Vote Now  

Gulf Air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 187 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"very long tiring 2 days"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Bangkok to London Heathrow via Bahrain. The aircraft was very good, the staff were very helpful. Unfortunately on arriving at Bangkok airport, we were told that there was a delay of 5hrs (i.e flight was to have left at 8.50pm, but was not due to leave until 01.05, but did not leave until 01.22). When I asked at check in at Bangkok why it was delayed, they where very vague) this then meant that the connecting flight from Bahrain which we were due to catch at 02.00 was of course gone, so had to then wait a further 4hrs, so instead of getting into Heathrow at 06.35 Tuesday am, did not get back till 2.30pm (approx. I then had to find another way back to Portsmouth as the taxi I had booked was no longer there. Since then I have been trying to get some form of compensation, but as Bangkok and Bahrain are not EU countries I'm unable to and also Gulf Air is not an EU aircraft, I get nothing. Very disappointed, as no explanation was given and none of it was my fault. It was a very long tiring 2 days.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Heathrow via Bahrain
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no signs of Gulf Air rep"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Dubai to London via Bahrain. We left Dubai at 9:20 pm on 26th December to go to Bahrain for an onward flight to London Heathrow. Flight was nice and, when I noticed that we should have reached Bahrain, an announcement by pilot was made that due to fog in Bahrain, we are diverting flight to Kuwait Airport. We landed in Kuwait around 10.40pm local time. Finally the plane stopped, sandwiches and water were served by flight attendants and then after some time pilot announced that we will be taken to Kuwait Airport lobby as the flights will not fly until 7.00 am next day and we will be greeted by Gulf Air reps in the airport (around 11.00 pm local time) . This was the last time we heard a Gulf Air representative for next 8-9 hours. Kuwait airport, although an international airport, is pretty much like a small tunnel with limited shops and uncomfortable seats. The buses dumped us at the airport and we entered in the airport to find a crowded airport. It was chaos; we reached at other airline transit desk and waited about an hour to speak with Gulf Air rep, nobody turned up. At this desk, some Airport staff appeared and asked all of Gulf Air passengers to go to gate number 2. Well, gate number 2 was locked and there were no signs of Gulf Air rep there too. By this time at had been there about two hours. All passengers had nowhere to go, no food, no water not even a chair available to sit. Agitated, some passengers tried to go to Gulf Air Lounge but lounge service lady there, claimed that she is nothing to do with Gulf Air and could not help anybody. At 7am in morning the first Gulf Air rep came at transit desk. An abrupt announcement was made that the flights to Bahrain will be departing in next hours or so get your Boarding pass. The stranded passengers rushed to transit desk where two people were issuing new boarding pass. What a painful two hours, standing in the queue, with few staff working, boarding passes were issued. The flight to Bahrain left at around 10.00 am and reached around 11.00 am in Bahrain.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDXB to LHR via BAH
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cheap tickets not worth it"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Dubai to London via Bahrain. Absolutely disgraceful, reached London a day later than expected. Flight from Dubai was nearly 15 hours late due to fog at Dubai Airport. Gulf air staff were totally lost with the whole situation and had no update on the correct time when the flight will be going. 1 McDonalds complimentary meal for the inconvenience caused. Reached bahrain to find out flight to London is further delayed. The 4.00am flight did not leave on time, they had to re-board all, re check and scan, although everyone had been through security. I reached London to find out that the baggage is missing. So had to return home with no bags. A horrendous experience, Gulf Air staff at Heathrow, Dubai and Bahrain were of no use. The cheap tickets are definitely not worth it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDXB to LHR via BAH
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"most likely not use again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The flight to Bangkok did make an overall good impression. Good food options for someone who picks a diabetic meal. However, due to poor weather conditions my flights (Bangkok to Bahrain and then to London) were all affected and dealt with with such a poor quality. I would have expected a much more organisation in Bahrain. When I came for my finally rescheduled flight after being redirected to land in Doha and having waited at the airport for 12 hours with the lack of airline staff and updates - no information was given only that we need to sit and wait at gate c13. Hours passed and we had to ourselves go and look all around the airport for any staff until when we found it to get no information. In Bahrain, I had my second leg rescheduled and when I arrived at the airport, that was delayed as well. In the airport there was no such flight on the screen. No crew members or customer service for economy passengers from the airline even though the airline is the airline of Bahrain. How is that? Sleeping at the airport for another 6 hours, with no information - on the board it says the flight has been rescheduled to 2.50, then for 5.20 but the time is already 6 in the morning. Then it has been changed to 5.20, after which no new information is given, and everyone is waiting with no crew member to come and explain or even give any information through the speakers. I do understand it is the weather which is out of control of the airline, but there should be organised crew to accommodate all the passengers for such unexpected events. At least someone to come and give us updates at least once an hour. Not leaving passengers with no signs of guidance for many hours of stress. Food is good. Air crew is exceptional. Ground crew is of unacceptable quality. I have been left with unpleasant feelings about the airline only from the way they have dealt with this situation and being under so much stress while looking for answers and being provided with no clear options of being offered accommodation or some other comfort while waiting for 12 hours in Doha. I will most likely not use their services again.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to LHR via BAH
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"seemed clumsy at times"

(Greece)

Verified Review | Athens to Abu Dhabi via Bahrain. Thought we would give Gulf Air a try. Initially I was apprehensive as I thought the A320 would be too small for the Athens to Bahrain 3hr 50 min flight. Though a small aircraft the seating is very comfortable with a pillow and inflight entertainment on each seat, and plenty of leg room. The food provided was good enough so was the drink variety. The only slightly negative aspect is that the staff are lacking professionalism and seemed clumsy at times but apart from that a very good airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATH to AUH via BAH
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"catering was of a high standard"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This was my first time flying with Gulf Air. Overall the experience was good but there are some definite areas where Gulf Air could easily enhance the passenger experience. I booked my flights on the Gulf Air website, the booking and seat selection process was generally easy however the website would not accept my American Airlines frequent flyer number (I think because it is alpha-numeric). I checked in using the mobile version of the Gulf Air website, this was also easy to use but there were some more minor issues; the AAdvantage number was accepted but the system didn't like my passport number (again this seemed to be because it is alpha-numeric). Fast track security at Heathrow was efficient and the Gulf Air T4 lounge was spacious, had good views of the ramp and a good selection of complimentary food and beverage items. The boarding process was efficient and there was a warm welcome from the Cabin Manager at the boarding door. Prior to departure passengers were offered a welcome drink as well as arabic coffee and dates. The cabin is configured 2x2x2 with seats upholstered in leather. I found the seat comfortable in a seated and reclined position but not so much in the sleeping position due to being sloped. Upon boarding however I noticed a dirty tissue in the side compartment of my seat (presumably missed by the cleaners) and attention to detail with cabin cleanliness seemed to be lacking. The crew were profusely apologetic about this. The onboard service from the Cabin Crew was warm, attentive and friendly and catering was of a high standard. The crew regularly offered drink refills and had a good presence in the cabin. Unfortunately I was served one drink in a dirty glass and again the crew were very apologetic. The transfer to my connecting flight in BAH was easy and the lounge in BAH was of a similar standard to the LHR lounge. Strangely the gate agent for the BAH-AUH sector had to hand write boarding passes for any passengers (including me) who presented mobile boarding passes. This created a delay at the gate and seems to defeat the purpose of a mobile boarding pass if the staff literally have to write one out by hand (something I have never seen before). The short hop to AUH on was an A320ER with the same seats as found on the A330 but in a 2x2 configuration, very nice for such a short sector.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to AUH via BAH
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst experience ever"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Worst experience ever with Gulf Air yesterday. I was booked to fly Dubai to Bangkok via Bahrain in business class. Just at the time of check in, I received a notification that the DXB-BAH flight was delayed by 1.15 hrs which meant that I would lose my connecting flight GF152 BAH-BKK. I mentioned this and showed the message to GF check-in but they insisted that the flight was not delayed and issued my boarding passes. I refused and asked them to wait as I was not keen to travel to BAH on a delayed flight and find my connecting one to BKK departed from there. The check in staff was adamant and almost impolite. A few minutes wait later they admitted there was a delay and I would thereby miss my connection from BAH. I asked to be endorsed on another airline as I had a day full of work meetings the following day. After a great deal of time, they offered me a seat on another airline on economy class without any compensation! The check in staff completely disinterested and said this was the final offer and there was no Gulf Air representative available. He showed little interest in my plight and went around walking and chatting with his team members. He advised that a Gulf Air representative will be there in 20 minutes. Finally after 35 minutes Gulf Air's staff arrived and repeated the same offer. He told me that I could fly to BAH on the delayed flight and would be accommodated in a hotel there until the following nights flight to BKK. This was unacceptable as it meant I lose an entire day of work and am lodged in BAH for a whole day for no reason. He asked me to take it or leave it as this was the only offer. To me this was unacceptable to be downgraded to Economy with no compensation. He told me that I was free to purchase a new ticket on another airline of my choice but Gulf Air will not compensate me. Gulf Air let me down yesterday with its delay and made it worse by showing its Falcon Gold customer no respect or attention they deserve. I had no choice but to cancel my trip altogether as I was not keen to fly economy when booking a business class.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDXB to BKK via BAH
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"buy new ticket rather than fly Gulf Air"

(United Kingdom)

The first part of the flight from Heathrow to Bahrain was okay, not the best but the flight was virtually empty no more than 25 people in my section. We were encouraged to move around and make use of all the free space. However, while waiting in transit to continue the journey to Bangkok the flight which was due take leave at 22.20 was delayed by 10 hours until the next morning. This delay was not announced at the gate and it wasn't until we checked the board that we found out about the delay. Hotel accommodation was provided but it all took far too long. The hotel had arranged an early morning call at 5am to make sure everyone was ready to be transferred back to the airport. Unfortunately, although everyone was up and ready, 10 minutes before 5am I received an email saying that the flight had been delayed until 8pm that night! For some reason some people did not receive the email. This email was too late and we should have been notified sooner. The flight finally left Bahrain almost 24 hours later. I discovered that some people had been delayed from the night before which meant they had been waiting 48 hours and apparently their flight was also very empty. When the flight left it was full to the brim and it was a different plane as our seat numbers did not correspond with those that we had booked and we didn't have the extra leg room that we ad booked. I have emailed the airline on several occasions asking for the delay information in order to make my insurance claim but they have failed to supply this even though it is now outside the 3 week waiting time. In my opinion they simply held the 2 flights over in order to send one full flight, that is all, and it is not acceptable. I have my return ticket for November which I will not use, I would rather buy a new ticket rather than fly Gulf Air!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to BKK via BAH
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"all in all worst experience"

(India)

Verified Review | Mumbai to Frankfurt via Bahrain. 14 business class seats have one too small toilet. The entertainment system has very outdated contents. Seats are angled and hence getting sleep is impossible. Since it's A320, the Business class or so called Falcon Gold is connected with other cabin with tons of noise. All in all its very worst flight. Even the staff seems has no care for business class passenger to serve them breakfast. All in all worst experience.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBOM to FRA via BAH
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"worst experience in air travel"

(India)

I travelled Gulf Air from Riyadh to Chennai via Bahrain. The flight was delayed more than 15 hours due to technical problem at Riyadh. No proper information about the departure from the ground staff. No airline staff come forward to explain the status about the problem to the passengers. Finally problem was fixed after 15 hours and left to Bahrain. Connecting flight from Bahrain was missed and waited at Bahrain for 8 hours. There was total delay of 24 hours when reaching chennai. There was no alternate arrangements made to the passengers. My worst experience in air travel.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRUH to MAA via BA
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no