Airline of the Year  

Iberia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 512 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"staff were nice and friendly"

(Spain)

Verified Review | Flew Iberia from Madrid to Athens. Very good punctuality, we arrived 20 minutes before the scheduled time. The staff were nice and friendly. The space between seats is spectacular. The captain informed us about the route that we were going to do and some points that could be observed from the windows.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Athens
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"obvious difference between long and short haul"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Boston to Bucharest via Madrid with Iberia. We had a nice flight from BOS to MAD. It was obvious the difference between long haul and short haul on this airline. Food very good and entertainment system with updated films and very easy to operate. Cabin crew was the worst; they should be more nice and helpful. I was waiting for more then ten minutes after calling attendant when I decided to get up so I could get water for my kid - they were talking and reading magazines in the back of the plane. Ckeck-in staff was also untrained or unfriendly. I asked for seats with more space and leg room that airlines usually keep for families, but first they told me they were occupied and less than a minute after, they said it was $32 per seat. In the end, these seats were vacant, and families were travelling with less space - it just seems they tell you the anwser that will give them less trouble.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Bucharest via Madrid
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"No food or water included"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Porto to London via Madrid. When we got to the airport they told there was problem with our tickets. I called my travel agency, and after more than 2hours Iberia admited a mistake. We lost the first flight to Madrid just because of a small system error. Iberia refused to pay for the best option for us, and we had to accept the option of flying late. When we got to madrid (almost 11pm) we head to iberia costumer service and they refuse to pay or assist us in finding a hotel. I had to pay for everything, taxi, hotel and food! In the morning, we head to airport and the flight was 45mins late. No food or water was included in ticket. I never found staff so unfriendly.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOPO to LHR via MAD
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"service attentive and friendly"

(Spain)

Verified Review | Madrid to Buenos Aires return, a 13 hour long flight. Excellent service, attentive, friendly. Brand new aircraft. Confortable seats. Departure right on time. Arrival 30 minutes before schedule. Quite, smooth flight. Better than average inflight entertainment, both hardware and selection. Nice touchscreen. Food and drink was just OK, however. Great price. We travelled with our 2 kids (8 and 7), and they loved it, and crew was particularly friendly to them. By far better than most European airlines. Seems that Iberia has undestood that the client wants service and value for money. And they deliver.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Buenos Aires
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"a race against time"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Ibiza to Madrid via Valencia. April 17, 2017, at 4:30 PM our chauffeur service from the hotel took us to Ibiza Airport. We got to the airport at 4:45pm and went to the Iberia's One World/Business Class check-in counter for us to get on the flight to Madrid via IB 8027. We told the staff that we have a subsequent connection to Manila via Doha from Madrid. For some bizarre twist of fate, we were placed on waitlist despite having confirmed seats. We were told that since we have a Ruby Status on OneWorld, we would get prioritized as the flight was overbooked and that there will be passengers who would not show up. After security checks clearance, we read on the flight info monitor where our boarding gate was. We whiled away the time at the lounge and at the same time, checking if the boarding commenced, until it started at 5:40pm. Boarding was late by 10 minutes. So we had to approach the check in staff of Iberia and informed her of the situation. She just nonchalantly made us wait on the side until boarding was done. When the last passenger came, we approached her again only to be told that the we could not be accommodated on the flight despite having international connection to Manila via Doha on Qatar Airways (Business Class). We were then instructed to go back to the check in counter in order for them to resolve our case. We were not even guided or escorted on how we were supposed to get back considering all our bags were checked. So off we went. When we reached the counter, the Supervisor was there. She placed us on a flight IB 8437 to Valencia and subsequently on IB 8027 from Valencia to Madrid. She asked where our luggage where and we told her that they were checked in. She said you have to get it from the belt. So my partner had to run back to the arrival area and make his way inside the luggage carousel to get the backs to be re-checked in. I then asked her if we'll make it in time for our flight. She only answered by telling us that we would be arriving in Madrid at 10pm and that we'll have to get our bags and run to Qatar Airways' check in counter. We were told also to show our null boarding pass from Ibiza-Madrid either in Valencia or Madrid in order to get compensated from being bumped off. We were left with no choice but to take it as there were no other options. When we get to the boarding gate for our flight to Valencia, we noticed that our boarding passes for the Valencia-Madrid leg bore the same name (Atienza) although with different seat assignments. We again approached the same Iberia boarding staff regarding this and told us to inform Iberia boarding staff that it was their fault and that we should be let on the flight. We took the flight IB 8437 operated by Air Nostrum to Valencia which took 35 minutes. We deplaned and went to the boarding gate for our Valencia-Madrid leg on IB 8027 and begged for the staff their to get in touch with Qatar Airways as it was not our fault to get bumped off and for them to wait for us since we were flying in Business Class. All we got was the staff's word that she would call but whether or not she did, there was no way for us to know. We were also given a proof for us to get compensated for being bumped off our Ibiza to Madrid flight indicating a minimum compensation of €125/passenger. IB 8027 flight was delayed. It was totally a race against time. We boarded the flight and touched down half past 9pm. And to our bewilderment, we deplaned at a far flung gate.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIbiza to Madrid via Valencia
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"polite but not friendly"

(Romania)

Verified Review | Madrid to Mexico City. Flight in business class after using the system of Iberia with the minimum bet (500 €) to upgrade from economy. Comfortable seats, complete reclining, individual space due to alternative design of seats spacing. Crew was polite but not friendly, they did their job and no more. Free wifi was a joke, only 4 Mb were free, for further connection huge prices. Food was not good. They had instead, a wide selection of Spanish wines, which were super ok. Flight delayed for about 1 hour. Big personal tv screen with many new movies.
AircraftA340-600
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMadrid to Mexico City
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"Crew were very attentive"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Madrid to Lima. Quite a lousy experience on an old A340-600 (the age was very much visible in the toilets). Seats are the like of Alitalia business class but seem narrower so it's more difficult to sleep, although fully flat. Touch screen was very slow and I ended up using the remote touch screen to get things done. Crew were very attentive - and that's the big plus of this flight - but food quite tasteless (my fish was overcooked and the yoghurt tart was stone-heavy), wine ok but nothing special. I was expecting something more in terms of soft product, got a bit disappointed. A nice touch was a 4MBvoucher for the wi-fi, which is nothing if you want to download stuff or even check your mail, but allowed me to whatsapp for an hour or so (no files sent, obviously).
AircraftA340-600
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMadrid to Lima
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I could not sit down properly"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Flew Iberia from Hamburg to Madrid. The seat row spacing was so tight that I could not sit down properly. The crew saw this and re-seated me. So great crew but due to the seat row spacing, never again. Both flights the same disaster. Any of you who are taller than 190cm should not book Iberia short haul. Cannot judge on long haul.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHamburg to Madrid
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a very serious problem"

(United States)

Verified Review | While Iberia is known to deliver a decent, if not stellar, service in Business Class (with the exception of the shameful Iberia Express brand which should be all Economy), there is a very serious problem with its checking agents in Paris Orly (Iberia Staff? Vueling? IAG? Outside contractor?) who possibly deliver the worst service in the Industry. These agents are quite brazen about doing as little as possible with the worst professional attitude, and they seem completely unsupervised. The Iberia rule is to open check-in 2.30 hours before departure time. Check-in seldom opens more than 2 hours ahead of time, with no agent to be seen before. It creates long lines including in the Priority line where the criteria is not enforced. This invariably results in chaos and altercations, handled by the staff in a tone more adaptd to women guards in female prisons. If in addition the check in banks stop rolling and accepting checked bags (frequent and not Iberia's fault), they continue accepting passengers, printing tags and leaving them loose for future attachment to heaps of baggage just left there, which must result in horribly misdirected luggage in large quantities. In other words, these agents need supervision, and training both in operations and addressing passengers. Obviously they get none whatsoever.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteParis Orly to Madrid
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"an absolute delight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Bogota via Madrid with Iberia. This was an absolute delight. It started with a very good experience in the British Airways business Lounge as this was a code share flight. We flew after 8 PM from Gatwick to Madrid and after changing terminaI was able to go in the Iberia business Lounge which was deserted and use a bed in the relaxing area and successfully slept all night. Woke and havd a complimentary shower and shave and then a good breakfast before my flight from Madrid to Bogotá at noon. The business class seats all laid out very well and all seats are accessible without clambering over any other people. There are various airlines that if you get stuck by the window or in the middle and the other person puts their bed down then you've got no choice but to try and climb across them. All very poor but certainly not with Iberia. The staff attention was good and so were the meals. It seems that the Spanish still take the service sector as a career rather than a reluctant top up job like they might in the UK. There are still a sense of pride by working with an airline. On the return sector everything was equally as good and I think I slept for nearly 8 hours. I really didn't want to get off the plane. I have travelled numerous times on different business airlines and I must say this was amongst the best. I now I want to go again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Bogota via Madrid
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes