Vote Now  

Hawaiian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 283 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"kind service attitude"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew on Hawaiian Airlines flight HA897 from Honolulu to Beijing. I was very touched by the ground staff service. I am Chinese national (currently studying in Singapore) and my passport was stolen in Hilo. It was urgent to get back to China, get my new passport done before returning to Singapore, in order not to miss so lessons. However, there is no Chinese embassy in Hawaii. HA understood my special case scenario and allowed me to fly back to China without the original passport. In the airport, the HA ground staff as well as HNL airport ground staff were very kind and found a way to help. They took the initiative to contact the immigration checkpoint in both USA and China, they tried their best to let me board the aircraft. I was anxious about it and they consoled me and told me I would be fine. I managed to get back to China safe and sound. I'm was very impressed by the kind service attitude, otherwise, I would have to opt for a more troublesome way which is to fly 5 hours to LAX and visit the embassy there.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHNL to PEK
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"not an enjoyable experience"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew on Hawaiian Airlines flight HA137 from Kona to Honolulu. This airline uses the old B717 for all inter-island flights. Only water is served and the crews were very cold towards passengers. The announcement was unclear on this old aircraft. It's not an enjoyable experience but I would not say I don't recommend HA for this route, because the only airlines operate this route are HA and Island Air which are around the same standard.
AircraftBoeing 717-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKOA to HNL
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"I recommend Hawaiian Airlines"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Inter island flight from Honolulu to Hilo. This rather short flight is operated by a 20-year-old Boeing 717. The aircraft was old and there were no personal IFEs, but the seats were more comfortable than what I imagined. Only drinks were served on this short flight. But overall the experience was not bad, the check in, boarding process was smooth and the cabin crews were very helpful. HA offers 14 flights a day on this route. I recommend Hawaiian Airlines, especially to day trippers. As you can book a package tour, which gives you a one day return ticket from Honolulu and you can tour the volcano national park in Hilo.
AircraftBoeing 717-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Hilo
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"staff were constantly stubborn"

(New Zealand)

Honolulu to Auckland. My flight with Hawaiian Airlines was first of all delayed 2 hours, soon to be followed by constant 30 minute extra waits with no explanation given or this. After a final 2 hours waiting to hop on the plane (a total of 5 hours after the official departure time) we were told that a piece of motor was missing and the next available flight is in another 3 days. No information was given as to refunds or transfers, food vouchers or accommodation for people who are simply tourists in the country and have no money. Nothing at all, beyond this the staff were constantly stubborn and had no answers to any questions.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHNL to AKL
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"economy food of child-size portion"

(United States)

Loa Angeles to Sydney return via Honolulu. Efficient check-in and boarding. On-time departures and arrivals. Generally clean cabin and okay bathroom condition. Forced viewing of commercials Economy class food of child-size portion and poor quality; no choice for entrée; no tomato juice; breakfast verges on inedible. Long gap between dinner and breakfast on a 10-hour flight. Frequent announcements to promote transactions (snacks; credit card; duty-free, etc.). Very limited viewing selections which are exactly the same on every one of the four flights that I took. Aisle seats on the two sides have reduced leg rooms due to a power strip that runs under those seats.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to SYD via HNL
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no lounge access at LAX"

(United Kingdom)

Los Angeles to Honolulu. Dismal service and even in first class have to wait to 1 hour check in (only allowed 4 hours before the flight). There is no lounge access at LAX. Hawaiian Airlines need to learn how you do business and first class! What a joke. Ground staff are pretty miserable too.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLAX to HNL
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"good functional airline"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Honolulu to Sydney. Good functional airline to take you from point A to point B. Service was adequate but not to the same standards as Singapore Airlines, Emirates or Qantas. The food provided was minimal with just a chicken/rice dish option and a sandwich just prior to landing. Check-in was functional.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteHNL to SYD
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"ground staff more and more unfriendly

(Germany)

Verified Review | Kona to Kahului. I fly Hawaiian Airlines pretty often, the ground staff are getting more and more unfriendly. They fly the oldest planes in the industy. A good example what a lack of competition on some routes does to the overall motivation to provide a good service. I feel bad for those of the crew who try to provide a good service.
AircraftBoeing 717
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteKOA to OGG
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"not a very pleasant journey"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | Not a very pleasant journey with Hawaiian Airlines from New York to Honolulu. My 10 hour trip was very boring, since almost all entertainment (movies, tv shows, music) was provided only when extra money was paid (3.99$ or 7.99$ for movies). There was one very small meal at the beginning of the flight and an even smaller snack at the end of the flight. You had to pay extra for all alcoholic beverages (8$) and I even had to refill water myself numerous times, since flight attendands were mostly hanging out in the service area. The plane was comfortable enough and clean, but it was rather cold inside with no wifi.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to HNL
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a budget airline at best"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew Brisbane to Honolulu and return with Hawaiian Airlines. Flight out was very uncomfortable. When the person in front of you puts their seat back all the way it's very claustrophobic. This happened to me 5 mins after take off and I had to endure it for the whole flight. Seats too close together for long haul. We got a sandwich shortly after take off which was barely edible. Breakfast was scrambled egg potato cake and a rasher of bacon with tomato. I ate as I was so hungry but it wasn't good. The aircraft was 4 years old and was clean. The screens for the TVs are old. Singapore where using these screens 15 years ago. All in all not a very enjoyable flight. Return journey was even worse. Had to go back to concourse after taxiing out due to malfunction in air conditioning unit. Left to sit in aircraft for 1.5 hours and not even offered a drink of water. Aircraft was much older this time and very dirty. I could scrape black dirt off from around the TV screens. Crew looked a little scruffy I have to say but friendly enough. Food was pork with rice then a sandwich later in the flight. All in all was expecting much more from this airline. I would say this was a budget airline at best but then I think I would be doing a disservice to budget airlines.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHNL to BNE
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no