Top 100 Airlines  

Iberia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 456 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"were allocated distant seats"

(Germany)

Madrid to Barcelona. Iberia went from being an A class airline to comparing to the cheapest airlines in a mere couple of years. My husband and I bought a flight together and even though we checked in online timely we were allocated distant seats. A seat change had a 20€ charge. At the airport we asked to be seated together and were "punished" with the non-reclinable last row seats. Afterwards we were prized with a 2:30 hours delay due to which we lost the possibility to use public transportation services at the destination and had to pay a late check in fee at the hotel. The cherry on top were unhelpful and rude staff.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAD to BCN
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Business Class is a joke"

(Australia)

I booked a BA flight but it ended up being on Iberia at 6pm on a Sunday. Business Class is a joke - really old plane, food was inedible and the staff didn't care. Don't waste your money. I took another flight from Madrid to Lisbon some eight days later in Economy and it was a jam-packed flight in the middle of the say - it was passable with a much newer plane. The lounge at Madrid is quite decent - not the best airport though.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to MAD
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"new interior and excellent IFE"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Lima to Madrid. After many years without any IFE at all I hesitated to fly Iberia transatlantic. But with a ticket at very low cost I gave it a try. The A340-600 I flew had a new interior, and excellent IFE. WiFi available at quite high cost. Leg room was limited, and catering quite basic. Crew were nice enough but not very enthusiastic. They would speak Spanish to everyone first, and only switch to English if you made clear not be able to understand them. I had a connecting flight with BA from Madrid on the same ticket, and I was surprised since both airlines work closely together neither at check in in Lima nor at Iberia transfer counters in Madrid could they provide a boarding pass for that BA connection. I had to get out of the airport and go to a check in desk for that.
AircraftA340-600
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIM to MAD
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"unwilling to help it's customers"

(United States)

Verified Review | Chicago to Granada via Madrid return. Traveling with Iberia was a huge hassle. Our flight home was delayed five hours and we had to run back and forth between American Airlines and Iberia to book a new flight. Also we were all given the same ticket to exchange at the Iberia desk for boarding passes. The attendant honored three tickets of the four of us, but made the last member of our party return to American Airlines. In the end we had to be escorted by an American Airlines attendant so he could discuss the issue for use. There was nothing wrong with the ticket and the attendant honored the ticket only when told to do so by another worker. Went we changed flights my vegetarian order was lost and I was given a meat meal which I could not eat. The flight attendants were never available so I could not flag one down to request a meal. Overall Iberia seems to be an incompetent airline who is extremely slow and often unwilling to help it's customers. Will not fly with them again if I can avoid it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to GRX via MAD
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"sometimes the only choice"

(Germany)

Santiago de Chile to Munich via Madrid. Check-In in Santiago de Chile: Quite fast, Ground staff does the best adjust the lines to regulate the flow of waiting passengers. A dedicated line for baggage drop-off for pre- checked in travellers was missing. Does not check through luggage from a national connecting flight of fellow one-world carrier LAN/LATAM overnight. Seating: Only automatic pre-assigned seats by the airlines reservation system for the lower price Economy booking classes. Charge a 33 Euro fee per seat if you want to change and probably more (didn't try) for exit row or front row seats. Intercontinental seating rather cramped. New thin seats aren't very comfortable. Entertainment: New, large back seat screens, good selection of new release films, all on demand. All controls via touch screen. Standard socket, so you can use your own headphones. Has USB and other sockets, if I remember right. Offer WIFI, but I didn't use it. Sorry, forgot, whether it was per hour or MB charged. Food: Surprisingly good, both in and out of its home base. Drink comes with food. No pre- and after dinner drink. Further water and juice mostly on demand-only. European connections are food and drink for sale only, IB was one of the first to do so. Service a bit grumpy, but ok. Arrival in Madrid: Fast passport control for EU citizens, not so much for everybody else. On May 2nd the train between T4 and T4s broke down, which led to a chaotic and cramped situation until a bus service had been organized. Wouldn't recommend IB for North America, but for South America it is sometimes the only choice or at a competitive price, especially if you have exotic national connections served by LATAM.
AircraftA340-600
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSCL to MUC via MAD
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"recommend to not fly"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Madrid to Rio de Janeiro economy class with Iberia. I would recommend to not fly with this airline. We know its economy and what to expect but the fact that it was a long journey flight we expected some sort of service. The staff were rude, we were served water twice (in small cups) and when I asked I didn't get a bottle for at least 30 minutes. There was no personal inflight entertainment screens, just a main screen in the cabin and as I was sitting by the window I was unable to stretch my eyesight and see anything. It was the most uncomfortable long haul day flight I have ever taken.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAD to GIG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never use Iberia again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Buenos Aires to Madrid. Another cramped, uncomfortable long-haul Iberia flight with minimal and poor quality food and services. This 12 hour flight had the added distinction of being on an ancient plane effectively no inflight entertainment, unless you count a single old CRT monitor at the from of each cabin. Following a missed connection in Madrid on the outbound journey to Lat Am rushing from T4 to T4S, we managed to make this connection as we did not have to change terminals. Connection time was 1hr 25mins, but this was barely enough. We made the gate with seconds to spare. T4S is vast and we and several passengers had to run like crazy for a very long distance to make the gate in time. Such was the panic and stress that two of our fellow passengers did not even have time to put their shoes back on after removing them for security, and did the remainder of the run in their socks. I will never use Iberia again for long-haul or connect in Madrid.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEZE to LHR via MAD
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Gatwick to Sao Paulo via Madrid. I take over 100 flights annually, and this was the worst experience for years. When Iberia sold me a flight with a 55 min connection time in Madrid, little did I realise that there was virtually no chance to make this. 2 hours should be the minimum in this nightmarish airport, especially between terminals. Not for the unfit or easily stressed. Normal flight from LGW to MAD, which landed about 8 mins late. I was assured by the flight crew that there should be no problem. Landed at Terminal 4. On disembarking we (family of 5) were directed to bus with a few other connecting passengers. Waited in the bus for 15 mins for no apparent reason. I didn't panic because we were in Iberia's hands and I felt sure the onward flight was held for us and the others. The bus journey took another 15 mins to get to T4S, which is very far away from T4. Barajas in massive and a terrible place to connect, especially if you have to connect. Instead of the bus taking us to the next gate, we were dropped at the entrance to T4S. We all ran like crazy the very long distance to Gate 37, through a vast and empty terminal, up and down badly signed stairs and escalators. We saw the gate in the distance and felt reassured. Plane was there, and ground crew were at the gate. We were denied boarding on the grounds that they shut the doors 15 mins before scheduled departure no matter what. We begged and argued for nearly 30 mins to open the gate no avail, during which time the plane stayed attached to the jetty. Staff were extremely rude, unsympathetic and unhelpful. We were sent to a hotel and put on a flight at midday the following day, making me miss a whole day of meetings, which had a knock-on effect on my Lat Am trip. No compensation offered. Flight to GRU characterised by cramped conditions, food extremely low in quality and quantity and surly service. Was shouted at for asking for a glass of water from a flight attendant. Never again will I use Iberia long-haul or connect in Madrid.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to GRU via MAD
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"pleased with every aspect"

(United States)

My wife and I flew Iberia yesterday from Los Angeles to Madrid. We chose the airline for the convenience of it being a non stop flight. We were very pleased with every aspect of the flight. The aircraft was new and there was obvious pride on the part of the crew. They were friendly, accommodating and very professional. The leg room in economy class was adequate (I am 6'2"). The food was as good as airline food can be. We had the choice of chicken or pasta and we both chose chicken. The aircraft offered personal entertainment for each passenger with plenty of options. There was a unique feature of a camera mounted on the tail of the plane showing the take off and landing - nice touch. Finally, we arrived 20 minutes early and our luggage came out on the carousel in a timely fashion.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to MAD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"nice crew both ways"

(Taiwan)

Verified Review | All flights perfectly on time. Nice A330 on the way out, a testing flight. Nice seat and full meal, which was very good. Only 2 red wines, but good enough. A321 on the way back, business cabin has economy seats with free seat in the middle. Meal was good too. Nice crew both ways. Lugage came quickly in GVA. Was on a connecting flight to and from Bogota with Avianca.
AircraftA330 / A321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGVA to MAD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes