Copa Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 178 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"simply don't care"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | I had 4 flights with this company: from Sao Paulo to Panama: airplane was late for 2 hours due to maintenance, made me lose the connection flight, Panama to Costa Rica no information on the boarding area, this was also late for 1 hour, plus we had to wait in air for +2 hours without too much information from the pilot about the weather condition in the airport. Crew simply don't care about your experience. Costa Rica to Panama. Initially informed to be a 20 minute delay, then 2 hours, then the flight was cancelled due to maintenance, I lost my connection from Panama to Brazil. Panama to Sao Paulo. Again late for 1 hour, no information on the boarding area. Food service was a joke (breakfast was a bag of chips). No upgrade if you ask for it. Before boarding, I asked for them to be sure my bag was in the flight, I didn't want them to lose it. Arrived in Sao Paulo, they lost my bag. Had to take additional 1 hour to fill a form and have a service request created so they can try (try because they didn't find what happened to it in their system) to find my stuff. Also, I had to book it some weeks before - the price was the same as if I were going to Japan or Australia (almost 2k USD). Two of the airplanes didn't have entertainment, a seat in front of me was broken and the person couldn't move it back.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePanama City to Sao Paulo
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Poor inflight service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Panama City to Orlando. Poor inflight service, the flight was not full however the food selection I wanted was not available. They did not offer a blanket and pillow but they were in the overhead bin. It seems like there is no service culture, it is the basics to get from point A to B.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePanama City to Orlando
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"staff attitude terrible"

(United States)

Verified Review | Sao Paulo to Panama City. Food terrible, entertainment system outdated and terrible. Service lacking and staff attitude terrible. The seats are not comfortable for a 7 hour flight. Plane was clean, as it should be. Boarding was later than announced, delaying departure and arrival.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSao Paulo to Panama City
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No announcements, nothing"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew from San Jose to Panama City. Here we go again with the Copa Airlines merry go round of misery. In a circus, a clown is a man of merriment, at Copa Airlines HQ, the clown is in charge. Yesterday they delayed my flight by 6.5 hours with no apology or any reason why. Today, I checked the status of my flight before heading to the airport. Everything was fine, so with my flight departing at 5.45, I got to the airport at 3.30 feeling things were fine. Well they were not. Behind the scenes, Copa Airlines were brewing up another delay. It came at about 4.30 saying the departure time had moved forward to 6.30pm. 45 minutes I could live with. Then 6.30pm came and went and, as usual, nothing happened. No announcements, nothing. So I checked online and lo-and-behold, there was a further delay to 8.09pm. I have flown with over 70 different airlines but I will never fly with Copa again and I would advise anyone else to avoid them too. They are shameful.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose to Panama City
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"extremely poor customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Managua to San Jose. When things go well, everything is fine and everyone's happy. It's when things go wrong that airlines reveal their true colours. For a five-hour delay in Europe, you are entitled to compensation, meal and drink vouchers and constant updates. Not so in Central America. With Copa you get nothing apart from surly Copa Airlines employees who go out of their way to avoid dealing with queries and complaints. The lack of news or updates was a big problem. No one knew what was going on. But to let thier passengers down by not even offering a meal voucher or a drink is extremely poor customer service. Copa Airlines should be ashamed of themselves.
AircraftEmbraer 190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManagua to San Jose
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"pinching one penny too many"

(United States)

Verified Review | I frequently fly New York JFK to Medellin via Panama City on Copa and on this last flight much was as usual: Departures right on time, efficient connections, their relatively new C class seat on the JFK to PTY leg (it's like a first generation international business class seat, not ideal but better than what the competition offers into the region), barely edible food, decent wines (both served with a smile) and the overcrowded, undercatered lounge in PTY. What was different was the connecting service on their short haul Embraer: Where once was a comfortable (and industry standard) 2x1 configuration, there is now 2x2 coach seating with a few inches extra legroom (a recent change, the flight attendant said apologetically, and "many passengers complain"). Well, this passenger was really disappointed, inconvenienced (you can't work on coach trays) and quite angry: We are used to penny pinching in coach, but densifying premium cabins is pinching one penny too many. It's also misleading advertising: A C cabin with coach seating is not a C cabin and shouldn't be sold as such. I hope the airline will have a rethink before rolling this out across the fleet. I will still fly Copa on this route because they have the best schedule, but now I will keep my eyes open for an alternative.
AircraftBoeing 737 / Embraer
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew York JFK to Medellin via Panama City
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"a big jump in the past"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Lima to Montreal via Panama. I flew Copa Airlines on Boeing 737-800. First at check in I have been told that there is no Lounge access for Business Class Passenger on International flight from Lima. What? Then you seat on Copa Airlines B737-800 and you almost want to cry. Flying with Copa Airlines on Boeing 737-800 is like make a big jump in the past and flying in 90s. No entertainment, no leg rest on the seat. The lounge in Panama city is at the image of the business class cabin, no juice, no food except fruits and one type of wrapped cupcake. I will not use Copa for any business travel to South America, I will connect elsewhere.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLima to Montreal via Panama
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Really bad experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Jose to New York via Panama. I flew with my 6 months and I bought him a ticket to fly more comfortable and use his car seat, so he was able to sleep. Leaving Costa Rica I didn't have any problems, but on the fly from Panama to New York, 3 different flight attendants asked me why I was putting my baby's car seat on the airplane seat, I told them because I bought a seat for my baby, because we needed to both be comfortable on the flight. They saw me putting the baby on the seat and they make me take him out because they needed to check if the car seat was approved (note: it was our fourth flight and we were coming back home, and just leaving from NYC they check the seat, and of course it was approved). After that another flight attendant asked me again why I was putting the baby on that seat, I told him again because I bought it, I was not going to put a baby on a seat that I didn't buy, well he didn't believe me and ask me to give him the tickets to make sure I was not lying (the flight was full and probably overbooked). After that they stop asking me, but before taking off another woman asked me the same question again and to show her the tickets. We wait an extra hour because of connections. Also the flight attendants were rude, never offer any help to carry bags or car seat even when they saw me struggling with all the things I had with me. Really bad experience, never choosing Copa Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose to New York via Panama
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"last experience was horrible"

(Panama)

Verified Review | Guatemala to Panama City. I arrived early to be on time. I sat on the gate indicated and wait for the flight. First, the flight was delayed 30 min. Then, Copa airlines staff announced that the aircraft was not in good conditions and the delayed will be 8 hours. Copa Airlines offered lunch and dinner for the clients affected. However, I asked to leave the ariport because of the long layover. The first answer was that it was not possible because of inmigration issues, but later they let us leave the airport. As Copa Airlines request, I came back at 1 pm to take the flight at 3pm. Now, the worst nightmare began because they announced again that the airplane didn't work and they need to ask for a rescue airplane and maybe the airplane will arrive at 7pm. It is important to mention that Copa didn't announce on webpage or send us an email with the delayed information. Otherwise, we have to be in the counter and insist to the staff for information. The staff didn't provide a clear information and the supervisor was absent. I stayed at the airport waiting for the "rescue airplane". It was 7pm and the airplane haven't arrived. Copa Airlines staff brought some snacks and beverage to calm down the people. Then I decided to take the next day flight because there were many problems. Therefore, I asked for transportation, hotel and next day flight. The soonest available flight was next day at 2pm. I agree with that so I asked for my suitcase but my suitcase was sent to Panama! I stayed one more day and without my belongings. I have flown with Copa Airlines many times before but my last experience was horrible and disappointing. If you can avoid to use this airline, do it. The bad thing is that we don't have many option to choose in Latin america. Hope that the service can improve.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePanama to Guatemala
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"prices were far below the US carriers"

(United States)

Rio de Janeiro to San Francisco via Panama City. Copa Airlines prices were far below the US carriers for getting back from the Olympics in Rio. I'd read horror stories about Copa's economy class; when I spotted a deal on Business Class, I grabbed it! I'm very glad I did! The seats were wide and comfortable, with footrests. Basically, it was the back of First class; seats were identical but possibly the meals were different. (I know we didn't get all the alcohol the people in first class got, though we were offered some.). IFE was great with at least 2 different movies that each member of my family enjoyed as we all have different tastes.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGIG to SFO via PTY
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes