Hawaiian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 336 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Flight left 4 hours late"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Maui to San Diego. Flight left 4 hours late. The food served was inedible. The aircraft when entered was like a refrigerator, when asked for a blanket, they needed a credit card to charge for it. Boarding the plane was like amateur hour. Group 1 over here, group 2 sit, group 3 over there. Nice colorful uniforms and lots of Alohas, but not much training. The plane was new and OK when it finally arrived. The flight was cheap but will definitely find a better airline next time. You can download their App and pay for movies on your phone, other than that no entertainment options. Very difficult to arrange seats if you want to sit together.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMaui to San Diego
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"great friendly cabin crew"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Koa to Seattle via Honolulu. I had very low expectations as we were flying just ahead of Hurricane Lanes approach. I was expecting disorganized delays and everything was actually perfect. Our short inter island flight was the same as always and our flight to Seattle was excellent. A great friendly cabin crew gave us excellent service as we comfortably sat for five hours. Although the seats aren’t extra wide they are comfy and go fully flat. The food was quite good and the crew really excelled which lately is not a given on Hawaiian. The flights were on time. All together a wonderful experience.
AircraftBoeing 717 / A330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteKoa to Seattle via Honolulu
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"isn’t that comfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Honolulu to Sydney. Extra comfort isn’t that comfortable at all. Very limited choice of movies. The little food given was terrible. Staff did not seem very enthused in being there and nobody wanted to help in getting me to my connecting flight being I missed it due to the Hawaiian Airlines flight getting in late. Never again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteHonolulu to Sydney
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"totally unimpressed"

(United States)

Not Verified | Kona to Honolulu. My flight was cancelled but there was no one providing any information at the airport, no one assisting customers, no announcements of any kind period. We made a flight only from sheer luck. I met a man whose flight was cancelled the night before. His luggage was not returned to him and he had two young children. They spent the night in a small motel and were scheduled for an 11AM flight that was then also cancelled. No one was helping him. I am totally unimpressed with what we call customer service at Hawaiian Airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKona to Honolulu
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Don't bother with the bid up"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Honolulu to Los Angeles. Don't bother with the bid up. Did it but not worth it. Glad I ate before flight. They had 2 meals to choose from tofu and beef stew. The lie flat is great to experience but they have a long way to go with their meals. They are not a food allergy friendly airline. The ipads are great however in coach you have more options of things to watch
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteHonolulu to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst experience ever"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Honolulu to Maui. This was the worst experience ever. I will never fly with Hawaiian Airlines again and I think no one else should either. First off the employees are very rude. I was asking one AO some questions and he told me to go ask "questions at another gate". I was on standby all day until the last flight out and for the most part no one said anything throughout the process besides how many other people were on standby. One employee was so loud when speaking to the customers, almost as if she hated dealing with customer's but that's her job. My husband and I are employees of another airline we paid for our tickets but was told by the male employee who previously told me to go away that we were on the bottom of the list because we are employees of another airline and booked through our flight benefits. We were later told by really nice AO's something different. In the past I flew with many airlines and overall this is the worst experience Hawaiian Airlines did not even offer food vouchers to their customers. To whom every is thinking of flying with this company I suggest you think long and hard.
Aircraft717
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Maui
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"No logic!"

(United States)

Not Verified | Honolulu to Kahului . We were booked at 9:50pm and were at the gate early. We requested to take the 8:45pm flight instead and we had no checked in luggage. The 8:45pm flight wasn't full but we were denied. They said there are fees associated with the change. Really? I guess there isn't any more bending backwards for customers. No logic!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Kahului
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"staff were outstanding"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flew Las Vegas to Auckland via Honolulu June 26th 2018 and returned July 19, 2018. A wonderful experience on all sectors, the cabin staff were outstanding, and the flight deck were very informative on the conditions expected throughout the flight. Hawaiian music and videos welcomed us onboard, and set the mood for a very enjoyable flight. I usually travel Air New Zealand out of Los Angeles or San Francisco but decided to try Hawaiian as they fly out of Las Vegas. I am so glad I did and would like to thank all of the crew, both cabin and flight deck for a job well done! The only complaint is with Honolulu airport. It is certainly overdue for a complete overhaul.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLas Vegas to Auckland via Honolulu
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never had such a poor experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was beyond disappointed with Hawaiian Airlines. From the horrible customer service, rude flight attendants, planes that are so outdated and falling apart that nothing works on them. The terrible fees they charge. I left a carry on bag and when I tried to get a flight attendant from our flight to help me out with it I was met with a rude attitude and told I would just have to call the next day because she needed to meet her friend who was picking her up. When I asked if there was someone else she said there was no managers or staff or anyone in the entire airport that could help, I find that hard to believe considering the fact that our baggage hadn't even made it to baggage claim when I notified her that I left somthing behind. She made no effort to try to help at all and was clearly bothered by me even asking. The flight attendants on the plane weren't any friendlier either. When boarding the plane I was told my carry on wouldn't fit because this was a really old plane and the bins are small and hopefully my bags would make it cause that's reassuring. For the amount of money I spent to fly 7 people I would expect a lot more. I am doubtful I will get any help tomorrow regarding my carry on left behind. I have flown with many other airlines and never had such a poor experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Phoenix
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"only got offered $50 refund!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Las Vegas to Kahului via Honolulu. Their customer affairs department that handles issues is only accessible via on-line submission form, and they're just going to send you the same response, no matter whether it resolves your problem or not. If you call - they will tell you there is no way to talk to consumer affairs department, and just keep sending them messages. We boarded a plane and were sitting on the plane for 1.5 hrs with no idea of why we are not taking off. Nobody was able to give us any information on what kind of “issues” are those. We had to get off the plane and only after numerous inquiries and concerns raised one of the staff told us it was an issue with pilot’s communication system. 2 hours later from the original departure time, we boarded the plane again, and took off. The plane was freezing cold and I was told I have to purchase blankets if we’re cold, and they can’t change the temperature. Other people were freezing too, and there was nothing done about it. Additionally, there were electrical issues and our monitors weren’t working for a long time. They said we will all get unlimited entertainment package for our inconvenience, but it never happened. 20 min into the flight one of the passengers had medical issue. Within minutes this man collapsed in front of our eyes and they started performing CPR on him, alternating with oxygen mask. After the plane started flying back we got an announcement that it was turned around. Back at Honolulu we were waiting for at least another hour for all of the medical procedures, and police investigation, before we could get off the plane to switch the planes. By the gate we were told to wait in line for food vouchers and new seat assignments. It was chaos to say the least as all of us were trying to get food at only one restaurant that was opened by the gate. There was not enough fast food left after first batch of people went through it, and ordering food was impossible as they said they won’t be able to make enough for everyone in time. It was past 9pm at this point, and we have been traveling since 10am. We boarded a new plane which was an older plane and it was freezing again! And we were sitting on a plane for an hour with no announcements or letting us know what’s going on. Later they were waiting on a second pilot. Why were we rushed to get on the plane with no time to eat, if the pilot was not even there? Entertainment systems were still locked, and we got offered no comfort, drinks or anything after everything we have been thru. Back home, their luggage process got screwed up with mixing bags from different flights, and nobody from the staff knew what's going on. After all of that, we only got offered $50 refund! Absolutely ridiculous! And there is no way to talk to someone, and all we get is that consumer affairs approved $50 and good luck with that.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Kahului via Honolulu
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no