Top 100 Airports  

Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 112 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"attendants very pleasant and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Prior to booking this flight, I'd never heard of Hainan Airlines, however their introductory fare from Manchester to Beijing was cheap compared with others at the time, I went ahead and booked it. You cannot check in online and it must be done in person. This oddly ended up being a positive for me, as it enabled me to get exit row seats with a large amount of legroom on both MAN-PEK flights (row 48). The boarding was at best a bit of a scrum for economy. Business class had a separate queue which worked well. That said, the aircraft departed on time, so although it was the least relaxed boarding experience at least it worked. Hainan Airlines operate brand new A330s on this route, they're pretty darn clean. Seats for economy are good. Whilst getting comfy in economy on a 10+ hour long flight is never easy I'd argue they're on par with KLM/Air France. A thin blanket and very thin pillow is included, bring your own if possible. The in flight entertainment is okay with a selection of Western and Chinese content in equal proportions. No wifi, no USB power and the power outlets in the exit row seats didn't work. The food was okay with a mixture of Chinese/Western dishes. Officially, you're not allowed to use your own electronic devices on board, on the first flight that wasn't an issue and I used my laptop and flight-mode phone with no issues, returning from Beijing to Manchester I was told off. Maybe bring a book as a backup. I noticed the flight attendants had a range of language flags on their name tags, English proficiency was mixed but overall good. They're all very pleasant and helpful though, the best I've experienced in a while! Transiting with Hainan for Hong Kong flights route, I flew Hong Kong Airlines on the PEK-HKG routes. Hong Kong Airlines is also part of the HNA Group and it shows, the aircraft are pretty much identical aside from the flight attendants uniforms and a different IFE skin. Transiting through Beijing was not a fun experience. Hainan operate out of terminal 2 which doesn't seem to be fully equipped as a transit point. Finding the transit area was difficult and it was poorly managed. Ground staff at Beijing were not exactly helpful in directing/helping transiting passengers. If anyone is concerned about the transit in Beijing, follow signs towards 'arrivals', once you find a moving walkway look right and there should be a glass-box-room thing for transit. It's not very clear, but that's where you'll need to go. Once you find it, it's pretty simple to be fair. 2 of the 4 flights were delayed, I had to be shifted onto a different HKG-PEK flight to meet my connection (which they were very helpful with) however the trip back to Manchester was stressful. As a solo leisure traveller this was an annoyance that was resolved, however for more critical trips I'd be wary if transiting through Beijing. Overall thoughts I bought my flight for £450 rtn whilst at the time Cathay Pacific was priced around the £700 mark, similar length connection flights with KLM and Lufthansa at £600. For the price I paid, it was remarkable value for money.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to HKG via PEK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"had two stellar crews"

(United States)

Chicago to Beijing. Although a staunch supporter of Cathay Pacific, I had heard decent comments about Hainan Airlines service. Checked pricing on a business ticket and found then $3000 cheaper than others, so a bit skeptical, further read with interest some of the postings from others, as well as the time to complete transfers in Beijing - nonetheless felt adventurous and booked. Called to reserve 2 aisle seats. No problem. Agent spoke English well and confirmed seats on all legs. Arrived at O'Hare at 1330 for a 1520 departure. Check in was swift and painless. Lounge passes issued to Swissport Lounge. Lounge was adequate, but hard to locate. It is a right turn after security and a good walk. It is on the right and easy to miss. Boarding gate was at the opposite end of terminal 5. Boarding went smoothly, found our seats, stowed our carry on bags. The Boeing 787 does not have middle overhead bins. Greeted warmly by the inflight manager, as well as our flight attendant. English language skills were fine. Departed on time. Welcome drinks non-alcoholic offered. Pillows, duvet and pj's handed out, as well as Bose noise cancelling head phones. Menus handed out. Orders taken and we were off. Service started quickly. Appetizers and ordered beverage arrived before you knew it. Soup and salad were at your table when your appetizer was finished. Main course selection of 5 items with accompaniments. They also served individualized bread baskets - tasty and ample. Refreshments were always available for top off. After dinner drinks offered, as well as 4 choices of dessert and or fruit and cheese platter. Actually, there was enough where you could have whatever you liked. Fully lie flat seat was comfortable, but not built for us 6' tall folks, but able to sleep without issue. The IFE was also ample for the 12 hour flight. Some old, some new movies, screen size was fine. Pre arrival meal had 4 choices. Served quickly again great portions. Throughout the flight the FA's were readily available and continued to ask if they could get you anything. Landed early, but to a remote area. Thus the infamous bus to the terminal. Dreaded the wait for the international transfer to Hong Kong. Same terminal as the arrival. Bus for biz class arrived quickly and attendants had signs with passengers names to assist them. We were guided to the transfer desk, security check and the pointed to the next departure gate. All done in 20 mins. Very classy. On the return it was a complete duplicate. They are part of Alaska's mileage program. Certainly must have had two stellar crews. I look forward to my next flight with Hainan Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteORD to HKG via PEK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"5 stars well deserved"

(France)

Verified Review | I flew Hainan Airlines from Paris to Xi’An return in Business Class in June 2016. It was an excellent experience comparable to the best business classes I have tried. First of all, a great deal with Business Class rates that are lower than some Premium Economy fares, the comfort of the seats is remarkable although I preferred the “old” style business seats to the new individual arrangements that could feel a little cramped. Most of all, I appreciated the kindness of the staff. As an example, I arrived 6 hours before my flight to Paris at Xi’an airport. Hainan counters were closed. However, Hainan Airlines manager took care of me personally and put me in the airport hotel where he negotiated (and believe me that was a tough negotiation) a very friendly rate for my day use. All in all, 5 stars well deserved for Hainan Airlines.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCDG to XIY
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"attentive service, comfortable seats "

(United States)

Verified Review | Beijing to San Jose with Hainan Airlines. Attentive service, comfortable seats and clean lavatories. Food and drink selection slightly above average for business class. The Chinese Government rule banning mobile phones (even for listening to music, reading a book or taking photos) is enforced. Entertainment system very difficult to use.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePEK to SJC
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"staff nice and food okay"

(Taiwan)

Verified Review | Taipei to Beijing return, and my first time experience with Hainan Airlines. Both flights on time. Staff nice and food okay, filling but not spectacular cuisine. Check-in staff in Taipei weren't sure which airlines were mileage plan partners. Plane was a bit worn and armrests dirty. The temporary handling agent lounge in PEK is in a 1995 time warp.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTPE to PEK
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"crew disappeared between meals"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | This flight from Prague to Beijing was operated by a dated Boeing 767-300 aircraft. Old seats in economy with very limited recline. The entertainment system that was out of order. Onboard magazines only in Chinese. The use of mobile devices in airplane mode is prohibited by Chinese government regulations. Both meals consisted of rice with meat, brown sauce and frozen vegetables and rather bland and greasy. No drinks offered outside meal times. Only water and crackers available from the galley. Crew did not seem interested in providing good service and disappeared between meals. Lavatories were not very clean. During the entire flight a cold draft was coming from one of the emergency exit doors just in front of seat 47A. Boarding was at a remote stand, as Beijing Terminal 2 only has a small number of jetways. About 10 minutes on a very crowded bus, with airport staff shouting at passengers - mainly Chinese tour groups. Departure about an hour late, arrival 35 minutes late.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePRG to PEK
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"I would recommend Hainan Airlines"

(United States)

Verified Review | My family had a great trip on Hainan Airlines from Boston to Shanghai Pudong. Thrilled that they introduced this non-stop flight saving hours on the total journey to China. I really enjoyed and prefer the Boeing 787 compared to the 777-300ER. Fast Boarding/deplaning since the plane is much smaller than the 777-300ER, especially the number of economy seats (only 177 on Hainan compared with say Emirates long haul 777-300 ER at 304). The larger windows and what appeared to be more efficient overhead bins/higher curved ceilings made the cabin feel more open and less claustrophobic. The 3x3x3 seating while not ideal is much better than a 3x4x3 on the 777-300 for long haul. I paid $750 roundtrip, I found the seats pretty comfortable with enough legroom. The economy seat actually reclined pretty far back. Which makes it a bit difficult when the passenger in front has reclined, but nonetheless easier for sleeping. I think the 787 seats are a bit shorter as well, so there is an adjustment to pull the headrest up if you are taller. Cabin crew for the most part were extremely helpful. However, I felt they were a bit more amateur than some airlines, possibly because they were generally on the younger side. Agreed with some other comments about the lack of English, but didn't find this a problem. They cleaned the bathrooms regularly throughout the flight. I thought the food generally was pretty good. I love that they give the option to pre-select a low calorie or fruit platter option for no cost. In addition, they set up a little spread in the back of the plane with all sorts of beverages and snacks so one could help themselves at any time. They came around plenty of times with water and tea. Ask for "Bing Shui" or ice water because typically the Chinese prefer water hot. I thought the inflight entertainment was lacking a bit. The TV options and movies while plentiful fell a bit short of other 5 star airlines. The touch screen was also a bit unresponsive and slow. Overall I would recommend Hainan Airlines especially for service to mainland China. They are expanding quickly to unique destinations. I loved the 787 and believe it is a great option for long haul.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOS to PVG
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the experience is excellent"

(Thailand)

Bangkok to Haikou return is a good journey. Hainan Airlines seems to be the only one operating flight on this route. The ticket is not so expensive and the experience is excellent, especially the cabin service. I like the Chinese meal on board as well. It is the real traditional Hainan noodle and tastes fine, not just like a fast food from oven. The airplane was a Boeing 737 with no inflight entertainment. Considering a 2 hours' trip, it is ok for me.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAK to BKK
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"was a happy journey"

(China)

Shanghai to Seattle with Hainan Airlines, and all things are nice and it was a happy journey. The meals provided were abundant. The seat was very comfortable and let me have a good rest. The inflight entertainment in the cabin is ok too, but they do not have wifi in flight at the moment.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePVG to SEA
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"definitely fly Hainan again"

(United States)

This Hainan Airlines flight was excellent and arrived early. All the flight attendants were very pleasant and helpful - I saw one of them actually tuck a guy in (you'd think you actually only saw that in the commercials). The cabin was relatively clean, and unlike other airlines, it seems like the flight attendants regularly refreshed the toilets so that it never smelt. Food was ok, and there were snacks readily available in the galley. I'm not a big fan of the side by side configuration of business class seats - prefer the solo (1x2x1) seats Hainan Airlines has on other aircraft. But on this Boeing 787 there's plenty of room, and the seats are lie-flat. TV screen is not angled properly, when you're reclined, so a bit of a strain to watch TV while lying down. The inflight duty free is limited, so if you're bringing gifts home, buy it at the airport. Definitely would fly Hainan again! In fact, already booked for my next business trip, even if the plane is different. (A330 next time vs 787 last time).
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSEA to PEK
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes