Finnair

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 540 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"efficient, unremarkable flight"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Chania via Helsinki. First time on Finnair. Clean, spacious cabin in light blue, grey colors. Flight attendants looked smart in black outfits with trimmings. Had an economy class ticket but was seated in premium economy. Plane was uncrowded and all immediate seats around me were empty. On time departure and arrival at Helsinki was early. Very limited movie selection on personal IFE. Food was very basic. Meat balls for dinner and a cold jaw breaking sandwich for breakfast. Flight attendants courteous. Some distinctive Finnish items on the duty free offerings. An amenity kit was provided. Flight from Helsinki to Chania was packed with holiday goers. Complimentary soft drinks only. A drop down TV screen showed the flight route. Again, on time arrival. All in all, an efficient, unremarkable flight.
AircraftA330-300 / A321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteNew York JFK to Chania via Helsinki
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"individual business class seats are excellent"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | This is the second time I have flown Finnair business class on the new Airbus A350, Bangkok - Helsinki - Bangkok. Both flights departed and arrived on time. Their mobile application has to be one of the best in the industry. Was able to check-in online for all my flights including connecting ones. Digital boarding passes accepted at all airports. The individual business class seats are excellent, lots of storage space, both USB and electrical plug outlets, reading light, full flat bed, large television screen with very good inflight/interactive entertainment system with superb noise cancelling headphones, nice amenity kit, comfortable pillow and duvet, very good food and beverage with unlimited snacks, candy, nuts, ice cream, etc. The service by the cabin staff was excellent, really 5 star ! Duty free shopping I pre-ordered through their website was waiting on my seat as I boarded. Only negative was I was not able to connect to the free WiFi on either flight. Give the short northern route flight time to Europe and the very reasonable airfare, Finnair offers an exceptional business class value - highly recommend.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Copenhagen via Helsinki
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"new A350 was superb"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manchester to Bangkok via Helsinki. Manchester to Helsinki on the E190 was very average. A seat pitch of 31" is not good enough. Food/beverages and service was ok however the second sector from Helsinki to Bangkok on a new A350 was superb. Stewardess was wonderful, so friendly and efficient and the female purser was fabulous also. A five star performance to both staff all round. The A350 is a very nice plane to fly, very quiet, spacious and very comfortable. This was my first time flying with Finnair and I was very satisfied regarding the second sector flight hoever my overall lower rating reflects a rather average Manchester to Helsinki flight.
AircraftE190 / A350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManchester to Bangkok via Helsinki
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"stripped down European economy class"

(France)

Verified Review | Fed up with Finnair's intra-European stripped down European economy class with no decent food and just tasteless expensive snacks on offer, decided to try their business class between Helsinki and Paris. The on-line check-in is a breeze, like with most airlines these days. With no luggage, could head straight to the Priority security control. Otherwise, Helsinki airport is quite a mess and they've clearly forgotten the basic needs of travelling passengers, resulting in no space to sit down anywhere and very narrow corridors due to the fact that all space has been taken up by shops and food outlets. The Finnair Business lounge is bright with nice Scandinavian design, but even there, space is limited. Even the toilets are tiny and lack regular cleaning. Once on board the A320, a cheerful welcome by the cabin attendants who were trying to do their best, despite the limited cabin comfort and service offerings. With a fare of over €1,500, the only difference to Economy is that the middle seat is left free and that you get a meal, but without any choices. Alcoholic drinks are free if that's what you want but as in Economy, the coffee is horrific. No wonder fewer and fewer passengers opt for Finnar's European Business Class and I feel sorry for all those in transit from Finnair's Asian flights, expecting a true Business Class product, like in Asia.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHelsinki to Paris
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"meals served were horrible"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Flew from Helsinki to Bangkok. I have come to the conclusion that Finnair is not the best airline. Seat and legroom was comfortable but the meals served were horrible. I know airplane food is not great overall, but the chicken we had, tasted like plastic. There was not much choice of entertainment.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Bangkok
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"seat is very uncomfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Helsinki to Osaka. A very old plane. Purchased economy comfort seat. It is not very expensive but imagine paying for a window seat and finding out there is no window by your seat. The crew were not particularly friendly. The seat is very uncomfortable. The entertainment system was not great with a tiny screen at very low resolution. I am very happy to hear that Finnair is beginning to introduce the new A350 on their Japan routes as the A340 I was on was an awful experience. The food was just ok - not much money spent. I ate it but not with much pleasure. On flight back from Japan it was markedly better as it must come from a Japanese kitchen. I fly Finnair short haul once a month and they are efficient even if they completely ignore your preferred seat as a Finnair Plus member and always seat me in an aisle seat even though my saved preference is a window seat. I don't feel they pay much attention to your frequent flyer status. Certainly the crew treat you any differently from other passengers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteHelsinki to Osaka
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"I am happy with the flight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This was my return flight to Singapore where I am working at present. This is also my second return journey with Finnair. I must say that overall, I am happy with the flight. I have been making these long haul trips roughly twice each year for the last 30 years so I think I can draw comparisons with other airlines. Sadly, I have never been able to afford business class or higher as I have always been on a teacher's budget! First of all, the negatives; Food - depending on the sector, this can range from average to poor. Surprisingly, what is offered on the Helsinki out bound flights tends to be poor with rather unappetising fare. I chose low sodium as a welcome option at check in but it seemed a pretty uninspired attempt. Flavour is not just obtained through salt so I felt that very little effort had been made here. Entertainment- for economy class, this is quite limited. I think the choice of movies was pretty poor and the TV series offered were fairly predictable. By the time I had made my second flight, I was seriously running low on choice. Comfort - no huge complaints here as I had great leg room thanks to the option of a seating upgrade (extra charges at booking stage). but I travelled with my son on the final leg of the journey and although we were allocated 'extra leg room' seats, he did not get the same easy access that I did even though the upgrade charge was the same forboth seats. I would recommend that you double check the seating plan aswhen we checked online before travelling the seating layout shown wasnot the same as the one in the plane itself. The positives; I have to say that I am now a fan on of the A350 (I first tried it on Qatar airways) and it is a better travel experience. Each time I have travelled on this plane (mostly on 12-13 hour flights) I have felt much fresher and less haggard than previously. General comfort and service - the short sector from Heathrow to Helsinki is rather like a budget experience and you have to pay for snacks rather like Ryan Air but the service on every sector was pretty impressive. We had a largely Asian cabin crew on our last flight and they were really attentive but this doesn't mean that the Finnish staff are lacking. In fact, the whole attitude to customer service is kindly and professional. I noted that a couple of passengers had some trouble with the entertainment system (something I have had particularly unpleasant experience of on BA in particular) but even during the service period, staff took note and reset the system as promised. This is really commendable as often I have had cabin crew making promises that they blissfully 'forget' moments later. One really nice touch for passengers with the increased legroom is that they get the bonus of noise-cancelling headphones. These are proper effective headphones and really do what they promise. Overall, the experience was good. I think I will pack some tasty snacks next time and just have a drink as the meals were a real low point for me.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Singapore via Helsinki
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"service was great"

(Finland)

Verified Review | I enjoyed my flight from Helsinki to Bangkok with the new A350. In economy class the seat comfort was good, service was great and attentive, especially by the Thai crew members. Meals were above average and the wifi service was adequate for my needs. One important thing for me was also the cabin air quality which was the best I have ever had in an airplane.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Bangkok
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"hard working cabin crew"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Helsinki. Boarding by the groups, quite efficient. Very new clean aircraft. Nice cabin. I'm a tall guy but good legroom. Two meals and between meals several runs of water. Snack served between meals was a nice surprise. With a first meal service beer, wine and sparkling wine complimentary. After first meal was possible to buy alcoholic beverages from the back galley. On the routes to Thailand lot of pax in party mood and that's why it's understandable that alcohol is free of charge only with first meal. Soft drinks including coffee and tea freely available from the back galley during all flight. Cabin crew very nice. Entertainment system new and lot of movie, music, documents and newspapers available. Wi-Fi for purchase. Only thing I don't like is that there are some adds of onboard shopping you can not skip. That really disturb when you wanna relax and watch a film. But all in all a nice flight also in economy. I highly recommend Finnair. Food and hard working cabin crew were best part of the journey.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Helsinki
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"the seating area was dirty"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Have flown to Bangkok at least 70 times and sorry to say that this was the worst experience ever, as it was irritating start to finish. The business class lounge was full up, with crowds waiting outside to gain entry. Surely, the airline should know roughly how many business and first class passengers are likely to use the lounge at any given time based on experience of their schedules, and then restrict entry to those with the applicable tickets, and not the readily available memberships that you can purchase, as these memberships do state that at busy times entry could be restricted. After 20 minutes I was allowed in, but really there was no point as there was nowhere to sit. Ended up eating some food standing up by one of the serving tables. Not an ideal way to start a long distance flight. Once on board, I found the A380 to be light and airy, pretty much the same as most A380's, although the seating area was dirty, with bits of dried food on the seat, on the pull down table and on the floor. Maybe cleaners had an off day. I had especially booked one of the window seats, which is a window seat, as I like a little privacy, and not on the two centre seats that are next to each other. You pay your money, you are entitled to do this, if the seat is available. As we were waiting for take off, a married couple took the seats to my immediate right, in the centre. The wife, who was directly opposite me, stated complaining really loudly and obnoxiously and was basically upset because she felt that because the way the seats were laid out and she couldn't actually see her husband, and that he wouldn't be able to hear her when she spoke (shouted)! I am sure the whole plane could hear her. She kept looking at me and it was obvious that she wanted me to swap seats with her husband, so he and she could be next to each other with the aisle separating them. She called the stewardess over, started talking and then the next thing you know, the stewardess is next to me trying to be nice with small talk. She starts to say that she has a small problem and I tell her that I am guessing she is asking if I would be prepared to swap seats with the people adjacent to me. Because I had taken the time to research the seats and pre-booked my seat especially, I did not want to change. The stewardess should have recognised this and respected this. Unfortunately, because I had refused she was very cold towards me and the lady passenger who was upset was starring at me throughout the flight, deliberately making faces, deliberately banging the overhead locker aggressively and on the whole making my whole flight uncomfortable. I felt guilty, even though I should not have done so, and my main gripe is that Finnair should not have contributed to my intimidation by this passenger. Food was reasonable, seat comfort average, quality of the business class seat very average, compared to other business class seats I have flown on. My return flight experience was even worse, and I will post a review very shortly. I will never fly with Finnair again.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Bangkok via Helsinki
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no