Top 100 Airlines  

Copa Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 155 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"business class is pretty basic"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Panama to Bogota with Copa Airlines. A short 1 hour 10 minutes flight. Departures from Tocumen Airport at a very punctual schedule. Ground staff was kind. Staff at call center for Connect Miles program is helpful and knowledgeable. Business class is pretty basic. Seats are comfortable but they don't have foot rest and onboard entertainment system is very poor. Food was good and wine selection ok.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePTY to BOG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"check the boarding gate"

(Ecuador)

Verified Review | Copa Airlines from Quito to Panama City, and the flight is short. Takes one hour and ten minutes. Flight was on time and boarding was quick. Just have to be careful and always check the boarding gate in Panama Airport. Sometimes it changes last minute. As the flight is short, no amentities or in flight entertainment for Business Class. Leg rest not available.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteUIO to PTY
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"unresponsive, uncaring"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Quito to Toronto via Panama City. Tried to contact Copa in Ecuador (as advised by Copa customer service) before I even left Canada to make a reservation to bring home a rescue dog waiting for me in Banos since August. No response from their Copa Cargo Macotas department. Tried 13 different phone numbers once I was in Ecuador and 5 attempts to email. All their phone numbers listed on their website were incorrect. Even their own customer service department could not get a response or access any correct phone numbers. Finally an email quote was $790 US to bring a dog one way. Quote came after I returned to Canada. Took almost a month to get the quote. Ridiculous when compared to AA at $240 - a family at Quito airport flying at same time I was and to Detroit , less than 2 hrs from my city in Ontario Canada. What is Copa doing to get my dog to Canada - nothing. Recent response was a letter saying "sorry for your inconvenience - you'll be happy to know we've corrected our contact information " The Copa staff at their check in counter in Quito airport actually laughed at me when I told them my story. How unprofessional. My entire experience with Copa has shown this airline to be unresponsive, uncaring and with such poor business practices that I'm surprised they remain in business. My recommendation : Do not use Copa - Do not support them with your business. My beautiful rescue dog remains in Ecuador until I can sort something out to get him to Canada.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUIO to YYZ via PTY
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"attendants are professional"

(Peru)

Verified Review | Lima to Panama return, and Copa Airlines is the airline to fly in the Americas. Connections via Panama are reliable and short. Flight attendants are professional and show that they are well trained. Unfortunately the ticket prices tend to be high.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIM to PTY
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"very good airline"

(Costa Rica)

Copa Airlines from San José to Santiago and Quito to San José via Panama. Good product. Friendly flight attendants. Free food and alcoholic beverages even on the 50 min flight SJO-PTY. A snack and full meal served on 6hrs flight PTY-SCL. On the newer 737-800 personal IFE. Movie, Music selection is limited compared to LAN or Avianca but it's still ok. There are older 737 with only over-head entertainment. I had one on the leg PTY-SJO but did not bother me as it was a 50min flight. There is no IFE in Business Class. Would that mean, on COPA you're better off in Economy? Maybe. Panama is easy for connections. No immigration, no security check. Just walk to your next plane so short lay-overs work. Downfall is that PTY is outdated and totally overcrowded. In some areas you sweat your butt off due to the poor air conditioning and the heat of thousands of pax on a small surface. If you are unlucky with your connection gate, you can walk a mile. On the other side of the tarmac they are building a new terminal which should make everything easier. My flights where on time. Last leg had a 15min delay, but that was due to a thunderstorm in PTY and that was rather good because it rained cats and dogs. Very good airline and on par with Lan and Avianca
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSJO to SCL via PTY
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"service was friendly"

(New Caledonia)

Verified Review | Santa Cruz to Panama City with Copa Airlines. It was my first time flying Copa Airlines and I have not been disappointed at all! Out of all the airlines I have been flying, it is the second one where I can get a whisky coca with my meal (others airlines usually don't have it or at a cost). The service was friendly and the pilot communicated very clearly and with many details about the flying conditions.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVVI to PTY
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cabin attendants amazing"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I flew Copa Airlines from Toronto to Quito via Panama. The crew at the airport was exceptional, the cabin attendants were amazing and the service was excellent. The flights were right on time, food was reasonable, airplane was comfortable, in-seat PTV screen, many options to choose with lots of movies, games. I would recommend my family and friends, to use Copa Airlanes, I will be delighted to fly with your company again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteYYZ to UIO via PTY
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"food quality is terrible"

(Argentina)

Verified Review | Flew Buenos Aires - Panama - Dominican Republic with Copa Airlines. This was the first time I have travelled with this airline and I can not recommend it. They used a small aircraft for a long flight (7+ hours) and the seat was clearly narrower than with other airlines. The food quality is terrible. I had to take rice with beef twice. They use just one cart to distribute the food, so they will take 30-40 minutes to reach the last row of seats. Nobody takes care of what happens in the aircraft: an old lady was locked inside the bathroom and I had to let know the staff to help her because they were talking in the back. Also the entertainment (movies, TV shows) was very poor.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEZE to SDQ via PTY
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"challenging at best"

(United States)

Flew Orlando to Lima Peru via Bogata. Flying thru Bogata on Copa Airlines is challenging at best. You must depart the aircraft down a dangerous set of portable steps, in the rain, then are driven some distance in a very uncomfortable and crowded bus. Once at the terminal, you go upstairs and are put through a very rude group of security screeners, then walk the entire length of both an old and new terminal to again go downstairs to a filthy waiting area. Then it's back to the nasty bus again. Also, calling COPA Customer Service is a very frustrating waste of time. The first individual I spoke with, on the English line, I could not understand at all, I had to call back. The second individual, and their supervisor, simply did not care whatsoever about a concern I was addressing. Planes and flight crews were courteous and far above COPAs ground operations or customer service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMCO to LIM via BOG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"high price and no service"

(Switzerland)

Copa Airlines has high prices but low service. Copa is always on time. Even if they are not on time they claim they are on time. So I waited to board the aircraft, but the gate was not open. No information, nothing. If I asked the crew, they said that the gate will open soon and yes, we are on time (maybe in this part of the world one hour late is still on time. Finally around one hour later they opened the gate, but everything seemed to me to be unprofessional. The flight was nothing special and nothing to mention. There is nothing to say if Copa would ask for a fair price. But in my entire life I never paid more for an one hour flight, so I expect a minimum of service. But high price and no service, that's a no go.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSJO to PTY
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no