Top 100 Airlines  

Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 699 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"service was excellent"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Hong kong to Manila- a short flight and service on the ground and in-flight was excellent. Meal service used to be a full meal but Cathay Pacific has downgraded this to a Snack - it comes in a small CX paper bag which i found cute. Meal service fast and efficient and they come around to offer more drinks after the snack bag. FA's are lovely. The cabin is clean, IFE was excellent. Seat pitch is OK. Would fly them again for sure.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to MNL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"IFE still amazing"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Bahrain to Manila via Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific. As a loyal Cathay passenger, I am truly happy that the level of customer service is consistent. Great food with a wide selection of drinks. IFE still amazing, great line up of movies, very comfortable seat. Most importantly the ground crew in Bahrain and cabin crew were very helpful, friendly and cheerful.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBAH to MNL via HKG
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"new Economy Class an improvement"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Seoul Incheon via Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific. SIN-HKG and return ICN-HKG on the older shell-seat Economy Class in 2-4-2 configuration, while HKG-ICN and return leg HKG-SIN was on the new 3-3-3 Economy Class configuration. Food is pretty tasty though portions could have been a bit larger. We got Haagen-Daaz ice cream HKG-SIN! IFE was pretty decent but a wider selection would be even better. The new Economy Class IFE is touchscreen-only but includes a USB port to charge my very thirsty phone. Seat pitch was pretty decent and the new Economy Class is certainly an improvement. Service was pretty good. Only pity is that they are one of the remaining airlines to stick with 20kg baggage allowance when most others in its league have moved to 30kg. But I think even their older planes are much better than Singapore Airlines B777s. Unlike many other airlines, Cathay Pacific best offers are usually not found on their own website, but on third-party ticketing agents. I got a really good deal after sleuthing in one of the more popular flight meta-search engines - it was nearly 30% cheaper.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to ICN via HKG
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"hustled onto a later flight"

(United Kingdom)

Cathay Pacific (CX252) from Heathrow to Clark Field via Hong Kong. Aircraft landed in HK 1 minute late, all connecting passengers were refused without explanation to board the next flight. We were told we must hand over our boarding passes and at no point did the ground staff explain what's going on. Hustled onto a later flight going to a different destination and to add insult to injury had to endure a 4 hour coach journey with no toilet or refreshments or Cathay staff. Quite simple if Cathay can't do the connection times they shouldn't sell the tickets and it's irrelevant what class of passenger you are.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to CRK via HKG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"excellent efficient crew"

(Australia)

Sydney to Rome via Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific. After the oneworld experience at Sydney Airport Qantas Lounge such a change to be greeted and given a glass of Deutz Champagne. Herring bone seating offers enough room for storage etc. Good selection of movies etc and noise cancelling headphones excellent. Enough food and wine selection and friendly crew always helpful. Return leg even better with larger B777-300ER better seats and excellent Billecart Salmon and other wine choices. Good food and cheese selection. Excellent efficient crew.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSYD to FCO via HKG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"excellent flight, good service"

(South Africa)

Kuala Lumpur to Johannesburg via Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific. Regional business class configuration from KUL to HKG. Comfortable seating for relatively short flight. Excellent meal. Would normally select the Asian meal, but could not resist lamb cutlets after 6 weeks in Malaysia. Top restaurant quality. Transfer in HKG via Bridge Lounge, which is excellent. Comfortable with excellent food, particularly from bakery. Late take off from Hong Kong, with option of settling down to sleep (my wife), or change to SA time and enjoy a meal. Good choice with superb Sea Bream, hard to believe this was airline food. Slept for 8 hours before waking for breakfast. Egg friarta which confirmed the principle that eggs do not travel well overnight. Overall excellent flight with good service throughout.
AircraftBoeing 777-200 / Boeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKUL to JNB via HKG
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"service is rather perfunctory"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew from Sapporo to Hong Kong. I use to regard Cathay Pacific as a premium airline: good food and beverages and service. However I was disappointed from the ground up. At Chitose International Airport, boarding was chaotic: seat numbers/row numbers were not announced and this caused a long queue even prior to boarding. This is somewhat unnecessary and uncivilized. Food was bad: a sweet meat dish that I could not finish. Even more disappointing was there were no juice/beverage runs for the entire flight although it was nearly a five hour flight. I believe juice/beverage runs should be conducted on an hourly basis as it is dehydrating after a long flight. Service is rather perfunctory and impersonal. Could Cathay please bring back the early 90s award winning service : good edible food and beverage and service from the heart?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCTS to HKG
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never use again"

(Australia)

Hong Kong to Rome with Cathay Pacific. My family of 6 Traveled on CX293. Having already had a poor experience on a previous flight in our round the world booking, we arrived with plenty of food to take onboard. Thank goodness we were prepared as we sat on the plane for 2.5 hrs. No food or drink was offered during this wait. During the remaining 13 hrs on the plane we were offered only 2 meals. The entertainment, just like a previous flight with Cathay was faulty for 2 of my party. In comparison with BA, AA, Qantas, Cathay provides a very poor flying experience. We will never use again.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to FCO
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"quality of food poor"

(Australia)

Sydney to Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific (CX1620. My family of 6 found the flight experience very poor in all components. The quality of food and the amount was very poor in comparison to the other airlines we have traveled on. The entertainment system often stopped working during the flight and had to be reset and the headphone outputs did not work well for 3 of my party. The 9 hr flight ended up being 10 because of delays and we were offered only a small amount of food - no coffee of tea was offered during the whole flight. At one stage no service was offered for 6 hrs.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to HKG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"excellent meals and entertainment"

(United Kingdom)

London to Manila via Hong Kong return with Cathay Pacific. London to Hong Kong (Boeing 777, CX250). Flight arrived on schedule. This particular aircraft is quite new as there is no scruff marks on any of the business pods. The cabin staff were more spending more time chatting to me and being very attentive, excellent meals and entertainment. Hong Kong to Manila (Boeing 747, CX919) to my surprise it was an old B747 and old style business class pods, glad it was only a 1 hour 40 minutes flight as I don't really like the coffin business class that much. We left on time but arrived 40 minutes late due to Manila airspace closed as they had a VIP coming into land - I was not happy about that but it not Cathay Pacific fault. The B747 was used as the plane was over 95% full and only two are left now. This is the last time I use Heathrow Airport as I live much closer to Gatwick.
AircraftBoeing 777 / 747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to MNL via HKG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes