HK Express

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 58 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"return flight was changed"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Hiroshima to Hong Kong. Smooth bag drop and boarding at HIJ. Uneventful and punctual flight out. Time of return flight was changed "for operational reasons" to 09:45, meaning I had to get up at 04:30 to travel to Hong Kong airport from my hotel in Macau. Macau ferry terminal upstream check-in service was excellent but the flight time change meant serious changes to my morning plan. Unacceptable for this change to be made - ticket was booked in June last year, change advised this year. Were it not for this change I would give them 10/10 as a budget airline. Good selection of seats available for a standard charge, as far forward as row 6.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHiroshima to Hong Kong
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"skipped us when serving drinks"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Hong Kong. The flight attendant yells at passenger if you don't allow device on 'airplane mode' whatsoever; for camera use or listening to music. Your flight attendant needs to explain in detail and give a guidance in a courteous way. Some crew had friends moved to the very front seat in U biz section beside us and constantly going back and forth between the seat and galley and chatted throughout the flight. Their friends were served the hot drinks first before the attendant start serving anyone else. The crew skipped us when serving drinks and snacks and we had to wait until they came back from serving all others to the end of the craft. One of our pre-ordered foods came out well after we finished eating the other. At least they apologized for the delay but the food wasnt even even warm, nearly cold. I bought U first and our seats were the very front bulkhead seats.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSeoul to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worthless if you board at a bus gate"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Nah Trang. U First service on HK Express is worthless if you board at a bus gate And as they refuse to refund, exchange, transfer, or compensate you - it is a bit of a lucky dip whether purchasing U first is worth it at all. Just another cash grab by a budget airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Nah Trang
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I feel this is unscrupulous"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Fukuoka. Book online and there was payment error with 1 card, so paid with another card. Later found I was actually charged at both cards and end up with duplicate bookings. Complained and they hardly get back to me beyond generic replies. It's best to call them. After persistent calls, they finally informed me that I'll get a refund. However it will take 6-8 weeks. I feel this is unscrupulous. Who knows what they do with the extra money charged from clients before refunding them 1 month + later?
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Fukuoka
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"anxiety caused, time wasted"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Kansai. When my payment appeared not to have gone through and I received no acknowledgement of my booking, I asked HKE if I should rebook. They told me I should but, after booking again (at a higher cost) I discovered they had already taken the money for the first flight. They accepted that they had failed to confirm the first flight and agreed to refund the money but it took a great many emails and involved a huge amount of time. I even had to battle with them over the insurance I had taken; even though I paid them for it, they tried to claim they couldn't refund it because it was paid on to another company. They also seemed to think it reasonable to refund less than was taken because the exchange rate was different. Any reputable airline would have refunded the higher amount I paid for the second tickets and sent a proper apology for all the anxiety caused and time wasted. There is no complaints procedure. If you ask them via "chat" how to complain, they send you the email address of Customer Services about whom I wished to make the complaint. The general impression I got was that they will try as hard as they can to not refund you and will only do so if you are extremely tenacious and decide that it is worth spending the time pursuing them for the principle of the matter. Nothing on earth would induce me to use HKE again. It may be fine when everything goes according to plan but, if something goes wrong and you need to seek redress, prepare yourself for a very, very long ride.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Kansai
Date FlownOctober 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"seats were comfortable"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Hong Kong. The seats were comfortable for a 3 hour flight but aircraft was cold and toilets dirty. No blankets available for the amount of money I paid. Crew was very unhelpful and unfriendly compared to Thai Air Asia staff.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"manager refused to help"

(United States)

Verified Review | Siem Reap to Hong Kong. The online registering of baggage would not work for me for some reason, and I believe despite what the site says you will be charged $6 whether or not you select a seat. I did not select one and was charged, my friend selected one but was assigned a new one at check-in. I was told by customer service they would make sure I paid the online price at check-in because the site was not working. At check-in the manager refused to help. My baggage was refused. I ended up putting it inside of my friends who was suppose to have the same deal as promised by customer service. He instead had to pay twice the online price.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSiem Reap to Hong Kong
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"The seat is comfortable"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Nagoya to Hong Kong. I bought this ticket with a low price during the mega sale. The flight I took was delayed by about 1 hour due to the late arrival, yet the flight managed to land on Hong Kong with 30-minute delay provided that the weather in Hong Kong was bad. The cabin crews are kind and friendly. The seat is comfortable in terms of LCC. The inflight magazine also provides much information about the tourist spots.
AircraftA320Neo
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNagoya to Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"staff are friendly and kind"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Jeju. This is a red-eye flight and I slept for nearly the whole flight. The seat is comfortable enough to sleep and the lights are turned dimmer. The flight arrived earlier than the scheduled time. The staff are friendly and kind. However, the food and beverages are quite costly so I didn't try. The online-check in is smooth and user-friendly.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Jeju
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"my flight was cancelled"

(France)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Tokyo Narita. Unfortunately, typhoon HATO and my flight was cancelled. I got an email 14h before departures announcing the cancellation of the flight. 3 options were proposed: Same destination in the next 3 days with possibly no fare difference applied, Other destination in the next 7 days, fare difference to my charge or Full reimbursement. But no indication on how to do the changes except to email them or use the chat for more informations. The search engine, the chat and the phone line were down during most of the day. The community manager answered me on Facebook 22h after my first contact. I had my first successful contact on the phone with HK express 20h later. And everything was already booked. The customer service did nothing to provide a solution. In the end I had to book through another airline, for 5 times the original price 3 days later.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Tokyo Narita
Date FlownAugust 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 58 Reviews