Vote Now  

Etihad Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 892 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"seats were incredibly uncomfortable"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Dusseldorf to Hong Kong via Abu Dhabi. I had some expectations which have't been completely fulfilled. Well this is how life is, you can't have it all even from a 5* airline (for first class cabin, though). Flying economy didn't seem like a 5* airline at all. And the seats were incredibly uncomfortable, and in the Boeing 787-9 the configuration is bad. You don't really feel it until it is completely full, like the last haul when coming back (night flight) from Abu Dhabi to Dusseldorf. When 3 people are sitting next to each other, no matter how big or small it is almost impossible to sleep. Another bad thing for me was that the entertainment system closes 45 minutes before landing (really?) and it is available only after take off after the proper altitude has been reached. You just have to do something else 45 minutes before landing. The screen were big enough and the variety of programs was good. As a platinum Etihad Airways frequent flyer I was allowed to use the very nice first class lounge in Abu Dhabi. An inconvenience happened in Hong Kong, when travelling with my girlfriend and being on the same reservation together, it was just me who got an invitation to join the departure lounge of Hong Kong Airlines. This I found really impolite and if this means customer satisfaction by cutting costs, then they are cutting in the wrong place. We refused to use the lounge and went for a drink at one of the cafes in the airport. The food onboard was probably not a lot but the quality of the products was the best in economy I had so far. I have prebooked a vegetarian meal and they were pretty nice and paid attention to these details. The best from all the flights was that they were ahead of schedule in all the flights (sometimes 30-40 minutes) and this means they are interested in getting you to your destination in time, which is a big plus. As an overall rating I would give them 3* for economy, this is where they are, according to my personal view.
AircraftBoeing 787-9 / A330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDUS to HKG via AUH
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"seats are very uncomfortable"

(United States)

Verified Review | Hyderabad to Chicago via Abu Dhabi with Etihad Airways. Staff is friendly, but the flight is horrendous, seats are very uncomfortable. Sliding tray in the first seat doesn't always go inside. The screens don't register touch very well. They didn't have enough pillows for everyone. Vegetarian meal is of poor quality. At the time of breakfast, they offered turkey sandwich when I had clearly marked my meal as vegetarian. This is after serving the vegetarian meal before. There is no room in overhead bins. The temparature was set at least 78 degrees probably more. It was hot as hell.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHyderabad to Chicago via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"cabin staff friendly and helpful"

(Qatar)

Verified Review | London to Doha via Abu Dhabi with Etihad Airways. This was my return sector, a daytime flight from London. Check in was slow but the staff were very friendly but that did not give us time to enjoy the Etihad lounge at Heathrow. Etihad's business class on the A380 was nicely laid out but leg area is narrow and if you are over 1.9 meters tall you will have to bend your knees in the sleeping position, not so nice. The cabin staff were very friendly and helpful, the entertainment system was alright and the food was very good. I chose the chicken with edamame which was a very good choice. The landing was quite rough in Abu Dhabi but the Lounge in Abu Dhabi was superb. The short connecting flight back to Doha was uneventful.
AircraftA380-800 / A320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Doha via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a pleasant trip"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Flew Etihad Airways from Paris to Abu Dhabi. Even though the planes are a bit older, the comfort inside was quite good, space was enough. Crew were kind and selection of food and beverages was definitely enough for such a trip. The best part of the flight was probably the entertainment system, the movie selection was really nice, a lovely way to spend a pleasant trip.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"So disappointed with service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Perth return via Abu Dhabi. I was looking forward to my fly with this airline. It was total of 4 flights. So disappointed with service and attitude from the staff. Those stewardess looked like they not bothered to be there, so unhappy, rude, impolite. If we tried to ask them something, seemed everything was too hard for them, they even was not listening and not letting us to finish a sentence. Every time it's seemed that they are not happy with something. We felt not welcomed. Bathrooms was often untidy. Food was ok. I am not sure if I want to fly with Etihad again
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Perth via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service continued to go downhill"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I was extremely disappointed in the service my husband and I received on our flights using Etihad Airways. We first flew from Dublin to Abu Dhabi using Etihad and thought that the poor service could have been a fluke but we were wrong. On our direct flight home from Abu Dhabi to Toronto the service continued to go downhill. The flight attendants were rude and not helpful. It took over an hour for someone to come to us when we turned on our attendant light. Attendants would see the light and walk right past us. Passengers around us also had this problem and we heard chatter about how the staff was rude and they had received better service on other airlines. The food was not good either. I understand that plane food usually isn't great but after following Etihad on Instagram and reading other things online I expect better, especially on such a long flight. I have had better food and service on one hour flights with other airlines. Also, there is a lack of organization at the airport for this airline. Getting through the gate was a logistical nightmare and the Etihad staff did not communicate effectively with patrons. Everyone was everywhere and did not know what was going on. All in all, poor customer service and poor organization led to a very negative experience flying with Etihad.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"worst aspect was the food"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew Etihad from Perth to Milan via Abu Dhabi. This was easily the worst economy long haul flight that I have experienced despite being on the new Dreamliner. The seats are narrow and the seat pitch is minimal. But the worst aspect was the 'food' being offered. I know thst airline food is notorious but I am not that hard to please. But Etihad have sunk to new low levels of inedible and unappetizing. The so-called breakfast was a soggy little meat pie soaking in potato mash. On the bright side the cabin staff were cheery and did as much as they could with what they had to work with. The second leg of this journey from Abu Dhabi to Milan was with Alitalia and the staff, comfort and catering were excellent in every way. Next time Alitalia all the way or Qatar.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Milan via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"second flight was a let down"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Edinburgh to Brisbane via Abu Dhabi. Inconsistent product, the first leg was 9 out of 10, apart from check in being slow and some uninteresting food on board a very obliging and caring crew who looked after the cabin perfectly. Check in was one of those times when 2.5 hours ahead of the flight joining the economy queue would have got you to a check in agent faster than being in the Business queue. Redirected to another agent after about 15 minutes, the delay at the Business Class counter being a complicated upgrade. The lounge at EDI is really poor, you are better going shopping. However on the plane, despite the older cabin, for the most part it was what flying should be where you felt spoilt. Lounge at AUH was quiet and the food was OK, lots of variety and a good bar service. On board the 787 the service to BNE was much poorer, while the crew were pleasant they weren't proactive. No water offered at night, had to ask for salt and pepper and a glass of wine with the meal. The second meal was not offered and had to be requested close to arrival. The food on this flight was of a much lower standard and was overcooked both times and cold the second time. If you asked for two things (e.g. jam and cutlery), the crew member came back with only one of them stating that it was a long flight and they were tired, knowing they had forgotten something. Except for a refresh of bubbly before landing you had to request everything. Tone however was very pleasant and apologetic tone. Wine was really great on both flights and on the second flight I decided to sleep in any case given my fatigue and the lack of attention being paid to passengers. Bags off really fast. Limo at both ends is a wonderful service. Sadly the expectations from the first flight were so high and the second flight was a let down as more of a 4 out of 10.
AircraftA340 / Boeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteEdinburgh to Brisbane via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Etihad is feeling the economic pinch"

(Qatar)

Verified Review | The flight from Doha to Abu Dhabi was uneventful, everything was smooth, the flight from Abu Dhabi to London showed that Etihad is feeling the economic pinch more than Qatar or Emirates. They did not even give the standard kit offered by every other airline, I have been very loyal with Etihad but it seems they are going to start losing passengers now. Their offers for breakfast were very poor, I choose the pancakes which came very dry without any sauce. The entertainment system was the high point though the choices were limited when compared with the top of the line offered by Qatar or Emirates, the seats were very hard and the fabric coarse. The area where Etihad beats everyone is in their checked baggage policy two pieces 32 kilos each is very generous and with their unbeatable prices you kind of overlook their shortcomings.
AircraftA320-200 / A380-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDoha to London via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"No smile, no greeting"

(Qatar)

Verified Review | Calicut to Abu Dhabi. Aircraft is pretty new and clean. IFE was impressive for a narrow body aircraft even though limited choices. On time departure and arrival. Negatives were completely disinterested crew. No smile, no greeting, we have to suffer stupid advertisement on the In flight screen until they took off which is annoying. No real headsets are given like other carriers. A ear phone will be provided only after take off, don't expect them to answer your call bells they are too busy chit chatting in galley. Toilets were messy. Abu Dhabi airport is a complete mess. It's so congested and no proper seating area. Even at the gate there is huge crowd and there is no separation for one gate to other.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCalicut to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no