Egyptair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 428 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

Egyptair customer review

Review by (Canada) 29th June 2015

Seat is comfortable and service was surprisingly good. Food was also good. Lack of good entertainment and poor pilot announcements is a disadvantage. Ground service in Cairo Airport was nothing memorable.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteYYZ to JED via CAI
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Egyptair customer review

Review by (Egypt) 4th June 2015

I consistently use Egyptair to visit family in France and the UK. It is my favourite airline because of the comparatively low ticket prices ability to change route and dates on tickets on even the cheapest tickets (also refundable) booked directly with the airline and the 46kg baggage allowance where other airlines only permit 20kg. The CAI-CDG and CAI-LHR routes are mostly served by newer Airbus 330s which are vastly superior to the old Boeing 777s. Pay attention to the aircraft type which is displayed when booking on the Egyptair site. I would not travel on a 777 with a young baby for instance as there is nowhere to place the bassinet except on the floor by your feet and they do not allow you to bring a car seat. There are also no infant seat belts as they claim these are unsafe. The 330 in contrast is pretty comfortable with a wide choice of inflight entertainment and good leg room in the front row. Food is fine. Kids meals are larger than the adult meals and are usually pasta with tomato sauce plus grilled chicken breast. Adult meals are bread roll plus butter with a main meal of rice plus meat plus sauce. You have a choice of red meat chicken or fish. The dessert is usually inedible and 80s looking. Staff have always been polite and accommodating especially when I was flying alone with young children. It is certainly not a premium airline but if cost and flexibility matter to you then I would recommend them for shorter flights. Take care always to book directly with them though so tickets are refundable.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Egyptair customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 31st May 2015

LHR-CAI-JNB and return. Both ways the aircraft to and from London to Cairo was much newer than that from Cairo to JNB and back to Cairo. When did they ban smoking on aircraft? The flights from Cairo to Joburg still had ashtrays in the seats and toilets! The food was awful the worst that I have ever had on a flight from England. The staff were efficient enough but smiles were few and far between. I am going back to Turkish.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
na

Egyptair customer review

Review by (United States) 29th May 2015

JFK (NY) to Jeddah via Cairo on May 26th. I travel every 6 weeks from New York to Saudi Arabia. This was my first and most definitely the last time on Egyptair. Unfortunately I have nothing positive to say about this airline. Business class seat was OK but the service and food was horrible. If you have flown with premium airlines like Qatar and Emirates then you are in for a shock. After getting on the plane no one acknowledged or welcomed me during the whole flight. After 20 minutes I was offered a hot "paper towel" followed by a choice of orange or guava juice. No one even said Hello to me during the whole flight. Food was served in a rush. Horrible dried out food. No snacks during the flight. Bags of nuts were distributed when plane was about to land at Cairo. Breakfast was worse than the dinner. IFE was not good at all with cheap head sets. Amenities bag was actually a zip lock bag. My completely unbiased advise - stay away from this airline.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Egyptair customer review

Review by (Belgium) 27th May 2015

Flew from Athens to Cairo and back. Aircraft I flew one of the very few Egyptair planes I have seen which still had the old paint scheme giving you some idea of the age of the plane. Inside aircraft upholstery did seem rather old and there were scratch marks on the wings and engines. No inflight entertainment system. Food was pretty good and cabin crew welcoming and pleasant. Boarding starts 1 hour before take off in most cases so hold this in mind when planning a journey. There was not much room in the seat and I felt cramped. When I transferred to another airline to catch my connection I appreciated just how cramped Egyptair was.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Egyptair customer review

Review by (United States) 20th May 2015

Flight 848 May 13. Flight 753 May 16. My recent flights experiences with Egyptair Business class were very positive. I had much more space and better food than on recent flights with American and BA. All flights were on time and the service was excellent. The flights attendants were positive. Both cabins were clean and there were English newspapers/magazines. I watched a total of four recent movies and had no complaints with the entertainment system. Additionally there was more than enough food offered during the flight. Since I do not drink alcohol I had no issues with their beverage selection. Both lounges Casablanca and Cairo were adequate. I had Internet access and a seat. The lounge staff in CAI were very nice and I enjoyed a coffee and croissant before departure. The restrooms were clean. My only concern was the boarding process at CAI. Although check in and security through business class were fairly easy I found the boarding process at the gate very disorganized. Just make sure you give yourself plenty of time to get to your gate! Once onboard - piece of cake. EgyptAir offers a strong product at a good rate. I will definitely use their business class for future trips to No Africa.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Egyptair customer review

Review by (Canada) 4th May 2015

My family flew from Toronto to Luxor (via Cairo) in business class. I was a bit concerned prior to departure after reading some of the other comments from travellers on this site. I must say I was completely satisfied with the service on the four legs of our flight. The planes are a bit old but the service was good. The staff were excellent (especially in Luxor). Everyone went the extra mile to make our flights as comfortable as possible. This is not a 5 star airline but we knew that before we departed. I think Egyptair is a solid airline and worth the cost of the tickets.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Egyptair customer review

Review by (United Arab Emirates) 10th April 2015

DXB-CAI CAI-SSH and return. MS911 DXB-CAI was on Boeing 777-300 seats are very hard and not comfortable at all flight was full red eye flight food was a tasteless omelette toilets were filthy. Crew seemed tired and not interested in their job and didn't follow safety procedures. Passengers stood up even before the plane stopped and crew didn't ask them to sit down. CAI-SSH was on express brand small E-170 45 mins flight was ok however not fond of leather seats plane was very cold return SSH-CAI was same CAI-DXB was a better flight not full over night so I slept most of it. Food was horrible entertainment was limited however with private screens on each seat but not much choices. Crew were ok however still not paying attention to safety procedures plane was taking off and the passenger behind me was talking on her phone. However price was very good. Domestic route is very expensive though.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

Egyptair customer review

Review by (Canada) 6th April 2015

Toronto - Cairo flight 996 March 21. Return flight 995 April 4. I fly them almost 3 times a year. This time the airbus 330 was a very old version direct flight of 10.5 hours almost no entertainment - only one TV for each section no phone charger so I had to give my phone to the flight attendant to charge for me. No wifi like most of the airlines. Some seats were broken. Even the crew were complaining and were apologising.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

Egyptair customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th January 2015

MS778 LHR-CAI on 2 Jan 2015. MS777 CAI-LHR 21 Jan 2105. Airbus 330-300 reasonably clean. With one or two exceptions most of the flight attendants not overly welcoming but did what was expected.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes