Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1873 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Luxembourg) 26th July 2015

Cathay went the extra mile yesterday when they contacted ground staff at Paris CDG to accompany me to my next flight (not Cathay) because of a very short connection time. This is not the first time they have done this: last year we had a problem with Air France in HKG but Cathay (with whom we had flown from Cairns) sorted it out. Great business class seat configuration. Everything very handy. Efficient service. Well done.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePER to CDG via HKG
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Singapore) 25th July 2015

I recently flew Cathay Business Class from Singapore to London and back, via Hong Kong - a total of four sectors. While three of these flights varied from acceptable to quite good, the final leg from Hong Kong back to Singapore was awful. Having arrived late (see below) from London, we boarded yet another delayed flight only to find that, without any prior notification to us, they had switched the aircraft from the one on which we had booked our seats to one with the old A330 series 2-3-2 Business Class configuration. Not only is this more like sitting in Premium Economy, my wife and I were now separated by a passenger in the centre seat between us, with whom we had to negotiate a swap. With the flight already twenty minutes late, it was then announced that we had to wait for connecting passengers from yet another delayed Cathay flight, and we eventually pushed back from the gate 50 minutes late. Once airborne things didn't improve. While the crew were courteous enough, the food was an absolute disgrace for Business Class. We both had to send our dried-out, tough and tasteless fish entrees back, and the replacement noodles had all the attributes of a convenience store offering. The toilets, which began the flight having seen better days, were filthy by the end of it, with discarded paper overflowing from the rubbish bin and the floor wet. I will avoid flying Cathay Pacific in future for fear of encountering another flight like this one. It's a shame, because their new Business seat is actually very well thought out, and the touch-screen entertainment system excellent. But for me there's just too much risk of delays, poor food, and encountering the outdated 2-3-2 Business Class cabin to warrant the asking price. Out of our four sectors, push-back from the gate was delayed on three of them by 60, 40 and 50 minutes respectively. I hope we were just unlucky, because these statistics don't make good reading: 75% of our flights delayed by an average of 50 minutes.
AircraftA330 series
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Singapore
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (United States) 24th July 2015

Four segments (BLR-HKG, HKG-PER, PER-HKG, HKG-BLR) each delayed over 1.5 hours, and no notification until about one hour prior to flight (except the first segment, which was notified about three hours in advance). Typical reason "due to late arrival of aircraft" which is euphemistic for "just wait a while." Cant-be Specific, or (ahem) Cathay Pacific reps, when I told them I needed to get home tonight from Hong Kong, but now there was no gate and only an estimated time two hours hence, offered instead for me to fill out a "feedback form." Four strikes in four pitches - I won't be flying Cathay again.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBLR to PER via HKG
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Switzerland) 24th July 2015

Was travelling two adults and two kids with seating fixed at the time of booking the tickets (and seat numbers specified on the tickets). When doing the online check in, we realized that Cathay Pacific had decided to change our seating. Of course they did not have the courtesy to inform us up about this to give us the chance to cancel the tickets and travel with another airline. So, Cathay Pacific had decided to split our family up. 1 adult is seated with 2 kids and 1 adult is seated somewhere completely different - 21 rows apart, to be precise. We found this out after normal office hours and then discovered a that Cathay Pacific only has reservations desks (as opposed to customer services desks) that you can call. Could not get their international 24 hour number to Work. Tried their Hong Kong number but after spending 15 minutes on hold I hung up. Next morning called the local reservation office in Zurich. Sorry sir, can't help with seat assignment it is a different system but you can do it yourself online (had already explained that we tried this but there were no 4 free seats together or near each other) or ask at the chek-in at the airport. As any family reading this can probably imagine, we arrived completely tired to our holiday after the long flight after plenty hassle of shuffling 2 small children back and forth in the cabin between mummy and daddy at mean times, toilet times, crying times etc. Now, we will see about the return flight after which we shall never set foot on Cathay Pacific again.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteZurich to Hong Kong
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd July 2015

An A330 which I realise is not new to the CX fleet, but this aircraft was downright grubby. The padding on the seats was non-existant, and the fabric was worn and threadbare. These seats were unacceptable, and for an 8 hour flight, especially so. The cabin looked dingy and in need of a good clean. The cabin staff were are jaded as the furnishings. No sooner had we left the ground, than everyone was ordered - and I mean ordered - to close their window blinds, and they had to remain closed for the duration of the flight. So much for having a window seat. At one point, while going to the washroom, I literally had to jump out of the way of one of the cabin staff who was heading in the opposite direction, and I never received so much as a "thanks" as he barged past. The meals were served with all the enthusiasm of a billionaire serving in a soup kitchen - thankfully it was all over quickly. The food itself was ok - passable for economy class. Overall, this was grim. I'm seriously trying to decide whether to give up on Cathay Pacific after this. It's a shame - this used to be a great airline to fly with, but now it seems they're only interested if you travel in one of the premium cabins (I'm speaking from experience). They should take a few tips from their hosts at Doha. The inflight entertainment was passable, if it wasn't for the constant interruptions for announcements - usually for trying to sell bits and pieces, or announcements between the crew.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteDoha to Hong Kong
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 20th July 2015

I am a oversea student, I need to fly at least four return flights a year so I know this airline very well. The service is excellent and the seat very comfortable. The flight attendant brought round hot towels and then began serving the meal. They give you a little bag which contains useful goods for the flight such as a toothbrush. I buy a Premium Economy class ticket every time and I have been upgraded to business class twice already in a year.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteHong Kong to Adelaide
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 20th July 2015

Originally, I bought a premium economy class ticket but they upgraded me to business class. The food was excellent - smoked salmon for starter, then a chinese style stir fried seafood with rice. The staff were excellent and remembered all passengers names. I would highly recommend Cathay Pacific business class.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Hong Kong
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 19th July 2015

Flew return AKL-HKG-AKL. The seat was lie flat and comfortable, but a bit claustrophobic because it's rather narrow. Window seats also face the aisle, which is a bit of a bummer. And the A340 seats don't have quite all the well thought out nooks for personal belongings. Meals were very good. Flight crew were excellent. IFE was diverse and the system worked without much lag.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAKL to HKG
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 19th July 2015

CX's business class seat is one of the best designed. The seat is wide and spacious and can be configured with more or less privacy as desired. Tons of clever within reach storage space for various personal effects. Add in the usual very good food, excellent IFE and top notch in-flight service and you see why they're ranked consistently in the top 10 airline rankings.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHKG to JFK
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Philippines) 11th July 2015

Manila-Hong Kong flight left on time from Terminal 3 of Ninoy Aquino Intl Airport. Breakfast/snack was served. Not much but satisfying (hot sandwich and some mango juice). Flight was smooth and the crew was great. Hong Kong to New York : Great food and drinks, legroom was enough. Toilet was clean. For an economy class seat was excellent. Entertainment systems were perfect (many movies, modern music, etc.) New York to Hong : crew was more friendly, welcoming and at your service. At the airport, even though we were there 5 or 6 hours before our flight, the check-in kiosk was already open. The food was excellent. The two in-flight meals were very delicious. I requested some cup noodles for free and some juice. The toilets were clean. Onboard entertainment system was well-supplied with modern movies, shows, and music. The flight HKG to MNL was like my previous three. Food was excellent. I wasn't even expecting food because the flight was just a little under 2 hours. In-flight entertainment system was good (I was able to continue my tv show marathon of How To Get Away With Murder from the flight from New York). For a short flight, Cathay still provided excellent service.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteManila to New York via HKG return
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes