Airline of the Year  

Icelandair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 393 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Promises so far have been broken"

(United States)

Verified Review | Departing flight Washington to Munich via Keflavik was uneventful. The luggage of a good portion of the passenger however did not arrive. Resulted in long lines/long wait to enter a claim for the lost luggage. This can happen, 4 days later I finally have my luggage. This was the easy part of my travel. Return flight Munich to Reykjavik to Washington. I checked in and was at the boarding gate more than 2 hours before departure. Flight was a little delayed. During boarding I was told to step aside with no explanation. Plan was boarded, and my inquiries about what is going on was rudely pushed aside and threatened with security. Boarding finished and the plane with my luggage left without me. Now the attended took the time to find out what was going on. A Icelandair staff rebooked me without my consent on another flight and another Airline (Lufthansa) from another terminal. No explanation was given on why and how could that be. No one thought about letting me know, even though I was checked in and sitting at the boarding gate for more than 2 hours. Everybody confused at this point. Plane is leaving in 45 min. How to get me there, through security etc. I was checked in to the Lufthansa flight via phone, but otherwise no help was given except showing me the walkway to the other end of the terminal and the gate location (gate 22 or so where the bus would take me to terminal 2). I was told to better run otherwise I would miss this flight. Running down that hallway turned out to end up at a restricted area, was rerouted by a security officer, finally arriving at the given gate for the bus only to find a sign that stated the bus is no longer leaving from there. Needed to go half way back to gate 8, finally waiting for the bus, making it to terminal 2, making it through the checkpoints and getting to the last one for LH only to be told they can't let me through, my flight just left. Now being told to go to LH Customer Service, arriving sweating, shaking and exhausted (LH Staff is great, arranging for the next flight out on United Airlines, arranging for a Hotel for the night (paid via Islandair- small token), they took care off all the communication with Iceland air. They told me how to get best back to Terminal one to yet again file a lost baggage claim with Icelandair as my luggage went with my original flight without me (against security regulations). Finally get on the United Airline flight the next morning, however, arriving yet again without luggage. I filed a claim two weeks ago, for reimbursement of expenses due to continued lost luggage and partial reimbursement of my original flight (as it is against passenger protection to rebook after check-in without passengers consent). All I have on a response so far is an automated response that the claim has been received. Via phone I am told I can't speak to a Customer Service Representative in regards to my claim and that the claim has not yet been assigned. Promises of a response so far have been broken.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich via Keflavik
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Icelandair has not been responsive"

(United States)

Verified Review | Washington to Zurich via Reykjavik. I coordinate high school exchange programs. I inquired with Icelandair in November 2016 for a group of students who would be headed to Europe in April 2017. We received the initial quote for a flight from Washington DC to Reykjavik to Zurich. The price was great and I had flown twice before on Icelandair without problems. So I had no hesitation in booking our group with them. I posted a deposit for the seats in November, with final payment due in February. I sent our final payment in early February. Mid-February we were issued tickets. And then twice weeks later (March), we were informed that the flight from Reykjavik to Zurich was being cancelled (no reason was given). But they were going to rebook the group on a new flight from Reykjavik to Munich and then Munich to Zurich. I shared with our group sales person that this was nuts and that this extra flight would cause the students to miss their adjoining connections. I was repeatedly told by Icelandair that their only obligation was to reschedule us on a legal flight (with no regard for the other transportation reservations I had already made and paid for to get the groups to their final destinations). And 45 minutes to deboard a full plane in Munich and then get to the next gate for their final flight to Zurich was really tight. To their credit, our students arrived on time to Zurich. However, none of their suitcases were at Zurich airport when they arrived. They waited in a long line with others to file their lost luggage claims. Which caused the group headed to Austria to miss their next flight from Zurich to Vienna. And which caused the students headed on a train to France to miss their appointed train departure. Swiss Air (who would take the students from Zurich to Vienna) wanted to charge the group full fares again for the flight because they missed their original flight (not due to their fault, of course). After arguing with them, they relented and divided the group up into two sections, with half flying out on a flight one hour later. And the remainder of the students, flying out two hours later. For the students headed to France, we had to repurchase the train tickets because they would not honor the original tickets since they missed their train. Most of the students received their suitcases at their host families two days later. One teacher and another student did not get their suitcase until 3 days later. We thought "Okay, it was problematic going over. We should have no problems going back." Wrong! Through no fault of Icelandair, the weather was bad on the flight back to the U.S. and the students were stranded in Reykjavik for two more days. I would like to thank Icelandair for putting up the group in a hotel and with all meals covered for those two days. But I was in disbelief that they told the teacher that she had to call a phone number and reschedule the group onto new flights. Shouldn't the airline and ticket counter have taken care of this? Hours later and $40 in cell phone charges, the teacher finally went from number 98 in the queue to 1 to get the group rescheduled. Upon the return home (April 19), one girl had her suitcase lost. Icelandair has not been responsive to phone calls or emails. And I am still waiting for Icelandair to reimburse me for the purchase of new train tickets and for reimbursing the teacher for toiletries and a long distance phone charges. 3 stars for the stay in Iceland. 0 for everything else.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Zurich via Reykjavik
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"value was not that great"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew Reykjavik to Toronto. Delayed by 45 minutes (for both my flights with Icelandair). They did not provide any meal or snacks for a 6 hour flight (actually 7 hours with the delay). Inflight entertainment had no good selection, very outdated movies and limited selection. Airline also interrupted my entertainment several times to sell their products. Value was not that great since it was more expensive than other similar flights from other airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteReykjavik to Toronto
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a dismal experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | Seattle to Keflavík roundtrip in Saga Class, Icelandair's premium product. The only reason to fly Icelandair is because the alternatives to get to Iceland from the West coast of the USA are worse. The only redeeming feature of Icelandair is, they are mostly on time and they don't lose your baggage. Other than that, the airline does not do anything to make the premium paying passenger experience pleasant or less unpleasant. At Keflavík airport, which is a zoo these days, there is no separate security screening line for Saga Class. At the Saga Lounge, vegetarians have very limited options. The aircraft are old, cabins are unkempt and the toilets dirty. The Saga Class seats are from the silent movie era. Coffee is served in paper cups, and those with dietary restrictions are out of luck if you forget to pre-order a special meal. All in all, Icelandair is a dismal experience.
AircraftBoeing 767 / 757
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSeattle to Keflavík
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"kept delaying flights"

(United States)

Verified Review | Paris to Denver via Keflavik. Icelandair kept delaying flights and ended up cancelling. They sent around a worker handing out vouchers for dinner at 10pm saying our crew was on the way and then cancelled 30 minutes later without an announcement. We noticed our flight wasn't on the screen and had to wait another 2 hours in a line to get a hotel. Now we're in the hotel line going on an hour.
Aircraft757
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Denver via Keflavik
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"staff were so friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Icelandair from Glasgow to Keflavik. Fantastic flight from start to finish, got a perfect seat with extra legroom for no extra charge, selected online before departure. Staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us! The inflight entertainment system on the 2 hour flight was a great bonus, overall I thoroughly enjoyed my flight and will definitely use the airline in the future as I could of easily stayed on the aircraft for another 5/6 hours!
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGlasgow to Keflavik
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"Everyone was sitting on the floor"

(United States)

Verified Review | Boston to Reykjavik. The flying part was fine. Thank goodness for that. But when we arrived at Keflavik we sat on the runway a long time waiting for what the captain referred to as our "parking space." After several updates saying we were about to dock, he then started driving around the airport looking for another "parking space." On the way back, we got to our gate and there were no chairs! None. Everyone was sitting on the floor! After a while, with no announcement, we noticed a very slow-moving line had formed. It turned out to be a line for buses. Which came, like, one every 15 minutes. Also, on both occasions in Keflavik, there were alarms going off in the terminal that sounded like smoke alarms.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Reykjavik
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"staff very helpful and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Denver via Keflavik with Icelandair. The flights were excellent and the inflight entertainment was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Due to ATC problems at KEF, the flight left LHR two hours late and I missed my connection to DEN, but the service desk staff were very helpful and were able to get me onto the next flight the day after and a hotel room for the night free of charge. The flight to DEN left about two hours late due to the aforementioned ATC problems. In conclusion, the staff were all very helpful and friendly, even in circumstances beyond their control and the in flight entertainment was excellent.
AircraftBoeing 767 / 757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Denver via Keflavik
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"my first and last trip on Icelandair"

(United States)

Unverified | Never had flown them before a week-long trip to Iceland. Initially thought I'd been thrown into time warp of flying Pan Am, with flight attendants dressed up, wearing pill box hats, tons of make up and high heels. But that's where the service ended. I'd been told by friends that Iceland people tend to be more reserved, and found this to be true with the flight attendants. There was no warmth or helpfulness, just a perfunctory manner of handing out the drinks in a somewhat cool and detached manner. It is somewhat surprising to be on an 8-hour flight and receive only a soft drink, not even a meal or a snack. I can't think of another airlines who doesn't serve complimentary food on a flight that long. We didn't even get peanuts or pretzels. Also, the seats are very uncomfortably hard for such a long flight. I found myself trying to stretch just to keep my back side from going numb. This combined with the chaos that is Keflavik airport will probably mean this is my first and last trip on Icelandair.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteReykjavik to Denver
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Not impressed at all"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I traveled from Toronto to Munich via Keflavik in Economy Class by Icelandair. Not impressed at all and will not recommend to others. Paid for ticket 800CAD and was surprised to learn that they don't offer complimentary food. My friends flew by Air Canada (same route Toronto-Munich) and were offered food twice- dinner and breakfast, and also complimentary wine. Even if I wanted to buy their food on board the selection was very very limited. Poor entertainment on board- total 20 movies, 6 of them were for kids, 14 for adults for all genres, headphones - only for purchase. Finally, my luggage was delayed by 2 days. No Icelandair representative at Munich airport as they don't want to pay for the desk at the airport, very poor service. Felt that they heavily rely on tourists to support economy but fail to provide adequate service to match the cost.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Munich via Reykjavik
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no