Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 202 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Hainan Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada) 19th June 2015

As a frequent Chicago-Beijing-route traveller, I know the available carriers quite well, Hainan, United, and American Airlines. Hainan flies this route with its Boeing 787. One thing I love the most about Hainan is that the toilets are always clean! Trust me when I say the sanitary condition of cabin toilets are important for people spending 12 hours or more on international flights, because you will use the toilets at least once. I was sitting in 40K, which is the first role of the second section of the Economy class cabin, and I saw the flight attendants cleaning the toilets on an hourly basis with air freshener. Although I was a little disappointed when Hainan changed its breakfast menu (it used to offer omelet and sausage on all international flights, which I think is the best in-flight breakfast I have ever had!), the food is still pretty nice and superior to other carriers. The flight also offers a self-service snack and beverage bar at the back. And if you have special requests, the flight attendants are always there to provide you with whatever you need. Inflight Entertainment, Hainan still has a long way to go. But I don't see it as a problem, because compared with the entertainment systems on other carriers (Air China, American Airlines, United, Delta, Air Canada), Hainan's still far more superior. Many hit shows and sitcoms are included. One weakness which Hainan and all Chinese airlines all have is the language service. Although the captain spoke perfectly fluent English, some cabin members didn't. Foreigners may face difficulty understanding their safety instruction or communicating their needs. They still need to work on that.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBeijing to Chicago
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Hainan Airlines customer review

Review by (China) 12th June 2015

9th April, HU491 and 15th April, HU490. Beijing to Brussels and Berlin to Beijing in April. Both flights appeared to be new. Business class cabin and seat are comfortable. Full flat bed where my husband could fit himself in without any problems and he is 186cm. Cabin crews got very good and attentive service. Food was good, and compared with other major Chinese airlines, it was great. Entertainment was up-to-date, so no worry about boring journey. Overall I was pleased with this airline and I'll certainly fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBeijing to Brussels and Berlin to Beijing
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Hainan Airlines customer review

Review by (Russian Federation) 20th May 2015

Flew 4 segments by HU from Moscow thru Beijing to Sanya and back. All the aircraft were quite aged and noisy inside. No screens for entertainment at all! They offered small ipads but all the content (quite limited) was in Chinese only. Might be OK for domestic flights but for long-haul international segments I find it unacceptable. For me the food was acceptable. The schedule was changed for 3 flights of 4 after the ticket was purchased. Had to wait for 1 hour at Beijing airport in the middle of the night for the shuttle to the hotel that HU promised to take care of. I do not think I will fly with this airline again.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Hainan Airlines customer review

Review by (Russian Federation) 20th May 2015

Flew 4 segments by HU from Moscow thru Beijing to Sanya and back. All the aircraft were quite aged and noisy inside. No screens for entertainment at all! They offered small ipads but all the content (quite limited) was in Chinese only. Might be OK for domestic flights but for long-haul international segments I find it unacceptable. For me the food was acceptable. The schedule was changed for 3 flights of 4 after the ticket was purchased. Had to wait for 1 hour at Beijing airport in the middle of the night for the shuttle to the hotel that HU promised to take care of. I do not think I will fly with this airline again.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
0/10

Hainan Airlines customer review

Review by (France) 16th April 2015

Flight 7907 XIY-CDG. 12 hour flight with no entertainment system for anyone in economy class. Very bad service as crew hardly understand English and toilets were very dirty. There was no toilet paper for the last hours of flight. Horrible experience.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
0/10

Hainan Airlines customer review

Review by (France) 16th April 2015

Flight 7907 XIY-CDG. 12 hour flight with no entertainment system for anyone in economy class. Very bad service as crew hardly understand English and toilets were very dirty. There was no toilet paper for the last hours of flight. Horrible experience.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

Hainan Airlines customer review

Review by (China) 17th March 2015

Flew from Shenyang to Weifang with HU. This flight operates only 3 times a week.Short flight of just over an hour. Incoming flight was late for 45 minutes and departure another half hour delayed by traffic control. Cabin clean and very young FA. No English spoken and the announcements made in English not understandable. No food on this short flight only a bottle of water.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Hainan Airlines customer review

Review by (China) 17th March 2015

Flew from Shenyang to Weifang with HU. This flight operates only 3 times a week.Short flight of just over an hour. Incoming flight was late for 45 minutes and departure another half hour delayed by traffic control. Cabin clean and very young FA. No English spoken and the announcements made in English not understandable. No food on this short flight only a bottle of water.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Hainan Airlines customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 14th January 2015

Looked for a cheap business class option from Hong Kong back to the USA for Christmas. Hainan Airlines met that requirement and so off I went. The Hainan leg stateside and back was the 787 to Chicago and back from Seattle. Overall the service was quite good. A few people have cited a limited English speaking cabin crew which I will agree with but I am travelling on their airline so I won't complain about that besides it was good enough back from Seattle was very good. The food was good in both directions offering Asian Western and vegetarian meals but not quite up to the standard of other carriers. The lounge access was my biggest complaint Terminal 2 in Beijing is quite old and the lounge is very basic with limited food choice and beverage. The wifi was very weak also. In Seattle they use the Cascade Club Lounge (extremely limited in selection quite disappointing really) in the A concourse and it's a bit of a trek to the S gates via the little subway but a shuttle is provided (if the driver can be found!) if you don't want to walk to the train. In flight entertainment was sufficient but the "new releases" were quite far from that however the selection was good enough for a total of 23 hours of travel in both directions. The 787 itself is a nice comfortable aircraft and Hainans Business Class lie flat seat was quite comfortable and the duvet very nice. The pillow could have been bigger however. Overall I will certainly fly with them again as the value for money for Business Class was very good.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Hainan Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada) 14th January 2015

We just came back from Asia and flew from Toronto to Beijing. We needed to change to Hong Kong Air from Beijing to HK. We found the airline is just as good as any North American airlines and in some areas are better than them. We read a comment about the washroom cleanliness but we did not observe that and in fact we saw the flight attendants constantly going in the washroom to inspect. The seats are not bad as it is a Boeing 787 and not the Airbus. The entertainment may not be great but it is acceptable. The food is just the normal flight food as it is the same as any North American flights so they are ok. The flight attendants realized that we don't speak mandarin so they talked to us in English. Now we read some comments about the English level of the flight attendants but frankly they probably speak better English than we speak mandarin so to complain about their English is not realistic. Their English is just fine. The flights are great as compared to some of the airlines that we have been flying with. Definitely recommend Hainan.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes