Condor Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 250 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"problem is in their customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Portland to Split via Frankfurt. As far as the airplanes and service experience, Condor is just fine. No frills, but no real issues either. Our problem is in their customer service or issue resolution if things go wrong. Both directions of our flight we had problems - on the way there it was missing our connection and needing to be rebooked, and on the way back our connecting flight from Seattle to Portland (booked through Condor, the flight itself was on Alaska) had been cancelled 2 days before and Condor had not notified us, or rebooked us. When we landed in Seattle and called they told us it wasn't their problem. We ended up, through discussion with the very helpful Alaska agents, booking a rental car and driving to Portland (it would have taken 4 x long to wait for the next available flight). We paid for this out of pocket. I submitted this on the Condor airlines customer service on 8/11, and didn't hear anything. I contacted them in early October, and did receive an apology, but was told they were working on it, there was nothing they could do (they said they don't have phone numbers or ways to contact those who handle issue resolution) but that I would hear back within 1 week. On 10/26 I contacted them again, and was told the only option was to file another complaint. I asked to speak to a manager, to have some resolution, and the very rude representative just told me there was nothing she can do. At this point we are out $400 for the rental car, and have received no compensation or communication from Condo.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Split via Frankfurt
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never use Condor Airlines again"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Vancouver. My experience with Condor Airlines was terrible and I will never fly this Airline again! While the price was right when I originally booked the flight on September 18th, when I arrived at the airport on October 3rd, 40 minutes before my flight because I had been delayed several hours in transit, the staff at the check-in counter was awful, worse than any staff I have ever experienced of any airline in my 62 years of my life. The man there said smilingly I could not board the flight because I arrived 40 minutes before the flights and not the required one hour. I explained my situation, that I had booked train tickets to be there 3 hours ahead but can of course not control who decides to end their life on that day across what train track and that this would impact trains for thousands of people. This man had absolutely no compassion or understanding for my situation and just told me with another great smile that my ticket was no no and void and I would have to purchase a new ticket all over again. He did not mention that a few hours later they would have another flight that flew to Victoria just a slightly different routing with a stopover in Seattle. It's clear that this man didn't care in the very slightest what would happen to me, of course the airline had my money and that is all that matters. My ticket was non-refundable. I decided to drive in that very moment that I would never ever ever fly Condor again. Thankfully I had purchased the plane ticket with my Visa dish on a Day card which insurance flights for circumstances just like these. However going through an insurance claim is a huge effort and I had to stay overnight and Frankfurt and pay everything up front including the flights that I took the next day which was in fact the same flight. If I had not purchased the replacement flight through a credit cards that they would refund me all my extra expenses, the situation would have been far far worse. I have never before by any Airline I have ever used, experienced such a vast extent of unkindness and uncaring by check-in staff at the gate. A few years ago, in 2013, I had booked a flight with Iceland air and the same thing happened, accept a time arrived just twenty minutes before the scheduled departure. In fact, there were two of us getting to the gate 20 minutes before the flight left and both of us were accommodated simply because the staff cared and wanted us to have a good opinion of Icelandair and somehow they managed to get the luggage on the next flight, and had it brought to our addresses in Iceland. Now that is customer service! I will never ever use Condor Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Victoria via Vancouver
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"was extremely stressful"

(United States)

Verified Review | Medford to Warsaw via Portland and Frankfurt, returning from Warsaw to Seattle via Munich. I booked trip for myself, my husband and our 1 year old child via Condor Airlines call center in Germany on April 21, 2017. A confirmation/invoice was sent to me for the trip. On return when we arrived at 5am to Warsaw airport on June 21 we were told at the check in desk that we are not on the list of passengers from Warsaw to Munich and that we have flight booked only from Munich. It was extremely stressful to say the least! After being sent around between different desk clarks I had to purchase new tickets for $716 USD to get me and my family to Munich on the flight we were supposed to be on in the first place LO 351. After submitting a complaint, following up with numerous calls and emails I finally received an explanation of a supposed computer error and a check for $190 USD. You ask why $190 USD? Well, it's approximately what 716 PLN (Polish currency) amounts to in USD. So their agent did not pay attention and instead of reimbursing me $716 USD sent me a check for $190 USD. I emailed them back right away clarifying this mistake and requesting remaining $526 however nobody ever responded to me in the last 2 months. So, it's been nearly 4 months since our trip and I am yet to receive $526 USD or anything additional. This is unacceptable and what a shame for an airline that otherwise could do so well!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMedford to Warsaw via Portland
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"leaving the waiver zone"

(Slovenia)

Verified Review | Zagreb to Portland via Frankfurt. I booked a ticket directly with Condor on their website. Starting in Zagreb (first leg operated by Croatia Airlines) and going to Portland USA via Frankfurt. My only check in was in Zagreb and my documentation has been checked there by Croatia Airlines and I've been told that I am all clear and good to go, got printed a second boarding pass for Frankfurt - PDX flight and told to just go to the gate once in Frankfurt and that I don't have to talk to Condor staff or prove anything in Frankfurt since the ticket was bought as a one journey. Also my bags were supposed to go straight to PDX when I dropped them in Croatia. However I was asked to show documentation again at the boarding gate in Frankfurt 10 minutes before gate closes, only to find out I can't board the plane because my onward journey exiting USA was to Haiti and apparently that doesn't count as leaving the waiver zone. I was not aware about those fine print rules and regulations when I booked the flight, the only reminder was that I might be asked for a proof of onward journey at the check-in. It's obvious that they're doing that on purpose to make more money out of customers. Later on I tried to talk to one of their employees at the frankfurt airport only to find he was lacking professionalism and customer service skills. I had to rebook the ticket and sort myself out for 2 nights in Frankfurt. I flew with them couple times and they're getting worse - lately they started charging 12 euro for entertainment pack and wouldn't provide free headphones, so that's extra. Food and on-plane service has never been good.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZagreb to Portland via Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"the service was first class"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Flew Frankfurt to Toronto. Old planes, great service. I have to admit I was rather hesitant to fly Condor as I’m not a big fan of charters. But we were on a tight budget and we needed to go and there were no seat sales to be found for our dates. My main concern was space and charters tend to really cram the people in. My wife I booked premium economy (about a 1000€ cheaper than Lufthansa). I read all the reviews I could and kept seeing comments about 'old' planes. The Condor website gives you the impression that all the planes are new and Thomas Cook, the parent airline, has the new Boeing 787s. So it was a huge shock to get on board and find not only did they not have in seat TVs but they overhead TVs were from the 80s. I mean how to you even get parts for a 40 year old TV. I can’t believe they still work. Sure don’t build them like they used to. That aside the service was first class and the food, very surprisingly, was excellent! The seats while older were very comfortable. My main concern was leg room and premium economy gives you an extra 8 inches of much needed space. The staff made a huge effort to give 5 start service and like I mentioned the food really surprised me. The best I’ve had yet (next of course to Business Class). I noticed a lot of "the airline screwed up and I’ll never fly them again" comments. I suspect that when it comes time to book again and price will win. The flight back there was no empty seats, inspite of the bad reviews price always win. Will I fly them again. Probably, I’d prefer Luftansa Air Canada Business class but the budget doesn’t always allow it! Tip: don’t book business class as if they do switch planes you may get downgraded to premium economy. Do pay extra for the premium economy. If you must book back of the plane pay extra and get an emergency exit seat. It’s tight back there.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteFrankfurt to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never flying with Condor again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Austin, Texas to Prague, Czech Republic. Back in March we bought tickets with Condor Flugdienst to fly to Europe. We decided to pay extra and upgrade to Premium Economy just so we could get a bassinet for our daughter of 7 months, so she could fly more comfortably. With Condor, bassinets are only available in certain specific Premium Class seats and must be booked together with the parent’s seat. Two months after buying our tickets Condor changed the airplanes for our flights and we received the following notification by email: “The operating aircraft on which you are due to travel changed and the alternative aircraft has a different seat configuration. Therefore we've moved you to the nearest comparable alternative with identical seat properties.” Except that that wasn’t true: my husband and I were given separate seats and I was assigned a seat without a baby bassinet. Meaning we would have to carry our daughter on our laps for 12+ hours, after we had already paid for a premium class ticket with a bassinet available. We called Condor ASAP because their online system is extremely limited and does not even allow changing seats. We spent 45+ minutes on hold and were almost starting to doubt if the constantly repeating message about how much Condor cared for my call was actually true. But finally we got to a real human being. We explained the problem and how the seat arrangements had gotten all messed up after the airplane change. No problem, he said, let’s get them back on track. He put my husband and me back in adjacent seats (even though we lost the window seats) and gave me a seat with a baby bassinet available. All is well, we thought, and things happen. Flying is a complicated business and we understand that sometimes airlines have to make rearrangements like changing aircraft. Could Condor have been done better? Perhaps, but nothing is perfect and in the end we got back what cared about the most. Fast forward to a week away from our trip, and we decided to call Condor to ask some routine questions and verify that everything was in order for our travel. We just wanted to make sure that all of our bases were covered since we were traveling with our baby daughter, it’s a long trip after all. And this is where the problems started. We asked Condor’s representative to confirm the seat arrangements for the departure and return flights and he told us that for the return flight there was no bassinet available. What? That has to be a mistake, because we called back in May and Condor’s representative fixed exactly that! Well, turns out that he didn’t do it for both flights, only for the outbound one, and completely failed to mention it back then. And now the one bassinet seat in the plane was taken. Now what? Well, according to Condor’s representative, we now had to take our daughter in our lap for 12+ hours because there was nothing that they could do. Nothing. Well, what can we do? “There’s nothing we can do.” This is obviously Condor’s fault, there has to be something that can be done to fix this. “There’s nothing we can do.” In conclusion: Needless to say, we will be voting with our wallet (extra 1000$ for a seat for my daughter)and never flying with Condor again. I’d rather pay extra and fly with an airline that would not take advantage of us in such a blatant way, and they used my daughter as the wedge to force us to pay up. Condor would rather lose a customer for life than own up to their mistakes.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteAustin, Texas to Prague, Czech Republic
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"staff was friendly and helpful"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Not the best experience. The aircraft was old. There was absolutely zero inflight entertainment, no charging outlets. Food was mediocre and was very rich on mayonnaise. Soft drinks were served multiple times during the flight, as well as alcoholic drinks with meals. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"cannot recommend to fly Condor "

(United States)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Minneapolis. Premium Economy bad service Condor gave the possibility to upgrade flight tickets to Premium Economy for EUR 99.- each. They told us we will get better food, free drinks and better service. Because we had a long flight in front of us we paid for the upgrade, expecting to have a better service. During the flight they only served food and drinks during the normal serving times. I called for a flight attendant to get some water and no one showed up for over 2 hours. I had to wait until next food was served. I wrote to Condor to tell them my experience and they only told me that beverages are available during normal meal service and between it can be that they were busy. I have not seen one flight attendant walking up and down the aisle for over 2 hours. This was the worst service ever and I cannot recommend to fly with Condor or to pay an upgrade for Premium. Also the customer service is only finding excuses and did not apologize once .
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteFrankfurt to Minneapolis
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"superb value and good service"

(United States)

Verified Review | We traveled out of Dallas to Vienna, and Condor carried us from Portland to Frankfurt. The short flights were coach by Alaska and Lufthansa and the trans-Atlantic segment was business class by Condor. Condor business class was much better than US-based airlines in terms of the willingness of the flight attendants to serve. They never stopped serving us food, drink, and wine. The did not disappear after serving dinner like American flight attendants. Yes, its movie selection is scanty (albeit tasteful), and its seats may be a bit too narrow for westerners, but it gets you over the ocean in comfort and on time. We appreciated the attitude of the crew - they worked hard to earn our trust, unlike American flight attendants whose sole interest in to collect a paycheck and benefits. For half the price of US-based airlines, Condor offered a superb value, and a good service. BTW, there were power plugs, headphones, small but good selection of movies and music, and plenty of good good, bread, fruits, and drinks (wine and German beer).
AircraftBoeing 763
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePortlamd to Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"lack of communication"

(United States)

Verified Review | Budapest to Seattle via Frankfurt. The worst flight ever, started seemingly normal. 30 minutes until the flight started experiencing some of the worse turbulence I had flown through. 2 hours into the flight we noticed our plane on the screen map had turned around, when the crew was asked they said the pilot will make an announcement. 10 minutes later we were told we are told there is a hydraulic fluid leak and we must return to Frnkfurt. We were told once we returned we would get a new plane and be on our way again. Before landing we received news that we would be staying over night, when we finally landed we had emergency crews surrounding the plane and for 20 mins it seems we were stuck inside the plane. From there the communication was absolute and no one was helpful. Did get a room , but ended up flying with the same crew the next morning. They told us to contact Condor for reimbursement of anything that was a fault of this, but I am reading I will never get refunded for anything. Old planes, dirty, lack of communication, and not really cheap tickets. Plus, the cabin crew did great keeping people calm and tried hard to take care of us on our final trip home .
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBudapest to Seattle via Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no