Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1897 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (South Africa)

Smooth check-in and boarding at JNB and HKG. Decent legroom. Good food. On board service was exceptional. Crew served passengers throughout the 12.5 hour flight with dedication and friendliness. I was shocked by the explicit nature of the entertainment. Problem is that one can see images on other passengers' screens to the front of you, thereby making it almost impossible to prevent children from seeing the images.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteJNB to HKG
Date FlownApril 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Hong Kong)

Very good experience, its new economy class was a very comfortable environment. Cabin were polite and attentive. Food dishes were delicious.
AircraftBoeing 772
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHong Kong to Narita
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (New Zealand)

The premium economy service is non existent and no different to economy. You pay more and the only thing you get is a slightly larger seat. Meal service is identical to economy class so I won't bother again with paying more for Premium Economy. As a Marco Polo member I flew 8 sectors with Cathay in July/August 2015 - some in economy, some in premium economy and 1 sector in business class. If you compare to Air NZ and Qantas premium economy service and treatment, you get the feeling that Cathay pacific could not be bothered.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteKuala lumpur to Auckland via Hongkong
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Flew on 22/8/15 HK-LHR (12h50m) lack of beverages for the entire journey. The flight attendant will not even offer water unless you call their attention. I asked the flight attendant designated to our seat before the take off if I could have my meal first because I am diabetic and my blood sugar level is going down however this did not happen. It seems that the crew and service is going down compared to the other leading airlines.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHK to LHR
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Canada)

For Economy Cathay does a very good job. The food is horrible but at least they serve you which is more than I can say for the other carriers. Good attentive service and full entertainment. Even the seat by economy standards is not bad. Fairly soft with good cushion and you get a blanket and pillow. Good Value for the money
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteJFK to YVR
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (United States)

Just prior to boarding time, announcement that the aircraft was experiencing technical issues and would be delayed. The delay ended up being 5 hours as the original issue couldn't be fixed and a new plane was required. The CX gate staff took a fair amount of grief from a few vociferous individuals during this time and whilst they could be criticised for not providing information in a timely manner and on occasion promising an update within 10 mins and not delivering that for 30 mins or so, CX should be complimented for how quickly they ended up getting us away. First off, no one should question an airline that delays departure because of a technical issue. Assuming it took an hour or so to determine that the fault could not be fixed, and a replacement aircraft required, it then took CX less than 4 hours to find that aircraft, ensure it was in operational condition, fuel it up, unload the previous aircraft, load up the new aircraft and no doubt complete copious amounts of paperwork. On top of this, a replacement pilot was required due to the restrictions on working hours. During the delay CX offered vouchers to cover an adequate snack and also provided complimentary bottles of water at the gate. The flight itself was fine although the crew did feel a little harried and not as relaxed as usual.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHKG to YVR
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (United States)

Delayed at HKG in transit the day before, when Dragonair ground crew excelled in helping us get sorted out. Cathay Pacific met high expectations but excelled in our treatment by Chief Purser and Inflight Services Manager. They provided us information on our connection and bumped 5 of us up to business class for last 45 mins of the flight so we could be off the plane quickly. On arriving in HCM, we were met by Vietnam Airlines ground staff who helped us through Immigration, collect our check-in luggage, carry a case between terminals and then help us check-in, right up until we went through security, where he waved us off and wished us a pleasant trip. Wow - service at it's best all round.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHKG to HCM
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (United States)

Efficient and quick boarding. Warm welcome on-board and smooth pre-flight formalities, with on-time departure. Efficiency continued through the meal service and lights dimmed shortly afterwards. Meal met expectations. IFE content very good. Seat an improvement over the previous fixed shell and for economy class, acceptable. FA's attentive, friendly and efficient throughout flight. Bags a little slow arriving which was unusual for HKG although perhaps due to early arrival, landing before 06.00. All in all, faultless from CX.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteYVR to HKG
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Philippines)

I've always traveled via CX BAH-MNL-BAH for years, but this is actually the first time I felt a bit disappointed. With the exception of the ground crew, who are always in their friendly mode, the airplane was old, movie selection was less in comparison to what they offered before. Food was average and Cabin crew were almost invisible. The Dubai stop took too long. I might consider trying other airline next time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteManila to Bahrain
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (China)

Check in/fast track of immigration is very efficient, Cathay Pacific lounge at both Bangkok and Hong Kong airport lovely with plenty of drinks and food. Flight from BKK-HKG delayed 2 hrs so I missed my connecting flight to PVG but Cathay Pacific managed to re-book an alternative flight. Business class seat on A330 is spacious and very comfortable, however cabin staff forgot to offer me any welcome drinks which is not big issue. When I arrived at Hong Kong airport I found my connecting flight delayed 2 hrs again, then canceled eventually. Cathay Pacific Airways put me at Mira Hotel (a 4 star hotel with no facilities, but clean) in city center with free breakfast and round trip taxi. Next day's flight was delayed 2 hrs again due to bad weather in Hong Kong. Food on both flights were exactly same as economy class.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to PVG via HKG
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes