Airline of the Year  

Garuda Indonesia

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 543 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"a really enjoyable experience"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Went on CGK-SUB and BWX-CGK via SUB last December with Garuda Indonesia. The first leg was on a standard 737. Seat pitch was mediocre at best, seat comfort unremarkable. IFE was of the newer, more responsive interface. Unfortunately, plane was hot, and we were served snacks for the 80 minute sector. However, the snacks were tasty. The second flight was on an ATR72 from BWX to SUB on GA7305. This sector was delayed by an hour, but compensation was more than enough - two discount vouchers. Although this was a short 30-minute hop, the legroom, snacks and crew were all great. Flight was perfectly smooth although we passed through thick clouds. Finally was GA323, SUB-CGK onboard an ancient 747. We were seated on the upper deck, and this gave a sense of tranquility and peace as there were very few other people. Despite the age, the 747 was amazingly comfortable, with cold cabins and calming ambient lighting. Seat pitch was well above average. Crew were very professional, courteous and friendly. This was a great throwback to the 1990's and did not disappoint at all, despite the lack of a proper IFE. One of the best flights of my life thus far, despite the turbulence. Too bad the 747s have been retired now. Overall it was a really enjoyable experience on Garuda, except for the rather mediocre first sector of the trip. Would definitely recommend this airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 / 747-400 / ATR72,
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCGK to BWX via SUB
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"highly recommend this airline"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta to Osaka via Denpasar. The service from cabin crew was very excellent. The food was yummy but the in flight entertainment was very boring. When in Osaka the ground service is very nice. But overall I would fly again using this airline. I highly recommend this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Osaka via Denpasar
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"they well deserve their rating"

(United Arab Emirates)

Unverified | Jakarta to Denpasar Bali. It is always a pleasure to give feedback to any service that stands out in the service they give. Recently booked return Jakarta to Denpasar Bali, Booked economy and applied for the bid to upgrade. Very easy process and both were accepted to business class. Lounges good, although flying domestic no booze in the lounges and only beer served onboard so this loses a star for this. Overall all staff on the ground and in the air were professionals, polite, very smiley, engaging and went out of their way to make you feel at home. Seats are large business class seats and it must be only European carriers that provide these ridiculous Y class seats with no room in business with a seat kept free in-between. BA is worst of all in my view. All flights on time, bags out in minutes.. They well deserve their rating for making travel to easy.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJakarta to Denpasar Bali
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"very polite and professional"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Yogyakarta to Jakarta. I had my ticket checked online and only had to report then drop my baggage at the airport. Check-in staff were polite and there was no queuing. Flew on their older aircraft (no personal screen) instead there was some overhead screen. Newspapers and complimentary candies were provided during entry at the galleys. Aircraft cabin was clean and kept in good condition. The flight took off ahead of schedule. A snack box was provided for each passengers containing a pack of mix nuts, one small cup of water, wet wipes and sweet bread. Later a selection of hot and cold drinks were offered. Snack service was swift with FAs being very polite and professional. Flight landed a few minutes ahead of schedule, passengers was told that the aircraft would be parked at a remote stand and busses were waiting to transport us to the arrival gate.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYogyakarta to Jakarta
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Another good hospitality"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Denpasar to Jakarta. Time was good, no delay at all. Boeing 737-800 seems old but facility inside seems okay. The food is good for short-haul flight. Another good hospitality from Indonesian Cabin Crew. It's perfect Asian style, humble and full of smile! I thought it's the best option for Indonesia inter-city flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Jakarta
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"ran out of options during the meal service"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I just had the most inspiring journey with Garuda Indonesia on the way back home to Bali from Osaka. All the flight was normal until the meal service. The cabin crew ran out of options during the meal service. The options were japanese chicken rice and the other one was fish with rice, yet only the fish left. The crew showed me the fish rice, which personally I must say very not appetizing. Then, he took initiative to try to find me the Japanese chicken rice, which was completely finished on board. Finally, he went to the galley, and offered the crew meal, which was chicken with indonesian yellow rice. I agreed to take this. I was amazed by the crew's action to go beyond my expectations. I must be very honest and say that the crew meal tasted much better.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Denpasar
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"onboard service was excellent"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Flew with Garuda from Singapore to Indonesia. This is the earliest flight with Garuda from Singapore. Boarding process was smooth even though the aircraft was parked at a remote area. Onboard, service was excellent as usual: flight attendants were jovial and courteous, helping the elderly and families with children. Food was standard but OK, entertainment on board was good - quite updated. Obviously will travel with them again!
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Jakarta
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"FAs were attentive and knowledgeable"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Flew Garuda Indonesia from Jakarta - Singapore - London Heathrow, everything went smoothly. FAs were attentive and knowledgeable, IFE worked well but there is room for improvement such as adding front/rear camera and adding some more variations on the dishes served. Seat only recline to the back, not the most comfortable for a long-haul fight. Ample room for an economy, did not feel cramped at all. London Heathrow - Jakarta went smoothly as well, flight wasn't full but the catering was arguably underseasoned compared to the previous flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to London via Singapore
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"extremely pleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew Amsterdam to Jakarta with my daughter on March 29th, 2017. It was another extremely pleasant experience with Garuda Indonesia in First Class all the way from check-in through to boarding the plane. The Cabin service was exceptional, The cabin crew were very well organized and could not do enough to help and like our inbound flight from Jakarta to Amsterdam they again went out of their way to help and assist my 9 year old daughter. Free WIFI was available from just after take off until 15 minutes prior to landing in Jakarta and connection quality was very good. Food served was great. Ground Staff at Amsterdam and Jakarta Airports were also very helpful. Furthermore I am really impressed by the Garuda ground service in Jakarta on arrival as they help process immigration and baggage is delivered very quickly.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteAmsterdam to Jakarta
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"very pleasant and comfortable"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta to London. The flight with Garuda Indonesia was very pleasant and comfortable. The flight attendant have sincere smile and service, and provide service with great quality and speed. The seats are comfortable, and in economy class the seats are spacious enough to sleep comfortably. The legroom is good. The toilet is clean. The food and beverage is satisfactory but food taste is not very good.The snack areas and the snack bars are quite lacking though, because they ran out so fast and they only got some nuts. But during the flight the FAs will hand out some snacks too that are unavailable on the snack area. In-flight entertainment is quite good, though I think their movie list should be expanded. Ground service is good, and quite accommodating on requests. .
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to London
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes