Icelandair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 647 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 21st June 2015

LGW-KEF-PDX, PDX-KEF, KEF-LHR. I flew to Portland to visit friends with a 4 day stopover on the way back in Iceland which is included at no extra cost. I think I agree with the review by M Brown on the 20th March, people are being are rather unfair particularly with regards to the catering situation on Icelandair - they are very clear on what the product being offered here is and there is opportunity once booked to add food from the regular menu at a discount before flying and this is served to you before the main food service begins. I only pre-ordered food outbound on the long-haul KEF-PDX sector and found what was served to be delicious and good value. All non-alcoholic drinks are complimentary and can be requested at any time during the flight. All sectors were on B757, which whilst relatively old were immaculately maintained. Outbound from Gatwick the plane was a bit older and had no IFE, but this was ok for the short flight to Reykjavík and I was notified 24hrs prior to departure of this via text. On the long-haul sector from Keflavík to Portland the aircraft was more the Icelandair standard product and we were presented with bottle of Icelandic water which was a nice touch. There was IFE on this sector but it was very old, with poor quality picture and didn't have a fantastic selection - but I had brought my own entertainment with me anyway. The staff however on this flight were fantastic and really worked hard to be friendly and attentive to passengers needs so much so I will be writing to Icelandair to tell them so! Flying back to Reykjavík was pleasant with blankets and cushions provided for this overnight sector and IFE was newer and the the best of all the sectors with a clear picture. My return to London a few days later was also fine with everything on schedule and generally pleasant. One thing that didn't work on any sector was mobile boarding passes - this didn't work on a single sector for me, but I easily received a paper version in most cases. Apart from little niggles which made the experience less than perfect overall I was satisfied with my experience, it was fantastic value for money with the added plus of the stopover and would be very happy to use them again.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLGW/LHR to PDX via KEF
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (Estonia) 21st June 2015

Connected with Icelandair from and to Estonian Air via Oslo outbound on June 8, 2015 and via Copenhagen homebound on June 14,Tallinn. On both flights electronic check-in and boarding were smooth, aircraft clean, seat pitch and legroom sufficient, departures and arrivals on time. FA attentive and nice on both flights. Inflight magazine was informative and pleasant. Negative aspects - the selection of meals and snacks in Economy for sale is poor and lack any imagination. The same goes for the in-flight entertainment.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteOslo to Keflavik
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (Germany) 15th June 2015

Flew EWR-KEF and KEF-MUC on Economy Class. Reading some reviews I expected a bad experience but everything was fine. Checked in with my mobile phone in EWR, unfortunately the TSA couldn’t read the ticket so I had to go back to the Check in counter to get the boarding pass. Flight was on time and the crew was very friendly. Got an emergency exit seat during check in for free, so I had enough space but the standard Economy seats looked like they have good pitch. The only thing I couldn't deal with was the mood light, but I don´t like it on any airline. I just prefer a dark cabin during flight. Boarding the first flight everyone got a bottle of water, which was refilled during the trip, the crew offered drinks a few times during both legs. Food was for purchase and rather expensive but booking on the airline’s web site I knew that before so I had a nice dinner at EWR and bought some chips for the second leg to MUC. KEF is a very small and pleasant airport for transit. From the moment of disembarking to my connection flight I needed less than 10 minutes. I will definitively fly Icelandair again in the future, yet the planes are good and the two crews that attended my flights were excellent. And with 380 EUR the price was more than good.
AircraftB757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteEWR to MUC via KEF
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 15th June 2015

A very comfortable well run flight. Excellent aircraft. Very good attentive service. Food and wine good choice and well presented. All flights arrived on time. Shame seats don't go completely flat but they do recline sufficiently to enable you to get some sleep.
AircraftB757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Anchorage via Iceland
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United States) 12th June 2015

We flew on a 3 week trip to Europe in Saga business class from Newark (EWR) to Munich (MUC). We took Icelandair up on its invite for a stop-over on our return trip. The flights were all on time. The only complaint we have is the way they board their passengers. On the American air carriers, the first and business class passengers are always boarded first prior to the economy class. The only time Icelandair did this was at Newark. At the European airports, everyone was asked to board at the same time. When we confronted Icelandair, they said they didn't have the facilities to do this. You don't need facilities. All you need is to use the microphone to call out asking for the Saga class to board. The wine choices were good. The food was typical airline food. The attention from the FA's was very good. If you want seat comfort for a long flight then Saga class is worth the money.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNewark (EWR) to Munich (MUC)
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United States) 11th June 2015

Delayed on board in Iceland we notified the flight attendant we would miss our connecting flight. The flight attendant said she spoke to the pilot and assured us someone would meet us when we departed from the plane in Munich to make sure we would be in front of the line to make our connecting flight. No one met us as promised to help us with our connecting flight. As a result we missed our connecting flight, our first day reservation and rental car and had to stay in Munich overnight. Eventually we read a news article concerning the pilot strike during this time; hence the delay. Customer service offered no compensation for missed flight. Relating to Mr Ferguson's review of May 2014: "They lie to us and then want us to trust our lives to them". This definitely is a moral issue. We have flown Icelandair in the 1990's many times, however never again. Icelandair would do well to incorporate a business of taking care of problems for the good of their passengers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
0/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United States) 6th June 2015

We flew from Sanford FL to Keflavik. We were impressed. Unfortunately the return trip on June 2nd flight 1689 was just the opposite. Arriving at the check in counter the agent asked if we were flying together and issued our boarding passes. Checking our passes we realized we were not issued our reserved seats and would be seated separately. I returned to the counter to correct the seat assignment and was given numerous excuses (different aircraft the plane was full single seats throughout the plane etc.). Rather than resolving her mistake the agent told me the flight attendants would correct the seating once boarded. Upon boarding I spoke with a flight attendant regarding the seating situation. There was nothing he could do as the plane was at full occupancy. Going to take my assigned seat (window) there was a large man already in it and was reluctant to move. I claimed my seat. He became upset grunted throughout the flight and constantly extended himself into my space. Not only did I not sit with my friend - I was also deprived of having a full seat! The entire flight was extremely stressful and challenging. Whenever I got up the man would take my seat and tell me to sit in the middle. I had to put up with this situation over the course of almost eight hours! What is the purpose of reserving a seat if they are not going to respect the selection?
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
no
0/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (United States) 6th June 2015

We flew from Sanford FL to Keflavik. We were impressed. Unfortunately the return trip on June 2nd flight 1689 was just the opposite. Arriving at the check in counter the agent asked if we were flying together and issued our boarding passes. Checking our passes we realized we were not issued our reserved seats and would be seated separately. I returned to the counter to correct the seat assignment and was given numerous excuses (different aircraft the plane was full single seats throughout the plane etc.). Rather than resolving her mistake the agent told me the flight attendants would correct the seating once boarded. Upon boarding I spoke with a flight attendant regarding the seating situation. There was nothing he could do as the plane was at full occupancy. Going to take my assigned seat (window) there was a large man already in it and was reluctant to move. I claimed my seat. He became upset grunted throughout the flight and constantly extended himself into my space. Not only did I not sit with my friend - I was also deprived of having a full seat! The entire flight was extremely stressful and challenging. Whenever I got up the man would take my seat and tell me to sit in the middle. I had to put up with this situation over the course of almost eight hours! What is the purpose of reserving a seat if they are not going to respect the selection?
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
no
10/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (Switzerland) 20th May 2015

Flew ZRH-KEF-ZRH in May with Icelandair in Economy saver class and paid £379.55 incl. taxes. Flights were on time and boarding quick and easy. No meal or inflight entertainment on board due my selected fare however water tea and coffee were offered. Flight Attendants very friendly and helpful. Overall both journeys were pleasant and would fly with them again.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Icelandair customer review

Review by (Switzerland) 20th May 2015

Flew ZRH-KEF-ZRH in May with Icelandair in Economy saver class and paid £379.55 incl. taxes. Flights were on time and boarding quick and easy. No meal or inflight entertainment on board due my selected fare however water tea and coffee were offered. Flight Attendants very friendly and helpful. Overall both journeys were pleasant and would fly with them again.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes