Etihad Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1118 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"departure and arrival was spot on"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | Short flight from Bahrain to Abu Dhabi and the plus side was the departure and arrival was spot on so no worries on connecting flights having issues. Service inflight was quite efficient with a clean Cabin. Let’s hope scheduled timing is kept up.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBahrain to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly Etihad again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Abu Dhabi to London. Worst airline ever. Aircraft was way too cold. No way for any passenger to control air con. In flight entertainment was lacking, Emirates and Saudi Airlines far better! The cabin crew who were over stretched for the amount of passengers. Would never fly Etihad again. In flight meal was lacking badly. It’s a shame it won’t let me leave a 0 out of 10!
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbu Dhabi to London
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"baggage policy is ridiculous"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Bangkok via Abu Dhabi. First and last time I will ever fly with Etihad. Their baggage policy is ridiculous even if you are just a little bit over the allowance they will charge you extra. It's as if they get commission on these extra charges. They weigh and add every bit of luggage you have even carrier bags that might contain a jacket! Lots of passengers packing and re-packing to meet the weight guidelines. The food selection is bad. Good entertainment system altho it suddenly stops 30 minutes before landing. All other airlines entertainment you can play right until taxiing. Avoid Etihad.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bangkok via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"considered a low cost airline"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I traveled Perth to Rome via Abu Dhabi at the beginning of July alone with a one year old baby. I travel to Italy once a year and i usually go with Emirates or Qatar. This time I chose Etihad mainly because of the inflight nanny service. This service wasn't available on my flight and only found out on the day I flew out. The planes were both very uncomfortable, and no comfort kit or baby toys were offered (as Emirates and Qatar do). Although I requested baby food, nothing was provided. During the flight no one of the staff came and asked if I, a mum traveling solo with a young child, needed help. (Last year Qatar flight attendants came several times making sure all was good and gave me baby food, toys and a pouch with baby lotions and nappies). The food for adults was barely edible and there was no meal choice. I think Etihad has to be considered a low cost airline not a 5-star and should definitely cost less, much less as it is so bad. Not worth the money! It cost more than Emirates and Qatar but it's worth zero compared to them. I will never choose Etihad again or recommend it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Rome via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very bad experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Abu Dhabi to London. Very bad experience with Etihad. Not enough cabin crew for flight, air conditioning is not through individual vents like other A380s, cabin crew are very rude. IFE system is not up to date & not a lot of choice, no food menu offered (when compared to other Arab carriers menu offered). 4 toilets were not working on this flight. I have no intentions of flying Etihad again. Overall very poor.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbu Dhabi to London
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"severely overbook all flights"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Belgrade to Brisbane via Abu Dhabi. In short, Awful. 100% Do not book Etihad if you are traveling too or from Australia. So the flight from Belgrade to Abu Dhabi. Underwhelming. In flight food lacking (a meal 30mins into the 7 hour flight and no more). Upon arrival at Abu Dhabi I was told I wouldn't be on my booked flight because it was badly overbooked and I had no choice. I was also told next time to get to the airport earlier. And no, I was on another Etihad flight was not a good enough excuse. I was simply told it's policy for Etihad to severely overbook all flights involving Australia (apparently there is not legal rules in Australia against this unlike in the EU and USA). And my absolute favourite, It is not Etihad policy to take complaints unless it's an email. I begged them to talk to someone now, I told them I had work and would miss important meetings and lose money I needed to live. They told me it doesn't matter to them. After lengthy complaining I was told they could give me a gift voucher and a window seat. Pathetic. My 1 hour stop over has become 25. Not sure how I'll explain delays to work.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBelgrade to Brisbane via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"all flights delayed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Heathrow to Kochi via Abu Dhabi. Worst flight ever: I was travelling with my wife and 2 kids. The flight was delayed by an hour from London and the same when landed in Abu Dhabi. There was no buggy available to take the passengers to the next transit area. We were literally running along with other passengers as we only had 45 minutes for all the procedures. When we had finished the transit procedures we were taken to the next flight in a bus packed with people. The worst bit was the next flight was again delayed by an hour after all that hassle. On our return the case was no different with all the flights being delayed. Even on the flight we had to wait 45 minutes for the trays to be cleared after meals were served. They didn't even bother to answer the call bell. Never again!
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHeathrow to Kochi via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"leaves a lot to be desired"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Athens via Abu Dhabi. The quality of this airline leaves a lot to be desired. Customer service is virtually non-existent. Even as a Gold member flying Business Class who had spent $25,000 on seats, I was treated by Etihad staff, with utter contempt and disdain. I flew with 6 family members, 2 of whom were infants. We spent more than $25,000 and 400,000 miles on our seats We were all in Business Class. I have been a gold member of the Etihad Guest rewards programme for 3 years. Despite repeated calls to the customer service line before we boarded, they did not manage to sit us together. Furthermore, the cabin crew did not help us to sit near each other, refusing to ask other passengers to move, even though those passengers were flying alone. The plane on the Singapore to Abu Dhabi leg has been replaced. Rather than the B787 which Etihad is quick to pretend flies on this route, it has been replaced by the aged A330, in which the business class offering is old and outdated. The plane is loud and most of all, extremely hot. When I complained about the offering, I was told that "Etihad has the right to choose which planes it flies on its routes". That is of course fine, but when you go to book the ticket online, the website clearly states you are paying for a seat on the Boeing 787. The bassinet seat I was offered for my daughter was above my head. She was able to wriggle out of it, and nearly fell out. The customer services complaints officer has totally ignored my complaints and instead has either insinuated it is my fault or has said that I should have complained on the flight to the crew.
AircraftBoeing 787 /A330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Athens via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"do not recommend flying with them"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Washington to Bangkok via Abu Dhabi. I decided to go with them because they were cheaper. After my first flight with them, I should've paid more for world class service from Emirates or Qatar. The staff at the check in were unfriendly, the seat recline broke which forced me to push my seat with my back the whole 12 hour flight. This gave me back pain days after. I couldn't find a flight attendant to notify about the seat. Its not just their staff that arent attentive, its their whole policy towards their less opulent customers. It is really difficult to get in contact with their customer service. To "compensate customers" for a bad flight they give something called travel credits which are worthless to you unless you want to buy another flight or buy overpriced seat selections. I do not recommend flying with them until they see the importance of all their customers and improve their product and policy.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Bangkok via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"nothing but cost cutting"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Paris to Sydney via Abu Dhabi. Such a Disappointment. I have flown Etihad business in the past and what a fall from grace. As a frequent flyer who flies internationally at least 6 times a year and often in business, flying with Etihad is mediocre at best. 4 years ago it was fantastic and couldn't be faulted but now it is very average and nothing special. I travelled on points this time. The points for this Etihad flight are 30 - 60K more than their competitors which is a lot for their entry level business class points tickets. The crew on the CGD to ABU were average and did nothing to make you feel special. The plane was older and nothing special. The food was seriously no better than economy and in fact I have had better food in economy on other airlines in the past. The main meal I had I couldn't eat due to the meat being so full of gristle. There was so little food as well. On the flight from ABU to Sydney I asked what time breakfast was so I could set an alarm to wake up. I was told that Etihad no longer serve breakfast. The reason, 'people are on different time zones'. I said to the hostess that this is ridiculous and it was nothing but cost cutting. I also asked has management changed because something is clearly happening with this airline. I was told it is under new management and the staff are bearing the brunt of disgruntled customers. Maybe this explains why you don't see them much anymore. I must say the hostess I spoke with was really trying and stated I could I lodge a formal complaint with her. I felt that this would possibly be more effective and seeing by the amount of complaints on this site, maybe I was wrong. With regard to breakfast, you can order from the all day menu which includes pastries (2 small), cereal, egg white omelette, noodles or a steak sandwich. You cannot get a real egg omelette and breakfast is lack lustre. The main meal (beef) was so bad again it couldn't be eaten. It was as tough as a brick. I was informed this is because everything is reheated. Food is very poor. Apart from the food, the staff are not often seen like in the past. A few years ago, travelling Etihad business was a treat. Staff were attentitive & polite, food was wonderful and business was worth the money and/or points. Now it's get on, get off. Having flown Premium with another airline late last year, I can honestly state that their Premium was far more superior than Etihad's business class. C
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteParis to Sydney via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no