Best Cabin Crew  

Cubana Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 71 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"ground staff dismissive"

(United Kingdom)

Once on the plane, Cubana Airlines is no better or worse than any other low cost airline. The issue arises, as noted in several reviews, in getting on the plane. Flights are subject to very short notice delays and cancellations, the ground staff are at best dismissive, at worst outright rude and are more interested in chatting with their friends than serving customers. Booking tickets is a nightmare (the office in Santiago closes when they feel like it, the website crashes if you try to use the english version) however you can bribe the ground crew at the airport to get on a flight, tickets sold to non-Cubans seem to cost twice as much as those sold to Cubans. Overall, were there other options for internal flights in Cuba I would not use this airline again however Cubana Airlines seem to have a virtual monopoly, leaving us with no option but to suck up the poor service. This is a shame as the rest of Cuba is populated by the most friendly people who are always happy to help where they can, this airline really let the side down.
AircraftAN24
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAV to HOG
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a 9 hour delay"

(United States)

Cucuta (Colombia) to Havana with Cubana Airlines. On our outbound flight there was a 4 hour delay, and then every half hour the flight was pushed back another 1/2 hour until after a 9 hour delay we were loaded onto the flight. The plane had not been cleaned in a long time. On return flight we arrived checked-in and went to the gate - no customer service agents were present. At our scheduled departure time, no gate agents present. One hour after our scheduled departure time no agent present, and so on - finally a short announcement on the PA told us to wait in an un airconditioned cafeteria - we did for more than an hour. Finally, seven hours after our scheduled departure we were boarded on a chartered non-Cubana air plane.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCUC to HAV
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight was delayed 24 hours"

(Belgium)

We booked a Cubana Airlines domestic flight from Baracoa to Havana. The morning we arrived at the airport, a lady came to tell us the flight was delayed 24 hours. No more explanation, no other options, no accomodation to stay. Next we arrive again at the airport with the other passangers. They check us in and after check-in they anounce the flight is canceled again for that day. But we are advised to wait as the airplane might still arrive. From the local Cubans waiting with us, we hear the airplane has been broken for 3 days already and waiting for repair in Haiti. There was no communucation from the Cubana Airlines staff about alternatives to get to Havana whatsoever. They just kept us waiting again. All the tourist passengers decided together to go away and find an alternative ourselves. Several of us already missed our conncecting flights back home, which are not refunded by cubana.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBaracoa to Havanna
Date FlownNovember 2015
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"I would recommend Cubana"

(Canada)

I've travelled a couple times on Cubana Airlines because they offer a good price as part of an all inclusive package. Check in at Montreal and Varadero airports was fine with not a lot of waiting. I got the emergency rows for both flights, as requested however the check in agent in Varadero airport gave me the wrong boarding pass. Fortunatly I realize it before I went throught customs and security and he gave me the right one. The aircraft was an A320 leased from Avion Express. The cabin was fine but not the most recent. Some announcements onboard were made in French. The crew and the service was fine. Cubana is probably the only airline that offers a meal free of charge on Canadian destinations. There's no inflight entertainment. The inbound flight was continuing to Havana and despite the announcements in 3 different languages saying that passengers travelling to Havana have to stay on board some Cuban travellers were confused. I would recommend Cubana and every time I travelled with this airline I didn't have any problems.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYUL to VRA
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"cabin service was friendly"

(Canada)

This was my first flight with Cubana Airlines and wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised at the flight and service. The plane to Holguin was a bit dirty and dated, but left a bit early and the leg and elbow room was great. Coming home we left about an hour late and never found out why. This plane seemed newer and cleaner. Both ways the cabin service was friendly and attentive. While other airlines are cutting service and staff, Cubana Airlines seemed like the old days. A nice lunch was served and very good coffee. Also we were allowed 2 checked bags of up to 50lbs each and a 20lb carry on. The package price we got was a steal. I will fly Cubana Airlines again
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Holguin
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"would fly Cubana again"

(Canada)

This was not a Cubana Airlines plane, but a leased aircraft from Avion Express. Sat in business class in a 2-2 configuration, 8 seats in all. Tons of leg room. The meal was upgraded from the one served in economy. No TV or audio. Luggage allowance was 3 bags at 23kg/bag. Flight down left early. Home was 50 min late. I would fly Cubana again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteYYZ to HOG
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Cubana Airlines customer review

(Canada)

I was pleasantly surprised as this was the first time I traveled with Cubana Airlines. The plane was modern and nice, service friendly and excellent. Meal on board was amazing compare to Sunwing and Air Transat. Flights was very smooth in particular the landings. I give Cubana Airlines at least an 8 out of 10.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Ignacio Agramonte
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Cubana Airlines customer review

(United States)

On the way to Cuba, the wait time was two hours for check-in. Baggage took an hour to arrive as well. On my return flight, I showed up 3 hours early as recommended for my 6am flight. We stood waiting until 5am when they told us the plane was delayed until 9pm. I had a flight at 8pm that night and asked for a refund. So many things went wrong with this flight but the customer service or lack of was ridiculous. I arrived to Mexico city at midnight and ended up having to purchase another ticket out of pocket for the flight I missed.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHabana to Mexico City
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Cubana Airlines customer review

(Netherlands)

We booked this flight because it was the only direct flight from Cancun to Havana, the flight should take about 1 hour. When we arrived at the airport the staff at the incheck-counter said we would have an delay of 5 hours because they overbooked the airplane and they need to fly in an other plane from Cuba (via Mexico City). Finally we departed 7.5 hours later, the only service they provided was a food voucher of 10$. So for us, never again!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Havana
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Cubana Airlines customer review

(Australia)

I flew CUN-HAV-CUN with Cubana in November 2014. Inbound flight was delayed for 3 hours due to bad weather in the region. Service was average and no entertainment onboard but it is a 1 hr 20 minutes flight so I did some reading. Outbound flight was on time. Good value for money but do not expect nothing fancy.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 71 Reviews