Cubana Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 92 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not friendly, poor service, old planes"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Cayo Largo return. Was hesitant to book with Cubana after reading reviews, wish I followed my instincts. Flight to Cayo Largo was actually ok. Flight home a nightmare. Were told it was delayed 30 minutes, got to the airport, boarded, was excited for the first time in 3 trips my trip home wasn't going to be delayed hours! Then everything went wrong. When they turned the jets on, a strong strong smell came into the plane of jet fuel. People coughing, sneezing, we were covering our mouths. 20 minutes later the captain says they have an error in the cockpit and we must disembark. 30 minutes later we get off the plane, and play a waiting game, overhearing on the intercom 'your estimated departure time is approximately tomorrow. At 10:30 our rep says at 11:30 if the plane isn't fixed they will have to figure out what they are doing with us. 11:30 its fixed they say, but can't land at Pearson now?? So back to the resorts we go. But only after we have to get our visas back one by one, and our luggage, and check back in, only to have to check out at 7 am to return to the airport. They attempted to feed us the meals from the plane when we left the airport, it was a soggy piece of bread and some soggy cucumbers. Unedible. We saw them giving water to some people, we didn't get any. Which by the time we landed the next day put us at 25 hours without a meal or beverage. The bus came and we waited until 10:20 to board the plane, many of us didn't want to get back on as we were scared. It wasn't a good situation, and they should have sent a new plane, but I know it's a risk flying with Cubana. So 10:45 we finally fire up, and the plane smells again, we were all nervous, I've never smelt jet fuel on the plane like that, it was terrible. We managed to take off regardless, and I cried on the way home. So much turbulence, the entire flight, and the landing was so rough. It was the first time I was almost sick on an airplane, good thing I wasn't as there wasn't even a vomit bag. Another part is no communication. The captain never came over to tell us anything, I missed communication greatly. Sometimes he would just say something in Spanish which was more alarming. Many of us concurred they are our never again airline. They should be taken out of commission, not safe, not friendly, poor service, old planes. Just happy to be alive! Do yourself a favour, if you are debating on booking with Cubana like I was, don't!!!
AircraftAirbus
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Cayo Largo
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service has deteriorated even further"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Since the last published review it seems that the service has deteriorated even further. Our flight from Havana to Santiago which was scheduled for 13.00 was cancelled at the last minute and we were told to come back in the morning! After seven hours in the airport and some vociferous complaining we eventually got on the last flight out that night. Our return trip three days later was scheduled for 8.25am but when I checked with the Cubana office in Santiago the day before I was told it had been delayed, by 12 hours. All the staff in the airports and on the planes were surly, uncommunicative and downright unhelpful. As with a lot of the state run services in Cuba, the state employees have got jobs for life and just don't care. If I had thought to look at these reviews before booking the holiday, I would have stayed well clear of internal flights and I would recommend this course of action to anyone considering it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHavana to Santiago de Cuba
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will never fly Cubana again"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Cayo Coco. When boarding in Toronto staff at gate were initially very nice and friendly. Once on board what a disappointment. Staff were very stoic, looked unhappy, seemed annoyed when they came around with beverages and you actually wanted to buy one. I purchase a cola and was short changed $4.00. When I politely mentioned it to the stewardess she rolled her eyes, said something in Spanish to her coworker who then laughed and then abruptly gave me $4.00. The plane was very dated and dirty, seats were crammed and sink flooded in washroom. No smiles from anyone working on the plane. Flight home was worse. We were suppose to fly out on a Sunday evening at 8pm, were notified by hotel that flight changed to 2am! Not a problem cause we were able to stay in the room at no charge. We then get a call flight is delayed to 330am, now annoyed. We finally get to airport to another delay, flight to depart 440 - no explanation, no one has an answer or cares to help. Finally board the flight home, plane was a bit better than first one or maybe because we lucked out and got seats in row 3 that had extra leg room. Again, attendants were cold faced, shoved a paper in your hand as you got on plane and did not smile or say hi. Again they came around with food and beverages and just plopped food in front of you and said nothing. I sat next to a woman who had crutches from an injury she got on vacation, she asked to use the washroom up in the front as it was 2 rows away, attendant refused to let her insisting that only first class paying people use it. They made her hobble to the very back of the plane. When we finally landed they opened the door and stood there looking miserable, not one staff member smiled or said a word. What a miserable group of people. I will never fly Cubana again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Cayo Coco
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never had such a bad experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Havana to Managua. The worst airline I have ever had misfortune to fly with. Initially I was booked to fly to San Jose from Havana on the 19th April but this flight was cancelled when I arrived at the airport. After being taken to a hotel back in Havana that was the last we heard from the airline - people had to make their own way to the Cubana office to sort out new flights. I opted to go to Managua on the 22nd as that was my eventual destination and would save a long bus journey - big mistake! Confusing communication about my pick up from my hotel meant I was taken to the airport 8 hours before my flight. I tried to get food vouchers but got nowhere with the staff - even trying to sort out food myself was impossible with the lack of facilities at Jose Marti. The time to board came and went - no one thought to come and let us know what was happening, eventually 3 hours after we were supposed to depart the flight was cancelled with the excuse that it was the weather - interestingly no other airline seemed to be affected by this phenomenon, even another Cubana flight seemed to be still leaving. It then took a further 2 and a half hours to sort out transport to a hotel back in the city. We did eventually leave on the 23rd but even that wasn't without hold ups and lack of information. I know sometimes things happen that are outside your control but the one thing that marked this experience was that no one from Cubana ever said the words "I'm sorry". Waiting for the bus after the cancelled Managua flight - staff would not look us in the eye when we asked for someone to come and sort out the situation - just told "another 20 minutes go wait there". A lot of the frustration felt by the passengers on both flights could have been avoided if we had been given information on what was happening and treated as human beings rather than an inconvenience that needed to be passed on elsewhere. I've flown on a lot of iffy airlines in the past but have never had such a bad experience as I had with this joke of an airline. Never again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHavana to Managua
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"nightmare experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Cubana Airlines from Santiago De Cuba to Havana. Awful. Flight delayed by 7 hours - no one at the airport knew what was going on, we kept being given different times. Flight was full of people from the night before whose flight was cancelled. No compensation given - missed our flights home so had to buy new ones at a cost of 1400USD each. Would not recommend - just take the bus its cheaper and far more reliable. Nightmare experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSantiago De Cuba to Havana
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Staff was very rude"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Cayo Coco return. We returned from Cuba to Toronto on February 19 leaving 11:35 from Cuba. Staff was very rude, it seems like they didn't care. We asked for tea and they brought the tea - we then asked for milk and sugar and she even didn't acknowledge this, not even the second time.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Cayo Coco
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I would not recommend"

(Malta)

Verified Review | Santiago de Cuba to Havana. The representatives are very unhelpful and would not recommend to use this airline. We had a delay from Santiago (due to faults in the aeroplane) and they did not have any information about how long it would take. We had another flight from Havana 3 hours later but we were not given any priority or help. The Cubana Airlines representative did not even want to tell us the name of the hotel where the other customers were spending the night until the aeroplane was fixed. In the end the delay lasted 18 hours and we lost all our flights back home. The airline did nothing to compensate for the flights lost and we had to buy new tickets to get back. To top it all, when we finally arrived in Havana, we spent 1 whole hour on the plane waiting for the plane stairs and a bus to take us to the arrivals. Horrible experience so make sure you have extra days to cater for any delays if booking with this airline!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSantiago de Cuba to Havana
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I have flown with"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Cayo Coco. Cubana Airlines is the worst airline I have ever flown with. My 6am flight meant I was ready to check in at 3am, only to find the flight was now delayed by 6 hours to noon, and then at 9.30 delayed again to 14.30. What a complete joke and $15 for snacks is supposed to be compensation? Come on Cubana Airlines, this is ridiculous!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Cayo Coco
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"seats were really really tight"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Cayo Coco via Cienfuegos. Left from Pearson International Airport on August 14,2016. Flight to Cayo Coco was supposed to leave at 6:25 am, being I read the reviews of the airline prior to booking I thought, ok great one of the first flights out so it shouldn't be delayed. Wrong, checked the time around 10 the night before to discover it was delayed until 9:00 am. Plane was older but fine with me other than the seats were really really tight, I thought Sunwing was bad but Cubana is much worse. No tv's but again, I don't watch them so that didn't matter. Crew was nice, breakfast snack was good. Coming home, I checked the night before to ensure the flight was on time, it was. I checked again in the morning and the hotel assured me that if it was delayed the Rep would have notified the hotel. Flight was leaving at 12:35 pm. We arrived at the airport at approx 11:30 am to find the flight delayed to 1:00 then 1:30 then 4:00 then 4:30 then we finally left at 5:00. Would I fly Cubana again? Depends on the difference in price between Cubana and the next airline. If it's not a huge difference in price I would book the next airline to avoid the delays, if cost doesn't matter, then go with the other airline to lessen the chance of delays and a little more legroom. I booked first class coming home. It was so worth the extra 100 pesos ($120 cdn) for the extra large seats and almost 3 feet of legroom, better service, a care package and much better meal then economy.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to CCC via CFG
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the most decrepit plane"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Montreal to Cayo Coco. This was the worst flight/company I have ever dealt with. On April 29th at 3:45am I get to the Montreal airport where I am to board the 7am flight to Cuba, Cayo Coco. Upon my arrival, I am told that the flight has been delayed to 9:50pm - when I left my house at 3:00am, the flight was still on for 7:00am. They told us that they were giving our plane to the flight for Cayo Largo that was supposed to leave the day before. All in all, we waited in Montreal airport for 19 hours. After a lot of arguing, Cubana Airlines hired Sunwing to take us to Cayo Coco. We had to wait in the plane from 11pm to 12h 30am because Cubana Airlines had to give a document to them. Finally arrived to destination/hotel at 5:30am the next day. On our way back, Cubana was on time, no issues there. The issues however came up with the plane itself. It was the most decrepit plane I have ever seen and flown. I get to my seat, get my bagages settled, only to find that I can not actually sit in my seat without have the back of the seat lay down on the passengers lap that was sitting behind me. With a a lot arguing with the stewardess, they finally changed my seat (they actually wanted me to sit there the whole time without resting my back). Get myself settled again, to only have someone comme up to me and tell me that this was their seat. This happened to me 3 other times - I finally get a seat that no one claims, but the plane was dirty. This plane looked like it had not been cleaned since its inauguration, it was just downright dirty. You get what you pay for, but seriously, this was beyond that. Never, ever again will I fly Cubana Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYUL to CCC
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 92 Reviews