Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 252 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"performance is wonderful"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Seattle. Hainan Airlines service and cost performance is wonderful. You will not be disappointed, even it is economy class. I am also Fortune Wings member since the first time to take Hainan Airline from Beijing to Chicago. I appreciate if they can offer annual package of 3/5 flights annually. It is because Hong Kong Airlines, member of Hainan Group, has such kind of package and the flying schedule is more flexible without any extra charges.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Seattle
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"getting more competitive"

(United States)

Verified Review | Beijing to Seattle. We have taken Hainan Airlines a few times when going to visit China. There are three reasons why it is my top choice - particularly, the service is getting more competitive. Affordable price (very reasonable during the busy season or low season). This time we took a detour from Seattle, but the price is a lot cheaper than the direct flight. It also allows adequate time for the transfer. I have not seen any other international routes offer a goodie bag with an eye mask, toothbrush/paste and ear plugs. Those are small things but they make your long trip much more comfortable. Food offering is good too (love the Western better than traditional Chinese). The captain and crew are generally good at English speaking though could be more fluent.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to San Francisco via Seattle
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Very good experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Jose to Beijing return. Very good overall experience. The food is way better than U.S based airlines. There are enough beverages and snacks from the mini bar on the back of the cabin, including hot tea, coconut milk and oreos. They also provided eye mask, ear plug and hot towel.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to San Jose
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"I am very impressed"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Brussels to Beijing return. My first time to use Hainan airlines and I am very impressed by their business class. I had a quiet single window seat which is a nice full flat bed when reclined. Bedding and amenities very good quality, and staff looked after every wish of mine with effective service. Food was better from Brussels than on my return, and they have a chef in the cabin which impressed me. Very nice lounge in Beijing and enjoyed nice dinner here. I was not expecting such a high standard for Chinese air carrier, and will certainly choose to fly them again.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"overstayed my China visa"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | Prague to Shanghai return via Beijing in August. Overall very mixed experience. Flew A330 from PRG to PEK. A Hainan agent pick up at PEK upon touchdown. Flew new 787 from PEK to SHA. Flew back from PEK to PRG abroad the same older A330. Rude checkin agent in Prague but she's not Hainan employee. Wear and tear visible aboard PRG-SHA flight. Beds bit too short for those above 6 feet (186cm). Entertainment system contained only certain episodes rather than full series of TV shows. Pleasant experience at PEK upon arrival. PEK terminal 1 only opens at 5am (had a very early flight to SHA) Hainan offers four times limo pickup/departure, they are unable to process non-standard requests in case of multi city bookings. They cancelled my SHA-PEK flight 3 hr before departure, I had overstayed my China visa, to catch next PEK-PRG flight: I asked for support since I'd overstay the visa - no callback, no support, nothing. Had to purchase China Eastern flight to catch PEK to PRG flight - no refund from Hainan (despite emailing and waiting for almost 2 months). Overall, if it wasn't for the cancelled flight, I'd say, an average business class experience. However total lack of customer support and unwillingness to assist is a fair cry from any airline looking to grow in the business class area.
AircraftA330 / Boeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePRG to SHA via PEK
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"no inflight entertainment"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Xi'an, returning from Changsha to Melbourne, and a disappointing experience. We could not believe that there was no inflight entertainment for 11.25hrs flying time. Not even an English written inflight magazine. Even though we downloaded music, ebooks etc to our iPhones, you aren't permitted to use iPhones even on flight mode on a Chinese airline. The seats were incredibly uncomfortable. The flight attendants were fantastic, and plenty of food and drinks, but those would be the only positive experiences. We chose this airline believing its great reviews, but certainly not between Australia and China. It doesn't seem to cater for Westerners or in our case our teenager. Having inflight entertainment and comfortable seats is a must for any airline. I'm sorry Hainan you have lost our business in future.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Xi'an
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"always ready to give help"

(China)

Verified Review | Beijing to Toronto. The space between seats on Boeing 787 is good, and bigger than that of Air China. The staff are friendly and kind, and always ready to give help. The food was fair with a varie of choice for drinks including wines and liquors. The takeoff and landing were very stable so i did not suffer any ear problems. The flight was also quite on time for arrival.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I am quite satisfied"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Beijing return via Xian. Outbound Business and the inbound flight in Economy Class. For Business class the food and drink list had many choices, and the snack they served us are allowed to order anytime we wish. The seat can be 180 degrees lie-flat, it was very comfortable. For inbound sector the flight attendants friendly and helpful, toilets was very clean during the whole flight. Overall, I am quite satisfied with the food and the service.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Beijing via Xian
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"outstanding crew and service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Boston to Shanghai round trip. Very outstanding crew and service. flights were relatively on time, flight attendants were attentive, patient, polite, and helpful. Meal service was probably among the best I've ever had. A menu is distributed with three options for the first meal and two options for the second. On my first flight to Shanghai, my first choice of the first meal was run out because I was in the back of the plane, and the flight attendant decided to start serving the second meal from the back of the plane to make sure that people sitting in the back could have their first choice for the second meal, which was very considerate. On top of that, the portion was big, way much better than almost all US airlines and some other 5-star airlines. Seats are comfortable, with more leg room than especially United. IFE is very smooth with a wide variety of movies and TV shows. Wifi was slow but free. Cabin announcement is first in English and then Chinese, which I found a little strange. The only downside is the awkward safety demonstration video. I understand airlines try to be creative in their safety demonstration videos but Hainan's is a little bit too much. Overall, Hainan's service is definitely on par, if not better, with other 5-star airlines.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Shanghai
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"very disappointing flight"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Changsha. A very disappointing flight. The aircraft did not have seat-back IFE, instead they provided small tablets for movie watching. The quality was very poor with a limited movie selection. The seats were worn with almost no padding let in them. The flight attendants were in a rush to serve lunch and then close the blinds so that they could do their disappearing act. Ground service and check in was very slow at Sydney airport. I was unable to have my frequent flyer number added to my record as the agents were not familiar on the process. The toilets were in pretty bad shape about half way through the flight. The food was so-so. The selection was noodles or rice with chicken or beef, it looked like slop. Drink service was limited. Flight attendants rarely smiled.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Changsha
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Hainan Airlines Photos

HAINAN AIRLINES

Hainan Airlines is a privately owned airline, the fourth largest carrier in China. Celebrating its 24th anniversary in 2017, Hainan Airlines is the only Chinese mainland carrier to be ranked as a 5-Star Airline. The main international hub is Beijing Airport, other hubs at Chengdu, Chingqing, Changsha, Xi'an and Shangai. Hainan Airlines has a fleet of over 180 aircraft, including Boeing 787-9 / 787-8 / 767-300 / 737-800, A330-200/300, anda further 75 aircraft on order.

NEW UNIFORMS

Hainan Airlines unveiled their new uniforms at Paris Couture Week in June 2017. The fifth-generation Hainan Airlines uniforms highlight the combination of traditional Chinese features and internationally popular elements. The fusion of traditional Chinese elements and popular international fashion created an Oriental masterpiece that turned heads in Paris.

BUSINESS CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul business class is provided on Boeing 787 and A330 aircraft, with flat bed seats, arranged 1x2x1 and 2x2x2 subject to aircraft type. In addition to luxury amenities, business class service includes an Onboard Chef and full dine on demand.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand a la carte dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

DOMESTIC FIRST CLASS

Domestic first class is provided using a mixture of widebody A330, Boeing 787 and Boeing 737-800 aircraft.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 50 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 20 ins
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
AmenitiesSlippers, eyeshade etc

ECONOMY CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul economy class uses Boeing 787, A330 and Boeing 767 aircraft, and also includes Boeing 737-800 on domestic routes.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 19 ins
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
power_iconUSB power (most int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningChinese & Western meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets
AmenitiesAmenity pack (int'l routes)

LOUNGES

Hainan Airlines have recently opened their flagship international lounge, the HNA Club at Terminal 2, Beijing Capital Airport. They also offer domestic lounges at many airports across China and have a new International lounge opening in Xi'an during 2017.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Seat pitchPrivate seat pods
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODEntertainment area
DiningBuffet & a la carte dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingRelaxation rooms
2_6_spacer