Top 100 Airlines  

Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 109 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"attentive service, comfortable seats "

(United States)

Verified Review | Beijing to San Jose with Hainan Airlines. Attentive service, comfortable seats and clean lavatories. Food and drink selection slightly above average for business class. The Chinese Government rule banning mobile phones (even for listening to music, reading a book or taking photos) is enforced. Entertainment system very difficult to use.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePEK to SJC
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"staff nice and food okay"

(Taiwan)

Verified Review | Taipei to Beijing return, and my first time experience with Hainan Airlines. Both flights on time. Staff nice and food okay, filling but not spectacular cuisine. Check-in staff in Taipei weren't sure which airlines were mileage plan partners. Plane was a bit worn and armrests dirty. The temporary handling agent lounge in PEK is in a 1995 time warp.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTPE to PEK
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"crew disappeared between meals"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | This flight from Prague to Beijing was operated by a dated Boeing 767-300 aircraft. Old seats in economy with very limited recline. The entertainment system that was out of order. Onboard magazines only in Chinese. The use of mobile devices in airplane mode is prohibited by Chinese government regulations. Both meals consisted of rice with meat, brown sauce and frozen vegetables and rather bland and greasy. No drinks offered outside meal times. Only water and crackers available from the galley. Crew did not seem interested in providing good service and disappeared between meals. Lavatories were not very clean. During the entire flight a cold draft was coming from one of the emergency exit doors just in front of seat 47A. Boarding was at a remote stand, as Beijing Terminal 2 only has a small number of jetways. About 10 minutes on a very crowded bus, with airport staff shouting at passengers - mainly Chinese tour groups. Departure about an hour late, arrival 35 minutes late.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePRG to PEK
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"I would recommend Hainan Airlines"

(United States)

Verified Review | My family had a great trip on Hainan Airlines from Boston to Shanghai Pudong. Thrilled that they introduced this non-stop flight saving hours on the total journey to China. I really enjoyed and prefer the Boeing 787 compared to the 777-300ER. Fast Boarding/deplaning since the plane is much smaller than the 777-300ER, especially the number of economy seats (only 177 on Hainan compared with say Emirates long haul 777-300 ER at 304). The larger windows and what appeared to be more efficient overhead bins/higher curved ceilings made the cabin feel more open and less claustrophobic. The 3x3x3 seating while not ideal is much better than a 3x4x3 on the 777-300 for long haul. I paid $750 roundtrip, I found the seats pretty comfortable with enough legroom. The economy seat actually reclined pretty far back. Which makes it a bit difficult when the passenger in front has reclined, but nonetheless easier for sleeping. I think the 787 seats are a bit shorter as well, so there is an adjustment to pull the headrest up if you are taller. Cabin crew for the most part were extremely helpful. However, I felt they were a bit more amateur than some airlines, possibly because they were generally on the younger side. Agreed with some other comments about the lack of English, but didn't find this a problem. They cleaned the bathrooms regularly throughout the flight. I thought the food generally was pretty good. I love that they give the option to pre-select a low calorie or fruit platter option for no cost. In addition, they set up a little spread in the back of the plane with all sorts of beverages and snacks so one could help themselves at any time. They came around plenty of times with water and tea. Ask for "Bing Shui" or ice water because typically the Chinese prefer water hot. I thought the inflight entertainment was lacking a bit. The TV options and movies while plentiful fell a bit short of other 5 star airlines. The touch screen was also a bit unresponsive and slow. Overall I would recommend Hainan Airlines especially for service to mainland China. They are expanding quickly to unique destinations. I loved the 787 and believe it is a great option for long haul.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOS to PVG
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the experience is excellent"

(Thailand)

Bangkok to Haikou return is a good journey. Hainan Airlines seems to be the only one operating flight on this route. The ticket is not so expensive and the experience is excellent, especially the cabin service. I like the Chinese meal on board as well. It is the real traditional Hainan noodle and tastes fine, not just like a fast food from oven. The airplane was a Boeing 737 with no inflight entertainment. Considering a 2 hours' trip, it is ok for me.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAK to BKK
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"was a happy journey"

(China)

Shanghai to Seattle with Hainan Airlines, and all things are nice and it was a happy journey. The meals provided were abundant. The seat was very comfortable and let me have a good rest. The inflight entertainment in the cabin is ok too, but they do not have wifi in flight at the moment.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePVG to SEA
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"definitely fly Hainan again"

(United States)

This Hainan Airlines flight was excellent and arrived early. All the flight attendants were very pleasant and helpful - I saw one of them actually tuck a guy in (you'd think you actually only saw that in the commercials). The cabin was relatively clean, and unlike other airlines, it seems like the flight attendants regularly refreshed the toilets so that it never smelt. Food was ok, and there were snacks readily available in the galley. I'm not a big fan of the side by side configuration of business class seats - prefer the solo (1x2x1) seats Hainan Airlines has on other aircraft. But on this Boeing 787 there's plenty of room, and the seats are lie-flat. TV screen is not angled properly, when you're reclined, so a bit of a strain to watch TV while lying down. The inflight duty free is limited, so if you're bringing gifts home, buy it at the airport. Definitely would fly Hainan again! In fact, already booked for my next business trip, even if the plane is different. (A330 next time vs 787 last time).
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSEA to PEK
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"cabin crew was very kind"

(Canada)

My flight from Beijing to Toronto with Hainan Airlines was great. The food and the seats were nice, the cabin was clean and washrooms are tidy. The cabin crew was very kind. Hainan Airlines is a great airline to fly with. The inflight entertainment is fun to watch with great games.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePEK to YYZ
Date FlownMay 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"very good, very punctual"

(Kazakhstan)

The Hainan Airlines flight from Almaty to Sanya was very good, very punctual. The all-round services in the plane, flight attendant service staff were very warm. So our family is very happy to go to Sanya, next year we will continue to chose holiday with Hainan Airlines.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteALA to SYX
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"really a nice journey"

(Czech Republic)

I took Hainan Airlines return flights from Prague to Beijing. The flight attendants are really beautiful and offered real enthusiasm and were helpful. The food and beverages served onboard the flights are delicious. Even though I was travelling in economy class, the seat is comfortable. The Boeing 767 was very stable during the whole flight, and really a nice journey.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePEK to PRG
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes