Top 100 Airlines  

Germanwings

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 141 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"very cramped"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Germanwings from London Stansted to Cologne Bonn. Flight delayed by over an hour at London Stansted. Inconvenience made worse by fact that this was not announced or posted on display boards (I know this is airport responsibility) so I left VIP lounge. As the departure is in different area of airport to lounge (accessible only by a mono-rail and no return allowed) this meant a long wait in a crowded gate area. Flight was full to capacity and very cramped. Normal offer of high priced beverages etc. offered during flight. Low cost option with more service and professionalism than other LCCs. I would use again.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSTN to CGN
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"staff were friendly"

(Germany)

My boyfriend and I booked the basic fare from Hamburg to Rome Fiumicino. I didn't expect much because Germanwings is a low cost airline but it was great. The staff were friendly, when boarding was completed the pilot welcomed us all on board and although we had just booked the basic fare the stewardess gave us drinks for free. Departed and arrived on time. The first time I was in Rome I waited nearly 40 minutes for my bag but this time they were really fast. Would recommend flying with Germanwings.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAM to FCO
Date FlownMay 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
na

PLEASE REFER TO EUROWINGS

(United Kingdom)

Germanwings operations have now been transferred to and taken over by Eurowings. You can read their reviews here » Eurowings Customer Reviews
yes
8/10

"great value for money"

(Spain)

Lufthansa operated by Germanwings from Barcelona to Berlin Tegel and back. Both fights on time with very quick boarding and ground service. First flight was a 16 year old A319, plane was very clean and comfortable. The return flight on a 23 year old A320, despite the old age of the aircraft it was very clean, comfortable and showed signs of great maintenance service. You cold only tell that it was that old becouse it was considerably louder but the journey was very enjoyable. The snacks are not very good, but I can forgive that on a 2h 15 min flight. Great comfort in the seats with more legroom. Great value for money and going to try Eurowings.
AircraftA320 / A319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBCN to TXL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"pay very little money"

(United Kingdom)

Germanwings from Bangkok to London via Cologne. Imagine to fly with Ryanair for a 12hours long fly, without any food or beverage included in your ticket. The price wasn't cheap at all to justify such a lack of service. If you would like to eat something make sure you carrying euro (only currency accepted) or credit cards to buy food they are offering. The seats feel small. One of the cabin staff was very kind but other cabin crew service was not as bright. If you fly with Germanwings, make sure you pay very little money and or fly on shorter flights. The short connecting flight from Cologne to London was good though.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to LHR via CGN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"friendly and professional"

(Netherlands)

Germanwings flight from Berlin Tegel to Dusseldorf. Cabin crew were friendly and professional. Good late evening snack: a cheese or salami sandwich, chocolate bar and a small bottle of water. Too bad the there is no in-flight entertainment.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTXL to DUS
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"little choice of airline"

(United Kingdom)

Not a bad price but little choice of airline as BA don't fly this route. Essentially Germanwings is the low cost wing of Lufthansa and it shows. Unruly boarding. No inflight catering at all - weak and tasteless tea for €2.50! On the other hand, flights reasonably punctual, though outbound was 20 mins late.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHeathrow to Cologne
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"were very satisfied"

(Germany)

We have been flying Dortmund to Munich return with Germanwings as a feeder flight for long haul with Lufthansa from Munich, and were very satisfied. The flights were on time, we got a snack and a seat with more legroom due to the Smart Fare booked and the staff was friendly. Online Check-In was easy and fast, so was bag drop.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDTM to MUC
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"no info or staff"

(Japan)

Bad arrangements if outside the protocol. There were heavy fog in London and due to weather condition flight is cancelled. Reasonable but only one number that can never be connected is given to rebook Germanwings flights or claim hotel accommodation. It is fine that the Hotel/ flights needed to be rebooked but no instruction of how to claim those back. Flight booked again at the same time 7:15pm to Berlin and was delayed to 9:30pm. No info or staff until the monitor suddenly show the gate numbe at 8:40. Flight delayed so no public transport out of Tegel Airport for Berlin city center. No arrangement at all. Need to get a cab to hotel around 1am. So a lot of money like 500 pounds was paid for everything but no way to get it back. Only good thing is staff are nice.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Berlin
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"cabin crew were very friendly"

(Ireland)

Flew from Dublin to Rome via Cologne on Germanwings. Website booking is very efficient and due to my fare type, I was able to select seat 1D for both flights. Check in was smooth and all flights left on time. Again due to fare type, I was given a sandwich, coffee and bottled water on both flights and the cabin crew were very friendly and professional. Transfer in Cologne was extremely efficient with no need to reclear security and a small and compact airport. Baggage claim in Rome was a zoo, but I would blame Rome tourism in July for that. All in all, a very positive experience on Germanwings and connecting in Cologne would by no means turn me away from flying them again.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Rome via Cologne
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes