Delta Air Lines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1328 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Terribly slow service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dayton to Eugene. Flight was delayed no reason given. Missed connections to Eugene. Waited in line for 45 minutes to change connection. Arrived late in Eugene bag not there. Had to find an agent and another long wait. Luggage didn't arrive until 3am at the hotel. Room phone rings 3am and tell them I will get it in a few hours, ugh. Return flight same thing delay and miss connecting flight, puts me back in Dayton 11pm. Only question now is will luggage show up. Terribly slow service, delayed flights - try a different airline. Nothing offered for poor service, late flights and no luggage.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDayton to Eugene
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"demanding money from older lady"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Lagos to Washington via Atlanta. My 83 yrs old mother was on this airline that was later reported rescheduled after I called delta airline customer service that lasted about 20 minutes. This is a terrible experience for all involved, firstly my mother is wheel chair assisted and does not speak english she was just sitting in Atlanta on a wheel chair on a spot not knowing what a heck was going on. I was waiting at Washington Dulles airport not knowing what was going on until i called the customer service and found out that the particular flight has been rescheduled without been warned. Not only that the man that was assigned to wheel mother at the Atlanta airport was actually demanding money from older lady just coming from Nigeria without local currency. This whole experience was appalling and very terrible.I really wish no other person have to go through this sort of experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLagos to Washington via Atlanta
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"food was delicious"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | Paris to Detroit. The seat and legroom were amazing. Cabin crew was not friendly at all. The food was delicious. WIFI was so fast. Bathrooms were dirty. The landing was a bit bumpy. IFE was okay.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Detroit
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"will give Delta another try"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Kalamazoo via Detroit. We had long delays on the tarmac in SFO, and missed our connecting flights in Detroit. It was long and miserable. We waited in line and communication was poor from the staff. But, Delta did redeem themselves today, and they are sending me a check to cover the hotel room I paid for out of pocket that fateful night. Too bad they didn't cover the $50 taxi bill to the hotel, or the $50 in baggage fees, but at least they made good on the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by the good training and demeanor of staff. I will give Delta another try.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Kalamazoo via Detroit
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"not fly with them ever again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Delta has to be the most inefficient and useless flight in hurricane situation. I was flying from Boston to Greensboro, NC for a job interview on Friday when the hurricane is supposed to hit the region. My employer canceled the interview, but since they did not cancel the flight, I was told that this is voluntary change that I am making. Additionally, I had to fly before September 20th, since the "bulletin" board mentioned that is the law. 2 flaws in these statements: A bulletin board cannot determine that my flight needs to be on a certain date because that is when my employer wants to interview. I would love to fly before September 20th, but I cannot do that- that is impossible from my employer's perspective. When it is supposed to rain 20 inches and since you have not canceled the flight, does not mean that flight will not fly. Just because you dont cancel the flight does not mean that the hazard of the hurricane goes away. Extremely rude customer representatives who would argue with me about my own thought process, would not let me finish the sentence and would keep on going on and on about this supposed bulletin board that is their law. I have been a customer with Delta for over 10 years, but would not fly with them ever again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Greensboro
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"expect space for overhead bin"

(United States)

Not Verified | I'm told that I have to check my bag, that all overhead bins are completely full. I get to my seat and there is a completely empty bin at my seat. When your customers pay you hundreds of dollars for a seat, they expect space for the overhead bin. Especially when there actually is space available. Not wanting to lose essentials, I frantically attempted to move items to my backpack from my carry on, breaking the zipper in the process.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMcCarren to Kalispell
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"prepare to be admonished"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My family just traveled from Ft. Myers to Atlanta round trip on Delta. We purchased 5 economy tickets for 2 adults and 3 children. When we checked in for the first flight to ATL the counter personnel made a snide comment about our tickets being basic economy and how lucky we were to have seats in the same row. For this first leg we had 5 seats in row 40 with 1 other passenger between us. That was good and we had a fine flight. When I used the Delta mobile app to check in for our return flight to RSW, we were given 5 middle seats (737 seats b and e) throughout the plane. We didn't get 2 seats together. When travelling with children (9, 12, and 14) that is not disastrous, but still sucks. When I asked the Atlanta check in staff if there was anything they could do for us, that is when I really experienced how Delta feels about basic economy tickets. The check in person was very friendly and helpful until he saw what type of fare we had purchased. His demeanor and helpfulness completely changed as he informed us that our tickets were take any seat class. We went to customer service and received the same treatment, even after telling the rep the ages of our girls. At the gate we tried again, and this gentleman was even more discourteous. He told us he wouldn't even look to see if there were seats available for moving us. When we got on the plane (last - zone 4), several passengers saw our predicament and offered to move to accommodate us. We didn't ask them to. Nice to see there are good people flying on Delta even if the people running it are jerks. We fly often and usually on Frontier, Allegiant, Jet Blue, and Southwest Airlines without difficulty. No other airline has embarrassed me or belittled me for choosing to fly economy with them. Bottom line is, if you buy a published basic economy fare on Delta Airlines, be prepared to be admonished and treated like you don't deserve to be on their plane.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Fort Myers
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"getting rid of the Delta card"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked a first class trip for two on Delta Airlines using my Delta Sky-miles Platinum Card. We were flying from La Guardia to Houston. It’s about a four hour flight. For me, any flight over two hours I tend to fly first class. Unless, the ticket value is exceptional. Although I’ve held this card for sometime now, I’ve only flown first class twice on Delta. I generally use Delta to fly to Atlanta, which is approximately two hours. Anyway, the trip began with the rep at the gate informing us that we wouldn’t be able to sit together due to a broken seat. I was like that blows but whatever. Then I thought to ask the Delta Rep if maybe they could simply inquire with the passenger; who one of would be sat next to, if they didn’t mind switching to a different seat (still in first class but with no on occupying the seat next to it). I was told by the Delta Rep, that I should do it myself. Which, if that’s their policy, I get! He offered no other remedy. Maybe he could’ve said: hey, I realize it’s a bit of an inconvenience, separating you and if it’s important for you to be seated together; I could move you but you’d be losing first class service (which is much on Delta anyway). I just felt that there was no regard for professionalism. It matter of fact and deal with it attitude. The kicker was this, we boarded the plane and the “first class” Stewardess was no prize either. I will give this though, she did assist in getting us seated together. She then took drink and food orders. My order was taken first. Apparently, too many people ordered the chicken salad dish. She came back to me and here’s the dialogue: I can’t give you the chicken dish, you’ll have to have the pastrami sandwich. I said well I’ll pass, because I don’t eat pastrami. But how does that work anyway, you told me my choices and I selected like everyone else? She says we ran out of the chicken. I say, but you took my order first? She says well in looking at the medallion status, you fall to the bottom. What was so crazy about that is that I purchased both first class tickets and she brings my boyfriend the chicken salad! We both laughed like hell! Again, to her defense it could only be the Delta Airline to blame. No ideal how she decided he got to eat over me though. There is clearly no training on tact or etiquette. And if I’m wrong in that statement; there is either no policy in place for common occurrences. The whole point of this review is to hopefully save anyone from wasting money on Delta first class. I’ve flown first class on American Airlines quite a few times also and have had zero complaints. Their planes even appear to be nicer. The meal thing wouldn't happen either as you select it 30 days to 24 hours before your flight. I’ll be getting rid of the Delta card. It serves no purpose.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLa Guardia to Houston
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disgusted by the treatment"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York to Santiago. I will never chose Delta to fly again. I paid for a very expensive ticket and I was treated very unfair. I was given no respect and was given no attention as a customer. I was seated twice on the plane and both times had to leave the plane because of some excuses. First they said the plane had some mechanical issues, then they said the pilot had just came from a 10 hour flight and was tired. Then they said we couldn’t leave because of bad weather, which was a complete cover up for everything else. I spent more than 24 hours at the airport and even had to sleep on the floor. I was disgusted by the treatment, attention, care, and service of Delta!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Santiago
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Atlanta to Fort Lauderdale. Worst company and service ever. No customer service at all, no knowledge on what they are doing and no respect for people. They don't return calls, no notice or fix your ticket IF your flight gets changed because of their service. Very unprofessional
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no