Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1069 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"What a nice airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Hyderabad via Via Hong Kong, we had a slight delay but they apologized nicely and when we got onboard CX879 to Hong Kong the hospitality got even nicer with the flight attendants stowed your luggage in the overhead compartments. What a nice airline.
AircraftBoeing 777-300er
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Hyderabad via Via Hong Kong
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"been delayed ridiculously"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Bangkok. I reckon for the past 8 flights I’ve been on with them this year, they have been delayed ridiculously (two hours). Other airlines are not affected as much it seems. The advertisement of duty free sales in the inflight entertainment system is very annoying as well as unnecessary PA announcements such as that they’re collecting donations for unicef. Their method of contacting customers regarding ticket bookings is terrible too. I was once called and sent a very vague email not mentioning the reason for contacting me. I only realised a couple of hours before a supposedly booked flight that the credit card payment didn’t go through and that was what they were calling about. Would have been nice to have mentioned it as on the email instead of saying “we tried to call you please reply when you are free” - which I did reply ASAP with no follow up. Changing flights from overseas is a problem too if you enter your asiamiles number when calling in as it directs you to an office which cannot handle ticketing! They told me to call again and not enter my number - silly.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Bangkok
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Extremely disappointing trip"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Tel-Aviv via Hong Kong. Extremely disappointing trip. The return leg involved a side trip to Osaka, flying back via Tokyo. Aside from cramped and uncomfortable seats, I was surprised at how truly awful the food was. This was consistent across all six flights. In flight service was mixed - ranging from not very good to ok. The overall experience was the feeling that I was on a budget airline. Upgraded to premium economy on two of the long haul legs of the trip. While the seat was a lot more comfortable, the food was the same - close to inedible. I don't know why, but I expected more of Cathay. Unlikely to fly with them again.
AircraftVarious
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Tel-Aviv via Hong Kong
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"only positive thing is their legroom"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | This is my second time to take Cathay Pacific flying from Manila to San Diego via Hong Kong. The food served was really bad with an after taste not to mention the fact that the flight was 2.5 hrs delayed. We were held inside the aircraft for 2hrs and the other 30mins was due to late boarding. I wont take Cathay Pacific anymore. The only positive thing is their legroom which is more spacious than other airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to San Diego via Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"cabin looked stunning"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific Airways. The aircraft was an A330. The ground staff explained that the flight will be delayed. Onboard, the seating looks old but still comfortable. The IFE had a lot of choices. We were served with a cold sandwich on a very early flight. The flight attendants were attentive but doesn’t feel friendly. Hong Kong to Manila, the aircraft is a B777. The cabin looked stunning as the plane was new. The IFE was very nice, same contents as the first flight but the system is much easier to operate. The seats are comfotable too. We were served with a warm cheese and bacon roll for breakfast. The FAs are attentive and looked enthusiastic to work. Both flights has no wifi.
AircraftA330-300 / Boeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Manila via Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cabin crew are helpful"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Taipei. Travel with baby in the trip. The inflight service is good. Although the aircraft is quite old an regional seating. The cabin crew are helpful. The entertainment of the plane provide latest films, however, the flight time is not enough for a 120 min movie. The flight is smooth.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Taipei
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Cathay cares so little"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Zurich. Amazing that Cathay cares so little about their business class passengers that they on a 12 hours night flight could not speed up their first leg connecting flight (of 3 hours) by 10 min or delay their connecting flight by 10 min and catch up over the following 12 hours. Instead they bumped 2 business class passengers and sent us over Manchester and then Manchester to Zurich. Our advice - don’t fly Cathay if you can at all avoid it - that is the only way we as passengers can ensure they care in the future.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Zurich
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"seat product is spacious"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | This is one of the most fantastic airlines. The seat product is spacious, and it provides a reasonable amount of privacy, which is what business class travellers need. The portion of the food was acceptable and snacks were also included, so passengers would not get hungry during the journey. I visited lounge C at London Heathrow Airport, and it is an amazing lounge. The ambience and environment provided a lot of comfort, and the choice of food tended towards the Hong Kong and Asian Style, which were very pleasing to see in a high reputation airline. Cabin crew were all very willing to serve. However, the in-flight announcement was not clear. Overall, I had a very enjoyable time with Cathay Pacific.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seats were very comfortable "

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Singapore. A very high efficient ground service and immigration in Hong Kong Airport. Flight departed on time, I was impressed by the catering on the flight. The fruit and desserts were really impressive. Cabin staff was friendly and the business class seats were very comfortable with a flat bed. WiFi was also available on the plane together with a excellent inflight entertainment system. However, the immigration service in Singapore airport was a bit slow.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Singapore
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"Uncomfortable seating"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I take a Flight from Duesseldorf to Hong Kong. Online checkin not possible. Checkin on Counter are ok, staff are friendly but seated in the last Row. During the flight the cabin was very cold. Crew only provide a second blanket. The food was served almost cold because I sit in the last row. Uncomfortable seating opposite the Lavatory and in front of the kitchen.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDusseldorf to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no