Vote Now  

Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 843 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"my experience was amazing"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Dubai to Hong Kong. I have flown Cathay Pacific for 12 years and the service gets better and better. The ground staff working for CX were very polite and helpful. When we boarded the plane, crew greeted us with a smile. I noticed the cabin was spotless, everything was clean, from tray tables to the bathroom. The menu was very good. I had chicken with rice which was heavenly. IFE was also very good, with a large variety of movies. Legroom was very decent and seat was also very comfy and I could sleep well. Overall, my experience was amazing. The crew showed passion in their work, which you must appreciate.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"it is my favourite A350"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manila to Gatwick via Hong Kong. I checked in quickly and straight to the lounge for a bite to eat. Boarding was efficient and quick. I settle in my seat 17A, pick up the TV control and realise it is my favourite A350. Flight, stewardess, food is very good. Landed on time. At HK another quick trip to the lounge and then proceeded to board. Flight was full, took a little while to board. I had a quick bite to eat and fell asleep for 9 hours, that is how good this A350 is, landed on time.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManila to Gatwick via Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"could up its game a little"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Manila to Chicago via Hong Kong. Check in and security at MNL was quick, considering the outbound flight was at 0500. After a quick stop to the lounge, it was a bit of a walk to gate 111 where there was quite a crowd boarding but the business lane was pretty quick getting onboard. Regional configuration in the MNL-HKG leg with good and warm service. Food was passable and forgettable, as can be expected by CX catering. After a 3 hour transit, the long HKG-ORD leg for a quick business trip to Chicago. Previously flew the A359 and the business seats on the 773 was a bit of a letdown compared to the fantastic newer product (it's a shame if the rumors are true that CX will change the business seats of the 359). Nonetheless, the reverse herringbone layout allows for great privacy and the seat provides numerous storage options for large and small items. Catering was better than the first leg with very responsive service and very unobtrusive for those who want to sleep. Special mention to the chief purser who made the service a joy. IFE was a bit of a letdown as well, but I suppose it was just that the selection of movies, while extensive, did not contain those that appealed to me. On the return leg, the company messed up the connecting day which was resolved very quickly on the ground in ORD. In-flight service to HKG and MNL was more robotic and less warm. They have a good business product, but for an Asian airline, I think it could up its game a little bit to play with the other big boys in the region (Singapore, ANA, Asiana).
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMNL to ORD via HKG
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"cabin service was spotty"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Hong Kong return. Although generally good service per reputation, several items were quite disappointing. Cathay Pacific Airways does not subscribe to TSA Pre Check so security lines at JFK are particularly long. Second, they do not have wifi, which for a 15 hour flight is very isolating. Also, the return in premium economy was not markedly better than outbound in economy, except for bigger seat. Premium economy cabin service was spotty, trays left out long after meal with no follow up coffee or drink refills during or after dinner service. Food cart rammed my aisle knee very hard twice with little apology. As others have noted only 1 toilet for all of premium economy which lead to long lines/wait times. They did not recognize One World affiliate FFs on same level. I am lifetime Gold in Advantage, but got nothing in terms of boarding, seat preference, upgrade consideration, etc. Check in was good but not above average. Overall, disappointing when compared to touted Asian carriers and almost as poor as AA, UAL or DL long haul.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very impressed with this journey"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Vancouver return via Hong Kong. Upon boarding in Bangkok, I was upgraded to Business Class which made boarding and de-planing more convenient. Service remained top notch during and after meal service, with the purser greeting me. As a frequent Cathay flyer, these little touches make me feel more valued as a customer. The Pier Business Class lounge in Hong Kong is one of the finest. Error message from my boarding pass when boarding the flight to Vancouver. As a result, I was upgraded to Premium Economy class for the flight. Same deal, purser greeted me personally, and made sure I was comfortable periodically during the 11-hour flight. Catering was consistent on both legs in both cabins, nothing too exciting. Ground service: Check-In in Bangkok was fast and warm, felt welcomed by the smiles of the ground staff. Lounge front desk staff were a mix, some stiff faces but the majority are smiles. Bags came out first on arrival in Vancouver. Overall, very impressed with this journey.
AircraftA330-300 / Boeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBangkok to Vancouver via Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"generally high level of consistency"

(United States)

Verified Review | Kolkata to New York via Hong Kong. Efficient and friendly cabin crew. Good selection of drinks and snacks in between meals. Herring bone seating layout offered superb privacy. A fine collection of films to view including Hollywood classics (e.g., Casablanca) and very recent releases (e.g., La La Land). Would have liked some classics of Asian cinema by directors such as Kurosawa and Ray. The bathrooms were kept clean on the 15+ hour flight and the flatbed seat allowed for some good napping. Having flown this route many times, I am impressed by the generally high level of consistency of service delivered by Cathay Pacific.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKolkata to New York via Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"catering remains consistent"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Seoul to Bangkok via Hong Kong. After rushing to Incheon Airport, the check-In staff were really accommodating. Rushed to the boarding gate, just in time for priority boarding. Flight from Seoul to Hong Kong had excellent crew, and a purser who noticed my family and I from a previous flight. We arrived Hong Kong 45 minutes early. Hong Kong to Bangkok was on a full Boeing 777-200. At the boarding gate, our boarding passes (3 of us travelling together) got an error message after scanning, prompting the ground crew handing us our new upgraded boarding passes. Cathay Pacific's regional Business Class seats are acceptable. Not the most comfortable, it did provide me with some privacy that I would not get in Economy. The crew addressed us by name, and drinks were offered periodically. Economy catering remains consistent, nothing too exciting. Business Class catering I was impressed on how well food was presented on a regional flights. Everything tasted great and came in adequate portions. Finished off with Haagen Dazs ice cream. Arrived Bangkok to a mayhem of people at baggage claim, our bags were the first ones dispense and we were able to get out of the airport quickly. Overall, Cathay continues to impress me.
AircraftA330-300 / Boeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Bangkok via Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"comfortable with good service"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Flew from Hong Kong to Cebu. Flight departed 15 mins late from Hong Kong due to baggage loading delays which was mainly as a result of hard rain at the time of departure. Boarding was done smoothly. Once departed flight was comfortable with good service. A very good flight with good service, would recommend Cathay Pacific.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Cebu
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"quality is still top notch"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Last-minute trip to Seoul from Bangkok via Hong Kong. Since the trip was immediate, I was unable to get seats together for my mother, my sister, and I during the Online Check-In process. At Suvarnabhumi Airport (Bangkok), I asked the ground staff if she was able to move us together, and right away, though a little robotic, she managed to find us a row of seats together. The aircraft used on the Bangkok - Hong Kong sector was a Boeing 777-300ER. Due to a late inbound aircraft from Hong Kong, there was a 45-minute delay departing Bangkok and 20-minute delay arriving Hong Kong. Crew worked very hard during meal service, working around pretty demanding passengers and a short flight time. Transit in Hong Kong was uneventful, as most of the duty free area was already closed and the final flights of the night (at least Cathay Pacific connections to Europe/North America) were boarding. Hong Kong to Seoul on a refurbished A330-300. Flight departed early and arrived 25 minutes early into Seoul. There was a demanding passenger (specifically a tour guide) right next to us and she was demanding things from the cabin crew at the most inconvenient of time (right before take off, she was asking for immigration forms; and right before landing, she was asking water for her water bottle). The crew dealing with her declined her requests professionally but eventually fulfilled her requests after take-off/landing. Bags came promptly and we got out of the airport fairly quickly. Overall, the usual long-haul Cathay service scaled down (since both sectors were short-haul flights), yet the quality is still top notch. I look forward to using their service again very soon.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER / A330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Seoul via Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a hectic situation well handled"

(Canada)

Verified Review | CX889 from Vancouver to Hong Kong then CX703 from Hong Kong to Bangkok. Due to a mechanical issue with the aircraft, the flight from Vancouver was delayed by approximately 5 and a half hours. Check-in in Vancouver was a frenzy, with ground staff breaking the news to the passengers at half past midnight while trying to rebook as many passengers onto other flights (which were also extremely full, due to Spring Break). I have once stated this in one of my reviews, but it seems as if the ground staff in Vancouver are deteriorating. I was given told to "go home and come back at 4.30am in the morning". Dull responses such as "We don't even know if the flight will leave. If the plane has a problem, we'll have to cancel the flight. But we won't know until 6.30am in the morning." It was 1 in the morning, like how am I supposed to get home at this time? I was completely stressed out and realized I was going to miss my connecting flight to Bangkok. Nonetheless, I made my way to the lounge where the staff were much more understanding and tried their best to get us settled in before our flight. I was offered a bowl of noodle soup and blankets. Hence, I was able to grab a 4-hour nap before the flight was announced to be operational. I also managed to grab a shower before boarding which immensely helped me with my bitter mood from the night before. Vancouver to Hong Kong on the Oneworld livery aircraft. Crew was flawless and worked hard, non-stop, throughout the trans-Pacific flight, offering drinks and cup noodle every half an hour midflight. Arrived Hong Kong at almost noon time (originally scheduled for a 7am arrival) to an army of ground staff handling misconnections. I was rebooked onto the 8pm flight to Bangkok, and Cathay gave me a hotel room and a meal in the airport hotel as a compensation. The staff that assisted me offered every communication tool possible for me to communicate with my parents, who were waiting for me in Bangkok, as well as apologizing several times for the delay. I must say, although frustrated, I was impressed by how well all the staff in Hong Kong handled the misconnections, unlike the ones in Vancouver that weren't willing to help since they "couldn't confirm if the flight was leaving or not." (P.S. I didn't even receive my luggage tags upon check-in in Vancouver and the Hong Kong staff managed to get it for me in seconds). Hong Kong to Bangkok on a full Airbus A330. Cabin crew were trying their best to serve to everyone's needs, but with all seats in Economy filled on the flight, there were moments where I felt the service was a bit robotic. Nevertheless, all problems aside, I had a pleasant time flying with Cathay Pacific. It was a hectic situation well handled, so kudos to the Hong Kong ground staff!
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER, A330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Bangkok via Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes