Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 310 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Beijing via Changsha. I was pleasantly surprised by the overall quality. I flew Sydney to Beijing. The ground staff and flight attendants were very helpful and accomodating. The person at the check-in counter offered to sit me towards the front of the plane instead of the back so I can get off quicker as I had a connection. Flight Attendants spoke good English, and their uniforms were quite lovely. They gave a blanket, pillow, and a kit featuring a toothbrush, eye shade, toothpaste, socks and ear plugs. The movie selection was great, and included recent Oscar nominated films, such as The Shape of Water. The flight crew was quick to respond to my requests of water as well. Would definitely recommend this airline! One of the best I have flown with.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Beijing via Changsha
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"truly stellar service"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Beijing to San Jose return. I was struck with the quality of the service in the cabin. The cabin personnel were attentive, energetic, friendly and engaged. In particular, I was impressed by a German cabin attendant who spoke fluent Mandarin (and English and German). It felt like flying in First class! Unfortunately the WiFi was not working and the flight was several hours delayed, but this does not take anything away from the truly stellar service offered by the cabin personnel.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBeijing to San Jose
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"the flight was pretty good"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Seattle. I was sitting for over ten hours and I felt relatively no aches or pains during the whole trip due my seat. However, the flight attendants were not quite organized or consistent. For example, they served one meal from the front to the back and the other meal from the back to the front. Overall the flight was pretty good taking into account the food and drink selection.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Seattle
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"helpful and responsive"

(China)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Beijing. The aircraft is well furnished and equipped with great service entertainment and a large number of movies to choose from. The crew is very helpful and responsive. They fulfilled my ask for additional sheet, drinks, and earphones. Flight took off on time and arrived earlier than expected.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Beijing
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Feeling very good"

(China)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Beijing. Feeling very good, airline staff often come to offer service. Toilets are clean. The buffet at the back of the cabin it is also good. Meals are also very fine. Many details are good, such as the introduction of the meal card, very fine.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Beijing
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"made me very comfortable"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | Prague to Beijing. I had been very tired before I got in the aircraft and it was uneasy for me to transfer to Korean Air at Beijing. But the flight attendants who I met in aircraft made me very comfortable. They checked all things needed for me. Moreover, they helped me to transfer in Beijing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Beijing
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"internet was not available"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Seattle. English speaking skills very poor. Boarding with too much checking, keeping people in a long line outside the plane (before going up the stairs, taken to the plane by bus) and then checking again when entering the plane. Though I could hear the movies loud enough on a low volume, crew messages were very quiet and could not be heard properly. They could not understand the order, had to show on the menu. Asked for tomato juice 2 times and the guy gave me orange first and then tomato juice. My seat was coming back up straight by itself after reclining; couldn't be fixed and the plane was full. Automatic Chinese subtitles for the movies. The wifi / internet was not available during flight. After landing early we stayed on taxiway for more than 10 minutes with no info on why were not going to the gate. The leg room was not amazing. The amenity kit was quite nice (socks, toothbrush and toothpaste, eyeshades, earplugs and earphones). Food was good and plenty, beverage options were nice and of good quality.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Seattle
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a wonderful journey"

(China)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Chengdu. I forgot the departure time of the flight. When I arrived at the check in counter of Terminal 1, it was only 3 minutes from boarding time. The counter staff checked in for me and helped me pass security check. The boarding was very smooth and a wonderful journey.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBeijing to Chengdu
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"thank ground service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I'd like to thank Hainan Airlines ground service for them professionalism and help. We were taking the HU 7989 flight from Beijing to San Jose, US, without an updated EVUS enrollment number. The staff in the ground service guided us completed the EVUS enroll in a timely manner and made sure we got on the plane.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSJC to PEK
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"wonderful experience to remember"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Changsha to Melbourne. I had a wonderful experience traveling on Hainan Airlines with young children for the first time from Melbourne to China, and back again in Apr-2018. A330 was clean and comfortable with good legroom and a decent inflight entertainment system. The ground service was good, and the in-flight service was excellent. The flight crew were friendly, attentive and professional - we happened to have a faulty headphone port on one of our seats, and the crew came back 5 times with replacement headphones to try to fix it. They were really apologetic when this failed to resolve the issue. It felt like they genuinely cared about providing real, "old-fashioned" customer service, rather than just lip-service. Additional highlights such as complimentary transit hotel stay, seat and meal selection, and priority boarding for young families made this a wonderful experience to remember!
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChangsha to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

Hainan Airlines Photos

HAINAN AIRLINES

Hainan Airlines is a privately owned airline, the fourth largest carrier in China. Celebrating its 24th anniversary in 2017, Hainan Airlines is the only Chinese mainland carrier to be ranked as a 5-Star Airline. The main international hub is Beijing Airport, other hubs at Chengdu, Chingqing, Changsha, Xi'an and Shangai. Hainan Airlines has a fleet of over 180 aircraft, including Boeing 787-9 / 787-8 / 767-300 / 737-800, A330-200/300, anda further 75 aircraft on order.

NEW UNIFORMS

Hainan Airlines unveiled their new uniforms at Paris Couture Week in June 2017. The fifth-generation Hainan Airlines uniforms highlight the combination of traditional Chinese features and internationally popular elements. The fusion of traditional Chinese elements and popular international fashion created an Oriental masterpiece that turned heads in Paris.

BUSINESS CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul business class is provided on Boeing 787 and A330 aircraft, with flat bed seats, arranged 1x2x1 and 2x2x2 subject to aircraft type. In addition to luxury amenities, business class service includes an Onboard Chef and full dine on demand.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand a la carte dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

DOMESTIC FIRST CLASS

Domestic first class is provided using a mixture of widebody A330, Boeing 787 and Boeing 737-800 aircraft.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 50 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 20 ins
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
AmenitiesSlippers, eyeshade etc

ECONOMY CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul economy class uses Boeing 787, A330 and Boeing 767 aircraft, and also includes Boeing 737-800 on domestic routes.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 19 ins
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
power_iconUSB power (most int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningChinese & Western meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets
AmenitiesAmenity pack (int'l routes)

LOUNGES

Hainan Airlines have recently opened their flagship international lounge, the HNA Club at Terminal 2, Beijing Capital Airport. They also offer domestic lounges at many airports across China and have a new International lounge opening in Xi'an during 2017.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Seat pitchPrivate seat pods
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODEntertainment area
DiningBuffet & a la carte dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingRelaxation rooms
2_6_spacer