Finnair

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1085 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Finnair customer review

Review by (Finland) 2nd August 2015

HEL-MPX and FCO-HEL. A typical efficient Finnair flight. The planes were on time, clean, the staff friendly (in the distant Finnish way). Coffee and snacks were served, other food and drinks available to buy. For a Finnish passenger the major point is the direct flights, so whether or not there is free food etc. is not so relevant.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteHelsinki to Milan
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Finnair customer review

Review by (Australia) 31st July 2015

I flew from Helsinki to Singapore, about a 12 hour flight. They brought us a meal when we took off and it was the smallest airline meal I have had. The next meal came around about 8 hours later. The only other thing I got in the 8 hours between meals was half a cup of water. This was the first time that I've been on a plane where my knees touched the seat in front of me. I even had to have them out on an angle. I was so glad to get on a Qantas flight in Singapore which was so much better in every way. If you fly with this airline take extra food or you will go hungry and be prepared to be squashed in like a can of sardines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHelsinki to Singapore
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Finnair customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th July 2015

Finnair should really consider whether they are offering Business Class as the standards do not match other airlines, Finnair Business Class is more like Premium Economy. Flight to Helsinki from Manchester and the return were nothing like one would normaly expect from Business Class. Seats uncomfortable, average food but reasonable wine. On the flight from Helsinki to Manchester all passengers, except myself, in "Business" were given clean, bagged blankets. When I asked for one to use as padding I was handed a used, dirty, unbagged blanket retrieved from the Economy section! Flight to BKK was perhaps the most uncomfortable so called lie flat that I have ever experienced, more like a lie at 3 different angles bed. Food was again average, wine selection good. Air quality in the cabin was poor, very stuffy for several hours. Cabin could also have done with a good clean and toilet facilities are cramped. I have flown Economy in more comfort and felt better on arrival. So, the saying that you get what you pay for has never been more appropriate - but calling this Business Class is misleading and bordering on deceitful.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManchester to Bangkok
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Finnair customer review

Review by (Australia) 26th July 2015

Hong Kong to Helsinki. Boarding was delayed by 30 minutes but we were not given any reason for the delay at the time. We were kept on the plane sitting on the tarmac at the terminal for the next 4.5 hours! The excuse we were given by the Finnair flight deck at the time was that Hong Kong traffic control could not give clearance because the Indian Prime Minister was visiting China and was flying home! We were not permitted to get off the aircraft with our child even though we firmly requested this. If we had known about this unfolding situation we would have refused to board the plane in the first place. Finally after four hours the cockpit announced that the air quality had deteriorated so much that passengers were permitted to disembark. Ten minutes later they announced that they had clearance for take off, and everyone had to rush back on. We missed our connecting flight, and then were transferred to a bus and driven across the airport to board another flight in the bitter cold three hours later. On the way home we were delayed again by almost an hour and were at risk of missing our connecting flight. Up to 40 passengers on various flights were affected. The flight deck on all our Finnair flights gave minimal, unfriendly information, and the food on the route to Singapore was awful and the cabin crew did nothing for our child. We noticed later that the legroom on the code share QANTAS flight home was noticeably greater. We couldn’t wait to get off the Finnair plane in Singapore and will never fly with them again.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHong Kong to Helsinki
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Finnair customer review

Review by (Finland) 10th July 2015

LHR-HEL was last part of my trip to South Africa. I had British Airways tickets but this flight was unfortunaly operated by Finnair. Sad to see how down the airline I have loved has gone. Aircraft was new and nice, seat pitch good and flight attendants very nice except one unfriendly steward. Free blueberry juice, water and coffee/tea offered. All other soft drinks and snacks for purchase. Like a low cost carrier but prices are different. You maybe don't need a food in three hours flight. Point is that you don't feel anymore with Finnair that it's quality airline. And my flight with BA from Helsinki to London was so much better. BA should not sell tickets to Finnair flights, service concept is so different. Also that took too long to sell food and drinks. There was during almost all flight trolleys on the aisle and was very difficult to visit restroom. Frustrating maybe to the cabin crew too.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon to Helsinki
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

Finnair customer review

Review by (Singapore) 2nd July 2015

I had some reservations with the comments previously made by those who had flown Finnair. However the competitive pricing and perfect routing SIN - BUD via HEL then TXL - SIN via HEL made me try them for the first time. I must say, it was quite good. The flights were on time, the A340 planes form SIN - HEL though aging were fairly well kept. Service, though not as slick as QR or SQ, was attentive and more relaxed. No complaints. The seat was comfortable but not a flat bed. IFE adequate and food was good. Excellent lamb dish out of HEL. Of course they don't serve gourmet coffee or tea, but overall, no complaints. The HEL lounge for the international flights side was good with vintage wines and good quality supper food. Very good showers and Helsinki Airport is very easy to navigate. The lounge on the European and domestic side was a little crowded and the snacks spartan. I would fly them again to Europe or even to the Eastern USA if the pricing is competitive.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Budapest via Helsinki
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Finnair customer review

Review by (Australia) 1st July 2015

Leg from SYD to Singapore was a codeshare flight with Qantas. Excellent service, great choice of movies, food good. Flight arrived early which made connection easier considering 15 min walk to gate. Had booked economy plus on Finnair leg. What a joke, don't book seats 22c,d,e or f you have an offset screen due to only being three seats in row in front. Screens were in two end seats of row in front which meant you were viewing at an angle if in two middle seats. End seats both had pull up screens which meant that because of the need to angle screen it was shining in my eyes which was very annoying when trying to sleep on the 12 hour flight. My screen kept shutting down every couple of minutes so I gave up. Staff were pleasant but overall the seats were uncomfortable, I should have saved my money and not gone economy plus. I have to fly back to Australia from London on Finnair, hope the experience is better.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSydney to Budapest via Helsinki
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Finnair customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 1st July 2015

Arrived at the airport and printed our boarding passes. Lucky we managed to change our seats as we were all booked in separate rows (including our 3 year old). Joined the end of a very long queue for baggage drop. Only 2 counters open and after about 40 minutes they realised they weren't going to get everyone done before the flight left so opened another one. No time to do anything then before we went to the gate. Boarding was announced and then one of the two staff disappeared so we waited for 10 minutes for him to come back. They let us on first as we were travelling with a toddler which is the only positive of this flight. They needn't have bothered though as departure time came and went. No announcements before finally got one 15 minutes after due to leave to say we would be leaving in 10 minutes. 20 minutes before landing we finally got offered a drink. At baggage claim our bags were not on the belt. We were making an onward connection to Kittila the next day and for some reason our bags had been checked through. We didn't ask for this, nor were we asked if we wanted this. Waited for our bags to be retrieved from the "bag hotel". Finally got out of the airport about 2 hours after we should have. I'm giving them 1 point for the priority boarding with the toddler.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteCopenhagen to Helsinki
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Finnair customer review

Review by (Finland) 25th June 2015

Overall pretty good experience on flights HEL-YYZ-HEL. Outbound flight left slightly late but arrived 15 min early but return flight left an hour late due to overbooking and missing passengers as we were told. Due to overbooking of economy class, business class was full on return flight. It seems to me that upgrades were not given to Finnair plus tier or oneworld tier members but on a random basis. There should be a system that honors frequens fliers over the others. I know this is one thing that irritates most for higher Finnair plus tier members, and Finnair is losing these customers. Seats are full-flat but slightly narrow for sleeping. Nice pillow and good duvet and both were clean on both flights. Service was good, as it should be in business class. On return flight service was even better due to purser's efforts to deliver more personal service. Extra credit for that. Food was better for outbound flight. The main course was pretty good for airline meals. The dessert selection is Finnair's weak point for sure. There's an ice cream which are tiny prepacked cups of Häagen-Dazs or Macarons for example. Entertainment system has been upgraded and selection is better but still lacking behind of many airlines. Why can't there be a separate bus for business class passangers when there's a bus gate arrival in HEL?
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHelsinki to Toronto
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Finnair customer review

Review by (Sweden) 17th June 2015

You get value for your money. Crew are professional. However, Finnair should try to invest some money into some features, otherwise it will just be another company out there. Seats are very uncomfortable and I usually use a pillow as a back support. Food is terrible, I should have taken some with me. From Helsinki to Stockholm they offered us drinks only (no snacks)! Entertainment is average. Selection of movies to choose from was not great. System froze when I tried to play some games, they had to restart the system to get it working. I don't like Helsinki airport either. They maximized space for restaurants, while passengers are left with a limited number of seats. That leaves a mass of people standing in the way. Both times I ended up almost running through airport trying to get there in time. I don't know what was going on, but I entered three toilets and all were full. Also, if I went through security check in Tokyo, do I need to go through same thing in Helsinki too? All an all, I will skip Finnair if I don't have direct flight. They are getting some new airplanes, so things might change soon.
AircraftA340, A319, A321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteStockholm to Tokyo via Helsinki
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no