Top 100 Airlines  

Etihad Airways

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 716 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"seats are uncomfortably narrow"

(United Kingdom)

Abu Dhabi to London with Etihad Airways. Immaculate aircraft with clean interior, excellent inflight entertainment and WiFi available. Courteous and efficient cabin staff. Food good with a choice of three main courses, and complimentary drinks. Disappointing seats by long haul economy standards. Ten across (3-4-3) seats are uncomfortably narrow with a very modest seat pitch.. I am six feet tall and my knees pressed into the back of the seat in front throughout the journey. One other weakness, lengthy announcements, for example before take-off and after landing, appeared to be well paced and clear in Arabic; in English they were very staccato to the point of being unintelligible. Similarly, announcements from the flight deck, disappointingly, were often casual-sounding and sometimes inaudible!
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAUH to LHR
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"trip without doubt the worst"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Abu Dhabi. One cannot complain about the service on Etihad Airways as there is none to complain about. This last trip to Abu Dhabi was without doubt the worst. Settled in, had a drink while waiting to take off and gave the chef my meal order. 2 hours from landing and a 13 hour flight, no food, no drinks and even my potato chips were removed from my cabin! I was offered no bedding, and only had a neck cushion and rug which became unbearable. Asked where my meal was and told that nothing could be served as the chef was on his break - thought it was dining on demand? I couldn't have breakfast because I didn't order any! Went to economy looking for food, but it was full. Found a seat at the back of business and sat there for the remaining 2 hours of the flight. I was at least given a pillow and a blanket! Was offered a steak sandwich 1/2 an hour before landing and that was all I got all trip. When I arrived at Abu Dhabi airport, I went to the lounge and refused to leave until management addressed my concerns. After about an hour and a half a manager came and promised me the world of empty promises! Asked my travel agent to book the return flight in Business as First was so bad, only to be told it would cost me $2,000 to downgrade. Email after email was getting me no where, so went on facebook, and Etihad then blocked me and removed my posts.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteMEL to AUH
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"fly Qatar Airways or Emirates "

(India)

Verified Review | Chicago to Kochi via Abu Dhabi with Etihad Airways has to be the worst experience I have had. The ground staff in Chicago did not allow to check in both of our carry on's citing the wheels doesn't fit the template provided. I had taken same airways from Cochin to Chicago with the same two bags and did not have a problem. Then how can they deny my bags when I am flying back in the same carrier. The lady in the counter was not even ready to consider our case threatening us that if we don't check in by 1155 flight will go and if we have to take bags we need to pay additional money. There was a delay of more than one hour for take off. The food onboard was horrible with very less choice. For a thirteen hour flight they served a lunch, a bag of pretzels, a bun and a vegetarian light meal with no choices. We did not receive all four bags after reaching Kochi. If they want only first and business class passengers to fly with them then they should stop the economy class. Regarding in-flight entertainment the less said better it is. They need to fly Qatar airways or Emirates to learn what in-flight entertainment is . This will be my last flight with Etihad. The world's worst airlines.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to COK via AUH
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"what a disappointment"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Rome via Abu Dhabi with Etihad Airways and what a disappointment. I know inflight food can be a difficult but this would have to be my worst experience in 25 years. No drinks served pre dinner, the food was inedible, each meal/snack offered was possibly the worst I have had on a flight. Melbourne-Abu Dhabi Dinner: Pasta and cheese, dry and tasteless, Fresh fruit salad - 2 types of melon, dried piece of chocolate cake. Snack of a rock hard dry muffin. Breakfast, tasteless egg mush, sausage, small piece of tomato. Abu Dhabi to Rome, the breakfast, offered the same, tasteless eggs, chicken sausage. Snack was cold, soggy bread roll with some cheese and tomato. Food service was slack and disinterested. No more Etihad for me in the future.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to FCO via AUH
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"seat could not recline"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Casablanca via Abu Dhabi. My business class flatbed-seat malfunctioned on the flight from BKK to AUH. The seat could not recline and rendering the seat being worse for comfort than an economy seat but cost a lot of money. It felt like sitting in an emergency door exit economy class seat but could not recline. Despite the crew’s attempt to fix the seat before and after the meal they could not fix it. I expected to be offered a different seat or upgraded to first class given that all business class seats were not available but nothing was done despite my complaint. Ittook the crew nearly four hours after take off to serve the main course, which was more than half of my flight duration where I had planned to have to a good long hour of sleep after the meal. There are also minor points such as the use of buses to transfer passengers from the gate to the plane in AUH. Whilst I have been offered by the ground team in AUH a compensation of 15,000 Etihad miles, which I did think it was adequate for my troubles. I subsequently made a written complaint to ensure that my inbound leg of the trip would be trouble free, and I had expected to hear further assurance prior to my inbound flights to BKK, (which was a week later), but I received nothing, other than an email that the airline would investigate and get back. The airline did not take my complaint seriously and I could not believe it that I was assigned to the exact same seat with the outbound flight that had the problem on a similar aircraft that I have made a complaint, I was very upset fearing that it might be the exact same aircraft and I had to face the same problem all over again (a good evidence of the airline ignorance to my complaint) and to make it worst, one of my travelling group, had the same issue with her seat that I had on the outbound trip and could not recline at all. Fortunately the crew eventually could fix it. I followed up again a few weeks after the trip. They offered me the total of 20,000 miles which cannot even upgrade me from economy to business class on the same route. I asked for the equivalent mileages (which might not guarantee that I can upgrade my seat as the mileage upgrade is subject to quota and availability, not to mention that if I choose to use the miles I will have to pay for another flight to the airline that I do not want to fly with again). I wouldn't ask for any complimentary mileage if I had gotten a properly functioning seat that I had paid a lot of money for! It has now been months since my first complaint and I tried to follow up but I just received an email saying that they “hope you will accept the offer we have previously made. We now regard this matter as closed”.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to CMN via AUH
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"very enjoyable experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Morning flight from Delhi to Abu Dhabi and then the Etihad bus to Dubai. Overall a very enjoyable experience. Everything went very smoothly from the very quick baggage drop at Delhi through to arriving in Dubai on their bus. At US$ 125 booked direct it was also something of a bargain including checked baggage, a decent meal and free drinks. Seat was reasonably comfortable for a flight of this duration and the in flight entertainment quite comprehensive with plenty of choice. Staff were friendly and helpful. I will certainly fly Etihad again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEL to AUH
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"waiting for any reply"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Bejing to Berlin via Abu Dhabi. Due to technical problems of the Etihad A330 there was a delay of 2 hours, and I missed my connecting flight in Abu Dhabi due to the aforementioned delay. Such things can happen but the way Etihad managed the issue has been not acceptable. Instead of offering me the direct flight to Berlin next day (xl-seat as booked), I got flights via Bucharest and Stuttgart, seated very lousy in the deepest economy class in a very old A320. Instead of support and help in Abu Dhabi I was confronted with unpolite, offensive ground staff telling me lies in order to get rid of me. I am waiting for any reply, statement of Etihad since more than 6 weeks (same story happened two weeks before), respectively 4 weeks now. Miles were not registered, no excuse for 2 days lost due to incedints caused by the airline. No excuse, no reply, no miles. This behaviour is not acceptable and it destroys my trust in the airline.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePEK to TXL vua AUH
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"best travel experience "

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Sydney via Abu Dhabi with Etihad Airways, and this was by far the best travel experience I have had. The limo pick up was excellent, they arranged a convenient time, very polite driver and a great car. The Heathrow Lounge was very well presented with a table service if you wanted to dine, along with roaming staff for drinks or light refreshments. I had a spa treatment which was excellent. Boarding the aircraft was easy and I was welcomed at the door and shown to my apartment. The apartment was out of this world and I was shown all of its features and offered drinks/canapes and a menu. The crew could not do enough for me and this continued for the whole flight. The food was restaurant quality and well presented. Having a shower onboard was an experience, and the toiletries provided were excellent. Would thoroughly recommend Etihad and the flight to Australia was a dream.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLHR to SYD via AUH
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Boeing 777 uncomfortable"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Abu Dhabi to Bangkok with Etihad Airways. At the time of booking this flight, EY 406 was operated using an A330, which has much better legroom and wider seats than the Boeing 777. Unfortunately, I was advised by email that the route was now operated using a Boeing 777, so I knew this Etihad flight was going to be uncomfortable. What on earth possessed Etihad to squeeze 10 seats across their 777s? Many airlines (Thai, Singapore etc) have 9 across, in a 3-3-3 configuration. The 10th seat on Etihad makes for a very narrow seat indeed. The flight itself was ok. Good meal, IFE had a reasonable selection. This flight was operated using a Jet Airways 777, which has an identical seating configuration to Etihad. Cabin crew helpful and friendly, and especially good with our young daughter who was very tired. If only Etihad didn't have those ridiculously narrow seats. I couldn't imagine flying 13+ hours on this aircraft. 5 hours 45mins was more than enough! I would only recommend flying Etihad if you are 5 feet tall and really really slim.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAUH to BKK
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"no apology for lack of food"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I had booked Etihad Airways from Manchester to Abu Dhabi flights with my family to visit family. I had booked for the flight at 20.00 hrs to try to make sure the baby with us slept. All was fine until the food was served, none of the family were offered anything they could eat. There was no choice at all, with only one meal being left. The flight was not full and there were empty seats so I would have thought that there would have been some choice of food. An 8 hour flight with nothing to eat is not the best recommendation for the airline. There was no apology for the lack of food only that that the menu said that not all food could be relied on to be available. Not a very satisfactory outcome.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to AUH
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no