FlySafair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 16 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"you get what you pay for"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | Durban to Johannesburg. As a low cost airline, in FlySafair you get what you pay for. No inflight entertainment, any beverage you want you have to pay, seats that don't recline. No USB plug to charge your phone. The really good thing is that the service was really fast. Fast boarding, fast disembarking and you got your checked baggage fast.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Johannesburg
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"Very basic airline"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Flew FlySafair from Johannesburg to Cape Town. Very basic airline, pay for everything. I often find cheaper flights with other low cost airlines in South Africa of whom I get much better service. Great airline when traveling on a tight budget and only with hand luggage, but if you're looking for comfort and services, give them a skip.
AircraftBoeing 737-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"greeted by a professional crew"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Having needed to book last-minute, we were very pleased to find that FlySafair had reasonable fares a few hours before departure. Flew from Cape Town to Johannesburg. The experience started at check-in, unfortunately the priority queue was slower than the normal queue due to passengers being let forward due to needing special assistance or running late. However, as soon as we got onboard, we were greeted by a professional crew and the whole boarding process was very organised. Legroom was adequate, however the seatback was rather short, meaning that sleeping was uncomfortable for anybody taller than 175cm. In-flight service was BOB with very reasonable prices. In Johannesburg our luggage was delivered within a reasonable timeframe. All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to book flySafair again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"I had to give up my bag"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I sat in Seat 3E, which is right behind the exit row seats. This is considered a premium seat which I paid for. As all frequent flyers know, the exit row needs to be kept clear and passengers normally would put their bags in the overhead bins for takeoff as per instructions. "Please place all bags in overhead bins or under the seat in front of you". Safair has a policy of allowing and recommending that the exit row places their bags under their own seat. I ended up sitting in a so called premium seat with a large bag where I would normally place my small bag and my feet. I complained but cabin crew confirmed that this is policy and I had to give up my bag to be placed in overhead bin. I never got it back till I had landed, so I could not read my book. I think everyone and all other airlines can see the problem with this policy. I would never put my bag where someone elses feet go. There is the obvious theft opportunity and possible damage if some kicked your bag. Anyway, warning to all about premium seat and weird policies. The seats are also pretty small.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGeorge to Johannesburg
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airline to travel on"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to George. I recommend to stay clear of FlySafair! After sitting at the airport for over 5 hours, we were told at 20h00 “the flight was cancelled”. We boarded the plane earlier and then was told to disembark after an hour. Many families with young children who did not live in Gauteng had to find alternative accommodation with no assistance from Flysafair. Not to mention old people who had no means of additional transport nor accommodation that time of night! Cash refunds were refused, which meant you were forced to use Flysafair the next day. Flying Safair has cost us an additional R5000 in one day and we never reached our destination as booked online at least 2 months before the time. There were many different excuses for cancelling the flight. If an airline cancels more than one flight on a day and both times the reasons are “technical” you have to start worrying about the state of the planes they are using. They are not the cheapest if you read their fine print and their customer service is non-existent. I have travelled to most European countries, the East and Africa over the last 15 years with many airlines. Flysafair was most definitely the worst airline to travel on!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to George
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"disgusted at the service"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Johannesburg. I am disgusted at the service I received at Flysafair, I had booked my ticket through Travelstart and I was asked how many bags I would to pay for, I then paid for 3 bags when doing my booking considering the fact that I was booking 6 return flights, from Johannesburg to Cape Town and back again, the cost for the bags was R450, which was calculated at R150 a bag. Once the online check in was opened, I went online to check in and I selected our 6 seats next to each other however when I got to the airport air boarding passes had different seats numbers, I was very unhappy with this because I was traveling with kids who were traveling by plane for the first time and I had to seat my children with strangers how upsetting. In any case I decided to do the online check again when it was time to come back and guess what we were placed in different seats again and to top it off I was told that I had not paid for my luggage and I had to now pay an additional R750 for the 3 bags because that is airport fees. I am very angry at the bad service I received, be careful of these cheap airflights they actually not cheap and are actually a rip off. Why pay for luggage, when I'm already traveling with you guys, I would much rather use Mango or Khulula next time. All the money I paid for nothing and their seats are uncomfortable and there very little space, in fact no leg space at all.
AircraftFA114
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"over 4 hours to get another plane"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | I flew from Port Elizabeth to Johannesburg on 14 October 2017. Our plane hit a bird on departure from Port Elizabeth. It took them over 4 hours to get another plane to Port Elizabeth. Keep in mind its only an hour flight from Cape Town and a 1.5 hour flight from Johannesburg, they had some excuse as to why it was taking so long to get another plane. I missed my connecting flight that night. After lauching a complaint to their customer service and following up for feedback they now are ignoring me. I will not recommend this airline to anyone.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort Elizabeth to Johannesburg
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Totally disappointment"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to George. I have been flying with FlySafair since they start flying in South Africa. I was always satisfied with the service but lately their service is worse. They are not on time for the last two flights we took first one was on the 9/08/2017 at OR Tambo on flight FA220, we were delayed for one hour before we took off needless to say I missed my important meeting in George. Second one was on the 15/08/2017 at George on flight FA221 only 6 days later and we were delayed again for an hour. Again I have to miss my business meetings in Johannesburg. I ask myself why must I use an airline that started well but lately is causing me embarrassments with my clients. Totally disappointment.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to George
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a great no-frills carrier"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Last minute day trip from Johannesburg to Durban return. Very user friendly website meant that I selected the flights, booked, paid for, and checked in, all within 10 minutes. Prices were below competitors on this route. Both flights on time, aircraft was clean and crew seemed friendly enough. Did not order any catering. The only reason to drop 1 point from 10/10 is that the person I travelled with checked in to the aisle seat, and I to the window seat, hoping for a free seat in the middle (no one will take that seat when on line checking in), but the middle seat was filled by airport check in staff. That's fine for a full flight, but when there are empty rows forward and behind why squeeze everyone together? Anyway overall, a great no-frills carrier.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Durban
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"clean planes and very friendly airport staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I read good reviews about this airline but was worried as it was very new to the market and one of the cheapest tickets I could find. What I found was a fantastically easy website to use on your mobile, upfront and clear charges, clean planes and very friendly airport staff. Also, as I was travelling with a small child, I didn't expect them to let us carry baby carrier and stroller for free. After speaking to family members back home in South Africa they all had had great experiences with FlySafari.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDUR to CPT
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 16 Reviews