Vote Now  

Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 822 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Perfect for short haul to medium haul routes"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Cathay Pacific, Premium Economy flying from Jakarta to Hong Kong. The seat was great although I was seated in 34K which is the last row of Premium Economy, had a legrest like the one in the bulkhead of PE cabin. The food is great, however the same options as Economy class and the same beverages. The IFE was great, so many option to watch. Perfect for short haul to medium haul routes.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteJakarta to Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"a pleasant flight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Manila via Hong Kong. Arrived at Gatwick and headed straight to check in, just one person in front of me, after a minute I was greeted by charming check in staff. There is still no oneworld lounge so went to No 2 lounge, it is OK. Boarded to seat `17A and settled in with a glass of champagne and warm nuts, the flight was quite full. Took off 10 minutes late but arrived on time in Hong Kong, the flight was comfortable and just laid down to watch TV as I was not tired. Food is very good, just the right amount. At HKG had a quick coffee and went to catch my next flight, Boeing 777, a pleasant flight but arrived 10 minutes late. The notable difference between A350 and Boeing 777 are: No wifi on B777, you can watch tv prior to taking off and landing on the A350, substantially quieter and superior air ventilation compare to B777. And far easier for me to get to Gatwick then to Heathrow Airport.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Manila via Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service is declining"

(China)

Verified Review | Beijing to Hong Kong. A good flight. Slight delay but this is normal for this route. Service is adequate but nothing special. There is hot meal served. The cabin is the old type business (non-flat out) but good enough for short haul. No greeting to members (may be I am only Sapphire and not good enough). Cathay Pacific service is declining.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBeijing to Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Very comfortable flight"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Auckland to London via Hong Kong. My first time flying Cathay Pacific. Very comfortable flight, Business class does help, but the attendants were quick to help with anything, and were friendly and attentive. Business class seats are fully lie flat and there is a rather thick blanket. Will be flying them again.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to London via Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"a run around from Cathay Pacific"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | On 20th December 2016 my wife and I were booked to fly Johannesburg to Hong Kong on South African Airways (SAA). Thereafter and on separate tickets we were booked to fly first class on Cathay Pacific CX711 to Singapore departing 16h10. We checked in on line prior to departing Johannesburg and received our boarding passes and booked our luggage through to Singapore. In-flight delays resulted in the SAA flight landing at 15h14. A lady with a sign with our flight number and names was at the gate. She expedited us through security to the gate. We waited 20 minutes before the flight was called and then presented our passports at the first class queue - our passports were duly checked, the boarding pass was initialled and we were advised to wait for boarding. When attempting to board at 15h55 we were advised that there was a problem and that we should take a seat. After 20 minutes we were advised by a Cathay gate clerk that we had been removed from the flight because our SAA flight had been delayed and that we had been placed on another flight. We questioned what flight and were told to wait. The plane left the gate at 16h21. At 16h40 I requested to speak to the station manager. I was then told that an SAA representative would come and advise us of the situation. This did not happen and I found a Cathay Pacific gate handler who said that we had been removed from the flight in accordance with Cathay Pacific’s policy of a connecting flight “having to have arrived within 60 minutes of the next flights departure”. We then questioned what other flight arrangement had been made. His response was that it was an SAA problem and that it had to be sorted out with SAA. No further help was forthcoming and no-one from Cathay Pacific would help us. We then asked as to where we could recover our cases and we were told to “get them off the SAA carousel”. We scoured the airport for our bags and after an hour found them on a carousel with Cathay Pacific “Offloaded”. We then set out to find another route to Singapore – this was impossible as it was the height of the festive season rush. After visiting several airline counters we eventually found 2 business class tickets available with Singapore Airlines (at a cost of USD 3200). Once home we attempted to resolve our issues with Cathay Pacific but merely received a string of emails deflecting responsibility to SAA. It is important to note that we complied with Cathay Pacific’s conditions of carriage which were that we had to have checked in one hour before the flight and that we had to be at the gate 40 minutes prior to departure – when we arrived at the gate we were in possession of boarding passes with our seat allocations. SAA could not be held liable under these circumstances. We have spent the last 8 weeks trying to obtain a refund of our first class airfare and have also tried to obtain compensation for our replacement tickets. No joy – just a run around from Cathay Pacific. Cathay Pacific maintain that they “reserved the right to assign or reassign seats at any time, even after boarding”. They maintain that this gave them the right to cancel our seats and sell them to someone else. If this is the way that Cathay Pacific treat first class passengers, I would hate to see how they treat everyone else.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteHong Kong to Singapore
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"would recommend Cathy Pacific"

(Australia)

Unverified | Pleasant flight on Cathay Pacific from Sydney to London via Hong Kong. The first leg was crowded but felt comfortable enough. Food was palatable with accompanying drinks, movies were ok, hostesses seemed attentive enough. The flight to London was a bonus with only half full so had three seats to lay out on - not the best but considering everything with economy it helped. Our flight arrived early morning which gave us a day to get where we wanted without night driving! All in all would recommend Cathy Pacific to travel with to Europe.
AircraftBoeing 777-300er
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to London via Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"food quality was very high"

(China)

Verified Review | Very smooth flights between Shanghai and Hong Kong on Cathay and Cathay Dragon. The ground staff were very efficient at check-in and offered to bump us to the earlier flight. The food quality was very high, with one western and one Chinese choice, and I enjoyed the sweet-and-sour pork with rice on the return leg. Friendly multi-lingual flight attendants, great selection of in-flight entertainment, and comfortable seats.
AircraftA330 and Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePVG to HKG
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"plane clean, food tasty"

(United States)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific. Everything went smoothly. No issues to complain about. This is why it is a 5 star airline. This is the best flight out of six that I took over the last ten days. Plane clean, food tasty and IFE with multiple choices. I wish all the other airlines I took recently could emulate CX.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to HKG
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Premium economy very comfortable"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Bahrain to Manila via Hong Kong. I experienced an unusual situation with this particular trip due to some issues beyond the CX's control as it concerns a passenger who asked to disembark as the plane was about to leave due to medical reason which caused an hour delay. I am satisfied with the overall service of Cathay Pacific. BAH-HKG on economy was pleasant. IFE was awesome, Menu had Filipino dish as option and I loved it. Ground crew in BAH airport not friendly, the 5 star rating for ground service is for the HKG crew. From HKG-MNL on Premium economy very comfortable, seat was amazing, monitor for IFE was huge, however mid-flight it stopped working on some Premium economy seats including mine. Cabin crew were very apologetic and tried to resolve the issue however they weren't able to. Again, very consistent. Thank you Cathay Pacific.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBAH to MNL via HKG
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"catering leaves a lot to be desired"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Auckland to London Heathrow via Hong Kong. The aircraft, cabin staff and entertainment were excellent, however in-flight catering leaves a lot to be desired. The catering department obviously do not understand what gluten free means. While the normal menu offered choices the gluten free offering did not. The offerings were generally tasteless, even gluten free food from the main menu had been removed and the basis for the menu seemed to be vegetarian and dairy free, even butter and jam were taken out. We cannot understand what inspires a caterer to provide mixed boiled vegetables for breakfast! Having experienced this catering disaster outbound to New Zealand we addressed the issue with cabin staff on the return leg from Auckland to Hong Kong and the flight crew were extremely helpful and arranged more palatable meals from the main menu. They cannot be faulted. Needless to say we cannot recommend this airline to passengers with special dietary requirements until this problem has been properly addressed.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteAuckland to London via Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no