Vote Now  

Finnair

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 516 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"experience was mixed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow - Bangkok and Hong Kong - London Heathrow via Helsinki, all flights on A350 Business class, all flights on-time. Was very excited to fly Finnair as well as the A350! Experience was mixed, however. The service between London & Helsinki was sub business class standard, despite the same A350 aircraft on the route. There was no amenity or welcome drinks, even the staff seemed less friendly. On outbound flights, decided not to pre-select any meals as I wanted to pick on the day, however on first leg to HEL, only meal option available was pork based, and I do not eat pork. Added with the fact this was a morning flight and BA lounge in Heathrow lacking any decent food also, I actually went hungry for the morning. Luckily the Finnair lounge in Helsinki saved the day, as I was able to have 'breakfast' there. Lounge itself was very pleasant with nice decor and nice pods to sit and relax. Lounge was very busy on outbound, bit quieter on return early morning time. Added bonus was the showers and sauna. Which I had to try out and was rather pleased to have available. Longer HEL-BKK leg was better more business class like service, where I enjoyed a nice meal (had a duck orange pasta, which was superb) and tried to get some sleep for 9am arrival in BKK. Not sure if it was due to timing or the actual seat/flatbed being quite hard or the noisy full business class cabin, was not able to sleep more than an hour. Not sure why even light breakfast option had to be served a full 60 min before landing? Since it took me 5 minutes to finish it. Return flight from Hong Kong, was better and managed 5 hours of sleep. On flight back to London, had this time, pre-selected a kosher meal, which I found rather dull and uninspiring. They even served me in the same box and plastic cutlery it came with. Overall, this is a good hard product in business class, really appreciate the 1-2-1 layout, even with full cabins. IFE system was adequate even if choice was limited. The soft product/customer service and attention to detail could be improved. Would be happy to fly with Finnair again, if they keep the prices competitive, i.e below the mark of Emirates/Qatar/Etihad etc since their overall offering falls short of business class on those airlines.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Bangkok via Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"relatively good overall product"

(Finland)

Unverified | Helsinki to Delhi return twice over January-March 2017. The aircraft they use on the DEL route are their A330's with 2-4-2 configuration, the same they use on their longer routes to Japan and the US. Flights full both ways, on time, the usual legroom 32" for long haul, friendly Nordic service with two Hindi-speaking cabin crew, full hot meal plus a snack served on each sector with full bar service (outbound 6 hrs, inbound 7 hrs from/to HEL) - you just pay for champagne in Economy - and a pleasant overall experience. When the price is right, Finnair is a good choice for Nordic travelers on the Delhi route due to quick transit times at HEL and a relatively good overall product. Nothing to write home about, but no serious flaws, either.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Delhi
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Finnair did not contact anyone of us"

(Finland)

Unverified | Berlin to Helsinki. So there was an airport strike in Berlin March 13-15. These thing happen. We were three people on a business travel. In the meeting the others' flights were cancelled on Monday, ours - never. During the 3 day strike Finnair did not contact anyone of us either by email, the app, telephone, SMS. The only noticeable thing was the check in (and all the information of the flight) disappeared from my Finnair app. Never since has Finnair contacted us. (Needless to say, the crew the way back was sour, the food only to buy etc.)
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Helsinki
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"friendly, smiling and efficient"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Oulu to Helsinki. Easy check in with Finnair mobile app. Smooth boarding. Cabin fresh and clean. I had good legroom because a seat on the exit row. Complimentary coffee, tea, blueberry juice and water. It's enough in the 55 minutes domestic flight. Also I bought beer and some crisps. Excellent cabin crew who were friendly, smiling and efficient. Very nice experience.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOulu to Helsinki
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"FA's professional and efficient"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Quite a nice trip from Helsinki to Budapest. FA's professional and efficient. Although one passenger caused chaos on boarding, FAs handled the situation quite well. A pity that Finnair is nowadays a cheap airline, although they want to be something else. A little bit something to offer instead of coffee/tea/juice would be nice.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Budapest
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"extremely impressed by the service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Rovaniemi via Helsinki. This was my first time ever flying Finnair, and I was extremely impressed by the service through the whole trip. I'm a pretty jaded frequent flyer, but was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and professionalism of everyone from check-in to the lounge to the cabin crew, who were wonderful and truly seemed like they enjoyed their jobs. On every flight someone even made a point of recognising my OW Emerald status, which I never even get on British Airways (through which I have said status). The A350 is gorgeous and I found the Economy seats perfectly comfortable (unlike some reviewers), despite my general dislike of economy seats in general. Would love to try it to Asia sometime. The sauna in the Helsinki lounge was also the best way ever to get over a hangover.
AircraftA350 / A321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Rovaniemi via Helsinki
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst flight experience"

(Spain)

Verified Review | I had the worst flight experience with Finnair. I bought a Finnair round trip ticket from Madrid to Kansai via Helsinki although it was $300+ more expensive than their competitors on StudentUniverse, because they had shorter flight time (15 hours with one transit in Helsinki) and I really wanted to take advantage of my one week vacation to see my family. Once I arrive at the Helsinki airport (it was New Year's eve by the way,) I was told that my flight was cancelled. I had to wait in line 2 hours to be told by the service center staff that they cancelled the flight because they recently introduced a new type of aircrafts, and there were not enough pilots to fly this aircraft. I mean, what kind of an airline has shortage of their pilots, and if they are short on their pilots, why would they sell flight tickets? I was given two options at this point: take the same flight the day after, or reroute to Hong Kong, and go to Japan. I chose rerouting because I could get to Japan faster that way. In the end, I arrived at Japan with 12 hours delay from the initial plan and tired from longer flight time and increased transits. Of course I missed the New Year´s day celebration because of this. A week later, I go to the airport to go back to Madrid. Once they opened the ticket counter, I line up in order to have some time before heading to the gate, so that I can have the last breakfast with my family. However, when my turn comes, the ticket counter staff tells me that my seat is not found on their record. I show them all my travel documents and my printed itinerary. I had to wait in line another 1.5 hrs while they figured this out. In the beginning they told me I had to take a later flight. I insisted they would get me on the original plane because of work. Because this was technically a JAL flight (it was one of those weird flights where you buy tickets under a company's name, but it's actually "operated by" another airline), I was sent to JAL customer support center, where they found out that my name was not on the list because when they rerouted my first flights, Finnair did not do the necessary process required to get me on the return flight. A JAL staff was very helpful and she was the one who pressured Finnair to find me another seat in the original flight. In the end Finnair gives me a seat they could find in Economy comfort, which is a slightly better seat than normal economy. I was quite stressed because until the last moment they kept telling me they were not sure if I could get on board, and of course when they finally told me yes, I could barely say goodbye to my family because I literally had to run from the security check to the gate. In the end, I could get on the plane, and I was in my seat. At this point I was willing to get over this flight and have nothing to do with Finnair for the rest of my life. Then, while I´m reading, a couple comes to my seat, and asks me if I was sitting in the right seat. I show them my ticket, and they tell me, "Oh no. We have the same ticket" and shows me theirs. The cabin attendants had the nerve to tell me to move to Economy seat - (telling me it´s "exactly the same seat" which was a lie because the Economy seat has less leg room and inferior amenities) I had no choice but move to the inferior seat, really wishing that I had never chosen this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Osaka via Helsinki
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"an excellent product"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Helsinki to Singapore with Finnair. Excellent A350 flight: the new business class seats are excellent and I slept soundly for 9 hours on a 11-hour flight. Flight attendants courteous and forthcoming. Food and drinks very good, and film and audio selection also very good, with a special mention of the Bose noise cancelling headphones. An extra bonus is the free WIFI provided by Finnair. Overall an excellent product that I can only recommend.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHelsinki to Singapore
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"not a world class airline"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Helsinki to Hong Kong. For a new aircraft (A350) on a popular long haul business route I was disappointed with Finnair, the seat is okay, similar to Cathay with the 1-2-1 layout but far less plush and a touch plastic. The food was very average akin to business class on a European flight, no amenity kits on a 10hr flight. Crew were mostly Chinese and friendly enough but this is not a world class airline. If you want real comfort, quality and service there are many better options, if it's cheap and you just need to sleep for 10h then it's not a bad option.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHelsinki to Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"airline want to save money"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Brussels to Bangkok via Helsinki. From Brussels to Helsinki, a 2.5hr journey with 1 glass of juice or coffee, nothing to eat. Everything was on sale even for passenger with intercontinental ticket. Flight Helsinki to Bangkok too much interruption on our screen to sell things. Dinner 2hrs after the taking off, very poor and of bad quality - only meat, no fish or vegetarian. No second passage of bread. No service out of dinner and poor breakfast. Only water between 2 meals. Blanket and pillow, nothing else. The airline want to save money. Staff is polite and not responsible of the poor service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to Bangkok via Helsinki
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no