Vote Now  

Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 164 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"I would recommend this airline"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I flew Hainan Airlines from Sydney to Changsha in Business class on an A330. Boarding was quick and plane departed and arrived on time. The food and wine list had many choices the service was excellent, clean toilets during the whole flight. The seat is very comfortable too. I would recommend this airline to everyone!
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Changsha
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Service is second to none"

(China)

Verified Review | Beijing to Chicago. Very pleasant experience overall. Air fare is reasonable. Food is great with lots of choices. Service is second to none. The airplane is new and in excellent condition. The seat is comfortable and it lays down to a flat bed. The flight is on time (actually arrived 30 minutes earlier). Will definitely fly Hainan Airlines again!
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBeijing to Chicago
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"was smooth and delightful"

(Canada)

Verified Review | March 14th from Beijing to Calgary. The flight was on time and it was a nice experience. Can't complain. Everything was smooth and delightful. The entertainment system was easy to use and with lot of selections. I took some other airlines before such as Air Canada, Air China, but Hainan Airlines is the best! Thanks for all the crew members. Highly recommended.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Calgary
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"had the best service"

(China)

Verified Review | Boston to Beijing on a Boeing 787-9. Hainan Airlines always had the best service. The flight attendants are very helpful, when I needed hot water they got it right way for me. The seat was very comfortable for a long hours of flight. The bathroom was very clean and the attendants did a very nice job to keep it clean.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Beijing
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I was happy with all aspects"

(Israel)

Verified Review | Tel Aviv to Beijing return. This was my first experience of Hainan Airlines. I was happy with all aspects - great cabin crew, clean plane, very good meal service, good entertainment options. asked to move my seat and was immediately helped by the crew. An excellent airline I'm happy to fly again.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTel Aviv to Beijing
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

2comfortable and pleasant"

(China)

Verified Review | San Jose, US to Beijing, China by Hainan Airlines. The aircraft, which is a new Boing 787 dreamliner, is very good and fantastic looking. The service is tender and nice, with unlimited food supply and drink. The cabin staff is friendly and pretty. The flight is comfortable and pleasant.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose to Beijing
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service is pretty good"

(United States)

Verified Review | Beijing to Seattle. I can have 2 free check-in bags, 23kg each. Most other airlines only allow 1 free check-in bag. Hainan Airlines provide many drink choices and pretty good food for dinner and breakfast through a 10 hour flight. Their service is pretty good and the ticket price is the best from my personal experience. Another reminder is that phone is not allowed in Chinese airlines. So bringing a book is a good idea. It was nice trip with good cost.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Seattle
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"inflight service was exemplary"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I flew Hainan Airlines for the first time on a recent business trip from Toronto to Shanghai via Beijing, and the experience exceeded my expectations. The inflight service was exemplary on all legs of the trip and the ground transportation provided to and from the airports was easy to book and a very nice touch. The trip was excellent value and I'm glad I gave Hainan Airlines a try over the typical North American offerings. Only complaint was that the fare policies posted on the online booking service that I used was ambiguous about change fees, which was a headache solved by an inadvertent delay of an outbound flight. All airlines should make sure that their fare rules are accurately and clearly posted with agents that they use.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteShanghai to Toronto via Beijing
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew were professional, polite"

(United States)

Verified Review | Beijing to Seattle was the first long-haul flight with Hainan Airlines for me. The check-in procedure kept me waiting in line for half an hour. Only 3 counters opened for 250+ economy passengers. The A330-300 aircraft is well-equipped with touch-screen personal entertainment system, but no WiFi on board. The movies and TV shows are not very rich but can kill lots of time when flying. The seat space is on average level. One lunch was provided in 1 hr after take off, one light meal delivered 2hrs before arrival. Snacks, sandwiches and drinks are available in kitchen between meals. The cabin crew confirmed with me for pre-ordered special meals after seated. The seafood special meal was beyond my expectation. Blanket, cushion and amenities bag (including eye mask, toothbrush…) were provided. The temperature in cabin was slightly cold when cruising, but back to normal before arrival at Seattle. The cabin crew were professional, polite and quick-response. The crews made their round in cabin with water and snacks about 1-2 hr. during cruising. In a short, the experience was not perfect but still good enough to let me consider Hainan Airlines as a major option for China-US flights.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Seattle
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew friendly and helpful"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Beijing to Berlin. Nice, smooth flight. Cabin crew friendly and helpful. Paid 600 RMB for an exit row seat, and at the counter you can pay only in cash, not credit card. Check in otherwise was fast and efficient. The food ran out of choice for the second meal and was not tasty. Cabin clean and neat, everything worked, only the toilet I used need more care during the flight. Also unusual for a Chinese airline, the wine was tasty!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Berlin
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes