Top 100 Airlines  

Hawaiian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 273 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"meals were really nice"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Honolulu with Hawaiian Airlines. Flight HA451 seat 29J on a 1 year old Airbus A330-200 aircraft. Being an international flight your ticket price includes baggage, pre seat assignment, meals dinner and breakfast, drinks, entertainment, blanket, pillow and amenity kit with head phones. The seats have the usual economy class legroom and width which was okay for the 10 hour flight. The entertainment screens in the back of the seat were a nice size on the newer aircraft. Main streams movie choice is limited and somewhat dated but you can find easily find something to watch. Cabin service was friendly and efficient. There are 9 cabin crew on the aircraft which is less than Qantas so you do notice a slower response time to requests as the crew are busy. Meals were really nice, no choice but that was fine and really tasty. The tray was full with a salad, cheese and crackers and chocolate. Pictures below are of dinner and breakfast box. Drinks and then dinner service was right after takeoff while breakfast was 1.5 hours prior to landing. Maybe a little bit too long considering when dinner was served. Snacks can be purchased between meals. Overall a good flight and airline.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to HNL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"had a very pleasant experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | Our check-in process with Hawaiian Airlines was very easy. Had no trouble. We had decided to fly into Los Angeles to catch our first flight experience on Hawaiian. I've had awful experiences on American, Delta, and former US Airways. All were awful and had heard about the incredible flights with Hawaiian. Our needs were met and we were comfortable waiting for our 1.00pm departure to Maui. The flight was quite smooth. Quiet and comfortable. Our inflight meal was excellent. We were not expecting a meal service due to our previous experience with other US carriers. The crew and pilots were attentive and courteous. We had a very pleasant experience and vowed to never fly anyone else out to the islands. Hawaiian will have our business from this point onward. We only wish they flew in Texas where we can hop and enjoy a longer ride with Hawaiian.
AircraftA330-243
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLAX to OGG
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst airline with worst service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | The worst airline with the worst service I've encountered. We flew Sydney - Honolulu and paid extra for 'comfort class' seating to quickly realise none of the entertainment units worked so we ha to move. Waste of $$. Yesterday we set off to Sydney from Honolulu and 4 hours into the flight the captain tells us we are leaking fuel and we had to return to Honolulu. 8 hours later and back to Honolulu. Disembark and wait another hour for buses to arrive to pick us up, arrive at hotel and told they'll only pay for one nights accomodation - even though we can't get a flight for another 4 days. Given conflicting information by call centre and hung up on. Waste of time, money and ruined our holiday.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHNL to SYD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"generally poor service"

(United States)

Flew Hawaiian Airlines from Lihue to Honolulu. Generally poor service. Check-in at airport is unlike any other - a process so confusing and with so many restrictions that it would be comical were it not so stressful. Boarding process is a cattle call. Flight attendants are very nice and helpful, but the seating, refreshments, etc. are poor.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIH to HNL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"seat was comfortable"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Flight from Honolulu to Los Angeles with Hawaiian Airlines. Departure with some delay, but the plane was very clean and the seat was comfortable. Cabin crew always available and nice. Food was average. Only problem was the Inflight entertainment which was only available if you paid for it.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHNL to LAX
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"major let down was the food"

(United States)

Verified Review | Honolulu to Sydney and return Brisbane to Honolulu on Hawaiian Airlines. Both flights were on time. The cabin crew was somewhat friendly, seats were comfortable and the entertainment was good (AVOD with dozens of movies). The major let down was the food. The main meal on the HNL-SYD flight, served shortly after take-off and the only option (no choices), consisted of some overly sweet chicken dish and was barely edible. At the end of the flight to SYD we were served 2 sandwiches which tasted ok, certainly better than the first meal. On the overnight return segment BNE-HNL we only got a pack of mystery meat sandwiches which were truly disgusting plus some ok single-choice breakfast before landing. Additional snacks were available on the flights but had to be purchased. Hawaiian Airlines could be a great airline if they just got the food right. I flew on a really cheap ticket so I can't really complain but if I had to pay the regular price I'd rather fly another airline with similar prices.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHNL to SYD
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"very disappointed with the upgrade"

(United States)

Verified Review | The upgrade was $75.00 each way to Hawaii with my 79 year old mother for a funeral. Flew from Los Angeles to Honolulu. On the way to Hawaii my mother had to sit on the pillows because the seat was old and had no cushion left in it. We had no water or juice when we boarded. We had plenty of leg space because we were at the front of the upgraded seats in row 11, but the seat was not wider and did not have any extra arm space and did not lay back any further than a regular seat. The food was the same as the regular cabin, it was not upgraded. On the night flight we were given noodles with a red sauce, spinach, mushroom slices and cheese, nothing you would want to eat again. A small salad, and a cookie that was about 2"s long in the shape of a pineapple. On the same plastic tray as economy seats. On the morning flight on the way home was a cheese and egg sandwich that was inedible with some fruit and a chocolate covered macadamia nut. The latest movies you had to pay $7.99 each for, they are free on other upgraded flights with other airlines. I was very disappointed with the upgrade, they should be ashamed to have offered this service.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLAX to HNL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"we were less than impressed"

(Australia)

Verified Review | My partner and I decided to fly what Hawaiian Airlines call First Class for a 12 day vacation in Honolulu. Last year we traveled extensively around the world in Business Class with Korean Air and Qantas. Flat beds were the norm, with amazing service, plentiful quality meals and hot snacks, a wide variety of wines and a large entertainment library on both airlines. The only positive with Hawaiian Airlines was the fact that we were able to access the Qantas Business Lounge prior to departure out of Sydney as Qantas is the handling agent for Hawaiian. The Qantas Business Lounge is superb. Now back to Hawaiian Airlines, when we boarded, (seats 1A and 1B), we were less than impressed from the start. The seats were antiquated, with very little space between rows and with no electronic function. There was no locker for our jackets and upon seating we were handed a menu and asked immediately what our selection would be for dinner, not much time to peruse the menu but the selections seemed appetising. When the meals were delivered, on a tray, similar to most airlines economy class they were disappointing, small portions and the hot component on both different choices coming out lukewarm. We were offered red or white wines with no explanation of variety or country of origin. The snacks offered during the flight consisted of a small bag of crisps and a cookie. When I asked for a small bottle of water, I was asked by the Flight Attendant didn't I get one earlier in the flight, when I replied yes but I would like another they reluctantly gave me one. During the flight we discovered that the seats would only recliner a small amount, making the 10 hour journey most uncomfortable. We still encroached the space of the passengers behind us despite the limited pitch. My seat squeaked, and my partners leg rest would not function. Having spent a considerable amount of money, ($7500), on two return tickets we feel totally ripped off. Hawaiian Airlines First/Business Class is similar to most international carriers Economy Class. Do not waste your money on such an inferior product.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteSYD to HNL and return
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"excellent, friendly service"

(United Kingdom)

A long flight from New York JFK to Honolulu made less tedious by excellent, friendly service. Regular cabin offers of water, very important on such a long flight and with a smile. The "extra comfort" seat is not really premium economy, but offers extra legroom; that and power is really the only benefit. Three criticisms: Hawaiian makes much of the fact that it's the only US airline still offering comp food, true, but not great quality. The seat-belt sign was turned on at the slightest bump, then left on way, way after any turbulence was way behind us. Cockpit crew need reminding to turn off the sign. Excellent selection of classics and new movies, TV etc on the IFE, but touch screen not responsive (no other controller) and in-flight earphones a rip-off. Hawaiian should make it clearer that pax should bring their own.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteJFK to HNL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"dismayed by the poor service"

(Australia)

Honolulu to Kona. Check-in lines out the door, delayed baggage twice during our 3 days break and they won't take responsibility when they have done the wrong thing! We were recently dismayed by the poor service of Hawaiian Airlines during inter-island flights which we had booked as first class passengers. On the first from Honolulu to Kona we arrived from a flight from Australia and proceeded directly to the domestic flights area, queuing in the astonishing line for first class more than 20mins before it closed. I've never experienced a premium class service that had a queue as long with just two staff. When we arrived at the front of the queue there was still 10mins before closing time but one of the women serving walked away and a man came to take over and had to log in etc. This process took all the time remaining and not once did he look up and ask when our flight was. I regret not being more assertive at that point as the service was dismal. We then took our bags to the bag area and proceeded directly to the gate where we were told we shouldn't have been checked in and that our seats had been given away so we were now to be separated in economy seats. Not the end of the world, but laughable given the massive premium we had paid for first class tickets and not ideal given one of our companions was heavily pregnant and wanted to stay close to her husband. When we arrived on Kona we waited nearly 30minutes at the baggage carousel and after not seeing our bags, we enquired at the desk. Again we were told that because we were late (we were not, Hawaiian Airlines have a staff drought and inefficient processes) our bags weren't carried on the flight and so were arrived in Kona after 24 hours of travel with no clothes for another 3 hours! On the return flight we found the same lack of efficiency and even though we arrived more than an hour before the return flight from Kona to Honolulu, both My husband and I had our bags not arrive until the next flight. We had to wait in the airport again until the next flight arrived. Thank goodness we didn't have to get straight on another flight. We were not the only ones. It appears this is the Hawaiian Airlines way of doing business and it is 1 star. Even if you have paid for 5 star! And they say the best they can do is refund $70 of the ticket price.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteHNL to KOA
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no