plane. I also have been screened for and received my KTN. Icelandair is too cold and indifferent to participate in the program. Would not fly them again and don't recommend them.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Keflavik
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"does exactly what it says on the tin"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I travelled with Icelandair from 30/01/2017 - 12/02/2017 from Manchester to Toronto via Keflavik with a 3 night stopover in Iceland on route. Overall I cannot fault Icelandair as the product they have is good value for money and does exactly what it says on the tin. The flight cost me £270.00 return for economy and did everything that I expected. It was on time, efficient and comfortable with friendly staff all around. I did have my booking amended after I booked due to a flight withdrawal but it was quick and easy when I called them to change, the agent just asked when I would like to travel back and changed my booking there and then without hassle. Onboard, their aircraft are in good shape and they offer 1 3 class config with saga (buisness) class at the front then economy comfort and economy behind. I was sat in seats 10A (MAN-KEF), 16F (KEF-YYZ), 10A (YYZ-KEF) and 16F(KEF-MAN). Seats 10A are convertible seats that can be both economy or economy comfort and I was lucky to have the middle seat free each time I was sat there so could slide the armrest across to give me a bit more space(there is a catch below the armrest that adjusts its position. There is slightly more legroom than normal economy seats. Seats 16F are over wing emergency exit seats so had loads of legroom, however the only downside is the armrest is immoveable as the tray table is stored in it so you cannot make the seat wider, however on both occasions I was sitting there there was nobody next to me. Icelandair have a fantastic product for the price I paid as you get free non alcoholic drinks in economy and a good selection of movies and TV programmes on the IFE, and even better, I had 2x23kg baggage allowance for travelling to/from north America. If you do want something to eat you have the option to pre order and pay before travel or buy onboard, just be aware they operate a cashless system onboard so only accept card payments. Overall Icelandair are highly recommended and I will travel with them again.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Toronto via Keflavik
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"probably fly with them again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Birmingham to Keflavik return with Icelandair. Whilst the staff on board weren’t unpleasant they certainly didn’t go out of their way to make it a particularly memorable flight. They did what was required of them and dealt with any necessary questions but that was it. The announcements weren’t that clear (although that could have been hampered by the noise of the passengers) and I was surprised no safety demonstrations were given, just spoken instructions and told to read the “in case of emergency” card in the pocket in front of you. On the return flight, F1494 Keflavik to Birmingham on Friday 28/10/2016, there was a male member of the cabin crew and he seemed far more willing to assist passengers than the female cabin crew did. One late arriving passenger wanted to be seated with her companion so they asked if there were any empty seats that they could move to? As there was only one vacant seat the male member of staff asked if a few people would be willing to swap seats so the late arrival could sit with their companion and after a brief game of musical chairs the problem was happily sorted out, whilst the female cabin crew just watched and gave an appearance of being unapproachable. As for the seats, they are narrow and not especially comfortable and if you’re in an aisle seat you get the added problem of the cabin crew knocking in to you as they go up and down the plane as the aisle isn’t that wide either. I wouldn’t say Icelandair was the best company I’ve flown with but they weren’t the worst and I’d probably fly with them again but maybe not on a long haul flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Keflavik
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"for a short distance it is fine"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | London to Reykjavik. I bought tickets for myself and partner as it was cheap. As it was only a three hour flight, and I have no issues with the airline. I wouldn't want to fly more than five hours with them, however for a short distance it is fine. If you are that way inclined, you can buy food. But inflight entertainment and water, juice, tea and coffee are provided for free.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Reykjavik
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a pleasant and welcoming atmosphere"

(United States)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Toronto via Keflavik, on January 13th in Saga Class. This was an enjoyable flight overall. We left Frankfurt about 45 minutes late, due to poor weather that morning. The connection times at Keflavik are very short, so I was concerned my bags might not make it. When they showed up on the carousel in Toronto, I was pleasantly surprised. Icelandair seems to run an efficient operation at Keflavik. As many travelers have already pointed out on this website, Icelandair's Saga Class corresponds roughly to what one would expect in a domestic (US) first-class cabin. The seats are large and quite comfortable, but do not recline more than just a bit. There is one tiny bathroom for the entire Saga Class cabin. On the upside, the food can be quite good, especially on flights departing Iceland. Thus, between Keflavik and Toronto I was served a very nice fish stew. The flight attendants were very friendly, making for a pleasant and welcoming atmosphere. The entertainment system offered a good selection of music (including lots of Icelandic records, quite interesting for those who want to educate themselves a bit) on the movie side, I noticed a lot of older titles. In sum, Icelandair's Saga Class seems like a good choice for those who like a break in their transatlantic travel and want a reasonable degree of comfort for a competitive price.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFRA to YYZ via KEF
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"definitely not be using them again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My husband and I flew from Glasgow to Toronto via Reykjavik. We bought the tickets through Skyscanner with standard meals clearly stated as included in the ticket, however the cabin staff told us that we need to pay for food. After long conversation with the supervisor we managed to get some food (2 salads even though we asked for something else and the stewards made sure in a very rude manners that we won't get another meal on the next flight). I found the comment unbelievable rude, during our conversation I have been asked what is a standard meal because they do not know what is that. I never flew with an airline where you need to pay for the headphones. One of the passengers had to remind the crew for the immigration papers before landing as they were to busy chatting. We will definitely not be using them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGLA to YYZ via KEF
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no