Ethiopian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 535 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

Ethiopian Airlines customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 5th July 2015

LHR to ADD, June 8, return 30th. Excellent flight both ways. Superb planes. Helpful cabin staff. Smooth boarding at new LHR Term 2 compared to old T3. Flight time now only 7 hours. By far the best way to get to Addis. Addis airport efficient both ways. Do not like arriving at new LHR T2, massive long walks, baggage slow, not enough lifts from arrivals to public transportation. Aspects of the design of this new terminal at Heathrow are very poor.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAddis Ababa to London
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Ethiopian Airlines customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 2nd July 2015

At Nairobi airport, I was offered use of a small Kenya Airways lounge. Quite pleasant and adequate for a short wait. Boarding on time. Seats in the 737 were spacious and fairly comfortable. As there were only 5 business class passengers, I had an empty seat beside me. Food and service were good. Overall a pleasant flight. Addis Ababa airport was chaotic. A lot of people sitting around in corridors with mountains of hand luggage. The Ethiopian lounge was busy but I was able to get a seat. The seats looked good but were distinctly uncomfortable. No facilities for lying down or sleeping. Food and beverages were OK but not great. No showers and toilets not great. Wifi was available but very patchy in coverage and speed - staff were obviously aware of this as they warned me when I asked for the password. I was looking forward to the flight ADD-LHR as it was on one of Ethiopian's fairly new 787s. Boarding was fine. Business class layout was 2-2-2 but as there were few passengers, I could have an empty seats beside me. The seats were very disappointing and appeared to be an old design. They reclined to a relatively flat bed but it was angled and lumpy - not good for sleeping. Why Ethiopian would buy modern aircraft and fit them with inferior seats in their most profitable cabin is impossible to understand. Food was not good. I had beef which was tough and poorly seasoned. Other parts of the meal were similarly disappointing. In the business class cabin, there were 3 crew. One was dressed in a colourful uniform and was both pleasant and efficient. The other two were in drab outfits and had personalities to match. IFE worked OK but had a limited selection. The flight arrived on time. On arrival at LHR, my checked bag was not there. When I had checked it in at NBO, a large green tag reading "transfer at ADD" had been attached to it but, as I later found out, it had been left at Addis Ababa. Staff at the missing luggage counter at LHR were helpful and efficient but Ethiopian clearly were not. I arrived at LHR early on a Friday morning. It was not until nearly midnight on Saturday (and after numerous enquiries) that my bag was finally delivered to me in central London.
AircraftBoeing 737 / Boeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNBO to LHR via ADD
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

Ethiopian Airlines customer review

Review by (Kenya) 30th June 2015

Flew to Bangkok from Nairobi and return and I certainly did not enjoy the flight back. The Boeing 767's used from Bole International to Suvarnabhumi Airport and back are very old, felt like I was on a bus. The inflight entertainment is awful, variety of shows is poor, TV screen is unclear and the seats have signs of wear and tear. My flight from BKK to Bole was delayed by 3 hours which meant I missed my connecting flight, but that was sorted out once we landed in Addis. All in all, I would not recommend for long haul flights, however short haul flights are bearable.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER & Boeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBangkok to Nairobi via Addis Ababa
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

Ethiopian Airlines customer review

Review by (India) 29th June 2015

I flew Ethiopian Airlines as they are a part of Star Alliance. Flight from Mumbai which was scheduled at 5.30 AM took off near 7 AM. Missed my connecting flight to Accra. Was put up in Addis Ababa at a hotel with very limited menu for people who had missed connecting flights. Seems both the airline and the hotel were used to this problem, as my flight ticket for next day and hotel were already printed when I arrived at Addis Ababa. Food was just ok. Entertainment was good.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMumbai to Cccra via ADD
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Ethiopian Airlines customer review

Review by (United Arab Emirates) 16th June 2015

Pretty horrible flight, with plane crowded and dirty. There were already transit passengers on board (from Burundi) when we boarded and the aircraft did not appear to have been cleaned. Took off around 30 minutes late with no explanation. Crew seemed disinterested and there was no inflight entertainment. The only positive point was that the meal was reasonably tasty and there was beer and wine on offer. The condition of the toilets was disgusting even at the start of the flight. Despite having a relatively good reputation, I will try my best to avoid using this airline again.
Aircraft737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteNairobi to Addis Ababa
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Ethiopian Airlines customer review

Review by (Switzerland) 13th June 2015

I know many people seem to recoil when I tell them I am flying on an African airline but I would fly Ethiopian Airlines anytime over any US airline. The service is top notch, the flight attendants, professional and attentive, and very patient with some very rude passengers. I have flown Ethiopian a number of times now and have seen a progressively improving level of service. Addis airport is a very efficient HUB through Africa. The flights within Africa are not as good (still better than most) than the flights to North America. Also, the fares are very reasonable and passengers aren't nickel-and-dimed to death which is now the norm in the US flights.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteFIH to YYZ via ADD
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Ethiopian Airlines customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 6th June 2015

ADD to Heathrow March 16th in daylight. Check in Addis excellent and quick. Breakfast at the cheapest cafe in Terminal 2 OK but service a bit half hearted. Price up to $6 plus 25%. Boarding very quick. Flight superb except that as others note the standard of food on Ethiopian is slipping downwards no choice for lunch. Arrived spot on time and getting through new Terminal 2 at LHR better than my first time in October!
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Ethiopian Airlines customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 6th June 2015

ADD to Heathrow March 16th in daylight. Check in Addis excellent and quick. Breakfast at the cheapest cafe in Terminal 2 OK but service a bit half hearted. Price up to $6 plus 25%. Boarding very quick. Flight superb except that as others note the standard of food on Ethiopian is slipping downwards no choice for lunch. Arrived spot on time and getting through new Terminal 2 at LHR better than my first time in October!
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
na

Ethiopian Airlines customer review

Review by (South Africa) 20th April 2015

I had the most uncomfortable experience flying between Accra-Luanda and returning the same route. The flight was delayed and without any explanation or updates from the carrier. The cabin was very dirty and poorly maintained. The facilities were pathetic and not well serviced during the flight. Cabin crew were poorly trained or lacked customer friendliness and seemed very aloof without much concern. The overnight hotel accommodation was pathetic. Boarding procedures were woefully managed. No recognition was provided to the star tier members when checking in at the counter or when boarding. People simply pushed their way through. Given the type of client and nationalities that use this route the cabin attendants had no control over the passengers and during landing and take off there was much confusion with passengers standing up and opening the over head compartments long before the aircraft had reached the docking bay. Passengers were randomly spitting on the floor without any care for other passengers or having been informed by the incompetent cabin crew about the use of the facilities provided. The ground staff were equally unhelpful.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
na

Ethiopian Airlines customer review

Review by (South Africa) 20th April 2015

I had the most uncomfortable experience flying between Accra-Luanda and returning the same route. The flight was delayed and without any explanation or updates from the carrier. The cabin was very dirty and poorly maintained. The facilities were pathetic and not well serviced during the flight. Cabin crew were poorly trained or lacked customer friendliness and seemed very aloof without much concern. The overnight hotel accommodation was pathetic. Boarding procedures were woefully managed. No recognition was provided to the star tier members when checking in at the counter or when boarding. People simply pushed their way through. Given the type of client and nationalities that use this route the cabin attendants had no control over the passengers and during landing and take off there was much confusion with passengers standing up and opening the over head compartments long before the aircraft had reached the docking bay. Passengers were randomly spitting on the floor without any care for other passengers or having been informed by the incompetent cabin crew about the use of the facilities provided. The ground staff were equally unhelpful.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no