Cathay Dragon

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 16 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Generally it was fine"

(China)

Verified Review | First flight with Cathay Dragon from Shanghai to Hong Kong. Generally it was fine. The PTV was great with lots of movies to choose from and KA provides free on-board earphone. However, the breakfast was not that good. Although I usually don't expect a lot in economy, I would say the hot breakfast was below average. The aircraft which was an A330 was nearly 20 years old, but the overall maintenance was nearly excellent. Clean washrooms and comfortable seats for a short-haul flight. The staff in Shanghai Airport really need to improve their service attitudes.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"friendly, attentive, polite"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Flew Cathay Dragon from Hong Kong to Beijing. Ground check in was smooth at Hong Kong Airport. The ground crews were friendly and attentive. A good sign that we were in good hands onboard Cathay Dragon. Seat asignment was be 3x3. Seat pitch and width are pretty roomy for a guy like me at 179cm in height with moderate 78Kg in weight. Cabin crews were friendly, attentive, polite and well groomed. Food and drinks was top quality and they serve Haagen Dazs Ice Cream for dessert. Will recommend them to other travellers and will choose them again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Beijing
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"polite, cheerful cabin crews"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Kuala Lumpur. My first time boarding this airline. Very friendly, polite, cheerful cabin crews and excellent service. Food and beverages is very good and actually better than their sister airline Cathay Pacific. Will definitely recommend them to other travellers. Will fly them again in future.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service by crew members was good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Okinawa Naha to Hong Kong. Check-in and ground service at Naha airport were handled by JAL staff, which made the experience fantastic. A clean and well-maintained narrow body plane with on demand inflight entertainment system. Food was mediocre but service by crew members was good. Seat was comfortable, not thinly padded. No jet bridge available at Hong Kong, and a bus was used to transfer passengers to the satellite terminal, after which passengers are treated with a long walk and additional transit train service before arriving at border control. A usual long wait for baggage at HKG.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOkinawa Naha to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"inflight experience was pleasant"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Kota Kinabalu. I had a superb and memorable flight with Cathay Dragon from Hong Kong to Kota Kinabalu. There was a long queue as when I arrived at the Cathay Dragon check in counter in Hong Kong, but I had a swift check in process. Priority boarding was given to passenger who requires special attention and business class passengers followed by Economy class. This flight was operated by A320-200 registration B-HSU. I was greeted by as I boarded the aircraft and guided to the assigned seat. Inflight meal served approximately half an hour after take off. Breakfast with a choice of sausages with omelette and chicken with noodles. The omelette is delicious. In flight meal serving process was efficient. Cabin crew was available to serve hot beverages. Based on my observation and flying experience with Cathay Dragon, the meal portion has been resized to smaller portion since last year. I would suggest Cathay Dragon reconsider re introduce cakes into meal tray again. Overall inflight experience was pleasant. I look forward for more flight with Cathay Dragon in the near future.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Kota Kinabalu
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"refused for our connecting flight"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Hanoi. Cathay Dragon lets a family with two children just stand because of overbooked flight. After a 11-hour flight from Dusseldorf to Hong Kong, we were refused for our connecting flight due to overbooked flight. Only 5 hours later we could fly (with Vietnam airines) to Hanoi.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Hanoi
Date FlownAugust 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"not hesitate to use them again"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Being the only airlines that flies direct from Hong Kong to Penang, Cathay Dragon codeshares with CX and MH etc. I bought my ticket on MH (much cheaper that way!) and was able to select this outbound flight with no extra charge. They use a regional business class 2-2-2 product for this route. It is a spacious recliner type seat, which was good enough for short to medium haul fights. For this 3-hour flight, their service was impeccable, warm and smiling. Cabin was less than half full, so it was very quite and relaxing. The meal was good too, with 3 choices, portion a bit small but sufficient, and quite tasty. Cathay Dragon managed to get us there a little ahead of schedule, which was very impressive. I will not hesitate to use them again in future.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Penang
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"entertainment has a lot of choices"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Before you step into the cabin, they offer 3 choices of the newspaper, two in Chinese and one in English. When you step into the cabin, the first impression of this flight is the uniform of the flight attendant. The old one looks more stylish and professional. The latest one looks childish. On the upside, you can expect a warm smile and a clear instruction where your seat from KA crew. The leg room of my seat is ok, consider I am just 170cm tall. For entertainment, I must say there is a lot of choices. Most of the movies are just being shown lately and other than the movie you can find some latest TV series as well as the documentary show. Of course, there are games to play. Speaking of the catering, I am not much into the food but compared to other Hong Kong base carrier KA offer more choice and better quality. I mean who doesn’t like Haagen Daz ice cream?
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Hong Kong
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Cabin crew was attentive"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Kaohsiung. Check in service was efficient. The plane depart on time. However, it was using the old economy seat, quite disappointing although it was equipped with personal TV. The screen was not sensitive compare to the new cabin I had experienced. They offered a full hot meal even in a just 70 minutes flight, quite supprising. Cabin crew was attentive.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Kaohsiung
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seat was quite standard"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Hong Kong. I was arranged to an earlier flight on that day. The ground staff was very efficient. The seat was quite standard. The IFE had a wide range of movies selection. Ford and drinks was great, better than Cathay Pacific ones. Crew is friendly.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 16 Reviews