Finnair

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 597 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"the service was attentive"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Munich to Helsinki. This was a 2h 20min flight, which was competed 20 minutes faster than the scheduled time, which was excellent. The plane was a well-kept A320, although it didn't have the usual Finnair screens with a real-time indication of the map location and heading of the aircraft. The staff was very friendly and the service was attentive. I'd booked an extra-legroom seat in Economy, which had more space than seats in Business, since there was a seat missing in the row in front. This was therefore a comfortable flight. Food was available for purchase, a short flight like this doesn't really require a free snack. Paying for purchases took no time at all using contactless payment. All in all, a reliable and quick A to B.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Helsinki
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"wont even get the rewards miles"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Oslo via Helsinki. I booked business class tickets, and was told that because I had used one portion (forward journey only) I wouldn't get a refund if I cancelled the return leg, and the price to change the flight was astronomical. As good as the inflight experience was, the unwillingness to help clients is archaic. And I am more angry that I wont even get the rewards miles.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Oslo via Helsinki
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very cheaply fitted plane"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Helsinki to London. Chaos at boarding gate, no priority queue for group 1 passengers, one had to push their way in front of other groups. Mentioned it to ground staff, but they were rather curt and did not care for my polite feedback. Had to get into a freezing cold bus with aircon on in winter. Snow on the stairs to the aircraft, slippery. Old plane. In business class the staff placed a blanket in the middle seat to block it. Never seen this before. No screens or middle tray or electrical plugs at all. Very cheaply fitted plane.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHelsinki to London
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

Finnair customer review

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Barcelona to Shanghai via Helsinki. I've flown short haul a few times but this was my first long haul on Finnair. The standout feature was the crew who were brilliant. Positive, great customer service, helpful and professional. The food was excellent. Seat was good but American Airlines business class seat is seat better. A little restrictive for laying on both sides to sleep. Small gripe compared to otherwise 4 brilliant sectors. HEL a great little airport to transfer through.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBarcelona to Shanghai via Helsinki
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"excellent long haul, disappointing regional"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Amsterdam via Helsinki. As I was planning to extend my holiday by a week or so, I booked a new flight back home by using Finnair (mostly due to their price and stopover times) on their new Airbus A350. Check-in at Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport was very slow and started to irritate lots of passengers as some people took ages to drop off their luggage. Once we passed that and security, the flight had an on-time departure. Once boarded, I noticed that everything was brand new. Legroom could have been a bit better, but flight attendants were very friendly welcoming you on board. Once departured, in-flight catering started to be served after 2 hours of take-off which was quite decent for airline food with a drink of your choice (multiple if you wanted so). During flight, the atmosphere was quiet with plenty of entertainment choice and able to grab a drink so now and then. Few hours before landing, we were served some food again, which to me was not so nice. Landed in Helsinki, I had a hour and a half spare for my next flight, so passing security and customs (which went quite smooth) we were waiting for our flight to Amsterdam on their A321. Another brand new aircraft for an upcoming flight of approximately 2 hours, but this on the other hand was very disappointing. European terminal was very crowded, flight attendants were very poor as they only served a water or juice once and never showed their faces again (until cleaning time) as apparently 4 flight attendants were needed to serve 4 business passengers. Landed on time, luggage didn't take long to arrive to belt too. Even though Finnair was excellent on longhaul flights, I found them quite disappointing on regional routes. Plenty of room to improve on that.
AircraftA350 / A321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Amsterdam via Helsinki
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"service is more like economy"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very poor business class, the service is more like economy. No drinks from London to Helsinki until well after take off. No lunch menu, just two unsavoury meat choices. No wine on trolley, it was well hidden. No champagne offered before or after take off. No jetty in Helsinki, had to walk to the bus in the snow and share it with economy class passengers. On departing from Helsinki on a night flight to Bangkok we had to get onto a bus again, this time with air con blasting out in freezing weather! I did get champagne before take off this time, but no help with luggage, no pijamas available. Seat 5L rather crammed and lap table too far to eat comfortably. Poor service from Finnair and now we are being delayed as they’ve decide to wait for passengers from other connecting flights.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Bangkok via Helsinki
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"very old ATR aircraft"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Helsinki to Riga. Finnair uses very old ATR aircraft in domestic flights and in routes to countries nearby Finland. Once called Aero, Finncom, FlyBe Nordic and now Norra. Planes are simply dirty, even filthy. Toilet door was broken, difficult to close it. Guess water system is broken. No running water. But luckily you only sit there from 30 min (Helsinki - Tallinn) to about 2 hours maximum (Helsinki-Gdansk).
AircraftATR 72
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Riga
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"regard passengers as a nuisance"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Copenhagen to Delhi via Helsinki. In January 2018 we flew with Finnair for the first and for the last time. Our dealings with the airline before, during and after the flight made it clear that the Finnair dictionary does not contain the word service and that they regard passengers as a nuisance. Also it has become clear that Finnair is a local Finnish airline with no international infrastructure nor with any ability or willingness to deal with passengers from other countries. Finnair staff is only employed at Helsinki and agents in other countries have no authority and no ability to help stranded passengers. They cannot be contacted by email and the only option is to use expensive international calls. Business Class is a rip-off (virtually no extra service) Finnair planes are old and the Business Class seats are uncomfortable and hard to operate. Very limited service is provided and the selection and the quality of the food, the drink and the entertainment are poor. Internet check-in opens 36 hrs before departure at which time almost all seats are already reserved. Finnair offers no explanation of how this is possible. Only free Business Class seats are located in front by the toilets. Finnair travel plans do not allow time for passangers and luggage to make it to the next plane. Finnair pays very small amounts to buy neccessary items when luggage is lost then delays payment for months. Lost luggage is not delivered when it arrives.As we were leaving for a a week-long train trip the following day it was mandatory to get the suitcase immediately. The luggage arrived on the flight at 6:35 but was only delivered to the hotel at 18:00 after numerous calls to the the airport. Delays are not announced and wrong information is given several times. Delays from India of 6 hrs caused most passengers to miss their connection and some would be unable to reach their final destination o Despite this we were all told that no rebookings would be done at Delhie and to rebook at Helsinki o Only late during the flight did Finnair bebook at Helsinki and announced help from the gate. Finnair do not assist delayed passengers but does everything to obstruct their path through the Helsinki airport. Arrival at Helsinki was further delayed and no staff was at the gate to assist passengers. By then we had less than one hour before the next flight during which time we also had to pass through passport control and security. After passport control the experience became even more surreal. It was not possible to pass through to security without a valid boarding pass, which no-one had received. The staff refused to let us through the gates to security despite the fact that all the passengers could show “rescheduling SMS” and the staff told us to go to the Finnair counter where they refused to help. Finnair refuses compensation for delayed flights. Finnair refused compensation citing “fog” and “diverted aircraft”.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCopenhagen to Delhi via Helsinki
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst flight experience ever"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Helsinki to Rovaniemi. Worst flight experience ever. Staff negligent, rude and unprofessional. I got to gate 2 hours in advance. Since I was so early I fell asleep. Woken up 6 minutes after boarding closure. Plane was still there, but I was denied entry. No one bothered checking if I'm supposed to be on the flight, whilst sitting 3 meters from the counter. As I was denied entry, clerks told me to contact their manager halfway across the airport, for who knows what reason. After some 15 minutes arguing about weather and other unrelated nonsence, the advised manager came to me instead. Solution offered was paying 400 EUR for a 1 way 30 minute flight, so that my original return flight tickets don't get cancelled. I re-booked my flights with Norwegian.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Rovaniemi via Helsinki
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Food expensive and of poor quality"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew Finnair from Helsinki to London. A very old plane but clean. Freezing temperature at HEL and buses to the aircraft were cold, plus walking on icy steps felt dangerous. Staff courteous but not especially welcoming. Boarding groups not observed at all say the gate. It is no frills in economy and plane was almost full. No space in the overhead lockers and passengers struggling to fit cases in. I guess having 3 tier ticketing means most buy the cheapest hand luggage only seats. Food expensive and of poor quality. I ordered the ham and cheese sandwich and the filing had just been thrown in and the tiny piece of lettuce and tiniest slice of red pepper would have been better left out as they made no difference in the sandwich. Paying €6 for it feels like a rip off. Finnair is now strictly on par with budget airlines on short haul. So don't expect anything but a seat and a cup of coffee or water or juice. No second servings either. It is quite sad to see what has become of Finnair. HEL airport was very busy so stressful waiting for the flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to London
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no