Germanwings

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 308 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Germanwings customer review

Review by (Germany) 2nd July 2015

The flight was delayed by 6 hours, allegedly because of a radar system failure at Rome Fiumicino airport. Strangely, only the Germanwings flight to Berlin was affected, Air Berlin left on time. Delays can happen, but the complete lack of information and assistance was not acceptable. No ground staff was available, phone calls to Germanwings were not answered. No meal voucher was offered. To add insult to injury, access to Star Alliance lounges is denied to Gold members outside Germany when you travel with Germanwings because they are a Lufthansa subsidiary but not a member of Star Alliance. The flight itself was smooth, but no inflight entertainment whatsoever. For the same price, Air Berlin offers much better value. Will not travel Germanwings again.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteFCO to TXL
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Germanwings customer review

Review by (United States) 19th June 2015

My wife and I were checking in our luggage for our flight from Hamburg to Geneva when a person who identified himself as the “enforcer” (his term) approached us and informed me that I had to also check in my carry-on. This was a surprise since it was below Germanwings allowable size. The enforcer instructed the ticket agent to weigh my carry-on. Unfortunately, it did exceed the 8kg weight limit. My only option was to remove excess weight, which I did. I removed clothing and gifts until I reached the 8 kg limit and placed them in the garbage pail provided by the ticket agent. I believe in following rules, but they need to be clearly indicated and consistently applied. This experience was in itself unpleasant. We checked in an extra piece of luggage and had to go to another agent to pay a 75 euro surcharge. However, we were informed that the surcharge would be 150 Euros for 2 pieces of luggage. The 2 agents communicated by phone and eventually discovered that we had erroneously been charged for an extra suitcase.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHamburg to Geneva
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

Germanwings customer review

Review by (Czech Republic) 31st May 2015

4U7779 and 4U7778 May16 and May 26 PRG-HAM-PRG economy class. A decent low cost option for short flights within Europe. If you want to get from A to B in a cost efficient manner it's an alternative. Flights would've left on time if it wouldn't have taken the flight attendants almost 10 minutes to get a passenger to finally stop talking on his cell phone thus delaying the safety instructions. The in-flight magazine is the worst I've ever seen. It's full of advertisements. Although I didn't order anything the prices for beverages and snacks seem to be the same as on other low cost carriers.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Germanwings customer review

Review by (Czech Republic) 31st May 2015

4U7779 and 4U7778 May16 and May 26 PRG-HAM-PRG economy class. A decent low cost option for short flights within Europe. If you want to get from A to B in a cost efficient manner it's an alternative. Flights would've left on time if it wouldn't have taken the flight attendants almost 10 minutes to get a passenger to finally stop talking on his cell phone thus delaying the safety instructions. The in-flight magazine is the worst I've ever seen. It's full of advertisements. Although I didn't order anything the prices for beverages and snacks seem to be the same as on other low cost carriers.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Germanwings customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 28th May 2015

DUS-GVA-DUS. Operated by Eurowings on CRJ 900. Comfortable small plane because of the 2-2 seating. 45 mins delay on outbound flight 30 mins on inbound hence the 7 for trip satisfaction. Mostly friendly crew and good catering for short flight. Booked smart class so got a sandwich chocolate bar water and a drink. Paid 196 euro for 2 including seat reservation catering and two bags for a return flight which is a bargain.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Germanwings customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 28th May 2015

DUS-GVA-DUS. Operated by Eurowings on CRJ 900. Comfortable small plane because of the 2-2 seating. 45 mins delay on outbound flight 30 mins on inbound hence the 7 for trip satisfaction. Mostly friendly crew and good catering for short flight. Booked smart class so got a sandwich chocolate bar water and a drink. Paid 196 euro for 2 including seat reservation catering and two bags for a return flight which is a bargain.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Germanwings customer review

Review by (Germany) 22nd May 2015

Flew Best Class from Hamburg to Cologne. Best is not business but it is a best Germanwings has to offer. You sit in row 1 to 3 and the middle seat is free so there is maximum of 12 travellers. You have access to LH lounge which is full in Hamburg Airport. There is a choice of finger food salat nuts and gummibears as well as hot and cold drinks beer wine and spirits. Boarding with priority. Was a little surprised by the food you get on board you can choose from the Germanwings card whatever you want for free if it is loaded. The best thing was the flight attendant who was nice and very friendly. She addressed everybody by name and was professional. At Cologne it took ages again until baggage arrived so no priority for our bags. This was my first Best-Class with Germanwings would fly them in this class again but I do prefer LH instead if it is possible.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Germanwings customer review

Review by (Germany) 22nd May 2015

Flew Best Class from Hamburg to Cologne. Best is not business but it is a best Germanwings has to offer. You sit in row 1 to 3 and the middle seat is free so there is maximum of 12 travellers. You have access to LH lounge which is full in Hamburg Airport. There is a choice of finger food salat nuts and gummibears as well as hot and cold drinks beer wine and spirits. Boarding with priority. Was a little surprised by the food you get on board you can choose from the Germanwings card whatever you want for free if it is loaded. The best thing was the flight attendant who was nice and very friendly. She addressed everybody by name and was professional. At Cologne it took ages again until baggage arrived so no priority for our bags. This was my first Best-Class with Germanwings would fly them in this class again but I do prefer LH instead if it is possible.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Germanwings customer review

Review by (Germany) 8th May 2015

Germanwings 9038 DUS-HAM May 6 yet another delay (and hopefully no cancellation to follow as it happens so often). The replacement of Lufthansa services that do not connect via Frankfurt or Munich with Germanwings has in my view turned out as a major downgrade. Aircraft layout (different seat pitch in economy in one and the same aircraft) and classes (no business class offering but instead a section labelled "best") seem quite incoherent. Delays are frequent sometimes with subsequent cancellations without explanations from unwelcoming ground staff. Miles & More status is worth less than on LH (no fast lane no lounge). It is as close to a true low cost carrier as LH could get. Luckily there are some routes left where you get to choose (e.g. on HAM-ZRH Swiss operates some proper flights).
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Germanwings customer review

Review by (Germany) 8th May 2015

Germanwings 9038 DUS-HAM May 6 yet another delay (and hopefully no cancellation to follow as it happens so often). The replacement of Lufthansa services that do not connect via Frankfurt or Munich with Germanwings has in my view turned out as a major downgrade. Aircraft layout (different seat pitch in economy in one and the same aircraft) and classes (no business class offering but instead a section labelled "best") seem quite incoherent. Delays are frequent sometimes with subsequent cancellations without explanations from unwelcoming ground staff. Miles & More status is worth less than on LH (no fast lane no lounge). It is as close to a true low cost carrier as LH could get. Luckily there are some routes left where you get to choose (e.g. on HAM-ZRH Swiss operates some proper flights).
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no