Top 100 Airlines  

Finnair

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 456 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"the A350 is great"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Paris to Shanghai via Helsinki. If you want good comfort, lovely food, friendly service and a safe airline, then Finnair it is! The business class beds are flat, the A350 is great, though I've flown the A330 with them and it was just as good. Food was excellent. Lovely staff, attentive without being snooty.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCDG to PVG via HEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"wouldn't recommend Finnair"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Hamburg to Bangkok via Helsinki. The Flight to Helsinki was comfy with good service. The second leg on the A333 was really unpleasant. Boarding with busses. The seats on the aircraft were very small (and I'm not even tall) with nearly no legroom. Food in the evening was ok, breakfast was edible. The service was strange - there was no welcome feeling to me. The interior of the aircraft was tired and aged, noise level of the cabin was pretty high. My IFE sound was catastrophic - couldn't use it. Verdict: At best, just standard! Wouldn't recommend Finnair on the basis of this experience.
AircraftE190 & A330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAM to BKK via HEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"don't even understand the basics of customer care"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Our flight back from Bangkok to London via Helsinki AY090 on the 3rd of April at 08:15 got overbooked and we have been rebooked on the BA flight BA10 at 11:20 on the same day. We have been handed over a cash card with the compensation. Before rebooking we asked the ground staff about our tier points and miles. The ground staff was not able to confirm any details about it and I have called Finnair in Helsinki who confirmed that we will not miss out any tier or miles in the event of overbooking. We will get all miles as initially booked. In the event we have been rebooked with a OneWorld partner we will get our initial miles plus the one that we have been rebooked as an inconvenience and a good will gesture. I have tried to claim my points and miles via British Airways Executive Club and the request has been denied to British Airways by Finnair. British Airways has advised us to talk to Finnair directly but they don't have any customer relations team beside on a homepage where you need to log the file. I have tried to talk to Finnair on several attempts as our Flight to BKK got delayed by over 20h but Finnair is very unreasonable towards the customers and we don't get any response. As business class customer you have to expect a better service and therefore on two occasions Finnair showed to us that they are worse than Ryanair. I highly recommend not to travel with them as it appears their back office is a mess and there is an incredible blockage towards the customers who experience inconvenience where you expect them to show some good will and the highest gratitude of apologies all turns to a nightmare and a fight. Zero sign of exclusive service to be expected from Finnair and therefore one star rating as the worse oneWorld Company around. Finnair don't even understand the basics of customer care.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to LHR via HEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"seats were comfy"

(United Kingdom)

We were pleasantly surprised by the A350 on our flight from London Heathrow to Helsinki, it was very airy and notably quieter than any other plane we've flown. Seats were comfy and it was great to have a decent range of films for the relatively short flight which is mostly on an A321. The cabin crew were mostly friendly, if slightly business-like. I would say that even a small free snack would be appreciated given the price of flights, though their trademark blueberry juice is very tasty. Transfer at HEL onto regional A321 flight to Kittilä was quick, pleasant and easy. Only slightly disorganised part of the trip was when the plane stopped at Ivalo en route to Kittilä where cabin crew made no effort to get pax to sit in their designated seats, leaving many to change around and find a seat. Overall though we were happy flying Finnair and given the fact they're the only option on that route, would do so again.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to KTT via HEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"tired aircraft and facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Flew from Helsinki to Beijing return with Finnair. Aircraft on the way out was a very tired A340, which proved how old it was by promptly breaking down whilst pulling away from the gate, causing a 2 hour delay (faulty cargo door according to the Captain). Food was awful, and the air was the driest I've experienced on a flight - wonder if the air con/recirculation system was past its best. Flight back was better due to the fact it was on time and only half full, but still the same tired aircraft and facilities. Incidentally, our connecting flights to and from LHR were very good, on time to the minute, and on clean, relatively new planes.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHEL to PEK
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a massive 20 hours delay"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Hamburg via Helsinki with Finnair. We experienced a massive 20 hours delay due to late arrival of the incoming aircraft. We are still in the dark as to why, since nobody bothered to explain or apologise for this horrendous delay. Connection in Helsinki obviously missed, so placed on the next day flight, rounding up our total delays to an exact 24hrs: rude staff at HEL gave us some meal vouchers - no lounge access despite being silver on oneworld. Despite multiple requests, Finnair refused to book us on one of the many other Europe bound flights from BKK, which would have surely gotten us home faster. I understand introduction of a new type to the fleet can be challenging, but Finnair handled this in an amateur way. Done with them for a while. Besides this, the A350 is a good product. Staff /service not on par with competition though. They seem to take a fairly minimalist approach to communication. One would expect a slightly more emphatic approach towards 300 people who you just robbed of 24hrs of their Easter holiday.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBKK to HAM via HEL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"travel Finnair again for sure"

(United States)

Verified Review | Finnair Business Class on A330-300 from New York to Helsinki. First impressions - handled by American Airlines in JFK, gate agents felt typical AA not looking at you but either at the screen or your documents. Boarding was orderly, welcomed nicely onboard by cabin crew. Seat slightly showing wear and tear, color palette easy on the eyes but also shows off damage to seats easier. Seat was comfortable in all positions but flat. Amenity kit, pillow, blanket all Marimekko and souvenir worthy. In flight service efficient but somewhat cold- only non Finnish in front cabin so it is slight odd find them switch from Finn to English. Meal service was average - meat dish was blandish but portion size more than plenty. Had the Finnair speciality drink featuring Blueberry and very refreshing. Emergency diversion to Goose Bay CA handled well by crew. Second meal service 75 min prior to landing in HEL. Better than main meal. Arrived four hours delayed but otherwise a pleasant experience, especially post flight at Vantaa. Easiest transit ever in Europe. Would travel Finnair again for sure.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJFK to HEL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"A350 is really better the A340"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Zurich to Shanghai via Helsinki with Finnair, and the first time with the new A350. Technical issues before take-off, so 2 Hours delay. But the A350 is really better the A340, Business Class is now really a Business Class. Entertainment system is brilliant. Space more then enough and food was good. Staff from Finnair friendly as well.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteZRH to PVG via HEL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"no information provided"

(Estonia)

Finnair flight from Tallinn to Helsinki (operated by Nordic Regional Airlines, aka NoRRA) got cancelled due to a technical problem (in the middle of the safety announcement, we were told there was a problem with the battery). All in all, the trip took 14 hours instead of 4. My main complain: disembarked, no information provided apart from "get back to the travel agency/agent (on the public side of the airport) to get re-routed or refunded". Only one agent to handle ca. 70 passengers, had to queue for 3+ hours (ca. 10 chairs were provided by the airport staff). Praise to the agent for remaining calm and not taking a single break until everyone got re-routed or refunded. No information about EU rights were provided. Had to ask for lunch voucher; again total lack of information. On my way back, the last Finnair (NoRRA operated) flight from Helsinki to Tallinn was overbooked (other passengers on 'stand-by' tickets had to wait until next morning). My overall rating: 5/10 since the return trip went well and I was lucky enough not to be on a stand/by ticket.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLL to CDG via HEL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst business class service"

(Finland)

Hong Kong to Helsinki and unfortunately Finnair has the worst business class service among the oneworld airlines I normally use (CX, JAL, BA). Food service very basic, limited attention to guest, entertainment system outdated, limited selection of movies but what is really negative is the seating / leg comfort in business class. Strongly suggest to improve the value proposition of business class.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHKG to HEL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no