Top 100 Airlines  

Hawaiian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 265 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"excellent, friendly service"

(United Kingdom)

A long flight from New York JFK to Honolulu made less tedious by excellent, friendly service. Regular cabin offers of water, very important on such a long flight and with a smile. The "extra comfort" seat is not really premium economy, but offers extra legroom; that and power is really the only benefit. Three criticisms: Hawaiian makes much of the fact that it's the only US airline still offering comp food, true, but not great quality. The seat-belt sign was turned on at the slightest bump, then left on way, way after any turbulence was way behind us. Cockpit crew need reminding to turn off the sign. Excellent selection of classics and new movies, TV etc on the IFE, but touch screen not responsive (no other controller) and in-flight earphones a rip-off. Hawaiian should make it clearer that pax should bring their own.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteJFK to HNL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"dismayed by the poor service"

(Australia)

Honolulu to Kona. Check-in lines out the door, delayed baggage twice during our 3 days break and they won't take responsibility when they have done the wrong thing! We were recently dismayed by the poor service of Hawaiian Airlines during inter-island flights which we had booked as first class passengers. On the first from Honolulu to Kona we arrived from a flight from Australia and proceeded directly to the domestic flights area, queuing in the astonishing line for first class more than 20mins before it closed. I've never experienced a premium class service that had a queue as long with just two staff. When we arrived at the front of the queue there was still 10mins before closing time but one of the women serving walked away and a man came to take over and had to log in etc. This process took all the time remaining and not once did he look up and ask when our flight was. I regret not being more assertive at that point as the service was dismal. We then took our bags to the bag area and proceeded directly to the gate where we were told we shouldn't have been checked in and that our seats had been given away so we were now to be separated in economy seats. Not the end of the world, but laughable given the massive premium we had paid for first class tickets and not ideal given one of our companions was heavily pregnant and wanted to stay close to her husband. When we arrived on Kona we waited nearly 30minutes at the baggage carousel and after not seeing our bags, we enquired at the desk. Again we were told that because we were late (we were not, Hawaiian Airlines have a staff drought and inefficient processes) our bags weren't carried on the flight and so were arrived in Kona after 24 hours of travel with no clothes for another 3 hours! On the return flight we found the same lack of efficiency and even though we arrived more than an hour before the return flight from Kona to Honolulu, both My husband and I had our bags not arrive until the next flight. We had to wait in the airport again until the next flight arrived. Thank goodness we didn't have to get straight on another flight. We were not the only ones. It appears this is the Hawaiian Airlines way of doing business and it is 1 star. Even if you have paid for 5 star! And they say the best they can do is refund $70 of the ticket price.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteHNL to KOA
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"they are pretty clueless"

(United States)

Flew Hawaiian Airlines from Hilo - Honolulu return, to pick up another flight. We have no choice when it comes to leaving this Island than to fly HA. Over the years, I have seen an improvement in ground handling and paying for Premier Club does mean Hilo airport is a little more acceptable: the flight to HNL is fast and straightforward. Returning is where Old Style HA comes into it's own. Returning from Japan, there is a need to recheck baggage and get boarding passes. It appears that is too much effort for ground staff. Yes, clicking to print a pass, instead they want you to go to another desk and when you do finally board, old style FAs are so full of having a job they do not care a bit about "Customers". In short inter Island, the minimal, begrudged service can be coped with for such short flights (and no other real choice) but I will never use them to fly further afield, they are pretty clueless.
AircraftBoeing 717
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteITO to HNL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"limited inflight entertainment"

(United States)

Economy from Papeete to Honolulu with Hawaiian Airlines. Not impressed with Hawaiian's service on this medium-haul, international red-eye flight. Limited inflight entertainment was available for purchase. Dinner consisted of a small sandwich and a cookie. There was no meal choice, so those with dietary restrictions were out of luck (myself included). I was also surprised that no breakfast was offered prior to landing in Honolulu. Of course, there were also no amenity kits. Flight attendants were approachable, but they were definitely not polished professionals.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePPT to HNL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"food was pathetic"

(United States)

New York JFK to Honolulu with Hawaiian Airlines, who are slightly above average for an American carrier, but far from a five star carrier. All flights on-time, staff were approachable, and the planes were clean. Unfortunately, there were no free films or games available on the long-haul flight. The airline boasts about being the only US carrier to offer free meals on domestic flights, but the food was pathetic. I've had better food on short-haul flight within Asia. There's also no meal choice, so you're out of luck if you can't eat what they offer.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to HNL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"terrible 767 aircraft"

(United States)

I flew this terrible 767 aircraft from San Jose to Honolulu. As I live in Hawaii I have no choice but to fly with Hawaiian Airlines. My whole family is Pualani gold. We only fly hawaiian Airlines and United. This is one of our first time flying the old 767 since the fleet got pretty much replaced by the A330. It was acceptable. The cabin was old and the food was not that great. but Hawaiian struggles in their early morning meals. The iPads have never had recent covers either. And we werent able to use our membership to buy the iPads either.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSJC to HNL
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"not a memorable service"

(New Zealand)

Auckland to New York via Honolulu with Hawaiian Airlines and there were no delays, and airport staff were pleasant. The standard of food was not as good as other airlines and there was no choice. Was advised the journey was full service and had expected the 11 hour flight from Hawaii to New York would come with entertainment included. It did not. You have to pay for movies and earphones, by credit card (no cash). Baggage handlers managed to damage 2 bags from our party of 3 and were not interested when this was reported. Cabin was clean, movies even though advertised as latest releases were dated. I feel this is important on long haul flights. Cabin crew were ok, and frequently offered water but it was not a memorable service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to JFK via HNL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"mileage program is awful"

(United States)

Kauai to JFK via Honolulu. We are a family of 4 and took advantage of the Hawaiian credit card/mileage offer and God forbid we chose to use the miles we earned! Stay away from this offer it is the most expensive in terms of mileage usage. It is the most inflexible if you should need to make even the slightest change. If you are a mileage customer the staff treat you like a criminal. I could go on. It is too bad the equipment and onboard crew are good, while the front office policies are archaic, the web site is very clunky not easy to use and if you make the mistake of trying to speak to someone over the phone you will age as you wait - and when you do reach an agent it is frustrating. In short find another mileage program this one is awful and is an unfortunate detractor to a wonderful Hawaii experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIH to JFK via HNL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"was very disappointed"

(Australia)

Honolulu to Sydney with Hawaiian Airlines, and I would not recommend, and will not be flying Hawaiian again. The plane is not very comfortable and the check in staff are not very helpful. They did not offer any kind of assistance for travelling with kids. It made for a very unplesent flight especially when travelling with children like we were. I was very dissapointed, Jetstar provides better service!
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHNL to SYD
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"went above and beyond"

(United States)

After a 5 week vacation in Australia my wife and I returned to Alaska via Hawaiian Airlines flight from Brisbane to Honolulu. Several days earlier she suffered severe sunburn on her feet, and as we were checking in the Hawaiian Airlines staff offered her a wheelchair and allowed us to board first. The A330-200 was clean, aromatic tropical scent in the cabin air, nice island music was playing and they had mood lighting. The flight attendants went above and beyond to assist us. The inflight entertainment was free, food was hot. Seats were over the wing right side, 27H/J it was a 2-4-2 configuration. Though they were economy there plenty of leg room, but aisles are narrow though. Upon arrival in Honolulu were were escorted through all checkpoints and ferried to baggage clain by a valet. I cannot praise enough the Hawaiian staff.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to HNL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes