Airline of the Year  

Egyptair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 281 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"staff are generally pleasant"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I flew Egyptair from Cairo to Toronto recently. Some of my observations: The flight was slightly delayed, less than 15 min. Staff are generally pleasant and responsive. Most of business class seat controls were not working properly. Entertainment system is poorly designed. It looks like the interface was designed by a middle school student. No categories and no titles. If you are at the movies category, it refers to movie 1, movie 2. You only find out after you start the movie. The plane looks old and has not been updated. Food quality is average. When my wife requested a Diet coke, was told that they are having a problem with the supplier and they did not have any!
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCairo to Toronto
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"with 90s or even 80s style"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Cairo to Jeddah. I have used Egyptair many times and the last experience was the worst ever. I have faced very strange problems when I tried to cancel my booking and rebook again, the call center agent told me that you did this registration through our website and they are different department so you have to send them an email to request ticket cancellation, I asked him if he can give me how much I will be refunded to decided if the cancellation is worthwhile or not, but the answer was I can't help on that. Turned out to be a company that works with 90s or even 80s style. When I rebooked again, the airplane is very dated. The entertainment service onboard is useless, the seat is dirty and the seat tray table was broken. The flight attendants were very helpful and supportive, and that was the only good thing about this flight.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCairo to Jeddah
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Overall an excellent flight"

(Egypt)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Cairo. Everything went pretty well. The plane took off and landed on time. Cabin crew were so attentive, well behaved and very nice. The flight was comfortable and not crowded that I could use 3 seats all by myself. The cabin was also clean and comfortable. Overall an excellent flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Cairo
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"flight experience was modest"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew Egyptair from Toronto to Cairo. Crew were very helpful. Appeared to be making an extra effort to help. Flight experience was modest, I would say at best. Leaving from Toronto, helpful staff at check-in. Egyptair uses Air Canada lounge, which is average in service, overall comfortable. The plane to Cairo was quite dated, seat missing some parts, doesn't fully recline, and with a very very dirty screen. The plane back was better. For entertainment, Egypt Air has good new movies, but the system is not set properly to tell you which movie is on what channel. It just displays icons "movie 1, movie 2, movie 3". They provided a menu on the way to Cairo, but not on the way back. Food was reasonable on the way to Cairo, but unfortunately of very poor quality on the way back. The best part was the staff helpfulness, the worst part was Cairo Airport Lounger. Very filthy washrooms, leaky roof into the lounger, slippery floor from the leaky roof, and no one to clean, very limited simple selection of pastries and juice.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Cairo
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"food fresh and tasty"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | Istanbul to Dar es Salaam via Cairo with Egyptair. Flights on time or with minimal delay, our baggage was delivered, food was fresh and tasty, staff welcoming. Plane was small, but comfortable and nice. PTV screens available - just need to have your own headphones, because the ones offered by staff were useless.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Dar es Salaam via Cairo
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst flight experience"

(Egypt)

Verified Review | Toronto to Cairo. Horrible experience. Apparently they switch from a Boing 777 to the A330 during low season, and the plane is abysmal. They must have purchased it in the 90s and never bothered refurbishing it. The business class seat was not a lie flat, it barely reclined, and to make things worse the foot rest did not work. The food was less than mediocre, and onboard entertainment system (antiquated with a tiny screen) did not work, no Audio. Worst of all there was something wrong with the air conditioning, the cabin was freezing the whole flight. One of the worst flight experiences ever, will not fly with them again and I'm a Gold member.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Cairo
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"very negative experience"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Cairo to Nairobi. I booked this flight for its timing and date and had heard it was good. Much to my dismay, it was a very negative experience overall. My son said it all. This is the worst business class he has ever flown. The check in was painful and long, the luggage screening person would not hand me my passports back suggesting a "Tip" but finally did return them. They could not find my e ticket, the lounge was okay but the food was cold. Security took 45 mins,and there was no business fast track or boarding. The onboard service was mediocre as this was a night flight. The crew was only interested in eating and chatting with the security personnel. Being on an old Boeing 737 was not a restful sleep as the seats don't recline much and the constant chatter of staff.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCAI to NBO
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew Cairo to Bangkok. No complaints, whilst this is not Emirates/Etihad standard the bonus is that it is a direct flight saving many hours. I was pleasantly surprised by the seat comfort in business class, it was certainly flat enough and comfortable enough to get a very good sleep on this overnight flight. Service too was very attentive and pleasant personalities. The big bonus is the cost of a business class ticket - considerably cheaper than the 'others'. I was also fortunate in having an on time departure with a smooth on time arrival. Good job Egyptair despite your knockers, you have a big tick from me - I'll definitely be back.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCAI to BKK
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"punctual and very comfortable"

(Singapore)

Cairo to Aswan with Egyptair. The original flight 7am from Cairo to Aswan was cancelled, and I was offered the 8am flight, upgraded from Economy to Business class. I guess they compact the 2 flights together to maximise load factor. When I queued for the business class counter, the staff politely told me that the queue was for business, and I handed the print out from the ticket office before being processed for check in. Same thing happen when I was walking to my seat, the staff politely reminded me the seats are meant for business class passengers and asked to see my boarding pass. I have taken business class on other airlines before, and they don't judge based on your dressing so I don't know why the staff in this airline has a particular way of assessing whether someone deserves to be in business class. They certainly didn't do the same thing to another fellow who was upgraded. Food served on this short haul domestic sector was good, crew was ok. They have separate aircond shuttle bus for VIPs in Aswan airport, so even business class passengers can only take the non-aircond shuttle bus in the Aswan airport. Flight was punctual and very comfortable.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCAI to ASW
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"positive experience in economy"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | My first flight with Egyptair, from Athens to Cairo. Positive experience in economy. They served a meal that I normally see in long-haul flights on this 105 minute flight. Flight was only around half-full. Service good from check-in in Athens to arrival in Cairo.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATH to CAI
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes