Top 100 Airports  

Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 734 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"food is generally good"

(New Zealand)

Flew London to Auckland via Hong Kong. Efficient check in at Heathrow, though Cathay lounge still under renovation which meant use of American Lounge. This whilst spacious was somewhat stark and lacked many of the refinements of CX's own lounges. It served its purpose, however. Both flights with CX were very good and the crew, especially on the second flight excellent, especially as due to a delay leaving HK we had a very tight domestic connection in Auckland. Assistance was arranged to get us quickly through the airport and we made the domestic flight with minutes to spare (a near record - 45 mins from touch down to take off, including a 10 minute walk between terminals. CX's food is generally good and it was a nice touch to be offered chopsticks to go with Asian food. Water bottles were replenished throughout the flights too. The A340 business class is dated, but from 31st October the A350 will be on the Auckland - Hong Kong route which by all accounts will offer an improvement on the already good business class seat of the Boeing 777.
AircraftBoeing 777-300 and A340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLHR to AKL via HKG
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service on both legs was good"

(New Zealand)

Easy check-in with luggage checked through all the way to Malta (Lufthansa flight) with no problem at all. Cathay somewhat oddly uses the Air New Zealand Lounge at Auckland and because we were travelling with two teenagers in Premium Economy, they were not allowed into the lounge, though were permitted access to the Qantas lounge. The flight was good, though the Airbus A340 is long in the tooth and the herring bone style seats make one feel very hemmed in and also have very little storage space. Entertainment options are by no means as comprehensive as Emirates and there is no ability to send messages between seats. Hong Kong was a positive joy with swift transfers and a delightful stop at the Pier Lounge, which has to rank as one of the best anywhere. Different themed eating areas, a stylish bar, great showers and heaps of space. Business Class on the Boeing 777 was a marked improvement in terms of space and storage and had a good night's sleep. Service on both legs was good as was food, though there is no self service area to grab a drink or snack mid flight, without asking the crew.
AircraftA340 and Boeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAKL to FRA via HKG
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"really enjoyed the trip"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Colombo via Hong Kong. Excellent service and professional staff. Meals are very good and fairly new aircraft with adequate seat space. Really enjoyed the trip and thanks for the excellent customer service. I have used Malaysia Airlines previously but due to very poor service I selected Cathay Pacific with by paying around $150/pp more with less baggage compared to Malaysian Airlines. But still worth in choosing Cathay due to excellent service and comforty throught the journey.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to CMB via HKG
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"cabin stuffy and uncomfortable"

(Malaysia)

Hong Kong to Kuala Lumpur - I am a regular Cathay Pacific passenger and in their loyalty program. 90% of the time I fly with them I have to endure a hot cabin. Despite complaining to the staff the thermostat is set at a higher temperature than other airlines I have flown thus making the cabin stuffy and uncomfortable.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHKG to KUL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"level of service is consistent"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | As always, great service, great food, friendly cabin crews and an excellent line up of IFE. Flew from Manila to Bahrain. As a loyal Cathay Pacific passenger, I am very happy and satisfied that their level of service is consistent. No big issues, only a minor misunderstanding upon airport check in but overall still an excellent experience. I am made to feel valued every time I fly.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to BAH
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"put the customers first"

(Australia)

Hong Kong to Sydney with Cathay Pacific. After a dreadful flight experience with China Eastern, the Cathay Pacific flight was great. The staff were well-trained, airport staff very efficient and organised. The highlight of the flight would definitely be the ice cream, the meal was pretty good too. Cabin crew got flight transfers ready, so that customers who were nearly late to their connecting flight knew what to do when they got off and where to go, which I found very helpful. Unlike China Eastern cabin crew who knew nothing about transfers or weren't bothered to help, Cathay were organised and really do put the customers first.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to SYD
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"great frequencies, great service"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Bangkok via Hong Kong. I'm generally a frequent flyer of Cathay Pacific but this was my first trip on such a long trip. Flight from Toronto delayed 45 minutes; although I was devastated as it was a red-eye (and at that point I had been up all day), I was also delighted as the delayed would shortened my layover of the original 4.5 hrs in Hong Kong. However, flight boarded only 25 minutes past scheduled and departed 10 minutes earlier than the new delayed time. Very smooth flight with superb cabin service. I must say the cabin crew seemed kind of frantic through out the flight but they fulfilled my expectations. Mid-flight drinks and cup noodles came about every hour, with prompt response after request bell. The food - dinner was alright, with my favourite couscous appetizer and the rice dish, which looked pretty ordinary but tasted amazing. Breakfast was a complete surprise. It was the first time I've flown any airline and had edible scrambled eggs, cooked perfectly with potatoes and sausage on the side. Short-haul to Bangkok on a full 3-class Boeing 777-300ER (a surprise of aircraft on a regional route), service was definitely a little more rushed due to the short flight time, but the professionalism was still there. Overall, only a slight delay from Toronto and an early arrival into Bangkok. Reasonable fares, great timetable, great frequencies, great service.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to BKK via HKG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service was excellent on both legs"

(Australia)

Flew with Cathay Pacific from Paris to Sydney, staying overnight in Hong Kong. Both flights were full but boarding was efficient. Decent leg room and I didn't feel squashed at all even with the seat in front of me reclined back (I am very short though, so that helps). Food was pretty good, there were three options with the main meals, including one vegetarian option. The service was excellent on both legs. On the Hong Kong - Sydney route I pressed the call button for some coca cola and the attendant was at my seat in 10 seconds. They happily filled my water bottle up too. Entertainment wasn't amazing but there were enough movies and TV shows to keep you occupied. Very bumpy flights with lots of turbulence but what can you do. I will definitely fly with Cathay again.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to SYD via HKG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"service quality has really deteriorated"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Mumbai. I am a long term CX commuter and a member of the Marco Polo club. While I have always been a fan of the Cathay Pacific efficiency, the service quality both in-flight as well as for the checkin staff has really deteriorated. It's a rare occasion when I have seen their ground staff smile or try and make an effort to connect with the passengers, and the in-flight staff has similarly stopped any pretense at courtesy it feels like. And if you are traveling with small children, it is almost inevitable that they would be subject to extra rigourous seat belt safety protocols. The recent overhaul of their Marco Polo rewards is also extremely disappointing, with even small benefits like the lounge access or priority baggage handling getting dearer and dearer. Not sure where Cathay Pacific wants to go eventually, but they clearly are not doing their brand any favors!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to BOM
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Premium Economy very disappointing"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Madrid via Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific, on Boeing 777 and A330. Premium Economy was very disappointing. Initially we thought that we had mistakenly been given an economy class seat. The toilets were most unpleasant; the same as the Economy Section used. Service was minimal. Not worth paying the extra. if you want to fly Cathay Pacific, save your money and fly Economy.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMEL to MAD via HKG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no