Cathay Dragon

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 26 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"inflight service is okay"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Osaka. Cabin crew work efficiently and provided a warm welcome when we board. The flight has little delayed but overall is acceptable. The inflight service is okay. the aircraft quite old and is not cold enough.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Osaka
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Cannot use miles to upgrade"

(United States)

Trip Verified | First experience flying Cathay Airlines and I will never return. The only airline that I am aware of that offers "0" points for miles earned while booking economy. Not only that, but once booked, cannot upgrade at any cost to a higher class cabin. Cannot use miles to upgrade seating class. One would think that paying over 1400 dollars and booking direct the airline would accommodate requests especially if seats were available and the customer offered to pay for the upgrade. But not with this airline. The staff both in flight and ground level were the most unprofessional encountered with an airline. The inflight crew found it most appealing to joke and banter amongst themselves rather than attend to passengers. The ground staff cold, not accommodating, and rude to the upmost degree.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"offered me an earlier flight"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Hong Kong. Reached the airport 2 hours earlier. The ground staff offered me an earlier flight back to Hong Kong. A very flexible arrangement. The flight was very light load and the staff was exceptionally friendly. Food and drinks served once after take off. They offered a very wide range of wine and cocktails. And have 3 different choices on the entrees, which include a special Singaporean dish. The flight was a little bit bumpy and not hot drinks were served. The business class seats were not really spacious, but okay for a 2 hours regional flight. This would be an area they can improve.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteShanghai to Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"fine except the food"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Taipei. It was a evening flight and they operated this very short haul route with a wide body aircraft with personal TV. Only snacks were provided with no main course, which was quite disappointing. Cabin crew was efficient and they managed to offered me customised drink in a short time. Flight was a bit delayed due to traffic. The overall experience was fine except the food.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Taipei
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"overall bad experience"

(India)

Trip Verified | Bangalore to Hong Kong. Pathetic is the word for this late flight. No delay announcements. Cabin Crew highly unprofessional. Food Quality and quantity useless. Cabin Crew incompetent; even water not served with food? One has to ask for it. What else to mention - overall bad experience with Cathay.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangalore to Hong Kong
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

" have a free upgrade"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Taipei. Check in was efficient with almost no queue. I was informed to have a free upgrade to business class from the economy because of overbooking. No lounge access was given though. The product was a very typical regional business class with no flatbed, and the storage space in the seat was not enough and I must put my small backpack in the overhead compartment. Also, the phone pocket was too small which I couldn't even put my iPhone 7 in. However, PTV was also available in this very short sector single-aisle plane. The 70 minutes flight was operated by a very cheerful team. Cabin crew was efficient and friendly with a very positive attitude. For food, welcoming drinks were available and a full English breakfast was served with juice and wine after take off, with fresh fruits and freshly heated bread. The movie selection in the IFE system was very up to date with hundreds of movies available, though I had no time to finish one in the short flight. Can't believe they still offered a full service within 70 minutes.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Taipei
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"reasonable regional business class"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Hong Kong. A reasonable regional business class offering. Seats are nothing special in a 2x2x2 layout with minimal recline and space, but are sufficient for a short range business class flight. Generally, Cathay Dragon aircraft are old and this was no exception with this particular A330 being 21 years old. Crew were friendly and attentive and food selection was ok. I feel that Cathay Dragon is very middle of the road in terms of what it offers at the front end of the cabin.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteShanghai to Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"cabin crew were not helpful"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Manila to Hong Kong. The cabin was spacious and clean. I understood that we did not have any IFE monitor because it was just an hour and 55 minutes flight but they have this entertainment portal that you can access via your phone but it did not work at all so that was a flop. The cabin crew were not helpful at all. They were really bossy and it seems like they were not enjoying their job and would not smile. I would not fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"A short distance flight"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Hong Kong. A short distance flight, depart on 22:00 and just one hour flight. Cabin crew are so busy when on board because they have to prepare many things in a short time. After boarding, cabin crew gives a towel and a cookies to everyone and a bottle of a drinking water is in front of the seat.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"attentive and professional"

(China)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Hong Kong. Arrived at airport 90 minutes before departure time. Check-in counter informed me that I could take an earlier flight. With my consent, rebooking was immediately done and boarding pass issued. There were only 3 passengers in business class cabin. Cabin crew was very friendly, attentive and professional. After take off, dinner was served. Food is well prepared and perfectly done. Seat is comfy for a 2 hours flight. Arriving punctually. For me, Cathay Dragon is the best airline between China mainland and Hong Kong.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteShanghai to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 26 Reviews