Icelandair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 426 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"worst business class seating"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew Icelandair from Toronto to Paris. Their business class is Saga class. The worst business class seating I have encountered. Pitch and recline are inadequate and the seats are very uncomfortable beyond one or two hours of flying. They can cut the blood circulation to your legs. Trying to find a comfortable position for sleeping during a night flight is impossible and caused me to experience leg cramps. Never again. There is no priority security clearance at Toronto Pearson airport, or at Keflavik airport. Food was OK and staff pleasant, but the airline is unsuitable for anything but short-haul day flights until they improve business class comfort and provide priority service for passengers paying the premium prices. On the return, at Keflavik we endured standing 45 minutes in a bus to go from the gate to the plane because they loaded the passengers onto the bus long before the plane was ready to receive us. This is just unacceptably poor passenger management.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Paris
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I feel they went above and beyond"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We flew Washington Dulles to Gatwick return via Keflavik. The seats were comfortable, not too confining, and they had a good selection of food (to buy) and entertainment (free) to choose from. On the return flight, we discovered after checking in that they’d grounded all flights into KEF due to high winds. Instead of setting us adrift, Icelandair booked is into a hotel room for the day with a meal, and got us on a flight at 11.45 pm. Once we arrived in KEF, they got us a hotel room 1.5 hours away, took us there by bus, fed us an amazing breakfast while they prepared our rooms, and then got us on a shuttle back to the airport the next day, for a flight that was 24 hours later than originally booked. I feel they went above and beyond, and will definitely book them for all international flights in the future.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington Dulles to Gatwick via Keflavik
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"The crew service was not bad"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew from Washington DC to Amsterdam via Keflavik. This was the first time I have flown with Icelandair. The economy seats were wider compared to the other airlines I have flown before. The crew service was not bad. The flights were on time. The overall experience was good and is worth the fare. Only suggestion I have for them is to provide complementry food, especially on flights over 5 hours.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington DC to Amsterdam via Keflavik
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"old and mostly outdated"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Icelandair from Stockholm to Reykjavik. Aside from the cost, would give a negative review if possible. Many, many open seats and when asked if I could move out of a packed row into an empty row, the steward looked around, looked down her nose at me, and said, "yeah, no". International flight and the only complimentary options are tea, coffee, soda and water. Entertainment options old and mostly outdated. You get what you pay for, especially the cheap service and attitude from the staff. Save yourself the frustration and fly anybody else.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Reykjavik
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"very relaxed crew"

(France)

Verified Review | Paris CDG to Newark via Keflavik. I appreciated the very relaxed crew and the comfortable seat - I had the chance to get the first row at no extra cost. But for the price paid one could have expected a little more than just a glass of water and a cup of tea on an intercontinental flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis CDG to Newark via Keflavik
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Great service and food"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Toronto to Copenhagen via Keflavik. Great service and food. Friendly staff and a bottle of water to every passenger upon embarking the plane. That sort if service is virtually unheard of in our times. I have flown with many airlines and Icelandair is one of the best companies I've flown with.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Copenhagen via Keflavik
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"an unpleasant experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | Washington to Munich via Keflavik. In the past we have used Icelandair to fly to Luxembourg and Germany. We enjoyed our experiences and recommended the carrier to family and friends. We recently returned to Germany for a visit after 20 years. We decided to use Icelandair because of the price. We traveled to Munich on October 6 and returned to Dulles on October 13. Both flights were an unpleasant experience. Both flights were late causing us to rush through customs and the terminal in Iceland to make our connecting flights. The process was stressful. There was no help from the personnel. There was no one available to guide the passengers to the fastest way to reach connecting flights or how to get through the terminal. The terminal lacked signs to direct the passengers. The terminal is too small to accommodate the size and number of flights. It is as if the carrier has sacrificed quality for quantity. When we asked for help the personnel within the terminal were short and not helpful. Stress was high for everyone involved. Older passengers were struggling to figure out which way to go to make connecting flights. Amazingly, the passengers were not rude or impatient. The flight crew were also pleasant. We have always wanted to visit Iceland and have considered it when we saw that Icelandair provides the option of staying over. This will not be an option for us if both the terminal and carrier do not improve the quality of the service. We will not recommend Icelandair to our family or friends.
AircraftBoeing 767 / 757
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Munich via Keflavik
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"I feel it is a complete rip off"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manchester to Toronto via Reykjavik. Do not waste your money paying for Economy Comfort. It is advertised as having more leg room but in fact you get an economy seat. The only difference is the middle seat in a row of 3 is empty. Legroom is cramped and food offered is basic cheap airline snacks. We paid several hundred pounds extra for Economy Comfort and I feel it is a complete rip off.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteManchester to Toronto via Reykjavik
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"product is way behind the times"

(United States)

Verified Review | Keflavík to Seattle in a 757-200 in Saga Class, which is Icelandair's premium product. The brand new Saga Class lounge at Keflavík is spacious and comfortable. However, Icelandair dropped the ball on the showers facility: there is no cleaning whatsoever between showers. You enter into the mess left behind by the person who showered before you. My wife and I had to skip showering in the lounge. What in the world is Icelandair thinking? The flight itself was very pleasant. The flight attendants this time were extremely courteous and efficient, the food served excellent. That said, Icelandair's hard product is way behind the times, with their aging aircraft showing their age. Icelandair is expected to receive its first delivery of the new 737 MAX aircraft next year and one hopes the Saga Class product will be considerably enhanced at that time.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKeflavík to Seattle
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Service was efficient but cold"

(United States)

Verified Review | Seattle to Keflavík in Business Class on a Boeing 757-200. Icelandair's aging aircraft are overdue for retirement. The interiors look their age, although the Saga Class cabin and bathroom were clean on this flight. The seats are wide and comfortable, but they aren't flatbed. Service was efficient but cold. Not the slightest hint of a smile throughout the flight from the matronly woman serving us. Upon landing in Keflavík, we were bundled into a bus and transported to the terminal. Saga Class passengers get no priority or comfort despite paying a premium: we were herded together with the rest until the bus overflowed. The best that can be said of Icelandair is, they don't lose your baggage.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSeattle to Keflavík
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no