Copa Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 194 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"my bag came out damaged"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Panama City to Miami and my bag came out damaged. I knew I had to claim the damage immediately upon arrival. In the arrival hall in Miami, there was no counter for Copa Airlines, and some staff told me Copa only had a desk in the departure hall. It was around 22.30 and the departure hall was almost empty. I didn't find any office, and some staff told me there was none. I went to the hotel,and got on a 8 day cruise the next morning. To travel back home again, I had to buy another suitcase. The next week back home again, I found on Copa website that I could claim the damage online. No reply came, and the only way I could find to get in contact with them, was via Twitter. They don't hand out numbers or mail addresses. In order to finally get the response from them, 2 months later, I had to provide them with another email. They then said that I should have made the claim either at the airport or claimed it online within 7 days after. If you enter www.copaair.com, then find Customer service, then Customer care, and then Baggage where you can click on "claim here", the form to fill out opens and there is no information about that it should be done within a certain time limit. I believe that Copa Airlines has a sneaky way of not taking responsibility for their failures.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePanama City to Miami
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"toilet cleanliness is appalling"

(Panama)

Trip Verified | Panama City to Los Angeles. I have flown Copa Airlines almost since it started decades ago. Now the flight attendants' English is quite acceptable, which was an area of complaint years ago. The plane had normal comfortable seats for a 6-7 hour flight. Previously this flight always had pillows and blankets for each seat. Not so now. I gave my blanket to a fellow who had requested one and always was told: "I will check", which never happened. Cabin crew not overly attentive but not indifferent. The food has declined in quality, though the choice of spirits is better. My complaint is the toilet cleanliness that is appalling.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePanama City to Los Angeles
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"well-run, efficient airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Washington Dulles to Cartagena via Panama City. Surprisingly (to me) well-run, efficient airline. Ground and air staff very nice, very courteous. Four legs of trip, only one inconsequential delay. Of course, easier to have positive attitude when you're sitting in #2D (business class) rather than #31F (back of coach). Food decent, although ran out of our desired entree on two flights because we were seated in row 3 instead of rows 1 or 2. Apparently management had supplied exact number of meals and guessed wrong on passenger demand. Also, at least two of the four flights were older aircraft without some of the entertainment features touted in Copa's literature. And, on two of four flights, seats didn't recline. Baggage handled properly, came quickly on conveyor. Absolutely would fly with them again, esp if they were to upgrade the awful Copa lounge at their hub airport in Panama City.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteWashington Dulles to Cartagena via Panama
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"They lost my luggage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Panama City to Guatemala City. They lost my luggage and acted like it was my fault. Horrible customer service. IVery rarely do airlines lose luggage but when they do they never expect the customer to de-escalate the situation. They don’t even offer money back for the things I’ll have to buy for my trip now, which is standard. Hopefully the insurance I bought through my booking agency will cover it. Save yourself the headache and go through a reputable airline, or don’t check bags at all.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePanama City to Guatemala City
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"is more than expected"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | Panama City to Mexico City. It was a great surprise fliying with Copa. Easy web check in at Copa website. At the airport fast lane dedicated to passengers who have already made check in. Friendly staff in ground and air. Nice breakfast for a medium haul flight, Easy connections and all flights on time. Copa Airlines is more than expected.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePanama City to Mexico City
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"avoid at all cost"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Guayaquil via Panama City. Horrible airline, avoid at all cost. Managed to lose luggage during a 3 hour layover in Panama City, their primary hub. Both flights were arriving / departing on time so no excuse for misplacing the luggage. Called the customer center of Copa Airlines, was told “it’s not our fault that your luggage was lost. Here we are on 10 day vacation in rural area of Equador with literally not even a change of underwear or a toothbrush. Never again will I fly this airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Guayaquil via Panama City
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Yet another miserable flight"

(Panama)

Trip Verified | Yet another miserable flight with Copa from Mendoza to Panama. An almost 7h trip on a so called business class which does not even deserve the name on a plane that doesn’t even offer a screen for a movie (feels like the 80s). This time not even an amenity kit was available so it makes you wonder where the business class fare went to. The only thing complete is the price they charge! Even for economy this service would be in the lower tier.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMendoza to Panama
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"fine, if nothing spectacular"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My flights to and from Guatemala City from Chicago O'Hare via Panama City, Panama, were fine, all in all, if nothing spectacular. The fare was cheap. Several decent meals were served, along with complimentary beverages (soft and adult). The old Continental planes they use are solid and fairly comfortable, except for there being only one pair of lavatories at the very back for the entire economy section. A steady stream of people went back and forth to visit them--no matter whether the "Fasten Seat Belt" signs were illuminated or not. They were on for the entire flight back from PTY to ORD, for example, and the flight attendants never stopped anyone from wandering around the cabin. In fact, a lot of the passengers exhibited a general lack of flying savvy. The flight from PTY to GUA was delayed for over an hour and a half, as one of the flight attendants swore she heard pounding (golpes) coming from the luggage hold. We never saw any stowaways and were only told that a "suspicious suitcase" had been found and removed. Very strange. I'm not a nervous flier, so it all struck me as kind of amusing.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Guatemala via Panama City
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst in the continent

(Panama)

Trip Verified | Panama to Buenos Aires. The business class offer is the worst in the continent. The cabin is not really adequate for an overnight flight if you expect to land and get to work. The seats do not allow a good sleep as the almost do not recline. The offer on amenities is poor and the company saves on every corner. Don’t expect wine or champagne at the start of the flight, don’t even look for earplugs inside your amenity bag, you’ll have to bring your own. They forgot it’s an overnight flight and seem to not understand the need of the customer to have a silent night while the alley is full with trolleys. Everything is cheap but the ticket price! The service is miserable, and comfort offered is not up to the level expected for a business product and for the price they charge. The food offer is poor, the quality of the wines also, the service in general simply sucks! The attitude is the typical found in all Copa flights,we don’t care, if you don’t like it don’t fly. Sad enough I knew it but had to take it as it was the only option for this tight itinerary. Last time I flew, which should’ve been the last, they still had earplugs! So God help me and make this one really the last one.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePanama to Buenos Aires
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"didn't show any attitude to help"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | San Jose to Panama. The nghtmare started in the check in process, where there were 4 employees in 4 counters and they were all "busy" with 2 customers. They didn't show any attitude to help and they clearly weren't in a rush to help the other customers. Regarding the boarding process, the passengers were all boarded at once without any order. On the plane, the food was awful. When arrived, my suitcase arrived broken. I claimed and they mentioned that it was nothing. I insisted and finally I got the incidence file from them. I claimed to the customer service and basically they said that it wasn't their fault and that they weren't going to pay anything.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose to Panama
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no