Eurowings

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 99 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst travel experience"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Hamburg to Zurich. Worst travel experience ever. Flight was delayed and then cancelled after 6 hours wait going out. Got a late flight missing all connections. Going home now and flight is again delayed 3 hours without any information. All other Eurowings flights are also delayed. Never flying this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHamburg to Zurich
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they've lost my luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Warsaw to Newcastle via Düsseldorf. Awful experience. I travelled in 4 segments this week and every single one was delayed by at least 45 minutes. On the last leg they didn't even bother to tell us. Finally, they've lost my luggage and I haven't even been provided with a reference number.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWarsaw to Newcastle via Düsseldorf
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"1.5 hours to get through"

(United States)

Verified Review | Düsseldorf to Rome. I arrived 2 hours early for my international flight to find a baggage line that took 1.5 hours to get through. I was reassure but three airline attendants I would have time to make my flight and check my bag. While in line, many other customers were experiencing the same frustration about missing their flights. I made it to the front of the line with 40 minutes to make my flight and the woman at the baggage counter assured me the bag would make it on the plane and I would make it through security, no problem. I did make it to the flight to find a completely irate attendant who told me I couldn't get on board, that she had cancelled my seat. The flight ended up being delayed 15 minutes so I made it on but my bag did not. Waiting in the baggage line now.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDüsseldorf to Rome
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"I found the legroom okay"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Stansted to Cologne Bonn. Booking and checking in was relatively simple and staff were friendly. The aircraft was pretty nice and clean while not offering any entertainment. I didn't arrange for any food as the flight was a quick 50 minute flight. The seat comfort is okay for a quick flight. I found the legroom okay but I am short, so if you're above 6 foot, it may be below average. There is supposed to be wifi after you watch a video but then it came up with a page I can't interact with and everything was in German which I don't understand. Overall, for quick flights, I'd say it's generally fine if it wasn't for delays. My flight to Cologne Bonn was delayed by about 40 minutes which was fair enough. My return flight was booked for 7:35PM. This was later delayed to 8:20PM, delayed again to 8:40PM, then they said it would be another 20 minutes, then it was delayed until Midnight. They offered 10 euro food vouchers but with only one cafe at the gate and it not serving food at that time, they were pretty useless and there was a lack of communication going on. Customers were getting quite heated and asking questions and just told each other what was going on until things calmed down and I asked for an official word as to what was happening. Understandably, these things happen but this was my first time going away by myself and the other passengers seemed pretty shocked by this delay. Overall, I'd say, maybe try your luck with it if you've got a quick leisure flight but if time is of the essence, probably not.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStansted to Cologne Bonn
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"flight schedules need to be more reliable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Having used Eurowings / Germanwings / Lufthansa for the past few years flying frequently throughout each year between Hamburg and Birmingham I have become very disappointed with their service of late with regard to frequent flight schedule changes. These have occurred whether or not bookings have been made well in advance or at short notice. Despite accepting my bookings and payments for direct flights, they have changed my last few flight schedules multiple times to completely unsuitable indirect flights. These flights would have extended my journey time (which is usually one hour 20 mins flight) by between three and seven hours, if not more, due to the bad connections. I have had to repeatedly rearrange my plans and re-book flight dates and times which has sometimes resulted in me missing appointments / events. If the airline(s) wish to discontinue their direct flights between Birmingham / Hamburg they should not make them available to book and then withdraw them sometimes almost immediately after booking is confirmed. This has made me very reluctant to book further flights with Eurowings. I have emailed customer service about this several times over the past few months and am yet to receive a reply, just automatic acknowledgements. Only after my first email was submitted I was advised I would receive a reply within 6 weeks, which I find unacceptable. I have since found another airline that have re-introduced this route so my next flight on this route is already booked with them. Apart from this the I have found Eurowings flights are generally on time, check-in staff and on board service satisfactorary. Overall their flight schedules need to be more reliable and online customer service needs serious attention.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Hamburg
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"happy to book with them again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This return trip, London Stansted to Vienna and return was the first time we have flown with Eurowings. We purchased BEST class tickets which meant that we had seats at the front of the plane and the middle seat isn't occupied. We also had a snack and drink included, and Star Alliance Lounge access which was much appreciated. On both trips the service was excellent from check in onwards. The flights were on time, the on board service efficient and friendly. The planes we travelled on appeared new and very smart and clean. We were pleasantly surprised by our first experience of flying with Eurowings and will be very happy to book with them again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to London Stansted
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Eurowings have never replied"

(Germany)

Verified Review | On 2nd March 2017 I booked Eurowings return flights from Düsseldorf to Birmingham UK for myself and my 12 year old daughter. The flights were booked online using my Miles & More Lufthansa account. As usual I printed out my Travel Itinerary documents at home and everything seemed to be correct and as normal. On arrival at Düsseldorf airport on Sunday 9th April we were faced with one of the longest queues for a Eurowings check-in that I think I have ever seen. After queuing for ages we finally arrived at the check-in desk, only to be turned away by the check in assistant because the name on my Travel Itinerary document did not match the name on my Passport. On close inspection my short first/given name was indeed printed instead of my full name. I explained to the check-in assistant that I booked on-line via the Lufthansa website with my Miles & More Account and even presented my Miles & More membership card which shows my normal full name. This form of identification was not accepted at the Eurowings check-in with the assistant stating that the names differed by more than 3 characters so she could not check me into the flight. I asked if they could simply update the Travel documents based on my Miles & More Card plus Passport. She could not. If I wanted the documents changed I would have to contact Lufthansa. I was sent from the Eurowings check-in desk to the Lufthansa service desk but the woman at the Lufthansa Service desk just said “sorry we are only a service desk we can't help”. I was re-directed to the Lufthansa telephone helpline, which also was unable to help. I tried to re-book the flights at the Lufthansa service desk, with a similar reply "sorry we can't help, we are only a service desk we can't book flights". Eventually I found L'Tur at Düsseldorf airport and re-booked the whole journey, with the same start and destination airports, on the same day (but later flights), with the same carrier (Eurowings), this time with the correct full names on the documents for an additional price of €688. When my daughter and I were finally on-board we were looking forward to a little something to eat and drink, but the steward bypassed us both, i.e. no drinks and nothing to eat. Apparently our tickets were “Smart something-or-other” which means no on-board service. I had hoped the treatment on the return journey would be better. We received nothing to eat or drink. An altogether disappointing treatment for tickets costing over €1000. I had resigned myself to this being one of those bitter life learning experiences, “next time check that all the details on the documents match up 100%; until I started checking some older travel documents at home. To my surprise I discovered that I have travelled with my daughter with the same carrier and same type of document errors several times before, but without all of this hassle and extra cost. It seems obvious to me that the flight that we were booked onto was overbooked and the check-in staff were looking for an excuse to bump passengers off the flight. I contacted Lufthansa Customer Services (the parent company) who passed the buck to Eurowings, who have never replied.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDusseldorf to Birmingham
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Buy cheap, buy twice"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Berlin. I booked onto this flight notifying the airline that I was flying with firearms only to be rejected at the airport as they did not have the booking on the system after I specifically spoke with the staff. Unfortunately I had already booked onto a flight to another destination with the firearms at a later date and faced similar problems. This airline is a joke taking weeks to respond to any emails sent will little or no help charging per firearm? In future I will pay more and have less hassle. Buy cheap buy twice as they say. Totally disappointed.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Berlin
Date FlownMay 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"very nice and friendly"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Cologne to London (LHR) with Eurowings operated by Germanwings: We started with an on-time boarding, and as I walked on the plane I was greeted by a flight attendant, very nice and friendly, I made my way down the aisle to my seat in 10A. I arrived at my seat and noticed that it was the exit row, and I asked the flight attendant if I could sit somewhere else. He replied "sure go ahead and sit behind this row." We also departed on-time, approximately 30 minutes after take off the crew started service, and once again I was quite surprised, because I did not expect to get a snack on this short flight, the crew also handed out drinks to everyone on board, and the rest of the flight was comfortable as I had the whole row to myself, as we arrived in London we were in a waiting queue for landing, however that was OK as we arrived still 10 minutes early.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCologne Bonn to London Heathrow
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"I was positively surprised"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Zurich via Cologne. I was positively surprised by their premium economy ("best") product. All ground services are as in Business Class: priority check-in, fast track security screening, lounge, priority boarding. When flying "best" you find yourself in a small, private section in front of the plane. During your flight you could order alle their items on their wings bistro. They have a nice variety of products. The presence of the crew during the flight was so-so. But when you called them they were always happy to serve you. The crew was very young and seemed not very experienced. There was hardly any interaction between the crew and the passengers. The seat is the same as Lufthansa's premium economy: great recline, enough privacy. Very limited entertainment options.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBangkok to Zurich via Cologne
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 99 Reviews