Airline of the Year  

Gulf Air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 196 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"They were really ruthless"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Colombo via Bahrain. I was really upset that I decided to travel with Gulf Air even it was cheap. The ground staff in Frankfurt and Bahrain acted without any heart. They were really ruthless. They did not allow me to take my essential baby stuff to the flight. An even at that last stage, they had very bad customer care. In the flight, you will not get any blanket or pillow. This is first and last. Do not fly.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Colombo via Bahrain
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"this airline was horrifying"

(United States)

Verified Review | Our experience with this airline was horrifying to say the least. Not only that they had over 4.5 hours delay that they couldn't explain. This delay pushed us to miss our next flight to NY. The desk manager didn't make any effort to find us another flight to make our connection, and instead asked us to call the connecting airline to try to get in the next flight. Of course, the other airline was not willing to help since it wasn't their fault. When asked to speak to another manager, he wouldn't cooperate. This is the worst airline customer service we have ever seen! We have decided to take on the next flight and connect with another airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBahrain to Dubai
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"managed to get me on onboard"

(Bahrain)

Unverified | Having seen a number of negative reviews, I was quite hesitant to book with Gulf Air. Flew from Bahrain to Abu Dhabi. I was delayed due to traffic and arrived 30 minutes before take off, I had bags to check and ran to the desk, the gentleman was pleasant, immediately called his manager and managed to get me on onboard the flight. Flight was on time and arrived early for this 50 minute hop. Crew were pleasant and water and sandwich handed out. Flight was smooth and the flight deck were engaging. Overall no better or worse than Etihad or Emirates, I would definitely use them again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBahrain to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"despicable customer service"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Riyadh to Abu Dhabi via Bahrain with Gulf Air. We arrived at Riyadh airport check in gate to discover there was a 2.15 hour delay. The service agent working the desk could not tell us why there was a delay nor could he offer any sympathy. We proceeded to wait for 3.5 hours until the flight finally arrived from Bahrain to board. We had a connecting flight to Abu Dhabi that we were promised we would make. We landed at 1200 and the flight was planned to leave at 1220. We ran, first off the plane to the gate which was closed. Even though we could see the plane still there. We ran to the transfer desk and were met with some of the worst customer service agents I have ever seen. None of this was our fault. Yet they made us feel that way. We were never apologized to nor did we even receive a smile. They would not call anyone to open the gate for us to make our flight instead begrudgingly gave us a boarding pass to the next available flight which was another 3 hours later. Again. Never received an apology or compensation or a remote amount of sympathy. I Will never fly with this airline again. I'm so disappointed. It has taken me 11 hours to get somewhere that should be a 2 hour flight. And I would feel better if at least one of the service agents had empathy for what we were going through as travellers. Despicable customer service. I have never been so taken aback at the customer service of an airline and I've been on over 24 flights in the past year.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRiyadh to Abu Dhabi via Bahrain
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"An awful airline"

(France)

Verified Review | An awful airline. A 5 hour delays, no compensation and not even a reply from their customer service. I flew from Paris with the flight on February 8th to Bangkok with a stop in Bahrain. I learned when landing in Bahrain that the flight to Bangkok GF152Y was delayed by 5 hours. I hardly received any excuse from the staff, the customer service never answered my emails and I had no compensation at all. I stayed 7 hours in the terrible Bahrain airport in the middle of the night, had nothing to drink nor eat.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Bangkok via Bahrain
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"highly satisfactory alternative"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Abu Dhabi via Bahrain. Given it cost me less than an economy ticket on one of the other gulf-based airlines, I treated myself to an upgrade for the return home. After the travails of the outward flight, I feared the worse particularly when the dreaded Gulf Air 'bad news SMS' arrived the evening before. The flight would be late, but only by an hour or so. Not a problem; the transit at Bahrain was over two hours. No queue at check-in, as to be expected, and fast-tracked through immigration and security which can be a mare at BKK. The general lounge used by Gulf was perfectly serviceable with an adequate selection of food and beverages. On joining the plane, I was greeted by a friendly crew who were attentive throughout; so happens the steward / chef was Scottish. Food was tasty albeit limited in choice compared to other operators. Likewise the vanity kit was basic. There again, why do you need anything flash? You only have to pay for it! As on the outward flight the IFR was technically excellent, not least the headphones, but woefully lacking in content. If there was any wifi, it wasn't promoted. However, you fly business class for the seat not the goodies. And this offered excellent space - six across - and comfort, and relatively new by the looks of things. Although traditional in design - it was just a seat, as is my personal preference - I had no sense of my immediate neighbours' presence. As initially advised by Gulf, the flight arrived in Bahrain an hour late. Annoyingly, although it is the norm in this part of the world, we were forced onto a bus to the terminal for no obvious reason. After a short spell in the Falcon lounge, which is excellent, eventual arrival in Abu Dhabi was 15 minutes ahead of schedule. In summary, a pleasant flight. Not up to Emirates or Qatar Airways standards, true. But if you're not able or prepared to pay the prices of these other, Gulf Air offers a highly satisfactory alternative if - and it's a very big if - its ageing planes stay healthy.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Abu Dhabi via Bahrain
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"trying desperately hard to survive"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Abu Dhabi to Bangkok via Bahrain. Gulf Air was once the premier airline in the region. Today what's left of its long haul business relies on six ageing and by all accounts increasingly unreliable A330s. The slightest unscheduled disruption can, and does, lead to service meltdown. Although we were forewarned by Gulf there'd be problems at Bahrain - a quick check on flight tracking websites suggested at least two A330s had been taken out of service - this did not prepare us for the chaotic scenes on arrival with all long haul flights either cancelled or operating many hours if not days behind schedule. Good point: Gulf Air had done the honourable and organised 5* hotel accommodation and food for the day in Bahrain. Bad point: they neglected to tell us prior to arrival; we only found out by word of mouth after wasting the best part of an hour in various queues. Once we eventually departed the flight was satisfactory; food and service good, legroom tight but no worse than others in cattle class, an excellent inflight system with, alas, nothing much to watch. Do not expect Emirates or QATAR quality if flying Gulf. However they're a fraction of the price of the aforementioned - our hotel probably cost more than we paid for the tickets - for which a lot can be forgiven. An airline trying desperately hard to survive with the long haul big boys without the resources to do so.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbu Dhabi to Bangkok via Bahrain
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Awful customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Bangkok via Bahrain. We boarded the plane, sat in fairly comfortable seating and reversed to taxi. Was parked for 45 minutes and no movement and no announcement from captain and then moved back to parking bay. Captain then announced there was a problem and we won't be flying for another hour. Wasn't too much of a problem but no drink or food and wasn't allowed to get off the plane. Hour past, still no movement and no announcement, hour later (2 hours and 45minutes after departure time) the problem will take another 1 hour and 30 minutes to fix. Still couldn't get off plane but water was supplied and awful biscuits. Finally 4 hours and 25 minutes in a plane at the parking bay we left. Awful, we should of been allowed off and given food vouchers for the delay. Because they held the next flight we aren't in the European regulation EC261 for compensation as we landed in Bangkok 2 hours late. Awful customer service and disappointment as return flight was much better.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bangkok via Bahrain
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"flight was delayed by 2 hours"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Chennai via Bahrain. The fare was very cheap compared to other airlines. The aircraft are of an average standard and quite old. Inflight entertainment is very bad and boring. Staff are pleasant and accommodating. Food is also of average standard. The biggest issue with Gulf Air is the punctuality. I have been checking some of the flights since I booked my ticket and on several occasions the LHR bound flight had been delayed by more that 2 hours. The outbound flight was uneventful however the inbound flight from Chennai to Bahrain was delayed by 1 hour and even more frustrating to find that the Bahrain - London flight was delayed by 2 hours. Not very pleasant when having to wait for another 2 hours on top of a long 3 hour wait in a very small airport.
AircraftA330-200 / A320/321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLondon to Chennai via Bahrain
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"very long tiring 2 days"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Bangkok to London Heathrow via Bahrain. The aircraft was very good, the staff were very helpful. Unfortunately on arriving at Bangkok airport, we were told that there was a delay of 5hrs (i.e flight was to have left at 8.50pm, but was not due to leave until 01.05, but did not leave until 01.22). When I asked at check in at Bangkok why it was delayed, they where very vague) this then meant that the connecting flight from Bahrain which we were due to catch at 02.00 was of course gone, so had to then wait a further 4hrs, so instead of getting into Heathrow at 06.35 Tuesday am, did not get back till 2.30pm (approx. I then had to find another way back to Portsmouth as the taxi I had booked was no longer there. Since then I have been trying to get some form of compensation, but as Bangkok and Bahrain are not EU countries I'm unable to and also Gulf Air is not an EU aircraft, I get nothing. Very disappointed, as no explanation was given and none of it was my fault. It was a very long tiring 2 days.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Heathrow via Bahrain
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no