Airline of the Year  

Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 190 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"it was a good experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | Tokyo Haneda to San Jose via Beijing. I have flown quite a bit and was curious to try out a 5-star Chinese airline. The ticket was a good deal and I had the chance to have a few hours in Beijing during my layover. The check-in process was uneventful, as was boarding. The in-flight experience is where this airline stood out. The entertainment options were above average, and especially good if you like foreign films. The blanket was especially large, which was welcome. However, the most impressive thing about this airline was the efficiency of the in-flight service. It was pretty amazing how they managed to serve food and drink to hundreds of people so quickly. Speaking of food, it was horrible. I was looking forward to having something better than what you get these days on airlines, but with some authentic Chinese flavor. Granted, horrible means merely below average in the context of airline food. But I think if they stepped up their game here, they could really stand out as an airline. Overall, it was a good experience. I actually managed to sleep a bit on the plane and felt well-fed and hydrated when I landed. I would definitely fly this airline again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to San Jose via Beijing
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"very good flight experience "

(China)

Verified Review | Beijing to Seattle. The aircraft is very clean. The cabin staff onboard the flight are very nice. They provide very good service that overpass your expectation. The on board entertainment is rich in its resourse and give you a very good flight experience indeed.
AircraftAirbus330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Seattle
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"well trained and service oriented team"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Moscow to Beijing. From Berlin to Moscow I was booked on Mongolian Airline which was delayed. Due to delay my lagguage (2 pcs) could not be transfereed to my Hainan Airlines flight. After running to gate I explained my situation and I met a very kind guy from Hainan airline who offered his help and called several numbers to find a solution or at least further information. He treated me very well and provided contact details for lost or delayed luggage as well his contact phone numbers. After arrival in Beijing I got further details about the current status so at least I felt a bit better. After registration procedure etc. I just got some papers but nothing else. He contacted me many times after, provided useful help and Hainan Airlines really took care. Even only one suitcase was found and forwarded to me in China after 4 days, my other one finally was not found. I really appriciated his and all Hainan staff`s behavior. Thanks to Hainan Airlines and well trained and service oriented team.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMoscow to Beijing
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"provided excellent service"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Wuhan to Calgary via Beijing. The flight attendants provided excellent service. Hainan Airlines provides hotel and transportation service for connection flights; however, meal expenses are not included with regular connection flights.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWuhan to Calgary via Beijing
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"good journey this time"

(China)

Verified Review | Beijing to Boston, the service impressed me a lot. Even though I booked economy seat, there's a hot towel before every meal. I love their special cocktail with mixed coconut juice, really good taste. I bring my own hot water drinking bottle on flight, the crew helped fill it several times with patience Free wifi and free self-service drink bar both are great. Anyway, good journey this time.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Boston
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"staff provided nice service"

(China)

Verified Review | Beijing to Seattle. Hainan Airlines provides nice and efficient check in experience. It is convenient for me with 2-luggage transportation for free during international travel. The cabin of Boeing 787 is great for its large space, clean and comfortable environment. The staff provided nice service and the food is fine. Entertainment system can satisfy my requirement for the over 10-hour duration of flight.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Seattle
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"I was mightily impressed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Brussels to Beijing. This was my first trip on Hainan Airlines and I was mightily impressed. The all round quality of the flight was superb. The aircraft was clean and new, the cabin staff was very friendly and diligent. The food was absolutely outstanding. The only reason I fail to give it 10 out of 10 (and I travel by air a lot so my mark is a great compliment) is that they served very indifferent orange juice (would fresh be possible?) and they had run out of eggs for Breakfast - which was surprising as there were very few people in Business Class. So overall it was a great experience enhanced by the attendant asking me for my views on the flight quality towards the end of the journey - very professional.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBrussels to Beijing
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"provides comfortable services"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Changsha to Sydney. The staff are kind, gentle and professional. It provides comfortable services, such as tasty food, warm towels and a drink bar. The cabin staff serve water for those thirsty passengers who does not sleep at night. Its economy service includes an eye mask for sleeping, a toothbrush, socks and earplugs. They are very useful for the long fly trip. I will definitely recommend Hainan Airlines to my friends.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChangsha to Sydney
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"they provide free Wifi"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Beijing to Toronto. It's a long journey, about 13 hours. The plane is new and the cabin is clean. The food is fresh and hot and the drink is plenty. The most lovely thing is they provide free Wifi on the whole trip. The other lovely thing is I can carry 2 big luggages + 1 carry-on + 1 snow bag (unlimited weight) + 1 golf bag (unlimited weight) by one ticket at the same time. And they are free!
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Toronto
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"exceeded my expectations"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I would like to give a big compliment to Hainan Airlines. We were so surprised and happy with the service from Beijing to Calgary. As soon as we boarded the airplane we were given the most exemplary service . The free bag with the tooth brush, eye mask etc was such a nice touch. The free ear buds and blanket and pillow were nice to get for the long flight. The food was very good and lots of it. The complimentary drinks were brought out frequently and getting the free alcoholic drink was a nice bonus. The staff were kind and courteous, very efficient and professional. They really exceeded my expectations - a wonderful flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Calgary
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

Hainan Airlines Photos

HAINAN AIRLINES

Hainan Airlines is a privately owned airline, the fourth largest carrier in China. Celebrating its 24th anniversary in 2017, Hainan Airlines is the only Chinese mainland carrier to be ranked as a 5-Star Airline. The main international hub is Beijing Airport, other hubs being Chengdu, Chingqing, Changsha, Xi'an and Shangai. Flying more than international and domestic routes, Hainan Airlines has a fleet of over 180 aircraft, including Boeing 787-9, Boeing 787-8, Boeing 767-300, Boeing 737-800, A330-200, A330-300, with a further 75 aircraft on order.

BUSINESS CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul business class is provided on Boeing 787 and A330 aircraft, with flat bed seats, arranged 1x2x1 and 2x2x2 subject to aircraft type. In addition to luxury amenities, business class service includes an Onboard Chef and full dine on demand.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand a la carte dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

DOMESTIC FIRST CLASS

Domestic first class is provided using a mixture of widebody A330, Boeing 787 and Boeing 737-800 aircraft.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 50 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 20 ins
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
AmenitiesSlippers, eyeshade etc

ECONOMY CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul economy class uses Boeing 787, A330 and Boeing 767 aircraft, and also includes Boeing 737-800 on domestic routes.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 19 ins
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
power_iconUSB power (most int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningChinese & Western meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets
AmenitiesAmenity pack (int'l routes)

LOUNGES

Hainan Airlines have recently opened their flagship international lounge, the HNA Club at Terminal 2, Beijing Capital Airport. They also offer domestic lounges at many airports across China and have a new International lounge opening in Xi'an during 2017.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Seat pitchPrivate seat pods
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODEntertainment area
DiningBuffet & a la carte dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingRelaxation rooms
2_6_spacer