Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1856 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 3rd July 2015

Excellent service from courteous and attentive crew. Comfortable and spacious seat with plenty of space for bags and bits and bobs. Lots of privacy. Food was excellent, particularly the lunch service. Latte, cappuccino and Hong Kong milk tea on offer. Digestifs could have been offered at the end of the meal. The amenities kit was great, it even included a glasses/screen wipe cloth. Lovely big touch screen (at least 13") and of course Cathay's IFE is excellent no matter what class you are in.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHKG to LHR
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Australia) 2nd July 2015

The flight departed late as the incoming arrival from HKG was late. The staff were indifferent: few similes, unlike on Philippine or Singapore Airlines, or Cebu Pacific, where looking passengers in the eye and smiling are the order of the day. The flight was also close to full so there was little chance of having an empty seat next to a traveller. The baggage allowance for check in is only 20 kilograms: on some other airlines, it is 23 or even 30kg. Overall not particularly impressive and a case of living on their laurels. The inflight entertainment lacked a 'hits and memories of the 60s, 70s and 80s' channel.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMelbourne to Hong Kong
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 27th June 2015

The service was satisfactory and the seat was comfortable. There were no problems handling of delays (we were promptly notified of our 1 hour delay in Hong Kong), and the entertainment system was activated to compensate the time lost. The only flaw was the food, which was bland or overcooked on our flights to and from Kuala Lumpur. It was decent, but not great.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHong Kong to Kuala Lumpur
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Philippines) 27th June 2015

London-Hong Kong Check-in was quick. On board, the cabin crew were pleasant and tried to keep smiling. However, it seemed they were understaffed and meals took an age to be served and tea - coffee had to be asked for (it was not offered). The food was variable - ice cream, an excellent pasta for one meal but poor choice of fruit or no fruit at all. Leg space was fine (I'm small). Inflight entertainment so-so as there was a poor selection of films with no classics at all.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon to Cebu via Hong Kong
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Australia) 23rd June 2015

Arrived at Charles De Gaulle Airport extremely early as earlier flight (1 June) from Hong Kong to London Heathrow had been overbooked and my wife and I were placed in seats well away from each other, on escalating our disgust to Cathay staff eventually flight staff were able to arrange seats together. To prevent this problem when leaving Paris we arrived at desk 3 hours (1930 hrs CX378) b18 June prior to departure, only to advised that we were booked in seats away from each other as flight was again overbooked by 12. We had purchased flights in February 2015. Staff at desk were unable to resolve situation and escalated to Cathay Pacific Supervisor who tried very hard but unable to resolve our issue. I searched for a Cathay Pacific Customer Complaint email address unable to locate one.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteParis to Melbourne via HKG
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (India) 23rd June 2015

DEL-HKG-DEL. Premium economy class was almost empty on my first leg of journey while it was full on second leg. The service in premium economy was at par with economy. The seats were comfortable compared to economy. Good inflight entertainment, food was average. Seats were comfortable as the layout was 2-3-2 in a widebody plane. The flight was on time on both legs. In-flight and ground staff were polite and helpful. No special treatment for Premium class passengers in terms of food.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteDEL to HKG
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (United States) 21st June 2015

My parents and I flew from San Francisco to Singapore, but we had a 2 hour layover in Hong Kong. This review will be based on the flight from San Francisco to Hong Kong, since that was a long 15 hour flight. The airline's in-flight entertainment was new, but it was a 7 inch touchscreen, much smaller than the screen of my iPad. Singapore Airlines economy seats offer a 10 inch screen and also a handheld 3-4 inch touchscreen controller. There was also a USB port to charge hand phones or tablets. However, the seats don't include an A/C port or an additional USB port. The seat was newly designed with this adjustable head rest. Unfortunately, the leg room was limited and it doesn't have a foot rest For supper, we had salmon and it was delicious. The service is okay.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSan Francisco to Hong Kong
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 20th June 2015

Great check in and lounge. Seat very comfortable. Service excellent and attentive. Chief purser come to chat to all pax. Food and drinks great. Avod not as good as it has been - a few years ago there were more channels, more choice, now only 3/4 episodes of a series and they are changed infrequently. Lounge in Bangkok is much improved and lovely.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Bangkok
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Germany) 19th June 2015

The flight time was very short, cabin was okay. Disappointed when it came to food choice. It was a congee with some meat and didn't look very appetizing. For the drinks you get a tetra pak of oolong tea which has been the standard for a long time. The service was done fast, so i can't say much about that. The cabin was fine as usual with clean seats, the lavatories were clean most of the time. Pursers looked stressed.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteTaipei to Hong Kong
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (France) 18th June 2015

CX's regional business class seats are quite uncomfortable. The seats slide forward and recline only midway, so it's difficult to remain in position without sliding. I felt a lot of pressure on my legs just to keep me on my seat. On this particular flight, the seats were configured 2-2-2, but I've flown this route before where the seats were configured 2-3-2 (worse). No privacy. The seats are not wide enough and are so close together that I could feel my neighbour's every move. You also have to share elbow space with your neighbour. When there are drinks on the elbow area, you have to stay upright so as not to hit two glasses on that same space. Since there is no storage, your neighbour's meal menu, magazine or iPad will also be in your space. This is awful for a 3-hour flight, unacceptable for business class, more fit for premium economy. The toilets are also cramped. This is really light years away from CX long haul business class. They use planes with business class cabins configured for long haul flights on the Hong Kong-Haneda route or the shorter Hong Kong-Manila route, surely they can do the same for the Hong Kong-Narita route.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNarita to Hong Kong
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes