Vote Airport  

Hawaiian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 262 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"limited inflight entertainment"

(United States)

Economy from Papeete to Honolulu with Hawaiian Airlines. Not impressed with Hawaiian's service on this medium-haul, international red-eye flight. Limited inflight entertainment was available for purchase. Dinner consisted of a small sandwich and a cookie. There was no meal choice, so those with dietary restrictions were out of luck (myself included). I was also surprised that no breakfast was offered prior to landing in Honolulu. Of course, there were also no amenity kits. Flight attendants were approachable, but they were definitely not polished professionals.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePPT to HNL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"food was pathetic"

(United States)

New York JFK to Honolulu with Hawaiian Airlines, who are slightly above average for an American carrier, but far from a five star carrier. All flights on-time, staff were approachable, and the planes were clean. Unfortunately, there were no free films or games available on the long-haul flight. The airline boasts about being the only US carrier to offer free meals on domestic flights, but the food was pathetic. I've had better food on short-haul flight within Asia. There's also no meal choice, so you're out of luck if you can't eat what they offer.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to HNL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"terrible 767 aircraft"

(United States)

I flew this terrible 767 aircraft from San Jose to Honolulu. As I live in Hawaii I have no choice but to fly with Hawaiian Airlines. My whole family is Pualani gold. We only fly hawaiian Airlines and United. This is one of our first time flying the old 767 since the fleet got pretty much replaced by the A330. It was acceptable. The cabin was old and the food was not that great. but Hawaiian struggles in their early morning meals. The iPads have never had recent covers either. And we werent able to use our membership to buy the iPads either.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSJC to HNL
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"not a memorable service"

(New Zealand)

Auckland to New York via Honolulu with Hawaiian Airlines and there were no delays, and airport staff were pleasant. The standard of food was not as good as other airlines and there was no choice. Was advised the journey was full service and had expected the 11 hour flight from Hawaii to New York would come with entertainment included. It did not. You have to pay for movies and earphones, by credit card (no cash). Baggage handlers managed to damage 2 bags from our party of 3 and were not interested when this was reported. Cabin was clean, movies even though advertised as latest releases were dated. I feel this is important on long haul flights. Cabin crew were ok, and frequently offered water but it was not a memorable service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to JFK via HNL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"mileage program is awful"

(United States)

Kauai to JFK via Honolulu. We are a family of 4 and took advantage of the Hawaiian credit card/mileage offer and God forbid we chose to use the miles we earned! Stay away from this offer it is the most expensive in terms of mileage usage. It is the most inflexible if you should need to make even the slightest change. If you are a mileage customer the staff treat you like a criminal. I could go on. It is too bad the equipment and onboard crew are good, while the front office policies are archaic, the web site is very clunky not easy to use and if you make the mistake of trying to speak to someone over the phone you will age as you wait - and when you do reach an agent it is frustrating. In short find another mileage program this one is awful and is an unfortunate detractor to a wonderful Hawaii experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIH to JFK via HNL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"was very disappointed"

(Australia)

Honolulu to Sydney with Hawaiian Airlines, and I would not recommend, and will not be flying Hawaiian again. The plane is not very comfortable and the check in staff are not very helpful. They did not offer any kind of assistance for travelling with kids. It made for a very unplesent flight especially when travelling with children like we were. I was very dissapointed, Jetstar provides better service!
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHNL to SYD
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"went above and beyond"

(United States)

After a 5 week vacation in Australia my wife and I returned to Alaska via Hawaiian Airlines flight from Brisbane to Honolulu. Several days earlier she suffered severe sunburn on her feet, and as we were checking in the Hawaiian Airlines staff offered her a wheelchair and allowed us to board first. The A330-200 was clean, aromatic tropical scent in the cabin air, nice island music was playing and they had mood lighting. The flight attendants went above and beyond to assist us. The inflight entertainment was free, food was hot. Seats were over the wing right side, 27H/J it was a 2-4-2 configuration. Though they were economy there plenty of leg room, but aisles are narrow though. Upon arrival in Honolulu were were escorted through all checkpoints and ferried to baggage clain by a valet. I cannot praise enough the Hawaiian staff.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to HNL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no lie-flat beds"

(United States)

Hawaiian Airlines apparently hasn't purchased a new plane in 5 years. They have no idea that the rest of the airline world accommodates first class customers in actual comfort during overnight flights. We had high hopes for this flight, having never flown Hawaiian Air before. We started out on a good note with their signature drink - Pukana La, which is champagne, pineapple juice and grenadine. Our flight was 8 hours, departing just past midnight, and I envisioned the typical amenities we're accustomed to on overnight flights. To our great surprise upon boarding, there were no lie-flat beds or personal seating compartments. The narrow seats didn't even have electronic controls. We had to manually adjust the recline (minimal) and the foot rest (pathetic), which didn't elevate. The seats were something out of the dark ages. Sleep was painful, almost impossible. Attendants handed out cheap headphones that hurt my ears, while other airlines are providing Bose now. The inflight entertainment is littered with ads that you must watch each time you choose another movie or TV show. It's not enough they're charging a fortune to fly, but now you have to watch ads too. They shut off in-flight entertainment half an hour before landing, ridiculous. Some allow video to continue right through landing. Hawaiian Air switches you to a 30-minute music video promoting Hawaiian musicians (entitled HISessions), after they take away your earphones. Whose ingenius idea was that? We were absolutely freezing the entire trip. It didn't help that the blanket provided was wimpy. I kept a coat on during the entire flight. The attendants were all turning blue. The overnight kit was cheap - cheap earplugs that didn't stay in, cheap eye mask that didn't keep light out, cheap thin socks (which I had to wear over my own socks to avert frozen feet). The food was horrific. Salmon omelet? Good grief, who eats fish in an omelet? And fishy tasting salmon, no less. Greasy, cold chicken sausage and rubbery potatoes for sides. Ugh. The first class cabin on Hawaiian Airlines might equal Economy Plus on the better airlines. Even the uniforms are awful. Drab gray pants, with blue floral shirts that don't match. What were they thinking? The only saving grace on this flight were two flight attendants who did their very best to make our flight bearable, despite miserable conditions in a prehistoric plane. Never again will we fly Hawaiian Airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteAuckland to Honolulu
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service is worse than non-existent"

(United States)

Flew PHX to KOA via HNL with Hawaiian Airlines. The plane left 3 hours late as the engine was broken and they were fixing it. I had a 1 hour layover in Honolulu and therefore would miss my connection to Kona. I spoke to the Hawaiian Airlines agent at the gate and told him I would book a later flight with my smartphone. He told me not to do that as Hawaiian was going to book new flights for all passengers with a connecting flight and my doing it myself would mess everything up. When we arrived at Honolulu, the plane pulled off the runway and stopped. The crew said we would have to be towed into the terminal. The crew then told all passengers that we should get off at gate 52 and there would be a shuttle waiting to take the passengers with connections to the interisland terminal. We were then to go to gate 56 where Hawaiian Airlines personnel would be waiting to take care of our connecting flights. There was no shuttle waiting. A shuttle going the other direction stopped and the driver asked what we were doing. We told him and he said no shuttle was scheduled to meet us but that he would turn around and take us to the Interisland terminal. When we got to the interisland terminal and went to gate 56 there were no Hawaiian Airlines personnel anywhere. After waiting a while, one of the other passengers said she was going to go look for help. We got new tickets and finally got to Kona. Passenger service is worse than non-existent. We go to Hawaii every year and this is the 4th time Hawaiian has messed us about, the 5th time was when we came back from this trip. We're done with Hawaiian permanently.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePHX to KOA via HNL
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"service was also outstanding"

(United States)

I flew Hawaiian Airlines from Los Angeles to Kahului return on a week-long Hawaiian holiday with my wife, our 2 young sons and my parents. We booked our seats in what HA calls "premium economy" which is actually the same seating as economy but with more legroom, priority boarding and complimentary meal service. We booked a centre row (4 abreast) and a window row (2 abreast) at a fare that was significantly less than that of the competition's premium economy fares. The aircraft on the outbound sector was a 3 year-old A330-200 that was clean and in good condition, and the inbound sector was a 4.5 year-old A330-200 that was in equally good condition. Each seat has its own IFE monitor with a decent array of programmes. The food is actually not bad, and excellent by airline food standards. The service was also outstanding - Hawaiian and Virgin America have by far the friendliest and most efficient cabin service, not at all like that of the unionised drones that work Delta, American and United. Both flights were on time. If you're flying to/from Hawaii, Hawaiian Airlines is definitely your best choice.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLAX to OGG
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes