Top 100 Airlines  

Gulf Air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 177 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"staff were courteous"

(United Kingdom)

London to Muscat via Bahrain. I checked in online and dropped off my bags at the airport in a matter of minutes. Ground staff friendly and helpful. A330 clean and looked recently renovated. Economy seats were comfortable and cabin staff were courteous and friendly. The meal was the best I have had in economy class. Plenty of items and a great choice of drinks. Managed to get a sleep on board which was a bonus. The only slight negative was the lack of choice when it came to inflight entertainment. The second flight with a quick stop in Bahrain on an A320 was very comfortable and staff were friendly. Drink and snack was provided and arrived ahead of schedule. I flew back to Bahrain for a short visit then back on to London. I was very impressed with the food, cleanliness of aircraft and staff.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to MCT via BAH
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"friendly flight attendants"

(Australia)

I loved every minute of my flight from Frankfurt to Bahrain with Gulf Air. Check in was quick and easy and the lounge used in Frankfurt was nice too (Cathay Pacific). Once onboard we had spacious flat bed seats and were greeted by friendly flight attendants. The amenity kits were a nice touch. The food was very tasty and I liked the dates and arabic coffee which was served just before takeoff. My only complaint was the somewhat limited selection of in-flight movies and lack of music options.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt to Bahrain
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I would recommend them"

(United Kingdom)

The price was good and Gulf Air timings were good for my journey from Heathrow to Bangkok return via Bahrain. The flight was empty from Heathrow and i got a seat to myself by the window. I found seats perfectly fine for both the outward leg and the return one too. The food was tasty and had 3 choices and it came quickly, nice wine but not much choice in spirits (gin please!). The crew were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I was even offered an extra meal as I was complimentary about my meal from Bahrain to Bangkok! The movie selection was ok but nothing too special, and you had to watch a 2.5 minute Bahrain airshow footage each time you wanted to watch something, which was a bit irritating, but nothing too bad. The moving map was informative and information on local times and eta were handy as well. The plane was clean, blankets offered and the toilets were clean on all of the flights. I couldn't really fault anything major at all. I would recommend them to anyone wanting a good priced scheduled airline that didn't mind a change in Bahrain for longer haul flights.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to BKK via BAH
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seats were comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

I flew London to Bangkok return via Bahrain, with a very short stopover (1.5 hours) in Bahrain. Every flight left on time, the food was very good, service was friendly and seats were comfortable and plenty of legroom. The IFE was pretty good; not as good as some other airlines but it worked fine and had a good selection of documentaries. For less than £450 return it would be difficult to complain. I can recommend Gulf Air based upon my experience, and would definitely fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to BKK via BAH
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"unbeatable quality for the price paid"

(France)

Probably not the most luxurious business class product in the skies with Gulf Air, but unbeatable quality for the price paid from Paris CDG to Bangkok via Bahrain. Very relaxed crew, comfortable seat and very decent food. A low-profile airline that deserves to be better known. Would definitely fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCDG to BKK via BAH
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"I'd fly them again"

(United Kingdom)

London to Bangkok return via Bahrain. Quick and efficent check-in at Heathrow T4 but despite checking in online I was unable to get my preferred aisle seat. The flight was a little late in departing but most of the delay was made up before arriving in BAH. Economy seats were more comfortable than Emirates with reasonable space on the A330. Cabin service on all flights was nothing special, with fairly surly crews on all legs but food was simple and tasty with plenty of drinks choices. IFE nothing special, but I usually prefer to read or sleep on these night flights. Upon arrival in BKK the aircraft was stopped several hundred metres from the stand and many passengers decided to get up and 'leave'. For the last few minutes of taxi-ing the aisles were jammed with passengers and bags - and the cabin crew sat, watched - and did precisely nothing. It's not a great advertisement for an airline who can't or won't control their passengers. Quick and efficient (10 minute) check-in in BKK. The best part of the trip was transit through Bahrain - courteous and helpful staff (something which Dubai often lacks), clean uncrowded toilets and a sensible sized terminal. Boarding was a bit disorganised but otherwise okay, and generally pretty quick. I've flown Gulf before and I'd fly them again.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to BKK via BAH
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"unimpressive journey"

(United Kingdom)

Hyderabad to London via Bahrain with Gulf Air was a very forgettable and unimpressive journey. Having flown other middle east airlines (Emirates, Etihad, Qatar, Oman) I wanted to try Gulf Air as well. The first leg (4.5 hours) was in a very hot cabin and it was quite uncomfortable. The food was just okay and the entertainment system was rather poor compared to those of rivals in the region (for January they have a focus on Julia Roberts and have about 15 movies of hers, in theory a great idea but not when the overall offering is not that big). There were too many automated PAs and the FAs lacked training or character. On the Bahrain to London leg the passenger sitting next to me was give a non-veg meal even though he had ordered a Hindu vegetarian meal so he had to ask for fruit so as to eat something. 30 minutes before landing his meal was located, at which point it was too late. The A330 was refurbed and showed it, seats were okay though on the tighter side. Given the marginal cost differential between Gulf and other carriers I would pick any of the other ones.
AircraftA321 / A330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHYD to LHR via BAH
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"staff friendly enough"

(United Kingdom)

London to Dubai via Bahrain return on Gulf Air. Upgraded to Business Class on the London to Bahrain leg. Good check in, lounge okay at Heathrow Terminal 4. Comfortable beds with plenty of room in the cabin - only 18 business class seats. Service was good with excellent food and a good choice of quality wines. Cabin staff were very attentive. Only criticism is the IFE. In both classes, it was very mediocre to say the least. Bahrain to Dubai leg was in economy class. Not a seat free in a very cramped aircraft (A321). The only blessing on an awful flight was that it was only 50 minutes. The return leg was in economy class. Fortunately, we got exit row seats with plenty of leg room, but looking around, the A330 economy experience did not look too bad - food was fine, staff friendly enough and plenty of drinks if you asked. Given the price, Gulf Air was not such a bad experience. Would probably use again if better alternatives were at the then same extortionate prices.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to DXB via BAH
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a lovely flight"

(Bhutan)

Gulf Air direct flight between Delhi and Bahrain, A321 in Business Class, there is a wonderful sense of space. Business class seat becomes a full flat bed, comes with noise-cancelling ear-set, a pillow and on request a blanket. I chose the Arabic Mezze for my starter, the Grilled Chicken with mushroom and jus (for main-course), and Gulab Jamun for dessert. The mezze and the chicken were just fabulous. Service could have been a bit more personal, but the stewardess was polite and courteous. One touch I really liked, I had just woken up from my sleep and the stewardess offered me a lovely cup of cappuccino - that is the hallmark of good service. The Purser assisting the stewardess was an older man of few words, but professional, which is fine. Overall, a lovely flight, and I can't wait to review the return flight from Bahrain to Delhi
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDEL to BAH
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"flights were on time"

(United Kingdom)

Bangkok to London via Bahrain. Check in at BKK was fine and efficient. Flight landed about 40 mins early at Bahrain problem was had to wait for preceding flight to leave for about 20 mins. Flight was quite full and one guy was really annoying asking for things all the time like beer. The FAs I think tried to please him, he got his food first etc. FAs were rather abrupt and not very friendly. Anyway the flight from Bahrain to LHR was different, only about 1/4 full, FAs were friendly and helpful. One nice touch when I was falling asleep a FA covered my legs with a blanket. Entertainment was not good compared to Emirates. Seats I did not find that comfortable but enough room. Will fly with them again, times are good for me and all flights were on time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to LHR via BAH
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes