top100_2016  

Copa Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 160 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"staff kind, seats were fine"

(Canada)

Panama City to Cartagena with Copa Airlines. Flight departed on time and the same can be said of the arrival. I appreciate how even on a quick flight like this passengers were still offered complimentary sandwiches. Staff were kind, and the seats were fine.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePTY to CTG
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"always friendly and courteous"

(United States)

Verified Review | Copa Airlines is a great airline which can serve as a model for how US airlines could improve their reputation. 1) Staff and flight attendants always friendly and courteous, 2) Free luggage on all flights, 3) Free drinks in coach - same as offered in first class, and 4) snack and full dinner for six hour flight. COPA and the other major Latin American airlines offer service amenities that US airlines claim they cannot afford. When flying to Latin America, skip the American carriers - they usually codeshare anyway with the Latin American airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMGA to LAX
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"very unprofessional service"

(United States)

Verified Review | We bought our tickets 6 months ago to Panama. Yesterday was our return flight from Panama to Medellin and we arrived at the airport at 3.30pm for check in (our flight departure time was 6.52pm). At the check-in counter we were told the flight was oversold and they couldn't assign seats to us because we didn't do "web check-in". We explained we had not had access to the internet and that's why we arrived at the airport early. She called another coworker who told us we had to wait until 6pm when the flight closed to see if there were seats available. They kept us waiting for 3 hours. It was not only our flight to Medellin, the one to JFK was oversold, a couple behind us in the check in line had the same problem. Very unprofessional service and very disappointing experience with Copa Airlines.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePTY to MDE
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"attendants friendly and helpful"

(Czech Republic)

Comfortable uneventful Copa Airlines flight from Toronto to Panama City. A simple but tasty meal was served as well as drinks all free of charge. As the flights time is approximately 4.5 hours another one or two rounds of drinks would've been nice. The flight attendants were friendly and helpful. Each seat has an individual IFE. although the selection is rather limited it's still adequate for a mid-haul flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to PTY
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Inflight service is good"

(Ecuador)

Verified Review | Bogota to Quito with Copa Airlines. A short flight of a little bit more than one hour. Flight CM661 departures normally from gate 47 which is located at the end of a very long corridor. Boarding was on time and swift. The plane, an Embraer, has a configuration of 2x2 for the whole plane, the pitch between seats is not as tight as in other types of aircraft. Inflight service is good and it includes dinner plus limited selection of liquor and wines. No personal TV screen. Seats come without foot rest. Be aware that even the airline marks luggage for Business or top status Star Alliance members as Priority, it doesn't arrive faster than other passengers bags.
AircraftEmbraer
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBOG to UIO
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"business class is pretty basic"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Panama to Bogota with Copa Airlines. A short 1 hour 10 minutes flight. Departures from Tocumen Airport at a very punctual schedule. Ground staff was kind. Staff at call center for Connect Miles program is helpful and knowledgeable. Business class is pretty basic. Seats are comfortable but they don't have foot rest and onboard entertainment system is very poor. Food was good and wine selection ok.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePTY to BOG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"check the boarding gate"

(Ecuador)

Verified Review | Copa Airlines from Quito to Panama City, and the flight is short. Takes one hour and ten minutes. Flight was on time and boarding was quick. Just have to be careful and always check the boarding gate in Panama Airport. Sometimes it changes last minute. As the flight is short, no amentities or in flight entertainment for Business Class. Leg rest not available.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteUIO to PTY
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"unresponsive, uncaring"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Quito to Toronto via Panama City. Tried to contact Copa in Ecuador (as advised by Copa customer service) before I even left Canada to make a reservation to bring home a rescue dog waiting for me in Banos since August. No response from their Copa Cargo Macotas department. Tried 13 different phone numbers once I was in Ecuador and 5 attempts to email. All their phone numbers listed on their website were incorrect. Even their own customer service department could not get a response or access any correct phone numbers. Finally an email quote was $790 US to bring a dog one way. Quote came after I returned to Canada. Took almost a month to get the quote. Ridiculous when compared to AA at $240 - a family at Quito airport flying at same time I was and to Detroit , less than 2 hrs from my city in Ontario Canada. What is Copa doing to get my dog to Canada - nothing. Recent response was a letter saying "sorry for your inconvenience - you'll be happy to know we've corrected our contact information " The Copa staff at their check in counter in Quito airport actually laughed at me when I told them my story. How unprofessional. My entire experience with Copa has shown this airline to be unresponsive, uncaring and with such poor business practices that I'm surprised they remain in business. My recommendation : Do not use Copa - Do not support them with your business. My beautiful rescue dog remains in Ecuador until I can sort something out to get him to Canada.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUIO to YYZ via PTY
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"attendants are professional"

(Peru)

Verified Review | Lima to Panama return, and Copa Airlines is the airline to fly in the Americas. Connections via Panama are reliable and short. Flight attendants are professional and show that they are well trained. Unfortunately the ticket prices tend to be high.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIM to PTY
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"very good airline"

(Costa Rica)

Copa Airlines from San José to Santiago and Quito to San José via Panama. Good product. Friendly flight attendants. Free food and alcoholic beverages even on the 50 min flight SJO-PTY. A snack and full meal served on 6hrs flight PTY-SCL. On the newer 737-800 personal IFE. Movie, Music selection is limited compared to LAN or Avianca but it's still ok. There are older 737 with only over-head entertainment. I had one on the leg PTY-SJO but did not bother me as it was a 50min flight. There is no IFE in Business Class. Would that mean, on COPA you're better off in Economy? Maybe. Panama is easy for connections. No immigration, no security check. Just walk to your next plane so short lay-overs work. Downfall is that PTY is outdated and totally overcrowded. In some areas you sweat your butt off due to the poor air conditioning and the heat of thousands of pax on a small surface. If you are unlucky with your connection gate, you can walk a mile. On the other side of the tarmac they are building a new terminal which should make everything easier. My flights where on time. Last leg had a 15min delay, but that was due to a thunderstorm in PTY and that was rather good because it rained cats and dogs. Very good airline and on par with Lan and Avianca
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSJO to SCL via PTY
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes