Best Economy Class Seats  

Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 724 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"will be avoiding Cathay in the future"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Was rather underwhelmed by my recent flights with CX. Business class longhaul seat excellent in space comfort and privacy. Lounges at HKG top class. Cabin crew polite and efficient, but don't really engage with you on a personal level. IFE of a good standard. Food quality was the biggest letdown. Never been a fan of the en masse trolley delivery, the food gets cold and dries out. Also, is it even hygienic having all the exposed food with the crew member standing directly over it talking to passengers as she progresses down the aisle. Give me the 1 on 1 delivery anytime as with most carriers, much more personalised. You are offered bread once, then have to request any more later (bread basket should be brought through several times during meal as with most other airlines). What other airline does not provide salt and pepper on the meal tray? I had to ask as I thought it was just a missed item on my tray but was told you have to ask for it. My rack of lamb consisted of 2 of the smallest lamb cutlets possible (overcooked and dry) with a spoonful of risotto and 1 cherry tomato. The sea bass was also terribly overcooked and barely warm. Cathay really needs to up its game in this competitive market. I for one will be avoiding Cathay in the future.
AircraftA330 / Boeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKUL to LHR via HKG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"another unsatisfactory flight"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Taipei with Cathay Pacific, and again another unsatisfactory flight. The worst part of the flight is the impolite cabin crews. No smile, no greetings, and even worse, wrongly advise passengers of whether there is a need to fill in the immigration form. The crews were only passionate in selling duty free items. Food was bad. The only good part was the AVOD. Dragonair has much better service on the regional routes. As compared to my previous flights with Japan Airlines and Korean Air, Cathay Pacific has much worse service.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to TPE
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"I was pretty underwhelmed"

(Australia)

Recently flew 2 legs in business, first from Hong Kong to Paris in a 4 class cabin and return from Madrid to Hong Kong in 3 class cabin with Cathay Pacific. I must say I was pretty underwhelmed. First leg was a overnight flight and sitting in seat 20k in 4 class configuration it was impossible to sleep due to the constant vibration of the engine with the seat being directly above the wing. Return journey was in seat 16k in 3 class configuration and was much quieter. Food was pretty poor standard on both legs for business class, not worth the premium paid. Also on the return flight I requested a burger from the order as you wish range, however half way through the 12 hour flight the cabin staff were already out of them. I then requested the won ton soup noodle, this also unavailable. The flight attendant offered me a bowl of noodles with, in her words is "a powdered chicken stock". I will say the lounges in Hong Kong are superb.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHKG to CDG
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"first leg was excellent"

(United States)

Flew Cathay Pacific, New York JFK to Hong Kong was in business class and Hong Kong to Singapore was in Premium economy. The first leg was excellent in terms of the service and the food was pretty good considering the catering out of JFK. The seat was lie flat so that made sleeping a lot easier. The second leg was on an aging 747. The IFE barely worked and I didn't eat since it was a late flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER, Boeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJFK to SIN via HKG
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service was average in my opinion"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Excellent entertainment system on both, the short-haul and the long-haul leg. This was what really impressed me about the subsidiary Dragon Airlines (operated the first leg) and the parent company Cathay Pacific (operated the long-haul leg). Otherwise, the service was average in my opinion: Ok crew, but seemed that they were rather just doing their job. The possibility to go and get snacks during the flight at the rear of the plane was nice, there were many things to choose from. Cathay also profits from Hongkong airport being a very serviceable and attractive hub for connecting flights with lots to see and do.
AircraftA330 and Boeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteXi'an to MXP via HKG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"food was passable but only just"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to London via Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific. Having flown to London twice before with a cheaper airline (Royal Brunei) I have to say I prefer Royal Brunei. Firstly the B787 aircraft is far more comfortable for economy class passengers. It doesn't seem as cramped as the economy on Cathay. The check in was efficient and all my flights were on time. The cabin staff were good but with such long flight legs I felt they could have offered more drinks throughout the flights. The food was passable but only just.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to LHR via HKG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seat was spacious and comfortable"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Check-in staff were talkative and helpful. They fully recognized my Qantas Gold membership. The seat was spacious and comfortable. It could easily be controlled. Storage was fine but can be improved. The meals on board were very good and delicious. Flight attendants were a bit robotic, although they were kind, polite and helpful. They did not appear much in midnight though. The Arrival Lounge in HKG was fabulous with a la carte service style. The only thing to complain about are that the price was too pricey and the flight was too short.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteADL to HKG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"efficient and helpful"

(Australia)

Flew from Sydney to Amsterdam via Hong Kong a day ago with Cathay Pacific Airways. Both flights left on time and both arrived 30 mins ahead of scheduled time. Food was tasty, stewardesses weren't overly friendly but they were efficient and helpful if you needed anything. Entertainment was decent, there wasn't a huge selection like with Emirates but enough to keep you entertained. The touch screen system was good. We paid for exit row seats on both routes so can't comment on leg room. I enjoyed my flights with Cathay, would definitely fly with them again.
AircraftA330-300, Boeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteSYD to AMS via HKG
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"should show consistency"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | I believe that a 5 star airline should show consistency in the service provided. After a great flight to Europe with Cathay Pacific I had a pretty bad experience with a regional flight. They announced a 4 hour delay at BKK airport. For this I received a vouched of 70HKD (yes 70) for a "dinner" in one of the outlets. My hunt for an outlet that was happy to accept it has been pretty long. After a long but nice wait at their new lounge I boarded and surprise - the aircraft is fitted with the hard shell seats. The worst recline ever experienced. I believe that European low cost airlines have bigger recline than this "premium" airline. As often happens with CX the food was not good for western's taste. And as often happens they underestimated (or under communicate) the actual scale of the delay, being almost one hour longer than officially stated. From a premium airline I expect more.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to HKG
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"well fed throughout the flight"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Manila to Auckland via Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific. Ground staff and cabin crew were polite and well fed throughout the flight. In flight entertainment selection was good and lavatories are clean and stocked. Wish that baggage allowance is generous like of Qantas or PAL (Economy - 30 kg).
AircraftA330 / A340
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to AKL via HKG
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes