Top 100 Airlines  

Iberia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 476 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Iberia was a surprise"

(Hong Kong)

Marrakech to Madrid Barajas. Iberia was a surprise! Check in a little bit slow because lots of people lining up. Immigration was terrible for Marrekech airport. You can see more about it in the Marrakech airport review. When it was final call we were rushing to the plane. The airline waited for us so I was quite pleased. Landing okay and arrival baggage smooth. Maybe because Madrid was their hub airport. Great surprise from us.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRAK to MAD
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"business class product is great"

(United States)

Madrid to Miami. Initially assigned 42A (in the rear of the aircraft). Forked up a bit of money to upgrade my seat to business class. Worth the investment. I arrived at Madrid Barajas 2 hours before the flight, so checked out the Velazquez Lounge. Had a nice bite to eat for breakfast and picked up a few complementary magazines for the flight. Nice views of some planes taking off outside the window, and there were computers with Internet access available. Seat 2A was probably the most comfortable I have been on. Fully lie-flat, with a soft pillow and blanket included. It was a window seat, with no one next to me, so the privacy afforded was a plus. Top-notch meal - ham hock with potatoes plus a salad and liberal doses of Spanish wines. Wi-fi was inordinately expensive for such a long flight. The IFE was great - was able to squeeze in two movies. Before landing we were also offered a light meal (Spanish cold cuts). Flight departed slightly late to Miami but we made up for it in the air. Iberia's business class product is great with attentive service, great meals and quality IFE. Will prefer them for my flights to USA from Spain from now on.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMAD to MIA
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Barcelona to Madrid. When we arrived at the airport, our flight was shown on the departure board as leaving on-time. We waited in line for over an hour to check in our luggage, but when we arrived at the front of the line, we were informed that our flight had been cancelled. No explanation was given as to why. We were told to wait in a different line to change to a later flight. After another hour wait in that line, we were told that the next available flight to Madrid was five hours later. While waiting in line, we had researched the high-speed train on line, and knew that we could arrive in Madrid by train earlier than the departure time of the flight Iberia was offering. So we said told the agent not to book the substitute flight and she assured us our money would be refunded. Since returning from Spain, I've tried in vain to get a refund for the flight Iberia cancelled. I've called four times over the course of a week, and each time I wait on hold for longer than the flight time from Barcelona to Madrid, only to be told I need to call back in 24 hours (or 48 hours or 72 hours) when they will have finished researching the cancellation. It is obvious they hope I will give up and let them keep the money for the flight they cancelled. Worst customer service I've ever received from an airline. If I ever return to Spain, I will travel by train and avoid the complete disaster that is Iberia.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBCN to MAD
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"good food and wine selection"

(Singapore)

Madrid to Mexico City with Iberia. I cannot get over how the good the food and wine selection was. Far better than any of the airlines I have flown recently (Singapore, BA, American etc) and on par to Qatar Airways. Good dishes and healthy food. Aircraft was configured with the new seats which are fully flat and very comfortable although they lack a little space for more storage. Overhead space is good anyway. Seat is narrow but well design. Screen is big and inflight entertainment good with a decent mix of International and Spanish films. Not as many selection as in Qatar, Singapore or Emirates but still good. Crew was friendly and efficient across flight. They also give you 5MB free of wifi connectivity. Overall an excellent flight
AircraftA340-500
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMAD to MEX
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not in any way a "premium" experience"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Iberia Business Class: really an awful experience. We flew on a connecting business class flight from Madrid to Lisbon. Overall we were surprised to find that the aircraft was quite old - there was no entertainment system or wifi and seat space was minimal. The experience on the aircraft had nothing that would distinguish it from an economy flight as they received apparently the same food too. It really leaves some room for improvement there as the flight experience was not in any way a "premium" experience. The real bummer came upon arrival: our luggage apparently had been left behind in Madrid and the Iberia service staff were really terrible at speaking English so we ended up waiting at the airport without any information for 2 hours in the middle of the night. We were then promised delivery in the morning, but the luggage did not arrive until 16 hours later. That is without any apology or reimbursement. And don't even get me started on their online helpdesk - it is pretty much a waste of effort to write to them and good luck getting a straight answer out of these people. At that point I was really asking myself, why I had even bothered flying business class on Iberia, neither the inflight experience nor the following service experience are up to speed with any other airline I have recently flown on. Definently not a returning customer for Iberia.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMAD to LIS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"seat spacing is too tight"

(Spain)

Verified Review | I was on the air shuttle (Puente Aéreo) service between Madrid and Barcelona, a service directed at business travelers who need full flexibility flights between the biggest two spanish cities. The service promises open ticket access to a constant stream of flights so you just hop on the next plane (and if that's full just wait for the next soon after). For this flexibility you pay a fairly hefty 373€ return (or 271€ one-way), quite a substantial premium over the high speed rail service on this short 500km hop. However if you need to fly in August little is left of this promise - in line with classic Madrid vacation season customs, Iberia slashes their schedule down to as little as 6 flights in a day, some with more than 5 hours between them. No online check-in is possible and self-check-in on regular machines at the airport is also refused. You need to just know that only the machines at the Air Shuttle area will accept your reservation identifier as that isn't explained anywhere. This is quite annoying as it rules out the possibility of locking down your seat while you're on the way to the airport. When I arrived, all (roughly a dozen) check-in machines were down showing a maintenance screen and the grumpy lady at the counter begrudgingly looked up my reservation. On board the elevated pricing only yields a comfort level one would expect from a low cost carrier. Seat spacing is too tight for passengers taller than 180cm, using skinny plastic-backed seat with no seat pocket. There are neither Wifi nor any in flight entertainment. Sandwiches and drink are only available for purchase, not even water is complimentary. Cleanliness on the plane left to be desired, with potato crisps and fresh chewing gum on the floor and an undefined sticky residue all over my tray table. Cabin crew also did not bother to come through collecting rubbish since they didn't manage to sell any sandwiches in my section. Overall I would only recommend this if you're in a serious hurry and your destination is quick to reach from the airport. Otherwise the train service will be just as fast and offer better service and value.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAD to BCN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"fast, impersonal, no smile"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Frankfurt - Madrid. First flight out of FRA for Iberia. Check-in was slow and full loaded. Even if you’re doing online check-in you need to queue. There is no certain baggage drop-off counter. Boarding also was very chaotic. We had to change our pre chosen seats twice for no obvious reason. The comfort inside of the Airbus was standard. Seats were good for the 2 hours hop. Service wasn’t included. The flight however was safe and disregarding the fact, that no one of the flight crews speaks understandable English, we arrived into Madrid on-time. Madrid - Lima flight was done by A340-600. The transit in MAD is smart. We arrived with no rush at the gate. Boarding this time was quick. First impression of the cabin was good with acceptable seats in 2-4-2 configuration. Apparently Iberia improved their long-haul product a lot. Personal TV was available and the selection was absolutely sufficient. Again English announcements were very hard to understand. The Captain did not even do an announcement in English. This might be an issue in the case of an emergency. Service was Iberia still. Fast, impersonal, no smile and as a passenger you get the feeling to have to excuse for any request. The flight was smooth and we arrived safely in LIM ontime. Lima - Madrid - this flight was a nightmare. Same issues as on the way to LIM. Additional we had an 4,5 hour delay due to late arrival. No one of Iberia apologized for the delay. Departure in LIM finally at 1am. Vouchers or any sign of customer focus? Not with Iberia. Finally airborne the crew was good-humored among themselves. Towards the passengers in consideration of the heavy delay it was just beyond words. Never undergo such an ignorant and arrogant crew. In MAD we expected to receive our new ticket for the late flight to FRA as we missed the actually booked connection to FRA. And again Iberia surprises you. “Tomorrow 8am”. That’s all what the ground staff has to tell you. Furthermore you receive Spanish documents only and need to translate them with google translator. Finally we had received a hotel voucher as they were not able to arrange a connection flight the same day. Iberia in short words – rude, unreckonable and nerve-racking.
AircraftA320, A340-600, A320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFRA to LIM via MAD
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"good and punctual experience"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Zurich to Madrid. A good and overall punctual experience. Friendly attention from the crew, Even I offered them to change my meal in order to please another customer, they didn't want to do so. That's one thing I found very special since other Iberia crews did more appreciate my humble way.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteZRH to MAD
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"very friendly attention"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | A very good experience - excellent service and very friendly attention! However, it has to be said that there were only 1 1/2 half rows of Business class to be served and there was no problem among the customers for the Business Class meal choice.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMAD to ZRH
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"good attendance to all customers"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | A very good experience flying Iberia from Madrid to Zurich - the crew even remembered the Swiss National Holiday and they made sure to lower the cabin lights in order to enjoy the fireworks over Switzerland. Good attendance to all customers. The only point to mention is the delay, especially where Iberia claims to be the most punctual airline in Europe.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMAD to ZRH
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes