Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1000 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"love the service"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Auckland. Have flown Cathay Pacific a couple of times and love the service. On this flight we had the A350 aircraft, it is quieter than the Boeing 777. The seats are the same as the boeing 777 basically. The service in business class is very very good, better than other airlines we have flown with in both business and economy. The staff seem to go that much further.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Auckland
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"entertainment is ordinary"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Hong Kong. I was notified of the delay by 30 minutes the night before my scheduled arrival. When I board the aircraft, the crew has already been so annoyed by people moving around that they used a relatively unfriendly tone asking passengers to get settled down. Fortunately, their attitude improved after departure. The inflight food has a god taste, and the cup noodles provided between meals is hot enough. However as this a 16-hour flight, the crew provided a second meal at the middle of the flight, in the addition that many passengers have consumed their cup noodles before the second meal. This results in a poorer feedback of inflight food. The airline should consider providing a lighter meal or snacks at the middle of the flight. The inflight entertainment is ordinary. Generally the flight has been delayed by 1 hour and no apology has been made.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"can also feel the comfort"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to San Francisco. This flight shows a significant improvement of the airline. The cutting-edge aircraft did provide a quieter cabin, A350 of Cathay Pacific shows a wider length between rows compared to Boeing 777 so that tall people can also feel the comfort. The inflight entertainment provides an effective touchscreen and a wide range of movies, while the food is also of high quality with choices and good taste. Movenpick ice cream is with dinner too. The cabin staff is so kind and willing to serve, with a smile on their face throughout the whole journey. The only problem is that the WIFI should somehow made complimentary to all people, say for 15 minutes or 10 MB, but this is not a problem for me.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to San Francisco
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"this aircraft is very quiet"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Vancouver. Since Cathay has A350 I decided to transfer in Hong Kong to experience this fantastic aircraft. When I was boarding, I was attracted by its beauty, wonderful shape with the wonderful new livery. As I expected, 1-2-1 configuration for Business Class, which was really comfortable and you can have enough privacy when you are sleeping or working. In addition, there's wifi service on the A350, which may cost you $20 for whole flight, it's really useful when you want to keep in touch with your family even above the clouds! As its introduction said, this aircraft is very quiet that you can rarely hear the noise. Perfect design of the seats made me have a sweet dream on a tired long haul flight. If you ask me to mark this flight, I might give 99%.
AircraftA350-941
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Vancouver
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"good crew, decent food, excellent seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The 777-300 in business class on Cathay Pacific used on long-haul routes has excellent seats in 1-2-1 configuration. I flew on Feb 16 out of London on a plane with a pretty light load. Cathay is easy to deal with at the airport - no hassles with electronic boarding passes, lounges work fine, boarding process very smooth. The experience on the flight is excellent as well - good crew, decent food, excellent seats. There is nothing in particular to complain about - the seats may not be as wide as Singapore, the crew may not be as attentive as I have found on China Southern, the plane may be older than others - but this is a very solid airline with an excellent product. From Hong Kong to Singapore the plane used was also a 777-300 but with a denser short-haul configuration in business. The seats did not go flat or even angle flat but the design is more modern than traditional business bucket seats. Again the service is first rate and the way Cathay approaches things quite excellent. There was no wifi on either segment and the outlets did not work on the second leg.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Singapore via Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"always been a pleasant experience"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Whenever I fly Business with Cathay Pacific it has always been a pleasant experience from their Check-in station to the actual flight and even to Check-in baggage retrieval. This flight from Shanghai to Hong Kong was no exception to this excellence with special mention to the efficient staff at the check-in station in getting us through the process with the least amount of fuss.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteShanghai to Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"quick to respond to requests"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Bangkok via Hong Kong on Chinese New Year. Flight from Toronto was surprisingly relatively empty for a transpacific Cathay flight. Cabin crew were pleasant were quick to respond to requests. Seat is wide and feels spacious, yet for a bulkhead seat, a 9 inch IFE is quite small. Movie selection is diverse and kept me occupied for the 15-hour flight. Catering was consistent, flavours not bad. However, since the flight left Toronto in the afternoon, lunch was served right after takeoff, but dinner was then served midway through the flight instead of prior to arrival, which is slightly odd. None the less, flight departed Toronto and arrived Hong Kong ahead of schedule. Hong Kong to Bangkok on a 2-class A330. Contrary to the Toronto flight, this flight was full. Pushback in Hong Kong was on time, but it took such a long time to receive clearance for takeoff from HKG that the flight arrived Bangkok 20 minutes late. Not the airline's fault. Deplaning in Bangkok was by stairs, which was odd for a CX flight. Crew were mostly Thai and were extremely pleasant throughout the 2.40hrs flight. Bags were quick to arrive. Overall, standard service and I look forward to using their service again.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER / A330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Bangkok via Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"not comfortable for the seat"

(China)

Trip Verified | Cathay Pacific Airways is my favorite airline, more than 8 fights per day from Bangkok to Hong Kong for CX , however sometimes it has old aircraft which is not comfortable for the seat. The cabin crew were kind and helpful, they served Häagen-Daz icecream during the flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"a hyped up airline"

(India)

Trip Verified | Good points - Seats, Check-in experience. Bad points - Food (only 2 meals provided during 14 hour long journey), very few vegetarian options. For my first leg flying from Delhi to Hong Kong, the departure time was 1am and the first refreshments came 2 hours post take off. I reached Delhi airport at around 10 pm so I had to stay hungry the whole night. Furthermore, no socks, toothbrush, or eye cover for sleep were provided. Lastly, this airlines cabin crew are the rudest crew I have ever come across, keeping in mind I have travelled to over 15 countries. They focus mostly on business class passengers. I think Cathay Pacific is a hyped up airline.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Toronto via Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"surly unfriendly crew"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh City to Chicago via Hong KongThe interior of the cabin appears a bit used. Seats are narrower than Singapore Airlines although I like the ability to flatten the seat without assistance. Video monitor is clear only from one very specific angle and height. Food is fair for business class. The worst part of the experience is the surly unfriendly attitude from the flight attendant crew. This is the second time I have flown Cathay Pacific and both times have received unfriendly service. When I went to the bathroom while the seat belt sign was on, I was told to "go sit down" like a child being scolded, even though there is no turbulence and at least 4 other customers had gone to the bathroom immediately before me with no hassle. I had to insist that I had to use the toilet before the flight attendant would let me pass. The service, by contrast, on my flight in the other direction via Singapore Airlines was perfection, the reason why they are consistently at the top of the list. The flight attendants were friendly, graceful, helpful, and attentive to all customers equally.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Chicago via Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no