Airline of the Year  

Etihad Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 908 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"a lowest airfare strategy"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Dusseldorf to Singapore via Abu Dhabi. The focus of this review is purely on the flight, not the (rather uncomfortable) airport Abu Dhabi. Etihad (at least in Germany) seems to follow a lowest airfare strategy for Business Class flights to Asia. You pay this with a transfer (usually during night hours). During all four legs of my recent trip, Etihad's personel were very friendly but also seemed all relatively inexperienced. During two legs, I asked the flight attendants to hang my suits. After arrival, I had to ask for it. This would for sure come automatically with other airlines. All flights very punctual. Boarding well organized, never stressful. Food was OK. One time I was told the Arabic appetizer set was already out and 20 mins later I saw another passenger getting this set. Wine selection was good - they could work on their choice of fruit juices. Airplanes: all brand new 787. For me, the most comfortable plane currently on the market. IFE: OK, selection of movies limited compared to other airlines. In flight wifi did not work.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDusseldorf to Singapore via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the food was great"

(Qatar)

Verified Review | I have been very loyal with Etihad and this trio (Doha to Johannesburg via Abu Dhabi) was the best in a while. There are unpleasant parts but they are to do with Abu Dhabi Airport being congested and cannot be attributed to the airline. The departure from Doha was an early morning one so I could not get much sleep. An uneventful flight being a very short one and arrival in Abu Dhabi was earlier than schedule but because of the congestion at the airport we had to remote park and use the stairs which is very annoying when you have a sleeping child. The connecting flight was the same story but a much higher the staircase, the seats on the 787 are nicer than the A380 and the whole experience was better. Etihad falls short of both Qatar Airways and Emirates on the entertainment scale but surpasses everyone on the baggage policy. The food was great. I really liked the steak sandwich and their chicken. My daughter loved the pasta. We had a very strong tail wind and arrived an hour early. Their wifi was great I kept in contact with my wife the whole journey.
AircraftA320 / Boeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDoha to Johannesburg via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Easy connection in Abu Dhabi"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Jeddah to Bangkok via Abu Dhabi. Departure delayed around 50 minutes due to chaos at immigration in Jeddah Airport. All other sectors out and return on time. All planes clean. Reasonable selection of films but issues with not turning the IFE on promptly and turning it off too early. 2 screens broken. 2 seats had broken USB connectors preventing charging of phones. Too many adverts prior to films. One broken seat Abu Dhabi to Bangkok but only 80% full so eaay to change. Staff pleasant. Food generally okay, filling but bland. Easy connection in Abu Dhabi.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJeddah to Bangkok via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not be using Etihad in future"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Abu Dhabi to London on 10th May. My worst flight ever. The cabin crew were the laziest I have flown with. I realise they are entitled to a break but they entered the cabin twice during the flight once with lunch and once for a snack near the end of the flight. My sister could not even get any water, the crew ignored the bell and switched it off without even coming to see if there was a problem. After lunch was finished the curtain was closed and if you went to use the toilet behind the curtain you were told to use the one at the rear of the aircraft. I will not be using Etihad in the future.
AircraftA340-600
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbu Dhabi to London
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"food and service were mediocre"

(India)

Verified Review | Paris to Hyderabad via Abu Dhabi. I had booked a return journey 8 months prior to the trip. Before the trip I had received 3 emails about my return flight stating that my flight has been rescheduled, but the difference was 10 minutes only. (ie. my 10 pm flight was rescheduled to 9.50 pm). I had booked the meal and everything was fine. On the day of the travel, me and my wife boarded a below par airplane from Hyderabad to Abu Dhabi. The charger point was not working, the food was served 2 hours afted the departure with no refreshments. Even after pressing the call button to get the flight attendent's attention i did not get any response. The food was not great and nothing except the dinner was served. My next flight from Abu dhabi to Paris was slightly better but again food served was mediocre. The main story started in the return leg. As mentioned, i was suppose to travel back at 9.50 PM from paris. when i arrived to drop my bag, I found that my flight had already departed at 10 am that morning. I was told that the same was informed to me via email. Luckily i had not deleted any mail from etihad and i was able to show them that the flight change was for 10 min not 12 hours! I was scared as this was the first time such thing happened to me. They told me to talk to the reservation website. Luckily i had booked the flight from etihad website itself and therefore I was able to push them to call their reservation desk. The manager came to me and started talking to the reservation office. It was realised than an email was dropped to me 20 days before the travel date with the mentioned changes. I was able to find the email but it just provide the receipt of payment with no mention of details of change in time. Etihad was not able to explain the reason and as there were seats available they were able to book us on the same flight after a lot of argument. Even though it was the airline that was at fault the manager had the audacity to tell me that I should be more careful next time. Then one more issue presented itself. The flight I booked had 2 hours of waiting time in Abu Dhabi. For the flight that etihad gave me later I had to wait 8 hours at Abu Dhabi airport. I was so frustrated and tired that I did not argue and just wished that i reach my home. Again the food and service in the return flights were mediocre.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Hyderabad via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"seem to be losing ground"

(Qatar)

Verified Review | Abu Dhabi to Sydney. The crew were great, the aircraft getting a little tired. The big size PJs were back in stock and the service left on time. I'm a big guy, the business class seats are only just big enough for me. The table is a bit tight on my guts so I lean the chair back. Qatar Airways tables have more room, I have no issues with them. Etihad remain my first choice but seem to be losing ground with tired aircraft interiors in the older fleet. I wish I could get some sort of wifi frequent flyer before I fly - I'm always scared to buy on board.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAbu Dhabi to Sydney
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"was a pleasant night flight"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Abu Dhabi. It was a pleasant night flight. The gate was pretty full, but the airport staff handled the situation very well. I pre selected our seats for free, we had the last seats in the first economy segment. There is no restricted recline, which is very nice, because you do not bother anyone by reclining your seat. The staff was attentive and the food delicious for economy and the IFE was good. They offer a solid economy experience. I would fly them again, but I still prefer Qatar Airways and Emirates.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"nothing fancy on this leg"

(Qatar)

Verified Review | Abu Dhabi to Doha. The 3am run to Doha uses an old aircraft crammed with workers in transit. Business class is not much different to economy, and it's often full of people who have been pumped up. This is a hardline, workers transit flight. If your flying business don't be fooled, nothing fancy on this leg. The good news is if it's part of a longer haul flight the other leg will likely have been awesome - Etihad awesome, which is fantastic.
AircraftSmall
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAbu Dhabi to Doha
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew were back on their game"

(Qatar)

Verified Review | Sydney to Abu Dhabi. Etihad crew were back on their game with this afternoon flight. Exceptional service on the smaller Boeing 777. I like it better than the A380 with air controls I can customise and in an aircraft that feels like it's flying, and not the QE2. Okay, the menu has not changed in a while, and it's getting a little tired in the fit out, but for me 10 out of 10 on this flight on this route, with this crew.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"experience unforgettably horrible"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Manila to Frankfurt via Abu Dhabi. A recent family trip to Frankfurt gave me the chance to travel with Etihad Airways and I had high expectations in terms of their service. Unfortunately, the experience was an unforgettably horrible one. As I was boarding the gate in Manila, Etihad’s ground staff informed me that my seat did not recline and had no light or power. To add insult to injury, the seat area had a pungent odor. Since this was a family trip with a connecting flight and nobody could offer me a workable solution, I had to have the seat manually adjusted to a flat recline and endure a 9-hour flight without lights or power. To cap it off, the stewardess directed me to go to the toilet at the back end of business class when I went to the business class toilet near the cockpit, as if I was bothering them. To make up for my discomfort, I was handed a letter saying that they have given me free miles equivalent to a polo shirt from their souvenir store. As a frequent flyer, I found this an unjust compensation for the level of distress I experienced on such a long flight, so I decided to return the letter and reject the offer. I then proceeded to email a formal complaint to their customer service only to receive the same proposal despite my objections the first time. I decided to raise my concern to their CEO and was surprised and disappointed to get the same reply from a customer service agent who continued to insist on their offer. I just want to share how let down I felt as a customer of an airline as purportedly reputable as Etihad Airways.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManila to Frankfurt via Abu Dhabi
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no