Airline of the Year  

Hawaiian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 291 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"strength is in their hospitality"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Maui with Hawaiian Airlines. Happy to see a big improvement in the front cabin after a few years of decline. The newly designed cabin is randomly available on domestic routes, always available on certain routes and will be a standard in the next year. Although it seems like they spent as little as they could. Entertainment is via a large iPad attached to a pole that pulls out like a tray table. Odd but it's fine. The meal was quite good for domestic first class as well. The strength, when it is there is their bright light that can shine from Hawaiian people. Both attendants today were in the most Hawaiian way, gracious warm and great at their job. I hope it's a trend. Seats and entertainment matter but Hawaiians strength is in their hospitality. When it works, it's world class. When it's off you notice the less then great cabin. One more thing and it's big. No Wi-Fi and no plans. Big mistake, bad calculation on their part.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteSan Francisco to Maui
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"pay $80 more to sit together"

(United States)

Verified Review | Maui to Seattle. Bought tickets 5 months for me and my wife. While checking in 24 hrs in advance I get a seat assigned and my wife does not. They were under airport control. Reached gate 90 mins before departure and we were asked to either take last row or pay $80 more per ticket to be able to sit together. Seriously? 15 years of flying and this is the first time. Airline food overall is average but Hawaiian airlines has below average food. It will ruin your Hawaiian experience - also they don't allow you to use wireless headphones, so you are forced to buy their earphones.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMaui to Seattle
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"it is the worst airline"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Honolulu to Sydney. For me it is the worst airline. I had trouble to use the self service check in machine in the Honolulu. The customer service officer yelled out useless instructions as I am a kid making a mistake in the classroom. She was not even bothered to walk 5 steps down to have a look. When I eventually got the instruction to go to the counter for check in. I asked to keep the original seats but the guy said no seat left and give me two seats in the middle "D" in row 36 and 38" regardless my mother is 80 non English speaking and I need going to bathroom as the health issue. And later I rang the head office the reply was classic " I am sorry for your experience this time and hope you fly with us again" the no matter what you said it was a long silent. After this do you think I will fly with this junk again?
Aircraft A330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Sydney
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"poorly run, unreliable, unresponsive"

(United States)

Verified Review | Honolulu to Sacramento. This packed flight left more than two hours late because of a mechanical problem, arriving in Sacramento after midnight rather than 9:55 pm. We eventually were told, after takeoff, that the delay had something to do with the brakes. But we were kept in the dark until then. In the air, finally, we were told by way of apology that adults could have white or red wine without charge. But when I asked for white wine I was poured maybe two ounces - considerably less than half of one of those small plastic cups. We were also told that, also by way of apology, that after (so-called) dinner the movie Moana would be shown to the entire plane on the public screens and via loudspeakers. This two-hour kids' movie was thusly imposed on everyone who didn't have a noise-canceling headset. I've flown this route on Hawaiian a number of times because Hawaiian is the only carrier that does it nonstop. I've come to detest Hawaiian as a result. It is poorly run, unreliable, unresponsive, expensive, penny-pinching, and self-regarding. Stay away if you can.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Sacramento
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"She went above and beyond"

(United States)

Verified Review | I recently flew from Oakland to Honolulu and had the best flying experience ever! I give 100% credit to an amazing Flight Attendant. When we first got seated, there was a gentlemen who had taken a seat that was reserved for another customer. The gentlemen wanted to sit closer to his family who was in the middle isle but the customer who purchased a seat on the isle did so because she was breast feeding and had to pump during the flight and wanted easy access to and from the bathroom. The gentlemen sat in her seat and rudely wouldn't move. The FA noticed what had happened and did an amazing job resolving the situation for the customer who rightfully purchased her seat for accessibility. She did so in a very professional manner. Later in the flight the same FA asked if my wife and I had been to Hawaii before and we shared that this was our first trip. We explained that we had been trying to go for 18 years. We asked her for local recommendations and she later came back with a personal list that she created which today we spent the day visiting many of the destinations she recommended and candidly made our trip the best trip ever. As a Director of Sales for a large organization, I am constantly working with my staff to focus on the customer and deliver awesome customer experiences. Today, this FA made my wife and I huge promoters of Hawaiian Airlines. She went above and beyond to serve customers and did an awesome job doing so!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOakland to Oahu
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"experience ruined"

(United States)

Verified Review | Will not fly with Hawaiian Airlines again. Booked day flight specifically for views between Kauai and Maui, they changed us from a window seat to the last row even though we booked and confirmed a month ago. This is the flight I was most looking forward to in the islands, experience ruined. Took forever to board, had to wait for another Hawaiian air flight to depart for 30 min on tarmac despite arriving on time. You have other options nowadays, take them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKauai to Kahului
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I would definitely fly them again"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was my first time flying with Hawaiian Airlines so I was very excited. It was a short, inter-island flight from Honolulu to Kahului. We departed on time and were in the air for only about 15 minutes. This meant that their was no in-flight entertainment but that was expected and it didn't pose any kind of problem because the view outside the window was enough entertainment for me! The flight was most enjoyable. The cabin crew was very kind and friendly. They passed out water or juice but also took requests from passengers if they wanted a different beverage. They also handed out a travel guide of Maui with a map and a list of activities to do. I had never experienced this on another airline so this was very touching. Landing was very smooth despite the wind and turbulence. I was very impressed! This was very good experience and if I ever return to Hawaii I would definitely fly them again!
AircraftBoeing 717
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Kahului
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"We'll never fly them again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to Honolulu. Terrible customer service. I accidentally booked my wife's ticket under her maiden name. They wouldn't let us change the name on the ticket. They forced us to purchase a new ticket and cancel the old one, the price difference was $750 (they will let you change a single letter for $200). What a scam. She almost missed her flight (her daughter was already on the flight). Basically they robbed us. Awful people, awful airline. We'll never fly them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Honolulu
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"kind service attitude"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew on Hawaiian Airlines flight HA897 from Honolulu to Beijing. I was very touched by the ground staff service. I am Chinese national (currently studying in Singapore) and my passport was stolen in Hilo. It was urgent to get back to China, get my new passport done before returning to Singapore, in order not to miss so lessons. However, there is no Chinese embassy in Hawaii. HA understood my special case scenario and allowed me to fly back to China without the original passport. In the airport, the HA ground staff as well as HNL airport ground staff were very kind and found a way to help. They took the initiative to contact the immigration checkpoint in both USA and China, they tried their best to let me board the aircraft. I was anxious about it and they consoled me and told me I would be fine. I managed to get back to China safe and sound. I'm was very impressed by the kind service attitude, otherwise, I would have to opt for a more troublesome way which is to fly 5 hours to LAX and visit the embassy there.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHNL to PEK
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"not an enjoyable experience"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew on Hawaiian Airlines flight HA137 from Kona to Honolulu. This airline uses the old B717 for all inter-island flights. Only water is served and the crews were very cold towards passengers. The announcement was unclear on this old aircraft. It's not an enjoyable experience but I would not say I don't recommend HA for this route, because the only airlines operate this route are HA and Island Air which are around the same standard.
AircraftBoeing 717-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKOA to HNL
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes