Top 100 Airports  

Finnair

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 479 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"ground services are well below acceptable"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | Finnair defines itself the most efficient hub between Europe and North and East Asia. We understand they offer better connections and shorter flight time than Middle-East competitors. That is true. We also understand that they will offer competitive levels of comfort on board, as well as prices. This is also true. However, their ground services are well below acceptable, at least for Business Class passengers. In 4 "priority" check-in experiences, all of them were allowing Economy Class passengers to queue in from of them. 5 upon 6 check-in luggages were not tagged as "priority" and were consequently delivered later. Excepting Paris CDG, all lounges were a tragic experience. The worse being Helsinki during this last flight. No seat available, no more food available, bad quality beverages, slow wi-fi (Airport one), etc.. Last but not least: boarding experiences. As check-in, no priority was indeed applied at all in Dublin, no due guiding provided to passengers, who naturally rushed. In HEL, same issue with 4 times more pax. This airline need to adapt its ground procedures to the real world to which it pretends to survive. W/O Business Class passengers, profitability will suffer. Very stressful experiences, except on board where everything is so smooth and relaxed.
AircraftE190 / A333
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteDUB to KIX via HEL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"perfect service provided on both flights"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | Kansai Osaka to Dublin via Helsinki - as with previous flights with Finnair, "priority" check-in is fake. In KIX too, they let non-priority pax use it, and even queue in front of it. No control whatsoever. Priority security very useful in KIX, as it was the holidays. Lounge was really poor. Priority boarding fine, and a perfect service was provided on both flights. Unfortunately, same as IFE as previous month. Connecting in HEL is rather stressful due to security check. No priority boarding for HEL-DUB flight. Nice seat and crew.
AircraftA330 / E190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKIX to DUB via HEL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"worn out seats"

(Denmark)

Old and a very noisy plane operating between Helsinki and Kuopio, operated by Norra so Finnair can save money. No boarding from a gate as a bus took passengers to the aircraft. Very cramped and little space for a tall person. The purser told us there had been a change of seats for everyone in the back rows. Could not tell why and could not help passengers, family members, to sit close. Worn out seats. Male cabin staff called women "Sir" when trying to get attention while serving coffee or juice.
AircraftATR-72
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHEL to KUO
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"enthusiastic about the A350"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Beijing to Helsinki. Finnair crew are clearly enthusiastic about the A350 and that shows - everything is top notch. The business class seats are awesome, the meals are great (though the desserts could be a bit more exciting), drinks are fantastic (their cognac btw costs ~200 eur per liter!). In my opinion, this is a better business class than other European airlines.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePEK to HEL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"doing its best to be hated"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Geneva to Helsinki. Finnair is doing its best to be hated. The Embraer it uses in Europe are tatty and seats are uncomfortable. Prices are high (impossible to pay less than 300 Euros on the GVA HEL route) but service is non existent. On a premium economy flight that cost over 400 euros you have to pay additional fees to get a seat pre-assigned. My gold membership expired, as per the card, on August 16. They have unilaterally decided to retrocede me in Silver membership in July. And now Silver member need to pay an extra 25 euros to access the lounge. Plane was late both ways. Staff is unfriendly. Finnair is not worth the exorbitant fees they charge. I'm a gold status member since I have to use them quite a bit. They are barely passable on long haul, but European flights are simply dreadful.
AircraftEmbraer
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteGVA to HEL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Finnair is cost cutting"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | Kuusamo to Helsinki. Late, cramped and shabby. The departure from Kuusamo was delayed by 20 minutes due to late arriving aircraft. As it was a late evening departure, I would have appreciated on time arrival in Helsinki. Flight time was 1 hour and 35 minutes, and it felt very long in this cramped and full cabin ATR Turbo prop plane (flight operated by NORRA; Nordic Regional Airways). Seats are worn out and one feels like a sardine in a tin. Cabin crew served water, tea, coffee and oddly blueberry juice for free. The onboard menu is very reduced, no sandwiches, but they seemed to have plentiful alcohol for sale. No inflight entertainment provided. In Helsinki there was a bus transfer to the terminal. Bus was old, shabby, fogged windows even in summer, and it waited till the last passenger had boarded the bus. Finnair is cost cutting by using the services of NORRA on this route.
AircraftATR-72
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKAO to HEL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"well below standards"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | As on my previous Finnair flight, ground staff were well below standards. At "Priority" check-in I was welcomed by a "why didn't you tag your luggage?", instead of a "hello!". Then a complaint: entitled to PieceConcept (3x 23kg), as I had 24.8 + 15 + 10, I heard: "your luggage is overweight". Just to make me to ask for an exception, during which I watched my luggage go away w/o priority tag. Pure abuse of power. I was not informed of any lounge, and I heard a "done", instead of "have a nice flight". I was not welcome once again. However, as on my previous Finnair flight, on-board service was just perfect, food and drinks excellent, seat extremely comfortable. It was as if I were dealing with another airline. Plane extremely clean and silent. On-time all the way. Nice announcements from flight deck and constant attention from F/A. Amazing contrast.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHEL to KIX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"boarding was shameful"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | Flew Finnair from Paris CDG to Helsinki. Priority check-in was messy as counter was accepting non-priority passengers. Lounge was nice with many breakfast options, and extremely quick wi-fi. Boarding was shameful. Only one person was in charge of calls and boarding cards check-in, for a fully packed A321. Group were not well indicated. All passengers were as cattle, priority or not, and we did not feel welcome. We consequently departed late. Seats were usual European Business class, but food and drinks as well as FA's were perfect.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCDG to HEL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"flight was overbooked"

(Australia)

Verified Review | This short Finnair flight was the first leg of a long-haul flight back to Brisbane Australia (with connections in Helsinki, Singapore and Sydney). The flight was overbooked and the airline had asked for volunteers to take alternative flights if possible. This was not an option for me because of the long chain of connecting flights dependent on this first leg. Despite this, and despite having booked the seat 8 months in advance, the check-in agent at Tegel Berlin announced that my seat on the flight was not guaranteed because of the overbooking. More distressingly, she demonstrated a very negative customer service response, never seeking to reassure me that my situation would be handled sympathetically or that any special effort would be made to ensure I was given a seat on the flight, so vital to my forward connections. When I said that it was not my responsibility that the flight was overbooked, her response was that it wasn't her fault either but she had to listen to all the customers' complaints. Talk about an attempt at role reversal - even Basil Fawlty of Fawlty Towers fame couldn't have done it better. I eventually was able to board the flight, but only after a stressful couple of hours worrying about missing my connections. I can only conclude that Finnair's overbooking margins are excessive and that they've also decided to cut costs by neglecting to provide even basic customer service training to their check-in agents. Needless to say, I don't plan to fly with them again.
AircraftA320 and A340
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSXF to SIN via HEL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no smiles, no service"

(Finland)

Verified Review | What to say about Finnair flying from Helsinki to Warsaw? Summertime and the airport was over crowded. Some passengers are not used to waiting and standing in a queue. A passenger asked a Finnair representative (who was giving information to people) if there was any service for check in. The woman answered no. The man was wondering why and left. After the man turned his back the representative started imitating him. The flight - The purser shouted at a passenger to sit down. No smiles, no service. Like a low cost carrier but not at a low cost price.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHEL to WAW
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no