Top 100 Airlines  

Finnair

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 460 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"food was very poor"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Finnair from Nagoya to Helsinki. A not fully booked A340. Managed to switch seats to one with a bit more legroom, the one I initially was assigned to was a bit cramped (and I am not that tall) with some kind of PSU taking up valuable space under the seat in front of me. Nice, hard working and friendly cabin crew. The food was very poor. Some kind of bland pork with rice, cold noodles and some green tea pudding. Being situated in the back of the aircraft they had ran out of options when it was my turn, but I doubt the other choice were any better. Second dish was even worse. Some fried rice balls. Not sure if the Asian caterers are up to scratch. IFE was kind of limited with very few interesting titles.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNGO to HEL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"poor business class experience"

(Germany)

Frankfurt to Seoul via Helsinki with Finnair. Connection flight FRA-HEL was good, no complaints. Intercont HEL - Seoul was a disaster. The plane was really old, some parts at my seat seem to be already not attached properly. Appearance was quite dirty. Though the cabin crew was friendly and helpful the seating was awful. Was sitting in 1A, the shapes of the plane hindered me from being able to stand straight. Seating in business 2-2-2, and you need to step over the seat next to you, if you are at window an need to get out. Bay far to narrow seats, am a guy of "normal" size (185cm/82kg) but was not able to find any position to catch a nap. Benotet lactose free meal, taste was ok. IFE was just acceptable, poor quality of the screen, touchscreen had issues to react on commands. As Finnair did well on ground and at the connection flight I think the airline overall is fine and recommendable, but the A330 is really not acceptable any more in Business - at least in comparison to what get get e.g. from QR and so on. Absolute poor business class experience due to the old A330.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFRA to ICN via HEL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the planes were dirty"

(United Kingdom)

Osaka to London via Helsinki with Finnair. The planes, especially the ones between Helsinki and London were dirty with trash between the seats and the catalogue holder. At one point a stewardess parked her trolley in front of the toilet and left it there for the rest of the flight. When I went to the front of the cabin expecting to find another toilet I was angrily told to go to my seat and leave business class. If it matters so much to them to keep the class division maybe they should have them marked more clearly.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKIX to LHR via HEL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"happily fly with Finnair again"

(United Kingdom)

Tokyo to Edinburgh via Helsinki with Finnair. Aircraft was substituted with an unliveried model which was due to leave the fleet. There was a mechanical problem as we pulled back from the stand which resulted in return to stand for inspection. Took off about 50 minutes late. Despite the age of the plane, the nearly flat-bed was comfortable and there was generous legroom. Inflight service from crew was excellent. Vegetarian lunch very tasty. Second meal cold and slightly bland. Copious drinks. Transfer time at HEL quite tight due to delay in taking off, so no chance to sample the Finnair lounge. Short flight to EDI comfortable with hot meal and more drinks. Based on this experience and my previous outbound flight to Osaka, I would happily fly with Finnair again long-haul.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNRT to EDI via HEL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the A350 is great"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Paris to Shanghai via Helsinki. If you want good comfort, lovely food, friendly service and a safe airline, then Finnair it is! The business class beds are flat, the A350 is great, though I've flown the A330 with them and it was just as good. Food was excellent. Lovely staff, attentive without being snooty.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCDG to PVG via HEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"wouldn't recommend Finnair"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Hamburg to Bangkok via Helsinki. The Flight to Helsinki was comfy with good service. The second leg on the A333 was really unpleasant. Boarding with busses. The seats on the aircraft were very small (and I'm not even tall) with nearly no legroom. Food in the evening was ok, breakfast was edible. The service was strange - there was no welcome feeling to me. The interior of the aircraft was tired and aged, noise level of the cabin was pretty high. My IFE sound was catastrophic - couldn't use it. Verdict: At best, just standard! Wouldn't recommend Finnair on the basis of this experience.
AircraftE190 & A330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAM to BKK via HEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"don't even understand the basics of customer care"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Our flight back from Bangkok to London via Helsinki AY090 on the 3rd of April at 08:15 got overbooked and we have been rebooked on the BA flight BA10 at 11:20 on the same day. We have been handed over a cash card with the compensation. Before rebooking we asked the ground staff about our tier points and miles. The ground staff was not able to confirm any details about it and I have called Finnair in Helsinki who confirmed that we will not miss out any tier or miles in the event of overbooking. We will get all miles as initially booked. In the event we have been rebooked with a OneWorld partner we will get our initial miles plus the one that we have been rebooked as an inconvenience and a good will gesture. I have tried to claim my points and miles via British Airways Executive Club and the request has been denied to British Airways by Finnair. British Airways has advised us to talk to Finnair directly but they don't have any customer relations team beside on a homepage where you need to log the file. I have tried to talk to Finnair on several attempts as our Flight to BKK got delayed by over 20h but Finnair is very unreasonable towards the customers and we don't get any response. As business class customer you have to expect a better service and therefore on two occasions Finnair showed to us that they are worse than Ryanair. I highly recommend not to travel with them as it appears their back office is a mess and there is an incredible blockage towards the customers who experience inconvenience where you expect them to show some good will and the highest gratitude of apologies all turns to a nightmare and a fight. Zero sign of exclusive service to be expected from Finnair and therefore one star rating as the worse oneWorld Company around. Finnair don't even understand the basics of customer care.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to LHR via HEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"seats were comfy"

(United Kingdom)

We were pleasantly surprised by the A350 on our flight from London Heathrow to Helsinki, it was very airy and notably quieter than any other plane we've flown. Seats were comfy and it was great to have a decent range of films for the relatively short flight which is mostly on an A321. The cabin crew were mostly friendly, if slightly business-like. I would say that even a small free snack would be appreciated given the price of flights, though their trademark blueberry juice is very tasty. Transfer at HEL onto regional A321 flight to Kittilä was quick, pleasant and easy. Only slightly disorganised part of the trip was when the plane stopped at Ivalo en route to Kittilä where cabin crew made no effort to get pax to sit in their designated seats, leaving many to change around and find a seat. Overall though we were happy flying Finnair and given the fact they're the only option on that route, would do so again.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to KTT via HEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"tired aircraft and facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Flew from Helsinki to Beijing return with Finnair. Aircraft on the way out was a very tired A340, which proved how old it was by promptly breaking down whilst pulling away from the gate, causing a 2 hour delay (faulty cargo door according to the Captain). Food was awful, and the air was the driest I've experienced on a flight - wonder if the air con/recirculation system was past its best. Flight back was better due to the fact it was on time and only half full, but still the same tired aircraft and facilities. Incidentally, our connecting flights to and from LHR were very good, on time to the minute, and on clean, relatively new planes.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHEL to PEK
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a massive 20 hours delay"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Hamburg via Helsinki with Finnair. We experienced a massive 20 hours delay due to late arrival of the incoming aircraft. We are still in the dark as to why, since nobody bothered to explain or apologise for this horrendous delay. Connection in Helsinki obviously missed, so placed on the next day flight, rounding up our total delays to an exact 24hrs: rude staff at HEL gave us some meal vouchers - no lounge access despite being silver on oneworld. Despite multiple requests, Finnair refused to book us on one of the many other Europe bound flights from BKK, which would have surely gotten us home faster. I understand introduction of a new type to the fleet can be challenging, but Finnair handled this in an amateur way. Done with them for a while. Besides this, the A350 is a good product. Staff /service not on par with competition though. They seem to take a fairly minimalist approach to communication. One would expect a slightly more emphatic approach towards 300 people who you just robbed of 24hrs of their Easter holiday.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBKK to HAM via HEL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no