Top 100 Airlines  

Finnair

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 488 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"a pleasant in-flight experience"

(Sweden)

Ljubljana to Stockholm via Helsinki. My outbound flight from Stockholm to HEL was 10 minutes delayed on a 35 minute transit, still had no problem with the transit. I arrived in good time to the gate. My flight from LJU to HEL was 40 minutes delayed on a 45 minute transit. I give some credit to the pilot here for explaining the reason for the delay in great detail (it was bad logistics planning at airport). I made the next plane but my baggage did not, it arrived next day. Finnair personnel were informative about the transits for worried passengers on the flight. I was informed beforehand that the flight to Stockholm would wait for me, but that my baggage would probably not make it. I had a pleasant in-flight experience with professional staff and I would happily use Finnair for transit flights in the future.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLJU to ARN via HEL
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"masses of room but no window"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew London Heathrow to Helsinki return with Finnair. The outward leg was on an A321, I had booked emergency exit row seats, 24a, in this case, a great seat only 2 seats on row 23 so masses of room but no window. I would rather have the room than the view. The return flight should have been on the new A350 but was replaced by a A340. This is the second time I have been defeated by Finnair in trying to sample the A350. Flights on time and crews fine.
AircraftA321 / A340
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to HEL
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"has a smart pricing system"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Prague to Bangkok via Helsinki. The first leg with an A320 and the long haul with a new A350. Finnair has a smart pricing system and a functional application helping in making any flight changes easy. All flights on time and cabin crew pleasant. Food and entertainment adequate and special thanks to Finnair ground staff in their assistance after an immigration issue upon arrival. Recommended and flying through Helsinki is usually painless.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePRG to BKK via HEL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew very responsive and engaging"

(United Kingdom)

London Heathrow to Seoul via Helsinki. The flight LHR-HEL was on time, very good service in cabin and a very pleasant flight. The latest A350 was used for flight to ICN. this is a very spacious plane with lots of space which gives it a very fresh look. Seating is 1-2-1 which is very agreeable. Entertainment was good with plenty of movies but music was a bit strange with no notations of what was playing or maybe I couldn't figure it out - then this is still not good. Cabin is quieter although what would one expect but headphones very good for cancelling noise. Cabin crew was very responsive and engaging. Food was delicious as well. The flight to Asia is certainly very short compared to other routes and the transit in Helsinki is seamless.
AircraftA321 / A350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to ICN via HEL
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Inflight service was also poor"

(Finland)

Very disappointed. Finnair's service was very poor and disorganized right from the start. JFK ground services did not handle boarding as it should. No information was given about boarding groups etc. so it just ended up being a big mess at the gate. Priority boarding was totally useless since they were letting everybody in at the same time. For example American Airlines flight to Paris CDG was boarding at the same time as my flight, and since they handled their boarding procedures so well, it felt really bad to experience the chaos Finnair's ground staff managed to create. I opted for Economy comfort. The seat was worn-out, the bottom part was almost ripped of and the recline mechanism got stuck when lowered and had to be pulled back to upright position. Inflight service was also poor and a bit strange. Somehow Finnair's inflight service takes ages to be completed. First drinks came two hours after takeoff and it took almost 4 hours for the whole service to be completed. And since they serve the breakfast around 1.5 hours before landing, that leaves you with a 2.5 hours gap where you can sleep without an interruption of cabin announcing something. Thats not too much considering you are flying overnight. The service was just ok but the crew seemed to be really tired and unmotivated. No smiles, no nothing. Usually they serve 2 rounds of complimentary drinks, first round with the food and right after dinner a second round for refills. More drinks are available for purchase and soft drinks/water are free of charge. This time they only did one round. Usually Finnair's flight attendants also serve more water for passengers couple of times during the flight but this time they didn't. It felt like the cabin crew were lazy and didn't follow the normal procedures. This is totally unacceptable. Of course economy is not like business class, but for instance BA and AA are taking good care of their economy class passengers and thats why its always a pleasure to fly with them. One thing really bothered me was the way every single announcement was made. And there was a lot of them. Finnair is showing safety and info videos during take off and landing. These clips are really slow paced and long. Feels like the info is being given to a child. For example AA's videos are much shorter and made really well. There was almost 10-12 different announcements during the flight. A few actually repeated twice within 5 minutes. And most of these were also slow paced and spoken in Finnish, Swedish and English. When you add this all up, its just too much. Of course the information is important but they could be more efficient and also respect the comfort of their passengers. Sleeping was basically impossible during 5,5 hours of my 8 hour flight, since there were announcement after another. I was using noise canceling headphones provided in Finnair's premium economy package and they need to be attached to the audio system to make them work. I didn't find a mute button in their entertainment system so I had to listen every single announcement. Overall, the bad ground service at JFK and the fact that it was really hard to relax or sleep during the flight, made me really frustrated. It seems to me that Finnair doesn't respect their economy class passengers and for that reason I cannot recommend.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteJFK to HEL
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"wouldn't hesitate to recommend"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Short flight from Stockholm to Bergen in Business class. Excellent service by really friendly FA's. The food could have been better but the bar service was great. The flight was on time. Friendly info provided from the flight deck as well. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteARN to BGO
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"definitely consider flying them again"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Budapest to Helsinki. The plane, while probably not new, felt brand new as it was clearly very well maintained. The flight departed exactly on schedule and landed ahead of schedule. I'd pre-booked a meal for this short flight (pasta bolognese), which was served just before the cart began doing its round for the other passengers, earning me jealous glances from people nearby. The food was fairly good and especially the red wine was both good and even served at the correct temperature. The onboard service was very friendly and made the experience positive, I'd definitely consider flying them again.
AircraftA32
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBUD to HEL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"the seat is not comfortable"

(Hong Kong)

Hong Kong to Amsterdam via Helsinki. I was looking forward to experiencing the A350 for the first time, and first impressions were positive, nice cabin, nice lighting, fresh and clean. However the seat is not comfortable, and I was lucky enough to have no one sat next to me and I felt uncomfortable for most of the journey. The aisle of the aircraft is very narrow so walking to the bathroom you feel somewhat claustrophobic. It isnt all bad, the tail camera is cool, as is the wifi, the staff were also very pleasant and efficient on a flight that was only 60% full. Finnair cheapens itself by trying to up sell passengers into 'Economy Comfort', shamelessly making announcements that you can pay 60 euros to get yourself a seat, which is then followed by a stream of passengers filing forward to take a look at what they get for there money, about 20% of those who ventured forward paid and took there new seats, which offer marginally more legroom and an amenity kit, but the process is distracting and creates a very low cost airline sort of feel. Flight was delayed on the ground for 1 hour 30 mins, despite other aircraft around us also departing for Europe leaving with less delays. Flight was smooth, arrival in Helsinki was 40 mins behind schedule, transit was simple, but took longer than the advertised times. Transfer flight on a321 to Amsterdam was fine, nice aircraft, good legroom, cheap that you have to pay for newspapers, and you are only given water, tea, coffee or blueberry juice, no snack on a flight of 2hrs 30 mins, although again up selling to a variety of food and beverage choices is done in earnest. Arrival into AMS was 15 mins late.
AircraftA350/A321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to AMS via HEL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"found the service very poor"

(United Kingdom)

Flew London to Shanghai via Helsinki with Finnair. Even though the aircraft's were nice and the staff friendly, I found the service very poor. The trip consisted of 4 flights and all 4 were delayed between 1hr and 2hrs. Told to board the flight and then sat on the tarmac for upto 2h with very little information. I wouldn't be recommending Finnair.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to PVG via HEL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"ground services are well below acceptable"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | Finnair defines itself the most efficient hub between Europe and North and East Asia. We understand they offer better connections and shorter flight time than Middle-East competitors. That is true. We also understand that they will offer competitive levels of comfort on board, as well as prices. This is also true. However, their ground services are well below acceptable, at least for Business Class passengers. In 4 "priority" check-in experiences, all of them were allowing Economy Class passengers to queue in from of them. 5 upon 6 check-in luggages were not tagged as "priority" and were consequently delivered later. Excepting Paris CDG, all lounges were a tragic experience. The worse being Helsinki during this last flight. No seat available, no more food available, bad quality beverages, slow wi-fi (Airport one), etc.. Last but not least: boarding experiences. As check-in, no priority was indeed applied at all in Dublin, no due guiding provided to passengers, who naturally rushed. In HEL, same issue with 4 times more pax. This airline need to adapt its ground procedures to the real world to which it pretends to survive. W/O Business Class passengers, profitability will suffer. Very stressful experiences, except on board where everything is so smooth and relaxed.
AircraftE190 / A333
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteDUB to KIX via HEL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes