Best Cabin Crew  

Copa Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 143 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"total lack of regard"

(United States)

Copa Airlines is not interested in developing and fostering good customer relations! They cancelled our return flight from Panama to Boston weeks, possibly months, before we left for our trip - but did not appraise us of this until we were to return home! We were stuck in Panama. There was no flight CM 311 leaving on September 20th, 2015 at 11:44 am back to Boston. All Sunday flights from Boston to Panama were taken off their schedule! Discontinued?! Who knows why Copa Airlines had decided LONG before our departure from BOS to Panama to totally stop this Sunday route. And - without letting us (or any of their customers?) know in advance!! Not by phone call or when we checked in. Online or in person. There was no way of knowing it was taken off the roster! We had purchased our tickets in March for full price and were fully able to check in online without a "message" or notification to let us know that we had no way of returning home on time! They rebooked us 1 day later than our original ticket, on Monday 9/21. After many unsuccessful phone calls, we documented this full scenario via email, which we sent to Copa Airlines customer service. On Oct 10th, we were finally contacted by email by their Customer Service who offered each of us a pittance $200 credit for future use on Copa Airlines. We lost much more than that missing work! She closed her email by writing "We take your comments very seriously ... and should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly". However, she left no direct contact information and did not reply when we hit "reply" to respond to her. Their phone number for Customer service is at the very least, VERY hidden. Total lack of regard for their customers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOS to PTY
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not customer focused"

(United States)

Copa Airlines flight from Cartagena to Mexico City with a layover in Panama. Flight was 15 mins late arriving to Panama. They did not allow us to board the plane because they said our checked luggage wouldn't make it on the plane. Needles to mention that on our flight to Cartagena our bags were delayed over a day! They finally informed us that we will be on a flight this evening and will have to sleep over in Mexico City. We informed them, which they were already aware, that we are traveling with a small pet, which we of course had to pay Copa to travel with us. They just informed us that the hotel accommodations they have for us will not allow the dog in the room but will have to be left in the "service (laundry)" room overnight. We informed the rep that this was unacceptable and we needed them to help us find alternate accommodations. I looked on hotels.com and found 24 hotels in Mexico City that are pet friendly. The rep informed me that my only other option was to sleep at the airport. Our flight doesn't leave until tomorrow at 9am. It was very clear to me at that moment that the rep has no intention of making things right and is not customer focused and has no idea the inconvenience that the airline has caused us. When I asked to speak to her supervisor she said that she was the highest rank at the airport and that no one else could help me. I really find this very hard to believe. Now I have no option but to pay for my own hotel in Mexico City even though all this was caused by them.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCTG to MEX via PTY
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I am very disappointed"

(Canada)

This is my second time traveling with Copa Airlines. I had no complaints until we flew from Quito to Panama on route to Toronto. The take off was horrible, the plane dropped quite a bit on the take off. The pilots made no announcements as to what was wrong and the flight was unstable for 20 minutes. Everyone on the plane screamed when the plane dropped. Not one announcement to tell us anything. I am very disappointed at the airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUIO to YYZ
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"has good service"

(Venezuela)

Copa Airlines has good service compared to some airlines I´ve taken. I got Copa Airlines at Caracas, the ground service was fast, then I arrived at Panama City, I had a very long connection (12 hours), which I didn´t like. Then I got the plane to New York City. The food on both flights were good, I am a vegetarian so I requested special meal, from Caracas to Panama was a light meal however the taste was good; from Panama to New York was a breakfast, and good as well. In the first flight was no Entertainment system, in the second one there was a very limited in flight entertainment, however it was enough to kill time. My luggage arrived on time with me. For the fare I paid I think it was very good choice.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCCS to JFK via PTY
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"totally unacceptable"

(United States)

I flew with Copa Airlines from San Jose, Costa Rica to Lima, Peru, via Panama on November 27th, supposed to depart at 5:20 PM. Around 4:30 PM we boarded a bus taking us to the airplane. The bus, however, stopped on the tarmac for about 45 minutes. No one came to the bus to tell us why we waited there. Finally, the bus returned to the terminal. We all came in. We were still not told by anyone why we had to return. A few local people came to talk to the agent at the counter, apparently making a strong point about the delay. The gate agent made a phone call, then somehow the passengers got on the bus again. This time we got on the airplane and it took off eventually, delayed about one hour. The reason I am complaining here is that this whole process was not communicated to the non-Spanish speaking passengers at all. There was a number of tourists from Europe and America on this flight, but we were not told anything in English. We did not know why the flight was delayed, for how long. Even when the passengers got on the bus the second time, we were not told to do so. The non-Spanish speaking passengers just followed other passengers like sheep. No direction, no apology, no electronic information board whatsoever. For an international flight, I think this is totally unacceptable. I also has another bad experience on the flight returning from Lima to San Jose, which forced me to pay money to change my ticket. I am currently complaining about that and will see if Copa will respond.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSJO to LIM via PTY
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"coffee .... we are out"

(United States)

Los Angeles to Panama Tocumen with Copa Airlines. First off, they are impossible to get on the phone when calling or when your travel agency is trying to contact them, unless you have over 1 hour to wait on hold. However, after holding for almost 1 hour, they answer the phone and hang up on you!! My husband booked me First Class/Business Class so I would be able to get a restful sleep, due to the fact that my flight was overnight. Copa Airlines does not have terminal at LAX so we were all crammed in a bus for a 5 minute drive to the airplane. Never mind that we paid $$$$ to fly First/Business Class, we boarded pretty much last. When seated, the steward asked if we would like drinks and never brought them out! I was not the only one asking "What the heck is going on". In the morning I was asleep and got passed over for breakfast. When I woke, I was not offered anything to eat. When I asked or coffee was told we are out. It's an overnight flight, how can you be out of coffee? I asked for water and at least I got that!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLAX to PTY
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"terrible customer service"

(United States)

Copa Airlines has terrible customer service. My wife had surgery and needed wheelchair assistance. The airline refused to provide her wheelchair assistance in Brazil and forced her to carry her own bag despite providing the ticket agent with written doctor's orders explaining the need for assistance. While my wife was in the air, I called Copa Customer Service and they promised they would provide her assistance in Panama City and in Los Angeles. Of course, they did not.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGRU to LAX via PTY
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"save yourself so much headache"

(United States)

Nassau to Bogota via Panama with Copa Airlines. My mother was going to Bogota via Panama from the Bahamas but they gave her two different reservations, meaning she would have to pick up her bag at panama then do the whole checking process all over again. We spoke to them a million times to see if they could combine both reservations that way she wouldn't have to pick up her bag at Panama and the bag could be transferred automatically to the Bogota flight. After many fail attempts to have this arranged, my mother spoke to a flight attendant that told her they will "finally" help her out on transferring the bag. He took her bag slip and told her not to worry that her bag will reach the final destination. Well, when she arrived at Bogota there was no bag to be found. They never transferred the bag and they have no idea where it is. We called yet once more but they didn't have an answer on where the bag can be. If you are traveling, I would advise you to spend a little more money and do business with a serious airline. You will save yourself so much headache!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNAS to BOG via PTY
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Copa were brilliant"

(New Zealand)

Lima to Los Angeles via Panama. This was our second flight with Copa Airlines, the first was in August, a flight from Guatemala to Ecuador. We nearly didn't book with Copa because of the awful reviews but they have either stepped their game up, or people are being fussy. Both flights we had with Copa were brilliant. The were friendly throughout both flights, the flights were either on time or slightly delayed but never stressful. We had a forty minute changeover in Panama for the final flight and that was absolutely fine. Copa is a budge airline but the service is about average, and the food actually pretty decent! We had no problems with luggage being lost or broken into. If you're on a budget and looking for value for money Copa has it all. Everything was cheerful, professional and glitch free.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIM to LAX via PTY
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"was totally frustrated and upset"

(United States)

I flew United to Panama City, Panama, and then United offered a direct return flight to my home airport - however, the flight was operated by Copa. I chose this flight not knowing what an awful time I would have. Got to the Panama airport and checked my luggage with no problem. Proceeded through security and went to my gate. That is where everything changed. If you fly an USA-based airline from USA to a Spanish speaking country, the airline always has staff who speak both English and Spanish. Not Copa. No Copa staff at the gate or on the airplane spoke English. I was required to show my passport three separate times from the time I arrived at the gate till I got on the plane. When I got to my seat, there was a strong smell of urine. All announcements were made in Spanish. No English. I was horrified. I had no clue what the pilots or airline attendants were announcing. When they handed out the US customs forms, they gave me one in Spanish. I handed it back indicating I needed an English form. The attendant could not understand. Between having to endure the strong odor of urine on a four hour flight, and not being able to understand any announcements or get any assistance, I was totally frustrated and upset. Arriving home in the USA, I swore never ever to fly Copa again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePanama to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no