Hawaiian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 551 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Hawaiian Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 27th July 2015

Flying Hawaiians seasonal non stop was a pleasure. Comfortable seating, warm service and good food were the highlights of a pleasant comfortable experience. Nothing to add but a hearty recommendation. I actually prefer the older 767s over the newer A330's. Even the luggage was delivered in a timely manner.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteKona to Oakland
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Hawaiian Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 23rd July 2015

The good: Efficient boarding, departed and arrived on time. The so so: Cabin attendants did their jobs, legroom OK, but less than jetBlue. The bad: "Entertainment" - Why have in-seat TV screen when nothing worthwhile to watch, unless you pay extra for it? "Meal" - water, few pieces of fruit, mystery cheese thing, one piece of candy. Overall opinion: Very average experience. Hawaiian should be so much better when their slogan is "Hawaii Flies With Us". Should not boast about serving a meal, attendants OK, but lack aloha spirit, delete ads when giving info about Hawaii before landing. Would fly again, but only because of mediocre competitors.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSEA to HNL
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Hawaiian Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 20th July 2015

I am never flying on Hawaiian Airlines again. Once was once too many! Horrible customer service. 1) Luggage issues. They refused to send my bags all the way to the final destination. Their response was "because you have a layover of more than 4 hours, we cannot send the bags all the way." This was blatantly false because I later confirmed with people who had flown the exact same route and they had no issues checking their bags all the way to the final destination. Some incompetent staff, for sure! 2) In-flight service for an international flight was atrocious. When I reminded the attendant that I had requested a special meal, she replied rather rudely, "Oh, we don't do special meals." 3) Good luck trying to change your flights without paying a hefty amount. And even then, you were restricted to a few dates only.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHNL to KTM via ICN
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

Hawaiian Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 20th July 2015

We have flown Hawaiian airlines about 8 times, and it has been satisfying every time. The service is very good, the seat is comfortable (especially the pillows), the food is pretty good and the legroom is comfortable. We fly this airline about once every two years, and it's been very satisfying. They are kid friendly too.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RoutePHX to HNL
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Hawaiian Airlines customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 19th July 2015

AKL-HNL on a modern A330 in Extra Comfort seat in 11A. An excellent option at a small cost for the 9 hr long overnight flight. Whilst the seat was the same as Economy Class and the armrest was fixed, this row is situated directly behind Business Class in a small intimate cabin at the front of the plane. The leg room was huge, improving comfort and thus the ability to get some sleep. Return HNL-AKL afternoon flight was in standard Economy seat 18A and whilst a little tight when the person in front reclined, it was perfectly adequate and comfortable. On-demand movies / TV series / games were free and it was fun to watch some Hawaii-centric shows. The touch screen was not very responsive and there was no alternative controls resulting in a lot of unnecessary "poking". Upon embarkation, FA's handed out amenity kits comprising eye masks, headphones, earplugs and in Extra Comfort seats additional items were included in a cute little pouch. Food and drink service was prompt after takeoff and I think relevant to the time of travel. A snack pack was offered at midnight with a breakfast before arrival then on the return a hot chicken/rice dish at late PM takeoff with a sandwich as a late supper. Much better than a curry at 3am as I have experienced on some airlines. Service friendliness and professionalism was mixed depending on which crew member attended you (as always) and the return was much better but overall more than adequate. Water was offered frequently throughout the flight. My only negative would be the temperature of the cabin - it was freezing cold! The FA's were even wearing cardigans. And the complimentary blanket smelled like it had been in a smokers zone - it was disgusting. Fortunately I had packed my own. Overall I was very impressed with the flights. It represented good value and the inclusion 2 checked bags in the fare was a bonus. I would recommend this airline for this route and will fly with them again. It's a shame Honolulu Airport is their hub - it is woeful and not a pleasant experience.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAuckland to Honolulu
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Hawaiian Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 10th July 2015

Chaos at the airport which is more the fault of the airport administration than the airline. Though it would be nice about the need to take a shuttle to the gate and there is nothing available at gate 34 except sandwich, sweets and drinks at highly inflated prices. Impressed with the cabin crew and range of inflight entertainment - although any announcement that was made whilst I using it nearly blasted my eardrums. Not quite as cold as my earlier flight but still needed the blanket. Flight was smooth and the landing feather like.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHonolulu to Brisbane
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Hawaiian Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 10th July 2015

My husband and I were disappointed with the inflight experience from Honolulu to Sydney (arriving SYD 7.30pm). The staff were cold, sullen and non-communicative. The food was minimal and of poor quality. We were given a terrible chicken meal at lunch and then nothing until the equivalent of 11pm (for the passengers' day), when we received sub standard sandwiches. We have never experienced an international flight like it. Additionally, the entertainment systems were problematic in that the touch screen was not sensitive enough and had to be pressed repeatedly. As a result, I had the woman behind me repeatedly pressing the back of my headrest all the way through the 10 hour flight. We will never choose this airline again for an international flight.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHonolulu to Sydney
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Hawaiian Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 8th July 2015

I don't usually fly business class, so this was a treat. The first class check-in was fantastic. The seats were only recliner, but very comfortable. I didn't need full flat anyway, as it was not overnight. Attendants were attentive and professional. Food was very good. In-flight entertainment was varied, and had some documentaries available that were very interesting.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHonolulu to Las Vegas
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Hawaiian Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 8th July 2015

Check in at Brisbane was poor, the machines didn't work and there seemed to be a shortage of staff. When I finally reached the counter, the young lady was polite and helpful. The actual flight was good, except the cabin was freezing and really needed that blanket. I was involved as a helper in a medical emergency and was impressed with the care and attention given by the crew. Found the shell like seats a little hard.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBrisbane to Honolulu
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Hawaiian Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 12th June 2015

I was so looking forward to my trip to Honolulu, but it was not a pleasant experience, was seated next to window with 1 passenger next to me, as soon as we had levelled off the woman in front of me thrust her seat back to the maximum degree and that's where it stayed the entire 8.5 hour trip, until she was asked by staff to return her seat to upright position 5 mins from landing. I have scoliosis and prefer to sit upright, but I was left with no room whatsoever, could not even open a magazine, I was severely restricted of any movement and trying to get out the seat to visit the toilet was near impossible, if people want to sleep the whole trip like that they should travel 1st class and why do the seats have to go so far back. By the time we arrived in Hawaii I was in pain. I was dreading the return trip home, but just dismissed it as bad luck, the return trip I was seated in an aisle seat with empty seat next to me, well the same thing happened we hadn't even taken off and a woman put her seat right back, I thought surely staff would correct her but obviously they didn't spot her, as soon as we had levelled out again I moved into the seat next to me, her 4 year old son was now in front of me, she then proceeded to push her sons seat back to the extended position, was this really necessary for a 4 year old, the only respite I had was move back to the aisle seat at least I was able to exit the seat so spent much of my time standing at back of airline, how could people be so oblivious to other travellers discomfort by having their seats fully extended the entire trip is beyond me, I certainly wont be travelling with this airline again it was a nightmare trip for me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no