Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 208 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"excellent service throughout"

(Taiwan)

Verified Review | Taipei to Seattle via Beijing. All in all a good experience, although flights were delayed, once from PEK to SEA, and PEK to TPE, although the delays were not the airline's fault. (Bring a good book in case of delays, and the inflight entertainment is a bit of a snooze.) Aircraft was a bit dated, but excellent service throughout makes up for it. You really get the feeling that someone is always there to assist you - both in the air and on the ground. Boarding in Beijing could have been more organized. The airline throws in a free hotel stay (with breakfast!) during the long Beijing layover, which was much appreciated. The lounge in PEK is adequate, and its bathrooms are kept spotless.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTaipei to Seattle via Beijing
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"went through security 3 times"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Guangzhou to Manchester via Beijing. I went through security 3 times due to lack of communication. In Beijing I waited 2.5 hours for the bus to take me to a hotel as I had missed my connection and was getting my next flight 24 hours later. The room and the hotel was extremely dirty. Hainan Airlines have no complaints procedure I could find.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Manchester via Beijing
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"with 6 hours delay"

(China)

Verified Review | Shanghai to St. Petersburg via Beijing. The Shanghai to Beijing flight was the worst experience with 6 hours delay without notification when the flight will departure, why it was delayed. At some point representatives in Shanghai said that we are going to a hotel, because flight is delayed and nobody knows for how long. We went outside and waited for 20 mins at the bus parking they brought us back (security checks again!) onto the plane and we were sitting there for 2 hours. Instead of 11 pm, I came to Beijing at 5am and there's no available rooms in the hotel and a representative said that there's no room but I can sit in the terminal and wait for my next flight which is in 10 hours. No other help was provided, hotline didn't help me as well.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to St. Petersburg via Beijing
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"positive and professional"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Jose to Beijing. The plane was comfortable and the flight crew went out of their way to be curteous and helpful. On the flight back to San Jose from Beijing (and then on to Portland, Oregon), one specific man was extremely kind and welcomed my daughter and I back for our flight home and searched to find me the specific Diet Coke that I requested. He could have easily said that is something they don't typically carry. He had a warm smile and represented the airline in a very positive and professional manner.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose to Beijing
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"missed our connecting flight"

(United States)

Verified Review | Beijing to Chicago on 8th July. The flight was delayed before we could board, and once we boarded the plane, we sat on the tarmac another 3.5 hours before we took off for a 13 hour flight. The final 1/1.5 hours before we took off we were told "prepare for takeoff" which meant no wifi, seats upright and seat belts on. We missed our connecting flight because of the delays, which happens, and tried using the wifi service to reschedule which was pretty much impossible because of the slow internet speed. Staff service and food was all okay, but there's room for improvement handling delays and wifi service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Chicago
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"recommend my friends of it"

(China)

Verified Review | Beijing to Brussels. I chose Hainan Airlines after 2 days comparison with numerous other flight companies and it turned out to be a lucky strike. The service in the air was way beyond my expectation. All staff on board were friendly serving with hospitality and the food was satisfying. After informed that my earplug was ill shaped, one of the attendent kindly gave me a new one. The movies provided on the plane are various and newly updated, and I had a nice sleep during my long trip. I will recommend my friends of it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Brussels
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"it is a wonderful flight"

(United States)

Verified Review | Beijing to Las Vegas, it is a wonderful flight, the plane is new and the staff is super nice. Food and the entertainment system is also amazing. Everyone gets's enough space and the lighting of the plane is new. The plane livery is Kongfu Panda style. Hainan Airlines have never let me down once, they are improving and try to do better. I would recommend this flight. Everyone gets a free bag with eye mask and ear plugs, socks, and toothbrush. The blankets are very comfortable as well.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Las Vegas
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"I ate my meal without drink"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Hangzhou via Changsha and back to Sydney via Xi'an. All four flights were delayed or cancelled. Trying to rebook or alter the itinerary was a nightmare. I was transferred from department to department trying to reschedule the HGH-XIY flight a time that wouldn't throw our travel plans into disarray. In the end, we gave up and asked for a refund for that leg, and made our own way. We were told we would be given a refund for the leg which transpired to be $10 AUD per person. I found service and meals on the flights comparable to four-star airlines, crew was courteous, but seemed to have a lot of basic customer service skills to refine. I requested a Coke Zero during meal service which they didn't have on the trolley. The crew member said he'd check the galley, but continued serving meals for the next 15 minutes and I ate my meal without my drink. Inflight Entertainment screens are quite small, and my screen was non-responsive to touch. The only redeeming feature is the seats and the price. The seats are well padded and has above-average width and pitch. The price is 20-30% cheaper than other full-service airlines during the same period of time.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to HGH via CSX
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"service is consistent"

(China)

Verified Review | The flight from Beijing to Prague was on schedule and the inflight service was great. I have taken the Hainan Airlines for many times and found that the inflight service is consistent. The food was not the best and could be improved. The earphone quality was not good at all. I wish that there were an inflight WiFi service.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Prague
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"good value for money"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Beijing to Boston. This trip was good value for money. Check in was smooth but flight was at remote stand. And it takes almost 20 mins shuttle bus trip so there was a long waiting time for boarding. This was really a nice trip. The cabin crew was smart, helpful and serves with smile. Normally people say passengers in a Chinese airline are noisy, but this was not true in this trip. Almost everyone is quiet and I could have a good rest. Food from PEK is also good enough for economy class. I recommend oriental food instead of western when taking this flight. By the way, the crew prepared many types of drinks and snacks in the bar at the back of the cabin, during cruise. One thing I do not like is the aircraft. 787 was quiet enough but when it is fully packed with passengers, the economy class was so crowded. I enjoyed this trip. On the return the cabin crew chatted extremely loud in the back of the cabin and use the PA system to broadcast advertisements and selling goods in such a loud volume when people are planning to have a sleep. WiFi on this trip was spoiled and could not connect to internet. For snacks, there was only cracker and cheese. When I asked if I could take a picture of the bar, they refused. They said no photo.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Boston
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

Hainan Airlines Photos

HAINAN AIRLINES

Hainan Airlines is a privately owned airline, the fourth largest carrier in China. Celebrating its 24th anniversary in 2017, Hainan Airlines is the only Chinese mainland carrier to be ranked as a 5-Star Airline. The main international hub is Beijing Airport, other hubs at Chengdu, Chingqing, Changsha, Xi'an and Shangai. Hainan Airlines has a fleet of over 180 aircraft, including Boeing 787-9 / 787-8 / 767-300 / 737-800, A330-200/300, anda further 75 aircraft on order.

NEW UNIFORMS

Hainan Airlines unveiled their new uniforms at Paris Couture Week in June 2017. The fifth-generation Hainan Airlines uniforms highlight the combination of traditional Chinese features and internationally popular elements. The fusion of traditional Chinese elements and popular international fashion created an Oriental masterpiece that turned heads in Paris.

BUSINESS CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul business class is provided on Boeing 787 and A330 aircraft, with flat bed seats, arranged 1x2x1 and 2x2x2 subject to aircraft type. In addition to luxury amenities, business class service includes an Onboard Chef and full dine on demand.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand a la carte dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

DOMESTIC FIRST CLASS

Domestic first class is provided using a mixture of widebody A330, Boeing 787 and Boeing 737-800 aircraft.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 50 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 20 ins
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
AmenitiesSlippers, eyeshade etc

ECONOMY CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul economy class uses Boeing 787, A330 and Boeing 767 aircraft, and also includes Boeing 737-800 on domestic routes.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 19 ins
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
power_iconUSB power (most int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningChinese & Western meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets
AmenitiesAmenity pack (int'l routes)

LOUNGES

Hainan Airlines have recently opened their flagship international lounge, the HNA Club at Terminal 2, Beijing Capital Airport. They also offer domestic lounges at many airports across China and have a new International lounge opening in Xi'an during 2017.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Seat pitchPrivate seat pods
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODEntertainment area
DiningBuffet & a la carte dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingRelaxation rooms
2_6_spacer