Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 893 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"more uncomfortable than low cost airline"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Seoul. Cathay for this route still uses the hard shell economy seat configuration. The space is good but the seat itself is way more uncomfortable than a low cost airline seat with no recline at all. I hope they will phase out all these seats soon! As always in internal Asia routes, food very average quality and boring. Pasta or pork with rice. Same desserts as always: Haagen Dazs icecream. Don't they think that their valued frequent flyers could be bored on having the same dessert in every single CX flight? Entertainment choice as always not the best but good enough. Overall an average flight in a route where there are much more pleasant Korean carriers to choose from. Will think twice next time about which one to choose even if I am a high tier CX frequent flier.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Seoul
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"It was a horrible service"

(Sri Lanka)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Colombo via Hong Kong. We boarded as usual on time. We made ourselves comfortable and sat within the aircraft for over 30min without any information provided by the crew. At last the captain made an announcement that there are technical flaws with the aircraft and that he has no choice but to cancel the flight. So all passengers were taken off the flight and once in the ground we were informed that they intend to transfer us to a Qantas flight to depart 3 hours later. I had a 4 hour transit at Hong kong prior to my next flight to Colombo and when I mentioned this to the ground staff they were quiet assuring that I would be there on time to catch my next flight. 3 hours passed and they picked a few passengers "randomly" to have the previledge of flying the Qantas flight while the rest of us kept sitting in patience. When inquired as to what is going on the ground staff replied "sir we have got permission only for limited passengers and so we picked a few randomly." So what happens to the rest? The answer was that the rest would be flying through Cathay Pacific in their next scheduled departure which was 8 hours after our original departure time. No lounges were provided, just food coupons. Then time passed and we were at last on board a flight, landed in Hong kong having missed my connecting flight. We were informed that all passengers to Colombo will be flown to Singapore and then from Singapore to Colombo via Sri lanka Airlines. All in all we arrived in Colombo 18 hours after our original arrival time and to find out that our luggages have not arrived with us. It was a horrible service with poor customer service.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Colombo via Hong Kong
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"staff seemed very demotivated "

(Australia)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to London. Business class seat is okay but not matching standards of the best airlines. Lounge in HKG was okay but unbelievably crowded and no better than a pay to use facility, and the airline has cut back on food in the lounge. Onboard service was okay, but staff seemed very demotivated and just plain tired. Probably not helped by the very clear cutbacks in the business class items served inflight nowadays compared to 3 years ago. The food was awful and portions tiny, and even amenity type items seem to have suffered major cuts. It seems the airline has let financial problems filter through to what the passenger receives.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to London
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Food was poor quality"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Bangkok. Staff were friendly but not attentive. Food was poor quality, very simple meal with no salad or appetiser. No second round drinks were offered during and after meal service. Only plastic utensils were used in economy class. Food tray were not collected until the end of flight. However aircraft is new and IFE was good. Cathay is doing cost down in the difficult time but I think it has affected the customer experiences.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Bangkok
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I would recommend Cathay"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Bangkok having managed to get a discounted fare on this route. At Changi, I checked in using the FAST check in counters-seems like Cathay has moved to self check-in for almost all its passengers(with the exception of priority passengers-Marco Polo Club, oneWorld members, etc.), although there were staff on hand to assist passengers in checking in, and they were helpful. Flight was delayed due to late arrival of aircraft. Boarding efficient, cabin had a comfortable feel and the seat was as good as those found on the economy class of SQ and TG A350s, but the charging port was hard to access, although not a problem for me, being a 2hr+ flight. Cathay provided the passengers with exterior camera views of the aircraft through the IFE, with a tail and front camera provided. Cabin crew were attentive, if robotic at times. However, the onboard drinks selection was a bit narrow, and the food served was dismal, comparable to my domestic flight on Air China. Overall, I would recommend Cathay, although they do need to ramp up their regional service if they want to compete on this route).
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Bangkok
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"most shoddy plane ride ever"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I've been flying with Cathay for 26 years. My family and I are all Marco Polo members ranging from green to gold. Today I waited 9.5 hours at the airport for my flight from Sydney to Hong Kong (CX110, now CX162), and now I'm told it'll be another 30 mins wait. I understand that HK is experiencing bad weather and I was told the plane had a mechanical problem but there has been problems with the way they dealt with this issue. They never made an announcement about the cancelled flight until well after the anticipated boarding time. When we approached the front desk we were told that the flight is cancelled and we were transferred to a later flight. Staff said if they made an announcement then it would create a commotion. It makes no logical sense. I said lots of people are probably still waiting for the announcement. Fast forward to the plane ride: the most shoddy plane ride ever. I've flown with many airlines - even down to tiny airlines like Air Timor. This has got to be the worst plane I've flown. The backs of our seats could not be controlled and went up and down just by leaning on it. We were shifted to the back for take off and the TV did not work (I have to say the inflight manager was nice about it). The cold water button in the bathroom didn't work. I saw staff roll their eyes after talking to passengers. As I was put in the last seat on the plane on this service, I also heard all the gossip about passengers from the staff at the back. I have booked 3 more flights with Cathay in the coming 2 weeks and I'm really dreading it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Hong kong
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"a less than comfortable experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | I hadn't flown Cathay Pacific for a number of years, but I always remembered them being a very comfortable airline offering a better than average product. As a disclaimer, my airline of choice for this route (Los Angeles to Singapore via Hong Kong) has always been Singapore Airlines, so I realize I may have high standards. However, I'm still just an average economy traveler who simply expects to be taken care of on long flights. The trip out from LAX to SIN was a bit treacherous due to mechanical problems. This, I understand, but the way the airline handled it was - I'd say - less than satisfactory. I had a scheduled 01.25 departure that was delayed 11 hours. I was not made aware of the fact until 19.00 the night of my flight. The reason for the delay was the plane had engine problems when it was leaving HK (for LAX) and had to turn around, but what made it extremely confusing was that the airline somehow did not make the delay public knowledge (Google Flights, Flight Tracker and others had the flight noted as an on time departure), so there was quite a bit of confusion. I decided to arrive at the airport at my normal time (~2 hrs prior) at which point the delay was confirmed. I asked if they could put me on another flight of any other airline because I was going to SIN for a family emergency and I was told there were no available seats. They offered to put me up in a hotel which I accepted and gave me meal vouchers that didn't cover the cost of a single dish (for either dinner or breakfast - $25 and $15 respectively). The next morning upon check-in, I was told that my flights out were not full because they had moved many passengers to other flights/airlines - this really irritated me because I was told there were no available seats the night before. Once I finally arrived in HK (11.5 hours later than expected), my flight to SIN was delayed an additional 4 hours. At this point, I went to the CX counter and kindly asked for a pass to the lounge so I could rest and shower, since I'd already been delayed in my travels. They said they couldn't help me because they'd already compensated me in LA with the hotel stay. This irritated me; I understand that the airline may feel that I've been compensated, but I don't understand what it would have 'cost them' to provide a little extra customer service to a tired traveler asking to rest as a result of their delays. CX is based in HK and has multiple lounges in the airport. I suppose I was asking too much, but it was frustrating nonetheless. Both flights out felt both rushed and inadequately supplied (in terms of meals and personnel) making for a less than comfortable experience for such long flights. A route that normally takes me about 22-24 hours to complete (door to door) ended up taking about 37 hours and the overall experience left me with a slightly less than stellar opinion. I have to say, the flights back were on schedule and slightly better, but the overall experience was still not what I remember, nor what I'm currently used to. I would recommend CX because I know my initial experience was a bit of an anomaly, however, it does not change the fact that I am/was disappointed and wish the delays were handled better.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Singapore via Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"B747s could do with a refurb"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Cathay Pacific from Hong Kong to Los Angeles. My flight from Manila was excellent but my connecting flight had a little problem. The layover in HKG was great and I boarded smoothly on a Boeing 747. The aircraft was old. The problem I encountered was with the seat - it was old and its not spacious at all. I can't move my legs well. They should refurbish their old seats as well as their IFE. The service was excellent. Food was delicious and the cabin crew were hospitable. I would recommend that CX but their old seats and IFE on B747s could do with a refurb.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Los Angeles
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"service was excellent"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Flight Cathay Pacific (CX918) from Manila to Hong Kong. Terminal 3 in MNL was great as well as the Cathay Pacific ground staff. Check-in was smooth. The only problem is that the flight was delayed due to bad weather (it was raining hard) but we didn't wait for a long time and the airport services and facilities were good. We boarded smoothly on an airbus A350 - the newest aircraft in the fleet. In the air, the service was excellent. The cabin crew were hospitable and the seats were spacious. Also, the snacks were great and Filipino food was served. I didn't expect that. When we arrived at HKG, it was good especially for a layover! All in all, the flight was great. I would recommend the A350.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"IFE also adequate"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Manila to Newark via Hong Kong. The experience in MNL is surprisingly excellent. The flight was delayed 45 minutes and the check in staff inquired if my traveling party of 3 would want to take the earlier flight. Declining, we proceeded to checking in for the CX907 to HKG. The flight was pleasant enough with adequate meals and friendly, if robotic crew. The seat, while refurbished still had that flimsy feel and the latch securing the life jacket in my seat fell off during takeoff. IFE system was nice and crisply responsive and full marks on the very entertaining interactive airshow. The outbound flight to EWR after 4.5 hours of transit had the herringbone full flat seats. While the configuration decreased seat width, especially when it was converted to a bed, it was still cozy and comfortable. Service was a lot warmer and prompt. The food was surprisingly tasty even if CX catering isn't the best in the business. Drink selection was adequate, but not as extensive as SQ. IFE also adequate but a bit more dated than the one found on the A350. I think it's high time CX upgrades these. Slept for 7 hours.
AircraftA350-900 / Boeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManila to Newark via Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes