Top 100 Airports  

El Al Israel Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 154 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"were asked to pay for re-booking of flight"

(Israel)

Verified Review | Tel Aviv to Bangkok. We planned a trip to Vietnam and Cambodia in very high detail, about six months before traveling; flights and ground services were booked and were reserved accordingly. On July 3rd, 2016, we left with high expectation, a group of five people, to fly on EL AL flight LY081, planned to depart at 2230. We had a connecting Vietnam Air flight to Hanoi, with a layover of two hours and ten minutes, significantly higher than from conventional MCT. Although we did an early check in early, and left our contact information, EL AL did not update us directly on the two-hour delay in flight. We heard of this delay only on the way to the air field. The magnitude of the delay was reveled when it was too late to book an alternative connecting flight, while we still had the opportunity (free seats wise). We had to wait for hours before the flight left, almost 3 hours after the scheduled time. We arrived to Bangkok after an exhausting flight in El Al's old 747 plane, amazing to see this plane is still in service (seat handles ashtrays openings, still existing). Upon arrival to Bangkok, EL AL representative escorted us, trying to help us find a connecting flight. We were on a "waiting list" for Vietnam Airlines flight, which was scheduled to leave at 1905. If we had gotten on this flight, there would have been a minimal damage to our trip itinerary. We were delighted when we learned that we had seats available on this flight. But, we were asked to pay for re-booking of flight. EL AL were not willing to paying the additional $120 per person for this change. In order to avoid extra costs (cancellation of hotel reservation, change an itinerary, etc.), we decided to pay the above amount and to clarify the matter with EL AL, in a later stage. Unfortunately, the payment process prolonged and the flight left without waiting for us. When we turned to EL AL station, to arrange the next connecting flight, they declared they cannot help us, and told us to come back on the next day. We had to stay another night in Bangkok and cancel the ground services booked and paid in Hanoi, Vietnam. We found ourselves the first alternative connecting flight, that had seats available (Thai Air), and paid $ 350 per person. It goes without saying that since the trip was carefully planned, on a daily and even hourly basis, we had to make changes and concessions and disrupted our enjoyment.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLV to BKK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"whole rows or sections were missed"

(Australia)

Verified Review | It has been almost 30 years since I flew to Israel and I thought I would always fly El Al. Yes the security is great but it was far below par on many things. Flew from Perth to Tel Aviv via Hong Kong and Bangkok. The main complaint I have is the way satff give out beverages and food. Not just once but several times was this done so haphazardly that whole rows or sections were missed. I had to ask the staff to return to give a section food, at which point I was told we were all sleeping, we were not. Towels were given out to sections and missed with others. Bottles of water were given out and then not to others. It was like they started well then just forgot where they had got up to. Just not good enough.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePER to TLV via HKG and BKK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"a blatant untruth"

(Israel)

Verified Review | I had not flown El Al for years and had almost forgotten why I avoid this airline. We booked a flight with Iberia from Tel Aviv to NYC with a stopover in Madrid. The first leg was with an El Al flight to Madrid. Take off was delayed due to an unfortunate illness of one of the passengers, the plane was freezing and when I requested a blanket I was told that there were none. We landed in Madrid one hour late and were assured by the pilot on the p.a. system that a representative of the connecting flight would accompany us to the gate for our flight. In fact El Al had already e-mailed the passenger service to send us to a hotel until the following day. I could easily cope with this delay but had great difficulty with a blatant untruth. I will make every effort not to fly El Al in the future.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLV to MAD
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"inflight entertainment was shocking"

(Australia)

We recently flew to Israel on El Al from Hong Kong. We had a short layover but this is very common and we were also delayed 1.5 hours. Surely 3 hours is enough time to get our bags on board? No, bags were lost and were only sent to us two days later. The inflight entertainment was shocking, the movies were on a loop so you had to keep checking, tray tables falling apart and the aircraft was so old. The second flight we had booked was from Israel to Bangkok and then we a flight from Bangkok to Hanoi. El Al sent no message to us to say it was delayed and we had checked in. Not even an email. It was delayed 2 hours due to a flight coming late from the previous destination. El Al showed no remorse that we were going to miss our flight to Vietnam, even so they wouldn't even write us a letter for insurance. I emailed the customer service email as I was instructed to and was told "we will do our get back to you in 21 days". Clearly not a priority. We got to Bangkok and sat with Vietnam airlines for 4 hours on stand by and they finally said there was 2 seats but we needed to pay. They are a disgrace, we spent 24 hours running around airports because of their disorganisation and lack of care. Will not fly them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLV to BKK
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very good experience"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Tel Aviv to Toronto with El Al. Flight on time, plane clean with very comfortable seats. Inflight entertainment via I Pad is not as good as competitor's offerings. Crew exceptional friendlyand caring - without being overbearing. Flight leaves just after midnight and arrives before 7AM in Toronto, allowing for a full night sleep. All in all a very good experience.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTLV to YYZ
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"staff very attentive and friendly"

(Austria)

Verified Review | A very nice experience overall flying from Tel Aviv to Vienna. Flight was on time, security process and boarding very smooth. Cabin staff very attentive and friendly. Seat comfort okay, leg room was average like on any other mid-range flight. No personal IFE but a movie was screened in the overhead monitors. Aperitif with a snack and a hot meal (two choices, very delicious for airplane food) were served. I chose them because the ticket was more than 100 Euros cheaper than Austrian Airlines for the same route, next time I will chose them for the quality I have experienced.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLV to VIE
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

El Al Israel Airlines customer review

(United States)

New York JFK to Tel Aviv with El Al - I recommend flying with another airline if you plan flying in economy class. The seats on El Al have no legroom and the recline is sometimes broken (when I asked for help with my seat they said they can't do anything). The kosher food is not bad and they are usually on time, however the staff are not always friendly.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to TLV
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"bunch of reluctant staff"

(India)

Tel Aviv to Mumbai. Israel is an amazing country with some of the most beautiful places in the world. Unfortunately El Al Israel Airlines is nowhere close. While the flight is normally ontime, you are welcomed by a bunch of reluctant staff who are not only rude but adamant of their politeness. They are unwilling to help. The planes are old, staff at the check in counter are not interested in helping passengers and only want to fleece guests for excess baggage. The food on the flight was inedible on my flights in and out of Israel. They are lucky to have business from almost 90% of their guests only because they fly direct.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLV to BOM
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"experiences so horrendous"

(United States)

My last few experiences with El Al have been so horrendous. On two separate occasions (our flight from NY to Israel, and now our flight from Israel to Bangkok), El Al have "mysteriously" cancelled our reservation and told us that we were on Standby. The first time for no reason. And the second time when I tried to use my credit card they said that because it was a foreign credit card (American Express) they needed further authorization, i.e. passport pictures, credit card images, a form, etc. We sent all of that in. And then got confirmation that we were all set. Even got a confirmation email. Now, a day before our flight they're telling us that they don't have any reservation for us and that if we want to book a flight the same flight, it's going to cost us an extra $800. Are you kidding me?? I'm sorry - for all the things Israel is good at, it's an embarrassment to have an airline that operates like this.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLV to BKK
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight from hell"

(United States)

Tel Aviv to Newark with El Al, and to put it mildly, this was the flight from hell! The worst part was we could not get into a restroom because a certain passengers needed to perform a religious ritual on the plane and were allowed to congregate in the aisle and block other passengers from using the bathroom. When we could eventually access the restroom. There was no toilet paper, soap or paper towels. Flight attendants did not came through the cabin once to offer anything (including water) for many hours. They have antiquated entertainment and no wifi. We did not hear anything from the pilot - no acknowledgement or words of welcome, or assurance when going through some fairly severe turbulence.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTLV to EWR
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no