Icelandair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 436 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"company is so broken"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Keflavik. When you shop an airfare you have choices. I would advise you to select another airline besides Icelandair. If your flight goes according to plan, you'll probably enjoy the experience. However, if anything goes wrong (and with air travel something often does), they don't stray from the script well. Their customer service is driven through their national office which is unresponsive. The only way we ever got them to respond was after going public on social media - then they respond right away. Try to the proper channels and it's radio silence. This is a company that is so broken, I would advise you to fly someone else.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Keflavik
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"definitely travel with them again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew from Manchester to Keflavík. Check-in went smoothly with very helpful staff. The seat was surprisingly comfortable with plenty of legroom (I am 175cm tall). The Boeing 757 I was on was clearly old, but the cabin was very clean and modern. There is IFE on the flight (which is a surprise considering it is a 2 hour flight) although the selection of movies and TV shows are limited (but enough to get through the short flight). We were travelling on Icelandair’s 81st anniversary and they gave us all Icelandic sweet bread for free, which I felt is a really nice of them. Overall, I felt that the experience with Icelandair has exceeded my expectations of the company and I would definitely travel with them again.
AircraftBoeing 757-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Keflavík
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"everything was really good"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Keflavik to Gatwick. It was my first time flying with Icelandair, and everything was really good. I was a little upset for the high prices but it was worth of it. The plane was a B757, (strange for a 3h flight), so the seats was really confortable (I’m 193 cm tall), the crew was ready to help and with a smile. The flight was on time and the luggage arrives in LGW with no problem, the boarding was fast in KEF. The only “bad” thing (but actually it’s starting to get normal), is that we got not direct connection with Finger at the terminal in KEF, we boarded on the plane with the bus. (Really strange considering that KEF is the only hub of Icelandair). Overall Recommended!
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKeflavik to Gatwick
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Did not get my luggage"

(Iceland)

Trip Verified | Really unsatisfied! Did not get my luggage, poor service. Flight delayed for 5 hours. Took several days to get the luggage, and when it reached us my skis were not with. The skis are now lost somewhere and nobody knows where. No refund can cover that I was not able to use my skis during my trip. The service desk which is supposed to be 24/7 apparently is not manned, or not good enough. We waited for 1 hour as next in line (no calls ahead of us). Do not recommend.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Denver via Reykavik
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"the seats were not very comfortable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flew Chicago to Paris via Reykjavik. As a college student wanting to travel to Europe, I wanted to do it cheap, but not totally bottom shelf. I would say Icelandair is that. My flight was delayed several times, the seats were not very comfortable (very stiff with an unforgiving headrest), the staff were kind of rude (I was shoved once as an attendant was passing me in the aisle and had my arm twisted once because my elbow was in the aisle as they were trying to pass). A blanket and pillow were provided for free but no food (I didn’t even look at the options or purchase since I stocked up at the airport). A major perk was the free, good movies! The flight will get you there eventually, but there are no frills. As a college student, it was just what I was looking for, but I wouldn’t recommend this airline to anyone looking for a relaxing, seamless experience.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Paris via Reykjavik
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Complete joke of a company!"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew Icelandair from Birmingham to Reykjavik. Complete joke of a company! Our flight home was cancelled so we had to get the Manchester flight which was fine. This flight was then delayed by around an hour. When we eventually landed it took an hour for luggage to be put on to the carousel! After all this we then had to travel to Birmingham costing me and my boyfriend an extra £100! I have put in around 20 claim forms and none of them have gotten back to me. Currently speaking to someone on twitter who makes me do various tasks to get it to send and it never does! If they were genuinely concerned and wanted my needs met they would call me.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Reykjavik
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I would try to avoid them"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Keflavik. Just had my worst experience ever with Icelandair, I would try everything I can to avoid them in the future. Our departure flight was cancelled and delayed by one day, so 3pm departure 7 hour flight became a 6am departure 15+ hour flight plus transfer time. When we arrived, they lost our luggage! All of them! And we are not alone, a couple of other passengers lost their luggage, too! They gave us a number to call to check the lost luggage status, I called multiple times and no one ever answered the phone! Our returning flight had an emergency landing due to airplane's mechanical/electrical problem, and the landing was at 6pm. It took 4.5 hours for them to send us to an off-airport overflow hotel. And when we were waiting for hotel arrangement in the airport, we were told that they would book re-routing flight for us, or we can book the flight ourselves and call their number to let them know, so they will cancel their re-route reservation and reimburse us. We called their number. It took 2 hours before someone answered our phone, and halfway through the conversation, the phone got dropped, then it took another hour before we were able to talk to someone again. And we were told that they will not reimburse us had we bought our own re-route flight! We were very close to buying our own at that time, because it was Dec 26, and many people were flying back from vacation so it was really hard to find any tickets at all! Eventually their airplane was fixed and we were able to return the next day. And when we arrived at our final destination airport, we found that our luggage was lost again! And we are not alone this time either. Again, they gave us a number to call. After two hour waiting time, they told us to call another number, which no one answers!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Keflavik
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Awful experience!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Awful experience! I booked round direct flights from Seattle to Reykjavik and back. They were supposed to be 6-7 hours flight each way. Everything went wrong from the beginning of the trip. The departure and return flight were delayed over 1 day and we luggage got lost twice at both arrival at Reykjavik and return to Seattle. And it took forever to get to speak to a customer rep when trying to confirm the rerouting itinerary. First time took me 2 hours (31 calls ahead of mine) to get through. Second time took me 1 hours (20 calls ahead of mine). Details on our ordeal as follows: 12/19, departure from Seattle to Reykjavik: flight cancelled due to Icelandair employee strike, we got rerouted to 16 hour itinerary. We lost over 1 day's vacation time and had to rebook all the tours in the following days. 12/21, arrival at Reykjavik airport: our luggage got lost, we had to spend the remaining day buying clothes for the tours into the cold and windy Iceland highland. At this point, we lost 2 days vacation time in total. 12/26, return from Reykjavik: plane landed in emergency in Edmonton due to electric system issue. Again no clear communication and you have to call the 1-800 number waiting for hours to figure out by yourself. We were arranged into an hotel outside the airport. Then it took me 3 hours to figure out the next day's return flight. The first rep even hang up on me! 12/27, arrival at Seattle airport: our car seat got lost again! I was totally speechless at this point. what's the odd! For my life I've taken so many flights with various airlines, never gotten luggage lost and experienced so frequent flight delays. Now I am waiting in the queue again (16 calls ahead of me) trying to get the car seat back.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Reykjavik
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"a fairly average airline"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Reykjavik to Heathrow. Very efficient and pleasant ground staff and cabin crew. The actual plane used on the Reykjavik to Heathrow route was fine - it looked in good condition and the seats etc comfortable. Main problem was the 0755 flight departure from Reykjavik was delayed one hour, then another hour, then another hour, and when we boarded it was delayed for another 20 minutes. That was sufficient to make me miss my on-connection from Heathrow. Not happy about that! During the Icelandair flight you can buy fairly ordinary food and drinks at exorbitant prices. Recommend you take your own food and drinks, sufficient for the flight. They have a reasonable range of onboard movies, but you have to pay another exorbitant fee for a headset if you want to actually listen to the soundtrack. Not good. Overall, a fairly average airline which is more typical of in-country budget small regional airlines than a supposedly international carrier service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteReykjavik to Heathrow
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"I'm stuck at the airport"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Munich to Seattle via Keflavik. I was disappointed to learn that Icelandair no longer allows two bags to be checked in for travel from Europe to the US. I guess they are just conforming to industry norms. I was assigned middle seats the whole way, even though I booked early and checked in about 23 hours before the flight. How does that happen? Not that it matters. Today, my flight was canceled due to a strike. This might have been unavoidable, and I'm not really angry. What I am angry about is that I was not informed about the cancellation until arriving at the airport two hours before takeoff. What good are a travel alerts web site and email alerts if you can't be informed in a timely way about cancelation and rebooking? Now I'm stuck at the airport for over 5 hours until the new flight takes off. Of course, I have to wait in line for ages to deal with the rebooking. I used to be a fan of Icelandair. Now I have grave doubts.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Seattle via Keflavik
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no