El Al Israel Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 327 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

El Al Israel Airlines customer review

Review by (India) 29th June 2015

Very uncomfortable journey. Seats not good. Common inflight entertainment. Had ordered for Asian Vegetarian food but got a salad.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteTel Aviv to Mumbai
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

El Al Israel Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 17th June 2015

Mediocre and lackluster service. Impersonal staff, but not impolite. My friend had indicated vegan on both routes. (JFK to TLV and vice versa) and they had not even registered the option. Inflight entertainment is almost non existent. They play the movies for you and you don't control anything. Seat back screen size resembles a nintendo screen. Flying out of JFK, we were subjected to major harassment in the name of security. Our carry on's were kept at the gate and given to us and personally escorted to the plane. Obviously this is after going through and checking the entire contents of the bag. This is my 3rd time flying to Israel, but first on El Al. Never encountered anything remotely like this before.
AircraftB747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteTLV to JFK
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

El Al Israel Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 15th June 2015

Nothing was horrible, just mediocre. The cabin, seats, entertainment system, all seemed to be very old and updated. The carpet was worn and dirty, the seats uncomfortable and not able to lay flat. But beyond the second rate cabin facilities was the very second rate service. Nobody was impolite, it was more like they just weren't focused on the passengers. Every flight I took on this vacation (there were 4 legs) was significantly late taking off but the passengers were either left in the dark about the cause of the delay or we were given some implausible explanation (ATC issues that involved no weather or unusual traffic). I suspect that the real issue is that El Al is so focused on security, and spends so much money on it, that they just don't have resources left to deal with the finer points of running a decent airline.
Aircraft747 400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJFK to TEL
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

El Al Israel Airlines customer review

Review by (Israel) 11th June 2015

TLV-OTP-TLV. Outbound Boeing 737-900ER, brand new aircraft with sky interior and slim new seats. Very good entertainment, overhead LCD with TV shows. Food very good some chicken tapas, tahini hummus, pita salad and chocolate mousse. Crew young, smiling and friendly. Got delayed for 2 hours because of some closed routes but kept informing us so no problem. Boarding done quickly and right after takeoff so no waiting on aircraft. Inbound Boeing 737-800. Left before time and upgraded to preferred seat for $50, great seat near window emergency exit with a lot of space, also middle seat empty so felt like European business on other airlines. Again overhead entertainment on LCD screen. Didn't eat but choice was tapas - either tuna or chicken. Given 2 cans of cola and fanta. Crew friendly and young purser was very funny. Captains update on route weather and procedures very nice. Will fly again, definitely improved and with new aircraft cheaper and better than competitors.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteTLV-OTP-TLV
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

El Al Israel Airlines customer review

Review by (France) 31st May 2015

Such relief to get on an EL AL flight after other planes. Swiss and El Al are up there then Lufthansa then the rest. You feel like you're finally taken care of. Good well maintained planes responsible professional flight attendants normal seats (better on Swiss but the El Al entertainment was much better). Very good food the attendant offered a second "leftover" plateau when my colleague said he was still hungry. They get the job done professionally and with care. All in all great experience.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort N/A
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
yes
9/10

El Al Israel Airlines customer review

Review by (France) 31st May 2015

Such relief to get on an EL AL flight after other planes. Swiss and El Al are up there then Lufthansa then the rest. You feel like you're finally taken care of. Good well maintained planes responsible professional flight attendants normal seats (better on Swiss but the El Al entertainment was much better). Very good food the attendant offered a second "leftover" plateau when my colleague said he was still hungry. They get the job done professionally and with care. All in all great experience.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort N/A
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money N/A
yes
2/10

El Al Israel Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada) 25th May 2015

May 12th LY32. May 21 LY31. We were very disappointed with our flights to and from Tel Aviv. The seats are the most uncomfortable seats that you can possibly sit in. The seats need to be re-stufffed. They have been this way for a very long time and we do not plan to fly El Al until we are assured that the problem is fixed. As well there were problems with the electrical system as when we tried to read the lights kept going off.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

El Al Israel Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada) 25th May 2015

May 12th LY32. May 21 LY31. We were very disappointed with our flights to and from Tel Aviv. The seats are the most uncomfortable seats that you can possibly sit in. The seats need to be re-stufffed. They have been this way for a very long time and we do not plan to fly El Al until we are assured that the problem is fixed. As well there were problems with the electrical system as when we tried to read the lights kept going off.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

El Al Israel Airlines customer review

Review by (Israel) 5th May 2015

Flew July 2014 from TLV to FRA with the B737-900ER 4X-EHE at this time it was a month old the crew were very friendly the food was delicious. It was a morning flight so we got breakfast omelette salad onions pitta bread with hummus tea or coffee and light drinks. The seats were extremely comfortable the interior looks like the Boeing 787's cabin the Inflight Entertainment was fair on the main screen 3 movies were screened live news and radio channels. Boarding was fast but when we finished boarding a siren was sounded a rocket was launched to Tel Aviv crew were very calm and said we had to evacuate the aircraft but once we had evacuated almost immediately we got back on. Landing was on time. I'm satisfied with everything on EL Al.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

El Al Israel Airlines customer review

Review by (Israel) 5th May 2015

Hong Kong - Tel Aviv on a rather tired B777-200 aircraft. Flight delayed at Hong Kong for an hour as part of an effort to solve the inoperative In-Flight Entertainment System of the aircraft. The IFE remained unusable during the entire 13 hour flight for all passengers. The online seat reservation system indicated a reserved window seat but on arrival at the airport I discovered that no reservation had been made and I was given the dreaded middle seat. The seat was uncomfortable and the adjustable headrest could not maintain its position. The wine revolution that has swept Israel during the last 15 years has obviously deftly bypassed El Al. The red wine can best be described as simple plonk better used for cooking. The meals were a little industrial but average on a world standard. The crew were friendly and tried hard. The purser's announcements were in broken English and thus barely coherent including the safety demo which was performed manually due to inop IFE. This safety demo was without the life jacket explanation leaving the embarrassed giggling cabin staff standing with life jackets in hand. With an aged widebody fleet El Al happily charge a premium price and provide a mediocre flight experience. These particular thirteen hours left a very poor impression indeed.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no